Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes 3 stars

Leslie Road, Glenrothes, KY6 3EP, United Kingdom

#4 of 9 hotels in Glenrothes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 665 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Absolutely everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An elevator. It was missing 😁. Just for heavy luggage.

    Absolutely everything. The friendliness of the staff, the perfect check-in, the room, comfiest bed, brilliant breakfast, central location!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived at reception there were no staff members around.

    The bed was extremely comfortable and although we did not spend a lot of time in the hotel, we loved it. The shower was amazing and everything was to a high standard. The room facilities were clean and the breakfast choices were wide.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Good stay, helped by good staff. The breakfast team were really heplful and kept the buffet fresh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sofa bed required a deep clean.

    Room was a good size. Standard fit of furniture for the group. Breakfast was well presented and kept fresh by the hard working staff in a busy site.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic 3 night stay. Would recommend to family and friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The juice at breakfast tasted like it had been watered down too much!

    We loved the choice of food on offer for breakfast as it catered well for all the family- including hot and cold options. The pastries were delicious and fresh, and the shower was powerful and really clean!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor signage..drove past it .twice! Poor service at breakfast and grumpy staff when all my husband did was ask for a cup..not the moon! Finally ..paying £1.25 for a can of diet coke..total rip off !!

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.1
    Basic and clean.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area needs to be larger for the size of the hotel. At 0745 on a Sunday morning we had to wait for a table to become free because area was far too small.

    Very Good location, clean comfortable beds, room was adequate size for one night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    A stress-free well organised hotel,will certainly be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not really a not like but if I had to mention something I could mention that the breakfast bacon was not too our liking. Not unpalatable but was quite hard and we had to select the softer bits and leave others.

    The fresh fruit and the brown bread at breakfast was tasty. Very good shower in room. Helpful and pleasant staff especially in the breakfast room where nothing was too much trouble and though they were quite busy the food was always available.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    Does the job, Just!!
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining area for breakfast is totally inadequate for size of hotel. You do not expect to have to wait for a table at 0745 on a Sunday morning!! Car park is also on the small size, on our stay there where a number of vans and a lorry with a trailer taking up far too many of the few available spaces.

    Rooms were clean and of a comfortable size. Beds were a little soft for my liking, but that is personal preference.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Visiting Fife
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much was satisfied with choice of hotel

    Fairly basic breakfast but well cooked and adequate Room good and clean The location fitted very well in respect of being central to the area i.e mid Fife The restaurant next door was a bit pricey considering the food on offer

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.1
    Had a good stay overall but could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining room could have been better was like sitting in reception .couldn't have a drink at bar as had no alcopops .Didn't have any in other restaurant part either.

    The rooms were comfortable ,the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Excellent friendly staff and location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything was fine

    great location nice friendly staff and good for the pub next door which sells excellent food I would highly recommend this hotel and would return again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although I was on my own, other members of my family had booked rooms too because we were going to attend a family wedding nearby. The hotel was more than adequate for our stay, would use again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    Pleasantly surprised and will use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Suffers from poor inter-room soundproofing which is common with all Holiday Inn Express'.

    Good location, comfortable room (but negatives), adjacent restaurant/pub, adequate breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Stay in the hotel was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the fault of Holiday Inn but the pub next door on our second night told us at 20.30 they were no longer serving food not even a sandwich as they had been busy. Not really acceptable and we were not the only guest this happened too. Hotel receptionist was very helpful, we ordered a take away and ate in breakfast area

    Breakfast was really good fresh and nicely cooked

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    All staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    All staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We requested an early check in as we were attending a wedding nearby and this was confirmed by return.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ability to get a new key card for my room with no checks to see who I was and if I should be able to get key for that particular room

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    Lovely staff , clean fresh room, lovely breakfast. Shame the wheels on bed were not locked
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My accident

    Fabulous staff, cannot fault them however upon sitting on the bed it flew across the room with me being thrown off the back of it bruising my arm and cracking my head . The wheels of the bed were not locked and only 2 cups used which clearly wasn’t enough. On day 5 of the headache . Can not fault the staff or the actual room, just this very silly accident that could easily have been avoided

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was small for 2 people.

    Room for the disabled was one of the best I have been been in, it was just fabulous. Well thought out. Only problem was a continuous drone from somewhere but other than that, great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely staff, comfy bed, very clean room and delicious breakfast. Great pub next door The fettykill Fox, we booked for Friday & Saturday nights in advance as it was very busy but food and service were great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    Really good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only slight criticism is that the bed was too soft and the pillows too hard, however this is just a personal preference.

    Clean and tidy, friendly helpful staff and excellent breakfast. Like the idea of an early breakfast starting at 6:30 Mon-Fri, handy for those visiting on work prurposes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.9
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No Lifts. Smoking area was outside front door and was always littered with cigarette butts. Plus having a room at the front near the entrance meant cigarette smoke constantly drifted into your room if window open day or night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Everyone we spoke to at the hotel was very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone we spoke to at the hotel was very friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and had everything you need. We had a great stay. Also, the Vintage Inn pub next door is very nice and does brilliant food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Perfect reservation on ground floor as requested...we are both octogenarians .
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing at all

    Stayed here last June for two nights. We were visiting aan elderley sister in a nearby nursing home. This hotel is superb....staff unobtrusive. Quality rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Mini break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Allocated a room on ground floor which made it easier for my wife who is disabled. Excellent room and all staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Perfect hotel for a quick over night stay staff very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn’t great not a great selection and the sausages looked a bit undercooked but nothing else bad to say about

    Perfect hotel for a quick over night stay staff very friendly and good location for what we in the area for and very clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    First Night very good, not so good for the following two nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first night we slept really well, but the second night was very poor due to a large wedding party who decided during the early hrs of the night to smoke outside our bedroom window and chatter/laugh away regardless that other guests were trying to sleep. We complained to the Manageress with blonde hair the following morning (Friday morning) and she promised that she would have a word with the night porter. The following night (night of the wedding), the same thing happened, only worse this time. We tried aimlessly to contact the night porter. We had an early morning start 06.30 a.m. as we had a long drive back to South Wales (9 hrs), so we didn't appreciate being woken several times. The breakfasts suited us and there was ample.

    We found Shona on reception to be extremely helpful and pleasant, she helped us very well, so much so we bought her some flowers. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was also very good. There was more than enough room in the bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Arrived for Easter weekend in wet, cold, weather, to smiling, friendly receptionist, and great room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe there was something, but I certainly cannot think of what it could be!

    Cleanliness amazing. Comfort of bed was fantastic. Warm, comfortable, and the ability to control the heating, which also worked to perfection. This is our third visit to the hotel. Staff at Reception, staff in dining room, and the staff cleaning the rooms, were very pleasant, and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Great stay, ideal location and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was a little softer than I normally like but it didn’t prevent a comfortable night’s sleep

    The location was ideal for our visit, staff friendly and helpful, room clean, tidy and ideal for our stay, the buffet breakfast was very good and added to the value of our stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Welcoming, clean and friendly. Would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we Had a room with an adjoining door with loud people in it on the third night and were woken up at 6 am with their conversation which disturbed us until they vacated the room at 7. Otherwise the stay would have been faultless. If I stay again I’ll make sure there we don’t share a door with another room.

    The bed was very comfy and the room nice and warm despite the cold weather. Breakfast contained a good choice and the staff were friendly and helpful. Pfu

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Was delighted with my stay and central location, for Perth, Dundee, Edinburgh and St.Andrews
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No cons what so ever apart from the fact I now have to diet and work off seven days of Holiday Inn breakfasts.

    Accommodation, cleanliness and attention of the friendly staff was twice the level I have experienced in much more expensive hotels, not to mention the full hearty breakfast included in the room rate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Staff were helpful throughout our comfortable overnight stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service was very good throughout our visit and the accommodation was very comfortable, providing enough space in the room for me to get on with work during my stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Good value, clean and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weird dual position bathroom door didn't fit properly into either position leading to a lack of privacy.

    Free breakfast more comprehensive than I remember previously at HIE.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.5
    Brief, clean and helpful staff. But doors in corridors & movement of mattress & beds need sorting.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors in the corridors kept banging after being opened. Also the mattress and bed kept sliding. Others said same things. Good choices for breakfast.

    Was very clean. Staff mainly friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was pleasantly surprised about this Holiday Inn. The room was a decent size, warm, comfy and the shower was good. Breakfast was standard fare, but the food good and plenty of it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Staff were exceptional with their customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were exceptional with their customer service. Nothing was too much trouble. I mistakenly left an iPad and the contacted me after check out promptly to ensure my property was safely recovered. Excellent staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant place for a short break away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I struggled to get a table for 2 of us on the Saturday morning at breakfast time.

    Nice friendly helpful staff. Room was clean and bed very comfy. Good wifi signal. Breakfast was ok. Choice of cereals, brown and white bread, bacon, sausage, scrambled egg and beans.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.8
    Lovely large room and bathroom
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing that let it down , we had 3 individual rooms booked as we'd all travelled for over 8 hrs for a family funeral , pub next door looked fab online and was beautiful but both nights when we tried to order food they couldn't accommodate us even tho they did eventually give us chips. Never encountered this at others we've stayed in as when you've had a long journey it's time for food and a wee dram.

    Lovely large room and bathroom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    A well appointed Hotel which is obviously well run; with high standards expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower room was cooler than I'm used to.

    The bed was very comfortable, the bedding of a high standard. A good choice and plenty of it for breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only fault I would point out Is the seating area in reception seats were all stained And area needed freshened up But that didn’t affect my stay 🙂

    The location The parking The staff The room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Going to a Show
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike about the hotel.

    Nice & clean with friendly, helpful staff. I had to book in and dash off. The girl on the desk couldn't have been more helpful. Buffet breakfast, eat as much or as little as you want. 14 year old son commented the sausages were really good, that's high praise from him. Would use the hotel again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    Mostly very good but let down by breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast had hard sausages and was a bit cold. Scotland is famous for it's sausage both lorne and links, find a better supplier.

    Mostly very good but let down by breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    A perfectly adequate and good value weekend stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not very impressed by the open storage spaces, as I would prefer wardrobes and drawers. The buffet breakfast is quite basic and unimpressive. However, I liked the substantial selection of hot drinks available from the vending machine.

    Basic but adequate facilities. Room was of substantial size, and clean, warm and comfortable. Overall, I found what was supplied to be of good value in comparison with some hotels I have previously used.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Absolutely wonderful stay. Will book there the next time in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was excellent. The staff was so friendly and helpful...from the front desk to the breakfast area to the cleaning staff. This American was truly impressed with Scottish hospitality.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.1
    Good size rooms, noise level could be reduced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Throughout the night I could hear everything going on in the hall. From doors opening to conversations, would have expected more soundproofed roof, as other guests were up in/out of rooms past midnight and I couldn’t sleep

    Room was a nice size and staff friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fairly spacious with a lot of electrical sockets. The bed was large and comfortable. The breakfast was a pleasant surprise, buffet style full English! Porridge, cereal, croissants, fruit compote etc the works - delicious. Staff were lovely, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.6
    We went to visit my eldely sister who has been diagnosed with Lung cancer and we will be back shortl
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Breakfast was not of the highest standard. Scotland is famed for its finest morning breakfast rolls but none on show. The sausages appeared and tasted like Quorn. Not being pernickety as we had a comfortable stay and will be back again shortly.

    Suited our Needs

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    6.7
    Dreadful.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air-con made loud clicking noises all through the night so I couldn't sleep at all. My colleague had the same issue. I sent an email to the address the staff gave me yesterday at 10am (as they said they couldn't give any refund themselves) but have not yet had a reply. I will not bee staying there again.

    Bed comfy and shower lovely and hot with nice shampoo and conditioner etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Good hotel for business and a quiet night away.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a bit worried about the sloping car park - but that's more about my car's handbrake than the car park. Nice big spaces.

    Welcoming staff were also helpful. The hotel was clean all-round. Rooms were comfortable including temperature control. Easy access and good size car park. Great shower. The bathroom layout means that while someone is in the loo, someone can still use the shower and both remain private.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    Great for short breaks
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Entry to the property could have been better signed.

    Location great if you travelling in the local area, close to major roads. Has separate room zones for smoking and non smokers, which is not something I have seen elsewhere. Whole property was warm and very clean, rooms are standard hotel chain layout. Reception sold bottled beer which was great after the long drive to the hotel when all I wanted to do was relax and not have to go out. The buffet breakfast was good and the restaurant next door served great food for other meals.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    The room was spacious, the buffet style breakfast was really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little uncomfortable and there was a couple stains on it as well which was a little off putting.

    The room was spacious, the buffet style breakfast was really good. All staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    5.8
    Dissatisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that it was not a child friendly the plugs in the room did not have guards so spent most of if not all of my time keeping my 1 year old son away from the plugs and the rooms where a death trap way to small for a family and and the heater in the room was not safe for a young family as It got too hot To br anywhere near it as for breakfast and the amenities available to provide your child with a warm breakfast for example ready break there was no microwave to warm it up and when asked if it could be warmed up they would not help with warming it so had to try and give him it cold

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.9
    Good room ,breakfast experience could be improved .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advice where cutlery etc are stored . Broken coffee/tea machine. Kettle then supplied was left with trailing lead over edge of unit- very poor safety with children running about in this area.

    Room and staff good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Top Bannana
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The attitude of the jumped up waitress in the fetykill fox next door. She needs a carrier change.

    The overall stay was exhalent. The staff in the hotel were helpful and very professional. Breakfast was top notch and available on time. The showers were powerful and hot, just what you need after work.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.6
    Overall, a pleasant stay. Recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the other guests were very noisy and doors throughout the corridor were slammed on every exit/entry resulting in vibrations throughout my room. I suspect no sound proofing and slow closures to doors are part of the building structure. This is recommended as well as notices in each room to consider other guests.

    The breakfast buffet was fantastic with freshly prepared food. I thought the food to go was a great option. The room was warm, comfortable and very clean, as were the bed linen and towels. Venting and ice machine available to use 24hrs daily.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.5
    Overall very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only dowsnide to the room it was next to the boiler room. The noise woke us up several times during the night.

    My wife is disabled,the room was perfect for her needs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Great for a night's stay after a long drive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We had everything we needed. The receptionist told us about the restaurant next door and her tip was to go to dinner early as Fridays are busy. We were lucky because after we got a table they were turning people away. Apparently there is not many places nearby for meals.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Memorable for its comfort and cosiness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I could have missed catching a horrible dose of lurgy. Not the hotel's fault!

    The breakfast was tasty, the bed extra comfy and the staff phenomenal.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.0
    Okay but would not go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price and the breakfast.

    Breakfast was terrible, had been made long before we went for it, food was cold, the bacon seemed like it had been reheated from day before and the sausages were tasteless.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    A very clean & comfortable hotel, staff very friendly,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very clean & comfortable hotel, staff very friendly, plenty of parking. Ideal central location when visiting numerous locations around that area. Nice breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    The Fettykill Fox bar and restaurant was excellent from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Fettykill Fox bar and restaurant was excellent from the service, quality of food and very comfortable/relaxing bar area.The hotel breakfast was good quality

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Complete satisfaction.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like!!.

    We had scrambled egg, bacon, beans, and sausage. Very good and fresh. The staff were excellent as was the room. Very comfy bed, and linen was crisp and clean. The pillows are superb. There is a great pub next door also where the quality of the food was excellent. We would highly rate both facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Excellent, planning on staying there's again.
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff at night were so friendly. Restaurant next door was full , however let us phone in a takeaway and provided plates etc for us to use . Very much appreciated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    Good locatyon,but breakfast and sound proofing sub-standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast would have been better if we had been given more choice.The sound proofing between the rooms needs to be improved.

    The room,beds,shower and cleanliness were all quite good.The sound proofing between the rooms was not so good,we were able to hear other peoples conversations quite clearly.The breakfast was adequate,but not as good as other places we have stayed at.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    We enjoyed our stay, not sure if we would stay again. The price was reasonable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I used to work in a hotel and was always trained to acknowledge guests as they come in, not just when they initially check in. Staying for 6 nights you expect that staff would at least ask on your return each day if there was anything you needed or anything they could help you with. Certain staff members did not even look up when you entered the hotel let alone acknowledge you. Staying for more than one night, we would have liked if there had been some drawer space so that we could unpack instead of living out of our suitcases for a week.

    The hotel was clean. The breakfast was good and there was lots of choice. The pub and restaurant next door was a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.5
    Had lovely time everyone was so helpful and looked after us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing every thing was good . The only problem I found was the larger that was not good to flat . One other problem was our stay was in a down stairs room and it could be made into a double room where there was a double door leading to next door bedroom and twice I got woken at 12.30 by the next door trying to get into my room was not happy with that I did ask the receptionist if thy could put notice on the door but nothing happened 🙁

    Scrabble egg bacon nice and crispy sausages thy was lovely two but what else can i say every thing was nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.1
    The parking, reception and room aspect were good but I'll eat elsewhere next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole breakfast thing isn't a particularly enjoyable experience. It was confused and congested even though the eating area was relatively quiet so I'd hate to be there when it's busy! The actual food was ok.

    A well presented and well equipped room. Reception, the stairs and corridors were more open and roomy than some of your competitors.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.4
    Enjoyable apart from a few niggles
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Constant noise in bathroom from water cistern which sounded like a snake charmer was in next room. Kept me awake.. not enough tea/ coffee in room. Constantly had to ask at breakfast for more milk, more bread. No glasses for juice. No butter etc. However, when we asked, it was all provided quickly. Windowsill in room was full of small dead flies!

    The grab & go breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.9
    Holiday in Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in 3 in the room, and the sofa was transformed in bed for my daughter, but doing this the room became very small, not enough space.

    Very nice position. Great bed And soft pillow. We had a perfect rest. Nice staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant and comfortable with cheery staff on duty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a dislike but feel that if a number of guests went for breakfast at same time they would not get a table

    It was good for the reason for our visit. Breakfast was good but lacked choice ie scrambled eggs only, was good enough for us for the one night. Have used Holliday inn before and will use in the future.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.5
    Overall we were satisfed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no scrambled eggs or beans available. When we were almost finished our breakfast we were advised that the receptcle for holding the scrambled eggs and beans was not working and to ask if we needed. It would have been more helpful if a notice had bee posted advising guests of this. There were no croissants available at breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    It was pleasat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast we always had to ask to fill cereal yougourt and fruitdidnt feel they were on top of making sure everything was filled

    Our bed was very comfortable room 122 ,we stayed two weeks before that in 228 the bed was awful needs a bnew mattress rolled into middle when we turned

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Excelent cant fault anything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dislikes 0

    Rooms were clean and tidy, breakfast was really good great choice, pub next door with a good menu and beers, and within a 15-20 minute walk to glenrothes town center past a wonderful park.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    An area we wanted to visit, very central. Certainly a good choice of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Very impressed, booking friendly, efficient. Breakfast was very good, always hot, well presented. Good quality bread, not always the case in places.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast mahem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area was way too small and congested, the hot food wasn't being replenished quick enough, some guests were like vultures couldn't get enough on their plates sheer greed.

    Comfy beds and pillows

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    Friendly staff and good location for Glenrothes. Great public house next door.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast wasn't the best ever, poor sausages.

    Breakfast wasn't the best but it was acceptable. Staff were friendly and the accommodation was fine. The public house next door is a major plus for this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: