Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre - Armouries 3 stars

Armouries Drive, Leeds, LS10 1LE, United Kingdom

#32 of 45 hotels in Leeds

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1191 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    4.6
    Average at best
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was luke warm and un-inviting, cold drinks were not replenished and the tables were not cleared and looked a mess, which for the price I would have expected better

    the room was clean and comfortable but the walls were wafer thin and could hear constant noise from the next room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    A nice relaxing weekend break in a location near enough to the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning unit was a little noisy as we needed it on as it was a very hot weekend.

    Nice hotel in a good location in Leeds Dock area. Staff were all very friendly, efficient and helpful. Breakfast was very nice. Room was plenty big enough with a nice bathroom and shower and the a fair sized TV in the room on the wall.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Good experience would stay here again
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great experience would definitely stay again and recommend to others, helpful friendly staff, the room was really clean, the beds really comfy and met all our needs, breakfast really good and filling.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Our room had just been modernised, with all the essentials...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had just been modernised, with all the essentials we needed. The room was immaculate and the hotel was in a good location for the centre of Leeds. The choice at breakfast was good and we had the added bonus of being able to sit out in the sunshine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    STILL WILL STAY AGAIN RECOMMEND TO OTHER FRIENDS
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    BAR SERVICE

    bed very comfy nice and clean. room excellent location for us enjoyed .being able to go back. and have few drinks. staff on bar. loverly if any thing little bit slow and very slow. cleaning tables at breakfast but still enjoyed our stay it me being picky. as worked in that business for many years will be back 2019 stayed june 1 2nightsSISTERS

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    We walked into city centre 25 mins lovely day, quiet, felt safe outside . All staff polite/friendly,
    • Group
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nearest bus stop no Sunday service. Ground floor toilets (reception) being refurbished therefore toilet facilities on 1st floor. Being wheelchair user I'll say no more

    It was next door to thackary armoury museum free entrance. Good breakfast, local shops. Staff booking taxi

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    A very pleasant city break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a bit of confusion when we arrived as we were a party of 4 in 2 rooms, but 1 had arrived before us separately and it was as if both rooms had already been taken. However it was quickly sorted. Also, we planned to spend a couple of hours in the centre of Leeds after we checked out, but there was no information about best things to see and apart from the Armouries Museum which is just across the road from the Hotel, the receptionist could only really offer the suggestion of 'shopping' in the centre. In fact there are loads of interesting civic buildings and museums.

    The bedroom was very clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly. The location was better than expected as it is in the new 'Docks' part of Leeds, and there was quite a lot going on with food stalls and dragon boat races on the river (although this obviously doesn't happen every weekend).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    Excellent hotel for short break / business visits. Convenient location - free water taxi nearby.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast area too small for number of guesta trying to access it at the same time. Coffee maker and toaster stopped working. Food was not replenished quickly enough. 2nd morning - less guests and breakfast worked well!

    Spacious comfortable room with nice view over the canal towards the city. Good en suite - plenty of hot water. Very close to the conference venueand Artillary Museum. Multi storey car park next door with a hotel consession.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    excellent apart from breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    was a little too pre prepaired and dis-organized, no fried eggs or anyone around to actually prepair fresh breakfast, and the sausages were all watery as they were obviously sitting in the warmer and filling with condensation, Bacon was also not of good expectation. and coffee was pretty poor and Bitter,,,, quite a few commented on this.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    Typical HI Xpress: Good room - clean, modern and quiet. Pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was poor: very limited choice - ran out of croissants and orange juice - and only scraps of very overcooked bacon - with 30 mins to end of service on Sunday. Bacon again overcooked on Monday. However fresh fruit welcome.

    Newly refurbished room - very quiet on 5th floor/overlooking front. Location ok if not looking for city centre; convenient parking - but cheaper if you buy a weekend ticket direct from Car Park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    I would recommend it to anybody that goes up for a weekend stay in Leeds .
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was lovely.

    The room was a decent size, the lighting was fantastic, my son enjoyed the flatscreen TV and a lovely movie at night when we arrived, I booked the armouries Holiday Inn Express because of the nice attraction in the surrounding area However, for the excellent customer service, the amount of money I paid was spot-on ! Great value. I almost forgot to mention, the breakfast was amazing both my son and I loved it a lot . Hopefully when he gets excepted into Leeds University you shall be seeing a lot more of me .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed our overnight stay here . Loved the decor. Good value for money.
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was excellent. The only negative was with Bookings.com. As I knew I would be having a very late check in, I phoned the hotel to advise of this. Unfornately the hotel had no record of my booking, when the receptionist checked the booking.com system the booking hadn’t been sent to the hotel. Luckily there was availability for a room! So very glad I checked before hand!

    Very happy with the hotel. Exceeded our expectations

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    So comfortable, scrupulously clean, lovely room & fab breakfast.q
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn’t anything I could find fault with.

    Very clean & very comfortable. Excellent breakfast, close to eatery for evening meal although hotel does serve food. Can’t fault this accommodation. Would definitely stay again if I was visiting Leeds. Excellent value for money. 😊

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Good location and comfortable bed with lovely breakfast that...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have asked staff on previous visits and this one to add points to my IHG priority club account- and they’ve yet to do it

    Good location and comfortable bed with lovely breakfast that you can “takeout” if in a rush

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Leeds weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was right by the lift. So was quite noisy through the night when people were returning from nights out.

    Great location. I have a broken leg, so was in a wheel chair, everywhere was spacious enough for me to get around. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent comfortable stay very welcoming staff at hotel nothing was too much trouble for them
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mirror on room in a rather tight position at an angle by bathroom door . Also not enough light over where mirror is especially for ladies doing their hair & makeup

    Staff very helpful . Breakfast very good . Everything available for breakfast from Full English . Especially like the Croissants & Mini Muffins . Ice Available if needed for your drinks in room . Also had 2 complimentary drinks offered due to a inconvenience in which on one occasion void not get into our room . Service second to non

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Exploring family history in Leeds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are smallish compared to North America, but pretty standard for Europe. Room was warm and the AC slow to cool. You need to double run the bread through the toaster in the morning to get it toasted.

    There is a “free” Water taxi adjacent to the square that takes you to the Leeds train station and back, 7:00 a.m. to about 6:15 p.m. daily. It is an easy walk to city center. English breakfast included every morning. Bacon, Scrambled (powdered) eggs, beans, toast, coffee, croissants, cereals, fruit, juice, yogurt, other. USB plugs near night tables for charging devices. Nice large bed. We spent 7 nights there and recommend. See the Armouries museum it is spectacular and free.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location for the Royal Armouries
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That my son was not on the booking,the sofa bed was not set up for him and we had to do it ourselves. Also I had to knock on the kitchen door for some more scrambled egg for my breakfast. So by the time I ate my mine it was cold. Regards Diana Clements

    The comfort of the dBm bed and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    Leeds is full of pleasant surprises for the uninitiated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had concerns about the lack of egress possible through the windows in an emergency. The windows did not appear capable of being opened beyond a few inches although we were on the first floor. However I understand the safety concerns for the occupants who may be children and appreciate the balance that has to be struck.

    Croissants excellent but this is a cooked breakfast that is basic and on a three night stay gets a bit boring. Wider choice of eggs (other than scambled) is needed and items could perhaps be varied from day to day if the range cannot be extended every day - ie black pudding instead of sausages, fried eggs instead of scrambled. .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Easy to get to from the city centre, helpful and friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to get to from the city centre, helpful and friendly staff, nicely furnished and very homely, facilities within the hotel were very good (free breakfast and wifi, smart TV, Handy phone and ironing board/hairdryer)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Overall pleasant stay apart from breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was utterly chaotic , people hanging around in the food area waiting for food to be brought out.. i just ended up having toast and jam as it was just too many people ..

    The room was lovely and clean and bed comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing hotel was great only min or problem with car parking only 20 mins over 24hr rate tried to charge for another 24 hrs instead of daily rate but stress the car park dosn't belong to hotel really need to go into city for restaurants only pizza express and Indian locally

    Great value for money extremely clean and modern rooms friendly and informative staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee was awful

    Staff were great. Room was very well designed. Hangers for full length dress was very useful. A door to make the toilet separate from the rest of the bathroom was useful too. Although there was a very large hen party and a prom outside it was incredibly quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    2.5
    Ok, but won’t be returning. Mainly because of the rude manager I’d spoken to in July!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room with a blocked view by metal barriers or whatever they were. The generator was below us and kept us awake most of the night.

    The staff (at the desk)at the hotel were lovely but I’d spoken to the manger in July about my booking for May and she was very rude and not at all helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, nice hotel, will definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more hanging space and a better bed.

    The room was bright and cheerful and well presented, the bed was a little ‘lumpy’ but acceptable and the breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing. Clean, lovely staff, comfy beds, modern rooms. Good choice of breakfast! Such good value for money, about 15 minute walk into the city centre but such a quiet location, we really enjoyed our stay. Thank you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable bed, clean room and a great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the seats in the bar area are split and in need of replacement.

    Very clean room, excellent shower, free wi-fi and phone calls a great idea. Had a brilliant night's sleep. Breakfast was better than expected, or used to. A short walk into the city centre for theatres and eateries.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Found the best hotel on our last visit to Leeds Dock area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Going home!

    Have wanted to stay at this Hotel for over 4 years as was very close to our son's apartment. However didn't get to stay previously as either too expensive for our budget, or fully booked. Ironically we got an excellent rate with yourselves as we needed to stay overnight to help our son 'pack up' ready for his move to another area of Leeds. We had a very good sleep after a busy day, bed was very comfy. The room very clean and well equipped. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    Fine, but pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place was clean, but very dated. It was also pretty expensive considering how dated it was. We reserved a double room, with a queen/full bed and got a room with two singles. It worked out ok, just a bummer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    The hotel staff were warm and welcoming during the check in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel staff were warm and welcoming during the check in and out processes. The bedroom was clean and tidy, with the option of hard or soft pillows. The bed itself was comfortable with about the right firmness. The breakfast in the restaurant was delicious. It was overall a very positive experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only negative comment is that is was hard to flush to toilet at time

    breakfast good and range of food available only problem no jam with breakfast area lovely and quite

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.4
    Good location easy to find close to the Armouries
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the furniture in the bar area have seen better days, the arms on the chairs we ripped showing the foam underneath... quite chilly in our room

    Excellent location to visit the Armouries, next door to the carpark as well. Nice spot to chill for a weekend visit. Good breakfast choices

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.3
    very average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    service was terrible went to check in nobody on the front desk waited 10 minutes until someone appeared then she started serving people at the bar who had been waiting too! later on after check in went for a drink at the bar same again waited 10 minutes to get served no one there to serve. our room floor had not been cleaned it had bits of paper on it!

    the bed was very comfy and the hotel was next to the venue we were attending

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, quiet and relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed no room service but totally understand the policy. Breakfast bacon was a little overdone.

    Great rooms, decorations and facilities like the Handy phone. Nice atmosphere also

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great room but my partner felt the bed was uneven and that it was higher at the foot end than the head end. I didn't notice this. Room was spacious and comfortable. Great pressure in the shower and lots of hot water. Great bed. Good facilities and friendly, helpful staff. Would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.8
    Smoothless & enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My fault, really wanted a bath in room, only because l was ill while l was there. Only one chair, as there was 2 of us missed having one. Having no free parking. Porridge didn't mix together but generally breakfast excellent.

    Bedding crisp and white. Receptionist friendly. Very clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay at holiday Inn express, beds were AMAZING! Breakfast was a good standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was not as close as I would have liked but this is not the hotels fault.

    The beds were fantastic. Very comfortable and good choice of pillows. I used both soft and firm!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice comfy bedroom and very friendly and helpful staff 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the bedroom while trying to do make-up was not bright enough and no light near the one mirror in the room not the bathroom. Need two mirrors in bedroom for us ladies to get ready

    1)Lighting in the bedroom: could do with been more lights and brighter. 2)few mirrors for us ladies to get ready.. 3) Would be bonus to have a Bluetooth speaker to connect phones to for music to.. other then that it was great room 😁

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    Perfect - spot for a night out in Leeds - always delivers!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's not dressing table with mirror and no light above the full length mirror so had to use bathroom mirror to put make-up on.

    Always a good stay - excellent location, great breakfast - we got a refurbished room which was nice, great new carpet smell!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    6.7
    Not near the city centre, taxi ride away
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet very very very difficult to flush, Room cold no instructions how to use air con. Restaurant very limited choice, expensive for what was on offer i had a 'micro wave meal'

    Bed comfy Staff member 'Heather' was really helpfully friendly and reassuring when i was concerned about missing my meeting due to the snow.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.5
    Good city, nice neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was dry and not any healhy alternatives were available, but you get full

    Good stay, close to the bus and the city was very well to us. A few really nice bars as well

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.8
    I recommend staying here as the hotel is easy to find and close to bus station and attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some guest came in about 4am and they were very noisy obviously they had a few drinks😁

    The room was spacious clean, tidy and I did not hear noise from outside.I had a peaceful night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.2
    Compact, well appointed, great value and did the job nicely!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I couldn't work out how to switch off the aircon/ fan in my room and it came on intermittently through the night which I found it a bit noisy.

    Newly refurbished. Nicely done rooms. Super comfy bed, nice and dark at night time. Good sized TV. Staff were amazing! Tony was particularly helpful on the first day and all other team members were friendly. Particularly when I have to unexpectedly extend my stay courtesy of the Great British weather.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Good location, nice clean room, comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, nice clean room, comfortable beds. There was renavations going on on the floor underneath us but we did not hear anything. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    2.9
    The breakfast was ok but very limited
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park charge was very expensive and if you left you had to pay by the hour. The rooms were cold and not very clean

    The breakfast was ok but very limited

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    A really good affordable hotel for a weekend trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like!

    The room was newly refurbished and the pull out bed for the children had already been made up ready. There was a large screen TV in the room, the WiFi was free with great speed and the breakfast was lovely. Also like either way location at Leeds Dock.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    Great location, great hotel, room ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small things really - - no bin in the bathroom - tv was on the wall but not in front of the bed - room size was small (would have felt a bit claustrophobic if staying for a long period) - not much dedicated room for bags

    Nice hotel - - Comfy beds - Great location - New renovations of rooms - Nice size bathroom - Cozy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    4.2
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, there was a group of 5 couples who we went with, we all booked a the exact same time and all paid the same price yet every couple except us had a much bigger and more modern room than us with a large flat screen TV on the wall, a iPhone style phone for them to use, a actual wardrobe and better mirrors. As ours was the only room without this we asked reception if we would be able to move into a room like their as he said there was many room available bare in mind we had only just got into the room when we requested this so none of the lack of room facilities had been used we had literally just walked into the room. The rude man on reception said we'd have to pay a extra £99 for the room change, ridiculous. Our room was also freezing cold with the heater not working properly and the bath room not cleaned properly with hair grips from previous people who had stayed in the room still on the floor and hairs and a strange yellow substance around the shower. The breakfast was disappointing also.

    The lady when we arrived was pleasant and the location was decent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.8
    Location was perfect being a short walk into the town plus...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little tired and could have been fresher

    Location was perfect being a short walk into the town plus next door to the Royal Armouries! Staff were excellent, helpful and nothing too much trouble!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.5
    Ok if your on a stag/hen
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisey neighbours (youngins) kept us awake alot.multi car park was expensive and very scarey esp when we had children with us.breakfast was feeezing and we were there for 7am so no excuses

    Room was lovely could smell paint so must b new .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    6.3
    Very modern, quite nice hotel for room rate paid.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Bed sheets had really bad marks on them, surprised the Housekeeper allowed them to be on the bed, Large footprints on sheets. Fur food I ordered the Cajun Chicken in a ciabatta roll. It came with a burger bap!!!

    Very modern, quite nice hotel for room rate paid. Most hotels in Leeds are OVERPRICED!!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    Reasonably priced, clean and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering it was a refurb, there was a hefty coffee stain on the carpet. Minimal storage (okay for a 1 night stay but for 3 it was pushing it). 5 coat hangers between us for 3 nights - not enough. Had to ask for refills of coffee and such. Due to the nature if breakfast service, the bacon was often rock hard.

    We were given one of the newly refurbished rooms. Bar prices reasonable. Clean, tidy and staff would go above and beyond.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    The hotel is being updated and the rooms on our floor have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe an extra waste bin in the bathroom would have been helpful.

    The hotel is being updated and the rooms on our floor have been completed to a very high standard. The decor is smart, the bathroom is sparkling and there are plenty of power points in the room. The staff were really friendly helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    5.0
    Staff are the best part of this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaner, there was dirty marks in the shower room and the floor inside the lifts were full of building debris. Not much choice for cooked breakfast.

    The staff on reception were delightful apart from the manager who I found rude and abrupt.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    3.3
    The hotel is very ‘budget’ , room was very old and tired and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very ‘budget’ , room was very old and tired and not the cleanest. The bed was not comfortable , pillows were awful , the room was very cold. However the staff I had contact with were lovely and very helpful but I’m Not likely to stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.2
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    was a refurbished room on 5th floor with the bed wall lights on you could see all the seems in the wallpaper and all the paper was poorly cut at the ceiling and top corners plus dried paste was all over the paper, really needs to be redone (wallpaper), in the morning I ordered a cappuccino which was only warm.

    the staff was great couldn't fault them, room was comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.8
    Love the Area, hotel just needs a little more to when it come to facilities and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Key cards to our room stopped working 5 times within 2 days. The bathroom soap was too high for the kids to use. The breakfast was average. Luke warm and scrambled eggs dry.

    Area is nice and quiet but close enough to walk into the City centre

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent service, lovely rooms, comfy bed, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bacon was overcooked but this is a minor thing.

    The staff were excellent. We stayed on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day and they went out of their way to make it feel special. Printed out directions for us to walk into town, without us asking. Felt as though nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.1
    I booked 2 adults and 2 children but the hotel said I only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked 2 adults and 2 children but the hotel said I only booked 2 adults and therefore, the beds weren't ready. Also breakfast on bank holidays is till 10.30am but when I got there at 10am everything was put away. Only got toast and croissants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.5
    Great location, good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is starting to look a bit worn and shabby. The mattresses could do to be replaced

    Great location, friendly reception team, ample continental breakfast, very reasonable price

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    5.0
    Aweful Christmas experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly it was an issue of parking, having travelled with a child, had to park outside the hotel to off load outbags check in and move the car. Within seconds on a Sunday evening I had a £60 ticket. The room was freezing. Stafff notvety helpful in terms of breakfast, ironing services. Felt really frustrated rated

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Relaxing comfortable and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The new referbed rooms stayed here each year for the last three years and there even better now new level fir hotel

    Staff very welcoming and obliging Giving us the best in service and accommodation ( the new referb level brilliant, old ones are still loverly but you think that they are serving the purpose and for what you pay) Clean and staffing work hard to please and make sure your happy and have what you need

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel but lacking in supplies of breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast available. Ran out of bacon and sausages. Looked to be short staffed and only replenished stocks by a small amount at a time meaning it went quickly. Very disappointed

    Staff friendliness

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing, tatty and run down hotel - very poor sleep and a small room - like a hostel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was uncomfortable, the room was tatty, an awful night's sleep. The pillows were hard and the duvet thin.There was only one plug in the room and the cooked breakfast was thick and gooey... obviously just left for a while... Very disappointing stay.

    Just the location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.1
    Overall OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast poor quality and badly prepared. We had breakfast at restaurant next door on second morning!

    Great location. Off plan parking no problem, concession rates for hotel guests helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Location was great as we went to the Royal Armouries and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was great as we went to the Royal Armouries and Leeds Magic Lantern Festival! Staff all very friendly and Pizza Express practically next door! My young boys loved running around near the cannons!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.9
    staff very polite and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tiles on bathroom floor loose, need regrouting, room basic but sufficient for our needs.

    staff very polite and helpful. breakfast was hot and plenty on offer.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Looking for a great place to stay in Leeds? Try here you will not be disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not find one fault.

    It was spotless the staff were great. Fabulous breakfast, relaxing seating area. Free water taxi into city centre, safe area, bus to train and bus station. What more can I say☺ I would highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    6.7
    Clean.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took a long time to check in as they said the booking was for 1 room rather then 2. Staff were unhelpful and not apologetic.

    Clean. Good position. Gd breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast was better than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room carpet had some weird stains.

    Breakfast was better than expected. The room window was not closing properly, but was promptly fixed after we notified it at the reception. Very nice and attentive staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Very family friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am vegan so more vegan options at breakfast would be good. E.g. soya milk but this was provided when asked. Soap needed filling up in bathroom. Sofa bed not too comfortable. Maybe put memory foam on top. But these are very minor points to help you. My overall experience was excellent.

    Very family friendly. Lovely staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    Did have a nice relaxing time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff could have been a bit more friendlier & smiled a bit more! It wasn't that warm inside the hotel. The pillows weren't very comfy.

    Good shower. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.9
    Very convenient location for the Armouries museum.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very convenient location for the Armouries museum. Close to a Pizza express. !5 minute walk to the train station in daylight.Would take a cab if arriving at night

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.1
    will not be going to Leeds again,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Woke up in the night with a smell like someone was smoking in their bedroom. It made our room smelling dreadful. We rang down to reception and they said they already knew about it. We went back to bed & when we woke their was no smell of smoking.

    The bed was very good and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    Clean rooms, friendly staff, great reception, a lot of area...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    parking is 8 pounds with hotel's discount, could be more choises in restaurant's menu

    Clean rooms, friendly staff, great reception, a lot of area to work or just chill with the drink, beautiful surroundings

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: