Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express London - Newbury Park 3 stars

713 Eastern Avenue, Ilford, IG2 7RH, United Kingdom

#6 of 23 hotels in Ilford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 650 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Excellent, would definitely stay again should I travel to London
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/a

    The room, although a little on the small side was very clean and comfortable, as was the bathroom. The breakfast was delicious with a good choice. Lovely friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    hotel excellent location staff and breakfast very good ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel excellent location staff and breakfast very good . I couldn't fault hotel . Best value for money I have experianced for a long time . four minute walk to underground .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfectly good place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both televisions turned on in dining area in the morning- so no quiet place to have breakfast

    Everything was fine. Good room. Clean environment. Good value for money. Helpful staff- who on request willingly turned off television whilst I was eating!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.5
    Not as good as usual due to noise below window
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Horrible early awakening as very noisy lorry delivery in early hours below the window woke me...could not believe it..had booked especially to get a quiet night. This hotel is quiet in itself normally. Very disappointed and will make sure I get a room high up next time .

    Always goodf accomodation and welcom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dessert apple pie and custard was not so great, breakfast was okay but not much of a selection i.e no hash brown, tomatoes, black pudding and yoghurt.

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice location- Definitely recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the hotel is in a convinient location and it is easy to find. The staff was always helpful and attentive. During the hot days they even left the air conditioning on so the room will stay cool. Breakfast was really nice and our room was always clean. Comfortable bed and lots of space in the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    The hotel was clean and fresh, the staff were very polite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was clean and fresh, the staff were very polite and helpful and I was very surprised how good the breakfast was for the price I had paid. Also it’s so easy to find, park and being so close to the tube station makes it easy for traveling in and around London.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Comfy bed / great breakfast choice/ good location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More choice of tea e.g herbal/ bottled water on arrival Some of the furniture looked tired e.g. Small sofa

    Comfy bed / great breakfast choice/ good location for train links to Stratford and Central London

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.0
    location excellent near to newbury park station so can...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    location excellent near to newbury park station so can commute easily to London everything was fine except the breakfast. When requested for fried eggs we were declined and scramble eggs not goodrest was ok staff were very goodok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Base for foo fighters gig
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing wrong with the place

    Easy to get to when we got off the m11, near enough next to the tube 2min walk. 5 stops to the London stadium. Lovely clean modern hotel. Nice breakfast. Bargain for the money paid. Staff was spot on. Thankyou

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.7
    Propre, petit déjeuner correct.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bruyant car proche de la 4 voies, très cher. Noisy as to close to the 4-lane street, expensive.

    Propre, petit déjeuner correct. Clean, breakfast ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.3
    Near the Subway.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too small No tissue boxes in the bedroom Wifi

    Near the Subway. Hotel was helpful with early checkout request and refunded the money without any fuss!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Despite questioning the deposit policy, the stay was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to pay a returnable deposit of £30 per room to stay at the hotel if it was paid by credit/debit card OR £100 cash per, as according to the Manager on duty "it was part of Booking.Coms policy" which he showed us on a printed sheet bearing your logo which was not displayed but which he conveniently took from under the counter when we queried why we had to pay the deposit.

    Breakfast was varied and nice. Room was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Overall very good. The location is extremely busy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we were unhappy with.

    The manager was brilliant at sorting out our booking that had not been emailed to them from an online provider. He even let us book in at 11am! Fantastic help.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.1
    The staff was very freindly and helpful.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There only were the usual British sockets so I couldn't charge my phone. It would be nice if there was some USB-stations for charging cellphones and whatsoever. Breakfast was alright although the bacon smelled a bit. Quite far away from the city of London orfrom the airports.

    The staff was very freindly and helpful. The bathroom was very good and the beds were comfortable too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Bed was very comfy with a choice of 2 different types of...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was too small.

    Bed was very comfy with a choice of 2 different types of pillows. Views from the 5th floor were amazing and hotel has plenty of parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    3.3
    It’s central and that’s it unfortunately.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in staff was rude and disinterested and when I called to get the WiFi code made it seem like I was asking him to clean the room with a spade although that would have probably done a better job. As far as the bathroom went it was clean and functional however the bed sheets had clearly not been changed before I arrived from previous guests (see photos) so I slept on top wrapped in a towel. The walls are paper thin and I could literally hear the couple next door, lots of road noise and the lift. The guys upstairs were practicing their tap dancing for about an hour and were very talented. I know it’s cheap but sadly it’s not good value for money when you can’t even sleep in the bed!

    It’s central and that’s it unfortunately.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    I thoroughly enjoyed my staff. Myself and my son had a fantastic night sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink in my room was blocked. It took a long time for the water to drain out. The soda bed in the room was dirty and stained.

    The staff were lovely. The room was nice and comfortable. Check in and check out was a smooth process. I like that you need to use a room key to access the floors with the room on, it makes you feel secure in the building. The selection of food for breakfast was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    Everything that I expected for a one night stay.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed there because I needed to be in the area for a function. For overseas tourists on a visit to central London, I feel that it is a bit too far to travel to get to the centre of London.

    The room was clean . The staff at reception friendly and efficient. The breakfast was sufficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    3.8
    When checking in the front desk was empty for a long time until we had to approach the receptionist
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lights going out when the card was removed. The bathroom vent was not efficient. The sink in the bathroom was not emptying out at times. Not enough outlets. Couldn’t change the booking and had to pay two days without staying there. Very disappointing. Got charged for parking when I was told that we would have free parking in the hotel. Ants on the breakfast table.

    The light was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Smart, cosy, quality, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is a fair amount of disturbance from other rooms doors banging, but it's a hotel so what can you do. Other than that it was very quiet which surprised me, there was hardly any noise from other guests.

    Very pleasantly surprised. The bed was super comfy and there was a choice of firm or soft pillows. The shower was good, the room was cosy and well appointed. Excellent views from the top floor! I didn't try the breakfast. I was very happy to stay there, it had everything I needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Brief visit but hotel added to it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough shelves or hanging space for two people. Toilet roll holder wouldn't stay on the wall and no stop on shower rail caused the shower curtain to slide off the end.

    Friendly staff at check in, friendly and helpful staff in breakfast room. Room was light and comfortable with excellent bed. Location was even better than expected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    Convenient stop but not for electric cars due to 25 minute restrictions
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 25 minutes limit to charge my electric car was rediculous . The unit was originally posted for 90 minute limit but changed locally. Very disappointing as was the constant signs threatening to fine £100 for parking. Very unwelcoming.

    Excellent buffet breakfast facilities. Modern design of rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately because the main area was being upgraded a temp lounge and restaurant had been set up. The furniture looked like it had been in use for many years and was in poor condition.

    Room v good, most of staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Light and airy breakfast room -happy with choice /within walking distance to the underground
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More choice with tea e.g. specialist teas fruit or green tea/biscuits. More information on where to eat for those not familiar with the area. No mention of what was available if you wanted to eat in the hotel in the evening

    Good location comfy beds clean room/ friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.4
    Room was smell of weed
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should check the room before givig to people

    I booked for double room they gave us twin bed and next day they changed it to double bed but room was smelling very strong weed smell. C

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.5
    Good but decor/seating needs attention.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been here 3 times and felt that the dining area has got tatty. There are several worn areas on the back settee and some of the tables need work. There were several marks on the walls. Needs a fresh coat of paint to brighten up.

    Easy access to central London, breakfast good ,clean linen nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    I like the breakfast buffet because there's a lot of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the breakfast buffet because there's a lot of options. I like the bed as well as it's very comfy. Location was good as well as it's about 10 minutes walk to the train station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    GOOD LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    INADEQUATE CAR PARKS

    GOOD SPREAD OF FOOD FOR BREAKFAST - DINNER SIMPLE BUT WORTHWHILE. STAFF VERY VERY HELPFUL - SPECIFIC MENTION MOHAMAD - CUSTOMER SERVICE. VERY CLOSE TO TRAIN STATION AND SHOPS - McD IS 2 MINS AWAY, INDIAN CHINESE RESTAURANTS TOO - WIDE CHOICE OF PLACES

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both the sink drain and the shower would both block up and take a long time going down. Bed were soft but gave us very bad neck pain the next day. We also had to pay for parking which we were not warned about until when we checked out

    Staff were very friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.3
    Great location, Great short break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much! Size of the room / bathroom could have been better - but for the two of us it was okay.

    Really great location. Really easy to drive to and has easy on site parking. It is then 5 minutes walk (if that) to the central tube line - meaning travelling anywhere in London was a doddle! It took around 30 mins to be in the city centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    Asked to stay another night thinking we would get a discount...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked to stay another night thinking we would get a discount but was double the price of what we paid night before so went somewhere else. That was the only let down. Otherwise great place to stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.9
    Very handy location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not very welcoming, have to pay £5 to park your car in the hotel carpark

    Clean, spacious, warm, brilliantly accessible from Newbury park tube station into london

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant stay and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofas and chairs in reception area need refurbishment because they are tired looking and scruffy.

    Nice clean room and hot shower. Breakfast seating area was pleasant and had good views across London.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    5.4
    Just that it is well situated
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the breakfast is not what it use to be at holiday inns the hotel was quite dirty and the room had a funny smell i think they need to do some maintenance because quite a few things where not in good working order

    Just that it is well situated

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.2
    Although visiting for a funeral the hotel did help ease the pain
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening main meal you could describe as average although sweet was quite nice. But do have to add that the meals were reasonably priced.

    Room comfortable with delightful view and was a credit to whoever was responsible for the cleaning. Breakfast choice excellent. Parking was easy. Small but nevertheless nice choice of alcohol at the bar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.2
    Despite having a problem with a certain aspect of the hotel, I will definitely stay here again. The
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an issue with housekeeping but it was sorted out eventually

    Comfy beds, warm rooms, yummy breakfast! Staff sorted out an issue we had with housekeeping

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.6
    Very happy with my stay and will stay again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-fi, unfortunately I couldn't log in at all. Need more choice for evening meals, I think there were three items to choose from which was a little disappointing. Would be useful to have USB points in the bedrooms to charge phones, no-one carries power sockets with them anymore (I know I don't). Only small points really and I would happily stay there again.

    Lots of choice at breakfast which was lovely but the hot food could have been a little hotter. Was a little disppointed with the choices for evening meals. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The room was lovely and the bed very comfortable. One thing I would like to see is USB charging points for phones, etc in the bedrooms. I needed to charge my phone and had to use my laptop to charge the phone, just a small point but quite a useful one. Disappointed with the wi-fi, couldn' get it to work. Overall a good place to stay, would happily stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.7
    No surprises - H.I. Express
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was busy - self service from a small room which got quite cramped as everyone descended on it at once!

    Good location, reasonable parking costs (ANPR cameras payable at reception). Typical H.I. Express facilities

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Lovely place, friendly folk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't ask for the access room...

    The staff were super helpful. I booked the room well ahead for £60 for a twin room, with breakfast. Absolute bargain!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    It was lovely and abov what I expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa cum bed is a bit uncomfortable and needs to be replaced now. Secondly sofas in front of the reception are ripped off and should be changes as it left a negative impact on my parents.

    The receptionists, Natalja and Mohammad Ali are such a sweetheart and totally love there jobs. They surely know what customer service is all about. On the other hands rooms are too spacious and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Warm, friendly, comfortable!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, thinking of using again in the future.

    Staff very friendly the offer of a mince pie when checking in was a lovely touch (I went Christmas Day)! The room was also very comfortable and clean and a good size.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    Visit was used as a base camp, during our overnight stay.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No usb charging connections Slight cold draft in the room on the 7th floor Room had a slight foisty type of smell when we initially entered, but went away after the heating was turned up

    Staff very friendly, courteous and polite Breakfast well stocked and constantly replenished. Room was adequate for an overnight stay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable and great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean and comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was really nice. I would definitely recommend and stay there again. Only minor issue was that there was an even happening downstairs and I could hear it from the 2nd floor. Other than that staff were friendly and nice and oh before I forget had to pay an extra £25/30 cant recall as a fee in case of damages etc but you do get it back when you are checking out. I think this should be stated up front on booking.com. My partner and didn't argue as we were too tired from the long drive

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    5.4
    The breakfast was really poor.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    rooms fine, breakfast appauling

    The breakfast was really poor. I do not eat meat so only hot food was scrambled eggs which made me sick - it was full of salt. I was informed that it was not cooked on site as a response - not impressed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Nice lots of space nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is not big enough moves alot and thin blanket After 12 the bar is closed to even buy water which means you have to go out.

    Nice lots of space nice hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Great place for a short comfortable stay at competitive price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture in bar/reception area was quite frayed on the arms. Needs recovering.

    Clean & comfortable. Value for money. Warm & cosy. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.5
    Missed breakfast as wasn't informed of timings on check...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Missed breakfast as wasn't informed of timings on check in. Finished early at 9.30am, most hotels do till 10am during the week, so wasn't to pleased when i went down at 9.50am to be told it finished at 9.30am

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    great stay would book again.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    chairs in lounge area need to be updated, not comfortable, and tatty, sorry to say

    All round, really good sleep, good breakfast, location next to tube, spot on .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    We have stayed here twice now, and both times were great. Thumbs up
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There really was very little I didn't like about the hotel.

    I liked the CCTV-monitored parking. I was also appreciative of the fact that only residents with hotel keycards could access the hotel. As always, the breakfasts in this place were just great. The staff were fantastic. The bed was comfortable, and the shower was good too - nice and powerful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    5.0
    Disappointed with breakfast selection
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very limited for price we paid. Very disappointed. Thete should be no charge for parking as price of hotel is high. There was no shampoo or soap in the rooms whic is standard for any hotel.

    Hotel was very clean. I was allowed to check in early and check out late which helped my mum who does dialysis.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    This location is clean, modern and reliable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't like having to pay for parking GBP5/night. The area is a bit sketchy at night.

    This location is clean, modern and reliable. The included breakfast was good and tasty.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Welcoming and warm hotel with excellent staff for a quick city stop over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    No room service or food available to the rooms.

    Excellent welcome and customer care. Good large rooms with plenty of space. Good location for the event I was attending in the area. Breakfast was well presented and tasted good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location, short walk from Newbury Park undergroud so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    £30 deposit asked for - maybe make this clear beforehand

    Great location, short walk from Newbury Park undergroud so great for London. Parking! Easy but says it's free, it's £5 but massively reasonable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    This hotel is perfect for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were attentive to our needs. The room is comfortable, the breakfast offers a fair choice and the view from the end window is frequently sunny.

    We have used this hotel 3 times because it is easy to access from the M11 motorway, has good parking available at a fair rate of £5 per day and is close to a tube station for easy access to London.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Good service, however could be more options for food at hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think there should be an option of room service as well as breakfast. We got back quite late to the hotel, and most shops were closed for food.

    Bed was comfy, great location and great service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    6.7
    Well worth considering
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A more creative evening menu with a wider choice of healthy food options on offer.

    The location served my purpose and near to the tube station. the room was well presented; clean and comfortable. The staff were always most helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.5
    A good stay and in the right geographical area for that part of my trip.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to access the parking, directions for entry could have been better. Being approached by a random bloke in the car park, not the hotel's fault just disconcerting! Reported to the Management, the guy is a previous visitor to the Car Park!

    The breakfast was very good! Lot's of variety and plenty of it. Clean room, comfortable bed. Access to a good quality TV and WiFi services in the room, which was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Location exactly right for our needs: all the facilities and comfort we required.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disliked: we had a largeish twin room with only one tiny bedside table between the two beds and most of that was occupied by the room phone! Every user of a room should have a bedside table big enough to accommodate book, specs, phone etc. We also became quite irritated that the electronic key cards kept failing and, at least once a day, one of us would have to request a new key. The bar prices for bottled beer are OUTRAGEOUS! Despite these snags, however, I'd happily stay here again.

    Liked: wide choice of breakfast foods; friendly, helpful staff; comfortable beds with NO plastic mattress cover; large room; superb shower (if only all hotel showers could be this good!); excellent soundproofing and good air-con.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.9
    A pleasant, comfy stay with friendly staff. Will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for parking. Slightly limited cooked breakfast..only scrambled egg, beans, sausage & bacon.

    Very close to tube..2/3 minute walk. Breakfast very nice with fairly good choice. Clean room with iron & board & hairdryer. Nice & smiley staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    Modern, clean, spacious, comfortable hotel
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedroom was rather too warm at night - thermostat was reading 23C - and with the windows locked, the only way to cool it down was to use the air cooling system which was very noisy, and the temperature very quickly rises again after switching it off. With the windows locked to guests, the air conditioning system was on permanently, and although it wasn't very noisy, it could be heard all night - this will not bother most people, but those with sensitive hearing and difficulty sleeping will be aware of it.

    The bedroom was spacious, clean, pleasantly decorated, with plenty of table space and a large television - the double bed was superb, very comfortable firm mattress with a soft topping. The bathroom was clean and spacious and well lit, and also had a useful little night light - large shower cubicle with wonderfully lush shower - plenty of worktop space around the sink - excellent plumbing. The toilet was in a space which could be separated off by using the dual-purpose bathroom door, which is nice for privacy. The breakfast dining room was very pleasant, with huge windows and comfortable seats - the breakfast was self service with a good choice of foods and drinks, so you can choose the exact amount of each item that you want. The bar area was spacious with comfortable sofas. The whole hotel felt modern and clean with a relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    GREAT ROOM; GREAT BREAKFAST AND GREAT VIEW.
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a slight problem with the shower temperature, likely to be the mixer tap, and reported this to reception

    Beds were very comfortable. Breakfast well catered for with a full menu and wide choice. The view of the City Area and Canary Wharf was stunning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Very good location for me to visit friends - comfortable !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only spoiler for me was the leather covered arm chairs in the lounge area - they were very tatty and missing areas of covering - need to be replaced.

    The bed was very comfortable, the food was very good, I had to call the hotel on the day of my arrival as I had got lost and they gave me excellent directions - plus they answered the phone immediately so 10 out of 10 for that alone !!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.0
    Disgusting service - rude and very unhelpful. We stayed on Saturday 2 September for 1 night
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed Saturday 2nd September and the staff working in this hotel were very rude and unhelpful. We arrived at 2pm to be told that our room was not ready. On the booking it stated our room would be available at 2pm. My partner and I advised that we were attending a wedding and needed to iron a shirt as we were in a hurry. The Eastern European woman who served us said in a very blunt cold manner that the room would not be ready for another 20mins. She did not even offer us another room to use whilst our own room was being prepared - she did not apologise either or offer any complimentary service or discount for our inconvenience. I was really annoyed by her behaviour and service (I sensed she had a problem with serving us because we were black/Asian therefore racist) yet she wanted payment in full and extra payment for the room. Luckily for us another customer kindly and graciously offered us to use their room to iron and prepare whilst our room was being prepared. Over all disgusting service and treatment. I would not stay at that hotel again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.3
    The food on offer and starting breakfast before 7.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food on offer and starting breakfast before 7.30am The same staff on reception seem to be doing the food and the bar at the same time, this may work when you don't have many guest in reception but really doesn't when you are busy,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Stay was excellent . Sort out your waiting area.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waiting area opposite the reception looks tired! Chairs are worn and carpets old.This shows no pride in your brand. Not good at All!

    Comfortable bed and good breakfast. Helpful staff. Convenient location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Budget friendly, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say, all positive.

    We've stayed here before because its conveniently located, super clean, reasonably priced, nice staff. Nice breakfast included as well. Tube station very close.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Very comfortable and great staff. Ideal for anyone planning a trip to London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    During busy times at breakfast things became a little chaotic in the buffet area. Perhaps some signage advising of how to move along the buffet in one direction may make things run more smoothly.

    The staff were very happy to accommodate our party of friends when we had an evening in the hotel lounge and bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    4.6
    Very expensive rates .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady at the reception was very good and polite when we were checking in but the gentleman was not.He was insisting that I didn't book the twin beds but I did .He was not helpful also the price was not value for money very very expensive rates. I had no choice that's why I booked

    Area was good for me safe and parking was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    4.2
    When looking for a quiet sleep, book another hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When looking for a quiet sleep, book another hotel. The hotel rents a party room during the week-end. But the noice is that loud that a quiet sleep on the second floor is impossible. When complaining at the desk, no action was taken at all; the answer I received is that the hotel has rented the party room, that the people are eligible to party with loud music, the staff agrees that the music noice we heard in our rooms was uttery loud, but they were very sorry about that, but couldn't do anything. At check out, the hotel deputy offered a discount for 1 night of 10%. What doesn't compensate at all the discomfort, we traveled with kids, the youngest 11 years old, after a early rise at 6:30 h in Brx (5:30 h UK time), visit London,they went to sleep exhausted at 21:45 h, the last thing you want to hear as a father is "we are sorry we can't stop the music". Seems the hotel has a policy of AND renting party rooms AND rent hotel rooms and when the visitor complains offer a discount of 10%. POOR, when renting a hotel room we consider you are entitled to a quiet room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice clean and functional rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Decor in the foyer was a bit tired Limited menu from the bar in the evening Not much to do around the hotel

    Nice clean and functional rooms Friendly staff Short walk from Central line station Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    the beds was very nice,the breakfast was a good selection...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the cards for the lifts did not work verywell when its late and you have been travelling a long time you just a easy access to to room to relax not get stressed.

    the beds was very nice,the breakfast was a good selection thankyou

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.5
    Was ideal for our purposes, easy access to tube and central London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Larger bed, two bedside tables would have been useful. Phone charging point near to bed would be useful. Mirror in room.

    Good breakfast and gluten free bread available. Beds comfortable, staff helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel, shame about the car parking charges
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At breakfast I don't think the toaster could be adjusted for different tastes. I like my toast well done and putting it through just once it was hardly toasted, it was more white than brown. If I put it through a second time it was quite burnt! There was nothing in between and I couldn't see any place where I could adjust it to a higher number to brown properly. I also didn't like the car parking charges and thought it was a bit of a cheek considering what we paid to stay there, that should have been included in the price. We stayed there about 4/5 years ago I think it was and there was no charges at that time. Also thought £5 a day was a bit steep seeing as we took the car out one morning and didn't get back until the evening so we weren't even parked there that day. The next day it was parked for most of the day, but we were even charged £5 for the day we arrived, about 3.30pm. If we ever needed to stay somewhere again in the future, I don't think we would consider that hotel again.

    The hotel was in quite a good location, close to Newbury Park underground, and there were a number of restaurants in the area. The rooms were very nice and I liked that they had tea/coffee facilities in the rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.3
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's hard to say anything as the hotel was a simple base.

    Lovely breakfast. Location is 5 mins walk to nearest tube station. This hotel was excellent value for money as a base. For us that was our only need. If you want to relax in a plush hotel this is not for you but as a base to see a concert at the Olympic stadium it is ideal.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: