Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express York 3 stars

Malton Road, York, YO32 9TG, United Kingdom

#31 of 53 hotels in York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1205 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.8
    the hotel and staff were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    every thing was fine

    bed comfy, breakfast well cooked, cooked plum tomatoes would have been a nice alternative to beans, staff very friendly and helpful, ice machine was a nice touch too

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Clean comfortable & friendly staff. Within easy reach of York centre & Racecourse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    My Husband & I stayed as going to York races. The Travelodge was easy to find and about 10 mins by car to York city & the racecourse. Friendly staff couldn't do enough for us. Excellent value for money. Room very spacious with tea & coffee facilities. Toby carvery was next door and was very good value for money. Enjoyed our stay. Lots of room to park your car with electric charging machines. Breakfast good with a choice of hot and cold food.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    6.3
    Asked for a large double bed, which did not get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a large double bed, which did not get. The room was cold, no instructions on how to use the heater in the room. Paid for breakfast the next morning, the food was only warm.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.6
    Delighted!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little distance from York Centre, but ideal for our purpose.

    Excellent value. Car parking. Room and breakfast quality. Toby pub adjacent - good low cost meals.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    5.8
    The bed was uncomfy just a rubbish mattress topper to try...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfy just a rubbish mattress topper to try and make it better. I went to clean my teeth in the morning the stench from the basin waste was like somebody had used it as a toilet. I was actually sick.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    6.7
    Good overnight stay for York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection in our room poor but great everywhere else. As the car park is shared with Toby Carvery it can be challenging to find a space.

    Good location. Clean room and comfy bed. Good size room. Great breakfast. Just a short drive into the city.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.6
    Really comfortable room and a great breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being on the outer ring road meant York centre was only accessible by car.

    Really comfortable room and a great breakfast. Was perfect for me accessing a job just outside of York.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, clean, friiendly staff and environment, we thoroughly enjoyed our anniversary break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only small disappointment was the choice of food available in the evening. The choice was limited to soup of the day, paninis, or pizza. To confound this the paninis available such as cheese and tomato also contained pesto, and the soup available was always tomato which would have been fine but also contained basil. I appreciate some people like these additions but as someone who suffers with several food allergies I would have preferred it if these were optional extras rather than compulsory ingredients. This was only a small problem and didn't detract from our stay.

    Clean room, excellent and very helpful staff members, lovely breakfast. A relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Nothing was too much trouble, offered lots of helpful advice on where to visit and the park and ride facilities nearby.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    Excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower very slow draining. Ended up feeling like I was having a bath rather than a shower due to the amount of water in the tray. Probably two inches deep. Bed only a double. Could have done with a bit more room.

    Excellent staff. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.1
    Very enjoyable and in the main comfortable stay. Would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was fine - however the toilet seat was badly fitted and whilst we did not make an issue of it during our stay - it is something that should not have been an issue in the first place. Prior checks should have highlighted this and I hope these comments assist you in this respect going forward.

    Overall the stay was very good - staff were friendly - however the lady who looked after the breakfasts on 2 mornings of our stay was exceptional. She was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for her - we appreciated her care and attention very much. She is a credit to you and a great asset for your company.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    A comfortable stay in a great location for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The aircon/bathroom extractor fan a bit noisy.

    Very friendly, professional staff. Very comfortable twin room for the price (£59 as had booked months in advance!). Buffet breakfast choice very reasonable for the type of hotel. Dining area immaculate - friendly service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.6
    Nothing to write home about sadly 😔
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room were not particularly clean, Lots of hair found in the bathroom, the home is very dated.😟very poor rating

    Nothing to write home about sadly 😔 However the staff were somewhat friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Good value stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast bar was a bit cramped as it was one long area & most people met in the middle!

    Good location for exploring the area & very close to shopping at Monks Cross & Vanguard. The Park & Ride is easy & cheap for access into York itself. Plus there is a Toby Carvery next door!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.8
    Very happy with location for a sight-seeing trip to York. Bed comfortable, breakfast good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Plenty of choice at breakfast but all in quite a small area so not quite enough room for guests to serve themselves comfortably. Plenty of room in the dining area.

    Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Room clean and comfortable, ideal for a one night stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    A pleasant and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just now and then people would not shut the doors properly and let them bang!!

    Everything was very clean and breakfast was good.all staff were very friendly aswell.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Staff extremely friendly and cannot do enough for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers poor water pressure but worked all the same. Hot rooms, windows only open alittle and no air con.

    Staff extremely friendly and cannot do enough for you. Very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, but dissapoonted with the ? Pubic hair found in the shower on arrival and drain smell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hairs found in the shower and the smell from the drains as we brushed our teeth... it was distgusting. Room 224

    Excellent reception staff, attitide and helpfulness was impeccible, Thank you x x

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.0
    Observations
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area,needs refurb ,not nice to staff outside puffing away,should have there own private smoking area, Very chaotic with the room system ,not very good when it's nearly midnight but at least the night person sorted it 👍

    Comfortable beds breakfast adequate.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    2.5
    It was extremely disappointed that the hotel was not able to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was extremely disappointed that the hotel was not able to provide room to my family when I arrive even though I have booked, confirmed and get charged. They explained it was the fault of Booking.com. What the hell!?

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    York 2018 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Duvet was way too heavy & warm for this time of year. Disappointed there was no tomatoes or mushrooms at breakfast.

    Staff were amazing, polite & helpful, nothing was too much trouble 😊

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    One night break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The base of the shower was bery slippy. Supposed to be non slip. Had to hold on to the grab rail as really didnt feel safe. Ended up putting bath mat on floor for elderly mum

    Very friendly staff Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Very happy to stay here whenever we visit York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean comfortable room with excellent breakfast included in the price. Staff all cheerful and helpful. Have stayed here before and happy to return. Easy access via Park and ride into the city centre

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    SEE ABOVE...THE HOTEL WAS NOT TO BLAME...IT WAS THE BOOKING PROCESS THAT LET THINGS DOWN .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I THOUGHT I HAD BOOKED A ROOM WITH 2 SINGLE BEDS UNTIL...ON ARRIVAL...I WAS INFORMED THAT WAS NOT THE CASE ! AFTER MUCH DISCUSSION & EMBARRASSMENT ( 2 STRAIGHT MEN...ONE DOUBLE BED ) I ACCEPTED AN OFFER BY THE STAFF MEMBER I WAS TALKING TO MAKE USE OF A TEMPORARY BED WHICH HE KINDLY SET UP IN THE ROOM. AS EXPLAINED TO ME BY THE RECEPTIONIST...THIS SITUATION WAS BROUGHT ABOUT AS I HAD NOT TICKED A PARTICULAR BOX ON THE BOOKING FORM. THIS APPARENTLY WAS A NOT AN UNCOMMON THING TO HAPPEN WHEN TRAVELERS FILLED IN YOUR BOOKING FORM ON LINE,,,PLEASE NOTE ! ALSO WORTH A MENTION WAS...I THOUGHT IT A BIT ODD THAT AT THE FINAL STAGE OF THE BOOKING PROCESS NO MENTION WAS MADE REGARDING THE BED SITUATION ONE HAD BOOKED!

    THE BED WAS COMFORTABLE THE LOCATION WAS GOOD FOR THE TRIP UP NORTH

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Very impressed, will use Holiday Inn again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    As it was very hot weather, a fully opening window would have been great.

    Room very spacious, clean and had all the amenities required for getting ready to attend wedding reception. Very impressed with the room, the staff and the breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    The accomodation was as I expected, clean tidy and well presented.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the window was into the rubbish yard. The outside window cill had a smoked cigarette end on it.

    The receptionist was polite and help The accommodation was good, nice bed. Breakfast was well presented and a good supply.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.1
    The rooms were lovely and the beds very comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were lovely and the beds very comfortable! Breakfast was amazing too and i loved that checkout was at 12! Also my partner managed to get early check in as we were staying the night for my best friends wedding which was at 13.30 so he needed to get into the room early which they were fine with.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    The staff were so friendly, the room was very clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so friendly, the room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was brilliant. We will be staying here again on our next visit to york.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    Holiday Inn Express - York
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine, we did think that we were nearer the town, but it was too far to walk. But we used the park and ride which was good and very reasonable.

    Good breakfast, bed very comfy. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Staff make it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon, and the bins were close to our window so could't really open it, but hey, the bins have got to be somewhere.

    Excellent staff. We turned up very early to check in, but they allowed us to wait while they made a room ready for us. location was excellent for us as we were attending a function at the next door carvery. Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice. If there was one thing I might add is a small ammount of either soya milk or some other dairy free product to make tea with for the lactose intolerant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Suited our purpose well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found the small double bed rather cramped and the mattress excessively firm. Others found the mattress on the soft side and as we were assured they were all the same, that says a lot about different perceptions of the same thing.

    Very helpful staff. Good sized parking area. Toby Restaurant on site. Selection of food good, and also had helpful staff. The room was nicely appointed, although it seems odd to have a shower curtain rather than sliding panels these days. Effective light excluding curtains. For historical reasons we had low expectations of Holiday Inn Express breakfasts and this was unexpectedly good, although queuing for breakfast was also unexpected. If they had more tables for two, rather than two people sitting at tables for four, there would not be delays.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.1
    Staff were lovely couldn’t do enough for us, room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very overpriced considering location and facilities, wouldn’t stay again for that reason only.

    Staff were lovely couldn’t do enough for us, room was immaculate

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Will definitely come again and will recommend to others, should be more than 3star!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no Concerns or complains. It was great

    Superb breakfast that was cooked to perfection, the choice was extensive, The staff were really friendly and helpful. Especially Andrea in the kitchen could not do enough for us and payed special attention to our 8 year old and the smiley face sausage was very much appreciated and made his morning. James and the staff on the reception were very helpful and always willing to give advice for our town excursions. Will definitely recommend this Hotel to friends and family, we shall be using again later in the year.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.0
    It was ok but will not book the hotel again as we thought it was going to be closer no access to bus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area where the hotel was further away than what we thought and did not have easy access to York The Toby grill was not good food could have been better Toby grill needed a good clean and update

    The staff were very helpful Breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    Our stay was made better by the Friendliness of The Staff at the hotel and in Toby Restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My only grumble is that the bus service is not close enough to make it convenient, especially as my wife is disabled. We hired a car and made the most of it

    I would like to thank the Young Man that sorted out a couple of problems for us (Jim?) he was very pleasant and very helpful. I'd also like to thank the breakfast staff who made sure we had enough to eat and were so helpful in supplying soya milk for my breakfast, I have a cows milk allergy so they helped a great deal and they were all so very happy and pleasant. The hotel is is situated ideally just two and bit miles from York City Centre and well placed for exploring the outer areas of North Yorkshire. . Thank you all at Holiday Inn Express York

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness was poor- sewage smell in bathroom Old fashioned bathroom Noisy

    Comfortable room Good location Friendly and helpful staff Adequate breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Very comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toby pub next door was in need of refurb but food was ok, I realise this is nothing to do with Holiday inn

    Clean rooms, towels changed daily. Good cooked breakfasr

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Room was clean and big enough for 2 people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not friendly, hotel needs an update as it is not up to standard with other Holiday inn Express I have stayed in recently

    Room was clean and big enough for 2 people

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.0
    Nice staff , old and overpriced hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very overpriced and room very average . Old and needed updating . We would have complained at the time but the staff were so lovely we didn’t have the heart . £200 a night for the races was so overpriced would never stay again

    Staff lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    Good place to stay if using York as a base to visit other places.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no cooling system for the room. I could heat it up but with temperatures reaching 29 degrees C (I know - unheard of in York) it would have been nice to be able to cool it down in the room.

    Bed was very comfortable and room was quieter than expected.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    Distance from town was a problem but hotel manager was very helpful providing bus details
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel too far out from York town centre. At time of booking the correct mileage was not given & as we did not come by car the distance was a great disappointment.

    Good breakfast. Lovely croissants. Beds comfortable & staff very pleasant & friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Peaceful as intended to meet and catch up on gossip with friends of long standing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOT hotel's fault-the smells from the bins at the back of the adjacent Toby restaurant were appalling. James sorted it out fast and effectively 10/10 there too!

    Special thanks to James and Gill who provided advice on eating out-good advice too! Both went out of their way to make our stay unforgettable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    An enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint was the fact that the hotel only had 3 Blue Badge spaces. Each evening we returned to find work vans belonging to workmen staying in the hotel parked in these spaces. No badges on show. Obviously they did not consider the people who actually needed to park closer. Think the hotel should address this.

    Very good location for York and Harrogate. As the hotel is set back from the road you do not get any noise from traffic. Although breakfast is included in the price I found it a little basic as I only wanted continental and didn't have a lot of choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.3
    Trip was ok but would choose a different hotel another time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell in bathroom coming up from drain. Shower not emptying properly and toilet filling too full.was reported and apparently someone looked at it but could still smell drain in sink.

    Staff friendly. Breakfast ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Perfect for our 1 night stay to put our heads down :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a funny smell coming from the drains in the bathroom but it could have just been old pipes.

    The man who checked us in was very welcoming! The bed was really comfy! The breakfast was basic but was perfect for a quick bite of toast before we hit the road again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location for touring York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pressure on the shower was very poor but hopefully this will be fixed. The room was close to the entrance which was noisy on one night with inconsiderate people talking very loudly outside.

    The location was perfect for going around York, the park & ride is a 2 minute car journey. Great breakfast, fill yourself up, you won't want to eat again until the evening. The bed was comfortable with a choice of pillows. Ask for a bedroom away from the front entrance, it can be a little noisy with people coming in late. Free onsite parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Will recommend Holiday Inn express.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Man clearing breakfast room was perhaps a little over zealous, and not dressed for the job.

    Dave at check in was brilliant. Room was clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was extensive. Surely worth more than 3*!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Good location and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area was a bit small but the staff phoned up to our room to let us know when a table was available which was very good

    Good location and very friendly staff. Nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Overall a great break, would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very poor, it didn't work very good at all.

    Great value for money and having a choice of breakfast hot meal or cold included in the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    A comfortable stay and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could do with more choice of beers at the bar, but that wasn't a a big issue.

    Pleasant reception staff, not too big and busy as a hotel, good breakfast and evening meal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.3
    Basic Hotel, Friendly Staff. Out of Centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Too Noisey( was woken up constantly to people walking up and down the hallway and the bin men making a ridiculous amount of noise at 7am) - Standard Breakfast- not enough tables. We had to go wait in our room for 40 mins as there was nowhere to sit. - Far our from centre, £12 each way. Would of stayed closer if we'd of known - Oustide of hotel isnt very pleasing on the eye, looks like a retiring home.

    Really nice fairly modern room. Friendly Staff Comfy Bed Loved the toast Near to monks cross shopping park- handy and has great high street shops( Toshop, River Island, Primark)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    We were greeted by Chris the manager who was very welcoming and loved rural location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Beautiful, clean rooms and staff were so helpful, the hotels location was rural with a Toby next door. A shirt taxi ride into York so close enough for me ! Breakfast was included which was nice - I d recommend this hotel, well worth a visit

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Great stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wouldn't change a thing

    Friendly staff, clean comfortable room. Free parking. Although the menu was limited the food was so, so lovely! Holiday Inn always stick to what they know and you get value for money. Great stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    A very enjoyable stay in a happy, friendly atmosphere with good food, good accommodation and parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It has nothing to do with the hotel but it would have been useful if there had been a bus coming past the hotel to go into York.

    The disabled room was perfect for my husbands needs. Plenty of room to get about the room and bathroom facilities. The staff were very accommodating and the breakfasts were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Top notch Budget Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    would have appreciated a mirror above the desk to sit and apply my make up and/or dry my hair

    Very helpful staff who arranged a taxi at short notice, lovely comfy bed with fluffy pillows, bathroom was well designed and laid out for someone with mobility issues but the wet room arrangement meant the whole floor was wet after taking a shower. Breakfast was much better than expected with lots of choice, both hot and cold. This is a good example of how to provide a budget hotel to a high standard. The only downside is the distance from the City itself but in fairness, this is reflected in the price. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.3
    Very nice short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The smoking shelter could have been somewhat more protective from the elements.

    As a disabled person the house keeping were exceptional and very considerate at all times. I would have no problem in recommending this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    2.9
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived the bathroom was a mess and someone had left a mess in the toilet, the toilet had no water in either so wouldn’t flush the mess from the previous people who stayed in it. When asked how the stay was at check out and explain the situation the staff member wouldn’t accept that the staff members who are suppose to clean the hotel rooms were to blame and claimed no one is at fault.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Really handy for the park and ride into York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was fine for the price - clean and comfy and where we were it wasn't noisy

    Really handy for the park and ride into York. Not so sure about the evening food menu (didn't partake -it sounded like microwave food) but there are plenty of eateries on the nearby shopping mall and a Toby next door.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Grand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were lovely and room was just grand , I am not sure if you know this but the sat nav has huge problems finding you it almost went into meltdown trying to get to you. Asking someone rectified the situation. Many thanks for a lovely weekend xx

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    happy, pleasant, comfortable lovely time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing at all

    we loved the size of the room, the bathroom and lovely shower, the location of the room on the bottom floor and near the restaurant, the quietness of the rooms above... friendliness of all the staff and the guests and the rooms being lovely warm and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    I would go back anytime!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This did not effect me, however, I believe there was not easy access to public transportation.

    It was out in the country but it was ideal for my purpose. Easy access to a big shopping mall, York was close. I had rented a vehicle so getting about was no problem. There is a Toby Carvery right next door, which is a very reputable chain. Personally I did not need to go there but it's an added bonus!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Excellent stay.friendly staff always smiling .Nothing was to much trouble .
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was all brilliant. Maybe some drawers to put your clothes.

    Chris the manager and staff were absolutely amazing .They even prepared our breakfast early as we had an event at York racecourse. Outstanding customer service throughout the stay. We will definitely be back again.Rooms were emaculate and very clean.All excellent .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    room to hot

    Room was comfortable after awhile - someone had the heating on and is was like a furnace to walk into. Problem soon solved by fan and opening the window. Enough tea and coffee supplied.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Brilliant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely and clean room very comfortable bed and rooms were very good size. About 2 mile out of york which i liked as away from all noise. Hotel will book taxi and tell you best places to go.

    Friendly staff that made our stay extra special for my partner 50th. Nothing was to much trouble.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't fault the hotel at all

    Location was excellent as it was only 2 minutes drive to the Park & Ride into York. Also only 2 minutes drive to the shopping complex with restaurants. The staff were friendly and helpful & breakfast was plentiful, with the buffet constantly fresh & topped up! The room was comfortable, with all the basics that you need, but without any frills. An excellent hotel for a short break in York!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    great staff smaller than I thought it would be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    evening meal choice very limited, only used as next doors pub was closed on the night we stayed and we were to tired to drive back out so opted for hotel food

    very clean, breakfast was really lovely good choice, staff at this hotel are exceptionally friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Excellent would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Everything about the stay was perfect the staff a can't remember the ladies name on the desk but she was very helpful as not from the area she recommended the best places to eat and even ordered my taxi went the extra mile

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Rooms where clean beds where comfy, included brekfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nit picking but a bit of dirt came out the shower head when put on full pressure other than that not a single complaint

    Rooms where clean beds where comfy, included brekfast was spot on all round great experiance would definatly book again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was fine and we have no complaints.

    Overall a most satisfactory experience which suits the purpose of our visit.the hotel was clean and tidy with a warm welcome.Ever

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not very comfy and it was squeaky, the sink had hair in it, the image of the bathroom on the website was not representative of the bathroom in our room, the Breakfast was ok, although no mushrooms or hash browns was a bit disappointing, the staff we’re very friendly and helpful

    The bed was not very comfy and it was squeaky, the sink had hair in it, the image of the bathroom on the website was not representative of the bathroom in our room, the Breakfast was ok, although no mushrooms or hash browns was a bit disappointing, the staff we’re very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Friendly and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked biscuits with tea. carpet slightly stained

    Nice spacious room. Had sofa and desk with chair. Very helpful staff. We had a 12.00noon check out which was great. Good value and breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    We would definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 of the room key cards didn't work so that had to be sorted but it wasn't an issue. The manager dealt with it. I think the price was a bit dear.

    Nice cosy room, all you can eat breakfast and quiet!!! Even though it was fairly busy we weren't disturbed by noise.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Good stay, very welcoming staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sofa in my room had some stains on it and the wall between the bedroom and bathroom also had splash stains on it near the top of the bed. Neither were massive problems and I don't think it was a cleaning issue more likely a hard to clean red wine issue from a previous room occupant.

    Good breakfast, good pillows and comfy bed. Very close to the York ring road so very easy to get to and find.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisey. Lots of loud drunk young woman -till the wee hours of the morning. Knocking on doors, arguing - arghh!

    Location, good staff and all round except for clientele.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    Good value hotel but not so great if you are visiting the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No amenities near the hotel other than Toby carvery and it's not great.

    Breakfast was nice. Shower was not a power shower as advertised. Park and ride 2 mins drive away, not safe to walk to as no pavement. Taxi to centre £8

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Holiday Inn was adequate for our needs room was very basic with not enough storage space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was very basic very little storage wardrobe was open no doors, and there were no draws to put cloths away, breakfast finishes to early during the week.

    Very good location for york, breakfast was very good, car parking good andToby carvery very good meals and drinks

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: