Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fairfield House 4 stars

Brantfell Road, Bowness-on-Windermere, LA23 3AE, United Kingdom

#30 of 39 B&Bs and Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 291 B&B reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roofspace Penthouse Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did bang our heads a lot on the ceiling, the floor in the bathroom was very slippy when wet and the spa bath splashed everywhere.

    The breakfast was great, views from the penthouse suite, especially the shower were incredible, lovely bed, spa bath was good, overall a really great place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a deluxe bathroom but the spa bath was not working ! Very steep hill so not good for people with mobility problems .

    Comfy bed , nice room over looking the garden , peaceful surroundings .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walking up the hill to get to and from the Fairfield.

    Location was very good, good lounge area and lovely garden, and very good breakfast. Staff were helpful and the stay was very relaxing and peaceful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had hardly any pressure which after a day out hiking in the surrounding hills, is not what you want, washing my hair was an absolute nightmare with it. The breakfast was limited to say the least, when we booked they were still offering a full English, however this was changed without notifying us so we couldn't change our reservation to elsewhere. There were croissants and pan au chocolat that were burnt and gone cold, 2 types of ham and 2 types of cheese, so hardly continental. The windows weren't double glazed so in a morning, people in the garden woke us up. The cost of the room was not worth it. It is way over priced for what it is.

    The staff were lovely and always willing to help. They were polite and courteous. The location of the place, is slightly away from the hustle and bustle of the town which meant peace and quiet in an evening. The garden is lovely, so well done and it was so peaceful to sit out there and relax in an evening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was rather small. The shower lacked pressure during our stay.

    The whole place was a wonderful experience. We loved the garden - both the flora and the vide range of garden furnitures. The breakfast was excellent!!! The location away from the town centre was perfect for us (however, be aware a very steep hill).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As mentioned above, the spa bath wasn’t working which was a disappointment to us. It just made a very loud noise when we turned it on and no bubbles came out of it. We did inform the reception of this on our second day and was informed that we had just missed the maintenance guy. So we were unable to use it during our stay. What a shame!

    A beautiful room and stunning view of the guesthouse gardens. The room was light, airy and spacious and tastefully decorated. It was also very clean. The bathroom had a good shower and substantial spa bath. The only reason this review is slightly lower than it should be is because the spa bath wasn’t working during our stay which was one of the reasons why we’d booked that particular room. Other than that, the location was excellent - very central to Windermere. We also had parking directly outside the guesthouse in their car park. The breakfasts were also very enjoyable!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roofspace Penthouse Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A minor thing but the en-suite was a little dark and the tea making area needs to be moved...just to avoid head bangs. Don't think you need two TVs in the room.

    The penthouse suite was very roomy with spa bath, large shower and garden view. The gardens are lovely and we used the sunbeds as the weather was so fantastic. The location is superb...so close to Windermere, pubs, cafes and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had not read the change in breakfast but what was offered was excellent and the staff were very helpful. The location is so handy to Bowness centre and very quiet. Beautiful gardens and good parking. The room was a bit small but very clean and equipped well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When i paid for Bed & Breakfast being in England i expected a full cooked English breakfast but only got a cold buffet. That said there was a good choice. P.S. It only mentioned the cold buffet breakfast after booking and paying.

    The 4 poster bed was really comfy and the bathroom was nice with a great shower. The location is up a steep (but short hill) just minutes from the lakeside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't meet our expectations, certainly wasn't a deluxe spa room, cobwebs in bathroom, doors needed painting, bath panel was held on with tape, duvet on bed was torn.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    shower room too small and not practical breakfast, no communication just told to help ourselves to continental buffet we stayed 3 days on last day we were asked if we would like something cooked we would have liked that choice the 2 previous days

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure in shower was too low.

    The room was lovely view into back grounds was beautiful. Great to be able to park close. The bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was renovations going on in hotel, deluxe room was booked with spa bath, the quality of the bath was terrible panel held on by tape as there was cracks in it and the bed was not comfortable, squeaked every time you rolled over or moved on it, so not the best for a good nights sleep!!! Details on booking.com weren’t clear about breakfast it was continental no full English which was paid for so rather disappointing.

    Location was great, nice friendly staff...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked the beds a bit more securely together. and a bit more room in the bedroom. Although we knew in advance, no cooked breakfast, apart from eggs, was disappointing

    Breakfast staff efficient, house very clean, nice garden. Very handy for town and good parking on site

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should be optional and not necessarily included in the price

    The room was warm, comfortable The ensuite was very good with all that was needed eg: toiletries & towels

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid extra for spa shower and whirlpool bath. Shower fairly noisy and whirlpool bath not working during our visit. Unfortunately it was a very busy weekend for us with deadlines to keep so we didn't use the bath until Saturday evening. On Sunday morning after breakfast we went to report it to Tony, however we were informed he had just left for a week's holiday. We were assured the message would be passed to him on his return. Disappointed that we have not heard anything.

    Friendly staff, cleanliness of room, quality of food good and close to amenities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roofspace Penthouse Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing,

    Great breakfasts, very clean rooms and happy staff. Good car parking. We needed peace and quiet and the hotel gave us that but it was walking distance to the centre of Bowness with its cafes and pubs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is not great - really hard to wash hair with low pressure shower. Sink area is quite awkward too.. bed was also too small for my 6”2 boyfriend but I found it comfortable enough! None of this takes away the shine of the place and people.

    Really nice staff and great attention to detail such as face wipes and cotton buds in the bathroom. Very clean and comfortable. Easter eggs on the table on Easter Sunday really nice touch. Everyone was kind but left you to it which is good. Good amount of information offered Great location for central Bowness and also getting around the lakes!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Nice hotel & in a great location but .......... !! We paid £120 a night in what was supposed to be a good deal. The selling point for this room was that it had a spa bath & massage shower but none of them actually worked properly. So in effect it was just a room with a normal bath & shower, which by the was so cluttered with unnecessary furniture that we had to ask staff to remove some so we could get moved. The room clearly hadn't been cleaned as there were cobwebs everywhere & around half the lightbulbs we out & needed replacing. So this accommodation was at best a £60 a night room. It gives me no pleasure in saying this but we were well & truly ripped off. AVOID ..... !!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    as i mentioned Cardiac Hill plus i thought the exterior rendering might be looking for a fress lick of paint

    every thing about the house was splendid ,the style ,the parking ,the warmth on entering,light and airey and very clean .BARBARA was an excellent host very cheerfull and welcoming supported by excellent staff .the breakfast was excellent for us both for me a full english with a smaller item for the wife ,loved it .Our room was very good but not mad about 4 poster beds although very comfy all in all an excellent stay .only downside walking back up Cardiac Hill after a few sherbets

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Classic double room very small ,would go for a bigger room next time .otherwise faultless.

    Very friendly, good breakfast and very close to the centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely warm room during a cold weekend and amazing water pressure from the shower (I suppose being next to a rather large lake helps!) Fantastic breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really, just to note as others have said that the property is located on quite a large hill which was fine for us, but possibly a struggle for some.

    Great location for Bowness access. staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Breakfast is v good ! Would stay again if visiting the area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was lovely! Some reviews mentioned the steep hill up to the property. We didn't think this was too difficult at all. It is the lake district so it's difficult to find places with no hills.

    Beautiful hotel. Lovely breakfast. Very friendly staff. Tea in the bedroom. Very clean. Staff very helpful and flexible - even drew us a map and extended breakfast time.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacuzzi bath didn't work for which we paid extra for Second night no hot water because the boiler was faulty...a fault which was already known by the staff

    Friendly staff excellent food and clean a d comfortable rooms Lovely location quiet and only 5 minutes from the lake

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First morning breakfast did take a little longer to come than i would expect but on the other hand everything is cooked fresh

    Everything was nice in the room Very warm and shower etc good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lick of paint ?? Looked a bit tired but overall good. Steep walk back from Bowness but you are in the Lake District!

    Brilliant breakfast -great choice and beautifully presented. Room was warm and cosy although the bathroom was small.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fairfield was lovely and comfortable with excellent breakfast. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. However, the walk up the hill was a killer! Not for anyone with mobility problems. Have to take a taxi !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The water system was poor. First day cold water 2nd dat scalding hot water, no shower for three days! I think there is a problem with water pressure

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault it.

    The staff were friendly and welcoming after a long drive. Room was lovely comfy bed and super shower. Lots of little extras in bedroom and bathroom. Breakfast freshly cooked and very good. Loved the way it was all decorated and just a short walk to the town. Loved it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roofspace Penthouse Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Penthouse was a lovely spacious and quirky room/suit with lovely views a super 'rain' shower and a super comfy big bed. The service was excellent, friendly and efficient. Supper breakfast !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After having had a hearty meal in Bowness Village, the climb up the hill back to the guesthouse took its toll, but this something that the proprietors can do very little about. I would imagine that it would be difficult for someone with a degree of frailty, or for anyone in the winter months, with snow or ice on the ground.

    Friendly & attentive staff Very clean Great breakfast Nice decorated room & comfy bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is located close to the centre of Bowness and the hill helps burn off any excess calories from the great breakfasts :-) room was cleaned daily ,lovely and bed comfy .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing serious ... Garden view from our bedroom window was blocked by overgrown plants on the veranda which was a shame, they need pruning back or removed, bathroom door needs repainting, looks a bit worn ... nothing else really.

    The location to Windermere town centre (2 minutes away, but up a steep hill), breakfast was very good, varied choice, garden is lovely, private parking, bathroom was clean and fresh towels supplied each day, room & bed was tidied upon return after day out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roofspace Penthouse Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 'penthouse suite' was in reality an attic room which didn't have a lot of headroom (even for quite small in stature people). It is a Guest Houae and as such was overpriced in our opinion

    The location was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very comfortable, but was too hot,could not open windows securely,we were on ground floor and do like to have fresh air but window could open but not locked in open positions.The heating was on for some reason which made room very hot.

    Well situated,although the hill up to the property very steep,would not suit older person.but ideal location for seeing area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Roofspace Penthouse Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all was excellent

    Location very nice out off town , quiet and peaceful. Room very clean and everything we needed. Owners and staff very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked the showerhead to be removable....... To reach the parts you can't reach with a fixed head!! Although the garden was nice the seating and tables were really tatty.......need a good coat of wood preservative

    Nicely furnished comfortable bed. Best eggs hot and actually runny yolks ......which is unusual !!! Breakfast waiter very friendly and helpful. Nice garden........one reason we chose the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was congested with furniture. Staff are generally unfriendly, wicked and unsympathetic. The handrail from first floor to ground floor is a health and safety hazard. I got my small finger cut on it but the staff were horribly uncaring despite the profuse bleeding. The man who appears to be the proprietor is bigoted if not racist. His response to my injury was 'no one had accident there in 15 years' When we submitted key to him and said see you again, his response was, 'you never know'. A horrible man indeed.

    The bed was comfortable but nothing exxtra

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been a little larger. Dogs were allowed in the hotel which we did not appreciate. Creaking floorboards from room above.

    Unobtrusive staff. Very nice garden with seating. Quiet comfortable lounge. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room No2 - Paid £75 to upgrade to a delux room with garden view and spa bath. Spa bath did not work and couldn't see garden for overgrown trees in front of window. Requested a refund and only got back £40! Room small with TV/DVD player & kettle all on dressing table - no way you could sit and do hair & makeup. There is a very steep road to walk down/up to get in/out town, luckily my parents had booked other accommodation as they would not have been able to manage the climb.

    Room cleaned and towels changed every day, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room needed some work ie painting and the shower was temperamental. On checking out it was made obvious that they did not like accepting credit cards due to the surcharge.

    Car parking on site. Quiet area. Nice garden (but needed a little attention)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host is really nice and helpful! The garden is super beautiful! The room has traditional English bed and is very clean. The tea in the room is pretty tasty. We really enjoy our stay and will highly recommend this place to our friends!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't like a room on the ground floor. Privacy was lacking as there were no net curtains and leaving the window open to get some air compromised security. The shower room was small. The decor was tired, cracked wood on windows and rust coming through on radiators. Although these are fairly minor items, it is not reflected in the price which we thought was plenty for what we got. We would stay again but not on the ground floor.

    We liked the breakfast and the friendliness of the staff. The location was quite good but access to Fairfield house is up a very steep hill.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy shower even on normal mode without even using the additional jets. Spa bath very nice but again very noisy. no mention of the property being up a very steep hill!! Good selection at breakfast but sausage on both mornings was barely warm.

    Comfortable bed and good selection of toiletries and tea/coffee facilities. Pleasant staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon arrival after walking 11 miles, the manager's first words during check in process were to demand that I take off my walking boots. When told I had a medical condition that made walking without shoes painful, Tony (the manager) became very rude and loudly demanded that I take my boots off! Period! His attitude was uncalled for and my stay there was uncomfortable. Plus the bathroom bathtub had been broken and was clumsily repaired with duct tape. The Fairfield House is overpriced and poorly managed!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It does not mention that it is up a very, very steep hill, I myself am 74 and struggled anyone with disabilities could not manage and there is no way you would push a wheelchair, I think this should be mentioned in their advert.

    The food was excellent, bathroom very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roofspace Penthouse Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The w/c in the penthouse (attic) was not well lit. Although within around 100 metres from very good restaurants and bars there is a very steep hill for around 40 metres.

    The breakfast was excellent both in choice and quantity. The rooms were comfortable and well equipped. The garden was secluded and attractive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like just a little maintenance in parts. Our shower made a terrible clunking sound when on. We had a crack and staining on ceiling where a leak had happened.

    Lovely and quirky

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was good (lots of choice and prompt) but it could have been cooked a little more - it was a bit anaemic.

    The location was great - just a few minutes walk to the bars and restaurants. The grounds were beautiful. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The room was cosy and had a large spa bath with a view looking out over the garden.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The advertised "bar" was never open. No one around to man it.

    Very friendly hosts and staff, nothing too much trouble. Spotlessly clean accommodation, with a good tasty breakfast in the morning .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a friendly arrival at reception .It was a dog friendly hotel when I booked it .Was told my dog couldn't stay in room while we went out to eat even though she would be in a crate. Never ever had we had this problem before in all our times of travel .We had pre booked a birthday meal in a restaurant near by for his birthday .I had to cancel and go find a pet friendly pub to accomadate us. The owner did give us a list of pubs. But most of them were full.What was meant to be a lovely weekend away turned to be very stressfull.We eventually found a place after 1 hr of walking the streets.No blinds or net curtain on the window in the ground floor.Not ideal and very noisey above us could hear everything. Flushing of toilet shower as drain was right by the window.Horrible husky smell in reception and hall way .Very of putting .

    Position of the hotel close to shops ,lake and restaurants.Down call was the hill back up to the hotel very steep .Having know I would not book with suffering from a bad back .Not wheel chair /pram friendly lots of steps .Beds uncomfortable .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is tired & requires refreshing. VERY steep long hill to & from village & amenities if you're walking.

    Breakfast was decent but fried eggs under cooked.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The accommodation is listed as Pet Friendly when in fact a more accurate description would be a B&B that allows pets to stay - when I see Pet friendly I expect space for the dog in the room, dog towels, throws to protect furniture, dog bowl, dog treats and a garden that the dog is allowed in - this accommodation offers none of this. The room was small with a big bed and np space for the dogs bed, bowl, food etc - we were offered another room which was smaller, this is most definitely not a dog friendly B&B in fact I got the distinct impression that the owners didn't like dogs The breakfast wasn't great - tinned mushrooms, cold sausage, soggy bacon no pastries a big disappointment and I didn't have an opportunity to tell the owners this as there was no one around when we checked out! The room as well as being small was in need of some TLC paintwork chipped, holes in the plasterwork, grubby carpet and a bed that was so soft it felt like I was sleeping on the floor Finally there were lots of rules no dogs in the garden no dogs on the furniture 1 hr slot for breakfast The location is up a very steep hill which was fine for us but needs to be mentioned in the literature in case it would be a problem for guests I wont be recommending this place or going again

    There was ample car parking

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have not got anything negative to say about our stay .

    We got a free upgrade to a deluxe room which was fantastic. The hotel was lovely & the breakfast was excellent ! We will definitely be visiting again !!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly the fire could have been lit in the lounge but no big deal.

    The owners were very pleasant and the breakfast was one of the best i have tasted on my travels.p

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed comfortable, location great, short walk into Bowness for all restaurants and bars, Breakfast was hot and served quickly; the Poached Eggs perfect; breakfast choice was very good, with cereal, fruit, juices, Tea, Coffee, Hot Chocolate. Look forward to having the full Cumbrian Breakfast next time.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roofspace Penthouse Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows could have been better and the room needs a little maintainance. Didn't bother us and didn't affect our stay but things like missing lights, broken tap on the bath and cracked floor tiles may bother some.

    Good breakfast, lovely rainshower, great location, plenty of parking.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Probably personal thing due but would of liked the rooms to be more modern and have a bit more space.

    Nice Breakfast. Perfect distance to the town of Bowness.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The broiled mushrooms at breakfast.

    The welcome and banter from tony was excellent. The overall feel of the place and situation of the venue was exceptional.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice/cosy place-close to Bowness town centre-Tony was a real nice host-garden looks lovely, a pity we weren't able to use as we stayed in January.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All in all we had a nice 2 night stay Tony & Liz were very nice . Maybe a little cheaper price .

    Great full English just missing hash browns. Nice quiet spot only five mins to town centre. Plenty of bars and restaurants. The Stag is the place for Sky Sports.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was nothing to do with Fairfield but my husband isn't as well as he used to be and the steep road up to the accommodation was a bit much for him. Also, he found the shower a bit small - but it was fine for me.

    The bed was extremely comfortable. The breakfasts were fabulous. The hosts were very welcoming and friendly. We had a lovely stay. Also, the accommodation was very tastefully furnished.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    The spa bath was great. Poached and boiled eggs done to perfection. House richly decorated for Christmas. A very warm and welcoming place to stay

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attention to the smaller detail like maintenance of door handles, loose shower rail and marks on dated bedding. This place has the potential to be a really stylish boutique guest house with a bit of updating and tlc needed overall. although the current standard is reflected in its oricing. we had the deluxe roo. with 4 poster bed and Jacuzzi. the bath panel was damaged andvis awaiting replacement the Manager explained. We wouldn stay again because overall much better than a lot of ither Guest Houses walking distance of the town.

    Cosy and comfortable. friendly owners. short walk to the centre. althifh sterp Hill upto the property not suitable for someone with mobility problems. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was a little small but more than adequate for a couple of nights.

    Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice. Owners made you feel welcome and informative with regards of where to go etc

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel was in a great location to access Bowness. Its right on the Dalesway walk and just a 2 minute walk up the road gives you an amazing view over Windemere. The owners were lovely and they were well set up for dogs. We were able to keep our puppy in the room with us. Breakfast was also very good. We had a great time.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The accommodation was spotlessly clean and the breakfasts were beautifully cooked. We were given excellent advice on where to go for walks and day trips

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is good, but with very little more it could be excellent. The climb up the hill could be difficult for people with walking problems.

    Everything has been thought of. The toiletries, tea and coffee and even make up removal wipes for the ladies.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When you spend a lot of time in chain-hotels, you forget just how good the independent hotels were. Greeted by the manager, and shown up to the room, with a little chat about the hotel, the beautiful garden and the times of breakfasts, are things that you get from an independent. I felt that the staff made TIME to welcome the guests, and make sure that everything was satisfactory. It was a lovely location with parking and a couple of minutes walk to the shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very very basic and King size bed was simply two single beds put together which wasnt very comfortable.

    Staff very friendly and the location was fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was black hairs in our bed! The window frame was rotted, there was a sticker in the window saying they had the matter in hand. This sticker also looked like it had been there for a very long time! The property was a bit dated. In the description of our room, it said with a garden view! The wisteria growing out side was so high and over grown, it was not possible to see the garden!

    Bo'ness was a lovely place.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hill just before the hotel was great in the car but a killer to walk up especially I ally after an evening out eating, it is unfortunately what stooped us from returning in future

    Such a lovely room, compact but a great room. Loved the soar bar. Staff lovely great breakfasts

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roofspace Penthouse Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eveything about our stay here was perfect, we stayed in the penthouse suite which was lovely. The views from the windows were great, aswell as the spa bath which was working perfectly and was very relaxing. The breakfast were lovely and the staff were great. The location is great, a minutes walk down the road to the centre of bowness. All in all we had a perfect weekends stay and would definitely return!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attitude was very poor (not the waiter ) I have stayed in many B&B's and I can honestly say I never stayed anywhere to match it !

    The shower was very good

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: