Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fairmont St Andrews, Scotland 5 stars

Kingask, St Andrews, KY16 8PN, United Kingdom

#5 of 19 hotels in St Andrews

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2071 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Relaxing comfortable experience 👍
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything

    Everything from the valet parking & welcome at the door, bar, breakfast & bedroom were all amazing, been before & definitely be back👌

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    The hotel experience was first rate from the friendly greeting at door to general feeling of comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pedestrian access to car park.....uncovered/ not all walkway......scrambled egg was bland.

    Sound proofing....level of comfort....friendly/helpful staff....room service food......ambience including feeling of space.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.2
    Birthday celebration with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel facilities are really spot on but I’m afraid the food in 2 of the restaurant we went to was really average. Very overpriced for the quality and choice. I felt the food we ate was really disappointing. Not what we expected from a 5 star resort. I would recommend going into St. Andrews town for food if your staying in the Fairmont.

    The hotel and grounds are beautiful even in bad weather It’s a spectacular setting.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.0
    Excellent stay for the second time, will definitely be back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested a travel cot but unfortunately there was no real mattress in it, just a folded up sheet/duvet of some sort which would not have been comfortable for our 5 month old. We had taken our own bed nest for her so this wasn't a problem but had we not this wouldn't have been suitable for her to sleep in.

    Our room was very spacious.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING

    everything from our arrival to departure felt like we were at a very special place.No more to add,but every Hotel now will be compared to this one

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Atrium King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location. Fabulous hotel very very clean. Staff excellent but the guys that greet u at the door are just great characters and make u so welcome.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    8.8
    Nice, comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff were a little rude at times. Nick-picking on bill items, which were removed when challenged

    Location, room, bar and lounge areas - great breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.2
    The pool was nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The public areas of the hotel and grounds are lovely, but the bedrooms are a bit dated and could do with an upgrade.

    The pool was nice and clean. The hotel staff was very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The Italian restaurant was great for dinner and the Breakfast was good too. We enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Another excellent short break, would recommend this Hotel to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife could have let me play golf

    Having spent many short breaks at this hotel we knew what to expect and were not disappointed. Staff really friendly and helpful as always, food great and facilities also.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Excellent. My friend and I come every year and will continue to do so.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Atrium Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    From the minute we arrived until we left, the whole experience was excellent. Staff were excellent as was the food, rooms and bus journeys into the town.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.2
    Modern seaside hotel in the heart of golf country
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a hotel shuttle to and from town, but it stops running at six o'clock. The room descriptions involving a "view", may be across a parking lot (which was disappointing at this elevated price point).

    Modern high end hotel surrounded by golf courses and located seaside south of the town of St. Andrews. While it lacks the charm of more traditional older Scottish hotels, it is modern and comfortable with service oriented staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    5.8
    Beautiful hotel with lovely staff, amazing breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Atrium King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was freezing and the heating system was broken, I wasn’t offered a change of rooms. My room also wasn’t very clean, there were water marks all over the bathroom and the bedroom was very dusty.

    Beautiful hotel with lovely staff, amazing breakfast and very accommodating for coeliacs

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.2
    We had a lovely spacious and very comfortable room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very big and quite impersonal (but probably works fine for the sort of clientele who generally frequent it), long wait for check-in and a mix-up with rooms (although the latter was sorted out efficiently and helpfully).

    We had a lovely spacious and very comfortable room overlooking the sea, beautiful bathroom - spotlessly clean, good hot shower, nice lighting and luxurious touches. The restaurant had a wonderful view of the sunset over the sea, and our meal was delicious (if a bit expensive!). Superb breakfast offering a huge selection.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.6
    That when you order breakfast in your room you have to pay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That when you order breakfast in your room you have to pay for it again, having already paid for b&b. Most hotels only charge a tray delivery rate.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Definitely a coming again
    • Family with young children
    • Atrium Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice location amidst golf course and great views, very clean rooms and nice spacious bathroom with shower and bath (especially good for colder days), good size bedrooms and comfortable beds, lots of amenities, superb continental breakfast and very friendly and courteous staff staff in reception, restaurants and room service

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.2
    Pool and spa facilities were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly annoying to have to cab into town for restaurants in the evening.

    Pool and spa facilities were fantastic. So nice to be able to swim before breakfast every day. The staff were brilliant and seeing Evelyn for breakfast every morning was a breath of fresh air and greatly amusing.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.1
    The spa was lovely, breakfast was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Atrium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have been to the hotel many times and was very disappointed with this stay. The service at times was slow, the carbonara pancetta was almost inedible due to fat on the meat and then I ordered a baileys hot chocolate and was charged £10 for it due to charging for the hot choclate and baileys separately. Lots of aspects fell below the average standard I would expect never mind what I would expect from this hotel

    The spa was lovely, breakfast was nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful short break, we will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food at dinner was not bad, Had to wait 10 mins to be seated for breakfast as there are a limited number of tables which was a bit of a suprsie.

    Hotel look and feel is light, modern and has a wow factor. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The bathroom was superb and the view from the room was wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.8
    Mixed results
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Atrium King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way to expensive. Paid over £200 for the room and the bar prices were shocking. Dinner was great but breakfast food was poor quality and poorly presented

    I was there for a dinner and the dinner was really good and service was impeccable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.6
    Room was mega, views stunning & most of staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from breakfast, Food was very average on the whole but priced top end, my £40 steak was tough and chewy. The owner arrived just after us, so we got more or less told to get out of his way. Not how I expected to be treated.

    Room was mega, views stunning & most of staff were tremendous. Breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife thought the marmalade could have been better!

    We have stayed in all of Scotland’s top hotels and old ambience apart this was as good as any and possibly the best

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    My husband and I, had a fantastic overnight stay for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    My husband and I, had a fantastic overnight stay for a special birthday treat. We were overwhelmed by the level of service we received from each member of staff and we certainly can not wait to return.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    6.7
    Not worth the money, not a good birthday “treat”
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was cold and I was surprised that it was buffet style. The mini bar was massively over priced (especially for just a can of fizzy juice!). The spa was a huge let down, not very nice at all to be honest. The showers were flooding over by the side of the pool, the pool itself was freezing, the pool and surrounding facilities smelt like dirty toilets and the steam made such a loud noise when coming out in the steam room you couldn’t physically talk to the person you were with or relax at all if you were on your own. For the amount of money that it costs per night I would have expected way better breakfast (warm at a minimum) and a much nicer pool/spa area. The hotel itself and the grounds are nice but I wouldn’t recommend it or stay myself again. I was there for my actual birthday, it was booked as a surprise for me and my boyfriend by my parents. My dad had emailed ahead and advised that it was my birthday on the day of arrival and asked that they acknowledged this to make my birthday special. However, upon check in I was asked my reason for my stay and to be honest it fell on deaf ears. I would never ask for anything special for my OWN birthday but considering my dad had specifically asked for a nice surprise for me upon arrival and for me to be greeted by nothing was a huge disappointment for him. All in all I had a comfortable stay, the bedroom and bathroom themselves are pleasant but other than that I wouldn’t rate the service, the facilities or the food anything more than a 3 star. Really really disappointed with my stay, not the birthday treat I had expected!

    The bed was very comfy and the room bathroom was nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.2
    “Eggscellent”
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One year ago the poached eggs were disappointing and I mentioned it. This year the poached eggs were possibly the best I’ve ever had. All the staff were friendly, smiling and engaged, making for an excellent stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    The Fairmont - a wee bit of heaven!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was absolutely beautiful. The view out of my window was one of the holes on the Fairmont course!!

    The location was ideal. My friends were only 10minutes away via taxi at another hotel. It was easy to get a taxi and visit them and to go to the city to shop. The staff was kind, courteous and most helpful for all of my needs. The breakfast was delicious with many Scottish breakfast items such as haggis and black pudding. The staff for breakfast was efficient and kind. Never had to wait for seating thanks to Evelyn, the host. I would definitely stay at the Fairmont again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Our visit far exceeded our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes.

    Overall, a beautiful hotel. Also, the fact that the hotel provided a shuttle service to, and from, the town center during the day was a big plus. Our room was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    A return to the Fairmont
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was disappointed with the restaurant La Cuchina. Did not feel it was value for money.

    The staff were exceedingly professional and looked after us very well.We have stayed here many times and just love the ambience and the facilites that are available.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed with the food at the Italian restaurant. Main course could have been warmer.

    The staff were very helpful. The room was spotless and very comfortable. We loved our time there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant stay at the fairmont St. Andrews
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was far too warm our room was far to hot which made me very uncomfortable

    The hotel was very nice, good staff and well mannered . Room was very nice but not a great view

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    A total treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Chic, spacious, beautifully designed hotel (aimed at American golfers and well heeled tourists?). Compares favourably with the best so quite a find on a Scottish coast (I am a Scot!). Very thoughtful staff to put you at ease. Lovely room and a most repeatable peaceful stay - just checking when we can return. Though peak times are for the more wealthy there are off peak slots at very affordable rates. Excellent breakfast. Nice pool and gym.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms must have been designed by a MAN.... no suitable plug point beside a mirror AND a chair... suitable for using hair aids etc and very good make up mirror in bathroom but no light possible on one side of it. Needs a woman to redesign !

    Size of rooms , cleanliness, staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Anniversary upgrade!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Key card did not work for our suite and had to be reactivated. We had ordered and prepaid for prosecco but it was not in our room on arrival. We phoned to chase up and it took just over an hour to arrive and was not chilled. Ordered Sunday newspaper which also never arrived. Small things but irritating at the time. Lunched at St Andrews Grill on site - overpriced and food lukewarm. Best to avoid and eat in town.

    We stayed at the hotel for our wedding anniversary and were upgraded from a junior suite to a deluxe suite and given a complimentary glass of prosecco at check in - such a nice touch and made us feel special :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    The facilities are impressive located in a breathtacking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner at the restaurant by the golf course. Food was just average with a high price tag. The views from the restaurant were fantastic. It was a pitty we couldnt enjoy good food in spite of how much we paid.

    The facilities are impressive located in a breathtacking place. Staff very friendly. Room quite spacius and confortable. Good breackfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant, will undoubtedly return and recommend to friends and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We upgraded to a suite which has superb views and the quality of the fixtures and fittings were superb. The underfloor heating in the bathroom was a lovely treat!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were a little rude example waitress in the bar area and when checking out. A little on the expensive side for sake facility’s as other hotels.

    Lovely area, amazing facilities and food was lovely. Rooms were nice and clean and the bathrooms are beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    A great hotel, needing to upgrade the evening restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant on the first floor, which,, although expensive, used to be very good was very disappointing. The night we ate there, Wednesday, was extremely poor, and friends said it had been the same on another night. Frankly, it let a great hotel down. W e shall come back to the hotel, but would now only eat at the bar restaurant, which is OK.

    The quality of the room was excellent,. and the staff are very helpful. But what is expected to b e a very high quality restaurant was very disappointing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.9
    Very comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa is a little underwhelming and would benefit from a refurb. I was accidentally charged for minibar items that i didn’t consume, but was quickly refunded

    Very comfortable rooms Excellent buffet breakfast with broad selection of choices

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.2
    Eh?
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Italian restaurant was an unhappy experience. Service- poor/ food blah with a dash of bland. We had the pizza- which waiter got wrong- came out cheese when ordered a pepperoni- (how tough is that?) and the Bolognese tasted like kids spaghetti - wine was good though!

    everything was "ok" for the price it was too much on a business stay- weddings and big events are better suited for that place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to add

    Room was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Staff were friendly, courteous and very helpful. Buffet breakfast was excellent with something to satisfy all tastes.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.4
    Excellent weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being able to take hire bikes off the resort

    The room was very comfortable and the concierge staff and the greeters to the hotel made you feel special.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice to experience this five star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Italian restaurant served stale bread which for a five star hotel I would have expected it to be freshly made or delivered daily. The food served was nice though.

    Good facilities, the pool was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    A pleasing return after a long absence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant in the golf club house was very good but it would have been better to have that facility inside the main hotel as well as the Italian.

    Hotel very spacious, well appointed, comfortable beds, Food excellent, friendly courteous staff. Good location, great views.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.2
    Beds super comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was charged twice for something on my bill but it was sorted straight away. Was meant to check in at 3pm but rooms weren’t ready so had to wait around and we had to be down in St. Andrews for 4pm so didn’t have time to change for that.

    Beds super comfy. Very spacious rooms. Bathroom that dreams are made of.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    The service was excellent, Charlotte at reception was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all. Everything was great.

    The service was excellent, Charlotte at reception was extremely helpful and offered us prosecco right away as it was our wedding anniversary. The restaurant staff were lovely and the food was beautiful. Would certainly return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay, somewhat marred by a poor lunch experience.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were extremely disappointed with our lunch at the St Andrews Bar & Grill. Main courses took over 60 minutes to arrive, quality of chicken wraps less than supermarket wraps, fish not cooked properly, service almost appalling, seemed like it was the 1st day open, payment another problem (m/c ran out of paper). We did complain during the meal - they had an opportunity to do something to resolve/compensate, but didn't take it. It's this failure that I begrudge the most. Please note this is not the hotel main restaurant, but a more casual grill restaurant on site.

    Overall hotel ambiance, setting, communal areas, room size etc etc etc, were all very very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant but could’ve been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining experience was not great. Service extremely slow, orders were mixed up and food had to get sent back

    The room itself was amazing as was the location and the decor of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.7
    Staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't find pool facilities very clean and there were live forky tails in the changing room cubicle

    Staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Suite was beautiful!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    We have been many times before and we will return to the Fairmont again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t a thing we didn’t like! What’s not to like? The staff are courteous and always extremely helpful.

    It’s a very comfortable hotel, which my husband and I have visited several times. The reason for the visit to The Fairmont, is that it has a very laid back atmosphere and the views from the Hotel are wonderful! We just like it!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amazing. Nothing I did not like

    This hotel is outstanding. It is just your perfect stay the rooms are out of this world, staff were amazing. On arrival your car was parked for you, bags were brought to room, dinner reservations sorted. Had a few drinks in bar and customer service was excellent. Had dinner in the bar and grill and as it was raining were transported by Mini bus to the venue such a nice touch. The food and service were out of this world. Best hotel I have ever stayed in hope to go back soon

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable and would definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There seemed a rush to get people out of the dining area for breakfast. Breakfast was served until 10am but shortly after 10 they were telling people to hurry up as they were closing - although there was still food left - they closed the curtains around the food

    Room was very comfortable and the sitting area very relaxing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Hotel was absolutely beautiful, staff were amazing &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For such a luxurious hotel myself & husband both found the pillows to be so uncomfortable!

    Hotel was absolutely beautiful, staff were amazing & were so helpful. The pool, sauna & steamroom were fabulous. Breakfast was definitely a highlight 5*

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Very special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shuttle into St Andrews was convenient just make sure you don’t have to make arrangements for the ride back to the resort. You need to make reservations for the afternoon high tea. Great service and beautiful location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing. I was looking forward to spending time in the Spa/pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very slow service in the bar to get drinks. The swimming pool was disappointing, especially the layout and the availability of somewhere to put towels on loungers (all taken), the floors through to the pool were all very wet, The Italian restaurant was very disappointing. The ambiance was poor, scruffy staff, and my pasta wasn't cooked properly. It was nothing like 'Italian' and for the price (we paid over £100 for 2) is was at best 'poor'. It was like an fast food eating place in a busy airport.

    Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable with an excellent bathroom. Breakfast great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First class, could not fault the Fairmont. Special ccassion for my wife birthday . Staff really went out of their way to make our visit the best it could be from the concierge at the front door to the reception staff. We were offered prosecco on arrival, a lovely slice of cake with " happy birthday " message on the plate which was brought up to our room . We decided on eating at La Cucina restaurant and again offered complimentary prosecco . Really fantastic visit and will definitely return . Thank you to the management and all the staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.5
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More vegetarian/ fish choices of fillings for bagels on the bar food menu.

    We stay here when returning /collecting our daughter to and from university or when visiting her. We love this hotel. The staff are amazing , the welcome first class and the location very beautiful. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    Location, size of rooms, great breakfast, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not forget to make reservations if you want to eat at the club house. Kitchens close at 9pm which can be a bit early for some people.

    Location, size of rooms, great breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    The whole experience was great, from the breakfast to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience was great, from the breakfast to the spa facility. Definitely worth the visit, even for someone like myself who doesn’t play golf

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent staff- even after the stay, the customer service...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Atrium King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food & service at the Clubhouse restaurant was nowhere near the standard of the main hotels although the views are superb.

    Excellent staff- even after the stay, the customer service was exceptional after they found some of my lost property.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful and will most certainly return!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    See above!!!

    Everything! A fabulous hotel, impeccably clean and with polite, courteous staff. Some of the guests were more than a little annoying but an overall fabulous time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    Great room and bathroom, nice views
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast could have been better

    The portuguese guy at the reception is really firendly and helpful. The seafood restaurant is delicious although the staff could be friendlier. The room is very big and is very quiet. The beds for the dogs are fine

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely stay great staff but to far out and food over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It being outside town Also price of food was to high for standard of it

    Hotel was worthy of five star had lovely spa and grounds only negatives was way outside town but courtsay bus every hour till 6 drop off n pick up in town Also feel as though hotel lacks sun deck area outside as when weather good no area with loungers to relax in

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Golf courses and Club House Resturant were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Italian resturant. Lacked atmosphere, staff not helpful, food very expensive and disappointing presentation. No fresh milk in room , in fact no milk at all one day.

    Golf courses and Club House Resturant were amazing. Everyone helpful and friendly. Welcome, by a local gentleman, made us feel very special. Breakfast was a wonderful time, both setting and buffet. Staff so friendly. Location of hotel is wonderful with superb views and sunsets.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    A great break in a lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff at breakfast could smile a bit more, they were the only miserable staff we had.

    Lovely, large comfy bed. Very quiet and clean. All very relaxing. Staff helpful and friendly. Good shuttle in the daytime to St Andrews, a very prompt service. Food was good especially in golf clubhouse, wonderful views.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.7
    Hotel on the whole was lovely, the highlight for us was the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service lacked we waited more than 1 hr 1/ 2 to receive our luggage at the room, when we did receive it the bell boy was arrogant.

    Hotel on the whole was lovely, the highlight for us was the Italian restaurant, the service was impeccable, lovely little restaurant, the manager was bubbly on arrival and felt authentic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.8
    The staff has been very welcoming and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is meant to be a 5 stars but it isn’t really. The facilities are 5 stars but the service, food quality and room standard isn’t up to a 5 stars. The room like character and attention to details, the food is ok but not fab and the service in the restaurants is not top either

    The staff has been very welcoming and nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Had a wonderful relaxing 4 night 6 day stay I would return at anytime and also recommend to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Excellent accommodation very friendly helpful staff who go above and beyond at all times very relaxing so much to see and do in and around St Andrews even if not a golfer

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.7
    Very pricey for mediocre facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sterile atmosphere in spa No cosy pretty areas to sit & chat No flowers in vases displayed anywhere Fridge was not working & carpet wet around that floor area

    Sea view Staff spontaneous & friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.0
    Not suitable for anyone with limited mobility or shortness of breath..corridors too long.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Self service breakfast...toaster was a nightmare..queuing for cooked eggs waited in a queue for 10 mins for 3 poached eggs...not what I expected from a 5 star hotel...corridors too long..disabled parking at rear...then long pathway to get to the rear entrance of hotel only to find seats just as you approach the back door....no outside seats to take a rest if walking in the grounds..dust hanging from ceiling

    nothing....left after 4 days...stay was for 7

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful staff, lovely hotel. Italian food perfect if a bit pricey. Upgraded as was anniversary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast nice but had to queue up like schoolchildren for freshly cooked items. Very busy-felt like a huge school party had arrived as children noisily ran from buffet to tables, shouting loudly. Not really romantic wedding anniversary atmosphere we wanted!! Shocking service and cold food in the club house but we were told there would be no charge as it was so awful!

    Hotel had beautiful setting especially from Club House overlooking the water! Transport provided to town-very handy!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent service and food if a bit pricey for dinner. Overall would go back but ask for f
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had view of roof of atrium and should have been informed of this at booking. Was expecting view of golf courses or coast so disappointed

    Complimentary bus into St Andrews

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    The hotel has a lovey vibe and the public area in the atrium...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Atrium King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a good size with a lovely bathroom but the decor and furnishings were a bit tired.

    The hotel has a lovey vibe and the public area in the atrium is amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Excellent, really good room and bathroom, staff were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing our stay was fantastic.

    Superb, really great large room with an excellent bathroom. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. The staff were absolutely amazing and nothing was to much trouble. Breakfast was also really good. Would certainly recommend and visit again. Bus service to town was good but could run extended hours.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Room with a view 3009
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was excellent

    The location- staff- food etc. The quality of the furniture in our room was excellent - I couldn’t fault the fairmont excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Great... but not as sustainable as the surroundings deserve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the hotel was a bit more sustainable. I don't understand why they need to have such enormous ventilation system when the area is surrounded with fresh air that could work better with open windows or simple ventilation. I wish they had bicycles we could rent and ride to town on bicycle track...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing not to like, many thanks!

    Absolutely everything was perfect from check-in to check out. Just wish we didn't have to leave! Champagne on our balcony was perfect. Many many thanks.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: