Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Farington Lodge Hotel 4 stars

Stanifield Lane, Preston, PR25 4QR, United Kingdom

#4 of 13 hotels in Preston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 238 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service at breakfast was far too slow and disjointed. A discussion over a dispute at reception in front of a customer is not good form. Particularly when the customer is kept waiting.

    The room and decor in general was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the four poster suite which was roomy but the bed was only queen size so small for the size of room, needs a makeover

    Good location, food was good but service was very slow

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If hotel full, the dining room might be too small

    Staff were very good, and well trained Food offer - evening and breakfast - was good Main building is lovely They have kept some old chairs and other furniture which were somewhat worn, but so suit the building

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good fresh cooked breakfast. Honesty of housekeeping, had left item in room and was phoned promptly and item posted to our home immediately. Reception welcoming and efficient. Have not stayed in better hotel in area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi if doesn’t reach the rooms it just buffers all the time. The tv remotes didn’t work and all the staff could say was it’s happened in a few rooms and there’s nothing we can do about it !!!! The rib eye steak was rubbery and frozen chips !!!

    The rooms were a good sized and clean and the staff were really helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chardonnay ran out after one glass! Fried eggs ran out at breakfast! Paid £154 for room and found 2 foil wrappers in room and dust on the skirting boards!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was terrible even after I spoke to the chief the food was still very poor quality. I had to go to the near by chippy for something to eat. I have not been to one of them in years. Food was the only major let down and that was every meal we had.

    Friendly Staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was small and uncomfortable and needed replacing The bedroom was in a poor state of decoration and the lighting was awful

    Staff excellent, food good, bathroom good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms can be a little cold until you get the heater on for an hour or so and the wifi can be poor in parts of the hotel.

    Breakfasts and evening meals are excellent. Very friendly staff and very accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the evening very poor, along with the service. The waitress serving the breakfast was very good. The night staff at the restaurant should learn from her

    Only breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was amazing!! 3 course meal was heaven and breakfast was lovely. Room was beautiful and cosy. Staff as always were excellent and very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water for 2 days, could not shower. Management did not appear to be overly concerned. Missed breakfast thinking water would eventually be sorted

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was NO hot water in the hotel, they couldn't get a plumber over the weekend when the hotel was FULL - pathetic - they offered me that I could stay in my room and extra hour as compensation - you can imagine what I said. Still waiting for a response from their General Manager. The bathroom was dirty and mould all over the shower - I have the pictures.

    the breakfast was very good and well cooked.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We observed a fire door open overnight. I think the mechanism might have broken. Hopefully this is just temporary.

    Clean,attractive. Very friendly staff from when we arrived. We ate on site as it was just a stopover, and the food exceeded expectations. A really lovely meal. Very large room (premium) made for a very comfortable stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a great stay but dampened by having a blocked toilet in the morning. Also on the Saturday night when I drew the curtains the whole curtain pole plus curtains came away from the wall and struck me on the head. I informed the duty manager and he came and removed the pole and curtains. it was logged with the hotel. I did ask for a reduction off the bill but was told she was not authorised to do so.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains in bedroom were frayed and ripped, heated towel in bathroom didn’t work , dinner was dried up, no fruit juice or glasses at breakfast.

    Staff friendly and helpful but needed more training. Very apologetic for mistakes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm probably nit picking but, I'd prefer it if a full English breakfast wasn't done buffet style. I know it's quicker and easier but I've never been a fan of it. I like my bacon crispy and the plates hot. You don't get that with that method of delivering a full English.

    We had our wedding reception there, so we liked pretty much everything.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived 10pm booked double executive got given a twin and had to ask to change it, there were friendly staff who gave us complimentary drink while zipped twins together but bed was uncomfortable and still felt like twins with sheets not fitting properly and heavy uncomfortable velvet twin throws on bottom of bed. Shower room smelt damp and fan didn’t seem to work v well to get rid of steam. Door to bathroom didn’t close properly. Room was very cold and felt damp. Old Dirty cup by entrance to room wasn’t nice. Breakfast wasn’t anything special, mushroom grim soggy with oil and sausage was far from a nice butchers one, though great selection of cereal and croissants were nice.

    Large room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely old manor house in beautiful grounds with friendly staff and good breakfast. Perfect fir overnight stay close to motorway. Bar stays open for latecomers. Some fabulous rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was lovely apart from the weather!

    The building and the room was lovely, the staff were very friendly, the food was excellent and I would love to stay there again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The address given leads sat nav round an housing estate, it would be better if it was Centurian way, then when it asked for a house number, putting No.1 would give the obscure side road as the destination.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    Useful location, close to motorway but not affected by any traffic noise. Rooms were spacious and airy. Excellent food. Nice feel to the whole place. Satff were always very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was surprised by the quality when considering the cost. Much nicer than expected. I was there only one night for a training course but it was pleasant enough. Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clearly my husband and family were invisible to some of the Reception staff as on occasion we waited a long time to be served with no acknowledgement of us standing in front of the Reception. Some staff however were very good. The food (dinner) not the breakfast which was good was diabolical. I had a Caesar salad which clearly was out of a plastic tub and had mushed up anchovies in it which I hate and asked not to included. The Tapas was just reheated from a pack/tub and my husbands fish and chips were oven ready!!!! We had to wait over an hour for the food and were told there was a function on??? So that means we need to wait for our food!!! Clearly not our problem. Only one draft beer was available. My father in laws shower was broken. That was fixed once he complained. It's a great venue, and there were friendly staff and the room was comfortable and clean but the food was something else!!!

    It's a great venue, and there were friendly staff and the room was comfortable and clean but the food was something else!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait over an hour for our evening meal to be served with very little communication.

    The original building and decor were beautiful and set in lovely gardens. Our room was very attractive and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were patchy and service at dinner very slow - think more training required. Hopeless wifi that could easily be fixed. Rooms felt like they needed a bit more maintenance in places. Ingredients were there but management seems a bit sloppy.

    Good size room with a pleasant view of garden. Quiet and undisturbed sleep.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Behaviour of wedding guests was out of control. Staff did not deal effectively with noise, shouting and abusive behaviour. Have requested a refund for second night.

    Location, room, breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dislikes? Nothing - completely up to expectations, and reasonable price.

    The location is superb, situated in spacious grounds surrounded by lawns, oak trees - rabbits, wood pigeons, and squirrels on the lawn at breakfast time. A very spacious building, more like a country mansion than a conventional hotel. Massive room, comfortable bed, nice modern bathroom. Antiquated room lock could be modernised. Lovely dining room, well suited to a relaxing afternoon tea and a great breakfast. This hotel was exactly as expected, and just suited this weary antipodean pair of travelers! We chose it to suit our visits to friends and places from my days working at wonderful Leyland Motors, and living in Lostock Hall back in the fifties.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was like an oven. We had to call the night porter as we could not figure out the heating, neither could he. He struggled to get the window open. It was still 74 degrees in the room after the window was open for 5 hours. It was an executive room yet there was no fridge and no robes. We also had the lovely wake up of the bin men at 6am outside our window.

    The staff were excellent. So friendly and eager to help.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meals were not great. Breakfast wasn't fresh, scrambled eggs poor, and the rest not freshly cooked. Over priced. Evening meals, on all menus not great, could be a lot better.

    Nice accommodation

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really dog friendly...dogs not allowed in bar ao you can only dint in your room at £3.50 per tray....room looked nothing like what was booked and if it was it was it wad nothing like the pictures on Bookin...curtains ripped...no air conditioning...fridge removed but paid full price...not happy at all. Didnt see any dog bins in the grounds...food was not much better..orderwd some tapas..lemon chicken with no lemon...BBQ ribs with more bone than mean and burnt sesame toast...not good

    The look

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift.

    Excellent, helpful staff in an old yet presentable hotel with good food and bar, and lovely grounds. A tasteful refuge after a busy day and just off the M6. We would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit expensive at the bar and restaurant Room advertised on booking.com as breakfast included but hotel insisted breakfast was extra.

    Large room and bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor selection of bottled real ale in the bar (only one) and the only cask ale was off.

    Friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms, ample parking on-site and good location for easy access to major trunk roads.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower pressure pretty week

    Staff friendly. Room spacious. Bathroom ok. Nice period décor. Parking good. Beer good. Good location just off the M6 so ideal for travellers

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our room was overlooking a flat roof that was used by staff and a huge vent was noisy. We also got woken up around 11:30 as someone was carrying work on the roof. As use of roof by staff we felt we had to keep curtains semi closed ( room 14) but would stay again just not in this room!

    Overall, location superb for M6. Staff, food excellent, would definately return .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    television seemed a bit dated not many channel choices or options for movies etc. Had the burger for dinner one night and was disappointed was not very well presented and was overcooked

    loved the big bathroom especially the deep bath. The staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are fantastic, so friendly and helpful. One chap was busy taking dinner orders but still came over to offer to help me with my suitcase when I stumbled a bit though a door! They can't do enough for you it's great!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom decor poor and in need of refreshment. No hospitality tray in bedroom. Hotel noisy because of corporate event resulting in people using the lounge as a seminar room. Women being allowed into the breakfast dining room dressed in their night clothes and dressing gowns.

    Big bedroom and bath room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    .The room was like sauna which could not be turned down. We had to put towels down on the bathroom floor to prevent the burning of our feet.. When reported they told us we could not change rooms,we were given spar slippers to wear, with a dressing gown( it was to hot to use them ) the carpet held a great deal of the under floor heating however it was still uncomfortable . We were unable to open the window as the fixings were damaged. We were out at function on the Saturday evening, on our return we found the the window was open ( which allow any intruder to gain access to the room ) . Even with the window open let was still unbearable . The staff did provide two small fans, only pushed the heat around the room. It was so hot that I spent the night in the armchair with my feet on the window. The curtains were ripped . The staff were very slow and it took an age to serve. All in all it was weekend to try and forget, It was very annoying as we took a couple of friends. The duty manager when booking us out did reduce the bill but in all honesty it in no way made up for the problems which we encountered during our stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We will be returning two or three times per year, everything was great. Spacious bedroom and extra large bathroom. All the staff were helpful and friendly and very good food.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had to be serviced after my arrival and the room was very warm

    Smoked haddock for breakfast ; the cooking of this and the evening meal was excellent

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was Luke warm, nobody picked up the breakfast in bed request, bar food not nice, woken up by laundry truck loading outside our room at 7.30am

    Large clean room, comfortable bed, large bathroom, separate shower and bath

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cool the towel rail va e was dissed and stone cold thus the bathroom was. Old also bathroom window had been left open and we had many ladybird type insects crawling around. The waiter organised a convector heater for the room, luckily we went back up early and found that the 13amp plug was very hot which is dangerous. The morning receptionist was totally I phased when I reported that on checking out. We selected steak for the main course but didn't expect a medium to be charred all over.

    Location and grounds were both very good the room was cool

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very quiet (only 5 guests). No atmosphere. Dining room dated decor with bright lighting. Not at all cosy. Didn't want to stay in there long enough to eat dessert - so took it in the (desserted) bar.

    Large bedroom, comfy bed. Good food.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was to hot

    We was in room 4, and it was 28degrees far to hot and when we asked for it to be turned down we was told they couldn't, so they opened the window and put 2 fans in the room, they said we could change rooms but as was was only staying overnight it didn't seem worth moving

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV didn't work properly. I had to re-tune it three times. The man on reception said that this was normal. The room (no. 1) was, for the price, rather grubby with a dead spider hanging from from one corner of the ceiling and torn wallpaper next to the bedside table. The waiter at breakfast served my wife with black pudding despite her asking him not to as she is a coeilac.

    Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been a little larger, had 8 hour drive so needed a little more food.

    Lovely welcome, staff so polite and helpful, plenty of space and extremely clean and well presented.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. All good.

    Lovely building in lovely location only a few minutes from the M6 but felt like a country retreat. Friendly helpful staff and night porter happy to keep bar open very late as we arrived after traffic traumas. Yummy breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our evening meal wasn't that nice - quite disappointed.

    Rooms were lovely and large. Very nice hotel with lots of character and breakfast was first class.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little lumpy but no other complaints. We would certainly stay again.

    Beautiful surroundings, staff very helpful. Hotel beautiful and very clean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful welcome even though we arrived after midnight. The room was amazing. Very spacious. En suite facilities perfect and the bed was so comfortable and roomy. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. All freshly cooked and a great selection to suit our tastes. One of the best places we have stayed in recently and we will certainly be making a return visit.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there had been a lift as wife is awaiting knee replacement and found difficulty getting up and down stairs.

    Both dinner and breakfast were very good and dinner waiter very cheerful, welcoming, as well as professional. Really enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really an issue with the hotel, but when I stayed on the 28th of September in room 14. There was a lot of noise/ chatting from the entrance hall at around midnight. I just wish people were a little more considerate of others.

    The staff were all very professional and courteous.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom fronted on the road and carpark. Although the surroundings were quite beautiful, we had to close the drapes for privacy. Dinner was unsatisfactory as we were forced to eat early as a party was to be catered for.

    The hotel was altogether very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We Stayed in room 1, which needs some TLC. Bathroom spotlights hanging out, shower was full of mold up all the tiles, with hot an cold water knobs ready to fall off. With bedroom window latches broken, we couldn't lock them shut, so for a ground floor room not so good!

    Hotel grounds are stunning. Decor is to a really good standard at reception, lounge an bar area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was too hard and the pillows too flat. I think they need to invest in fogarty bedding and certainly bed toppers.

    The ambience, location and the fact that it was a country house hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was disappointing. I felt uncomfortable when I was told that I had only booked a room when I had actually booked bed and breakfast, I did not receive a sorry when they realised that they did not include me on the list. My table was laid for me but crockery and cutlery was missing, I had to ask for this. I was ignored by the server, she went to other tables next to me but never came to me - I had to call her over to ask if I could order my cooked breakfast. I came down late for breakfast but whilst they were still serving breakfast, the fruit salad looked really poor, it had not been topped up, so there was very little to choose from. Very disappointing for a 4 star hotel. My room was next to some sort of boiler that woke me up when it came on in the morning

    The room was ok

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very warm, no AirCon/fan and window opens about an inch! Very thin walls - lots of noise from 'neighbours' and corridor.

    Very grand hotel in well cared for grounds and gardens. Spacious and comfortable room, Wi-Fi works great. Warm and friendly welcome by staff .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening waiter very pleasant and helpful but a simple "Goodbye, hope you enjoyed your stay, have a safe journey would have gone a long way from the receptionist at checkout rather than....nothing!!!

    Very large comfortable room and food both at breakfast and dinner excellent

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little bit out in the middle of nowhere.

    Beautiful hotel, lovely spacious rooms, late night bar which wasn't too pricey, free wifi and reasonable late booking cost.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needed ground floor accessible room but shower was nowhere near suitable for an accessible room (we were in room 4) Had booked via 3 different sources for 3 consecutive days and subsequently phoned hotel to confirm request for accessible and same room for each day - Despite this the staff had to move mountains to accommodate this request on arrival - which was excellent but should not have happened in the first place having booked and phoned a number of months ahead

    Food service helpfulness staff room grounds fabulous venue for a wedding

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It felt like a bygone era had been lost. We ate in the restaurant and there was supposed to be a silver service type of feel. The room was lovely and all the plates/cutlery were a la Downton, but unfortunately the food nor the staff were up to scratch. We both had rib eye steak. You could've soled your shoe with the steak and you could've paved the floor with the chips! They weren't cooked and neither was the veg. We decided to have desert and I had crumble. This consisted of some chunks of uncooked apple with a few crushed up biscuits sprinkled on top. It was very poor. Furthermore, the bar area was very hot and a bit too bright with glaringly big chandeliers. They only served Fosters and Heineken. I usually don't mind Fosters, but that's a pretty small choice these days. I had a Fosters and it was the worst kept beer I've ever had. It tasted of dishwater and it made me feel immediately sick. I couldn't drink it. In the morning I had the 'full' english breakfast which consisted of a large pate with an object in each quadrant...1 fried egg, 1 piece of black pudding, 2 half rashers of bacon and ...1 mushroom! It was the smallest 'full' English I've ever seen. Unless everywhere else is full I wouldn't return, which is a shame because it's a beautiful hotel which just needs some attention to detail polish.

    We stayed in the new wing and had a beautiful big bedroom with a fabulous bathroom. Bed was comfortable. The staff were pleasant, albeit a little inexperienced. The gardens were really pretty with rabbits on the lawn and a lovely big oak tree.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit shabby chic. If scrubbed up a bit could be top class. However for price was excellent value.

    Great ambience.. Chilled. Great feel to place.hope to stay again

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff could be a bit more welcoming but could have been due to one staff member being trained. Bedroom very dark even on a sunny day - window small for size of room.

    Helpful staff who were pleasant also. Large comfortable bedroom. Good choice at breakfast. Prompt room- service.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't get wifi in our room during the evening but it was working the following morning.

    Light weight duvets on the bed made all the difference to a comfortable sleep. Friendly helpful staff. Great food. Well-decorated surroundings.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening menu (bar & restaurant) could offer a better choice as felt it was a bit limited.

    Lovely large, warm, comfortable room. Hotel grounds are large and well kept.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very dark. Not so keen on self service breakfast, meant to be eaten with the bride & groom but not enough room in the breakfast area for them so we were on a large table with others we didn't really know. Not really our thing.

    Comfy bed and large room. Beautiful grounds. The wedding in the gazebo and meal after was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was not very helpful did not give any information about the hotel we had to ask her where the room was all she was interested in my payment up front and she did that wrong and I've been charged twice and am having to sort it out for my self will not use them again or recommend them for that reason.

    It was a beautiful place in a lovely setting breakfast was excellent deputy manager was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at breakfast was a little slow but the hotel was busy.

    Excellent evening meal and breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired furniture, huge room but very small four poster bed which wasn’t comfortable.

    Location was good and had beautiful grounds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely big room, exceptional bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place and we are definitely going to return. Staff were all very helpful and the atmosphere was very relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The friendly and helpful staff went the extra mile to make our stay perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stay definately ticked all the boxes

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: