Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Farnley Tower Guesthouse This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

The Avenue, Durham, DH1 4DX, United Kingdom

Review Score

Based on 1296 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    5.8
    Staff were friendly, on site parking, although limited due...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Currently undergoing what appears to be fairly extensive work which means the lawn area in not available and there is a lot of mess around the front and back of the hotel. My main issue was the people in the room upstairs had apparently "sneaked" a dog into their room as they checked in late which roamed the room above until mid-night and from 5:00am in the morning so sleep was not great.

    Staff were friendly, on site parking, although limited due to amount of tradesmen working at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    7.5
    It was a good experience, nice and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The young man who appeared at Reception when I arrived was brusque, not at all welcoming.

    Beautiful room on ground floor, very spacious, overlooking garden and car park. And no need to climb stairs. The full English breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    4.6
    Glad I only stayed 2 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tired and shabby. Shower didn't work (they fixed it on second day) Only Bbc on tv. Curtain hooks missing. Mould in bathroom. The view from the windows was dustbins. Needs a lot of money spent on it to bring it up to standard.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    9.2
    Apart from the disappointing small room, staff friendly as usual and room clean. Value for money.
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As I travelled alone this time I booked only a single room and it was small with only a tiny high up window. Would advise singles to pay the extra and book a double room as these are much nicer!

    The staff were friendly, the room clean and the breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    8.8
    I genuinely slept better there than I do at home.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was relatively poor when it came to vegan options. No fruit were available on the morning of my stay while the three vegan cooked items (beans, tomato, mushrooms) came in tiny portions. (I tried to inform the guest house of my dietary requirements but I don't think that they took it into consideration). I was unable to access the internet for the duration of my stay. The signal was fine in my room, they just seemed to have network issues.

    I genuinely slept better there than I do at home. The room was beautiful and the bed was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    8.8
    Very satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No problems. Obvious reconstruction happening so no garden furniture out but am sure that will change when work done

    Very comfortable quiet and excellent location. The staff were all very helpful and efficient. English breakfast very good and well presented. Would use Fearnly Towers again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely staff and spacious room. Generous and tasty breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    4th bed on the floor was uncomfortable and a bar fridge would be a handy improvement. Grouting / sealer around bath needs repair

    Large room, everything clean, attentive staff, laundry service and delicious breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    9.2
    Quirky
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower fitting and tube were new but of poor quality and made it difficult to direct the shower, added to this the shower curtain was also inadequate resulting in a very wet bathroom floor. The towels would benefit from being of a larger size i.e.. bath sheet rather than small bath towel. The toilet was extremely noisy when flushed. The curtains and matching pelmet were unironed, which was great shame as the fabric was good quality and this small lack of care reduced the general appearance of the room, as did the damp ceiling patches. The house is in the process of having work done and I assume that these works will sort this out. There were also insufficient breakfast tables and some people were waiting 15 minutes to go in for breakfast.

    The entrance hall is welcoming and on ringing the bell on the desk, Ann came immediately, she could not have made us more welcome, so friendly and knowledgeble, it was like being welcomed to the home of a friend. We were given housekeeping information and our bags taken to our room, which smelt very fresh and was beautifully clean. Slightly quirky with a sloping bathroom floor and creaking floorboards but full of character. The breakfast menu has good choices and the full English breakfast was excellent and healthily cooked. Fruit juice cereal and bread and toast were available as well as tea and coffee and Orange juice. The breakfast room was bright and welcoming, although more tables would have been beneficial. The grounds were pleasant with lovely mature trees and views over the city and surrounding countryside in the distance. Altogether a good place to stay and good value for money, at the time we visited the restaurant was closed for building work but when we return we look forward to sampling dinner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    7.5
    Good breakfast and comfy soft bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff communication is somewhat difficult. Not quite a “we’ll do anything for you” attitude which you may get elsewhere

    Good breakfast and comfy soft bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    5.8
    One night stay in Durham with family of 4.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I know it's an old house, but room 1 was noisy from above guests just walking around, even at odd hours of the night. Family room not enough for two adults and two children (teens). Okay for one night, would not have wanted to stay longer.

    Good location, free parking, good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dead flies in some communal areas, the breakfast was very limited, no fruit nor yoghurt,

    The room was spacious and quiet, one could walk into Durham, a large garden

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointing and a long uphill slog from city eateries - none nearby. Building work onsite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dirty mugs in room no tray just upended on chest of drawers & no teaspoon. No hand towels or hand soap. Very worn & not very clean Duvet. 2 net curtains missing from our large ground floor bay window next to front door - had to use a safety pin to link very grubby existing nets. Breakfast - only white thin sliced bread no fruit or yogurt and bacon & sausage served barely warm. Some Brown sliced bread appeared on day 2. We felt nobody was really caring for guests comfort. one staff member on part time duty did his best. No staff around at night

    on site parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    5.0
    Shower room in the attic
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I feel I was mislead into booking this accommodation. I wanted a room with a bath so I paid extra and booked via booking.com the 'Double deluxe room' as it clearly stated in the room description breakfast included, bath, kitchenette, On arrival when reception gave me the keys, I asked has the room definitely got a bath? I was told if I'd booked a room with a bath the room would have a bath. Unfortunately by the time we got to the room which was in the attic! Not only did it not have a bath, the bathroom wasn't even in our room it was across the hall. I wasn't happy especially as reception had left the premises. I emailed the property as no one was answering the phone, to say I wasn't happy and received this reply : Dear Julie, your booking just asked for a bathroom? As all of our rooms are en-suite we assumed this would not be a problem as it didn't specifically request a bath. As we are fully booked tonight, we are unable to change room. The room you are in are usually £105 and you paid £49.50 so I'm not sure how extra was paid.  I tried replying back but I must have been blocked! Doesn't ensuite mean a bedroom connected to a bathroom?

    Breakfast was great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    8.8
    Comfy and quiet room in good location. Breakfast good but communication could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being picky as the place was okay the window in the bedroom didn’t open than a little bit. The only main issues is Communication, which was poor, we emailed to see if we could leave our bags with them earlier than check up and they replied after we left! The hotel was busy and the staff were a bit overpushed and at breakfast got a bit confused about who's breakfast is Who’s, but this was quite funny.

    Room was quiet and temperature was good. The room was clean and had toiletries provided and my husband loved the bath. Breakfast was tasty and it was close to where my Grandma lives.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    10
    Beautifully renovated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cathedral room lovely! Could've done with fan or aircon...very hot. (Unusually hot for England)

    Beautifully renovated....breakfast fab, all lovely, Ann very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    3.3
    Feel cheated
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They lied about room. The bathroom was out side of room so you had to come out of room and go use bathroom and toilet which they “DID NOT” say before book, feeling being cheated bcos they use the tricks saying online your own privet bathroom, technology right but they never mentioned you have to come out of room walk pass the hall and go use the bathroom....... fuming 😡👎

    Not much

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    10
    Beautiful, surprisingly spacious room in the eaves with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you do not know Durham you will not appreciate how steep the road from town to the hotel is. This place is, for this reason alone, perhaps not for everyone.

    Beautiful, surprisingly spacious room in the eaves with a fantastic view of the cathedral.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    8.3
    Our private bathroom was seperated from the bedroom, so we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our private bathroom was seperated from the bedroom, so we had to walk on the common floor towards it. It would have been nice if we would have been informed while booking the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    7.5
    friendly staff hotel good for a short stay in a lovley town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel a little dated, car park not easy and a healthy option for breakfast would be good.

    location to Durham cathedral but walking back up hill was difficult, garden and view was good but car park is not easy to get on and off. Good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    6.7
    The Shower in the Tower bedroom was smaller than I expected...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very hot and was very expensive. However it was very well decorated and the bed very comfortable.

    The Shower in the Tower bedroom was smaller than I expected but the bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. The room had been recently renovated very nicely. However, the ensuite bathroom was not actually ensuite - but a separate room across the corridor. The shower glass wall was too short to keep the water in so the bathroom floor got very wet. The building is pleasing with a nice garden

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    5.0
    Good location but our room was a bit dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in a twin room on the ground floor which overlooked a yard full of boxes. It was a bit grubby - hair in the plug, the floor hadn't been hoovered, curtains slightly hanging off rail and cups/spoons not 100% clean. The beds were a bit creaky and seemed old. Just a bit disappointing.

    It looks very nice from the outside. The dining room was clean and nicely decorated with a nice big window and view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    6.7
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Promised a twin bedded downstairs room. First given first floor room when unable to cope with stairs. Then ground floor double bedded room. Very soft mattress. No wi-fi available. Big disadvantage

    Good breakfast. Staff tried to be helpful. Room clean and well furnished

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money and a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was just a minor thing, as the property is an old building the floorboards above were very squeaky and creaky

    The staff were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    7.1
    Lovely Victorian decoration, lovely gardenview and a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the place has seen better days and cleaning could be better. Wrinkled sheets and no one at the reception, just a phone number. Boarding school breakfast.

    Lovely Victorian decoration, lovely gardenview and a very reasonable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    7.5
    Lovely old house only a short walk from town, albeit uphill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The full English breakfast was a bit disappointing with cold mushrooms and bacon and an underdone poached egg.

    Lovely old house only a short walk from town, albeit uphill. Well appointed room with a good view of the castle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.6
    Exceptionally helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More disabled accessible bathroom.

    Exceptionally helpful staff. Close to City Centre. More friendly than chain hotels we have stayed in in Durham. Lovely garden and outside seating.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely room, helpful staff disappointed with breakfast but would stay again, 5 minute walk from town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was a bit disappointing, no baked beans because they had ran out and only 1 rasher of bacon when the menu said 2. Breakfast finished at 9:30 and although we didn’t go down till 9:25 they did start taking juice and cereals back quite early, what did come out was very nice tho.

    The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was clean and tidy, everything I would have wanted was there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    10
    Good location and parking.
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing in my case, but some visitors may find the hill back out of town up the Avenue a struggle.

    Good location and parking. Quiet. Lovely new room at the top. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    7.9
    The staff were amazing, breakfast and breakfast room were...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Take earplugs if in a ground floor room as you can hear other guests walking around upstairs. Furnishings like mirrors and paintwork in rooms are tired and could do with update/ refurb. Same with bathrooms and carpets in the room. TV in room didn’t have ability to show a guide to pick programs which was annoying

    The staff were amazing, breakfast and breakfast room were excellent. Comfortable beds, good location ten minute walk from centre and the building had character. Free onsite parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    5.0
    the only real benefit is the parking and its central location. It is rather dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Demand for payment before seeing the room. Creaky bed, cracked sink, sheets looked as if they had been slept in before, lack of choice for breakfast, cold coffee, front door unlocked all night. Only one decent member of staff and poor internet.

    Excellent location, delightful dining room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    9.6
    It had a wonderful location and lovely feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We only stayed one night and wish we could’ve stayed longer and explored the surrounding areas.

    It had a wonderful location and lovely feel. Comfortable beds. Lovely breakfast. Friendly staff. Accommodated is even though we were late for check in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent manager!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hot water - but it was quickly sorted by the amazing manager 😀

    The manager was fantastic. We didn’t have hot water for a shower late at night and he came to sort it out immediately despite not residing on the property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    9.6
    I would recommend this B&B and will definitely be staying again in the future. Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As the building is listed, the bathroom was a little tired and the extractor fan rattly but just use the light on the mirror instead!

    Lovely B&B with good sized bedrooms, a restaurant on site and a good breakfast. The bed was very comfortable and there were a selection of pillows too!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    7.1
    Could have been a lot better. see above
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A couple of things took the shine off, firstly the contractors who were carrying out a refurb dragging their equipment across the floor of the room above 8am in the morning despite apparently being told not to start before 9.am. However having informed the staff it they dealt with it, As for the breakfast it was reasonable but more care needs to be taken with the quality of products i.e sausages which were clearly economy multipack of dubious quality - how about locally sourced produce -The quality and preparation of the coffee needs addressing as does the cleanliness of the items that it's served in . Example being for two mornings in a row the stainless steel coffee pot I was served with was covered in a film of dust.!! This surely shouldn't be allowed to happen, aren't the these things washed thoroughly? Clearly not which is a pity as the ongoing refurb and plans to have a fine dining bistro will demand far more stringent management and quality control if this lovely place is to achieve anything close to it's potential!!

    The hotel gave me a large Double ensuite bedroom with, a lovely view and queen size bed. This was most welcome as I getting tired of shoeboxes with a view of washing lines.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    9.2
    Wonderfully convenient and very friendly staff. Full English breakfast highly recommended
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a bit firm for my taste

    One of the best poached eggs I've ever eaten. Friendly staff and no problem with giving me gluten free bread either.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    7.5
    Not by any means unpleasant - but a little on the pricey side for basically simple accommodation.
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room - though spotlessly clean, and not lacking anything essential for comfort - was, I felt, rather bleak and Spartan. The curtains were very thin. At least one more electrical socket would have been good.

    Lovely setting and impressive exterior to the house. The breakfast was tasty, hot and promptly served.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    7.1
    Good value but could be great with a little attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was far too soft n bouncy, didn't sleep well. Also room was far too hot even with windows open. Also building work going on and hot water pipes noisy at night.

    Pretty.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    9.6
    A charming guest house located in a residential section of Durham.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    At the top of a rather large hill, so I got extra walking each day-or used a taxi.

    This is a charming guesthouse located in a residential section of Durham. The staff was courteous and efficient. My room had an excellent view of Durham Cathedral.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    9.2
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice place, friendly staff but on a fairly steep hill! Bathroom needs some improvement but bed very comfy.

    Close to town. Friendly staff. Nice large room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    5.0
    The location was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms very tired and worn noisy floorboards so you were woken by people moving above you . My mums room shower was hard to switch on . Poor WiFi connection in room . Only 2 usable plug sockets in a family room . Had to retune tv as no bbc channels They state in book a list of takeaway options but no cutlery provided had to eat with spoons. Breakfast was basic and not at a 4star standard. Overall not a 4star and for 240 for two nights in a family room not worth the money . Very disappointed .

    The location was very nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    10
    Wonderful amazing stay.
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I love everything here.

    It is the best hotel I lived. Everything is so perfect. Our family love the comfortable beds and fell asleep immediate once we lay down. The decorations are made in good taste which really cheered up the wedding guests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    7.9
    Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Single room was adequate and comfortable but lighter decorations would have made it seem brighter with only a small window

    The building had character, good parking and a lovely walk into Durham by the river

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely, but £90 a little pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lots of steps up to the front door, reception, rooms. Very creaky floor boards in the room, so we woke the children tip toeing to the bathroom in the night. We were warned about building work on check-in, but the very loud drilling was above our room from 8.30am. Good job we nver intended to have a lie in!

    Great location, nice big family room, breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    7.5
    Lovely B&B shame about the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thought the breakfast was poor with a budget feel about it . The coffee was weak the museli was cheap . The full english was tasty when it came however was small .

    Great location for town . It was bright and cheerful , staff friendly and helpful .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    6.3
    Ok for visiting castle or cathedral but wouldn't stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast ok but fresh fruit would have been nice like we have had at most hotels we stay in also not keen when you have to make you're toast. Toasters always seem slow. Also no toilet roll in room when we arrived and only one set of towels had to ask for more. Sheets didn't look like they had been ironed.

    Near to city centre and in a quiet road

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    10
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A lovely friendly welcome on arrival. We were put in a family room which was massive. The bed was so comfy.....I slept like a log. There was a good selection for breakfast, so if you went hungry it would be your own fault! All staff were lovely and chatty. This really was a lovely little find. Will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    9.6
    A lovely place to stay when visiting Durham and the surrounding area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    Only stayed here one night. Very welcoming. The beds were clean and comfortable. Shower hot and effective. The property is full of character and the Italian restaurant recommended nearby was excellent. We would certainly stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    5.8
    Customers should be made aware that it is an uphill walk from the town centre which may be a problem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast menu looked impressive but not all items were available and I would always expect fruit of some description to be available.

    Room 6 is small and o.my has only one chair. If you are looking for fruit for breakfast Don,t go there. Request coffee and tea in pots at your table as the hot water flasks are not hot. Tea and coffee in the room but no biscuits. No WiFi connection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    5.0
    Disapointed ,the problems we found should have been spotted when the room was cleaned before we arri
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were blood stains on the duvet cover. It was changed the next day. The sink drain was partly blocked. A plumber came and unblocked it the next day. One of the bedside lamps did not have a bulb.

    The parking was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    4.6
    We stayed in a room just across from the reception desk and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed in a room just across from the reception desk and there appeared to be a storage room or something next to us, as we were woken up very early every morning with the racket outside. The plumbing in the ensuite was problematic as every time we flushed the toilet it was like a rain taking off. Breakfast finished at 9.30 which was quite early and checkout was 10.30!!! Ridiculously early as our flight wasn’t until 9.25 pm. We wouldn’t stay there again!!! It wasn’t value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    4.2
    The guest house was overpriced at £95 a night and I wouldn’t go back there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sheets and towels had been laundered but had stains on them and were not ironed. Carpet stained and large mirror hadn’t been cleaned. Breakfast was unorganised I had to ask for teaspoons and tea bags both mornings and the breakfast wasn’t very hot. The breakfast was better the second morning

    Large room with chairs and nice view. Parking was good and handy for bus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    10
    Great location, lovely house & hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a.

    Hosts were very welcoming & friendly room was exceptional, big, comfy good views, close to vibrant city centre & Cathedral etc, dining room very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    3.8
    Never stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The decor, curtains were of poor standard, hems coming down, plemets hanging off. The breakfast was not good, not as described on the menu, ie roast ham with egg Benedictine was processed ham, it stated two rashers on full English but only one came. There was no yogurt or fruit option, plates, cutlery and milk jugs were dirty. The bottom sheets on the beds were too small and the bedding was bobbled. On arrival there was a glass that had had orange juice in left on the beverage tray, the glass shelve over the washbasin had not been cleaned. My husband and I called it Fawlty Towers!

    The guesthouse was well placed to walk into Durham.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    8.3
    Lovely breakfast room, large bed room, well equipped ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Access on foot from Durham is uphill. There are better hotels/B&B for the same price, but overall we were satisfied, great for a stopover, convenient access by car

    Lovely breakfast room, large bed room, well equipped , helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    6.7
    This Hotel was a pleasant stay.
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bedrooms downstairs are quite subject to creaky floorboards from above than can interrupt the light sleepers quite a lot.

    This Hotel was a pleasant stay. We were a little disappointed with the standard for a “4*” Hotel - it needed a little more maintenance up keep to maintain this rating I think (it’s a little grubby). The staff are lovely and very welcoming and helpful. The food is a little bland and could benefit from a little more attention to detail again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    7.5
    A great building and a good welcome let down by unfresh bed linen and poor breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When l got into bed l found a dirty superficial mark on the duvet. It felt soft rather than crisp and fresh, the bottom sheet was soft and creased so l started to fret that the linen wasn’t actually clean. I went down to reception to request a fresh set of linen but it was closed with just a number for emergencies. The breakfast buffet was uninspiring with no freshly made tea or coffee (serve yourself from flasks), no fruit tinned or fresh and yoghurt that only appeared on request. The food cooked to order however was promptly delivered and was fine.

    I had a lovely looking room overlooking the garden. The entrance and stairs up felt good, spacious and characterful. The gentleman who checked me in was professional yet friendly and carried my case upstairs for me. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    10
    We would definately return if we were to visit Durham again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were welcomed in a friendly manner. Everyone one was helpful, they even went out to buy our group ice. It is only a 10minute walk Into town. The beds were really comfortable and breakfast was really nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    7.0
    one night was just about ok!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View from window 'builders yard' having work done at the premises. But the rubbish has been there a long time! Beds and bed linen very tired.

    Location for Cathedral/town centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    10
    Lovely place within walking distance of the city centre with ample parking a bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have preferred a pot of tea at breakfast, instead of loose tea bags and a jug of hot water which was fiddly to use.

    Large room, very comfortable bed. Delicious, freshly cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    10
    Perfect affordable place to stay in Durham and I would recommend a stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was excellent. The bed was comfortable and the room was super clean. It is in a perfect location and is relatively simple to find. The server at breakfast made a special effort to cater for the guests.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    7.9
    The steep walk up the hill is well worth it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was startled by the steep walk up the hill from the town - but it is not long and the grounds of the hotel are full of trees and greenery. If I go back I will ask if there is a room at the very top because I think there might be a wonderful view.

    Elegant, rather grand old house. Lovely, big, very warm, comfortable room (I was upgraded, without my asking, as apparently the single rooms are smaller). Full length bath with shower and gallons of hot water. Good breakfast in bright cheerful dining room. There is no staff at front desk but the breakfast ladies were friendly and efficient and welcoming. I felt I had stayed in a really well run comfortable hotel. The furnishings, the wallpaper, the bathroom fittings - everything is clean and everything is solid and works properly. No flashiness, just a kind of English elegance. This was refreshing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    7.1
    The place is a nice location if you are younger and can handle the hills, but it is a little tired.
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was difficult - the ten minute walk to the Cathedral was more like a half hour of hill walking.

    Had a view from our room. Beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    7.5
    Our check-in was pleasant and smooth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lady in charge of serving breakfast was rude to a new co worker who was just learning. Not appropriate in front of guests.

    Our check-in was pleasant and smooth. Room was cosy, breakfast great. Value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2018

    8.8
    overall good, we would come back again
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    weak WiFi signal, little bit remote from the center

    quite vicinity, owner gave us extra room free of charge though we hadn't use, reasonable breakfast, pleasant walking around

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    10
    Simply a great place to stay with beauty surrounding l.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed at the guesthouse and is simply a great place to stay and the staff are awesome and the breakfast is great. Definitely stay here again. Thanks for a lovely weekend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was shabby. The bed was old and there was a hole in the side of the base, also the bedding was poor quality. Dirty grubby carpet in the room. The TV arial cable was damaged so couldn’t really watch TV. Poor quality furnishings. Whole place in need of refurbishment in my opinion.

    Quite neighbourhood

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    10
    Great value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that I did not like was the automatic fan in the en suite bathroom, which caused me some trouble to fall asleep because of the noise. I wish I could just turn the fan off, I wish there was an option like this.

    everythings was great: from service to sleep to breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    9.2
    Ideal Hotel stay in location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good welcome to hotel. Accommodating when we asked to bring forward breakfast for an early departure on the Sunday. Much appreciated. Nice Full English as well!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    5.8
    Firm bed made for a comfortable sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room hadn't been vacuumed when I arrived and wasn't the entire time I was there, so it never felt particularly clean. The bed wasn't made sensibly; a flat sheet was used to substitute a fitted sheet, and the duvet did not fit its cover. Room was advertised as having a queen bed on Booking.com but actually was only a double. Roof was low at door and across the room, which meant I had to duck every time I entered/exited, wanted to use the desk, or go to the bathroom. One of the towels had stains on it, from make-up or something equivalent. Very loud tarp moving in the wind right outside the bedroom window made it hard to sleep without earplugs. The communal iron and ironing board were both broken. Glasses at breakfast were often not properly clean, sometimes sticky. Lost power in my room after a fuse presumably blew, but staff managed to sort that promptly.

    Firm bed made for a comfortable sleep. Appreciated having an inclusive proper cooked breakfast; eggs bene is definitely the right choice. Staff very friendly and happy to help when asked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    8.8
    Big room, well decorated, great breakfast...but replace mattress
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mattress was awful, bulging out on side walls and no support. Desperately needs replacing. This was the only down side of the stay though.

    Lovely old property in a decent location. Staff lovely and helpful. Amazing vegetarian breakfast. Decorated lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    7.1
    A quiet B&B close to the centre of Durham
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be unfair to mark the property down for being tired because it is currently getting a refresh which it definitely needs.

    Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Lovely breakfasts. It's a beautiful house in a nice quiet location, a short walk to the centre of Durham but also has the benefit of free on-site parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    10
    The bed was very comfy, beautiful room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very comfy, beautiful room. We stayed there to celebrate my husbands 80th birthday, with a visit to Durham to hear Grimethorpe Colliery Band in the Cathedral.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    5.8
    Comfortable & relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant had closed down prior to our arrival - we should have been informed of this beforehand - as we were a way out of city it would have nice to have had the option to dine in

    Very nice staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    8.8
    The Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were disappointed that the restaurant offering evening meals had closed in March before our stay.

    The Staff were very friendly and helpful. Jack the Guesthouse Manager went the extra mile for us. The building has many interesting features and ample car parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    7.1
    Could be a lovely hotel, but needs a bit of TLC. That said, I’d still stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is an air of faded grandeur about this hotel, not helped by the basic presentation of the main entrance (extensive discarded cigarette ends in plant pots and around the entrance, which would take seconds to clean up!), the downstairs restaurant being shut leaving the outside terrace looking abandoned and derelict and also the garden and grounds looking like they haven’t been maintained for a while. Inside, it’s comfortable, but again still slightly jaded and it didn’t look like our room had been cleaned thoroughly before we arrived (there were still bits on the carpet)

    Staff were very accommodating. Dining room has a lovely aspect and is light and airy for the substantial breakfast included in the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: