Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fenners Hotel 2 stars

144 - 146 Tenison Road, Cambridge, CB1 2DP, United Kingdom

Review score

Based on 1310 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The doors in the hotel slammed when they were closed causing the whole place to vibrate in addition to the noise. Drilling work started in the hotel around 8am in the morning which caused us to have a very rude awakening.

    The bed was comfortable and the hotel was well-located near the train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast available. Shower was too hot on all settings. Standard of decorations not consistent.

    Bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No shaver socket, bed smaller than advertised , no hand towels until requested on both days , shower very small and not very powerful. Manager not very friendly

    Central location and the bed is comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Group
    • Compact Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was expensive but incredibly limited parking in the area so it was good to be able to park there.

    Very clean & comfortable room. Small but functional bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were fair, but felt like they were wanting to do the bare essentials in order to answer any queries. The shower was AWFUL! A mere trickle. Didn’t feel like it was value for money. Even the WiFi was intermittent. A fair walk into the city. Minimal parking. Just paying the rate because it’s cambridge. Shame. The property has so much potential

    The bed was comfy & the room was a good enough size for 2. The area was nice and peaceful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We added a room to our booking and when we got the final bill the extra room was considerably more expensive than the others we'd booked. Some of the party said their bathrooms were very small.

    Comfortable beds. Wonderfully friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny room, wobbly furniture, the water was only hot (the spring was broken on the button for adjusting the temperature and although we someone was meant to take a look at it, it worked the same at the end of the day)

    Comfy bed, iron available on request, usb sockets (!), great location 3 minutes away from train station, helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place lacked personality. We felt processed, not warmly welcomed, everything was minimal - it needn't have been, there could have been small touches of consideration, just to make the place feel nicer. There was nothing 'wrong' , just no 'bon viveur' and there is never an excuse for not having it.Life's too short for 'that'll do', even if it does.

    This accommodation was adequate, basic, clean, a little noisy, otherwise fine for somewhere to sleep and freshening-up. We had traveled by car, found the added overnight car-parking charge 'entrepreneurial' .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was quite uncomfortable - all night long I felt I could fall out any minute. I was sleeping in a tiny room in the attic, which was fine and cosy, but it wasn't very clean and the toilet and sink were very noisy. Luckily I brought some earplugs.

    Very friendly and helpful receptionist in the evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet in room 142 is designed in a very compact space against the wall, would be nice to have some leg space.

    Great location, walking distance to the train station and surrounding facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and (no) breakfast masquerading as a hotel. room was cold at night with no heating. TV didn’t work despite best efforts. Plug point by bed side not functioning. Not the most comfortable of beds. Ground floor room, and quite a lot of disturbance with people coming in and out of the front door.

    Very close to the station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the desk very standoffish. Floor was quite dusty as well as on-top of wardrobe. Even in the time it took me to get dressed my tight were covered in dust from standing on the floor. Lighting in the room quite dark. When you stood or sat at the desk you blocked the light behind you so couldn't see what you were writing or easily to pour hot water. Bathroom tiny and a bit awkward to move around in.

    Good wifi. Hot water. Very good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty

    Dirty. Old fashioned. Too expensive. Service wasn’t great. Had to put the kettle on the floor to reach the plug socket. Someone else’s hair in shower. 2 light bulbs in tacky chandelie. Not impressed will not be back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not very convenient that check-in is only possible until 9.30pm. The property has been modernised (cosmetically) but doors were creaking, bad noise insulation, no water pressure/hot water, sink was tiny (nowhere to put things, no towel rail).

    The room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the bathroom was quite small, also the fact that check out was at 11am.

    I like the fact that the staff were accomadating, when we overslept and missed breakfast they allowed us to take some cereal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked this room because the booking.com website suggests that breakfast is included. Upon arrival we were told, that they don't even do breakfast. Further, we were led to believe there was parking available, but found upon arrival that they charge for it. We got it for free in the end, as we were unhappy about the misleading information online. The shower only did boiling hot or ice cold and nothing in between and the strip light in the bed room made it all look rather cold and clinical. The attic room was small and the bathroom was very cramped. There was only one cup in our twin room booked for two. Last but not least, the smoke detector was hanging loose by its cable from the ceiling, which didn't fill us with confidence.

    Beds were comfy and the room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place was clean, but could be cleaner. The air vent in the shower was black with dust, and generally the bathroom could be cleaner. Also, even though the neighborhood is quiet, the walls are really thin and I could hear everything that was happening in the other room. Sadly, my neighbors decided to have a party on my first night there and I could hear their drinking songs until 1 am - no response from the reception desk, of course. Generally speaking, a nice place but the prices are definitely too high for the standard they offer.

    Location is great - very close to the railway station. The neighborhood is also nice, a rather quiet place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No heating. Poor customer care. Poor facilities. High levels of noise from the street which meant you were unable to sleep. Reception staff response "We make that clear on Booking.com !!!!!!!" When I notified staff that there was no heating and could I get a heater the first reponse was we don't have them and I will come and check radiators. After 30 - 40 mins of to and throughing and the heating not working a heater miracullously appeared!!!!!!! At no point was I offered another room. After a hard days work the last thing you need is trying to sort this out. In addtion there were low levels of security - rooms could not be locked from inside and when asked about this the reception staff on desk were reluctant to show how to lock the door and in fact said I won't do it!!!. The reasoning was you cannot lock doors from inside on electronic key locks was given which was totally illogical as that is the purpose of having the additional lock. All hotels rooms I have stayed in with electronic key cards have additional locks which can be used. When booking and advertised it said breakfast included and then received a email after booking saying it was not. On leaving I requested the hotel manager call me - no call received to date.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Compact Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a pity that included breakfast has been stopped.

    Beds were very comfortable & location is great beside train station & within walking distance of city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in a small double room (room 10), which was OK for 1 person overnight but I'd not recommend it for a couple staying any length of time as it was very small. There was a bit of a problem with getting any hot water in the room, which was sorted with help from a very friendly member of staff the following morning. I'd guess it will be fixed soon with the help of a plumber.

    The hotel staff were very friendly and the location (close to the train station and walking distance to the centre) were definitely positive points.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The light above the bed didn't work. The room was very pokey - it did say "compact", I know. It was a ground floor room, and the window was not able to be secured, once open; not safe for a woman on her own. No hot water in the shower in the morning. I did not have breakfast there, so can't comment on the food or service there. Reception pleasant - I did report the 2 "faults", and they did say they were sorry.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was to many hidden charges. There was no mention of parking charges until i received the confirmation email. i was not informed that it was room only until we arrived. It would have been nice to know what we were getting for our money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy that was on reception told me I was ok to park out the front of the hotel even though I’d booked a space in the car park which he cancelled he said car was fine there till 9am next morning when I went out to the car next morning at 7.30am there was a parking ticket on it which was given around 7.18 pm I went into hotel to hand my key in and he must have seen the ticket on my car as they had craftily put a quick notice up just in a plastic sleeve saying not to park there as you could get a ticket if that had been there night before I would have made sure I was in the car park but even on website it states on street parking for hotel so instead of my £15 car 🚙 park fee I ended up with a £35 fine not impressed at all with information given

    Very nice comfortable room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The general state of the accommodation was quite poor and "tired". On arrival we were told that breakfast (such as it was) would be served from 08:00 to 09:30 but on Monday morning when we went down for breakfast at 09:15 we were told that we had missed breakfast as it finished at 09:00! This was purely academic though as there was no chef available on that day anyway! The on site car parking we begrudgingly paid at a cost of £15.00 per night (£30.00 total) which added insult to injury to the stay at this "hotel"

    Nothing positive to say!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Me and my sisters bought a 2 night stay at this hotel for our Mum and step dad for a Christmas present. On the photos it looks so lovely and a great location. After my mum come back after this weekend we was disappointed to hear that they didnt enjoy the weekend as much as they should have , with the rooms needing updating, painting and some places a good clean, also we paid for continental breakfast for two mornings which they received on the Sunday, just not on the Monday as they missed it being told to be down at 9.30 to actually breakfast finishing at 9.00, and also no cooked breakfast as the chef don’t work Mondays which not alternatives was offered not even money back for the breakfast missed due to no fault of my mums and step dads own. Me and my sister would have loved to have written a great review but we are truely disappointed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't get much of a welcome or much other than the keys and direction to room from staff but not rude just bit disinterested. Doors really slammed so had a fairly broken sleep but were there Easter weekend so maybe a bit more rauchous than normal.

    Clean, great location right by train station and short walk into town. Rooms are small but fine for a day or two.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra tea bags, milk would have been good,only 1 each provided,too late in the evening to ask for any more

    Clean comfortable room,not expected after reading other reviews

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price a bit higher than some other places.

    Nicely decorated, well appointed little room. Comfy bed. Great pillows! Clean. Electric kettle w/various hot beverage choices, cookies and fresh water. Easy walk from train station. Towels in bathroom are heated over bathroom heating element. Short walk thru lovely park to get into town. Nice hot and cold breakfast choices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only a very small free standing wardrobe for hanging clothes no other storage. The bathroom very small and the shower had next to no power very poor.

    It was clean and warm typical cheaper hotel. Not a place to stay for more than one or two nights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At booking it hadn't been clear that it was room only so we had to pay for breakfast that morning. Whilst we were eating another three groups asked about breakfast to be told they had a room only booking. This must be made clearer.

    It was just what you'd expect for the money. But was within walking distance of the centre along a road which had a good range of places to eat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the top in the eaves. It only had one small window and the single beds headboard was so big it covered most of the window do the room was very dark. A few more t bags and milk would have been nice.

    Good location, clean and very comfy beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to make sure to reach the hotel before 21:30 (only the first day to book in at the reception)

    Very quiet, excellent location (4 min walking to railway station and bus; 10 min walking to city center). Small one-person room, cleverly arranged with all facilities (incl. tv & wifi).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the plumbing/pipes near my room were noisy so I was woken up by a guest in a nearby room taking a shower. Apart from this the hotel was clean, comfortable and in a great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was too small and not as clean as it could be. This could have been due to the fact that you could not maneuver around, so a cleaner would struggle to do a decent job. There was no room for the towel rail and they had it positioned in the bedroom. No shelf or anywhere to put any toiletries. The tiles in the shower were not cleaned and the drain hole was blocked so that the water would not drain away. We told the lady on reception about this after our first night, and she said she would get somebody to look at it. However, it was obvious later that this had not happened. The wardrobe was completely useless as it was too shallow. It had some coathangers inside on an angle, but if you tried to use them the wardrobe door wouldn't close.

    The bed was very comfortable, the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was impossible to use. No knee room for the loo. Shower was a squeeze. The TV didn't work. Lamps were broken. Depressing.

    comfortable bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heavy sulfurous smell in bathroom Noisy, poor sound isolation, noise from neighbouring rooms and staircase Poor WiFi signal/availability from room

    Good, healthy nourishing breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very weak and the shower holder was broken. The toilet roll holder was loose and didn’t hold the toilet roll

    Staff were great. Loved the decor. The bed was comfy. Easy to sleep (no noise). The fan in the room was great as the hotel was super warm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size of the room, it was so so small. The roof overhung the toilet in the room i was in. Everytime you flush the loo or take a shower the toilet makes an AWFUL noise.

    I like the comfort of the bed and the cost. Very prime location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The continental breakfast is quite frugal. Besides, on Sunday they refused to serve us the breakfast as we alegedly came too late (2 mins before 11am). No refund or packed breakfast was offered.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked the room at 21.45pm, then received an email saying you can’t check in after 21.30pm, so unsure why booking.com would allow you to make a booking if it’s against the hotels policies, but the most upsetting part was I got a phone call from a very rude abusive young man, telling me this isn’t a proper hotel you can’t just check in & out when you feel like it “my answer to that is then don’t advertise your self as a hotel then” I said I am traveling to Cambridge on the last train from my location & I will be with you no later than 23.30 he said let me quote “if you are not here by 23.30 you will not be allowed in & you will have to spend the night on the street” how very rude I thought... I would highly advise for the small amount of money these rooms cost £55 I would advise you to pay I little more & stay in an actual hotel elsewhere in Cambridge, I have never experienced anything so rude from a so called “none hotel” experience... will never stay here again...

    Decent location, very cheap, but still over priced for what you get & the rooms are so small you couldn’t even swing a cat in, also don’t swing cats in hotel rooms you might get done for animal cruelty... had a very unpleasant experience with booking & staying at this not a hotel “B&B” please read my negative point of view on this place... spend your money else where...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service for breakfast. the gentleman made no attempt to explain it was self-service (and when I say self-service, I mean having to open a big black cupboard and find crockery, bowls, glasses etc). So not remotely intuitive and you would have been worried you had been trespassing into personal areas to do with the hotel, not guests!) and when I asked "was it not his job to explain this", he answered "did you not see the website"? Er, no I did not. I was not even going to have breakfast but decided to when the night manager had explained its content and cost (excellent on both counts). I wanted to help him by explaining the importance of his directing guests given it really was not clear but thought better of it. Oh and I was the only one in breakfast so perhaps if others had been there we would have worked it out together. Either way, it was a pity because everything was excellent apart from this one communication challenge.

    excellent help from the evening "point person" with TV / WiFi etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a very convenient location this place offer the perfect distance between city centre and train station. Facilities are delightful and staff is very kind

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pictures made the hotel looked a higher standard than it was. We were a bit shocked when we moved out of the reception area (which looked nice) into the corridor and stairs which looked a lot lower standard. Carpet looked like it was nailed to the floor. Breakfast was continental but no real choice apart from eat what was handed to you on a single plate. Wish I had spend the same money and eaten at the YHA across the road where the choice was better.

    Staff friendly and bed comfortable. Reasonable but pleasant walk into the town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower with no water pressure. The heater was pushed at the maximum in the bathroom and it was not possible to regulate it. Also impossible for the management to separate the invoice of the room and the breakfast.

    Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small single room was extremely small! The hotel plumbing was noisy. There was very little water from the shower in room 5 and the water was only warm not hot. There was no cooked breakfast available on the second day of our stay.

    It was nice to have fresh fruit for breakfast but a choice of breads/pastries would have been appreciated. The bed was comfortable but a king size would have been better.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the receptionist was very rude and did not say goodbye as I was about to leave.

    The night receptionist was very friendly and the early morning receptionist

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great place to stay bathroom not for the larger person but shower really good room was above clean and fresh nice crisp pillows staff very welcoming and chatty its a ten from we

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom blind didn’t work, dressing table was unstable but not a big issue

    It was quiet in my room and I had a good night sleep, only wanted a single room at a cheap rate and they delivered

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and the bathroom were both very small, wouldn't recommend it for claustrophobic people :)

    The location was great, just 5 minutes walking from the train station, and 15 minutes walking from the center. The neighborhood was quiet. Room was warm, bed cosy. We didn't try the breakfast, so we don't know how it is.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were lots of strange noises throughout the night and we didn’t manage to sleep at all. The air was also really dry as the radiator was left on for too long before we arrived.

    Perfect location and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really tight quarters in the compact single. Several things were wobbly (table, toilet seat, sink faucet), broken (door deadbolt) or stained (chair, bedsheets). On initial entry and after cleaning, smell of bleach was overpowering.

    Excellent location, quiet room, comfortable bed, nice decor moments.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front door and the stuff door which were right by my room were allowed to bang shut and this went on until after 1am and started again around 6am. People kept moving around until very late and I could hear them and so I didn’t sleep well at all.

    The bad linen smelled fresh and the kettle tray was arranged nicely

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No secure place to store bags, especially when check-in is from 3pm. Room is quite small.

    Walking distance to the train station and city centre. Nicely decorated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it was an older property the staircase was a little interesting with luggage but manageable.

    Handily located for train station. Very nicely decorated rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I will not recommend you to stay in this hotel. Our check in staff was not friendly. Parking is stupidly expensive. £15 per night. Rooms are very very small. My partner is pregnant and could barely move on it. TV signal got loss most of the time. Hotel is too noisy. You can hear everything from others rooms. There was an anoying alarm going on during all day when somebody enter a room. Also, there was a problem with the pipes in our first night there and there was an horrendus sound every time somebody flushed the toilet. I could keep going but I think you get the point. Don't stay on it.

    Fenners Hotel it is in a good location. Very close to the train station so close to public transport and also close to a street full of restaurants, coffee shops, bars... Apart from that I will not recomend you to stay in fenners hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property has no restaurant and the only eating facilities are a take out service that's located a distance away from the property. The city centre is quite a distance away from the property and was extremely disappointing to travel to and fro every day.

    The location to the train station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced, nowhere to put luggage while we waited for our room to be ready apart from on reception floor, which was not ideal. Room was available far to late in the day. Only had hot water available in the morning. Fixings weren’t In place properly, taps loose etc.

    The location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attention to detail in the room itself. Worse for wear against the actual photography advertising the property. Lots of things seemed worn (including the blind, so cars woke us a few times in the early hours); both back doors had been left unsecured, so the room was freezing on arrival.

    The staff were extremely friendly and attentive when checking in and out. The bed was extremely comfortable and the sheets were spotless.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 6 shower panels were loose when in the shower The window was not safe when I open it it would not shut properly lovely stay and nice room

    I like bedroom but the bathroom was a bit small but it was ok and the bed was lovely slept well

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a room downstair and it can be all noisey we people on the floor above.

    Convenient to the train station and not too far to walk into the centre of Cambridge.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a bit of touch up such as floorboard, TV mount. Room is a bit small but adequate for 1 person, not sure for 2

    Location is great, near to train station and restaurants

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The poor wifi reception in our room. The extremely cramped shower room. The general state of cleanliness and decor of the staircase and carpeting. Every room door looked damaged where locks had been changed. Poor heating in the room, drafty window.

    The location for our weekend visit was excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room, very poorly decorated, possibly the worst I`ve stayed in. En-suite embarrassing, being in the loft the ceiling was sloping and you couldn`t seriously stand up to pee. Shower was hot for maybe 15 seconds then cold for 2 minutes then hot for 15 seconds

    Location and staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room.

    Well located. Close to the Cambridge Train Station and the Station has a big parking lot there so you can park your car (the hotel is on the street and has VERY limited parking with 15 pounds per night charges; the train station has a self-paid station you can use cash or credit card to pay for daily parking).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    How can you live in a 1.5 squire metre room? I just find it very annoying going into the bath room and toilet. You have to struggle to fit in the shower block and and hardly moved when sitting on the toilet bowl. Unfortunately the booking conditions was differently from what I got from the there. We booked breakfast but then I was told, so I have to pay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The size of the room was tiny. There was 2 of us and I am 6 foot 4. The room was an attic room so headroom was tight for half the room. The ensuite was really small. (You could not change after a shower without knocking into the door, sink, toilet or all 3. Breakfast was served to early. The glasses provided were different sizes....who does that?

    Good value and okay location. Very convenient to train station. I liked how the room was separate from reception. It was a thatched house so you didn't have to go through reception every time you came and went.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and there was a loud sound coming from the bathroom, which was annoying. I did ask to book me a taxi the night before, as I had a meeting early in the morning, but the taxi was not booked. As somebody else was a reception I have no idea why this happened. I had to book a new taxi and wait for it to arrive, which means I was late to my appointment in the end.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We struggled to get the hot water to run successfully in the shower and the floor was incredibly creaky. It felt very flimsy underfoot. Maybe not quite the 100 per room per night they are charging, but not far off. Maybe it is an old building?

    The staff were incredibly welcoming and the location was perfect for travel by either car, train or cycle. The rooms were decorated beautifully. The toiletries provided were of a lovely quality and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud!! Beautiful reception room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The sounds from the pipes in the bathroom were very loud.

    The room was small but it was really clean and nicely decorated. And it was well equipped e.g. with a kettle.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor English speaking staff and it took 50 mins to get my breakfast completely wrong and kept me late for my appointment.

    Convenience to train station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room cold, broken window and heating off all night, bathtub with patches and stains - didnt even try to have a shower, no one at reception during night-waited till 6.30 to call reception and ask for a portable heating device but none available This is a guest house, not a hotel - paid 99 for a night on discount but the room worthed no ore than £40

    clean sheets

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom

    The location was excellent near shops and railway station. Hotel was clean and tidy staff friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was very nice. Room was clean bathroom was rather small but that wasn't a major issue.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast for the money, one sachet of coffee each and one weird sachet of raspberry tea each in room. One bedside lamp for a double bed, bedside table other side had no reading lamp and bedside table was so big it was halfway across the bedroom door half blocking an exit in case of fire. Shower if you could get it working was mostly cold. Would never stay again.

    It closeness to the railway station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately there was no bulb in the bedside light and I could not change the temperature of the shower (it was just about cold enough to stand under - any hotter and I wouldn't have been able to bear it).

    The staff were very accommodating to my requests for an early collection of my keycard (I was due to return after reception had closed) and for an early breakfast (I had to leave the hotel before the kitchen opened) and I very much appreciate this. The fruit salad prepared for me at breakfast was delicious and very thoughtful. The location was only a three minute walk from the train station - perfect for a pre-7am train home.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was absolutely tiny - barely enough room to move! And the shower trickled out boiling hot water. The 'continental breakfast' was awful.. For £250 for 2 nights I expected more than a piece of toast and a bowl of dry fruit! There were no croissants/pastries etc. It was also a 20 minute walk to the city centre which wasn't ideal.

    The location is good - a very short walk to the train station.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Fenners Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: