Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fines Bayliwick Hotel

London Road, (off Nevelle Close) Binfield, Bracknell, RG42 4AB, United Kingdom

#7 of 7 hotels in Bracknell

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 185 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.5
    This is another hotel that I like staying at when in the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is another hotel that I like staying at when in the area. The attractive receptionist, Lana, greeted me and she remembered me from my last visit. There is a nice modern bar and also a restaurant that serves a choice of Asian dishes. The rooms are comfortable as are the beds. I shall look to stay here again when next in the area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.4
    Good but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size of the room was really tinny for the price we paid. It was rather tricky to work out the shower - there were instructions left on the wall but it still took a while to get it to the right temperature. The bed and floor board were rather squeaky. And there was only one cup in the room for our tea in the morning.

    I liked the bathroom and where our bedroom was located in the property. The staff were friendly. The pressure of the shower was really good too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    It was suitable for what we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear the person snoring in the next room lol, shower was quite small, and hallway floors were very creaky. Unable to connect to the Wi-Fi with the password given. Only one tea cup and one glass two people staying in the room

    Comfortable bed and spare pillows available, nice room, good size tv.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    3.8
    Wasted
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very cramped and the toilet and the pipes were noisy when the toilet was flushed. There was no milk provided for the tea/coffee; and there was only one pillow. The price did not include breakfast so was very poor value for money.

    I paid in advance through booking.com but on arrival the receptionist insisted I provide my card details including security pin. I questioned this to the owner/manager the next day and he said this was normal. I asked him to delete the details but he refused until the room was cleaned and checked. I asked him to go and check the room and he did. He then said he deleted my card details but I have no evidence of this.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.8
    Good bed, clean bathroom,tv and WiFi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv remote needed fixing. Mirror in a strange place had to move the chair. Massive spider on the ceiling. Light in bathroom near that mirror didn’t work and no extraction fan so the bathroom got very steamy. Kettle lid broken

    Good bed, clean bathroom,tv and WiFi

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    4.6
    Avoid - far better alternatives out there.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not expensive but not value for money at all. The room was appalling, tired - probably overdue refurbishment 10 years ago. The pillows are so worn out and thin they're almost non existent. The towel was only a little larger and more absorbant than a tea cloth. Quite noisy - best to get to work late and get to sleep once everyone has stopped trampling around.

    The location is central for Bracknell and Reading.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    4.2
    First and last time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    when we arrived the car park was full so I had to pa4k on the road and walk arround with bags and my 3 children. the  room looked beautiful although the carpet was stained and no bin.when I asked th3 man on reception to recommend a nice place for lunch as they didn't servic3 food in day h3 directed me to the local garag3 for a meal deal. Very offended. Then After a night at the theatre with the children very tired we return to get some rest. rest we did not get! the banging and talking outside our room went on till after 3am keeping me and my youngest up. I requested some milk for a cup of tea at 1am as it was impossible to sleep and the lady who brought it to me made it clear that they normally stop service at 11pm so it was doing me a favour this time with no apology for the disturbance. Turns out the noise was the pluber trying to fix a issuse with the pipes as i was told by anoth3r guest the next morning. The morning came we had no water in our room and again when I asked the lady we had no apology she just repeatedly told me not to worry and we rushed to our 9:30 breakfast booking. With three children with me and no shower or teeth brushed we didn't feel great at all and the food wasn't brought out till 10am. again as we just leaving I tried to talk to her about the lake of sleep and water we have had and she just continued her phone call. not at all impressed. I have a 3hour drive today and am exhausted. We have gone to another hotel to use facilities. shocking service!! Also may I add that wh3n I call3d to enquire I was told my children as so littl3 would eat breakfast for free. On arrival was asked to pay for them and offered to split one of them. I agreed but instead of two small breakfasts the kids got one to share.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.0
    Bar was very low stocked, warm beer in tins and quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was very low stocked, warm beer in tins and quite expensive. So had to get a cab to a pub. Shower leaked all over bathroom. Bed very hard, we both woke up aching.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.7
    Very convenient location for a visit to my employers UK Head...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very convenient location for a visit to my employers UK Head Office. Basic, yet clean accommodation. A couple of gripes - The door lock on room 13 was temperamental and the noise from the water pump, seemingly located above the entrance hall of room 13, was deafening at 7.30am. Did not eat in restaurant or have breakfast so cannot comment on the quality and value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.8
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was phoned a day earlier than my expected arrival date saying they had me booked in a day earlier than my due date. I told the receptionist that they had made a mistake. I was then told by 2 different members of staff that I would have to take this up with bookings.com as I had made the booking through them. This was the second time this has happened to me for this particular hotel. When I arrived on the Sunday evening I was told I would have to take the discrepancy up with bookings.com. They still charged me for the Saturday night. On arrival they said I could still have a room for tuesday night at a more expensive price then originally offered. I turned them down. I will never book this hotel again !

    Sorry. Nothing. Room hot as expected with the recent weather . But curtains very thin and room facing directly into the sun. No fan provided.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    If back in the area would use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double room only 1 cup, glass and portion of milk. Immediately remedied when spoke to the receptionist.

    Clean, friendly receptionist. Ideal location for our needs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.0
    Thought I was on the set of Fawlty Towers!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unpleasent smell. Facilities - Very outdated. Went to open the drawer and wardrobe in the room and handle came off both. Shower was either boling hot or freezing cold and power was terrible. I knew the bedside light wouldn't work even before I tried it. Dinner - Overpriced. First two choices were not available. For the third choice my starter was chicken soup which was without question a tin of Heinz (cost approx £1) which they charged £6 for. Main was average. Bed - probably the most uncomfortable I've ever slept on - solid as a rock! Breakfast - Overpriced and average.

    Staff are friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel but needs some more efficiency in staff availability
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was very poor attendance at reception and on occasions the inability to find staff to enquire about various things, so again was left without good staffing levels.

    Room was comfortable and for the price good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Very nice staff, but expensive for the quality of room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the mattress in the room was pilling and hard balls bits of fabric could be felt while on top of the mattress cover, additionally a few cobwebs in the corners

    The Staff were incredibly friends, welcoming, happy to answer any questions I had

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.3
    Was only booked as a place to lay my head for a few hours so did the job but room not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room extremely small, television remote was missing and no other controls on tv itself. When looking for tv remote handle fell off the draw. Shower leaked onto very cramped bathroom floor.

    Room was clean and bed was comfy. Parking was excellent and well lit. Grounds and hotel appeared to be well kept and receptionist very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Bed and room comfortable, staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal not good value and bizarrely had rice and naan bread with all meals, even lasagne and beef stew. Breakfast appeared to be all or nothing full English (ie no just bacon and egg, poached egg or any othrr option - and was very greasy.

    Bed and room comfortable, staff friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely country house with potential.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the receptionist was missing from the reception desk, I only saw him twice in three days. I wished the garden was a bit more tidy and they would serve drinks in the garden. the bar was literary locked with a padlock. a bit pricey for what I was offered.

    I loved the garden area and the old English decor of the living room area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    Good for overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Style of hotel quite dated, which in itself is okay, I like old-school charm, but you do get the sense that it needs a bit of attention. Floors are very creaky, I was concerned for those possibly in rooms below us. Also, seems shower was leaking from somewhere because when we got out, one part of the floor was covered with water.

    The reception closed prior to our arrival, and they kindly contacted us telephonically to inform us of arrangements to get the key, etc. The receptionist I spoke to was efficient and friendly. Room quite clean and spacious, albeit dated. The bathroom is spacious and clean too, and has modern fixtures. The bathroom was really the best part of the room. The location was great! Close to where we wanted to be, although it is some distance to town centre/shops (within walking distance).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park was laid with large pieces of gravel and hard to walk on, so difficult that I actually fell. Staff were great in helping me get cleaned up but I was surprised that they did not have an accident book for me to complete (I made a point of asking for it). Breakfast was poor value at £12.50 per person - mushrooms and eggs cooked in butter so they were very rich and tainted the whole meal. Only two of us in the restaurant so not much atmosphere. Disappointed as the photos made the place look really nice.

    Bed was comfortable. Heating was controllable so we were not overheated as with many other hotels

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    5.0
    OK, More of a guest house than a hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are dated and chilly- you dont expect to have to turn on a plug in fan heater! There is nowhere in the room to work, no desk or chair. The bathroom facilities are hit and miss. Its all a bit 1970s, "quaint" - Fawlty Towers without Basil

    Location was great and the homliness nice. Lana on reception was very good and helpful though she seems to have to struggle with a not great IT system!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    3.8
    Would not stay here again and would advise others not to !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were freezing manager said heating would come on later it did not !!! Had to ask for extra heaters for bedrooms !! My daughter in the next room had to sleep in clothes and dressing gown and she still froze she had only been given a tiny air blower we did not know this until next day or would have complained breakfast the next day was terrible it looked like it had been cooked by a five year old. They said it was a full English. 1 sausage 1bacon and an egg and mushrooms is not a full English. We have stayed in lots of hotels in the past so we know what we are talking about. No one ate the breakfast and when I told the manager it was unacceptable he just smiled.

    Comfortable bed. Nice dining room and open fire

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    3.8
    Room was warm and lots of hot water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Creaky floor boards no matter where you stepped. Could hear guests in upstairs rooms and corridors walking on floor boards. Had to pull out chest of drawers 1: to find a socket (low down on wall) and 2: every time we wanted to use kettle or hair drier. Old hair drier not working but still connected to power (badly connected and inside wardrobe). Did not have breakfast here. bought a lukewarm bottle of water !

    Room was warm and lots of hot water.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    4.6
    Probably better described as 'Less than Fine Balyliwick!'
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Once inside the hotel, the old world charm is wearing thinner than the stairs carpet, which is quite threadbare in places. The double room I was allocated (9) was very dated and on the small side (OK for a solo traveller, but I would imagine quite claustrophobic for a couple). The bed was not the most comfortable I had ever slept in either, and the pillows were quite lumpy. However, the biggest issue for me was the soundproofing, thin walls and the creaky floorboards in both the rooms and corridors. Every movement produced a loud creak, and being a busy hotel, meant a disturbed night. I also decided against the rather pricy £12.50 breakfast option, based on the poor reviews and abundance of cafes nearby, so can't really comment on the food quality here. Overall, I thought the hotel was expensive for the standard of accommodation offered; it desperately needs a refurbishment and a more realistic approach to menu pricing.

    I mainly booked the hotel for short notice availability and it's location, which was in easy reach of the A329M. The building has some old world charm from the outside and car park is reasonably spacious. Check in was straightforward, the receptionist bring friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    3.8
    Cold, very cold.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was freezing, toilet continually ran after flushing (requiring me to take the cover off and adjust the ballcock), shower switched between too hot and too cold at the slightest adjustment. Due to this I left 1 day into a 2 day prepaid booking. The hotel has since refused to entertain any suggestion of a refund of the cost of the second night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Great return stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the welcome of my return visit from both Lana the Receptionist and the Manager next morning. Always great to be remembered. Comfortable room and bed as usual plus a good reasonably priced meal and drink deal in the evening.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel, great staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is full of history from he Victorian era once being the home of the Fines family and now tastefully refurbished into the hotel you see today. The food here is very good with a varied menu. There is a fair choice of drinks on offer also. The staff here are very good, particularly Lana, (pronounced Lan), who is a very keen conversationalist who loves to practise her English speaking skills. She also has a good sense of humour and I enjoyed talking with her.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    3.3
    Never again.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Threadbare carpet on stairs. Different finishes on ceiling presumably where it had been repaired, also a stain from a water spill above. Bathroom sink blocked, and reported immediately on arrival (615pm)and again before breakfast (0900) but not attended to. Reception accused me of threatening when I said they would get a bad review. Not just a threat mate! Breakfast £12.50 each isvery expensive so you expect a very good one. This wasn't even average. 2 loaves of sliced bread with the ends of the plastic wrappers opened for self-toasting - glamorous! Little packets of salt and pepper etc - messy. NO choice offered for your cooked breakfast (other than not to have it!). Porridge was an individual pot which they made up with hot water for you. For £12.50??! The room alone was £87 (supposedly special price). I did get offered an £8.70 refund along with some whining about the amount they have to shell out to Booking.com and VAT.

    Some interesting Thai -stye decor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Worth another visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Well maintained property, decor good with great attention to detail. Communal areas were comfortable and welcoming. Ample good quality breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.1
    I wouldn't stay here again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were holes in the carpets and walls. Bed was lumpy and pillows were flat. The cooked breakfast was nice but way too expensive at £12.99. When I booked the cooked breakfast I was told I could choose what I wanted but when I went down in the morning I was them told it was only full English. The continental was very poor - extremely limited on everything and the fruit looked old

    This hotel is in a lovely building but in need of a reburb.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.3
    An economic place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is it really a country house hotel in town Expensive breakfast. Too warm beds not v comfortable shower difficult to use and shower screen damaged

    Somewhere in area to stay Enough easy to use parking Quiet room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing, we will not be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, a shower that didn't flood, a kettle that you could only use on the floor, that's when there was any tea or milk to use.

    The location was good and surprisingly quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    4.2
    Avoid!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No towels in the bathroom. Insufficient parking. Ubiquitous Eastern European receptionist with poor English and little understanding of customer service.

    The hilarious decor

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    An OK stay for the money in our room (but I guess each one may vary)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a twin room, but only 1 mug, 1 tea bag, 1 set of towels. Shower doors also came off runners and when I phoned to explain (we left v early) there was no apology or thanks for letting them know.

    Very clean, great location, quiet and easy access once checked in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.1
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    No flexibility on check in unless you pay extra

    The bed was very comfortable. The room was a little tired but fitting in with the style of the property.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.5
    the hotel is very pretty and the room was perfect for our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    our room didn't have any windows

    the hotel is very pretty and the room was perfect for our stay. It is very close to the town centre and amenities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.8
    ok but not this room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    first time I have stayed in Room 1, the lack of a direct window to the outside and the ability to get fresh air directly into the bedroom was a sad let down

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Quirky Hotel that's full of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking area is small and fills up quickly when the Hotel is full

    Given a room upgrade on arrival. The room was quirky (bathroom was situated in the conservatory) and full of character. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    5.8
    Not a hotel room, a converted office next to reception is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a hotel room, a converted office next to reception is the closest description I could come up with. Probably the worst room I've stayed in around the UK.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.7
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con in the room which made it unbearably hot in the room and bathroom especially. The building needs modernising and things like menus were very tatty.

    The bed was very comfortable. The room was huge. Staff were pleasant but not well trained.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    6.3
    One Night Stopover
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing specific, maybe the overall feeeling or lack of ambience ---- only saw two other guests and I was the only one in the resturant. Even with their limited menue one of the main dishes was "out of stock". Decided not to go to breafast.

    Place is in need of some refurbishment. Example stair carpets are worn through. Think they are running to a very tight budget and minimising any expenditure on the fabricate of the place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.5
    A nice surprise awaits you here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only 1 tea cup and one set of towels while we stayed with the two of us -- but to be fair we did book at he last minute.

    The general feel of this Hotel is superb

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.7
    Small and friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was moved to another room on arrival, it was a single not the double I booked, but I was on my own, there was a noisy wedding party at the hotel and I think I was moved away from the noise. The bed was against the wall and small. It was a very hot day and (no fault of the hotel) I was uncomfortable as the quilt was against the wall and I effectively had half a single bed. Sorry if this is a bit petty but (I paid £75 for 1 night) there were no biscuits in the room, a plastic tea spoon and the small breakfast was an additional £12.50.

    It was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    5.4
    I would not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived early as we were going to Ascot for the day, and although our room was ready we were asked to pay an extra £10 per hour, each hour before the check in time of 2pm. It would have cost us an extra £30. As we had to get changed we said we would do it in the loo to avoid having to pay the extra £30. The man at the desk then said he would do it for £20, again we said we would change in the loo, eventually he said he would not charge us. We went to our room, it was very very tatty, nothing matched and the radiator in the bathroom was extremely rusty.

    The staff were nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    4.2
    I would never stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very poor and not very accommodating. Woman serving drinks did not know what a gin and tonic was so I had to show her. Main man at reception were rude.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.9
    Friendly staff, clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our shower was actually broken and the main head didn't work well at all so we had to use the smaller hand shower but it was still ok - though controlling the temp was tricky as it actually seemed very hot once the hot water had arrived. An amount of noise from other rooms and corridors, plus no fan in the room can make for a disturbed sleep. TV wasn't the best in that the remote didn't seem to want to work too well. Paying by card incurs a fee regardless of debit card or not.

    The staff were very friendly, and the room was nice and tidy. Parking was ok, though might get a little full if all the rooms are occupied. Bed was comfortable. I thought the value for money was ok. A number of people have complained about cold showers, and whilst it is cold for quite a time, patience is a virtue and you will get nice hot water through. The hot water tank is apparently a distance away so plan ahead and make extra time. Nicely refurbished bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    2.9
    What we saw was disgusting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start... Dirty bath (chewing gum or something stuck in the plug hole) a shower cubical too small to get into, lots of paint falling off the walls in the bathroom... It was basically an added on lean-to with wooden slats at the windows that couldn't be opened as they were falling apart, it must have been 100 degrees in there and just vile. The 4 poster bed was in nasty brown fabric with 2 lights in the head board that were just bulbs with no shades, mould growing inside a painting that was on the wall!! We stayed all of 5 mins in the room and had to get out we asked for the manager and we were told by one member of staff that he was in the shower then 5 mins later we were told by another that he had gone out! He was actually in the shower! He came down and didn't say a lot... We showed him all the things that were awful about the room and he just nodded!! We asked for our £88 back as we couldn't stay there he said no he will not give be giving us back any money so we are now taking this further, please don't book a room here you have been warned.

    Absolutely nothing to like about this hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    6.7
    OK I guess.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only single member of staff who seemed do everything. Dinner ok, but all microwaved from pre-cooked stuff.

    Decent size room. WiFi speed good and was consistent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    5.4
    Not a pleasant stay and wouldn't recommend sadly
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room for two people. Shower didn't work and had to use attachment also no plug in sink so difficult to shave. Not enough towels or mugs for two people. Dog barking outside in night. Ground works going on in drive and car park which made it difficult for access and parking. Not their fault but would have been good to know in case of disability. Breakfast was offered but declined due to cost of £12.50 pp, extremely expensive for someone who would only have cereal or toast!

    It was clean, the bed was comfortable and the owner friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    6.3
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No evening meal; unfortunately I did not see the last line in the fine print section unconnected to the restaurant facilities section earlier: "limited times at weekends", NO times would be more accurate. 9am only offered for breakfast. tough uninteresting croissants. could not order daily newspaper.

    Bed OK. Plenty of good fruit at breakfast.. One helpful cheerful young member of staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing, not value for money, do not recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny (perhaps the size of a child's nursery or a box room), barely any space to turn, let alone walk. Window not double glazed, therefore let in cold draft. Radiator set very low. Curtains very thin. Sink was in bedroom. Shower was tiny, barely enough space to turn, and water was little more than a trickle. Loud noise from what sounded like a boiler each time someone from a neighbouring room used their facilities while I tried to sleep. Noise from creaky floor upstairs while I tried to sleep. To say the room was a student room would be a compliment. Breakfast was ok, but not worth the price charged. The hotel reminded me of Fawlty Towers. Old, dated, decor and furniture. Certainly did not get the peace, comfort and practicality I paid for which I expected after/before busy business days. Overall, my stay at this hotel was certainly not worth the price charged and I would not recommend it.

    Clean. Convenient location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    7.5
    The location was important and this was the nicest looking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to book an additional room direct with the hotel at short notice and all they had available was a very small single room that my nephew reported as being cramped and hot. However, it was preferable to sharing a room with his auntie or sleeping in the car. Breakfast was not an option due to the price and there was no cheaper option for those who only fancy something light.

    The location was important and this was the nicest looking hotel that I could afford out of the choices available

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    10
    Well located, cosy friendly traditional country hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Minor repairs required on drawers and cupboards. Shower needs instructions to avoid scalding/freezing. Restaurant not always open.

    Friendly and caring service from owners and staff, substantial excellent breakfast, cosy historic building with traditional furniture, pictures and ornaments, adequate parking, feeling of security. In the country, but close to town. Lovely living/dining room. Adequate heating.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    7.5
    We had a lovely large room on the ground floor with a four...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was cold outside and both the bedroom & bathroom were cold.

    We had a lovely large room on the ground floor with a four poster bed, large bathroom with roll top bath and separate shower cubicle.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    6.3
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our towels didnt get changed and when we arrived on the first night at 6 the bar and restaurant was closed for unknown reasons. The bed was quite hard.

    They greet you well and are friendly people. Parking is available and the en suite was great, very modinised.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    7.1
    A reasonable price hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding that the kettle, television, wall heater all plugged into a 4 gang extension lead, this could have serious health and safety issues.

    Convenient location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    2.5
    Poor service, staff haven't got a clue what customer service is about.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible service i had, i asked for a folk and knife because i had to eat my dinner and the person on reception refused to help and when i tried explaining that its just a matter of grabbing them from kitchen and i am not asking for too much then he goes you are disturbing me now please go. I wish i could just leave straight away but because of friend being not well i could not.

    Would be far better staying in travel lodge than this poor place.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Excellent, peaceful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent; peaceful place.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.8
    Convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Convenient location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast too expensive for what we had, not asked how we wanted our eggs

    Nice shower cubicle

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Peaceful and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely, quiet atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.8
    Nice Indian restaurant nearby but would nt stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Abit too quirky needs some work doing/investment I'm afraid.

    It was very quiet but old floorboards bait squeaky unfortunately

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    great value rooms, friendly staff, serene gardens, a pleasure to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi password in hand book was wrong, had to ask staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet flush needs attention

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.0
    The size of the bathroom was very big good shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very tired. Needed curtains to be fixed. Breakfast was terrible, service was awful.

    The size of the bathroom was very big good shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    2.9
    Discusting and way below standards for the money paid .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was shabby, pillows on bed all stained and had electrical extension leads around the room for use....... will not be going back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.3
    It was OK but disapointed with evening meal
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The menu selection was poor and quite expensive also the quality of the food was not good

    The bed and room were very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.7
    Staff friendly .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor boards really creaky in room 9. Felt self conscious about moving around the room .

    Staff friendly . Hotel fairly central to town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    Very comfortable and perfect for what I needed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Creaky floorboards

    Didn't get an option for wifi?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Charming place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, comfortable with a old English charm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Best stay in UK so far
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water tap nearby toilet. Discomfort for Muslim like me that use water to clean up after passing motion.

    Beautiful building and nice area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    One night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite cold. But a heater was provided .

    Friendly receptionist.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of damp!

    Going home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    Easy home from home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little tired decor but that's being picky

    Excellent staff, ideal location and boutique rather than a chain hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    A lovely family feel and so welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was excellent

    The owner was exceptionally kind

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: