Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fingle Glen Golf Hotel

Tedburn St. Mary, Exeter, EX6 6AF, United Kingdom

#11 of 19 hotels in Exeter

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 623 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sound proofing between rooms, breakfast staff on wed and thursday needed to be more friendly as came across rude. Room needed tea etc as not replenished until asked due to staying more than one night. Not much choice for gluten free.

    Views. Breakfast staff on tuesday and friday was very approachable and interacted with customers well. Nothing too much trouble. New waiter chap very approachable and polite and nothing too much trouble. Thankyou.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small shower needs net curtains or slatted blinds to create more privacy in room overlooking car park.

    Couldn't fault the breakfast, well presented and cooked to perfection.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean, hairs on bedcovers and in the shower, crappy pillows, mattress to large for two beds pushed together, had to asked to be moved to different room twice, ended up in the Fir Suite which was ok but the shower wasn't clean. The TV's in rooms are very small & outdated, complicated to use, hanging high on the walls at an odd angle and one needed binoculars to see anything. (TV in Fir Suite was bigger & better, we didn't stay in a lodge but the hotel nor did we play golf). Little things like sticky tables, wanted to move to a different table at breakfast which seemed an annoyance to the woman who was serving so we stayed on the one she layed up, dirty cutlery, none of which is very hard to do and doesn't cost anything... Quite noisy in the morning due to some sort of golfball/golf course cleaning & mowing operation. No other facilities apart from golf.... The hotel part is tired and needs to be modernised quite a bit, a few fluffy cushions on the bed aren't going to help with that. (I have worked as a waitress, chambermaid, receptionist myself therefore I know what guests expectations are) This Golf Hotel did not meet my expectations unfortunately.....

    The outside Terrace was really lovely with views over some of the golf course. The steak meal was very nice. The Breakfast was included. The receptionist was friendly & helpful and offered us the choice of another room as soon as we complaint about the room we were given first of all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed had bits and hairs in, suspect sheets not changed after last use. Bathroom floor dusty with hairs around edge, shampoo and soap empty.

    Location, customer service, price, car parking, wifi, no pets, hot water and working shower, clean toilet, and fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am only there every couple of months, which is a shame as I would like to stay more often.

    Hotel not that busy, been twice and had a free upgrade to the suite both times which is great. Staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant prices reasonable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was clean, tidy and a vey good size. Breakfast was tasty and filling, staff were friendly and the golf and course were first class. What more could you want!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mind your head if you're tall! Lovely rooms but low ceilings!

    Amazing location, Helen was really friendly and helpful. Rooms great and one if the prettiest breakfasts ever! Pub is 20 min walk with good beer and food. Cycling is great but BIG HILLS! Very happy with stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a big picture window with just two small windows at the top that were not easy to open. So, as it faced the sun, the room had a tendency to get hot and stuffy. Fortunately the evening was cool and there was a fan.

    Plenty of parking. Comfortable modern room and there was a fridge. Good wifi. Nice food. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Keep in mind it is a little rural. the staff will help but they can only do so much. But if you want to escape the city, this is actually a good thing.

    The staff here are super. Really helpful group who will go that extra mile for you. We had our wedding nearby and ended up with 100 or so of our guests staying at the club. The management helped us along every step of the way. On the weekend of the event, they put on extra staff for us and we never had to wait long for anything. The lodge accommodations were also really great. So many people delighted with them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have no negative issues with this hotel.

    Every one of the staff were friendly and made us feel very welcome. the breakfast was freshly cooked to order had a good variety and was obviously fresh and local produce. The best breakfast we have had in any hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel a bit basic but it was a golfing club. Bedroom very hot and noisy with rain falling off roof with no guttering. Had to leave a day early as couldn’t face another sleepless night.

    Food very good. Bed very comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing about the hotel but we stayed to attend a wedding in Cheriton Bishop and getting across the A30 to travel in the Okehampton direction is a nightmare. Traffic lights needed at junction!!

    Decent sized room albeit the shower-room was on the small side. Good breakfast. Room spotlessly clean and tidy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairway Lodges
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice countryside location. Comfortable lodge with nearly everything needed. Beds were not particularly comfortable, but were bearable. The kitchen shows some wear and tear with bits missing from the fridge, dishwasher and oven. TV kept pixelating - obviously a poor signal. The Wi-Fi was useless - dropped every 2 seconds so not usable. Fairly quiet situation at the side of the gold course.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our tomtom did not recognise it!

    Lots! Just the right size. Excellent facilities. Spacious dining room with comfortable sitting areas as well. Great chef! Not elaborate food but VERY well cooked to order. Excellent lighting in bedroom - much appreciated. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expected lodge but was only offered small double room. (Very misleading website) Not big enough to swing a cat in hotel room let alone a golf club! Small television. Small desk in corner of room and had to juggle with kettle, cups and hair dryer. Had to stand on chair after driving 300 miles to close window in a cold room, before switching on heating and awaiting for room to warm up. Don't expect decorators painting next to you at the breakfast table Very poor and inconsiderate! Expected to pay extra if full breakfast ordered.

    Good sized bed with firm matress. Small fridge in room. Good quality produce for breakfast. Resonably good internet signal. Easy parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    not enough staff in the restaurant people waiting for a considerable time to order food and slow service at breakfast

    good location plenty of parking space good value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty wrapping paper on the floor. Obviously from the previous guests. Bar closed early than stated. It was not near anything the nearest town was two miles away

    Breakfast and it was a big room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was raining heavily and the guttering outside the room was leaking and dripping water onto the flat roof below, which gave us a bit of a disturbed night. We slept with the window open which we like so the night might have been quieter but it would have been too hot without any airflow. Fans were provided.

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Food was excellent. Room was lovely with all facilities available.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Fairway Lodges
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No good accessible wi-fi in lodges, it was only in the hotel. Some minor maintenance issues e.g window latch broken so window could have been opened by anyone. Faulty hot tap on bath.

    Great communication with staff and lovely location. Very comfortable stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Fairway Lodges
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited breakfast choice had to pay extra for large breakfast even though breakfast was included. The beds where solid pillows gave no surport. Very little air flow in function room

    Breakfast was good quality and well cooked

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was so hot - considering I visited in the snow with sub zero temperature there was a fan in the room as it just didn't regulate temperature. Also reception and the fron door shuts just after 10 so we had to walk up the fire escape to get to the rooms in the dark.

    Staff were very friendly and bar was busy all day

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very poor thick dirt and fluff down back of radiator disgusting shower cubicle mouldy and extremely tiny bedding black marks on pillows thin as paper in need of a proper cleaner not a wipe over cleaner not be staying there again

    Staff and food was nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No self serve at breakfast. Quite noisey in bar. Coffee out of basic machine.

    Staff responded quickly and efficiently to a small issue. I rate that as excellent. No fuss checking in and out. Bedrooms and bathrooms comfortable. Good central location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personally don't like pillows so soft, had to use all four. Double bed was two twins together, so while the soft part of the bed was comfy, the middle ridge was uncomfortable to roll onto.

    Good location if you prefer somewhere quieter (or want to play golf obviously!), but just off the A30. Great views in the restaurant - really nice breakfast and friendly staff. Room was comfortable, fairly basic but good value for money. Nice hot shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything. Staff were exceptional. Food amazing. Room was spacious,clean,mini fridge bonus. Will definitely return and will recommend to family and friends.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mini bar had been used by previous guests. Room was over warm. Fridge in the room kept us awake.

    Bed was wonderful, nice clean room. Staff were amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was incredible. I was kindly upgraded to a suite which was such a lovely way to calm my nerves for my job interview. Fantastic facilities. Thank you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was too hot when entering and we needed to turn it down. Dead flies on window sill. Noisy and expensive mini bar. Shower too small for taller or larger people.

    Breakfast was very tasty and plentiful. Bed very comfortable. Staff friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am not in the area a lot which means I wont be staying as often as I would like, but I will always try them first when I am.

    I wanted a room with a bath and although I had booked a cheaper room, because their suite was empty without hesitation they gave me a free upgrade to a three room suite. What service. Food was properly priced, not over priced because of the location. It was also decent sized portions and cooked to a very high standard, delicious and I stay away a lot. You have to be good to get this praise.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived early yesterday and was very happy to have a room available to check into right away. I entered my room and despite the stale smell, I was relatively chuffed. That was until a lady unlocked my room and walked in without knocking. She apoloised and I put my key in the lock to avoid it happening again. My shower was not producing hot water and the drinks in the fridge had been opened and filled with water. I mentioned all this to reception who said they often have complaints about the shower and moved me to room 2. This room was sweltering, absolutely boiling, in February! Although no smell, I was struggling with the heat this time and got a fan, which helped. The hot water didnt work in the shower in this room either so I called the reception and they sent up maintenance who managed to sort out the "air lock" in the pipes. The constant banging and drilling downstairs from the workmen can be heard very clearly in the room, it was getting ridiculous and I was told it would stop by 6pm, which was not the case. During that time, the fire alarm went off, someone tried their keys in my door again and I found the packet of snacks in my fridge past their date. The lamp didn't work on the right hand side of the bed which was annoying and.... By 7pm the noise of banging was still continuing and I was fed up of the whole experience. So I packed my stuff, told my family I'd be coming home early and spent 16pounds on a taxi at 8pm. Complete waste of a rare day to myself and a huge disappointment. Probably one of the worst stays at a hotel and the manager didnt even have the decency to come and talk to me. Just sent the bar staff to ask me what I'd like him to do about it. Didnt have to pay for the stay luckily but have had no apology from management despite email.

    The views were very pretty.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleasant and helpful staff, this was a last minute (2hours before arrival at 10pm) booking. All was in order for this very brief stay (can't comment on the golf or breakfast as I didn't stay for either!)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's very basic, the room was tiny and it needs updating. It's also much further from Exeter than advertised and cost us £40 in taxi fairs which is extortionate.

    The staff were really lovely

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a lodge due to an event taking place on the Friday night, but I can't guarantee this always happens! Friendly staff and good food, we hope to be back :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was only luke warm even though it was on full heat...i did let the lady know on reception so hopefully it was looked at...other than that all was good

    The room was lovely and cosy..bed very comfortable :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing loved it

    Friendly, safe, warm, clean. Was on my own well looked after. Very quiet bed comfortable. Shower powerful n roomy. wi fi worked great no hassle. Don’t know if it is family run but staff really nice and friendly. Nothing to much trouble

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The basin was cracked and chipped. Conditioner dispenser kept falling off it's bracket. The floor behind the bathroom door was dirty. Bedroom cabinet lamp was blown. The gin and vodka had been drunk(seals broken) and filled with water. The pringle tub was empty, and there was no kettle for making a coffee. I reported all of the above to the lady at the reception and she was very apologetic. ROOM NUMBER 1.

    The breakfast was cooked just right.All the staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very pleasant overnight stop on journey south. Attentive and polite staff. Although a golfing hotel it provides an attractive and comfortable stay for non-golfers. Good steak meal and well chosen wine in evening.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV was difficult to work until we realised if we switched it off between changing channels then it worked!

    The room was spacious and warm. Food was reasonable although we did wait over half an hour between ordering and being served. There was a larger table who arrived after us and finished before us - they seemed to be known to the staff but I appreciate they may have pre-ordered.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They upgraded us from the suite we had booked to a lodge, which we couldn't find in the dark and which we didn't want. So we asked for a room in the hotel which was absolutely awful and had a very strange smell. So we settled for the lodge, which in fairness wasn't bad except for the bedroom window which we couldn't close - no joke in November. We never did find out what happened to the suite!

    The restaurant was good, both for dinner and breakfast although service was slow.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to start! Very noises there was an event on so we could hear music which wasn't too much of a problem. However children running up and down corridors banging/kicking the walls shouting, throwing a ball against the walls and hiding in the lobby where they couldn't be seen. No thought given to other guests. Whilst we accept there may have been some noise we weren't prepared for this. No control over who goes upstairs in this hotel. We stayed in one of the lodges previously where we couldn't fault it. As it was in the hotel and we only needed one night we thought hotel would suit our needs. Very disappointed- would really have to rethink staying here again like this.

    I liked that it was close to my parents - room was ok for what we wanted

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a function downstairs and lots of young people seemed to be using the stairs as a play area which was quite noisy until the function was finished.

    The breakfast was delicious and we are planning to eat there again even if we do not stay over.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were a little basic but like I say, great value for money.

    The room was comfortable and good value for money. I had dinner at the hotel and for a Tuesday night it was extremely busy which is always a good sign. I ordered a rib eye steak and I must say it was the best steak I have ever had. The sweet was amazing too. I would recommend you staying at this hotel just for the quality of the food. I asked to see the chef to say how much I enjoyed the meal.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like everything in that hotel... Me and my fiancé are traveling around Europe and so far, that's the best hotel we ever had... The room was so warm,clean,spacious and looks like a room in a five star hotel..Great view outside, you can see the nature and feels refreshing...The free breakfast was great 👍..... I highly recommend this hotel..150%......👍👍👍👍👍

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we booked the suite, which was very comfortable and spacious (and surprisingly good value). The breakfast was excellent as it was cooked to order. We also ate there in the evening a couple of times and the food was delicious and of a high standard. It is a golf course so more of a base than anything else, but it suits us and this was our third stay as we visit elderly relatives in the area. The staff were helpful and friendly, would recommend, and we will be going again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fire escape door hadn’t been shut properly by another guest and slammed in the wind

    The taff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms a little tired and in need of refurbishment. Shower temperature inconsistent. Was stone cold on the final day.

    Bed comfortable enough. Food above average and staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could do with shaving point in the bathroom room & and turned down the cold water pressure when you flush the toilet what a noise. lol but not a major problem.

    Great hotel stayed here before, staff are great & friendly. Breakfast cooked fresh just right can´t fault it. Restaurant meal we had was good so would recommend this place. Quite location our room over looking the greens.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    decor tired but then the room rate was very reasonable. £70 for 2 per night.

    tea and coffee making facilities, reasonably priced mini bar superking size bed. Excellent breakfast. not a buffet. good not included in price so it was optional

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could've been cleaner. Also the walls are not very thick so we could hear our neighbour snoring throughout the night. Breakfast was not included in the room rate which was quite expensive for what it was.

    A large room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Lovely golf lodge hotel, we were given the Suite which was great with a huge bath and living room space adjacent to the bedroom. Check in all easy, staff were excellent and friendly and great breakfast made to order. We only stayed one night on way down to Cornwall as in perfect location on route, and even had a go on the driving range in the morning. Would recommend!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got upgraded to a lodge as their was a function in the main hotel and we LOVED it. It was spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable. And a hot tub! We liked it so much we booked to go again the day we got back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A larger wardrobe would have been good and also drawer space was a bit limited. However it was okay for three nights.

    Everything was suitable although it was quite a climb for us to get up to our room. I asked for a ground floor room but it was obvious there was no accommodation there however I felt we should have been notified about that before confirmation of the booking. We managed but would hesitate about going again for that reason. The staff were lovely and worked very hard the weekend we were there as there was a wedding party. The breakfasts were amazing and cooked to order very quickly. We loved the view of the golf course from our bedroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only problem with this accommodation was that it was not disable accessible like requested. Even though we were upgraded to a lodge with a shower, there was no shower stool, therefore was not safe to use

    The staff were excellent. Breakfast also very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just ten minutes from the centre of Exeter and an affordable hotel to stay at. Good size rooms tea & coffee making facilities and everything you needed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The interior was outdated and there was some mould in the bathroom seams. Overall it wasn't the issue for us but these were the things that stopped the place from being excellent.

    The bed was excellent: huge with firm mattress and soft topper. The receptionist was extremely helpful: we got stuck in traffic and were late several hours, so the reception would have been closed by then. The lady explained how to get through to our room and left the keys in there. The breakfast was also nice: simple filling full English with a choice of teas and jams.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unwelcoming staff and room very noisy overlooking carpark, not mentioned in advertising this room. We thought we were booking a chalet.

    Good restaurant and facilities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here before and it was good....not so good this time. Bedding was awful ( see photo) thin, worn, hairs on it and holes in it :0(.... my bed was "changed" on my 2nd day... however it seemed that the bed was just straightened up as the bedding had same holes and stains... not nice. Other issues included tv didn't work on some stations, picture but no sound. Toilet roll not replenished even though roll was empty.... most inconvenient! Shame really as reasonably priced but don't think I will be staying again as I need a good nights sleep and spent most of the night uncomfortable due to horrible bedding.

    Good price for two nights- £108

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    STAFF VERY FRIENDLY BUT THE ROOM NOT CLEAN , NAIL CLIPPING ON THE BATHROOM FLOOR AND SHOWER GEL DISPENSER EMPTY , TV DIDNT WORK .. DID MENTION IT WHEN WE LEFT WITH OUR CONTACT DETAILS BUT HEARD NOTHING ..

    FRIENDLY STAFF

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bath in the room

    The staff where so friendly esp Sarah. My children where very excited and my mum was stressed. She put her at ease and we enjoYedingham our meal

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy probably due to being over kitchen all night. Very noisy water system. Would not recommend staying in room 8. Bathroom could be cleaner and stairway needs painting, as it looked tired. Car park and slope to reception needs attention.

    Excellent breakfast of smoked salmon on muffin with scrambled eggs. Pleasant lady server, friendly. Very soft comfortable bed. View of trees and golf course.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No electric shaving point in bathroom for electric toothbrush but did not cause a problem

    Location, small hotel easy parking friendly staff, breakfast cooked fresh evening meal very tasty. Very Peaceful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower Room very small. I weigh 15 stone with a good physique. Needed to open the shower doors to apply shower gel and then close them to rinse off. The shower cubicle is circa 24 inches sq.

    Proximity to Exeter. Ample Parking. Warm friendly welcome. Room neatly furnished with a very good King Size bed, firm comfortable mattresses. Fridge & TV. Excellent Breakfast cooked to order. Bar

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    ROOM TOO SMALL FOR COMFORT. TOILET MINISCULE. SINK/BASIL TINY AND TOILET SEAT BROKEN. THE TOILETS AREA WAS NOT VERY CLEAN. ROOM WAS DUSTY.

    THE RESTAURANT FOOD WAS V GODD. STAFF VERY HELPFUL. THE TOILET PAPER WAS GOOD QUALITY.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairway Lodges
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not able to use got tub. Not offered the option to pay the unknown additional fee to use the hot tub. The sofas are small. Additional small coffee tables required.

    Clean, spacious, well equipped.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the room very dusty and when I specifically said what areas the cleaners still didn't clean it. But I am very particular on my cleaning. The doors bang really loudly and the fire escape was constantly left open and banging.

    The staff were lovely, so helpful and friendly. Food was incredible and good value for money. The golf course is well maintained and my husband enjoyed playing golf there. Prices were good and nothing was too much hassle for anyone. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very dated and was overly hot to the point we had no sleep, our five year old had a terrible night because of the heat. Staff not interested, no fans on sight to combat the heat. Staff not interested in checking out customers we were left for 12 minutes standing at reception while staff walked about serving the golfing customers that arrived at the desk after us!! No one checked how our stay was! Complained the the hotel via email very poor and disinterested response which reminded me that I should remember the price I paid before leaving a negative review.. I'm sure this isn't encouraged by booking.com. Would never ever stay or recommend. For what is a very dated and hot hotel a massive waste of time.

    Breakfast was alright

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked the 27sqm suite for the lounge area and included breakfast. The property was clean and pleasant and the golf course and rolling hills outlook was very nice and peaceful. The breakfast was better than we expected and was cooked to order, not a dried up buffet as many motels offer. Also it was more than just the English Breakfast as described, it was a menu allowing us to choose what we really wanted and as I said was then cooked to order which was a nice touch considering most included breakfasts are tacky buffets, not this one. Also the same menu was available to purchase if we hadn't booked in advance, however I'd estimate it was better value to have booked in advance. Also it was a 7am-10.30am breakfast which also suits us well as we aren't particularly early risers. Parking was easy and as it's an out of town location it would suite people who have unusual vehicles like with trailers or motorhomes etc as there was plenty of space to park and manoeuvre which I am sometimes looking for myself. We only stayed one night but it was pleasant, clean and friendly enough that we felt compelled to leave a review which we don't often bother with.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a quite room but got the noisiest room I have ever slept in. There was a constant drone from below and a compressor was kicking in every so often which made sleep very difficult. Not happy.

    Location was good we liked the lodges we stayed in when we were upgraded on our first visit last year.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff who offered and provided a fan for the hot room on a particularly hot day. Easily reached from the A30 and provides a comfortable stay. The evening meal was reasonably priced and good, along with a very good breakfast selection. Highly recommend the scrambled eggs and smoke salmon :o)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were basic. A fridge perched on a table. The shower had mould and the basin taps swilled on their base making it difficult to turn on or off. The shower worked spasmodically in the morning and we had to get in touch with reception. When we complained politely we were given £20 off the bill as a gesture of good will. I would not stay there again.

    Friendly staff. Cheerful and helpful. Good wifi. Good parking. The roo

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to leave v early in the morning via the fire escape, which was fine in itself(the place has to be locked at night, which is fair enough) but their was no lighting on the fire escape stairway, so we had complete darkness in trying to get down the fire escape stairs. It does need a movement sensitive light position at the top of the fire escape stairs.

    Staff were super friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was very warm and noisy at night as our room was right over the front door

    We were there for our sons evening wedding reception, it was a very nice venue and liked the decking area outside

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Overall good. But the glasses on the fridge were dusty, on the fridge there was a lot of dust, I myself cleaned, washed and wiped. Also it was warm certain days and the fan provided was working perfectly alright but no air coming., so we informed to replace one, but we had to go out for a walk and no one was there to replace as it was like about 8 pm... just rotating but no breeze if you understand what I mean!!!

    Friendly staff and good breakfast. Value for money !! New towels , coffee, sugar and biscuits were provided when requested!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The golf course is a bit hilly!! (But you can hire a buggy or trolley)

    The staff were all cheerful and helpful. They really tried to help us organise our stay when we wanted to book extra guests for dinners and golf. The room was large and comfortable. There was a relaxed atmosphere in the golf club. We were able to sit in the lounge area with family who came over to visit and chat. The food and bar prices are reasonable and don't break the bank.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi away from lobby area. There was an option to buy via a dongle, a basic allowance should be free. TV reception very poor. We had to wait to check in, the person in the office just ignored us, passing customers kept saying that someone would be with us shortly.

    We were upgraded to a cabin which was fabulous. Our friends got locked out of the main hotel and had to find a fire escape!

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: