Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fishmore Hall 3 stars

Fishmore Road, Ludlow, SY8 3DP, United Kingdom

#6 of 17 hotels in Ludlow

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 531 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room at the rear backed on to a road. If you like to sleep with a window open it's quite noisy. Also, we felt that £11 was rather excessive for 2 coffees and some rather stale biscuits, which we ordered in the bar.

    Comfy bed and large bathroom with shower and bath. Pleasant conservatory.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely location really friendly staff and also very helpful. The food was very good and the hotel lived up to expectations. We will definitely revisit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike, but a suggestion that an iron and ironing board in the room might be appreciated.

    Great rural location, yet only minutes from Ludlow centre. We enjoyed a super suite annexed to main building, very comfortable and well equipped. Top quality locally sourced food (wherever possible), providing excellent breakfast and evening meals (Bistro meal taken). Friendly, efficient, well trained staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only complaint is the meal in the Bistro are to small.

    Food was lovely views and location great, friendly staff, spotlessly clean, bed was really big and comfortable. Complimentary Elemis products were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an overlap between courses both at dinner and breakfast so first courses weren’t finished before main plates turned up - more communication needed between serving staff.

    Bed was very comfy. Chilled water in the room was a nice touch. Food was very good. Unexpected birthday gift was a lovely surprise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bistro menu .... we didn't want 'Fine dining' just 'normal' food. Portions were very small and as a result we thought the meal was very expensive for what was offered and a real lack of value for money . We decided the eat elsewhere for our evening meals due to this.

    The service was amazing - every team member was great and could not do more for us. Professional at all times but with a personal touch. Stunning location and lovely big room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minor issue was that the wifi wasn't great in our room

    The setting is fabulous, hotel is lovely, really good quality of food and the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Spa was gorgeous also. Booked last minute with our dog and couldn't have been happier! Everything felt very luxurious and very good value for what we had paid.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening Sunday roast: sent back because the roast potatoes were over cooked/burnt, the starters & meat in both main courses were too small. Liked the puddings. Overpriced. There was a slight smell of sewage in the garden/car park which wafted in to the hotel. The shower spray in the bathroom was weak.

    Very friendly helpful staff especially Rosanne the receptionist, the young English waitress & Slovakian waitress/bartender. They also gave us helpful local advice on activities/where to eat. The room was a good size. The decor/furnishings were very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I DID NOT EPEXT TO HAVE TO PAY £18.00 SERICE CHARGE, AS WE ALWAYS RECOGNISE THE PEOPLE WHO SEREVED US WITH A REASONABLE GRATUITY. SORT OF DOUBLE WHAMMY !!!!

    EVERYTHING WAS FINE EXCEPT THE WAITRESS POURED THE CHAMPAGNE WITH THE NECK OF THE BOTTLE. PAYING £75.00 FOR A BOTTLE OF WINE WE DID EPXPECT SOME RESPECT BOTH FOR THE WINE AND US.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing really

    excellent breakfasts, had dinner in Ludlow but other guests seemed impressed with dinners. good location booked cheaper room which was fine with excellent bed Very attentive staff at breakfast and reception

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sewage odours periodically wafting through the conservatory. Staff setting up for a wedding next door whilst we were having dinner and during breakfast, very distracting to our conversation. Woken by staff clattering and banging about on the landing outside our rooms at 06:30! We booked three rooms for three ladies, rooms three and four were similar in size and facilities, room ten was considerably smaller, no coffee maker, no bath, not as pleasant. Ordered coffee after dinner, chocolates also brought with the coffee. We were then charged £22.50 for the privilege, excessive for something not ordered. Also, at dinner we requested more bread, I’ve never been charged anywhere before but they charged here.

    Room three is lovely, large, bright and airy, great bathroom. Food in restaurant delightful. Good selection at breakfast too. Special highlight was the flaming baked Alaska, stunning and very theatrical.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, friendly, helpful, professional staff. Spacious rooms with extra large double beds extremely comfortable. Food amazing, an all round pleasant experience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    excellent location beautiful surroundings and nice and quiet. a short walk into Ludlow. staff very friendly, bedroom nice and big with tea coffee facilities and a mini bar. breakfast fantastic choice and service excellent. cannot fault it at all would definitely go back again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vegetarian main meal was just a few small pieces of vegetables tastefully arranged on a very large plate. It would easily have fitted on to a small side plate. For the price charged it was extortion. At least I was ready for breakfast but that to was very small portions. Only one slice of toast!

    Lovely setting and a relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Portions in the restaurant were very small, more like a taster menu and not adequate after a days walking. Inadequate seating around the hot tub. Unfortunately for us , 2 people hogged the hot tub all afternoon whilst leaving their clothes on the lounger which meant we couldn’t get in the hot tub or lie on the loungers.- very selfish. It wasn’t made clear when using booking. Com that our reservation did not include the spa facilities and we needed to pay extra with this booking.

    Beautiful bedroom Great spa facilities Helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this as the info said 0.5miles from Ludlow as we wanted the freedom of walking to a beer festival. It was actually 0.5m from from the last house in Ludlow so we had to get taxis there and back. Still doesn’t detract from the hotel itself, though, and we would happily stay there again.

    Luxury feel to the hotel. Very personalised welcome. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corridor was a little noisy (room2) and sound seemed to travel easily but not a huge problem

    Smart, comfortable hotel , staff superb throughout the stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a constant smell of sewage in the gardens which it was impossible to escape from. I was told that this came from a septic tank. The smell of sewage in the garden made sitting outside unpleasant in the extreme. Beware!!!

    nice location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lift wasn't working but we were warned about that

    Comfortable bed AND pillows. Fresh cooked pastries and a good selection of cereals for breakfast along side the full english

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent welcome and accommodation and completely set up for our dog - separate entrance, treats and water bowl ready on arrival, dog welcome in the bistro, and specific dog-friendly guides to the local hostelries and walks. Accommodation, staff and food all superlative.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small hotel well located for Ludlow centre, 20 minute walk. Friendly staff from the moment you walk in. Old property but has contemporary interior, really well done. Food is superb, we ate in the bistro rather than the main dining room, and enjoyed a good choice perhaps more than we would have found on the main menu.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was utterly charmless Art work was awful and it all the charm of a dental waiting surgery with awful non stop music

    They made a lovely birthday cake for me husband’s birthday

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the luxury room which includes the bath in the room. The quality of the finish is not particularly good and there where cracks, watermarks and what appeared to be off coloured repaints on the walls, ceiling and coving. And the tiling (especially behind the sink and toilet) in the bathroom was done to a very bad standard.

    The staff and service was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was little else that could be expected of a hotel in this category, so nothing negative to say at all.

    Superb staff made for a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. An excellent breakfast set us up for our golfing challenges each day!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door was a bit grubby. Fingerprints etc. Coffee at breakfast was weak.

    Excellent food at breakfast and dinner. Comfortable bedroom. Good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little too warm and we couldn't work out how to open the window. It would also be a good idea to show the additional charge for the dog on booking.com rather than having to email the hotel for this information.

    The hotel is very pet friendly, luxury food and bowl for the dog! The room was lovely and we had a great meal in the bistro.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked it all.

    Very dog friendly with a packet of treats in the room and she was allowed into one of the restaurants and the bar so could join me at meals. The food was very good with an excellent choice for breakfast and a very comfortable spacious room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room overlooking the spa as

    Fantastic location staff nothing too much trouble for them restaurant unbelievable great value for money 10/10 all the way

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    drawers in bedroom needed for longer stay

    front facing room with enormous wetroom with lots of natural light and views of Shropshire countryside, very comfortable, staff very obliging, food good. Easy proximity to all routes, quiet and peaceful, new dining room extension spacious, bright, just a short distance from the centre of Ludlow with castle, beautiful scenery and shopping and dining facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom door slightly stiff!

    This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The staff were wonderfully helpful and the room exceeded our expectations. The breakfast was very good. The walk in shower was excellent. I left my trainers behind and the receptionist rang me up and as we were still in Penrith I was able to collect them. Great place to stay & great value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just one thing, which unfortunately greeted us on arrival and slightly spoilt my time in the hot tub - the horrendous aroma which the septic tank was producing, vile to say the least. I feel sure this will quickly be resolved but I'm afraid it did have impact!

    The room was perfect with contemporary decor and a firm bed with a selection of pillows to suit everyone. We adored the Elemis products. The cafetière for freshly-brewed coffee in the room was much appreciated. Staff were young, friendly and professional ... just right! Food was excellent, both evening meal and breakfast. The spa was wonderful - as was the massage!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly efficient welcome and check in. Room very spacious and light. Nice relaxing lounge for an afternoon drink, and a choice of restaurant or more informal bistro. Food excellent, service very good, staff all very friendly. Good choice of cold and hot breakfast. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Spa is fine but small and intimate. A bit up close and personal with other guests if you cannot get outside to relax (too much rain when we were there)!

    Tasting menus superb. Took care over vegetarian dishes. Friendly ambience with excellent service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room (2) was situated near air conditioning units (kitchen?) which seemed to run all night. No biscuits with tea / coffee tray in room which seemed mean given £110 roommate

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bistro food a little fussy and drinks quite expensive. £15 charge pp to use the spa - but only steam rooms etc and no pool - at well over £100 per night per room, should be included.

    Superb bed linen and very comfortable bed - was like sleeping in a cloud. Great staff, excellent breakfast. Booked a superior room and was upgraded to executive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I live near London and this was a random stop over on my way up north. I was completed blown away by this hotel. The whole place was immaculate, spotless and everything seemed to be fully refurbished. The staff went out of their way to help me. My room was very well equipped and the view over to the Welsh hills was stunning. I ate in the bistro and although the choice of menu was not extensive the food was well presented and the cooking was of a high standard. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be returning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception on tv wasn’t good, kept breaking up.

    Bed was lovely but my husband found it too firm for his taste. Staff all lovely, view wonderful. cannot afford rack rate but would certainly go again if we could get another bargain.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really......... it would be nice to access the sauna and steam room a bit earlier but that is a personal preference and it won't stop us returning

    The hotel was lovely and the food was amazing especially the tasting menu ( we had the vegetarian option), but what really made the hotel special was the staff who went over and above to make our stay special. A massive thank you to them.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast portions quite small although very nice! No veggie option on breakfast menu. Toiletries in bathroom not quite enough for 2 nights.

    Lovely big, comfy bed and plenty of hot water.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very warm welcome. All the staff were extremely friendly. Very relaxing overnight stay in an executive room on 2nd floor. Experienced a wonderful silent night's sleep. The evening meal in the Bistro couldn't be faulted. Breakfast was excellent too. The ambience in the hotel was totally relaxing. Would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be staying again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shame the hot tub was not working and we had to dig ourselves out of the car park due to heavy snow during our stay!

    very comfortable and excellent breakfast. Food excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Therebwas NOTHING to dislike.

    There were so many little touches that made the hotel such a fabulous place to stay. Fir instance, ground coffee in bedroom not sachets. Elemis lotions and shower gels.The Spa was great and loved the outdoor hot tub, looking across to Clee Hill with a glass of fizz... And the restaurant food was outstanding.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I could fault!

    This is an exceptional hotel food/staff/ facilities/ comfort/ extras such as fresh milk in the fridge. Nothing was too much trouble. Very quiet and peaceful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The light fittings in the bedroom were covered with dust. Doors throughout the commonparts that were clearly labelled 'Fire Door Keep Shut' were kept permanently open with wedges. This is potentially dangerous and a clear flouting of Means of Escape legislation. We were told that breakfast is served until 10.00am, but by 9.30am the breakfast buffet, which was in any event unimaginative, was under stocked. On both mornings of our stay our breakfast orders, which were very simple, were nevertheless got wrong, and on the second morning we had to remind the waiter that we had ordered toast. The food in the restaurant was very good but grossly overpriced at £55 per head, plus service charge, for a three course meal. There was insufficient clothes hanging space in the bedroom and the dressing mirror on the inside of the wardrobe door was poorly positioned as there was no space to stand back from it. The furniture throughout the hotel is no better than utilitarian and the staircarpeting is drab. We found partially open cupboards on the landings of the staircase, containing flammable materials, despite the staircases being the only means of escape from the building. The waiting staff, in the main young and clearly undertrained, need to be instructed not to use the imperative 'enjoy' when bringing a plate of food to the table and all of the staff should refrain from using the banal phrase 'no problem' when a request is put to them. When agreeing to pay £180 per night in a hotel such as this one, does so with the expectation of far better than this.

    The view from the bedroom window.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing not to like.

    This is quite a small, friendly hotel where the staff pay meticulous attention to every detail to ensure that the standards of facilities, staff, comfort, food, service, etc. are exceptionally high.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cooked breakfast not available to order until 7:30. By the time breakfast would have been eaten and I had checked out, it would have been too late for business meetings, so made do with cereal. Towel rail in the bathroom was at a very high temperature, probably not much less than 100 deg C, which resulted in a burn on my inner arm when reaching for a towel from the shower. The maximum temperature should be much less than this for safety.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    This hotel is in a class of its own. It is the most comfortable and the best maintained hotel that I've stayed in. It was lovely and warm throughout on the coldest night of the year. The evening meal was wonderful - the chef is incredible. The service was top rate throughout our 2 night stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cooked breakfast was a bit small, so you need to fill up on the other things available

    nice large shower, lovely view from room, firm mattress (shame it was 2 singles pushed together), plenty on offer to eat at breakfast, helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet paper was a bit on the thin side, thought that could have been a bit more luxurious.

    The breakfast was excellent the toast was warm. The butterror was spreadable. A good choice of cereal with the extra fruit, nuts etc to add. The full English very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place. Very good with our dog. Bistro food delicious. Great breakfast. Delightful views - once the low cloud cleared! The spa looked excellent though didn't sample.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Spacious clean room, clean bathroom with large shower cubicle. Fresh milk in the fridge and free mineral water. Very friendly staff. Quiet at night and excellent breakfast in the conservatory. Very convenient for Ludlow with good parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No trace nut free bread for breakfast, lumpy pillows, jacuzzi not working, minor irritation that bed was not a true double but two beds clipped together

    The evening meal was excellent, staff friendly, view of Clee Hill great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have noted that we chose twin beds but got a double. Luckily we didn't really mind. We also ordered a bottle of bubbly in reply to a request by email but had to repeat the request on the night.

    Friendliness of staff. Beautiful dinner. A bunch of flowers was ordered in reply to an email question and were in the room when we arrived - thank you very much.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have any complaints at all during the two nights we stayed.

    The food was amazing as well as the spa. All the staff were very attentive. The location is rural and has beautiful views in all directions

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor, which was somewhat austere.

    Superb cuisine. Delicious tasting menu, with aptly matched wines for each of the six courses. Although the flavours were amazing, the portions were small, though, we understand set to increase when this chef, who is new to the restaurant, brings in his own menu next month.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike. The place does 'just what it says on the tin '.

    Perfectly located. Extremely tranquil. We have been 3 times and will visit again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is just outside Ludlow on a quiet country lane. Beautiful spot. The food was exceptional. Service attentive but not fussy. Room nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about the hotel. Lovely hotel in a very good location for walking into Ludlow.

    Beds were really comfortable and the room was spotless. Both bedroom and bathroom were really spacious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If we had stayed any longer we would have had dinner out as the menu stayed the same each night. Perhaps they could have two menus during a week and alternate them.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet router in the room was plugged in with a rather dubious looking adaptor which kept falling out. A nice hotel but very expensive for what it is and where it is.

    The room was clean and very comfortable. The bathroom and the facilities were all excellent. Leaving a weather forecast for the following day in the room was a nice touch. All in all very well thought out and designed. The staff were lovely. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating blip meant we were roasting but did get addressed later that day. Little atmosphere, bar empty at 2230 on the Friday of the food festival though the hotel have little control over this.

    Excellent size private lodge. Fresh coffee in room. Very good breakfast choice. Pleasent walk into town - allow 30 minutes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We won't go back again. Very disappointed with the taster menu we feel standards have dropped. We wanted reassurance that is we visited again the food would be better but the owner/management response was Very unprofessional...we felt our all had not been read properly. Such a shame as we loved staying here.

    We have visited this hotel 4 times it's a great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bistro atmosphere lacking and bistro food average .It could have done with a better lounge area also .

    Excellent bed. Spacious room .Staff very pleasant.Breakfast good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room didn't have a full size mirror, which would have been useful and the internal decor of the hotel was not entirely sympathetic to the character of the house. The hotel is a little way out of town, but we found it easily walkable if wearing suitable footwear and carrying a torch at night!

    The room was spacious, with tea and coffee making facilities. The bed was very comfortable and the shower room was good. We had a lovely view too. The breakfast was included in the room rate and was excellent and, if we had stayed longer, we would definitely have tried out the spa and garden, which were a great bonus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Do not like the use of the word 'partner' earlier in this survey, would like to see the options 'wife' & 'husband' re-introduced.

    Really enjoyed using the spa facilities which were not there during our last stay 12 months ago.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a "didn't Like" but think the bistro food prices are a tad high for the size of the meal I am not a large eater so suited myself with the shepherds pie husbands sausage and mash was a small portion and little mash potato.

    Really nice room, friendly helpful staff did have a problem with sewerage smell in bathroom which when mentioned was immediately dealt with.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a Spa Hotel. The spa facilities were minimal and not included in the price. Every 3 hour session at the Spa cost another £15 each. It's really not great for vegetarians. There is food available but the options are limited and a bit obvious. Breakfast was disappointing. I didn't want eggs two days in a row, they didn't have any baked beans and, 20 minutes before the end of breakfast, they had no croissants and no intention of getting more. So I had cereal and toast for breakfast. Not what I looked forward to when booking...

    Great location. Comfy bed. The staff were friendly. The hot tub outside with views of the surrounding fields of cows was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow was too flat and lumpy.But this is a minor complaint when everything was very good with this hotel.

    The hotel located at beautiful green field. The reception, bar and restaurant staff were all very professional. The diner at the dining room was fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Large room, nicely decorated, large bed, bath & shower seperate with very good hot & cold water pressure, nice view from the window. Early evening turn down an excellent feature. Very pleasant, helpful, knowledgeable staff, excellent food & wine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was over kitchen fan that ran sporadically during the night. As the room was very very hot, the window needed to be open but the noise was intrusive, waking us up. Shower pressure terrible!

    Bed was comfy and had a turn down service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy fan outside bedroom which ran all night. Visiting Ludlow again I think I would prefer to stay in the town instead of on its edge.

    Nice location, helpful but not intrusive staff, good value for money. Good food, we did not use the fine dining restaurant but had a very tasty meal in the bistro

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very disappointed with the dinner in the Bistro. £17.00 for a main course consisting of 2 sausages, small helping of mash and veg. £7.50 for miniscule helping of cheese. Total rip off! Zero atmosphere in the bistro - formica table tops, décor recently done but no style whatsoever - like a 1950's dining room.

    Nice traditional hotel. Very comfortable, spacious room and bed. Dog friendly. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Menu was very limited hence we ate out this was apparent by the very few guests having dinner in the evening resulting in little or no atmosphere, suggest that if menu was improved this would make a big difference, we would not object to paying a premium for high quality food

    Room was excellent, Breakfast was very good, facilities in room very good,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our rooms were a little uncomfortably overheated somehow -- maybe we're just not used to this level of insulation!

    The spa is fantastic, and the early bird treatment deals mean that the morning was happily spent in massage and sauna by my wife and daughter before we headed off

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very average for a place which served such a nice diner. And for people who find stairs and walking difficult this may not be the best location, although if no such handicaps, the location is great.

    Wonderfull dinner, very friendly staff. Lud.ow itself turned put to be a real surprise, great little town with lots of history and an amazing number of nice shops.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: