Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lakeview Manor 3 stars

Dunkeswell, Dunkeswell, EX14 4SH, United Kingdom

#1 of 2 hotels in Dunkeswell

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 185 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Secluded and we went through a lovely Forrest to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Secluded and we went through a lovely Forrest to the entrance. The accomodation was comfortable and relaxing. The gardens were lovely, perfect location for a wedding

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely quiet location, comfortable room and helpful staff, but.....a few small issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.Whilst room was spacious, there was no bath and the room had no view/outlook. 2.There was a fire safety exit light above the door that illuminated the whole room, so the room was never dark at night and made sleeping difficult. 3.There was a problem with the radiator that meant the room was too hot, but they fixed the problem.

    Lovely location, very helpful staff and good food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Quiet, relaxing and picturest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower needed attention in Groom cottage because the head kept falling down and it was difficult to control the flow of water. Maybe also could have done with some hooks on the back of doors to hang items like dressing gowns and towels. Everything else was excellent, thank-you!

    The evening meal was delicious and the setting of Lakeside Manor was beautiful.Everyone was friendly and we appreciated learning about the history and wildlife of the estate and surrounding area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful location! Lovely, helpful staff. The food was delicious with generous portions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in the rooms was dated and scruffy. There were no draws in the room, only one bedside table and not enough hangers. The bathroom was poorly lit. Shower was not adequate for someone over 5' 7". No hot water on our last morning.

    The grounds and country setting was lovely. Very peaceful setting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    We had a lovely stay and staff was helpfull.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi hardly worked and mobile signal nearly non existent. I know in Devon this can be a problem and probably not able to fix, but did sell on free Wifi. Some people might find this a deal breaker if access is crucial. Could have had a little more varied menu in restaurant in evenings. As further restricted with dietary needs. But they did help me with what I could have.

    Staff where friendly. It was very pretty site overlooking the lakes. At breakfast there was plenty to chose from.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Were a few locals/staff at the small bar, some loud. Maybe odd occurrence.

    Nice location, and a quiet retreat. Restaurant and food excellent and bar staff very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    6.7
    The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lodge we stayed in was comfortable but nothing special as felt like a motel room . Unable to control the heating and unable to open a window for some fresh air.

    The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.5
    It would have been good to know in advance that there was no...
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been good to know in advance that there was no mobile phone coverage in this location. Also had many issues with the wifi coverage so this was a problem as I needed to be in contact with work....

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel that if I had to criticize anything, and it would be really picky, it would be the lack of a teaspoon on the self serve table to eat my yoghurt at breakfast.

    Wasn't happy with the original room as it only had a shower, but a quick chat to Stacey on reception/bar/waitress duty and this was soon sorted. Thank you Stacey. The Bed was comfortable. A Lovely location, with friendly staff and excellent food. Would recommend the Lakeview Manor to everyone but then there might be no rooms left when we want to go back... A great place to escape the realities of life. It would be an awesome place to have a wedding.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful setting, delicious food, delightful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work going on (couldn’t be helped, I guess) The warm white wine. The towel heater in bathroom wasn’t working, didn’t fuss though as room so toasty. Just a few more touches could make this a stunning place to stay.

    The food was delicious, however the white wine was no more than cool, even after we asked for chilled, spoilt it a bit, they seemed to think it would be cold enough from the cellar, it wasn’t. The room was comfortable and very warm, we just turned the radiator down to resolve that! The grounds were wonderful and extensive but geared up for fishermen, there could be amazing walks in that beautiful setting. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff, all friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Nice location, friendly staff, good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only issue was the portions were enormous, and my steak was a bit tough, but all made up for by great staff.

    Nice location and only place I've been to be greeted by ducks in the morning!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.6
    would recommend and stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    little cold in the restaurant by the window, walls in our room very thin

    Great scenery, staff, locations great just not much to do but we walked a lot, watched the sun set

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    absolutley brilliant would do it again anytime
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing not to like, accommodation, breakfast, and the staff were all very helpful and courteous. Grounds of the hotel were lovely. No complaints at all

    We were absolutely overwhelmed the accommodation was great, lovely view from room 7 marvellous four poster bed that was really comfortable. the accommodation was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was tremendous and very filling and was eaten in nice surroundings.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    5.8
    Nice change of scenery and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small and not cleaned properly by staff....old towels and rubbish still in room when we checked in..

    Food and hotel parts were great and surrounding views

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    We really enjoyed our stay and will return next year but will book one of the lodges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing the en-suite did not have was a bath and I love to have good soak after a days sight seeing.

    The food was excellent and the staff so friendly and attentive. Location and Parking were very good too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.3
    Very helpful staff, clean rooms and good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Road in was very narrow and twisting. Cost at the bar was pretty high and the bar closed at 9.30

    Very comfortable beds, clean rooms and in a lovely location. Good food in the restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.3
    A good experience marred by a corporate communication omission
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    when I checked out, the hotel claimed not to have been paid. When I showed them the booking confirmation sent to my phone, they claimed to have no knowledge of it. Only when they found the booking confirmation number in the confirmation notification were they satisfied. This was a wholly embarrassing situation and the fault rests entirely with Booking.Com.

    Room, food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Excellent location, friendly staff, we enjoyed our stay and would like to visit again in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing that we disliked.

    the room was spacious, cleanliness was spot on, attended every morning by the housekeeping team. the bed was so comfortable. ensuite shower room was spacious, complimentary toiletries provided, clean towels when required. tea and coffee making facilities which were re-plenished each day. the restaurant and bar facilities in the hotel were relaxing and the meals were excellent, staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. We definitely would like to visit again in the future.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    6.7
    Friendly staff, pretty location - accommodation needs modernising
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would say for the price you pay, the rooms need modernising and a bit of a revamp. I also think the food options in the restaurant need to be rethought, it fell a bit below what I'd expect from a hotel restaurant for both dinner and breakfast.

    The staff were really friendly, they washed my baby bottles and plate etc and moved us to a room which was close enough to the restaurant for the baby monitor to reach so we could have an evening meal. The location is beautiful and tranquil.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tired , the lighting was very dim. The shower was either hot or cold , no in between. It was a real shame as the place had real potential .

    The location was excellent and the staff were really friendly. The manager when we had an issue with our room , dealt with it well

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    Friendly, helpful staff, very pretty location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit remote, so you need a car, our Satnav took us a rather long winding route, but we found a quicker route back to main road. There are large fishing lakes, very pretty and nice to walk around but you would need to keep an eye on small children.

    Friendly staff, great breakfast. We had an evening meal too, which was very reasonably priced and generous servings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Peace and quiet;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is quite "in the middle of nowhere" and without satnav or a good OS map, it would be very difficult to find, which is why I only gave a "Good" for location. Also, quite a waiting time for meals that were ordered.

    Peace and quiet; Lovely grounds; Friendly staff; Very comfortable bed; Good quality food well cooked.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.8
    Peaceful retreat from the buzzing days
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tea could have been hotter and as I said perhaps one change each day to the a la carte menu would have been welcome but I loved it there from day 1.

    The peace and quiet (in August)and beauty of the location. The helpful staff.Food provided was excellent. A little more change in the menu from day to day would be good for those staying for a week but I couldn't really fault it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Amazing location, room and staff! :-)
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were really interested in ensuring we had good experience. The room was comfortable, clean and tidy and really lovely. When we said we were going to miss breakfast as we had to leave early they offered and made a lovely packed lunch in lieu of breakfast :-)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.1
    Quiet spot in the country
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    VERY hard to find - lack of directional information - thought we would never get there - don't just rely on your sat-Nav! Should be aware that there are some very narrow lanes to negotiate - would not like to have been driving a large vehicle!

    Decent sized easily accessible room with parking close by. Very quiet environment. Excellent nighttime meal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay at Lakeview Manor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything that we didn't like.

    It was in a lovely quiet location, staff very friendly and efficient lovely walks in the grounds and around the lakes. Accommodation very clean and well presented. Food excellent. Would definitely recommend this property.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful tranquil setting.
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only stayed one night and breakfast could have been better. Scrambled egg cooked on a griddle is more like an omlette which is not what I wanted and also very greasy. Bacon was hard.

    Beautiful tranquil setting. The twin bed room was in a cabin and very roomy with a lovely bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    6.3
    A nice hotel in scenic surroundings with some downsides
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is described on the Booking. com site as 3 miles from Honiton when in fact it is over 5miles away. The external condition of the building housing the bedrooms is looking in need of some refurbishment, you get the feeling that resources are being directed into the new wooden lodges being built on site as a separate venture. The bathroom- only liquids provided and no soap, a weak shower flow and a slippery shower floor which I managed to skid on and cut my foot badly( perhaps I should have been more careful).

    The staff were very friendly and helpful plus scenically the hotel is in a nice setting and seems to be a populat destination for wedding receptions. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was good. At the discounted room rate it was fair value.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    7.9
    Srved the purpose for a stay as we had a funeral to attend.
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not clear that the accommodation is NOT in the main building.Our room was accessed by an outside stair case, as it was raining there was a warning that the decking could become slippery.I have a walking problem, so found it difficult.

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    10
    The room was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we were staying just for one night - everything we wanted was provided.

    The room was excellent. The breakfast was cooked just as I like it - very good and the waiter brightened up the morning.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    10
    Great find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like.

    Great find. Beautiful location. The price was very good. The staff helpful and friendly. Good food. Will definitely go back. First class all round.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    8.3
    hidden gem in the coutryside
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accommodation is very comfortable cabins which I was unaware of when I booked so it came as a surprise and walking to the bar/dinning room requires a coat in winter. That said I would happily stay again.

    Location close to Dunkeswell Dinner excellent Breakfast excellent Understand gluten avoidance

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    5.8
    Wouldn't rush back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelt old. Needs good lick of paint. Net curtains look very old fashioned around the place.Smelt of toilets as you go upsairs.Wardrobes dusty inside. Waiter for breakfast grumpy.

    Bar nice and stayed open late. Bar staff friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    7.5
    Staff were very friendly and helpful, location was good and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were too hot, the only decent ventilation was opening the door to outside and there was a lot of noise throughout the night from machinery in the workshop near to the rooms

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, location was good and the food excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    9.6
    Idealic comfortable place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is superb and well off the beaten track. Staff were very helpful and attentive. Our room was very clean and tidy and bed exceptionally comfortable. Overall a pleasent, relaxing stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    7.9
    Beautiful little Manor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodation although very comfortable and clean wasn't quite what we were expecting, the executive room was part of an annex away from the main building and a little bit dated.

    Beautiful setting, very peaceful and friendly atmosphere. Quaint little bar and restaurant with great service.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    9.2
    Quiet, peaceful stay in calm surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very hot, no fan provided as stated.

    Lovely location, quiet peaceful and no mobile signal, however free wifi provided if you need it. Staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    5.4
    Out of the way location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small hot room. Nothing to do without driving. Promotes it's Otter beers but only 1 on tap.

    Friendly staff, pretty location but out of the way. Nice pub like bar.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    6.7
    Beautiful, rural setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal very poor quality. Abrupt receptionist on arrival. The bed was small and basic.

    The setting is stunning. Some staff were very friendly. Room is basic,but its quite clean. Breakfast was average. Loved the lakes, walking around, sitting in the tranquility.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    8.3
    Comfortable stay in a lovely setting.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Waiting a very long time for dinner - particularly the dessert which was only strawberries, raspberries and a scoop of icecream.

    Comfortable bed and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    7.9
    Lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy early morning with current works and did no realise I had booked outside cottage and with the close proximity of other guests you could hear everything

    Lovely location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    8.8
    Great place, but rooms have no sound-proofing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I was in (4) has no sound proofing what so ever. I could hear conversations in the bar below; from adjacent rooms - everywhere. Music was played past 11pm which for a weekday really surprised me. If it hadn't been for the noise I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

    Fantastic and beautiful location. Staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    7.9
    Tranquil spot, and good service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The musac from the bar area was immediately below my room, but it was turned down when I asked, so full marks for customer care!

    Beautiful and tranquil location, decent restaurant

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    9.2
    Location was perfect for our trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, little groom. The wall were too thin that you could hear everyone talking normally. The main door you walk in, just upbove if they have their t.v on. It was like having the t.v in our room.

    Location was perfect for our trip. The friendly staff were very helpful. The food there was fantastic n delicious. We walked round the grounds and it's beautiful. We would come again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Ideal location and very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent food both for dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Staff were friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was very small and hot. Not many seats outside to sit by the lake. Only had a view of the roof.

    Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely setting peacfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding to hot. Room refurbished fine so why wasn’t the shower head replaced with one that worked.

    Lovely setting peacfull.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.0
    Served a purpose but would not recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was uncomfortably hot and dated decor and furniture

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Mr Cox
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    phone signal none

    good accommodation lovely lakes and gardens good food and pleasant staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    V good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very comfortable and the en suite was very modern and clean. The breakfast was plentiful and varied. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.8
    Lake setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room more like a chalet than an executive twin

    Lake setting

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed our stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was really, really firm 😐

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Lovely location, very friendly staff, good food and nice...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely location, very friendly staff, good food and nice accommodation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Peace and quiet away from a stressful job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peace and quiet away from a stressful job.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.5
    It was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heated towel rail was not working and it was very cold in the shower room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Couldnt be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hill on the way in

    The staff were great from the moment we arrived until we left The food was great and the setting was romantic Loved the place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Convenient, Comfortable, Friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-fi was slow and dropped out often.

    Warm room, comfortable bed, friendly staff. Well located for Dunkeswell airfield and the skydiving centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.2
    A very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were happy to stay no negatives

    Staff very friendly beautiful grounds we would return

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Lovely place to stay for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fabulous king size bed, had a really good night's sleep

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant and will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed a shower tray in the shower to put shower gel/shampoo etc whilst showering

    The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    Vg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely accommodating staff and landlady who allowed us to stay in our room until 1pm as we were attending a family lunch

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.1
    Nice for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was cold and the tv which was tiny didn't work

    Nice breakfast and friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful location but room needed to be a bit more cosy in November.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Draughty stable door.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay when can we come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful hotel, staff, location, setting was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    The stay was very nice and we would book there again if the opportunity arose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really stands out.

    Very comfortable and nice grounds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.1
    Ok ... nothing special...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire safety light on ... in bedroom ! Gives out a nice green glow !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    It was lovely and beautiful and We would stay again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road driving in was quite dark but it was midnight as we had been to a wedding I'm just not used to them sort of roads .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Perfect stop on way to or from Cornwall.or ferryports.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be difficult to find without a sat nav.

    Clean and comfy.lovely location.staff very obliging with food when we arrived late on a rainy night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Well worth a stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower door is tiny!!!!

    Fabulous Place, amazing gardens, great bar, will definitely be back

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very remote but great for an overnight stay. Bar & Restaurant on site.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.2
    Sadly the hotels wifi was not working and due to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly the hotels wifi was not working and due to the location unable to get a phone signal on any of the three different networks we had.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Very good stay for a weekend break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit short on storage space for any longer than a weekend.

    Nice homely hotel very friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: