Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Five Rise Locks Hotel 3 stars

Beck Lane, Bingley, BD16 4DD, United Kingdom

#2 of 3 hotels in Bingley

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 218 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor thing. No restaurants nearby. A £3 taxi ride into town but close to the canal.

    Beautiful stately hotel with trees and birds around. Large bedroom and bathroom with a bath. Good breakfast.Very close to the canal if you hire a Vinnies narrow boat. Highly recommend narrow boat hire.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing negative, all good.

    Myself and my Mum liked the friendliness of the hotel. An excellent base for our family's wedding nearby. Lovely breakfast and they even catered for me with Veggie sausages! A rare thing in my hotels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable, cosy, “home from home” style hotel. Owned by a very nice couple who couldn’t have been more helpful or accommodating. I would go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no problems at all.

    Pleasant location with a rural feel on the outskirts of Bingley. Just a short walk from the interesting Five Rise Locks on the canal. Very clean and pleasant hotel with friendly service and a good restaurant menu. Can sit outside or wander in the gardens on a nice day. We used it as a base to visit Haworth and the Keighley and Worth Valley Railway.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible mattress on the bed very uncomfortable the to springs being squahed right down at edges. Clearly it needed replacing. Cleaniness in bathroom, shower cubicle needs a deep clean. Dusty radiator, skirting boards and extractor fan. Great to have a hairdryer but it blew out cool air only. Took forever to dry my hair. Nice having a clock but the ticking all night coupled with the awful mattress equalled very little sleep. Dog friendly hotel but the room below us had two dogs that wailed and cried as soon as there owners popped out. Not great first thing in the morning.

    Friendly helpful staff. Nice location closer to five rise locks . Plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits in the room. Nice selection of shower gel, soap, tissues and shampoo. Full English breakfast included in the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a damp smell about the rooms. The cooked breakfast was not up to expectation however the other aspects were just fine.

    The hotel was comfortable and served us wellth

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The very friendly greeting from the proprietor was extremely welcome. Room was clean and had the most comfortable bed and the availability of a pair of binoculars to scan the surrounding countryside. The hearty breakfast made a fantastic start to the day. Overall it was absolutely value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tiles in the shower room were showing their age. But this did not spoil my enjoyment either in the shower room or within the room as a whole.

    Received a warm welcome on arrival at the hotel. Clear directions to get to my room and offered help with my luggage. The room was large with a good sized bed. The views were stunning from my windows. There were even some binoculars to use to enjoy it even more. The bathroom was warm and there were complimentary shower gel and shampoo on offer. The towels were soft and fluffy which was lovely after a relaxing shower. At breakfast time there was gluten free options available to meet my dietary requirements. Gluten free sausages as well as gluten free toast to go with the lovely jam that was provided.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Customer service was excellent, really friendly family run hotel. Breakfast was cooked fresh, delicious and even had Veggie sausages! Four poster bed. Facilities great, even has a bar and piano. Lovely stay all in all!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Both check-in and check-out , the desk was not manned, nor did anyone respond to the bell. We had to phone for anyone to attend so we could checkin and pay/checkout. Not particularly welcoming.

    Binoculars provided in top room. Comfortable bed. Good facilities. Good choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not to my expectations. The carpet was threadbare and you could have tripped quite easily. The bath panel was disgusting and the water pressure was poor for getting a shower.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was very uncomfortable, it was very hard but you could feel the springs when you turned over.

    It was quiet when we visited that we got upgraded at no extra cost to us. The breakfast was lovely. The proprietor was very helpful nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    difficult to get a smile from female proprietor - not welcoming.

    good location, comfortable room, fresh cooked breakfast. There is a restaurant which serves evening meals with a range of menus (we didn't use as we were eating in town). Hotel obviously caters for dog owners which we liked - might put others off.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely friendly and welcoming staff here - we had a great stay, the food was really nice too in the morning they had veggie sausages which I appreciated!! :-)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining room lacked atmosphere and our welcome could have been warmer.

    We enjoyed the breakfast. It was exactly what we needed before a long journey.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    fantastic breakfast, hosts went out of their way to accommodate grandchild's wants and needs even letting her plonk away on piano in bar area when no one else was in bar. Would certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, welcoming and beautiful location. Very friendly staff and food is lovely. Very comfortable room with fantastic views. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Plenty of things to do in and near the area. Very handy for Howarth and Skipton for shopping and sightseeing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a fair old trek up the hill from the town centre. Luckily I had fortified myself with the local Timothy Taylors. Good beer in the Brown Cow. The Ferrands Arms has changed - for the worse !

    The patrons were nice and friendly. Breakfast was excellent. My room was cleaned each day and milk and tea replenished. I thought the value was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Staff were very friendly and accommodating and there was a lovely, relaxed atmosphere. Our rooms were much nicer than we'd anticipated and the location was very convenient. Breakfast was really good and with efficient service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We received a warm welcome, room very clean. Excellent food, the mini dessert selection was amazing! Freshly cooked breakfast locally sourced. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcome was excellent and my luggage was taken up to my room for me. Lovely room with all the facilities that I would look for. Good walks very close to the hotel. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Radiator creaked all night in the room!! Dated B&B but fine for a one night stay.

    Location near the 5 locks was great - within walking distance. Quiet and peaceful location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Wifi was not available in our bedroom so we waited until we were in the restaurant having breakfast before we used it.

    The breakfast was lovely and cooked to order. I particularly enjoyed the poached eggs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really friendly staff - couldn't do enough for us. Very relaxed atmosphere, dogs very welcome, comfy not posh. Large room with everything we needed, modern bathroom, extremely clean. Fab breakfast - proper sausage, thick bacon, perfectly cooked eggs and we ate it in the sun on the terrace with the dogs at our feet! We'll definitely visit again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Owners/hosts made us feel very welcome. Food was good. Provision for the dog was excellent (even provide a special dog bin!) Hotel within easy reach of the fascinating five rise locks on the Leeds - Liverpool canal. St Ives country park only a mile away with long walking trails,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in bedroom was poorly fitted and bath panels broken

    We only stayed one night, it was comfortable, the room had a nice view of the garden, the breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was very quiet and the garden table had wobbly legs. A tile was missing near the shower tray.

    The food in the restaurant was delicious and the proprietors were most accommodating and friendly .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Bed was very comfortable. Food all home-cooked and really tasty Owners/staff made our stay most enjoyable and nothing was too much trouble for them.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were informed a few days before our visit that there would be no meals served on our second night (the chef was out on a stag do). I would have preferred to have been told of this much earlier so we could have decided whether to find another hotel in the area or keep this booking. It was raining heavily on our second evening so we would have welcomed being able to stay in the hotel - it was one of our main reasons for booking this hotel. However we did drive down to the town centre where we enjoyed an excellent curry at the Shama, with BYO.

    Well situated close to the Five Locks - pleasant walking near hotel. The meal we had on our first night was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wardrobe space in room was just sufficient for one - but I was in a double room and would have meant living out of suitcase to a degree if 2 in room

    Excellent choice of freshly cooked breakfasts

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was great, however the distance from Ilkley is quoted as 4.8 miles (in a straight line), this I doubt as the taxi fair was £17.50. While I enjoyed the stay, I would not have stayed there if I knew how far I would have to travel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The peace and quiet...the beauty of the building and gardens...the homemade gourmet style food...just the whole ambiance...fabulous hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too much to write about. A terrible room. The hotel's claims about being 'boutique' are preposterous. The breakfast, other than the main cooked meal (which was lovely) was beyond basic. It was like staying in a hotel in the sixties before we all got wise. I have a list of complaints, but I feel with the owners it would fall on deaf ears. I had a window view of dog excrement in their yard - how disrespectful is that? They should go and stay at Thistle House to see how it should be done.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    maybe the bathroom could have been updated. i.e the grout around the shower and washbasin needs replacing and the shower screen repairing, also broken tiles around the bath

    excellent food and friendly hosts

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had specifically mentioned ahead of time that I was dairy free but unfortunately the milk purchased was lactose free but not dairy free. Owner could have been friendlier, more welcoming. Only one set of towels had been put in the room.

    The view from the dining room over the garden. It would have been even nicer if there were bird feeders. The really fresh free range eggs at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel a little tired with rucked up carpet to bedroom. Was not made aware there was no evening meal available until arrival

    Quite hotel with good access to Bingley

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bathroom was very small (we're OK with just a shower) but I'm sure there are bigger bathrooms with other rooms. It's an old house so there are bound to be some variations, so if this is an issue, just check first.

    We're reviewing this as backpackers walking the Leeds- Liverpool canal. Our requirements: A good hot shower, hairdryer, ensuite with basic toiletries, very comfortable bed, hanging/drying space, excellent breakfast and dinner either onsite or very near. The Five Rise Locks is perfect for all these. About seven mins walk uphill from the locks. Great welcome, excellent dinner and breakfast, lovely hosts, very good wine list. lovely views from the room. The hotel caters for weddings and functions but happily welcomed two tired backpackers.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a great reception. Proprietors were polite not particularly welcoming or interested in us. The breakfast table looked plain and unappetizing though there was a choice of cereals, just two fruit options, plus juice.

    Good sized bedroom and cooked breakfast very good. Location very close to the Five Rise Staircase Locks on canal site. Only ten minutes to walk into the town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't say it's a dislike, but I would like yoghurt with the fruit.

    Everyone is always pleasant and friendly, and the breakfast is always first class.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet. Apart from the doof who forgot their key and was knocking on the front door at 3am (the door gets locked at 11pm).

    Very handy for Five rise locks. Quiet road. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet very weak in our room - needed a booster

    Room was large and comfortable with great views. Excellent location and lovely grounds. All staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower in our room could have been more powerful.

    The rooms were very pleasant with good sized ensuites, one with a bath, the others with showers. The beds were very comfortable. The rooms were warm and well equipped - good sized wardrobes. The staff were very helpful and the food was good. We had a lovely meal with friends at a table set slightly apart so we could chat and not feel as if we were overwhelming other diners. The hotel is 10 minutes walk from the train station so very useful as we were travelling to Carlisle one day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't like

    My wife & I had dinner it was excellent and good value. Friendly service. Lovely restaurant with excellent views. Excellent breakfast too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was a little harder than at home and was a double when we are used to a king sized bed but we are not complaining. We enjoyed our stay.

    Kindness but discretion of the owners as we were there for a family funeral and the fact they provided us with soup at 9pm as we needed sustenance. The room was attractive and had a nice view of the garden. Hotel is a short walk from the Five Rise Locks which the hotel is named after, and also a short pleasant walk from Bingley town centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly greeting on arrival. Lovely attic room with super view. Quiet location but short walk from town centre. Ideal for visiting Howarth and Saltaire. Very comfortable room with two easy chairs, landing with wardrobe and big bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The three beagles were noisy and the lady in the room above could be heard clumping across her room to the bathroom at 4am.

    Cooked Breakfast was excellent but lacked black pudding. Close to Bingley 5 Rise Locks.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely comfy bed and very quiet location. Only met the staff briefly, however, they were very friendly and welcoming. I would definitely stay again and recommend to friends and family.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and bedding really let this hotel down. I found the bed really hard and uncomfortable, the bedding was terrible, thin and there was no mattress cover on the bed!! The sheet came untucked all night which was really irritating. Two very thin nasty pillows.

    Location was good. Nice walks in the area. Best towels ever. Luxurious furnishings, which makes the terrible bedding very surprising. Staff nice and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a lovely, picturesque hotel, massive thumbs up from me, really lovely hotel and well would stay again no issues, owners were both lovely and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Stated that a clock/radio was in room - would have been handy if in fact there was one - a small point only. A draught tended to come under the curtains at head level when in bed, requiring a bit of judicious cushion placing to alleviate.

    Easy walking access to town. Only minor freeway noise. Great breakfast. Staff efficient, yet relaxed approach.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire escape from top floor.....lack of but well signposted and alarmed.

    Owner staff excellent.. Food really tasty and great value..room 7 is very comfy but if you are 6' or over read the signs!!!!.... great value for money.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower wasn't very powerful but only a minor gripe .

    Good size room with tea coffee etc and a very comfy bed . Friendly host and a good breakfast . Good location for me as I was here for a night out with a friend . Lovely scenery . Perfect for my needs but unfortunately didn't have dinner in the restaurant so can't comment on that .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing...everything met, or surpassed our expectations.

    Bedroom was warm and comfortable, with a four-post bed. We did not want to rise in the morning, as it was so snug. The bathroom was spotlessly clean. A nice touch was "Bingley Bassett"..a soft toy left on the bed. We would have bought one, but unfortunately it was sold out. Breakfast was excellent, with items being sourced locally. Nice little bar area, with a good selection. Very concise brochure in room about the history of the hotel and the areas around. Owners and family very friendly and helpful Highly recommend this hotel. thank you, Richard & Margaret...we will be returning.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location. Loved being so near to Five Rise Locks and short walk into town. Excellent public transport. Breakfasts great and loved the garden and conservatory

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quirky long thin en-suite bathroom rather gloomy and electric shower hard to control.

    Quiet location, close to the canal. Excellent breakfast and outstanding dinner.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having seen on line that the hotel is up for sale we reliased why it looked a little tired. Having said that we were happy to stay there and considered a return.

    The location, staff and food. The owner was very welcoming and we were allowed access to our room earlier than expected.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner tricked us to pay more for our room, he lied to us about which key opened the front door late at night also lied what time breakfast breakfast was served on Sunday ....all in all he seemed a nasty spiteful man because I questioned him when trying to make us pay extra for our room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our particular room downstairs (behind the bar) needed some attention in the bathroom area. (Patched ceiling and cracks with some mould in places).

    The food was excellent. Parking on site.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was great. Close enough to where my meetings were but able to walk down to the canal and go for a pleasant evening walk along the towpath. The food was also very good, well worth another visit when I am in that area again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much of a view from the hotel due to the tall trees that were not in the photos. Fairly steep hill to get to the town or locks. Would not be suitable for elderly or poor mobility.

    The food and rooms were very good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doggy smell in hallway and fire alarms going off at night with no apologies the next day

    Breakfasts freshly cooked and hot and yummy, staff and owners friendly, lager on tap in bar lovely and chilled.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wasn't impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel. There was a mark on the bedspread, black mould in the shower, water mark on the bedroom ceiling and the performance of the shower was terrible. It went from freezing to boiling all the time. I had to dip in and out of it.

    Loved the location! very close to five rise locks and also within walking distance of Bingley town centre. Breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The most uncomfortable bed I have ever tried to sleep in. Got no sleep and finished up aching all over, and this was the most expensive of their rooms. The place is in need of some serious refurbishment. Tatty furniture in bedroom, totally ineffective lights in bedroom so unable to see to read, threadbare carpets on stairs. Only a one hour window for breakfast terminating at 09-30 on a Sunday. This may explain why the beds are so uncomfortable, to ensure you don't oversleep. I cannot recommend this hotel at all.

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous view from our comfortable and elegantly furnished bedroom across the treetops of Bingley to distant hills - as requested we had a room with a bay window. Food delicious. Human & doggy hosts welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    En suite shower could be updated.

    Very helpful and friendly host. Delicious food. .Pretty garden. lovely "turret" room. Short distance to walk to amazing locks and canal walk

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure in the shower could be better.

    The food was excellent. We had our evening meal there and it was very well presented, and the freshly cooked breakfast was also very good. The location is also very quiet with plenty of parking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a superb hotel. I could happily move in tomorrow! I highly recommend and will definitely stay there again. The rooms are beautiful and well furnished, the gardens gorgeous. The owners incredibly kind and good rumoured.and you feel welcomed and at home at the same time.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Although the hotel was built a while ago it is still a great place to stay as its retained a great deal of its character. The room was spacious, especially the queen sized bed. The bathroom had a large showers and was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice and was served piping hot.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Lovely welcome, only there for one night but made very welcome

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything here was just fine.

    The sleeping experience was wonderful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The beds were spo comfortable and the rooms were spotless. Breakfast was filling with all the usuals for an English breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect hotel for our visit to Bingley. The owners were lovely and made us and our dog very welcome. Look forward to staying there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, the staff were so friendly and the hotel was lovely. We had a great weekend!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was good value quiet but central location. Breakfast was good as was the evening meal

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: