Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fleurie House 4 stars

50 Bampfylde Road, Torquay, TQ2 5AY, United Kingdom

#59 of 119 B&Bs and Inns in Torquay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 85 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    We had a very nice warm welcome from owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very nice warm welcome from owners. Everything was very nice and clean. Our room had a small fridge which was very handy. The bed was very comfy. My son absolutely love it our room. The breakfast was great too. We had a 3 nights stay and it was very enjoyable. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Would definitely book again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault the proprietors at all.

    Great welcome. Comfy room,(2) spotlessly clean. Breakfast was relaxed and cooked to our requirements. We had a 3 night stay and would recommend visiting. On departure we were welcomed back any time and the hospitality was extended to our dog.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing everything was great

    Our stay at Fleurie House was very enjoyable the owners John and Gill were very hospitable,full english breakfast was perfect start for our day room was very clean would recommend and will be back again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were very friendly and obliging and the rooms were clean and comfortable. There was also a great variety of tasty food for breakfast. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    It's a place worth going back to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Probably the best English breakfast I ever had, with ingredients sourced locally and freshly brewed coffee. The room was very comfortable and superbly clean. Friendly personnel adds to the picture.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    B&B in a nice area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Free parking & wi-fi, spotless warm and very comfy through out John & Gill were superb hosts breakfast was nice with plenty of choice .Ten to fifteen minutes stroll to the town

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.8
    I wouldn't say never again but not first choice.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a major problem, only three spaces outside house & whole street is largely B&B's - not much nearby for shopping & eating. Very poor street lighting - I guess Torquay council want to save money.

    Good room near front door, ideal for dog

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely breakfast and lots of choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room a little small but quite comfortable.

    Lovely breakfast and lots of choice. Great location and John was a wonderful host. Convenient for town and beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable and if we go down to Torquay again we would stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking in drive was ok if you had a little car ( like a smart car) but we have a big car which was ok on the first night as there was only one other car there. But we had to park on the road the next night as the two cars took up all the room, which wasn't a real problem as it was a quiet avenue.

    People were very nice. Room had everything we wanted and was spotless. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Amazing, would definitely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are 4 parking spaces but 7 rooms in the b&b and only 3 are useable unless you have a small car and it's very narrow and hard to park in but it is free to park on the street

    Beautiful and clean hotel with fabulous hosts who couldn't do enough for us. They are dog friendly and made our pup very welcome

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful hosts. Wonderful accommodation. Will return as soon as possible :)
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wish the hotel was a little nearer to the harbour. But it hasn't put me off staying there again.

    The bed was very comfy. The room was exceptionally clean and contemporary. The tea and coffee making facilities are very good. The breakfast is a dream...lovely cold and hot cooked food. As much as you want. Nothing is too much trouble. The warm welcome from the hosts/owners was the best we have ever had. They are so friendly. And they made our little dog very welcome too. And the In-House Dog Ellie is lovely and friendly too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.3
    very enjoyable stay within easy walking distance of the shops and beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    car parking was a little bit snug but not a big problem.

    very helpful owners. easy access for the dog! Nice choice at breakfast and all cooked well, the salmon and scrambled eggs was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was all good.

    Great location great hosts they made the stay even more special and would definitely go back again and the breakfasts were awesome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable with friendly folk who look after you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower was a bit on the feeble side with low water pressure.

    Lovely couple who manage the hotel with good breakfasts. Comfortable room with good facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Fleurie Hotel
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about took about 15 min to walk to town centre but there were buses

    Nice rooms spotless parking WiFi friendly and excellent breakfast nice terrace to sit outside

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Amazing owners & lovely dog friendly placeto stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous place to stay, the owners John & Gill were very welcoming and looked after us so well. Our pooch Ted loved his stay and enjoyed lots of walks. Highly recommended

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Lovely location and owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a wonderful house with a very attractive interior, we particularly liked the breakfast room. We had a very big, soft bed and perfect shower where you could actually wash the shampoo out of your hair :) The owners were particularly friendly and helpful and tried to do their best by giving us useful advice on where to eat and what to visit. We spent two nights in Torquay and really enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was excellent and the town could be easily reached. There is space for three cars in the drive of the house.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    The room was lovely and spacious, the bed was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was lovely and spacious, the bed was very comfortable, breakfast menu had plenty to chose from , John and Jill are very nice people and helpful . Would definitely return to fleurie house ,plenty of toiletries in the bathroom .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing about our stay with John and Gill that we could fault

    John and Gill made us and our dog very welcome. Room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. When we booked we asked if they would do a vegan breakfast for one of us and they immediately said they would. Any vegans/vegetarians looking for somewhere to stay should try this place because the breakfast was absolutely delicious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    look forward to returning and will be trying you first
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it was the best breakfast ive ever had cooked for me and the owners were fabulous nothing was to much for them I would highly recommend this guest house and the room was amazing for a guest hose more like hotel standards really pleased

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    amazing exprience
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    The property was lovely and clean breakfast was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good quiet location

    The property was lovely and clean breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location very clean room lovely couple always happy to help clean good value for money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Lovely period property.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely period property. Spotlessly clean. Comfortable bed. Breakfast was well cooked using excellent quality ingredients. Owners very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay. Will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely host. Comfy bed and delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was Very small for the price and didn't have a pleasant outlook

    The breakfast was A1 as was the hosts and location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant, owners great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    Very comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hill climb up to the property!!

    Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous and will definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely house, rooms were comfortable and spotless. Gill and John were excellent hosts. Amazing breakfast. Absolutely no complaints at all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    The room was good. John and Gill are very welcoming and do great breakfasts
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The warm welcome

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    The hosts were amazing and made us all feel ever so welcomed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts were amazing and made us all feel ever so welcomed. It was a brilliant experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Very comfortable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit of a walk to town.

    John the host could not be faulted. Breakfast amazing. Room very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Fabulous place to stay and hope to visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything - great hosts, clean, comfy, warm, breakfast, easy walk onto seafront.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.3
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower wasn't very good.

    The breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Welcoming place to stay, close to sea front and amenities
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor shower pressure, wouldn't rate the room superior apart from a very large bed

    Friendly staff, very clean room, great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The water pressure needs to be increased to enable the shower to function with more power

    Good food ,no rubish

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Excellent decor. Off street parkinf

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely friendly b&b excellent breakfast and lovely hosts.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Terrific accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Food exceptional

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Great find, we'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is great and the hosts were very nice. We especially enjoyed the late afternoons on the sun terrace.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Great breakfast, owners very helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    Amazing Hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing Hosts

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    The owners are wonderful people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners are wonderful people. Very helpful and kind. The property is in an excellent location to get around Torquay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was good

    Lovely owners

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hosts, lovely home, nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hosts, lovely home, nice breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay for a relaxing Torquay visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our hosts were super friendly and cared about their guests.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    so friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guest house was Very clean., and location was very good. Jill and jack was very helpful. We felt like at home. Thanks again💖💖

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Excellent accommodation and perfect hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was lovey in a great location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.9
    Very lovely owners, great value of information about the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very lovely owners, great value of information about the local area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.6
    A lovely welcoming guest house, providing a very clean room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lovely welcoming guest house, providing a very clean room and toilet facility. Breakfast was served at a good, convenient time and had plenty of selection. Second stay for me, that's why I rate it so highly.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    10
    The food was excellent and it was a very enjoyable place to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food was excellent and it was a very enjoyable place to stay. The room was elegant and clean and Carol and Malcolm were very friendly and welcoming :-)

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.1
    Owners were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Water temperature & pressure was very poor. Towels were not fluffy but very rough - I had my own so survived. TV - about the size of a tablet, too small. Not enough plug sockets and had to boil kettle on floor as lead not long enough!

    Owners were lovely. Decor - Charming if a little Victorian.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    10
    Loverly room the malcolm and carol are brilliant hosts there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing eveything was brilliant

    Loverly room the malcolm and carol are brilliant hosts there is nothing they wouldnt do for you to make your stay wonderful

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    10
    Everything was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    Everything was fantastic. Hosts Carol and Malcolm were delightful from the moment they met us at the front door and couldn't be more accommodating. The room was great and the bed very comfortable. Delicious breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location Great hosts- Malcolm and Carol Great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    10
    everything was lovely, Malcolm and carol were the best,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything was lovely, Malcolm and carol were the best, great hosts, room was great and was cleaned daily and the food was good too!

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    8.8
    The really pleasant atmosphere and helpfulness of the owners...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No bad experience

    The really pleasant atmosphere and helpfulness of the owners clean tidy rooms and wonderful breakfast

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    8.3
    Spotlessly clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small bathroom. Parking difficult - very little space to manoeuvre. Parking on road is pot luck.

    Spotlessly clean. Good breakfast, helpful hosts.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    9.6
    Close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Towels ruff

    Close to everything

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    Malcolm and Carol were very welcoming and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Malcolm and Carol were very welcoming and friendly. Provided a really relaxed and comfortable place to stay. Very accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    Friendly hosts, very clean and breakfast was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly hosts, very clean and breakfast was excellent

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    10
    Absolute spotless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolute spotless. Breakfast was great. Just a shame the shower didn't work quite so well as it should have.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    10
    Breakfast, comfy bed, Malcolm and Carol are a very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast, comfy bed, Malcolm and Carol are a very friendly couple.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    9.2
    malcolm and carol are wonderful hosts really make you...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    malcolm and carol are wonderful hosts really make you welcome lovely house nice and clean great breakfast great stay highly recommend this place

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    9.6
    Clean room, very friendly owners, excellent breakfast And...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean room, very friendly owners, excellent breakfast And customer service.

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: