Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fountain Court Apartments - Harris 4 stars

41-47 Grove Street, Edinburgh, EH3 8AF, United Kingdom

#189 of 475 Holiday rentals in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 145 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 73

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very noisy outside, but its opposite a hotel and other apartments, it was very warm as well. One of the showers didn't keep constant temperature.

    The bed was really comfortable, the apartment was really comfortable, it had everything we needed. The towels were fluffy, white and really big, and the location was central. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dated and kitchen didn't feel very clean. Mattress on bed too soft. Shower was over the bath with shower curtain - doesn't seem very hygienic. My room overlooked grove road but it was very noisy especially when I opened the window to air the room as I could still smell the previous occupants cooking.

    Good and central, near conference centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Single beds hard and quite uncomfortable. Could have done with more cutlery, plates etc. No oven tray or grill tray.

    Good location. Comfortable apartment. good sized rooms. Cleaned every day which was a nice surprise. Comfortable double bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park and the apartment are a little distance apart - this isn’t great if you have bags to carry. Have stayed at a couple of fountain court apartments before and this was our least favourite. Having said this it was still quite good value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service -Waited too long for toilet paper and had to go to the reception to pick it up. Also, waited nearly an hour for someone to come and unlock the safe as previous guests locked it but at the end we gave up and called receptionist to cancel it as we had left our dog indoors and did not want anyone to go in the apartment when we were not there. However, when we came back we found that someone was in as the safe was open . Again we were not impressed that our message was ignored.

    Warm and nice apartment just had a few communication issues with the reception during the stay and we were given only one pair of keys which was inconvenient where needed to go out separately.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive, but given it was New Year's eve and the apartment is in a good location it can be expected. There was no main thermostat in the apartment so ended up turning down individual radiators as the apartment was way too hot.

    Well laid out apartment with all the necessary appliances and amenities, etc. Clean and well maintained. The parking option is convenient, although it's a few minutes walk from the accommodation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very annoyed when I walked out on to the balcony of our apartment and had seen dog poo on our balcony. I thought it was disgusting and disrespectful.

    The apartment was perfect size for our family and after sightseeing all day it was nice to come back and feeling comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a little dated and shabby. When we initially checked in we were put in a tiny flat, very small and compact, we complained and were moved to one three times the size. Property size seems to vary a lot.

    Comfy bed. Nice balcony area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was comfy, but would have preferred 2 pillows per person rather than just one. Bathroom lovely & spacious..but oh for a shower screen rather than a shower curtain!!!

    Spotless apartment and really great to be able to store luggage on leaving day as we had errands to run.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a more central location, a bit dark at night to walk around with an 8 year old. Flat could have been cleaner, kitchen was particularly grubby, just needed a wipe over and care taken to clean plates.

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we had to phone reception as it had not been cleaned paint stains all over carpet and bed throw was covered in green stain furniture a bit tired for an executive suite

    Not very much due to constant traffic noise even though it's double glazed the apartment is well furnished and has good facilities

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were promised in an email we would receive a king size bed, but we only got a double small bed. Not sure why I paid the extra?

    The location was great. The staff was nice and the apartment was clean and safe.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather too noisy due to the local bypass and locals! The waste bin in the kitchen area needs a new lid. The front key locked door sometimes was left ajar.

    Good apartment with appropriate facilities. Good shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot really could have found somewhere else to leave the service trolley instead of in the hall landing of the second floor apartments not a pleasing thing to see on stepping out of the lift! But only a minor hygiene factor

    Fantastic location close to Haymarket station and the toll cross and castle area. Local supermarket close by to get some decent coffee and fresh bread. Quiet courtyard location surprisingly traffic noise free

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet paper holder and bin lid were broken in Apartment 15, and some areas could have been a little cleaner/ dusted off. At £161 for a night this did irk me a bit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The twin room was rather small for two people

    The apartment was clean and the beds comfortable. Also it was an easy walk to the centre and there were a few restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bit noisy.. but ok for money

    very clean and easy to get in and out of.. all facilitates were good... ..was a bit noisy as on main road at back of property.. but we was out most of the time.. good value for money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment was on ground floor and next to entrance door and obviously was very noisy, specially in early morning waking up with banging doors.

    My previous experience in these apartments was much better.it was quite and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room wasn't ready at 3:00 pm. I was told it was only an estimate that check in and the room would be ready "from 3:00 pm". That is not what I would expect from a booking. If check in and room aren't ready at the time stated then something should be done about it. We were told to go for a walk or something like that and come back in a couple of hours!!! Cleanliness around the dining area wasn't the best. Hairs on table mats.

    Location was brilliant

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unable to control heating in shower/bathroom and they were very hot.

    Loved the space and modern décor of this apartment and the large shower rooms. Reception staff very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa was a bit small for 2 people to sit comfortably. The bed was a bit hard.

    The shower.... a lap of luxury due to the 2 shower heads. Nice balcony to get some fresh air. Parking was nearby. Train station was a few blocks away.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a leak in the bathroom. So the floor was damp. Could not get the radio working and iPod dock does not support new devices.

    Size of the place was excellent. It was clean and tidy. Staff were very friendly

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of noise from the road in apartment number 9, except in the bedroom. The DVD/CD player did not work during our six-day stay, although we reported it the first day if our stay.

    Comfortable bed. The dishwasher and washing machine worked well. The heating system worked well too, once we had turned it on.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were settled in smelly room with huge fresh wet stain in front of the bath room we had to jump over for all three days. I called reception straight after discovering that pool. What they did is that sent a chap who made sure they were not leaking and left. As the pool was drying out it started to smell awfully. There was no service for three days either. No tablets for dishwasher. Carpets all over were dirty. Be ware that booking through booking com they do not provide you with the detail such as you would have to pay for parking separately, neither they would tell you how to find their reception. I had to do big circle, as it was one way traffic road, before reaching their reception. In general, grossly overpriced, dishonest, filthy place.

    The only thing is to be mentioned as positive is a location within walking distance from old town.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very clean, beds comfortable, good location, secure parking a bonus. Liked it so much we will use the company again and bring our family to stay in these apartments. Very pleasant staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was not good. Attitude of staff

    The apartment was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    had to pay extra for car park

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Parking, so it was on the street at about £3.50 per hour!

    Everything we needed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fully equipped with washing machine

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV too small in room

    Kitchen was good for family Excellent bath facility

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    n/a

    The apartment was excellent and close to all Glasgow central amenities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facialities and they were very generous and friendly towards my dog.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was hiked up due to the rugby being on that day in Edinburgh

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Balcony was a little small.

    Close to tram and rail stations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Preparation for pet’s bed and treat. Room service is good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I'm still awaiting an e-mailed VAT receipt for the stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV in room , only had football channels , was not the room I booked

    was nice room , toilet very nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor cleaning

    Well located

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues

    Great location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found some of the staff to be quite rude

    The location was great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent accommodation and really good helpful reception staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment is located in a quiet neighborhood and easily connected to city center. Staff are professional and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice appartment in a good location with excellent facilities, found very clean with nice fresh bedding and towels.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfy bed, wifi, clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise very busy road .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    apartment was clean, airy and comfortable, beds were comfy, parking was secure and easy, check in was quick

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negative comments at all

    Great accommodation, Ideal location for our party to explore the city

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the value of the apartment would be ideal brekfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    £10 for parking but I know it advises it on website.

    Location, size for 4 adults, cleanliness, modern apartment, everything you could need is there

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location close to Haymarket station.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The distance from the flat to the car park.

    Beds were comfortable and everyone slept well.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We never had an ash tray on our balcony after asking for one

    Everything we wanted

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not fault anything I liked my accommodation.

    The accommodation was the best the staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Televisions could do with updating as the picture quality and remote controls were in a poor state say the least. The road noise was a pain as we couldn't sit outside on the balcony but once the doors were closed you couldn't hear the road noise.

    Staff were very helpful and provided a travel cot free of charge. Apartment was spotless and we have copious numbers of towels. Apartment felt secure and the tea, coffee, milk etc was a nice touch!

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The member of staff who checked us in had no clue what she was doing, I couldn't do the preauth on my credit card as I did not have the pin. I offered to sign for it which I have done before but was advised this was not possible. The lady at the desk advised me the only option was to charge me again for the whole stay I had already paid for and advised she would refund my credit card. I am still waiting on the refund on my credit card of £160 and the £100 preauth refund days later. She then sent us to the wrong type of room. Her attitude was poor, I was exhausted from the interaction by them time I made it to the correct room. I would say the member of staff who checked us out was excellent. His name was Andrew and he even gave me a courtesy call about the whole refund issue.

    The apartment was a good size and the facilities were good.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Parking!

    The location was great, and the price for the centre of Edinburgh excellent. Apartment clean, reasonably well-stocked, and comfortable. Helpful staff. Dog friendly.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff couldn't have been more helpful , we had a problem with some rowdy guests on the upper floor spitting , spilling drink and throwing bottle caps and cigarette ends over the balcony on to our terrace , the staff were fast and efficient dealing with the problem.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I had arranged for a late check out and spoke with a helpful member of staff on the phone before arrival. When checking in he confirmed the late check out. However the next morning two different members of staff entered the apartment and thought we had checked out. There was clearly a lack of communication between staff and we were disappointed this had happened especially when we paid extra for this.

    Great location, lovely apartments

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Quiet, with balcony, spacious, comfortable, pleasant decor, helpful staff who couldn't do enough for us, we all thought it was great and would go again.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It overlooked the Western Approach Road so was noisy...but I knew it probably would be so no surprise there. Bits of the flat were a little worse for wear - hall carpet and some loose upstands at the back of the kitchen work surface. Small points...would still recommend if you can cope with road noise.

    The apartment was centrally located and had all I needed

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hassle in checking in then to find out I had to move my car following finding a parking space which took 20 mins the apartment I was given was 10 Mins down the road and I was asked to pay a damage deposit I get back in 10 days have never been asked to pay that before and I travel a lot When I finally got in the apartment it was tired needed painting and a proper clean just like being a student ! Shocking

    Leaving

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to complain about.

    Comfortable, clean and really good value for money when comparing to a city centre hotel. Will always stay here when travelling to Edinburgh.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    When requested additional toilet roll etc was refused. Housekeeping staff not very helpful.

    The location was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have to park down the street

    We like the fact we can take our dog and have a ground floor apartment with a large balcony.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had a request for extra crockery as we had family coming for dinner and it was no problem.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Family with older children

    Very nice apartment with plenty of space for our family,fully equipped kitchen and comfortable beds.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couple of the lights not working and the sound system would not work with our i pod

    Very well equipped kitchen and a hair dryer with a diffuser!

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    could have given adjacent rooms as the rooms were booked in one name.

    Good service and very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location, clean and modern room. Friendly Staff!

There are also 55 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 73

Guests also reviewed these properties: