Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fountain House Hotel

116-118 Church Road, Hayes, Hillingdon, UB3 2LW, United Kingdom

#19 of 20 hotels in Hillingdon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 339 hotel reviews

6.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    6.4

  • Facilities

    5.7

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of some TLC everything works it’s just very tired and worn. Example holes in the walls old unfinished painting dirty sides to bed bases. No duvet on bed sheets and blankets!

    Location good with access to main transport links. Very quiet area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, room tiny, old, made my skin crawl,did not t sleep in bed, was filthy, breakfast abysmal, continental was a few black bananas and a hard croissant, I don't t know how you as a reputable company can be associated with this awful place, no stars

    The fact that it had a bit of history associated with it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was not very powerful & difficult to regulate temp. Toilet was unstable. Tv was located in odd place( side wall) and only one chair in a family of 4 room. Breakfast was very limited especially for younger guests - advertised as continental but wasn’t (cereals, toast, yoghurt croissants and boiled egg) OR full English which was NOT available.

    Staff were friendly. Beds were comfy. Plenty of towels. Location was quiet but short drive to amenities. Parking was ok but limited. Lovely big park for the children within walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too small there was no room to move about. The wash basin was in the bedroom and not in the bathroom. The carpet in the whole hotel is worn out. The whole place could do redecorating. As it is I would not go back to this hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    StaWith little bit of effort hotel can be improve the service. Like a simple Lach for the bath room(missing). Few cloth hanging pegs in the bath room and bed room. Why glass door? Don't feel the privacy at all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of gloss gave me a headache and clothes smelt of it, also the remote control wouldn't work which was a pain cause we could only watch one channel

    Joseph the owner was very nice and very helpful, the room smelt of fresh gloss that gave me a headache and the clothes smelt of gloss apart from that you get what you pay for really.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place is dreary

    Very poor shower terrible blankets on bed woke with bites in need of a lot of money spending & pictures updating on website what you see is not what you get

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needed some maintenance work done, with a big crack in the wall, windows nailed closed and mould in the shower. The walls were paper thin and the floors very creaky, so because our room was at the top of the stairs, we were constantly disturbed by other guests passing. Did not like the scratchy blanket on the bed. Was disappointed that although the Saturday night stay was £20 more expensive, only a Continental breakfast was served, with no meat or cheese at all and the only fruit was bananas.

    The staff were very friendly. Room had been cleaned. Very nice coffee with breakfast. Room was a nice size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down in need up much updating. Depressing, dingy and downmarket. External cramped room with 70s decor. Nowhere to sit. Felt unsafe for me. Window would not open. Read review that guest's car broken into so I brought all my non needed luggage to room and worried all night, especially as Friday 13th! Slept fully clothed on top of bed. Horrid musty smell everywhere. Handed key to very sullen guy behind locked door. Didn't have breakfast. Unpleasant experience.

    Location was useful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was upgraded to a double room with free breakfast on checking in at no extra cost. Value for money for London is outstanding. No frills but comfortable and convenient with on site parking. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We don't like everything because more dust into the room, bad smell very very old beds and pillow cover,bed cover so never book again

    We don't like everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The ad mentioned continental breakfast from 5.30 am, which I was looking forward to as the cooked breakfast anywhere is too late for me. The 1st morning it was locked, I did not try the 2nd morning and my final morning for curiosity sake I did try the door and guess what it was locked.

    Very little

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above.

    Excellent breakfast, and very polite helpful staff. The TV in the room did not work properly, I informed the Manager, about 7pm, who told me he would fix it, but he was the only person on duty. and busy. maybe he forgot, but the tV was not attended too, not really important though, otherwise excellent service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets were quite grimy and the bath was in need of a refresh - wallpaper peeling, lights not working, etc. You get what you pay for, and it was a low-cost hotel.

    The eggs and sausages were well cooked and our server was pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window was wide open and no heating was on- this was the weekend when we had alot of snow! There was no hot breakfast and we were not informed at booking if I had known I would have chosen somewhere else! There was not much selection of continental food for my children and there was a fly in the kids juice! Absolutely disgraceful. My son then asked for a refill and they didn't have any! Not happy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt uneasy when leaving the property , Lots of gangs hanging around and just didn’t feel safe

    Lovely friendly staff , breakfast was tasty , would recommend

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decor needs freshening up. It looked a bit shabby when u go in But staff and breakfast made up for it.

    Very friendly staff, good shower, comfortable bed and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cleanliness was poor windows didn't shut properly, shower didn't work very well barely had enough water coming through to shower with, was disappointed with the breakfast as wasn't aware there were no pork products on the menu which are the main ingredients off a full English breakfast.

    beds were comfortable although a duvet would be much better than a blanket and a throw.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot water took a long time to arrive at the shower. No cooked breakfast was available on the morning I was there.

    My room was upgraded from a single to an en suite double. Staff were friendly, even though my check in was after 10PM. Facilities were good, slept well, and the breakfast was ok. There is also private parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sink....cistern....cracked....walls with polyfilla showing...mattress seen better days....carpets disintegrating.....Windows not sealed....TV aerial cable held together with tape...in serious need of refurbishment

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms appear permanently rented to DHSS / people between homes

    Cheap and cheerful , friendly staff, very basic but clean enough, only £20 pppn so nothing to complain about

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very poor hotel.

    The staff were pleasant and friendly but the hotel all needed updating the decore was very very poor and a lot mould in the bathroom and sticky walls with brown running down the walls.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was value for money

    very Convenient location near to my place of work the staff we very helpful and the staff are always there to help great place to stay close to shops and main roads will stay there again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No telephone in room. Wooden flooring which was poorly fitted. Heater was a bed heater which was very bad. Room smelled. And room was also located outside and was not safe. Since no phone , any emergency we would have not been to contact host.

    staff was quite friendly,breakfast was great. Parking was good. Clean towels and bedsheets.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small shower very small not very clean mold around the shower window in room not working broken beds very uncomfortable! Breakfast eggs where very runny poor quality beef sausage no bacon the hash brown was cold!

    Friendly Staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is a little tired and in need of some TLC. The en-suite was rather small. A larger person would have difficulty getting in!

    The staff were very friendly. Breakfast was satisfactory.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I did not like the furniture and the décor it was in need of TLC

    The overall stay was good and I would stay there again, it was a good location for my work. Considering I had one of the better rooms, it was in need of a refurb, the furniture was very tatty and needed some TLC, the staff were friendly and helpful. It was very cold in the room as the heating did not work but I was given a radiator.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good, the few small problems we had were dealt with straight away.

    The Staff were very friendly, and the rooms were just what we needed, for a family of 7,they also made the children feel very welcome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could have been clean but it wasn't with stains on the chair and the bedding although the actual sheets and pillow cases were clean, even the doorframe to the ensuite was dirty and the walls dented and chipped with paint missing everywhere. The divan bed was collapsing and stained, the curtains could have been the same length and even fitted the windows but they weren't and they didn't. The main light in the room was covered in cobwebs and the trouser press had so mush dust on it that my finger left a deep mark in it when I rubbed over it. the rest of the furniture was worn out and would not look out of place in a skip.

    Off road parking was convenient

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing worked, not clean, no towels, lots of spiders and cobwebs. It was an old tired room and the whole hotel feels that way.

    The staff at breakfast were friendly but no bacon with the cooked breakfast and the sausage was beef (is it owned by Muslims?)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower is small but plenty of hot water. The room could do with a refub but was clean and comfortable.

    We had a groundfloir room with direct access to the garden. The staff were friendly and helpful. Short bus rie to local station and london.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hated very thing

    Tired hotel with an elderly receptionist; room is dampen with mildew in the bathroom and full cream milk for tea. We missed the breakfast (8-9:30am) too early to end breakfast time. 10:30am ideally

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Out dated decor, beds uncomfortable, no control over hot water, very dusty, hair on the duvet covers, tissues under the bed. dirty cups, smelly bath room, Booking.com said non smoking yet smoking bins outside the room, smell of smoke in room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a bit of a decorate overall you get what you pay for.

    Staff were helpful when had problem with room booking. Good it had the history of George Orwell and a good Base for what we needed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were not as described. décor was shabby, no carpet , no iron, no hairdryer, no sink plug, some items of bedding were unclean (stains!!), 1 of the rooms smelt of nicotine due to smoke zone being in courtyard where the rooms was located. Fittings were poorly fitted. Unclean. But worst of all found bed bug on my sons sheet in the morning!!! We didn't stay for breakfast..... one room refunded (bed bug)

    Shower was hot Free Wi-Fi

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are a little dated and could do with redecorating/modernising but apart from that, great place to stay.

    Amazing customer service from the staff, the included breakfast was lovely and the location was ideal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like the mouldy showers, ripped carpets we tripped on, disorganised breakfast, cramped rooms, cold rooms, dodgy toilet flush,paper thin walls, general damp smell, in all not a good choice of hotel.

    Free parking onsite.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    requested travel cot for 2year old no travel cot emailed prior to travelling no reply could have taken our own this has happened before.

    fresh towels and clean bedding

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a contractor you are usually constrained by a tight budget, and everyone knows how much of a rip off hotel prices in London are. So we use hotels in this price bracket, where generally you still get very poor value. It's not by any means the worst. I have stayed in rooms that should never be offered by sites like this one or the others. Its A car crime hotshot by all accounts. I witnessed it whilst there. As a contractor it's your biggest fear. Contractors beware.

    A lady called Tracy who worked there was a delight. Very helpful and friendly. And the lady working in the kitchen was lovely too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was dirty, there was only a plug that actually didn't work so we couldn't even charge our phones. The place is old, but this was acceptable and could even be a strength if they invested in renewing or at least CLEANING it. Everything was extremely dirty. Not to mention that when we decided to have breakfast - just because we needed to charge our phones, no other reason to stay, they told us to seat at a place that was dirty. By dirty I mean that they hadn't changed the cutlery, that the table was sticky and the jam was opened. I'm aware that a bad feedback can compromise the reputation of a place, but unless the owners are willing to do something to reach a better standard, the only advice that anyone should share is to stay away from this place.

    The young guy at the reception desk was absolutely helpful and kind to us, certainly the only good thing of our staying. The garden is nice and if you are into literature you'll be surprised to see that George Orwell lived in the building.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A cheap beb and breakfast not a lot more. No bath, no bar, a crap bar about half a mile down the road, just a cheap bed and breakfast, the word hotel is a breach of the trade descriptions act.

    Not a lot

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet seat wasnt fitted properly i moved a bed and there was food underneath it it was filthy. Beds werent massively comfortable didnt smell clean

    Location and the staff, parking and the tv/dvd player

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service, can't ring for anything extra, if you leave your room parking once in you can't get out, no water on second night could not make tea etc, no tea bags, rubbish from previous night night in room, rooms no vents and are near to Lorry carpal window had to shut only one open as company running Lorry engines, fumes bad diesel. Second night could not get drinks on hot nights don't service any beer etc, had to walk 15 minutes after hard days work to get drinks, so hot in room left 23.00hrs walked out and stayed left stayed in car in car park, staying at this place was a very bad event. This was once a good place could not get night refund refused as they state its third party payment Enet, only if booked via hotel... Also have system you do not have key to get into main reception in morning for breakfast pot luck if other guest arrives to open or let u in, I had to ask kitchen staff to tell them I'm at reception door weird set up.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, no aircon/window and in 30 degrees of heat not comfortable! There was a bottle of liquid on its side on a shelf above bed! Room wasn't tidied or cleaned after 1st night or bed made up (not that it was untidy); Breakfast was a non starter, given tables all had bags aside of them, space at a premium. Didn't get asked about what I wanted and no milk for cereals! Couldn't return key, so had to wake someone up at 6:45.

    The fact that I had to wake people up to check-out the place at 0645! Karma!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    first room wasn't clean, but was moved to another room straight away

    this was good for the price. 4 of us in a family room with breakfast under 25 pound a head. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking could have been a problem but the staff were very efficient and ensured I had a parking space.

    All staff went out of their way to make me feel welcome and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this as it said it was 11miles away from chessington world of adventure. It isn't, it's 29 miles away and 40 minutes drive Very hot in rooms. Shops and restaurants are at least 15 mins walk away

    Clean light and spacious room, good parking

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building and "garden rooms" not in a good state, no shades/curtains for backyard windows, so very light in the summer mornings, 50% of staff not motivated

    Breakfast, lovely garden, 50% of staff ++, nice "old-fashioned" atmosphere, near to Heathrow

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing much to like about this place. It is very run down, tiny and in a poor part of town. Not being familiar with the area - we were unaware. Although staff were polite - the premise is very disjointed and disorganized. If we had not been previously booked - we would not have stayed. Pretty grim and certainly doesn't fit any of your above categories to provide a description of the property. It is probably suited for visitors from the Middle Eastern countries who may be more familiar in these surroundings. As for much of the rest of the world it would not meet expectations.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedspread and blanket were dirty as were all the surfaces, light switches, remote, curtains etc. No bedside lights. Very tired. Wallpaper peeling off. Cigarette burns on surfaces. Lights fused in the morning! No hairdryer. Felt as though I couldn't go for breakfast because of lack of hygiene. It wouldn't take much to bring up to standard.

    Convenient for London and cheap. Lovely, friendly staff. Was given a double room when booked a single. Mattress, pillows and sheets were clean. Bathroom clean. Television.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better information about door locks being locked from outside - I didn't know this on check-in otherwise I would have slept a bit better.

    The beds were extra comfy; and staff all very approachable & friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were filthy in the room horrible smell in the wardrobe, outside in the so called garden helium/gas canisters strewn all over the lawn and in among the plants. At breakfast the waitress was so inept constantly forgetting people's orders I had eaten my breakfast before my other half had cutlery was filthy I was given a tea spoon for my coffee with dried in egg yolk

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only thing wrong with this hotel its very tiered and needs a face lift in the bedrooms

    the welcome was out standing and the staff did speak english not as posted in the feed back

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit more selection at breakfast, but was okay with my last stay.

    Whenever I stay here I always ask for an outside room, because of my business it allows me access to my vehicle without having to keep going through reception. The staff are helpful and friendly. Good value for money with free wifi and a breakfast. Perfect for my one night stop over!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    * Our first room had ants (thus the upgrade). * The pillows were very flat. * The bathroom fan in our first room and upgraded room were very loud. * A bathmat was not provided by default, and the extra towel, provided on request, was removed when room servicing resumed during the week. (No bathmat / towel to step on when stepping out of the shower is a slipping hazard.) * The curtains did not block light, so the room will get very bright very early and stay very bright until very late during the summer, which could cause problems sleeping. * For better or worse, room servicing (linens, coffee/tea/condiments, garbage) does not happen on weekends.

    * They upgraded our room (due to ants). * Breakfast attendant on weekdays (Tracy) was very friendly. * Breakfast was hot and fresh. * We were a couple minutes late for breakfast but they still made it for us. * For better or worse, room servicing (linens, coffee/tea/condiments, garbage) does not happen on weekends.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very run down, shower pathetic, room not clean, didn't feel like linen was fresh. Worried about my car all night. Cheap.. but still wouldn't go back!!!

    Staff Friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating was not adequate for the room - very cold. Shower was a nightmare to use as not a theromastic valve to control. Breakfast was only beef sausages and no bacon. Breakfast arrived with 2 long black hairs in it. The waitress was very apologetic but the owner would not offer a refund for poor service and hygiene. The cook in the kitchen was wearing a black coat and no hair net. AVOID!!!

    Local to my work.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other residents leaving the TV on all night. Making noise and the smell of cannabis being smoked by some of the residents was a bit off putting. The bed felt old and the bedding could do with updating. I didn't sleep very well while I was thete

    Location and the shower was good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was on the small size the breakfast was alright but no bacon nor night cap as the owner/staff muslin so we had to find a pub after long day in london the room was cold hence the heating was switched off but we turned it on

    parking was good the staff were helpful quite

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast was alright hence no bacon as the staff were/are (muslin) and also no drinks for a night cap after long day in london so we had to find a pub the room was cold as staff forgot to put on the heating the rooms could do with re-deco.

    parking was good it was quite the staff were very helpful would stay again if had to

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a disgrace, there was no proper duvet just a couple of blankets. Stains on the bed, cold room. Noisy fan in the bathroom. Dirty cold floor. I've been ill since I've stayed there. I was itching a lot before going to bed. Didn't think anything of it until I woke up to see the stains. Didn't get a good sleep was a waste of time and money. The breakfast was served on a side dish, hash browns undercooked and sausages were unnacceptable.

    The staff were fairly friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs some investment on refurbishment, a little tired, but must be difficult in these business climate but overall the price reflects the hotel, I would however stop again.

    Smiley host, breakfast was ok, clean and tidy. location was good for us.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was a little tired. Culd do with some fresh paint and new carpets. No hair-dryer provided.

    Hotel was clean and comfortable.Breakfast was good. Parking is available.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no complaints. enjoyed my stay

    staff very accommodating and friendly. Excellent service, good clean room with good facilities. Quiet and had good nights sleep.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful stay. Room freezing, smaller than photos, bathroom black damp and even colder. Scruffy walls re paint. It was full of contractors which about sums it up

    Staff wonderful. Bedding and towels clean apart from critter in bed??

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The local high Street was a little intimidating in the evening... The bathroom was smelly and had mould

    Adequate for contractors. Joseph was a really nice bloke and the kitchen staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything. 10 years worth of dust behind and under the non-working radiator. Beds horrible, top cover with burn hole. Shower did scolding to freezing in 30 seconds and then back again (totally unusable). Heavy condensation inside of windows, plaster coming off wall under the window. Room felt cold (even in a heatwave). Basin was inside the room and not in ensuite (embarrassing as two work colleagues had to use basin for strip-down washes). Booked for 6 nights, left after first night (never had to do that before).

    Location. And cheap.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very run down and overdue some serious refurbishment/investment. It's mainly used by construction workers/engineers etc who want something cheap and easy, which it is, but the deeply ingrain nicotine smell that still lingers in the soft furnishings, the un-shaded light bulbs, the patched up fixtures & fitting are all dragging the place down. If you want a comfortable bed for not a lot of money then it's fine. If you want somewhere to sit whilst you work or read that smells fresh then it's not the place to stay.

    The comfortable bed. Breakfast and the lady serving breakfast. Character of the building. Free parking in the greater London area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could do with a really good revamp, single glazed windows throughout, my window was kept up and open with old folded invoices. The whole hotel could do with a really good clean and the car park was awkward and tiny.

    The staff were lovely and the hotel has an interesting history as it is the one of George Orwell until 1933.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were uncomfortable the pillows were flat, no duvets just old tired blankets. The top thing on the beds had questionable stains and paint. Everything was tired, dated and a little dirty. The room next to us had a demons in it that made a awful humming noise that kept waking me up. The room smelt stale on arrival the bathroom had mould in it, the shower leaked and the plughole was just a hole. Breakfast was included but they do forget to mention that they don't serve bacon, had breakfast on the first morning, scrambled egg all round but 2 of the party had crunchy eggs so we gave it a skip the second morning. This is a great place if you want a small step up from a hostel not sure how it has been classed as a hotel.

    There was parking onsite which was helpful but not much of it. The staff member when we arrived was very friendly and helpful. There were lots of toilets in building and turned off fountains!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sqeaky bed everytime one of us turned over, could here creaking through the whole hotel all night, smells,and probably the worst hotel I've ever stayed in! Avoid!!!!! Even the breakfast wasn't what it said on the menu!! Shocking

    Nothing!!!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were unhelpful. The room was a good size but just about everything in it was dirty and broken. The shower was a trickle of luke warm water tge beds were all rickety and made a loud noise everytime you moved. The hotel obviously runs a taxi service which cane home at 1 am the driver parked outside our room started up a conversation so loud with one of tge staff that it woke us all up. Someone was a playing loud music untill 2 am. The breakfast was scrambled eggs that had obviously been made with powdered egg and water by the way it almost slid off the plate ehen it was virtually thrown into the table. Our vehicle now gas z massive scratch down tge side which was also not there prior to parking. We would never sty there again or recommend it to anyone.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything were too old and the place needs complete renovation . Windows were broken and doors security was unsatisfactory . Furniture was old . Cleanliness was unsatisfactory .

    Good parking facilities

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There could have been better curtains, they were terrible considering we had a 500W light shining into the room all night, it did not even cover the entire window.

    The breakfast was good, staff were helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grubby, dirty and the breakfast is horrible, I except no bacon for religious beliefs but it was very very poor, just stop doing it and have continental only

    Lady staff members all very polite and cheery

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: