Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fountains Guest House 4 stars

27 Kings Road, Harrogate, HG1 5JY, United Kingdom

#15 of 38 B&Bs and Inns in Harrogate

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 519 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Perfect 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything was excellent from the large comfy bed, the modern power-shower and an amazing breakfast. They deserve all the positive feedback they receive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful, I only wish I was staying longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was excellent, freshly prepared and delicious. The offerings were imaginative and unusual using high quality ingredients. Karen was very thoughtful and keen to ensure that my stay in Harrogate was the best possible with advice on what to see and do and worked over and above what one would expect of a landlady.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Brilliant would recomend 100% to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All staff very welcoming and informative, the room was very clean and the breakfast was cooked to perfection with a lot of home ingredients on the menu. One important point was there had been a lot of thought of what guests would like gone into the hotel. Such as fresh milk for tea and coffee, summer quilt with spare blankets, bottled water, coke and orange all foc. Parking ticket for front of house foc .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was the Wifi was a bit poor in my room but this was likely specific to my room only as it was the furthest away

    Staff - so so lovely. I was really late checking in and Helga was so understanding and made me feel right at home. Breakfast lived up to expectations - amazing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic just what I needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and accommodating, I traveled with my cycle they were very happy for me to store it securely out of sight. I also had an early start so couldn't make breakfast the owners were very happy for me to make myself cereal before I left.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    Perfectly nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Other guests slamming the front door made my room above it vibrate - perhaps a notice reminding people not to do this would help.

    The bed was very comfy and the shower was great. Owners very warm welcome and willingness to help. Amazing poached eggs!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Would revisit and recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a beautiful new bathroom, was very tastefully decorated and was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was lovely. The location was ideal for the town and the parking facilities were an added bonus. Karen and Helga could not have been more helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    This is now our 'go-to' hotel when in the Harrogate area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Superb attention from all staff. Unlimited soft drinks and fresh milk from chiller in lounge. Choice of available rooms Excellent breakfast with many and varied choices. Free parking at rear of property

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Very warm welcome by lovely hosts, excellent room with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very warm welcome by lovely hosts, excellent room with amazing rainfall shower. Breakfast was also brilliant - loved the home made granola and my partner rated the bacon very highly!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only small thing was that the single bed was narrow. However, given the size of the room it would probably not have been possible to have a wider bed. But it was comfortable!

    The owners were very friendly and helpful; the rooms were newly refurbished and clean. The whole experience was excellent and very enjoyable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful Staff, comfortable, modern, great shower, convenient to town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No dislikes - everything was excellent

    Wonderful greeting on arrival by Karen & Helga. Karen could not do enough for us including restaurant bookings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Definitely would choose to stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little too warm even with the window open. There was no landing light on the third floor making it tricky to put the key into the room door.

    Very convenient location. Friendly owners and staff. Super breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Great, clean place within walking distance of Harrogate centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike, this is great - especially at the price point.

    The breakfast was amazing with lots of options to pick from - although not much need to stray from the full english! Super clean rooms and the added extra of real milk being supplied (for a minimal cost) rather than the stuff in sachets most hotels supply (small personal like there). Staff were very helpful, especially Helga who met us on arrival.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Classy B&B - would put many hotels to shame.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stairs a little demanding if you're not fit!

    Warm welcome - very professional yet friendly. Breakfast - first class ingredients cooked and served with flair. Lovely view from our room over adjacent park yet only 10 minute stroll to town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Karen was an excellent host and her cooking was sublime,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Karen was an excellent host and her cooking was sublime, Helgar her mother was a joy to talk to and very welcoming and Sue the manager was hardworking and very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Enjoyable,comfortable stay. Will certainly be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small flasks of fresh milk to take to room available from fridge in dining room. Lovely, recently fitted, en suite with great shower. Excellent host and staff. Great breakfast choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Very clean guest house and pleasant staff made us fill ever welcome and cooked a great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park was around the back of the building, and ever small.

    The bed was lovely and comfortable, the shower was excellent. And the bedding was nice and fresh.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Excellent b&b with a warm and friendly welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like 10/10 from us!

    Everything, from the warm and friendly welcome, beautifully presented room, comfy bed, location and excellent breakfast. A wonderful stay, nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location is extremely good for accessing all Harrogate has to offer. Very accommodating owner who let us check in a little early as we were attending a wedding. Refurbished rooms and bathrooms were of a high standard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    I have loved my visit and been so very comfortable. Carol and Helga are exceptional hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    I have stayed here before and found the bathrooms fine. However since my last visit new bathrooms have been installed and are to an exceptionally high standard. Absolutely superb!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We booked for a one night stay, extremely friendly, 5 mins walk from centre. Rooms were lovely and decorated to high spec with fantastic en-suite. Freshly cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    We enjoyed everything. Best shower ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked everything and will be returning.

    Spacious room. Fantastic shower. Comfortable beds. Very clean and tidy in room and hotel itself. Great breakfast. Lots of choice. Friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble. No problem with parking. In a great location for shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    We had a great welcome to this lovely Guest House where everything was just what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing to dislike

    Everything about the place. Lovely family living in a very well maintained Yorkshire stone house. Great welcome, perfect clean room, excellent breakfast - nothing was too much trouble. Just like a home from home. Would certainly stay there again and would recommend to friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Relaxing, very comfortable and lots to explore. Ideal for a solo traveller.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful welcome. Lovely bright room with a great view. Fantastic facilities, very high spec en suite which was all new. Breakfast was delicious. Fresh milk was available for the room at all times.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed the guest house and Harrogate and will go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    They all made it a homely experience as they were all helpful and friendly. The choice at breakfast was brilliant and they took attention with all the little things which made is special.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.7
    Functional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an on-going process of adaptation and redecoration of which we were not informed until we arrived. The shower room was well equipped but it is difficult to get to the toilet. The duvet was much too hot and heavy - I spent the night feeling as if I was wrestling with a whale.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Recently bought by the owners, a big effort is being put in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Recently bought by the owners, a big effort is being put in to make this an ideal Base close to the centre of Harrogate. We requested an early breakfast and this was accommodated we no fuss from yhe owner, all food was freshly prepared.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can complain about at all everything was 110%

    Everything, staff are amazing and very friendly and our room was very clean we couldn’t ask for more

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Welcoming, relaxing and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The Fountains Guest House is (at the moment) a work in progress, which is why I have only given 4 stars for the facilities. However, once the refurbishment is finished I am confident it will warrant a five. Run by the very lovely mother and daugter team of Helga and Karen, we recieved a warm welcome and shown to a spacious and spotlessly clean room. The beds were very comfortable and the new bathroom was beautiful. The cooked breakfast I enjoyed every morning was outstanding and kept us going until late afternoon. Helga and Karen are very friendly, without being intrusive or overbearing and nothing is too much trouble. Recommend highly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Amazing service from fountains guest house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing service from fountains guest house. All staff extremely friendly and helpful, we arrived early and our room was ready for us to check in straight away. Lovely breakfast the next morning. Very close to centre. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Excellent Guest house highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't like. Everything was perfect for our stay.

    The Guest house has just been renovated so is nice and clean and fresh. The rooms were very comfortable with new beds. Had the best nights sleep for a while! Breakfast was delicious great home cooking. We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them! Highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable and would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No radiator in the bathroom so it felt cold after showering. Also no loo brush.

    Landlady and staff were lovely. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. There was free WiFi. Location was close to the centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    Really enjoyed staying there and would be happy to go back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single room was small but fine for one night.

    This guest house is being refurbished and the room l stayed in was small but newly decorated with a brand new bathroom. Karen the owner is really lovely, prepared a beautiful breakfast and is bringing this place up to date whilst retaining a very cosy and friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    A pleasing stay , nothing was too much trouble . Would defintely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing .

    The staff were very attentive and could not do enough for us . The bed was super comfy and very clean . The location was perfect just a five minute walk to the town centre . The choice at breakfast was superb and the food itself delicious .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Fell in love with both the staff & the property💖look forward to revisiting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The warmth & friendliness of the ladies, Sue & Helen, the facilities - lounge with fridge containing soft drinks & milk for your quality beverages in bedroom. Bedroom extremely clean, warm & comfortable. Breakfast was amazing, the granola, yoghurt, compote & fresh fruits & juice followed by full English, toast & coffee !! No complaints whatsoever & knowing that the property is a work in progress with some innovative ideas we can’t wait to return in the near future 🤗

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant stay, single room of good size
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband was attending a Green Keeping Conference and said location was excellent, less than a 2min walk. The owner came out and moved her own car so he could park, thank you again :-) The breakfast was of good standard.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay would recommend, and Karen & Sue work extremely hard to make that happen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the bathroom on the small size, but was informed that they shall be doing renovations on the property.

    Was made to feel welcome, was able to leave our case even though, the room wasn’t ready. Location good 10 mins into centre. Bed very comfortable,room good size I did think the bathroom was a little on the small size. Breakfast excellent good choice, nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.8
    Lovely, warm, inviting, welcoming... a great place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The electric shower was not great but the whole house is having a total refurb and the bathrooms are top top of the list to be done. This is the only negative we had. When the bathrooms are finished the place will be amazing!

    Very convenient, just afew minutes walk away from town and conference centre. Clean and comfortable. Lovely hosts and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    A perfect escape to a real home-from-home guest house in stunning Harrogate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such friendly staff who went out if their way to make our stay special. Excellent recommendations for places to eat & drink. Lovely guest lounge with soft drinks available. Best granola at breakfast that I've ever tasted! Everywhere was spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    Above and beyond!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room looked a little dated but its due for a refurb in the not too distant future. The heating broke on the day we arrived but we were given brand new heaters for the room. It didnt detract from our stay. We were offered a discount but turned it down!! These things happen.

    Both Helga and Karen, the location, the welcome, the cleanliness and the breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.2
    Awesome hosts, awesome breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome hosts, awesome breakfast. Room(s) will be renovated but the the whole experience makes you really feel at home. Great for me on a business trip

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Excellent friendly comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful, we arrived late but this wasn't a problem the room was lovely and bed comfortable also a delirious breakfast all in all enjoyed our visit to the Fountains

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Close to the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the centre. Lovely warm, clean room, welcoming atmosphere. Hosts very knowledgeable about the area & local restaurants. Breakfast excellent with lots of choice. We would definitely visit again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.2
    Romantic winter break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little hard for our liking but that's personal preference, and we struggle with a double bed as at home we have a king-size, other than that all in all fabulous.

    Great host's,and location excellent, despite a couple of hiccups on arrival which were swiftly rectified, also hats off to the breakfast chef,we go away numerous times a year on mini breaks all over the country and that English breakfast was second to none!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful house, perfect location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helga was very accommodating and met all of our needs. The variety of breakfast foods was delicious. The room had a lot of character My mum and I had a fabulous stay and would highly recommend. Lovely to find somewhere to stay for just one night as lots of the other local hotels require a minimum of 2 nights

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Just wish we had been staying longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only only change I might suggest is coffee in cafetières at breakfast.

    Fresh and refrigerated milk available all the time for drinks in your room. Also fridged water. Soft drinks available from the fridge with an honesty box. Room very spacious with comfy chairs and good en-suite. Beds very comfortable. Off road parking a real bonus when we were so close to the centre of town. Guest house very convenient for the centre of Harrogate. New owner Karen and her Mum were perfect hostesses and nothing was too much trouble. We were made to feel very welcome and given useful information about places to visit. The breakfast offered a wide selection of cooked choices, as well as cereals, fruit - fresh and dried, yogurts, mueslis. We would like to return and have no hesitation in recommending Fountains Guest House.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a double room but that wasn’t anyone’s fault, there were just none available at the time of booking.

    Had a lovely stay, very warm welcome from the owners, room was exceptionally clean and comfortable with plenty of tea, coffee etc and fresh milk which was an added bonus. Breakfast all home cooked, with fresh local ingredients and frankly to die for - we will be back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.2
    A very comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room for me was a bit tough as I had to go up 3 flights of stairs as I suffer from arthritis and it was very challenging,but future bookings I would request a lower level room

    The owners went above and beyond with their information of local amenities regarding travel meals and local area interest.The owners were always on hand and very friendly and nothing was much trouble for them a very family run b&B

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Fab b&b run by fab hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    New owners since last time we stayed here but Karen & Helga have certainly carried on the good work. Hotel is spotless, plenty of choice for breakfast and very well cooked, great location and comfy beds. Will certainly stay here again next time we're in Harrogate.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Friendly family run experience
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed everything the family have recently taken ownership of the property and have plans for the breakfast room which will make an improvement

    We felt very welcome and the quality of the room and breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    I thoroughly enjoyed it
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a bath

    Helga and Karen run this beautiful house in Harrogate. We had a fabulous stay and breakfast to die for. I would definitely recommend it. I forgot my phone on departure and Karen delivered it to me at the train station. Now that's what I call excellence

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    First class, the best we have stayed in at Harrogate. New owners are very friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made to feel very welcome. Delicious Yorkshire breakfast. Appreciated flasks of milk in fridge in lounge for our cuppas. Much nicer than UHT milk, chocolate on pillow a nice touch.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Everything I could have asked for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was amazing, staff incredibly helpful and attentive, great local knowledge, plenty of restaurants nearby, I will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Absolutely fantastic. The staff the breakfast the location were all excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely accommodating recommending restaurants and places to visit. Nothing was too much trouble. We will be visiting again for definite.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing, comfortable, enjoyable. The kind of place you hoped it would be and plan to return to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a minor point, but the shower would benefit from updating.

    A lovely property. Karen & Helga were very welcoming, friendly, attentive, and accommodating. The perfect hosts.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Incredibly enjoyable!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our stay was amazing! We really enjoyed the room (they gave us a free upgrade!) and the facilties were great too. The staff were lovely and understanding. Breakfast was amazing and the location was really good too. Would definitely recommend Fountains Guest House to anyone and would go back again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Very welcoming and relaxed
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was excellent. Plenty of choice and very well cooked and presented. It was served from 8am which can be a bit late when attending a conference but I was able to manage. Everyone was so friendly and helpful and I particularly liked the fresh milk in a flask rather than those tiny cartons I think that attention to detail is one of the reasons my stay was so enjoyable. It was very easy to get into the centre of town as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.2
    Lovely, welcoming staff and owners
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only issue was the shower- we found this difficult to adjust but as we were only there for one night, it wasn't really a huge problem.

    What lovely, helpful people at Fountains. Communication with this B&B was easy before we arrived and we were so grateful that we could arrive some 3 hrs before check in and still be able to leave our luggage. The staff knew of our early train arrival and had endeavoured to have our room available for an early check in. We were so appreciative of this . Breakfast had lots of choice and was presented beautifully. Our room was comfortable and quiet. While we were there we had need of a printer and scanner but this provided no problem as the staff were so helpful in enabling us to use their personal computer and printer! All this was done with a smile !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Unforgetable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    I was made to feel welcome throughout my entire stay.They went out of their way to make sure that your stay was a memorable one.Will definately visit again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Lovely friendly welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lounge and dining room a bit gloomy but I know there are great plans to change thoae.

    Lovely friendly welcome. Comfy bed. Great position. Wpuld recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Delightful pleasant 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The proprietors of the guesthouse were very polite and very helpful. Upon arrival we were greeted with warmth and helpful information about the area. The location is very close to the town centre yet quiet enough that you can have a good nights sleep. They had even offered to book me and my wife at a restaurant of our choice, which we found extremely helpful. The rooms were spacious the interior immaculate and the hygiene faultless. The breakfast the following morning was a delight and plenty to choose from (the coriander houmus on bread with scrambled egg and roast tomato with mushrooms is a 10/10). Overall we would recommend this place to anyone visiting and we would gladly stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Greeted very nicely.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Greeted very nicely. The location and accommodation were AMAZING. A chef comes in the morning to cook breakfast and I had THE BEST ENGLISH BREAKFAST OF MY LIFE. DON'T HESITATE, BOOK THIS PLACE!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Warm welcome, relaxing surroundings, very clean and delicious breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a very warm welcome as soon as we arrived - lovely hosts who really care about their guests. The room was very comfortable and clean and everything in there you would need. Extra nice breakfasts and we are looking forward to returning with family and friends.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Excellent accommodation, food and location, definitely recommend for the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing to improve.

    Karen was a fantastic host and certainly made me feel welcome. I had different breakfasts to sample them both and they were both excellent. I would certainly recommend this accommodation to anyone. I will certainly be staying again. Karen has only been there a few weeks but it was certainly not evident. Fantastically professional.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Great guest house. Very homely with excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shelf in the bathroom was very close to the sink. Easy to bump your head. Shelf could do with raising up. The bathroom would also benefit from having a heated towel rail. Lighting in the bedroom was very dim. Could do with something brighter.

    Great choice for breakfast. Enjoyed the full English. A very warm welcome from the staff when entering the breakfast room. Refills for tea and coffee if wanted.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    A good place to stay for a short visit, such as mine was for a wedding in the town.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was surprised that there was no soap provided, and the room was fine but so small. I would have liked a chair to sit on rather than sit on the bed to read or watch TV.

    The friendliness of the welcome and care and attention of the owners.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful B&B well worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Owner could not do enough to assist, breakfast was of an extremely high standard and property was spotlessly clean and tidy. Location perfect for centre of harrogate and a number of good bars and restaurants nearby. Overall would thoroughly recommend this B & B.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous breakfast, hosts fantastic and close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only a twin room left on website and the beds were on different sides of the room! Bathroom very clean but needs updating.

    Fabulous breakfast, hosts fantastic and close to everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.9
    Warm and friendly welcome, with delicious personalised breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Due to passing traffic the downstairs bedroom is a little noisy.

    Very pleasant guest house. Proprietor Karen gave a warm and friendly welcome. The breakfast was exceptional.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    A truly delightful guest house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    Everything was of a very high standard and the owners were very welcoming and helpful. I liked the decor throughout the property and my room was very pretty and compact.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Super, would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room, very clean & bright. Delicious breakfast. Especially appreciated the availability of fresh milk to use in room - everyone hates those little uht milk cartons!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Location ideal.Lovely family run guest house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor but many changes are planned by new owner.Look forward to returning to enjoy those changes.

    Breakfast great. Owner and family were very welcoming and attentive

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    lovely, convenient, welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps updating existing paperwork in welcome pack but as owner new will need time to do this!

    Staff very accommodating and attentive. Good central location ,short walking distance to town centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    I stayed here for 1 night as I was working in Harrogate the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed here for 1 night as I was working in Harrogate the next day. Karen was very welcoming, the rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. I would recommend staying at The Fountains Guest House.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Very pleasant. Karen and Helga were lovely. Will visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    The staff were very hospitable. They ensured that your stay with them was as comfortable as possible and they went over and beyond to facilitate your needs.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Fountains Guest House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: