Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Counan Guest House

47 Minto Street, Newington, Edinburgh, EH9 2BR, United Kingdom

#217 of 218 B&Bs and Inns in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 565 B&B reviews

5.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    4.8

  • Comfort

    4.8

  • Location

    6.5

  • Facilities

    4.4

  • Staff

    5.3

  • Value for money

    5.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    3.8
    Will not be back, it need to be redecorated and cleaned better and breakfast needs revamped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wooden floor needed repaired/relaid, shower should have been cleaner, room too cluttered and needed redecorating. Breakfast was poor as was staff at breakfast time, no details of what was available, dishes did not match. Staff attitude to other guests was appalling, we should not have had to hear what was being said or side comments between staff when other guests were outside.

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    5.4
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Cold and damp room, the central heating was on for 2-3 hours in the morning. Lukewarm water from the hot water tap and the shower. The bathroom was not particularly clean when I arrived but they cleaned it on the next day. As for breakfast, bread and butter is good and so is coffee but the jams and cheeses are not so good.

    Great location. Friendly and helpful staff. Spacious and quiet room. Clean bed clothing and comfortable bed. A nice view to the garden.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    2.9
    Disgusting wouldn't stay there again seen cleaner bins
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The telly didn't work , the kettle didn't work , it had not been cleaned the wall paper was falling off the bathroom was falling to bits there was muck everywhere

    Nothing I did like sorry

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.3
    The sheets on bed were very clean and the location was ok...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff wasnt friendly and in the bathroom there was a dirty nappies in the bin and only quarter of a toilet roll left the bars of the bed was stained as though it had been wet

    The sheets on bed were very clean and the location was ok the man which showed us our rooms never spoke wasn't friendly at all had to go across the rd to check in no staff in hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.3
    Don't expect much
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not read the reviews before booking, and once I did, I was a bit mortified. But we had no choice to change, as it was a busy time. The ensuite in the room was atrocious. It had an awful smell to it and had black mold in several places. Along the ceiling in the room appeared to have black mold as well. The towel i went to use looked dingy and had what appeared to be a burn hole in it. The only thing this place had going for it was the location and the price, compared to other places. Except the price is high for what the room is. We did not take in the breakfast, we just wanted to get out as soon as possible.

    There are only 2 things good about this property. (1)The location was great for going to the Royal Mile. There is a bus stop just a few steps down the street to head down to the Royal Mile and a stop just across the street for your way back. It made it very easy for us to go and see the Tattoo. There is a small place to park right on site. (2)The beds were clean and comfortable. So if you just need a place to sleep, it would be ok. But I wouldn't want to spend any time here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.7
    Basic value break and the money you save on your accommodation you can spend in the city having fun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not expect luxury 5* accommodation for the price we paid. The property /décor does need upgrading but if its just somewhere to rest for the night then it's fine.

    Basic value accommodation within walking distance of Edinburgh's main tourist attractions. Parking at the guest house which was a bonus as parking is expensive in the city. The lady we collected our keys from was lovely, smiling and very polite.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    2.9
    Run away from this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window had no latch and anyone could come in, our beds were literally coated in dirt and leaves, check-in is across a busy street (they didn’t answer the phone), the coffee packets were opened and used, the WiFi didn’t work, the tv didn’t work, the wires for the bathroom light were just hanging out of the wall, the entire vent fan in the bathroom was hanging out of the wall, the beds caved in, the dirt and dust in the closet/cabinet stained my bag, the room was listed for 6 people but only slept 5 and the lady told me to put my son on the floor but wouldn’t provide any linens for him, the breakfast was cereal and toast, the lady getting the breakfast ready was rude (she also coughed in her hand then grabbed the toast out of the toaster), our average size car didn’t fit in the parking spaces, my teen walked in the room barefoot after his shower and the bottoms of his feet were black from the dirt caked on the floor, the building smelled like cat pee.

    I like that it was 1 step up from sleeping on the street.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    4.5
    Disgusted with facilities &I prices for rooms .if I had known what it was like there I would never
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in room 4 no where to hang clothes. In room 8 no sockets for phone charging etc. No mirror in bathroom could not see to shave . Small wardrobe broken.wires in terminals strip hanging out of bathroom wall.pull cord for shower not in shower cubical.general decor very poor .would never stay there again

    Nothing was outstanding

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    3.5
    Very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic makes it sound too good. It was awful. Didnt stay for the breakfast as i dread to think what the kitchen was like if the room was anything to go by

    It's close to the city centre

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.7
    Where's breakfast?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to knock the owners door for them to prepare breakfast at 0815 when they stated it would be served between 0800 and 0900.

    Good night's sleep and perfect location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    3.8
    Absolutely horrendous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one came to make breakfast.. My husband is diabetic and this caused us lots of haste trying to find him somewhere to eat. Which caused us to be late for our event we were going to x

    It had a car park

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Good for cheap travel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom light didn't work when we first got there and it was very wet from people splashing when they got out of the tub. Also our in room coffee and tea was not stocked, so we opted not to have any due to the fact that there was not enough for the people in the room. I am not sure if the site's check out times are correct as we did get a knock on our door half an hour before we understood check out to start.

    We could walk everywhere with a little time. There is onsight parking and there was enough room for us to have 3 adults on a budget! We also had great communication with the location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.8
    Okay for spending the night when travelling, not for a longer stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - The staff seemed bored and not really helpful, mostly they didn't talk to us. On day 4 we were told by a lady preparing breakfast that we didn't pay for it and that we are to pay £3 each for our breakfast. I told her that according to our booking, breakfast is included in the final price which we paid on our arrival, she refused. She also seemed quite annoyed that my parents who don't speak much English didn't understand everything she said before I came to sort it out. Although we weren't asked to pay it on our departure, the situation was quite unpleasant. - The toilet didn't flush properly most of the time but it was ok when we poured in some water so we didn't mind this that much. What we did mind was the window in our room, we were unable to open it and get some fresh air. The floor was sometimes cold but the comfy beds and thick blankets made up for that. Sometimes the room was a bit overheated though (too much for June at least), we couldn't turn it off. - As for the breakfast, as long as it is included in the final price, it's okay. But if we were to pay for it extra (£3 each!), I'd probably refuse to do it. One morning the croissants were half-frozen, the coffee was horrible the first two days (we then switched to tea, which was good) and the cereals tasted a bit old. Also the butter seemed to stay in the dining room overnight without being put into a fridge. On the other hand, we enjoyed the freshly made toasts (even though some of the staff looked irritated that they have to do it), fresh milk, yoghurts, tea and jams, that was all great.

    - Very comfortable beds - Garden - Good location (about 20-30minute walk to the city centre - we didn't have to use the bus), nice surroundings, shops and restaurants- we could buy everything we needed on our way home from the centre - Big bathroom - Close to bus stations, we could easily get a night bus to the centre when we were going to the airport to catch our morning flight - Good value for money. Although we had problems that could be easily solved in the future, mostly it was acceptable. - Fresh toasts, milk, yoghurts and good tea for breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    3.8
    Garden ok, but unusable Chairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Dirty room, Used, Dirty and stinky Spoon, mug and waterboiling machine in The Room. Found footnail in bed, moldiness in The bathroom. Window Nearly impossible to Open/Close. First day breakfast Nobody in The Service, Second Morning No breakfast until 8:30 (should start at 8), very Kind Young Lady was sorry and ashamed, offered us Fresh Toast and coffee/Tea-Choice.

    Garden ok, but unusable Chairs. Parking lot in Front of The house

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    3.3
    No value for money. Do not go there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly maintained. Radiators not working. Hot water not available. No staff present and breakfast delayed for an hour. No refrigerator/microwave in the room. Very small washroom/toilet. Away from city center.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    2.9
    Bad neighbourhood, dirty room
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appalling bathroom in the room (fortunately there was one that was usable on the common corridor). Dirty towel with a hole in it. Dirty room, dirty drawers, broken window. Dangerous neighbourhood, host told us to guard our motorbikes, as it was probable they can be stolen.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.0
    Needs a good clean and sprucing up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really wasn't a fan of the fact that staff were not on site to let you in. The room was very drab with stains over light shades, chipped furniture, uneven shelves and overall was just a bit grubby. The mattress had seen better days.

    Good value for money, convenient location in South Edinburgh. The family room we had was a good size.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.8
    stay was fine for the one night, kettle and cups etc provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    side of bed looked like it had water marks all across bottom.

    room was adequate for one night, but would not stay any longer, good value for money but could do with new beds and redecorating needs up dating. Window was propped open with a ornament.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Very good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electric sockets were not visible to charge my phone and iPod without moving furniture but I just unplugged the kettle so it wasn't an ordeal!

    The room was basic but spotless, definitely not a chic boutique room but a very large room with space to move about. A comfy armchair was next to the window overlooking the garden. The bed was extremely comfortable, like sleeping on air! The area was very quiet, the only noise being birdsong but this was very relaxing! Ensuite bathroom was very clean too with hairdryer on the wall. Plenty of drawers for your clothes, etc., and ample hangers too. The only snag was the lack of electric sockets as I could only find one double socket without moving any furniture. Owner and staff were very friendly too. There's a regular bus service into Edinburgh town centre just down the road and parking space in front of the guest house too. Definitely value for money, even during various events happening in Edinburgh over the weekend. I would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.2
    Location was close to bus stop and not far from city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were uncomfortable, very hard surface. There was a musty/moldy smell and also a strong smell of smoke in the bathroom and hallway adjacent to our room. The staff wasn’t the most friendly to interact with.

    Location was close to bus stop and not far from city center. Close to Hollyrood Palace.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.4
    Fine location and ok price
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    9h30 on a Sunday we were chased to start leaving the rooms even though my booking clearly stated check out between 10h00-10h30. And there were no other guests. On we were moved to a smaller room.

    Fine location and ok price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    3.3
    Won't be back, pity as it has potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No-one on site to greet you, owner came from a property across the road, took payment and left without making conversation. Bed was incredibly uncomfortable, terrible sleep. They need to invest in new mattresses and new furniture in rooms (old and mismatched at present). Flooring in shower area was lifting, no complimentary toiletries and dirt under toilet roll holder cover. The whole place was very tired and would benefit from an overhaul. Back garden area was very overgrown and inaccessible. Carpet on stairs down to dining room had been taped. Dining room was dark and unwelcoming and the breakfast (continental) was poor at best. Cheap coffee and terrible food selection. Would have liked to express my thoughts to owners but they were not available.

    Bed linen was clean, as were the towels. Lady serving breakfast was pleasant and welcoming. Location was a leisurely 15-20 min walk from Old Town and on major bus route.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.4
    Just for 1 night
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not friendly.tv doesn't work,wi-fi available but no internet🙄some socket doesn't work.ceiling light bulb flashing, no shampoo in bathroom.

    Good location, near lot of bars, pubs,not too far for city centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.0
    Not the most picturesque, but a perfect choice for a place to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building itself seemed to be a bit in disrepair; while the woman who gave us the keys to the place was very nice, we had to go on a bit of a treasure hunt to find her. And while I've stayed in many a place with communal bathrooms, there were some qualities to be desired in the one at our disposal. Also, the location is a bit far from any stations--though there's a good amount of shops and restaurants nearby!

    It can be difficult to find adequate lodging with three people in tow, but this location had three separate beds so what a blessing! And the mattresses were all very soft and enjoyable; the tv is a nice touch, and there's a sink and mirror in the room which is nice since the bathroom is communal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.4
    Stay on a budget - but don't expect much comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's only one bathroom for three rooms with up to 9 people, this one room combines shower and toilet. The window in our room was broken (could hardly be pushed open even a few cm), the central heating was fixed so it could not be turned off - and it ran on full power overnight.

    The Guest House is close to the inner city of Edinburg and offers free parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.0
    There was a tv in the room, tea making facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need a place to hang clothes in the bathroom, need place to put the toiletetries, Need floor/bath mat as the water splatted on the floor while showering. Had difficulty opening the front door with the keys provided.

    There was a tv in the room, tea making facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    2.9
    Disgusting, never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place was dirty, no towels given, awful reaction from the "manager" when we found out a few of our items disappeared (that is, they were taken by the person cleaning the room) and I could go on and on on why I'd never set foot in that place again not even for 20£ a night

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.4
    The room was basic but that was expected at the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was pretty poor and the WiFi almost non existent. We were in the front room so traffic quite noisy

    The room was basic but that was expected at the price. Location close to Holyrood Park was good, and not too much of a hike to the Royal Mile.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    4.2
    Too many shortcomings to be anywhere near pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy (road noise) - had to use earplugs to sleep. Breakfast was very basic. Decor uninviting. Ensuite in room extremely tiny, very dated, and did not appear to be all that well cleaned. Internet poor.

    Location was handy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    4.2
    All I can say , is that it was a dump.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All I can say , is that it was a dump. We actually had to laugh it was so bad. It’s one experience, I will never forget. The beds were clean. That’s about all. We just had to think of it as a bed for the night. £65. Was far too much. We went to see wicked. After we met people who had got much better places for the price. We didn’t sleep much. Heard Chinese woman washing clothes in the kitchen at 4am. My 25 year old daughter, thought she would be kidnapped, during the night. Please don’t book it. I’m surprised Booking.com recommends this. Will not be booking with them again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable stay within walkable distance of town centre and easy to park the car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The actual bed frame came apart ( should be clipped together). The internet was very slow at times and unusable.

    Everything worked, tv, kettle etc. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom, toilet was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Good for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom smelled mouldy (but appeared clean) and the shower had extremely low pressure. The whole place smelled actually.

    The room was nice and large, beds were comfy and warm. Private parking on-site, although very tight. A bit far from town but bus stops right out the front, and a short drive in to the city if you want to pay the parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    4.6
    Not going again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom shabby. Not enough plug sockets. Breakfast nobody there at 8am when breakfast opened. Had to go elsewhere for breakfast. Black mould around windows. Not alot hot water. Shower dodgy.

    Location and a bedroom big enough for whole family.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    3.8
    The only thing which is good, is comfortable location, close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in the basement, the smell was awful!!! Wi-fi very-very slow! The condition of the room was like it never had any kind of renovation since it was built, a hundred years ago. Only 2 sockets, no mirror in the bathroom, no soap! Enough towels and soap were provided only after request to the staff. And for all these "beauty" the price was 90!!! pounds, absurd!!! I will never ever recommend this accommodation to anyone!!!

    The only thing which is good, is comfortable location, close to the center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.0
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better service by guy who took us to our room. make sure rooms are cleaner and there is hot water

    For the price, the room was adequate, but not clean. Bath/Shower was cold and whole place felt rather dingy. But it was a bed for the night!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    3.3
    Our room had a bathroom ensuite but it wasn’t working.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a bathroom ensuite but it wasn’t working. The shower hasn’t enough pressure. The breakfast is not include but you don’t have option to use the dinning room. The B&B is far away of the city centre (around 25min on foot) but you have a bus stop near.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    3.3
    Cold, dirty, unsafe and facilities not working.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is clear this B and B is business oriented and not customer oriented. No staff available on site. Therefore, they do not realise what is going on during the night. We were lucky that our fellow guests were just rowdy (which is not acceptable anyway) and nobody to tell them to be quieter, but a fight could have happened without them realising (and caring). As it happened, we came back at night to find the main door open and people hanging about in the car park. Shower, wifi and heating did not work. We had to sleep in outdoor coats. I found an empty pouch of shampoo in the shower cubicle,which suggests that the room had not been cleaned. Adequate breakfast but no presence of anyone to welcome us. Felt very much that we had paid already so we did not matter anymore.

    Parking... I suppose although car did not feel safe.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.1
    low standard as for XXI century and for city of Edinburgh, but also very cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the standard of bathroom was very low and also very tight, very low presurre of water in bathroom. dust on the floor in room, dirty mugs left on bedside table,

    very comfortable beds, housle located close to city centre, parking in front od the house

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    2.9
    I would not repeat the experience. The worst hostel I have stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets where I had to pull a rope to switch the lights on. The facilities were roasted. A pipe was leaking and there was only a cube to solve the problem. We found mouse defecation in one of our bed. Rest of woman's period on a chair were I supposed to leave my clothes. The departure time was at 10. We left at 5 past 10 and the service stared at us and checked her watch like we ow her something.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.8
    Conveniently place but not quite what I expected from a guest house in Edinburgh.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know it was a cold weekend but the room was cold and we would have to sit with a duvet to keep warm. The shower room was a wet room, however they had put a curtain up and whenever you were in the shower the curtain would cling to you as it is a very small shower and it shouldn’t have a curtain. The breakfast was very poor, and after the first day we didn’t even bother to go to breakfast, they also only serve breakfast from 8 to 9am so if you need to be somewhere like work, it’s to late and if you want a later morning it’s too early. I tried to contact the owner to ask a question but due to a language barrier I gave up. It is a up market area of Edinburgh and has lovely coffee shops and restaurants. I think this guest house could do with good redecorating and better furnishings as everything is a bit cheap and out dated. The beds were on rollers and the floor was laminate, so they kept moving.

    The location was great, room size was good and room was clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    4.2
    Horrifying Guest House from HELL!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to begin? OK ... had to go across busy road (with my family and luggage) to owner's house, to register. "Family room", but bed blocking wardrobe. Bathroom tiny and disgusting (everything needs replacing; sink falling off, manky shower, etc). Hardly any hand soap. In the room, dim lighting. Radiators turned off and only working now and again. NO COOKED BREAKFAST ... only cold stuff (except for toast). Blatant Tesco Value food (yoghurt said on label). Housekeeper/cook was the ONLY saving grace for this dump. Would NOT recommend. Would NOT go there again! In addition, photos on Google misleading and showing rooms when new, not the sorry state I stayed in.

    Nothing ... only the lady housekeeper/cook was very nice and efficient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    2.9
    Boke
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish I checked trip advisor beforehand, at least they tell it as it is. Sorry to say but it was like a doss house, wiped my feet on the way out! Please avoid and always look on a variety of advice/booking sites beforehand! Lesson learned!!

    Proximity to town by bus was within reason.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.3
    Location was very good, only a 15 minute walk from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower and hot water tap in our room didn't work. Staff not very welcoming, made us feel like an inconvenience.

    Location was very good, only a 15 minute walk from the centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.8
    There was a damp smell coming from our bath room, the was...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a damp smell coming from our bath room, the was mold on the lamp shade, the floor was not clean, the was dust on roof fan, room was very cold, tv didn't work and breakfast was not worth the money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    This was the cheapest place to stay in Edinburgh when I went...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was 8-9 which is quite a narrow timeframe. Window in the room was jammed open so the room was freezing on the days that it was cold and windy. Beds were pretty poor quality - very sinky and full of hard springs.

    This was the cheapest place to stay in Edinburgh when I went to make a NYE booking and it did the job. Tea and coffee in the rooms. Shared bathroom was clean and there was never any competition for it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    2.5
    Bad experience to stay in the property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lights in the bathroom,no soap in the bath room,no hygiene at all, smelling beds and bed bugs in the beds very very poor service bad order in the room

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    An ideal base for our trip to Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were up in Edinburgh for an all day music event at Summerhall, and this place was ideal for attending this. Only 7 mins away from the venue and also just about a 15 minute walk from Waverley station. The room was cosy and the bed was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    2.9
    Absolutely awful, filthy, dated, needs closed down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience of being booked with this B&B was dreadful

    This place was a health and safety hazard. Shower and toilet filthy, needs ripped out and renewed, lamps with no lamp shades, plug sockets electrically not safe, decor is dirty and damp, in fact whole b&b should be shut down, looks derelict from outside on arrival. In fact thought we were at wrong building. There were no staff present, just a note to say we had to cross to a house across road to be told “no staff due to Christmas”, gave us keys and was told someone would be there the next morning for breakfast which we paid for inclusive. Getting on to breakfast, living in Scotland it’s normal to have a cooked breakfast if you pay for breakfast inclusive. We were offered tea/coffee and toast to be given a slice of toast each, other option was cereal or a Tesco value yoghurt. There was no cooking going on here for anyone. Paid more than have done in luxury hotel for this one night stay and it was awful. There was no staff to speak with regarding concerns and I am griefed at the amount we were charged. Other members staying also disgusted with this B&B. Would advice anyone!!! To stay clear for health reasons. You may say some people picky, but I am not exaggerating in any way this place should be shut down, its a disgrace.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    2.9
    filthy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bkfast- dirty glass filled with dust 2nd attempt glass was chipped. cereal x3 option cheerios/branflakes/cornflakes value yoghurts sitting on top of unit aling with milk n orange juice not cold at all. along with toast that was breakfast. dinning room covered in cobwebs. bedroom - room 4 family room. lampshade had what looked like blood on it n side of bedside unit, main light covered in cobwebs and dust. the bathroom built into the room was small n not very clean. the room laminate floor was ill fitted n floor was filthy, would not recomend this unless any of above does not bother you.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    2.9
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We recieved an email 2 days prior to staying in Edinburgh that we would be staying at a different guest house due to refurbishment. Alternative was not worth the money we paid. Untidy, dirty, very basic and rude owners. Very disappointing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    3.3
    Very basic. Dirty shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you feel comfortable NOT taking shower after traveling, that place is for you. Shower head was covered with muld. Windows old and leaky with muld on window frames. On top of that we heard scratching noise at night on the floor.... Interesting - booking.com rating scale is from 2.5 to 10. Even if you give all single ratings negative opinion, the overall rating is still 2.5, which may give wrong impression that the property is ranked higher.

    Location is fine, walkable distance from city centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    4.6
    For people who olny need to oversleep in the hotel and want to spend the whole day outside.
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our shower was broken(we used a common bathroom in the hall), the bathroom in the room was very tiny , the breakfast - products of the lowest quality.

    The way to the city center was very easy, about 20minutes on feet, WiFi connection briliant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    2.5
    Disgusting, dirty, Health Hazard, If a fire was to break out the guests would most likely die.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything about the place, it was dirty, the room very cold, bathroom disgusting and dirty, No staff or Managers around to complain. The place is an Health & Safety hazard. Only stayed one night but stay was for two. Will not book again.

    Nothing to like,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    4.2
    I won’t stay again
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold and freezing. Bathroom toilets are leaking and struggling to take bath. Lighting needed to improve. Not value for money & I was really unwell.

    Close to centre of city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    4.6
    Price and location OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to find - not much light or signage. Check in across the street. Staff indifferent. Room and bath OK. Milk sour at breakfast.

    convenient location for events near the University and NMS.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.5
    Cheap and cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one light in the room and the bathroom was very cramped and a little shabby. Car parking very tight

    Basic accommodation but very good value for a family of four in Edinburgh and close to city centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    2.5
    Only positive clean bedding. Everything else falling to pieces and grubby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    DONT DO IT!!! We tried from the car park to get other accommodation but as rugby on just nothing available. Only plus was we arrived early and stood and watched the old man change the beds so knew at least they were clean. WHY BOOKING.com have this on is beyond me! We made the best of it. Cheap but certainly not cheerful! Out the door this morning by 8.30am. Wiped down with baby wipes as no way any of us fancied a shower. Only bonus is a bus stop outside into the city. I mentioned the trip advisor reviews to the young girl who appeared as the owner from their home across the road....they were the previous owners! LIAR.....everything on trip advisor is true. Folks please steer well clear of this place. It's a tip. Cheap for us and my own fault I never read reviews till it was too late. I don't need the Ritz but I do expect cleanliness and beds that don't move when you get in them. Kirb appeal NIL and that continues throughout.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    Good and economic B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't control the heater from the room. It switched on at the same hour every day.

    The room and the toilet were clean. The beds were comfy. The housekeeper is really nice. The breakfast was good, with milk, coffee, juices, croissans, toasts, tea, fruits, etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    2.9
    Horrible and guest house is ranked -0 never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above wouldn't leave any good remarks and guest house should be closed down . Says something when they have rat poison on view .

    Breakfast was not excepitable , would not eat anything from this guest house. No security of a night and front door wide open to everyone . If you book in have to cross the road for keys . I would not recommend this guest house to anyone unless your after a dreadful stay . .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.1
    The person that clean my room and served the breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The heating in my room wasn't working but the person in charge of the mainteinance solve my problem. There was a woman, I suppose it was the owner or someone related to the owner, that mistreated the person that was making my check in and absolutely ignored me when she came in.

    The person that clean my room and served the breakfast was absolutely lovely and solve a problem I had during my stay. He's great!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    3.3
    Since this wasn't my first disappointment in Edinburgh, I guess you'll just have to spend more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ensuite Bathroom with no lights (told the staff, the only reply was "I know, use the other bathrooms", shared bathroom's toilet wouldn't flush properly, and the bathroom had mold on the ceiling. Room door wouldn't close/open unless force was used. Used plastic spoons on the floor next to the bed, towels with stains on them... We didn't dare to get breakfast there.

    Only positive thing would be the location in walking distance to the old town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    4.6
    Not as bad as reviews led me to believe but could have been much much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation was very run down and out dated. The room was on the ground floor and we heard every noise from the people in the rooms above. The guest house was hard to find for the taxi driver so not very well sign posted. Money spent on updating the accommodation to include ensuite would vastly improve it. Reviews after i had booked led me to expect the very worst, but in the end all i needed was a clean bed to rest after the flight which is what i got.

    We had a late flight into Edinburgh and the owners were very obliging about our check in time after midnight. The room was large with 1 double and 2 single beds. Linen was clean and towels provided.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    Perfect for what we needed however upgrades required and cleanliness could be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dated but reading the reviews I knew what we were getting ourselves in for. The en suite was very small but had everything you would need (apart from soap!). Some fixtures were missing parts like no drawer in the bedside table and there were a few crumbs around that weren't from us... parking is tight, can fit 6 cars maximum and that would be a really tight squeeze. You also have to go across the road and knock the door at what looks like the owners house to get someone to let you in but the guy that answered was really friendly.

    The guy who checked us in was REALLY helpful with info on buses and walking into the centre. Bed was comfy and room was large. Had all we needed for one night. It was just a 20 minute walk into the city centre and the street had lots of really nice places to eat/get a coffee.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    2.9
    Filthy, dirty, awful, a used condom was on the front step, the bathrooms were filthy. Utter filth.
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Filthy, awful. A used condom was on the front step the morning after our stay, next to the abandoned car with four flat tyres. Didn't even want to stand in the shower.

    Nothing, the most disgusting place I have ever stayed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    5.8
    Nice staff and a little bit far from the city centre.
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you stay in Edinburger just two days, it takes about 25~35mins from Counan Guest House to the city centre on foot.

    The staff are really nice and there is a TV in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    4.2
    extremely disappointed a very unloved property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    crossing a very busy road to get keys. capsule bathroom inside bedroom with high step. property needed a good sweep on the outside broken down old car outside front door of property. property was more like a backpackers than a guest house.

    bus stop was near to property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    4.6
    With good management and dome investment , this property could have been e
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guest house was in a bad state of disrepair. The back garden , even a smoker would have thought twice.. the breakfast was stale cereal, a slice of toast and coffee. The towels remained wet in the room together with dirty cups and unmade beds . The window couldn't be opened. The bath needed cleaning before use.

    The location is on a bus route about 10 mins from the centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    4.6
    In one word......Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hospitality was very poor, had to cross road with bags to alert them if our arrival and breakfast staff member never said two words to us, room smelt damp initially, breakfast was poor, cold tea and coffee and minimal choice and out of date yoghurt, no hot breakfast offered and for the price of our stay this was a huge disappointment! I stayed here over 5 years ago and staff then were different( I think it's changed hands since) the previous staff were very pleasant and attentive and had hot breakfast offered in the morning, that's why I chose to return but never again!

    Bathroom clean and bedding clean and comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    4.6
    We put up with it because it was only for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was grubby. The curtains in our room were falling off the rail and we could not close the window so it was very noisy and cold.

    It was cheap and only for one night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.4
    The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not have a teaspoon to fish the teabag out of the cup and a bedside right would have been useful. The entrance hall was like a waiting room with badly hand written notices. Fortunately I arrived when someone was on the premises so didn't have to cross a busy road!My main objection was the price for just the room.I realise Edinburgh is an expensive city but when I have paid less for a night and good continental breakfast in Motel One in the centre of Newcastle I did feel I was being rippd off somewhat.

    The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    2.5
    awful, poor value for money, too be avoided
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    coffee making facilities but not coffee or tea no toilet paper bathroom poorly drained staff not answering phone - no service during stay tight parking milk off, no toast at 'breakfast a nice servant but did not speak English

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    4.2
    TV and kettle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was stinking and smelled of raw sewage, broken socket which was hidden behind bedside cabinet with wires shown, we would not recommend this place to anyone.

    TV and kettle

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    3.8
    Clean beds yes, but shocking unsafe electrics, poor breakfast and in need of serious investment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guest house is very tired and in all honesty in a pretty poor state. Breakfast was disappointing to the point where we decided to have toast and coffee only! The carpets were threadbare on the stairs and black tape applied to stop accidents. We stayed in room 1 where next to the double bed was a LIVE broken electrical socket hanging off the skirting board/wall. If a child touched it, you spilled water off the poor excuse for a bedside table or simply touched it by accident, the chances of a major shock or even worse, are very high. The room was simply not safe. Also in the room we had an odd bathroom cubicle set up built into the corner. It was shocking to say the least. It was dirty, the toilet didn't flush well, towel rails didn't support a towel and the shower blocked and took a long time to drain. A very unhealthy and poor set up. Whilst the room served its purpose in terms of a nights sleep on our journey back from Scotland, it fell way beyond short on cleanliness and safety. We would not stay there again.

    Beds were OK and were clean. Location was good. The lady we spoke to was helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    4.6
    Still some work to be done!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really poor breakfast (weak croissants, only jam with toast and yoghurt), windows did not close decent with alot of noise from the street.

    Good beds, not that far from the centre

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.3
    Very tired room with an uncomfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No black out blind and very light curtains. Bed base separated and wasn't very comfortable. Very tired looking room. Shower and toilet reminded me of a caravan.

    Good location which is on a bus route into the centre. Lovely girl checked me in and was polite.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: