Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Four Seasons Guest House 4 stars

3 Upper Rock Gardens, Kemptown, Brighton & Hove, BN2 1QE, United Kingdom

#24 of 67 B&Bs and Inns in Brighton & Hove

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 252 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very very tight squeeze

    Location was excellent, cleanliness and Janine as the owner engaged with you and gets all guests I'm discussion around the breakfast table.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.5
    As B&B outstanding and absolutely recommendable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are cosy (we had the smallest, as far as I understood there are larger ones available as well) and you have to climb steep stairs. No problem at all, but some might consider this as disadvantage.

    Outstanding host. Breakfast prepared as you like: freshly prepared full English or continental, endless fresh fruit, bread; whatever you like, you can get it - the host Janine even especially bought pancakes and pain au chocolat for our son. Indeed, Janine is the highlight, very friendly, helpful (on arrival she ran in socks without shoes on the street to check if a parking FoC is available - it was!) and communicative. We enjoyed our stay a lot. And last not least the location is excellent: a short walk to the beach, to downtown, wherever you want; and if required the bus stop is right in front of the entrance. WLAN excellent. I'd love to award 10 points, but need to be objective.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Brilliant host, beautifully decorated, great breakfast. What more could you need in a hotel?!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Maybe the bstard seagulls but not much you can do about that at the seaside.

    The host. She made the stay for us. Absolutely crackers but the good type! She would be the reason we’d choose to stay out of anything. Absolutely brilliant host. Also the breakfast was SUPER great! I recommend asking for the four season challenge ;)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful bank holiday weekend at Four Seasons
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What a fantastic stay at Four Seasons. The accommodation was brilliant , clean and in a great location. Janine the owner was a wonderful host and her breakfasts could win awards ! Never stayed in such a friendly and welcoming place, thanks to Janine! Can't recommend highly enough and we will be back next year !!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Excellent location, very close to the beach, the owner...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, very close to the beach, the owner Janine was so welcoming served an excellent breakfast, and entertained us with her singing. Would definitely recommend staying at the Four Seasons and hope to return again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were clean, location was perfect and the breakfast was amazing! Janine was very accommodating to our needs, nothing was too much trouble and she even welcomed our daughters to join us for breakfast who weren’t even staying there! Would definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    A great friendly relaxed place to stay with a fantastic breakfast and great host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was spot on!

    A very friendly welcoming guesthouse, thanks to Janine, who was very relaxed and easygoing. A 'wicked' breakfast, lots of choice, freshly cooked in an open kitchen, very homely. It was good to all sit around the same table and get to know the other guests. Highly recommended. Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Gorgeous!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were not so happy about the double bed duvet we had to share.

    Breakfast was great (especially the wide range of choice of freshly cut fruit). The landlady was very friendly and helpful and we particularly liked her cheerful manner. We had a great time and can definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Amazing break in Brighton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing which could be better everything was spot on!

    Amazing accommodation, very welcoming, brilliant location and hospitality. The breakfast was brilliant. Definitely good value and comfortable bed. We felt very special and will be visiting again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Brighton's best :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was so central, easy to access the beach, restaurants and the nightlife. Staff were amazing, probably the friendliest place I've stayed in. Breakfast would put any hotel to shame. If you like your Full English then this is the place to stay!!! :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay for PRIDE.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jewel in the crown . Best place l have stayed in Brighton for Gay Pride. Janine the host is so warm and welcoming there was nothing to fault and her breakfasts exceeded most 5***** hotels. Going back again next year .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    More than just a guest house, Four seasons makes everyone feel like family!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was amazing

    Amazing family run guest house. Janine was happy to help and provide us with everything we needed she went above and beyond our expectations. Amazing breakfast spread and home cooked breakfasts provided every morning. Such a friendly and relaxed place it was like staying with family, would definitely recommend and definitely come again! The rooms were comfortable and the location is just a 5 minute walk from the sea front and 10 minutes from the pier. THANKS SO MUCH FOUR SEASONS! X

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Quality guest house owned by someone that cares about her guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Leaving, it was a fab weekend made all the more special by having a nice room to stay in. Did'nt like the sea gulls very much, but you get them anywhere along the coast.

    The welcome from the owner Janine, she was very chatty and easy to get on with. Cleanliness and decor of room was very good. Slept really well both nights, the bed was really comfy. Excellent breakfast plenty of choice of hot or cold food. Location for us was perfect, short stroll to both the Sea Front and into town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Lovely guesthouse, clean tidy and in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything that springs to mind. It was a very friendly quiet place to stay and we will return.

    The owner was lovely and welcoming and would always be happy to help. The rooms are spacious and clean. With only a short walk to the pier and centre it’s excellently located. The breakfast was freshly cooked for us and the owner went that extra mile with what we wanted.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Made to feel at home and would definitely visit again
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Traffic outside can be noisy as we visited in the summer and therefore had to have the window open.

    We were made to feel welcome and breakfast was very good with a selection of seasonal fruit, cereals and cooked breakfast. Would definitely visit again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Good stay near the seafront
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In one of the rooms the sink was really tiny, almost unusable.

    Very friendly and helpful owner. The hotel is two minutes walk from the seafront. Very comfortable beds and good portions for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    A very comfortable stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because the guesthouse is near the sea there were a lot of seagulls, but the host kindly offered us ear plugs in case we needed them which was very thoughfu

    The location was great, the host, Jeanine was lovely, very friendly and really keen to help. I would definitely reccommend to others

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely Guesthouse in brilliant location - very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small double
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very small room - but in fairness it was listed as a 'compact double' when we booked - will try for a larger room next time

    Lovely Guesthouse in brilliant location - very friendly and helpful owner - excellent breakfast and no problem catering for vegans

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Enjoyed our stay at Four Seasons
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing to complain about

    The host Janine is quirky and very friendly cannot do enough for you, provides you with a good breakfast and advice for restaurants and sightseeing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Great staff, clean room and bathroom, comfy bad, good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Storage space was a bit limited in my room, but I stayed only one night and I was alone so was fine for me. It might very well be that there are different room sizes for different length of staying, maybe something to check when booking if you care about this. Internet doesn't work in all rooms, but is available downstairs

    First of all, the lady running the guesthouse is awesome! She is very friendly and talkative and truly cares about her guests. The room was very clean, the bad comfortable. Essentials provided. Good location as well. I would definitely get back there and recommend it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    Great Host, wonderful breakfast selection and convenient position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would like to have known that we were booking a "small" double room. The shower room was particularly tight and we are pretty average-sized people.

    Excellent Host, who did her best to help us in every way. She even looked up Buses for us on the internet and the breakfast was excellent. The position of the B&B was perfect for us as we needed to visit the local hospital to meet our new Granddaughter each day!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.0
    Friendly cleaning staff, clean room but host's lack of interest made stay a farce.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Due to above, breakfast on premises not available and no hot water for majority of our stay, disappointingly apology not received from host either during or since stay.

    Staff rather than host friendly. Host was not available at any time throughout stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Very Enjoyable stay, look forward to going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a bit of problem. Get a parking permit from Guesthouse..

    Nice friendly guesthouse. Made you feel very welcome, lovely room with very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.4
    The price and location were good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the proprietor was taken I’ll before we arrived. We were greeted by her teenage son and told there would be no breakfast but if we collected receipts for breakfast at cafes, we would be refunded. We were told to bang on the owners door or phone if we needed anything. This was all backed up by an email. There were no towels in the room, but we were unable to contact the owners, but eventually the I’ll proprietor brought some when we phoned. The room was extremely small and stuffy, but it was a very hot weekend. The room was tidied the first day, but not the second and the towels were never changed. All of this would have been overlooked if it wasn’t for the fact that the proprietor rudely questioned the receipts we’d produced for breakfast (£10/ day per person), saying that she had already made the adjustments and this seemed a lot for breakfast. She reluctantly agreed to a refund, saying that she couldn’t be bothered with this, as she was still feeling ill. Her attitude remained stroppy as we left and she never apologised for the reduced service.

    The price and location were good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    4.6
    Hotel should be renamed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attitude of proprietor Proprietor almost never available in person Very difficult to contact Parking promised but did not materialise. Thus caused major extra cost and inconvenience Cooked breakfast promised Did not appear! No fresh milk for continental breakfast Dining area had dirty piled mound of creased linen left on dining table for at least 20 hours Bed room wasn't tidied and refreshments not rereplenished on day 3 of our stay which was not good after a busy day in London No info re WIFI Met some very frustrated and confused guests from Belguim

    Room was clean Although ensuite on very compact it was very clean and fresh

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Really enjoyable,would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really comfy with a really nice duvet.Overall the whole experience was really good.My husband mentioned that he liked black pudding and the next morning it was cooked for him for breakfast! Very nice personal touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay, we did everything we had planned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking in Brighton is not so easy especially near the centre so be prepared to drive around a bit. This is not a reflection of the guesthouse who provide parking vouchers.

    Great location for city centre. Great breakfast. Friendly host.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.5
    All in all it was a comfortable stay. If it weren't for those steep stairs it would have been ideal.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was tiny and my husband wouldn't have fitted if he'd been with me. The room was on the top floor which is fine. However, the stairs are steep and narrow which is no one's fault as it's how the building is constructed, but it would have been good to know before I arrived especially as I had a bulky case. An older couple certainly couldn't deal with the stairs.

    The room was beautifully refurbished and the bed was extremely comfortable. Lovely towels. Very welcoming and friendly hostess. Great location near the seafront. Went running along the seafront twice which was heavenly. Super convenient to get to by bus from Brighton station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and welcoming, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location near centre of city. The owner was very helpful and welcoming. Breakfast excellent. Room was compact as described but ok for one night. There are larger rooms available. The stairs are steep and narrow so take this into account. Street parking with permit incurs a charge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Awesome!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small double
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wi-fi a bit too slow.

    I really enjoyed my stay at the Four Seasons, and it exceeded my expectations. The room is small, which was informed during the reservation process, so no surprises, but very comfortable and super clean. Janine, the host, is extremely friendly and available for everything you need since the first email I sent requesting early breakfast. For that matter, I have to say that the breakfast was really good and it had various options so that it meets different tastes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Amazing, clean and a super host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Janine was a superb host, right from the start she made us feel comfortable and we felt so relaxed. Breakfast was vast with lots of various options. Location was good just a short walk to the attractions. The rooms were light and impeccably clean with neutral calming tones and accessories. What a super find!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Friendly comfortable clean and accessible
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very welcoming and friendly.My room was very specious and the bed was very comfortable.Breakfast was delicious and plentyful and the location was perfect for getting around.I will recommend the 4seasonsbrighton to my family and friends and I will definitely be staying there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    We would stay there again with pleasure.
    • Family with young children
    • Small double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in a very small room that had not have enough space for a big suitcase to open with a tiny bathroom that, however, had everything we needed. Weak wi-fi.

    Wonderful, welcoming and very helpful staff - worth coming back to see and to talk to them again, comfy bed with fluffy covers and pillows, tidy, decent English breakfast (customised if you wish) served in a nice dining room, great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    I liked the key safe entry as it allowed us flexibility on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better but appreciate this might be due to temporary staff.bigger portions expected

    I liked the key safe entry as it allowed us flexibility on arrival time

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    Well located for seafront, local restaurants and a ten...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top floor attic room no.7. No wardrobe to hang clothes. Shower temperature would not turn up or down. Window blind didn’t go up or down. Window blind not fully covering the window so the room was too light for me... WiFi just didn’t work unless you were on ground floor. Parking is very difficult around the hotel. Allow extra time to find a space and try not to have a big car.... No bottled water in room on arrival. V small ensuite.

    Well located for seafront, local restaurants and a ten minute walk to the lanes.... Friendly staff. Comfy bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.9
    Just what I needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was a little tricky and we were given instruction to park within a km of the b@b which wasn’t very clear. We arrived at about 7 and the check in was done very quickly( possibly rushed) and in the door way.

    The room was just what we needed and the location was a short walk away from the beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Excellent location & super staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Janine and her son were most hospitable; warm and friendly welcome and delicious home-cooked breakfast in the morning. Parking voucher provided for an additional cost which was extremely helpful. Bath products smelt delicious!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    3.3
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small double
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lost a diamond ring while away from my room. Apparently, when guests are away for sightseeing, they find it acceptable to allow non-staff to enter and touch our belongings! We asked for our room not to be serviced, ignored our request and used our room for their website's photoshoot. I returned to my room to find that my belongings had been moved and the diamond ring I inherited from my mother was missing from the night stand! Owner initially said the photographers were in the room and when we said that we would report this to the police, changed her story to say that she was the only person to go in (why?!). At the end, the ring was never found and the owner did not seem to care!! Unacceptable!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.1
    I had a pleasant stay in a lovely room, slept well and had no cause to complain. I would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower room does need updating, though the owner has plans for this in January 2018. A used coffee pod was left in the coffee maker not a big deal but attention to detail. Could do with the parking being made a bit clearer as this may influence a different mode of transport. Having to search for a space In a 1 kilometre radius is not ideal.

    Our Hostess was very friendly and attentive. The room was lovely and the bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    2.9
    Sadly spoiled our Christmas break in Brighton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dated and there was mould in the shower and in the mini fridge. The bed sloped as if broken. The room was noisy The most disgusting part was that dirty towels were taken from the shower tray and rehung for us to use!!! The room was extremely poor value for money sadly! One of the worst rooms we have ever stayed in. We didn’t have the included breakfast because we weren’t happy with cleanliness throughout so didn’t want to risk the food. I did take hotographs if you need to see them.

    The bedding was clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Janine was the most amazing host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Janine was the most amazing host! Helped with anything that we needed and loved the breakfast! Very central location and cosy atmosphere. Would definitely recommend this place and hope to stay here again in the future! Thanks Janine! X

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    This is 'the one'.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location, most comfortable bed ever, tasty breakfast, friendly flexible host 'Janine' whose very funny she has made this the best out of a hundred visits.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    A great base
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The payment was confusing. We had a email that said our balance was 0, but this was my the case

    The owner upgraded us at no extra charge as the venue wasn't full

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    A real little gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything. Clean, comfortable and welcoming. Breakfast is brilliant, and nothing is too much trouble. Landlady a real diamond. Excellent location, minutes from the from the front and pier.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.5
    clean comfortable and friendly guest house in a good location just on the outskirts of main town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Phone reception poor in the area and wifi signal did not extent to room which was a bit frustrating as its fine down on lower level.

    Friendly landlady with a laid back helpful nature. Clean comfortable accommodation and very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    A pleasure to have met the host and we will be going back very shortly for more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't change a thing, Its got all the charm and character you will ever need

    This is a lovely quirky guest house in an ideal location in Brighton. It is run by a delightful lady who understands how to make you feel relaxed and always has time for a breakfast chat. Rooms are very clean and the beds are very comfortable with crisp white sheets and pillows. We have already planned to return very soon for more.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Loved it. Super friendly. Clean and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that could of been better is on site parking but everything else was perfect.

    Owner was so polite and friendly she made us feel welvome straight away. Room was beautiful and clean and location was perfect I parked my car up and walked everywhere my whole stay as was so close to everything even the sea.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    Amazing just what we needed highly recommend the four seasons guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting a parking fine but my fault as didn't write the registration of my car on one of the permits.

    Extra comfortable bed, the lovely view from our bedroom and the owner of the four seasons and the staff were lovely and make us feel right at home.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Ruth and Ben in the 4 seasons guest house are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything.

    Lovely big mid terrace house, nice and comfortable with a warm welcomeing feeling. Lovely and clean. Waking up to the smell of cooked breakfast was great. The owner.. Ruth and her son Ben are great characters.. So nice, polite and funny.. Ruth just made me laugh all the time she's so honest and down to earth, she's so funny without realising it. The position of the guest house is great as it is right next to a street with pubs and lovely restaurants. (bonna petito Italian restaurant is fabulous). And it's a short walk to the lanes, shopping and right near the sea front. A 15 minute walk from train station or about £6 by cab to the guest house. Im planning to go back next year.. Great place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Loved the hotel and the staff, will more than likely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi Fi could have been a bit faster tiles by the toilet were all cracked

    The bed was ridiculously comfortable I didn't want to get out The owner was really friendly on arrival and throughout the stay Room was spacious and clean Breakfast was superb

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    3.8
    Couldn't leave fast enough
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet bowl wasn't cleaned, I was dismayed to find trace of excrement in the bowl and this lack of basic attention to detail when cleaning between guests Unlabelled liquid soap meant I couldn't use it, no idea about ingredients or potential allergens Radiator was on despite being a roasting hot day, about 19oC, lodged behind the bed in a recess, I had to pull the bed out to reach the controls and turn it off No sound-proofing, can hear everything out in the hall, and in neighbouring room Guests in room above hammering around on the floor, banging around meant I couldn't get any peace while they walked around and moved things Wi-Fi didn't work, I tried to call to remedy this but no one answered the phone and I wasn't sure how to find the owner otherwise No coffee in the room, only unwrapped tea bags Breakfast room is tiny and appeared to only have one table, I didn't hang around to find out, felt too uncomfortable. Felt like staying in a stranger's house and not a BnB

    Bed and room was clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was a bit slow in the room (on the second floor), but was fine in the breakfast room.

    Very comfortable (and big!) bed, fluffy towels, very good cooked breakfast, friendly and helpful owner, convenient location very close to the beach and a couple of supermarkets, quiet room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    Great b&b. Very friendly. Would stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 2 is small... however it's sold as a small room and was what I expected so this didn't cause me any problems. Struggling to find anything negative tbh. This was the only thing xx

    Really clean, quiet location. Landlady was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    We will definitely re-visit.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfy bed with great cotton sheets. Convivial breakfast environment with other guests. walking distance to the seafront and town centre. Nothing was too much trouble. Very kind and friendly host, thanks Janine!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    Lovely friendly hospitable B & B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful host. Lovely freshly cooked breakfast daily. Great sized room, clean. Host couldn't accommodate any more for anyone. Thank you for a lovely bank holiday weekend :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Very clean,close to town centre,frienly staff,breakfast is...
    • Couple
    • Small double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to pay for parking,you should mention in your list there is a parking outside and needs to be paid.

    Very clean,close to town centre,frienly staff,breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable, clean, quality accommodation with a friendly owner in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing of note was that the wifi signal for us up at the top was pretty weak. The on street parking was £9 and pot luck. Although to be fair we timed it right and got a space close by, leaving the car and walking everywhere as its an ace location.

    Although the room was small, it was advertised as this. It was very nicely done with quality bedding and a really comfy bed and pillows, with everything crisp and clean. The owner was very friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble and an excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Usual Brighton weekender who has a new top 1 choose for staying in town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really (living room fire place was not really yet! I deffo need to come back to check it :-))

    The location, the facilities just refurnished, the cleanning, tiny but more than confortable room, very confortable bed, tea/pastry for free and most of all the super lovely owner who is always pending on you are confortable all the time but respecting your privacy at the same time (and cooking a GENEROUS breakfast for you every morning)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    Great weekend in a lovely guest house - would definitely recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only comment would be that the 'compact double' was very compact!! Didn't affect our stay though.

    Excellent location. Our host Janene was really welcoming, friendly and accommodating - made our visit really relaxing. We were allowed to keep our room on till late on the Sunday which was really helpful. Would definitely use the hotel again 😀

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Great stay!
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a lovely, comfortable and clean location! Janine is an excellent host who goes out of her way to make the guests feel at home and makes such a delicious breakfast, I really looked forward to breakfast every morning! The location is very close to the beach and a short walk from town, I will definitely be staying here again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic accomodation! Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is very little parking around especially in the height of summer but a parking permit is available to buy and I was able to find a space on the seafront just a short walk away. On the second day there was a space just across the road so cant complain.

    I cannot recommend the Four Seasons highly enough. Janine is friendly and helpful, the accommodation is decorated and maintained to a very high standard. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! Breakfast was delicious, I am vegan but that posed no problem at all and I enjoyed cereal, fruit and toast with a pot of tea.There was obviously cooked breakfast available for those who wanted it. Probably one of the best places I have ever stayed in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Great value and very comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a little bit small.

    It was really clean and in a great location. The rooms are simple but good value for money with comfortable beds. The bathrooms have been recently refurbished and are very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.9
    The owner was really lovely , sociable and warm .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately compact double was just to small for our needs.

    The owner was really lovely , sociable and warm . Breakfast choice outstanding . Access to kitchen bonus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing, laid back and great value weekend spent at Four Seasons Guest House.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fan for ventilation in our en suite bathroom didn't seem to work and the bedroom did get very warm, but this was mainly due to the fact that we had very hot sunny weather during our stay and the sun was beating in the window.

    We could not have been made to feel more welcome at the Four Seasons Guest House - Janine's laid-back and friendly nature meant that we immediately felt at home. Breakfast was terrific and was available to use whenever we happened to awake. Our room was well laid-out and very clean. Will definitely be coming back again soon!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, couldn't fault it.

    Fantastic find. Excellent location, just minutes from the beach and plenty of places to eat within a few minutes walk. Janine could not be more friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Lovely room, everything was perfect and delicious breakfast, loads of choice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location, friendly comfortable B & B
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, they are still adding the finishing touches to the property which will no doubt make it even better as recently taken over by new owner.

    Very friendly host, central location and good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    Janine's cosy guesthouse!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Janine has only just opened her guest house but already there is a really good atmosphere about the place. She cooks a wonderful breakfast and is great company around the breakfast table! Janine clearly has a lot of experience running a guest house and as soon as she gives the finishing touches to the house, I am sure it will be hard to find a vacancy! Thanks for a fabulous stay, Janine!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    7.1
    Very nice But..........and I would still recommend because of cleanliness and the reasonable price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Owner was friendly but sadly I noticed inequality. Breakfast was basic with not much option, egg on toast was not even offered, although I've now come to discover with other guest reviews that this was offered to previous guests. I am also assuming that breakfast was supposed to be buffet-style as there was a small cold tray consisting of, slices of cheese, ham, tomatoes, cucumber and pots of yogurt.The puzzling thing was they kept the croissant on the kitchen worktop. When I sat down to breakfast I would get a cup of coffee and one croissant would be offered at the start and then the croissants would be taken back into the kitchen area, to sit on the kitchen worktop again (should really have been placed next to the cold tray, so you can then help yourself to another if you fancy). I did however find a cafe round the corner that serves a full english breakfast for under £5 (sorry forgot the name). With the free Wifi, signal needs to be improved as I lost signal a few times, whilst surfing, maybe getting a booster.

    Room was nice and clean with clean crisp bed sheets. The Guest House is not far from the beach front approximately 2/3 minutes walk. It's also very close to restaurants and local shops to be found on St. James Street.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    3.8
    Look elsewhere!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not take any notice of the parking nearby claim (Public parking is possible at a location nearby (reservation is not needed) and costs GBP 9 per day.)..Paying the 9GBP only gets you a 24 hour permit, you then need to hunt around for a parking spot. We eventually found a spot 3 blocks away after 30 mins. We found a pair of men's undies under the bed and the breakfast the next morning was very average!!! We found out the next morning that it was the last day under the current ownership and new owners were taking over the next day, so I guess that explained the poor attitude of the manager.

    It was close to Brighton

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    6.3
    More choice please!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought it a bit over priced for what it was and VERY limited menu options for breakfast.

    I liked the bedroom I was allocated & owner was very warm and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    3.8
    Don't bother to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was awful. The breakfast was appalling. The bathroom so small it was ridiculous. Had to leave early. No way was this a 4 star AA rating.

    The bed linen was clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    6.7
    Clean, nice bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double 6
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was pretty tiny for a double. Breakfast options not really presented... felt there was little choice.

    Clean, nice bathroom. Peaceful for town location. Nice enough staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    PERFECT FOR A FEW DAY AWAY
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good

    Janine was lovely & so personable. Lovely location lovely food and lovely atmosphere. All clean & tidy.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Welcoming, friendly and informal stay without fixed times...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bird deposits on the car when parked under the tree!!

    Welcoming, friendly and informal stay without fixed times for breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Great location, very comfortable stay and a great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Janine the landlady is a fantastic host, she goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome, but not intrusive.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: