Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fraoch House 4 stars

66 Pilrig Street, Broughton, Edinburgh, EH6 5AS, United Kingdom

#9 of 185 B&Bs and Inns in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 445 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Very good B&B and will stay with them next time we go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing.

    The staff is very helpful. Kat gave me very clear instruction on how to check-in with keys and passwords. Gareth was also very friendly and provides information for the old town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    Ideal for a stopover or 2 or 3 nights. Would definitely go again and would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the room a little bit stuffy and it was difficult to open the old windows. Other than the I couldn't fault it. For a city centre accommodation it is very reasonably priced.

    Comfy clean bed and a fab breakfast. This B & B is in a traditional victorian terraced house and the decor is appropriate to that . This property is not suitable if you have impaired mobility. Parking is free in the street but you can't always get close to the property. Short walk to nearest restaurants and pubs - lots of both! Very friendly manager and breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    Would recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on the front of the house and there was a bit if noise from the road at night. I had a private bathroom but it was separate from the bedroom. Would definitely return but would request an onsweet room to the rear of the property

    The owner, Gareth is a lovely guy and very helpful. The breakfast is brilliant with a wide selection of fresh fruit, none of this tinned rubbish! The bed was also very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Froach House is an amazing place to stay and visit Edinburgh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely everything! Garreth really has a gift for making people feel welcomed and comfortable, his sense of humor will start your day with a smile!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Welcoming place to call home in Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Gareth could quite possibly be the greatest host in Edinburgh - nay, the world! He graciously upgraded me to a twin suite at no extra cost which was the most pleasant surprise (seriously he could have just left the room vacant). He was very helpful in suggesting things to see and do in the couple of days I spent there. The breakfast was simply amazing. Just what I needed at the beginning of the day to keep exploring. Will be back and will stay here again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful, would recommend and stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a little uncomfortable as they were slat beds and the mattress had sunk one side. Aside this comfort matter, absolutely fine

    People were lovely, couldn’t be more helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    A relly pleasant stay. Gareth was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really nice. The breakfast very good and cooked on the spot. The position was good, half way between the old town and the shore, with a bus stopping just in front of the house. The host was nice and friendly and he answered all our questions and gave us very good tips for going around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tidy and clean. Big bed. Modern bathroom. Sockets and desk if you have to work. In the middle of the city. Bus station right before the house. Very friendly people!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Second time here In 2 years and just as good as the first...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second time here In 2 years and just as good as the first time. Exceptional guest house, beautiful interior and so comfortable. both Gareth and Kat are fabulous, friendly, helpful and full of humour. I would never want to stay anywhere else.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Gareth, the property manager, went above and beyond to make...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Gareth, the property manager, went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. Him and his staff made every effort possible to make our stay a memorable one.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    If it wasn’t for the poached eggs, well how they were dealt with really, this would have been a 10/1
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second day I asked for well done poached eggs, they weren’t. By the way, it wasn’t owner. The lady dealing with us was busy, she came over and said she was sorry she had forgotten I’d asked for we’ll done and would get it right tomorrow- this was our last day though. I was really disappointed with this and was glad I’d had cereal.

    The owner was fantastic, a great welcome lovely room, gave us lots of information about the local attractions, really could not fault this at all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.8
    Great welcome, great service and good accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lumpy pillows, one curtain off runners.

    Loved the eclectic decor, spacious room, good bathroom with effective shower and nice toiletries provided. Great breakfast. Welcome info printed for us plus welcome tiffin cake. Great hosts.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    Best B&B in Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed sheets a bit worn, but nothing major really, more of a personal thing than anything else

    Great host and team, great breakfast, great atmosphere and very comfortable bed at an unbeatable price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.9
    A Fantastic Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At this time I can't think of anything.

    Gareth was a great help! So friendly and kind. The room was very clean and cute. The bathroom was clean as well. There is a bus stop right by the Fraoch House which I didn't use but was helpful to have. It was walking distance to mostly everything I did and close to other buses as well. I would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    good value for money and the staff clearly work hard at making your stay a good one
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    freshly baked bread was a nice touch. Hint to the owners: get a finely serrated bread knife that will cut into the soft warm bread without squashing it, enabling better and thinner slices

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.9
    Just what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kat was very helpful, we were welcomed with a cup of tea and some shortbread. Gareth the owner cooked a good breakfast and made us feel very welcome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.5
    Clean, tidy and would recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cold bedroom

    Arrived at 1.00am and left at 7.10am so literally slept, shower and left. No staff seen at any time which was not an issue or expected. Very clean. Parked outside house which was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable, lovely room and easy access to get into the town centre
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there was private parking

    I liked how lovely and welcoming all the staff where, the owner garath was very welcoming and Alex a member of the team was lovely and very friendly and helpful when serving breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Perfect destination to explore Edinburgh from - just a walk or a bus ride away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking wasn’t a problem, but was on the road - would have been fine if it was my own car and not one I’d hired.

    Excellent choice of breakfast. Bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    Feeling at home in Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our bath didn't have a window. Not a big deal, but some people could be bothered. WIFI has ups and downs.

    Second time in Fraoch House, and won't be the last. Gareth is an EXCELLENT host, the rooms are cozy, perfectly furnished, warm and spotless clean. The baths are big, clean and modern, the showers are huge. Breakfast is to die for: even the most picky will leave the room well fed and satisfied. The 11 bus stop is right outside the front gate, and Leith Walk with all its bus routes is 2 minutes away.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Amazing! Excellent! Best place to stay!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent accommodation! Amazing breakfast! Really friendly people! I felt like home! Warm and cosy! Loved it!!!! I would recommend 100% Great value for money!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Just come back from a fantastic stay in Edinburgh made even better ny this fab little b&b.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really clean and comfortable. Gareth the owner is the most friendliest guy you could meet and goes out of his way to ensure you have everything you need. The breakfast is also AMAZING. Location is about a mile walk to princess street or a short ride on the no 11 bus which is right outside the b&b. Would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Great host in a lovely B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Gareth was an excellent host, offering great advice on what to see and where to go. The rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable with a lovely ensuite bathroom or shower room. The choice at breakfast was excellent and the traditional breakfast was especially good with a great choice of ingredients which were very well cooked and presented. We all liked the extra touch with the small cake bites on the way into the house. The location is perfect as it is on a direct bus service into the city centre one way and to the Leith coast in the other direction. Overall an excellent B&B which we will return to in the late spring/early summer.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic, friendly little gem of a place and great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great friendly welcome with a much appreciated cafetiere of coffee/shortbread. Fabulous breakfast with plenty of food. Always cakes at reception for snacks, Tunnocks caramel bars in room with tea/coffee/water and sweets/lollipops. Great location for town or Leith (halfway). I stayed in the single with private bathroom across the hall but no bother at all and a dressing gown was supplied. Great value for money. I will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.9
    Friendly and charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a pretty strange smell in the room when I arrived and came back after a day out, after having the window closed during the day. It was a bit inconvenient that the bathroom was not directly connected to the room, but that I had to cross a hall to get to it.

    The breakfast was wonderful with delicious things to order from the menu and fresh fruits and berries to have with the yoghurt and different kinds of cereals. The staff was charming and helpful in many ways, including with giving information about transportation and sightseeing. And I liked that there was Fairtrade-products and lovely herbal teas! :-)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Loved our stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner was a gracious host! He was more than accommodating! The breakfast was the best we had in all of Scotland! We enjoyed our time there more than at any of the other guest houses we stayed in. We loved the “at home feel”! We would absolutely stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Excellent location, wonderful hosts and comfortable bed!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    The hosts were welcoming, my room was comfortable and beautifully furnished and breakfast was delicious! I would definitely stay here again :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic Quality and Good Value Stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was absolutely nothing to not like and the only thing I would say is you are little away from the town but a bus stops directly outside and we took an uber £6 from the hotel into town. The walk is lovely also.

    The room was so fantastic - we had a living room and bed and the quality of furnishings and bathroom was top quality. The staff were warm and friendly. Fantastic breakfast options and I would make it my first choice going to Edinburgh.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.6
    Fraoch house was the perfect warm and comfortable place to spend my last days in Edinbrugh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing.

    Gareth himself is a gem - he is warm, funny and friendly, helpful with any and all enquiries. He made my arrival a breeze and accommodated my very, very early departure by leaving a little breakfast out for me. The cooked breakfasts with delicious, warm homemade bread + a full continental spread were fantastic, as was the lovely woman preparing them. The room itself was spacious and lushly appointed, not to mention impeccably clean. The towels were so soft as were the bed/duvet luxurious and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.6
    Perfection: A great innkeeper, very comfortable rooms and luxuriously delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. The place could not have been better.

    The innkeeper was a joy. The breakfast was out of this world. The rooms had all those extra little touches, like tea, coffee and snacks that make you feel you have everything you need.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Brilliant! No complaints 2nd time we have stayed here and would still recommend friends to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sausages!

    Everything was great .. bed comfy, room very clean and comfy, breakfast scrumpy! Location perfect bus stops outside for when you have done too much walking very handy! Gareth is so friendly and welcoming!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    The hotel and Gareth made our journey worth while.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was slightly stiff, I was fine with it but my partner felt a little uncomfortable during the night.

    Our host Gareth was so bubbley and charismatic that our trip down was excellent before we even got to see our room. The theme around the hotel was art decor and it was splendid. Movies available for guests and we were made to feel so comfortable. We are staying here again in the future.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be very sweet if the slippers were provided.

    The host is very nice and kind. The room and the beds are very comfortable. And especially the Scottish-style breakfast provided is so good and delicious. Perfect!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Quite the best and most interesting of all our stays in scotland. Very, very highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a lottery as in most cities, we were lucky with space almost outside

    Fantastic host and excellent communications. Room, general comfort, facilities and decor excellent Breakfast best on whole 12 day tour. Easy walk into centre although bus option right outside Khushi for a curry only 400 yards

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a long hair on my bed.

    Gareth is such a wonderful host that he is not only a nice person but truly kindhearted. It's business for him but he didn't treat you only as a client. He would ask you if you have any general questions about the traveling in this amazing city. The breakfast is wonderful and the cook Kart is very nice too. They make you feel at home just as they want you to feel in this way.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Always exceeds expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely no complaints whatsoever.

    3rd stay at Fraoch House. Cannot recommend highly enough. Lovely rooms, excellent facilities. Super toiletries and fluffy towels. Breakfast always first class. Gareth very knowledgeable about Edinburgh and surrounding area, and has a great sense of humour.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was top floor by very sleep steps difficult to take up our suitcases The room had a low attic ceiling not suitable for tall people

    Gareth the host was very helpfull and informative regarding the buses to city centre and places of interest in the city to visit. Lovely room well presented property great breakfast. Good shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    Really enjoyed Edinburgh and our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a main road if you struggle with sleeping and we were lucky with a parking space close by.

    Gareth was the perfect host - cheery and informative. Breakfast excellent and home baked bread a lovely touch.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay in Edinburgh and door to door service by Public transport!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bus stopped outside the gate. Very friendly and knowledgable owner. Fabulous breakfast. Really appreciated the wonderful selection of fresh fruit and use of local produce.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    A delightful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing as far as the B&B. We found there were really no good restaurants within walking distance. We either had to take a bus to to Shoreline Drive in Leith for a good restaurant, or eat dinner in Old Town or New Town before we came back in the evenings to Fraoch House. Once we found out what bus to get and where get it to Shoreline Drive, we went there 3 nights for the excellent seafood. It's only a mile north, but after walking all day, we did not want to walk a mile to a restaurant.

    Froach House was delightful. We really enjoyed our time there. Gareth, the owner, was very friendly, outgoing, funny and helpful with directions. He also made a very good traditional Scottish breakfast. The location off Leithwalk was not near the Old Town Edinburgh, but the #11 bus stopped right outside the door and came by frequently. We stayed with Gareth 6 days and had 2 different rooms. The second one was much larger than the first one. He went the extra mile by packing us a "to go" breakfast on the day we had to leave early for the airport. We would certainly stay there again if we are back in Edinburgh.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Wonderfully cosy and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very cosy, friendly place and people - and really wonderful room: clean, well-decorated and spacious, almost a shame to just spend the night there! Very tasty breakfast as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    An enjoyable stay,friendly helpful staff,delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A chair or rail in the bathroom for clothes. Also a bigger towel rail.

    The friendly manner of the staff, nice range of breakfast, size of room, thoughtful extra touches.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful BnB! No regrets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved absolutely everything, location, comfort, no complaints at all. Gareth wasnt there when we arrived but we communicated with him via email and he left the keys for us. The communication went very smoothly. The BnB was very nice, we had a room in the basement with view of the garden. The room was very spacious, clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was great, there was a large choice of warm breakfast (eggs, sausagges, bacon) and was very tasty! Would recommend to everyone!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Excellent guest house close to city centre and coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing, it was all first class

    Fraoch house was a wonderful choice. We stayed there for 5 nights with our friends from Australia so we could see the city and attend the "fringe". The owner Gareth was an excellent host, he knew everything about the city and was very eager to share his knowledge with all his guests. It felt like home from home and you were part of the family. Very comfortable beds and good room size. Breakfast was amazing everything from cereal to salmon, and they were huge portions, definitely set you up for the day. There was a bus stop right outside the front door to take you into the city centre or towards the coast. Thank-you Gareth you are a star and a lovely person to meet, we will definitely stay with you again if we come to Edinburgh!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Great hosts happy to help with bus routes and recommended taxis to the Tattoo. Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    What was not to like.

    Breakfast catered for everyone. I am Diabetic and they were able to make what i needed. Really good menu. The porrage was a lot better than i make at home.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.2
    Great staff, a comfortable room not too far from the city center!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We enjoyed the welcoming atmosphere at Fraoch House very much. Excellent breakfast with great selection and fulfillment of individual wishes. Lovely staff who are very helpful, flexible, communicative and give great advice on what to see and do in town without being insistent. Our facilities had enough space and the room was comfortable. Good location as it is only about a 15-minute walk from York Street. There is also a bus stop close by to get to the city center. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Delightful oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely kindly service, stylish beautifully decorated room, spacy shower, choice of delicious breakfasts, "Eat me" treats & excellent bus line 11 reaching the Edinburgh Castle as well as Britannia.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Easy access to town by bus and a wonderful home away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed was a little too firm, and pillows were flat.

    Breakfast was really good with many options, even got a salmon bagel to go on the day we had an early morning tour. Host was super friendly and funny, very welcoming atmosphere and the whole place is decorated so interesting! Beautiful bathroom and great shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommend the Fraoch House for its warmth, cleanliness, breakfast, cookies and its proprietor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Gareth's impeccable attention to detail, his friendliness and ability to provide accurate and relevant information, the excellent breakfast menu, the availability of buses and taxis to get around and the proximity to attractions (moderate walk).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.9
    Experience Edinburgh's finest Bed & Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Water temperature on shower needs to be a little 'less bracing'

    Accessible B&B which was well presented, clean & ideal for our weekend stay. Gareth was the perfect host from the delicious breakfast to his hints/tips on travelling around Edinburgh.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Like visiting good friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator to top floor rooms, so be prepared for stairs (staff offered to assist with bags though).

    The staff were delightful and made you feel like a treasured friend. Breakfast was delicious (traditional Scottish style, though other options were available). I would visit Edinburg again just to stay here!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly & informtive host
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Garath is an extremely likable host. He is very friendly & cheerful. The accomodation was very clean & comfortable. The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Endearing Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed. It was a little hard for me but that is just my taste. The bus route back to the B and B was a bit elusive. For future reference you catch it in George Street.

    The hospitality was wonderful. Gareth was a mine of information and extremely helpful. The breakfasts were very tasty. A hot drink on arrival was an unexpected bonus. ( Plus some shortbread!)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Great staff, great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast, good and silent room (no 9 downstairs), and really nice sightseeing tips from Gareth. 20 minutes walk from the City centre, and with many bus routes nearby. A place I would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    Visiting Edinburgh?
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could only fault one thing and that was the quality of the wifi. Everything else was excellent.

    Excellent host, wonderfully comfortable room with plenty of space. Breakfast choices were extensive and quality excellent. Would go back in a heartbeat if in the area again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable stay in a city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is an underground floor which makes us close to the street. But it was not too bad since it is quite big. The bed is set in a quiet location.

    Breakfast is very good. The bathroom is spacious. The room is big enough with a comfortable sofa and good lighting. It was quite fortunate to get the public parking space just in front of the house. Though we did not have many talks with the staff, they are attentive enough to leave us with communication and detail instruction on how we check in. So everything was smooth.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Night at the Fraoch
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All fine no issues whatsoever

    Great hospitality great breakfast of your choice and a very fine room with ensuite. Bus easy into town and royal yaught for some sunshine on Leith...just fab Gareth number one host try it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely little B&B...a short bus ride from the city centre
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I am not at all a B&B fan, but this place was lovely. I would have liked to have had a room with an ensuite bathroom, but by the time I booked, those rooms weren't available. The location isn't *terrific* if you really want to be in central Edinburgh...but then again, if you don't mind taking the bus up the main road, Princes Street, etc, isn't far. I didn't mind. And the bus is fairly frequent, even later in the evening. I chose Fraoch House because it was virtually the only reasonably priced place left, the weekend of the Edinburgh Marathon, that I was coming to run. In future, I would stay closer to the centre, as I have done before.

    The hostess - she's from Poland - was WONDERFUL. She went out of her way to welcome visitors. And she was very chatty and informative. I liked her very much. I liked my room. The bathroom was across the hall, but that was OK - it was my private bathroom, and though small, it was fine. (I didn't always like having to leave my bedroom to use the bathroom but that was what I paid for.)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice friendly, helpful staff. House was very clean and modern. It was close to shops, pubs, restaurants and sights, Even thou close to all that it was still a nice quite place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good. The staff made us very welcome when we arrived earlier than check in. They let us use a room to change and freshen up. They also made us tea and gave us biscuits! This was very nice after a long journey.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Comfortable, quiet, ideally located B&B with amazing breakfasts and friendly host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable all around. Superb breakfasts. Very friendly and helpful owner and staff. Perfect location to walk over the whole of downtown. Very quiet. Ideal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.6
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cieling of my room was pretty low. The location is good but, there is 5 minutes walk to the closest bus station. There is not much parking available.

    The staff is great, really helpful. Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.6
    Very good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room temperature during night

    The breakfast offered many alternatives (especially yummy berries); the staff was very helpful and friendly; felt like home; the bus stop was infront of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Great spot for your stop in Edinburugh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing reslly

    The room was spacious and everything there that we needed and the host Gareth and his staff are great We arrived early and were made most welcome anyway they minded our pages and sent us off sightseeing no worries

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Very friendly staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff; lovely, clean and spacious room; wonderful breakfast choices. Would definitely choose this accomodation when visiting Edinburgh again. Thanks!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    10/10 in Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was all great.

    From Gareth's friendly welcome to the first decent sized shower I have seen in 3 weeks of travelling in Europe, I cannot fault Fraoch House. The breakfast options are many and excellent and the location right on the no. 11 bus route from Princes St is convenient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival was greeted by Gareth and was a friendly welcome. Was given information and he answered all my questions brilliantly. Hotel was clean, in a great location and within walking distance to the town also has a bus stop just outside for those less likely to walk. Breakfast kept me full till well after lunchtime!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely B&B, is located in a quiet neighborhood of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely B&B, is located in a quiet neighborhood of Edinburgh just some 20 min by walk from Calton Hill, Waverley and Princess street and thus provides easy and quick access to the centre of town. The rooms are comfortable and nicely designed, the B&B itself is in a lovely victorian building and the staff is super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely, comfortable room, great shower, delicious home...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely, comfortable room, great shower, delicious home cooked breakfast and friendly staff! Bus stop right outside with buses every 10 minutes into the city centre (less than 10 min journey) or a 20 minute walk. Would definitely stay here again if we return to Edinburgh

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.2
    Best place in Edinbru
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautifully decorated room, extra comfy bed. The staff were lovely and let us keep our bags at the B&B after we had checked out so we didn't have to carry them around the city all day. Great breakfast. We loved it!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Expectation Totally Beaten
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - apart from their beds are better than mine and I've just spent over £1000 on a new bed ???

    if your looking for somewhere to stay in Edinburgh you will not go wrong with coming here. The location is within walking distance of everything you would want to do in the city and parking is right outside the property. Gareth and his team are brilliant - and trust me - I'm a fussy moaner !!!!! Greeted with a warm welcome and constantly looked after Thanks Gareth for a lovely Easter break

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Come home in your holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is overwhelmingly friendly and caring and wants to make sure you feel welcome. Garreth is probably the nicest guy in the world. And the best part is the breakfast! You get three sorts of bread of which one baked by the owner and four sorts of cereals, tons of bread spreads and marmelade and a broad variety of fresh fruits and berries. It's amazing! And if you want they cook warm breakfast like bacon and egg or porridge or vegetarian sausages, etc. all included. Just great!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    Short break to Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Accommodation was lovely. Couldn't have wished for anything better. Gareth is a great host and cooks a fab breakfast. Will definitely book again if we get the chance to go back to Edinburgh.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    10
    10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gareth and all the staff at Fraoch are a dream, so so welcoming and cater for your every need! The rooms are lovely and the breakfast is out of this world!! Can't recommend Fraoch enough.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    9.6
    Friendly, warm and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really but if i was pressed to find a fault it would be that the ensuite fan was a little noisy.

    The owner was incredibly friendly and helpful and the breakfast was top quality.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Fraoch House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: