Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa 4 stars

Shoppenhangers Road, Maidenhead, SL6 2PZ, United Kingdom

#12 of 15 hotels in Maidenhead

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 234 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    3.8
    The location & Abbie the receptionist very understanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very tired we arrived at 21:15 ordered food but everything seemed to be too much effort for staff as if we were in the way cracks in bedroom wall paper hanging off room was dusty no hot water for shower shocking view out of window Room 4

    The location & Abbie the receptionist very understanding

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    2.5
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room smelt awful, the whole hotel throughout is very run down! We had a fire alarm go off at 2am and in other guests rooms you couldn't hear the fire alarms so we had to knock on our friends door to wake them to evacuate but not one staff member was to be seen and when we got outside there was still not staff member to be seen. And to top it off in the morning the breakfast was so rank we went without! For £170 I expect a lot more, this hotel either needs to invest a lot of money or reduce to rate A LOT!

    Nothing!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    3.3
    The A La Carte menu was very good and the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn’t clean- had many cobwebs and dusty ledges (Sandringham Suite). The breakfast on our first morning was absolutely terrible. By 9.30am, nearly every type of food had run out and the staff could not replace it quickly. When the replacement sausages, bacon and scrambled eggs did finally arrive, they were cold and the scrambled egg looked like porridge/vomit!!! The plates, cutlery and cups all ran out and the hot water in the large flask, for making tea/coffee, was luke warm. The breakfast was so terrible, that we decided to get breakfast in bed early the following morning- but it wasn’t much better. The most shocking thing about the stay was that a fire alarm went off at 2.30am on our second night. Guests trooped outside, however there was no staff member to guide or give instruction. At no point were we told what to do or that there anyone checking that all guests had been evacuated. The alarm eventually stopped (false alarm from cigarette smoke in a bedroom), but we were not told it was safe to return indoors. The lack of authority was awful and we were extremely lucky that there was no fire, otherwise it might well have been much more serious.

    The A La Carte menu was very good and the staff were friendly in the Bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.4
    average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound proofing is poor and kept awake by noisy neighbours, there was smoking smell in the bathroom from neighbours smoking in their room. Breakfast is ok although not much selection, tables not cleaned in timely manner and self service for coffee and tea from a thermos. definitely not worth a four star rating.

    The receptionist gave 50% off in recognition of the issues we experienced.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.7
    Closure of the SPA area is early in the evening and was not...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Closure of the SPA area is early in the evening and was not able to use the facility due to working late. Drinks prices were expensive compared to other hotels. Availability of spare plug sockets for laptop and phones was poor in my room Situation and garden is very pleasant in the summer. Staff very friendly Cost of room is high compared to similar hotels in the area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Would recommend with some reservation,the ares of concern would not be difficult to remedy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant service very poor with long waits between courses and lack of attention I E getting a drink.Didnt quite achieve the objective of having a somewhat exclusive experience and will be remembered for the negatives rather than the excellent food.Breakfast was reasonable but quite what the pleasant young staff were doing,they didn’t seem to know..There is a lack of direction somewhere that is hard to quantify

    Swimming pool.Garden area.Room upgrade.Early check in.Bar and all.public areas modern and smart.Check in staff were efficianr and very pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    They gave us a free upgrade which was a lovely surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They missed a few things off our breakfast list (we had room service) and the breakfast wasn’t the best. It’s the only thing I could fault though as everything else was fab.

    They gave us a free upgrade which was a lovely surprise. A fab room. We had dinner as part of our deal which was gorgeous, couldn’t fault it. Loved the spa area, it was exactly what we needed 😊

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.0
    Overpriced for quality of room, poor service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service, room tired

    Service waiting for dinner on terrace poor...after 15 mins gave up and went to bar to order. Receptionist in morning very helpful and polite, dealt with overcharging issue

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    Relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean and comfortable but the communal areas of the hotel could have been cleaner. Tables outside were left with dirty glasses for some time. The breakfast is just too self service! The number of staff on duty should lend itself to at least being served with beverages and toast. The serving staff stood chatting as they had nothing much to do until everyone left after breakfast.

    The pool is a great asset of the hotel. The evening meal in the restaurant was really good as was the service and staff during evening service. The staff were always busy but there seemed to be too few people on duty.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    The spa with outdoor pool was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed by some of the food - we ordered sandwiches from the 24hr menu when we arrived at 3pm as we had just missed the lunch menu. The sandwiches were very simple and very overpriced at £7.50. The breakfast was good, however they didn't make nearly enough pastries so they ran out really quickly and wouldn't make any more - most people missed out on a key part of the continental breakfast.

    The spa with outdoor pool was great. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.1
    Lovely outdoor swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside grounds needed some attention... lots of cobwebs on window frames and the pathed areas around and to the pool were old & needed updating . No big problem though .. would definitely return 😊

    Lovely outdoor swimming pool Dinner was very well presented 1st class waiter . He was very attentive Rooms were clean and design was very quirky

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.3
    garden, where you can eat breakfast or dinner, nice rooms...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    swimmingpool open only until 8:00 p.m. should be longer, breakfast very simple - too expencive for the offer, many complicated stairs to use, until you get to your room. No lift available.

    garden, where you can eat breakfast or dinner, nice rooms decoration

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    4.6
    Dull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired needs closing down and refurbishment breakfast was awful undercooked and hardly any choice nothing for vegetarians. Would not recommend or go back

    Air conditioning

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location, really had an enjoyable stay will be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price of the breakfast was a bit steep

    The Hotel is fantastic, if you're getting married would be an ideal place. The staff are friendly and welcoming, the room is perfect, bed is comfortable, the place is clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Relaxing. A little disappointed on the staff levels & bed comfort. Overall enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were very low on staff. Had to ask several times for bread and bill. This gave it a strange atmosphere in the bar/restaurant especially at dinner. Waited far too long for a drink at cocktail which had no cocktail menu or coconut milk for the pina colada. No food served from 2-5 unless u want afternoon tea but we were there for dinner so just starved. Bed was extremely firm and uncomfortable. Dining room and Spa treatment room had no air con so when having massage was over heating as the Fan wasn’t reaching me.

    Spa was great, only small but as it was a hot day we got to enjoy the gorgeous outdoor space and pool which made our stay very enjoyable. Quality of food at dinner was high. It’s an old hotel but very clean and just about gets away with the furniture etc not looking too outdated. Breakfast setting, food and staff were superb.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff were amazing! Both Rachael and Atlanta were extremely helpful in organising Taxis several weeks before our arrival. There is a real 'can do' willingness throughout the hotel and we were very impressed with the services we were offered.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Fredericks hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures online didn't reflect the room itself. It was quite dated. Limited choice for breakfast - not the best value for money.

    Pool and spa area was brilliant and very clean. Air con in room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing, won’t be going there again,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few attention to detail things, picky perhaps, but if the hotel is serious about image and client perception then maybe somebody in the organisation might be interested. 1. On one of the hottest days of the year no-one had thought to check that the air conditioning was on before we checked in. According to the reception staff “they must have forgotten to check” it after they had apparently upgraded us. 2. Given the searing heat, not just outside but in the room, we were heartened at the sight of the room bar and eagerly openned the door expecting to see some chilled drinks we could enjoy. It was empty. On one of the hottest days of the year. So an air conditioned room with a lovely bar, both suffering from a lack of attention. On reflection, maybe we should have asked to be moved but we were in a hurry so just showered and left to meet family. 3. Got back to the hotel 11pm to find a note at reception telling guests to dial zero on the reception phone. Picked the phone up but couldnt actually see a zero and just while I was pondering which button it might be the receptionist arrived and when I said I couldn’t actually see the zero button his response was “yeah, it’s been rubbed out a bit......which room was it?”. 4. The general standard of decoration is good however the carpets look frayed and worn in places.

    Comfy bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Put in a room between 2 rooms given to a bridal party - lots of noise from 6.30am! Not the bridal party's fault but we should have been put in a different room. This was however dealt with very well by the manager. We were given a partial refund and hopefully this won't happen again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    The pool in the sunshine is fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are looking tired and there needs to be attention paid around the spa The pool area has a lot of weeds and the glass around the pool needs cleaning of cobwebs. General glass cleaning would be a good idea.

    The pool in the sunshine is fabulous

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.1
    Spa facilities were good, had nice relaxing day by the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We visited last year and everything was perfect so we expected the same this time. However few things went wrong which spoiled our stay. Coffee pots left our room were already used and we had to go to reception to replace them. During dinner we were served chocolate cake with plastic wrapping around and presented incorrect bill after dinner. During breakfast we ordered poached eggs which were overcooked. Although we always received apologies from staff we felt that too many things went wrong this time.

    Spa facilities were good, had nice relaxing day by the pool. We liked the room as well and bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, the garden is tranquil & all the staff are so friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool being over 18s only. The food menu quite poor/limited considering they have a restaurant.

    Beautifully located hotel, close by to local town/shops and the m4 ( we needed to head to Lego land )

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Could do better. Not really a 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a last minute stay at the Hotel to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary and my wifes birthday. I guess warning bells should have sounded by the receptionist's response to my request of a bottle of prosecco in our room "What, complimentary??" she said, incredulously... mortified with embarrassment I said "no; that wasn't what I meant, I was obviously expecting to pay for it..." she then put me through to the spa where I spoke to a lovely lady, but unfortunately it was full so I couldn't book a treatment - which was fine, it was last minute! Anyway; we arrived at 2.30, a little early for check in (at 3pm) so our room wasn't ready. Instead of being offered an alternative room by the somewhat unfriendly receptionist; we were shown to the bar and told that they would come and fetch us when the room was ready. We didn't mind waiting, we were early. But at 3.15, I went to the reception (now with another receptionist on duty) to be told that our room still wasn't ready. I think they realised that I was not very impressed by this; and they offered us an alternative room at that point (it may have been an upgrade, but if it was, they didn't tell us!). I then asked if the prosecco could be taken to that room - but they had no record of my request. A bottle was duly brought to the room and charged to our account. £36. BUT - when it really fell apart was the next day. Having had breakfast (pretty average self-service buffet), we decided to head to the spa for a swim before heading off - being aware that check out was 11am, we asked at reception if we could take the robes from the room to the spa - only to be told that as we had checked out, we no longer had access to the spa!!! To be sure; we double checked at the spa reception; where we were told that we could enter the spa if we paid for a "spa day"... on top of the £230 odd quid we'd already paid, we politely declined.

    We went out into Maidenhead before returning to the hotel for a delicious evening meal. We finally experienced some welcoming customer service from a lovely waitress and waiter.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    3.8
    Average hotel. Reasonable spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The proprty need a refresh. The room was not checked before being allocated. It had a leaking ceiling and the bed and floor was wet. The next day, housekeeoing didnt come till nearly 3.00pm. Receptionist on the day of arrival.was unfriendly and unwelcoming. She gave no details about the hotel, breakfast times, spa or restaurant.

    Spa is nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    im coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    fantastic service friendly staff, lovely room the spa pool was fantastic best pool area I have experienced, I can't wait to go back, The manager who showed me around was so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing; I had stayed before and was happy to rebook, maybe not again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very poor; I ordered eggs Benedict; the Hollandaise had split and one egg was raw. I complained but was almost dismissed as "unfortunate" The original room I had was fine, but the TV aerial was broken and rather than just swap the aerial i had to change rooms to a room that was very poor, small, dark and shabby and when I mentioned it to the girl on reception just didn't seem bothered. The fact I had to repack and change rooms for a faulty TV cable was hassle enough but to be downgraded just added insult to injury Service just did not live up to the billing

    location is great and the gardens lovely. nice environment to relax in...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    Change some staff and you have a fantastic hotel 👍🏻
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very impressed with the ladie on reception to great us very unhappy (moody) person and the same with the ladie who was running the spa area no smiles nothing they should not be working in that sort of environment if they don’t have any people skills

    Fantastic food little pricey but well worth it great spa and pool area and the bed was incredibly comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Great gardens, Gin, menu and staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in the rooms could be refreshed, however it’s a lovely, homely hotel, just what I need after a long day at work

    The grounds are fantastic for relaxing in after work with a gin, there is a fantastic gin menu.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel if a little pricey for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant prices were quite steep and food was of a nouvelle cuisine style. Although not the most important factor for a 4 star hotel the television service in the room was appalling. Limited channels and reception that kept breaking up and eventually getting lost altogether.

    Polite and friendly staff. Quiet, calm atmosphere. Nice restaurant and good food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    5.4
    Reasonable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had several problems in my room. The iron did not work. I had to have one sent up from reception. The bathroom was extremely hot. The radiator in the bathroom could not be regulated. The maintenance man had to turn it off but would need to be called again to turn it back on. The cold tap in the sink in bathroom did not work. Maintenance man had to be called. The phone beside the bed + bathroom did not work. Maintenance man had to be called but was unable to repair. The sliding doors in the wardrobe could not be opened. They were off their rail. The maintenance man had to be called. The cleanliness in the room / bathroom was an issue. Build up of dust in area around the sink. The extraction vent above the bath had a huge build up of fluff/dirt. The fruit salad at breakfast was of poor quality. I asked for a banana but none available. Only one type of yogurt available. Bread was of poor quality. Only pre sliced bread available. I would have expected healthier bread options. The information at reception Re taxi charges was incorrect. The card issued by reception for a trip to Stansted airport said £ 70. When the receptionist went to book it the following day she was quoted £ 140!! The receptionist ( coloured girl) was most helpful and contacted another taxi company who she had used at another hotel and got the price down to £ 110.

    The maintenance man was very helpful. He had to sort out several issues in my room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    The venue was beautiful, the massage was great and Desiree made the experience for us!
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the breakfast wasn’t anything special, and the ‘pedicure’ was over priced for a file and polish. Not what I thought a pedicure was, not even a massage or exfoliation.

    Desiree was amazing!! The lovely lady at reception, she was very helpful and knowledgable. She helped us book an appointment for our nails and was very welcoming. She made the stay great! And the 1 hour massages we had were amazing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely bridal shower , thanks so much to the staff (not the lady in the SPA)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only reason some marks are 9 and not 10 is the lady who works at the reception in the SPA. Rude, moody face who gave us constant looks, like we re doing smth wrong, by using the SPA. Amazing how one person's attitude can spoil the whole experience.

    Amazing place, helpful stuff, they were so nice to help me with my sister bridal shower. I'm so happy I have chosen this place. Very peaceful and beautiful place. Have to be back with my partner now %)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    That had the option to pay at the hotel on the day
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That hotel took down payment and then payment again. That down payment is still pending on bank account which means I can’t access the funds.

    That had the option to pay at the hotel on the day

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.3
    Food great but other aspects disappointing overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist needs customer service training. We booked a twin room therefore expecting 2 beds. The room had been made as a double, but that was apparently our fault for not ringing to say we wanted our twin room made as a twin! The housekeeping have gone home, so we can’t do anything about it now! In the morning we mentioned at checkout that several bulbs in the rooms were not working. Did you report it? Well we tried but couldn’t get through to reception. Well apparently she was there all night, so we should have called her then to sort it out. It was disappointing that we couldn’t get a table in the restaurant but had agreed to eat from the bar menu. It was rather awkward eating from a low bar table and would have been nicer for them to offer to set up a dining table in the bar. Eating a steak hunched over the table left me with indigestion all night. The food was lovely though. Also the quality of bedding was rather poor, the duvet didn’t fit the bed. Such a shame as this is basic stuff for a hotel to get right.

    The croissants at breakfast were delicious. The staff very apologetic about the lack of tables, crockery, cutlery and food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    A gorgeous hotel, very helpful staff gorgeous food and the perfect romantic getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa got really busy meaning there were no beds to relax on and it was quite cold in the area too

    We were so delighted to have been upgraded to a suite, we were so so grateful 😜

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    great hotel and spa, great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our TV had no remote control, we spoke to reception, who was quick to try and fix, but no remote control was found. it didn't spoil our stay though.

    room service - the food was amazing here. we didn't eat in the restaurant, I now wish we did. we just ordered food to our room. It was very well cooked! highly recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    Fredericks Maidenhead
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was tricky! The staff in the restaurant were not so keen to help, unlike all other members of staff who were willing to support and help

    Needs a touch up here and there although it’s hard to find a specific fault.. great location ( for me !) and comfortable rooms with decent food..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.5
    Great rooms, spacious and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spa facilities are good but need re-fresh as a bit dated and run down. Indoor part of the swimming pool was extremely cold so we didn't actually use it, which is a shame

    Great rooms, spacious and quiet

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    2.9
    Appalling service, dressing gowns fit for bin, effort for staff to talk to you. terrible place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, please do not goexpecting 4 star hotel. Staff are hostile and don’t even talk to you when there is a fire, which was a false alarm, but staff looked after selfs and did not even interact with guests and we where left to evacuate ourself, quests helping guests

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We Had a really lovely stay, staff were friendly and could advice us on what to do near by. We were only meant to stay one night but we extended our stay one more night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.8
    a very tired and outdated hotel where with minimal effort things could be a lot better
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room in the hotel was very dated and completely out of keeping for a 2017 hotel!! the hook on the window fell off when i drew the curtains! the bedspread looked like one my grandmother used in etc 70s - the breakfast was extremely poor -

    the bed was comfortable.... the staff were friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Warm and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Atlanta - the manager was super friendly and helpful which is always nice when you check into a hotel. Everything was clean and the pool and spa was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    Marty
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all was very good and no complaints

    Really nice trendy place.. only stayed for one night.. but will go back again.. great place and staff all good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    3.8
    Sooo not worthy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a so called the most luxurious hotel in Maidenhead, they offer really low value for what you are paying. No lift and not even a question at the reception if I’m going to be fine carrying my bag upstairs. Very professional, very. Rooms are colder than a fridge, bathroom had no heating. Breakfast was ridiculous. Hot breakfast took ages to be cooked (just how much time you need to make scrambled eggs) and portions are like for children. No normal plates - just tiny little plates on which you can’t even fit a toast. So called home baked bread had consistency of a brick - you could kill with it. Apple juice was off half of the times. No rolls or extra butter available. Really - they expect £11.50 for something so poorly prepared? Staff is slow, uninterested, lacks organisation skills. Message to you Fredrick’s - reputation will only take you so far. And it’s easy to loose it. Better watch it. I for sure will not stay with you if I have a chance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.2
    Was in the Berkshire sweet which was lovely, a great sized...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi didn't work in my room which was very dissapointing

    Was in the Berkshire sweet which was lovely, a great sized room. Décor a little dated throughout but that may be to some peoples' taste.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.5
    Best Domestic Marigold Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It reminded me of a once great hotel that has just got tired and not been maintained. Beds are old and uncomfortable, rooms are clean but the decor would only appeal to me if I were at least 25 years older. The heating in the rooms where cranked up so high that it took 40 mins to get them to a reasonable temperature again. Saying that, I would stay again. It's a special place that needs some looking after.

    Beautiful setting, great staff, the spa looked wonderful but I did not have time to try it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.0
    Nice, but spoilt by little niggles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The used bath robes, knocking noise through the night, repeating requests to staff. Pricey menu.

    The spa is good, especially the indoor/outdoor pool. Our second room was quiet with a very comfy bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    Good location for M4 and A308 , friendly staff perfect for business traveler
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor a little dated

    Friendly & helpful receptionist on arrival , bar staff eager to help with menus and details on food and beverages , nice ground floor with patio doors room , clean & comfy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing with poor spa facilities and disappointed with hair in the bath.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa to busy, no seats. Hair in the bath on arrival-so disappointed. Hairdryer from the 70's and pointless. Breakfast nice but cheap awful bread and toaster useless too. Overall not a 4 star hotel. 3 at best. Website misleading in relation to quality.

    The website

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing and just what we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows too soft Breakfast was late as the waiter thought I said I didn't want it but I ordered it at same time as my partner Ashame about lack ofthe spa treatment avaliability

    Spacious and clean room Tasty breakfast Lovely pool and spa

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.4
    This most defiantly was not up to the 4 stars they are advertising.
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine didn't work in the room The kettle didn't work in the room The steam room and excersise machines were not up and running at the stated times of opening and were switched of before the stated closing time. The pool area was a mess if you arrived early in the morning. All of the lockers at the pool in the ladies changing room were reserved with staff names.. We had to wait 40 minutes for breakfast then the poached eggs were over cooked. No full length mirror in the room and the only mirror in the room was hang to high to sit and blow dry your. The radiator was broken and on full blast so the room was like an incubator Lack of staff in particular at breakfast

    The swimming pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could make sure bed linnen has no stains and no holes in pillow cases. Standard rooms are just that standard. Staff in restaurant to be given a bit more training and support - but they were lovely and helpful as much as they could. Maidenhead not a great town and not much to do around hotel without car or train journey

    Lovely hotel with friendly staff and spa served the purpose of my trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.1
    Staff needs more training.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast staff was very rude. Special one blond lady who refused to give me her name. I was v dispointed to be treated in a hotel in london like this. the kitchen staff need some more training.

    All was good except the kitchen staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.7
    likely the best hotel option in Maidenhead.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was a disappointment although the hotel promotes its kitchen with a top chef. Ordered a pasta pesto which was totally overcooked and did not taste like pesto at all, rather a tasteless dissh with plain tomato sauce. Drunken guests at the swimming pool drinking in the pool with their glasses ! Glass is usually not allowed in and around pools...There was no one from management to intervene or over watch. Same drunk guests went on partying in the room next to mine and kept me awake until I had to call in the front desk.

    likely the best hotel option in Maidenhead. Nice room, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    4.2
    Avoid at all costs
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service was terrible, booked a table for dinner which was missed off so unable to eat a la carte, had room service food was rubbish, steak was tough. No one cared, still had to pay full amount!

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything thing was amazing! The room was clean and bed was nice and comfortable, Breakfast was hot and very fresh! Spa treatment was in perfect Very relaxing weekend Staff was polite and friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing place to stay, with good food and beautiful grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not a lot we didn't like really. There was one hand towel in the room that was not clean, but I can see how it was easily missed, but that's just me being picky. The facilities we very good, but it did get crowded at times, as the pool is not very big.

    Staff were very helpful at all times. Even when the restaurant was booked up at the time we wanted, they called us to let us know a cancellation had happened. Food was very good as part of the package. The spa was lovely, even though I am not really a spa 'goer'. And the price we got for the room was very reasonable too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Phenomenal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the top floor, was only a pain as we had a suitcase and there wasn't a lift (from what I could see).

    Where do I start! The spa was fantastic, the bed was super comfy, and the breakfast was remarkable. The staff were extremely helpful, the restaurant was booked up for dinner but the receptionist suggested some places to eat nearby which was helpful, overall overwhelmed with the visit and me and my partner are already planning our next visit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.3
    Extremely nice room apart from noise
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy. Bottle bank outside window and heating or air con noise all night. Bottles dropped on and off throughout day. Early morning too

    Kingsize bed. Lovely clean room. Robes, towels etc

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.8
    We felt the hotel looked rather jaded and needs to be redecorated .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains didn't fit properly. Breakfast really wasn't up to the standard you would expect from a hotel charging these prices. Our bath had a few chips in it.

    We found the staff extremely helpful and sorted out a problem we had with the heating being on constantly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.9
    Set in lovely gardens, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow noisy stairs to our room, strong smell of smoke in the room. Immediately after our booking, a "rider" appeared offering us a service, meet at Heathrow and short taxi ride to hotel, so we OKd this, paid the charge of 75 pounds. Arrived at airport after Travelling for 20 hours, no sign of taxi driver with our name. After 15 minutes, phone call from driver who was about 50 metres or more away from Arrivals area. Eventually in taxi, 15-20 minute drive to Maidenhead, and then the driver didn't know where the hotel was!!!! We advised the Hotel of this and they said the company was Not one they recommended and that they thought the charge was excessive. Not a good start to our U.K. experience!

    Set in lovely gardens, helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    4.2
    The restaurant was exceptional the grounds very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not acceptable. In particular the sink in the bathroom was out of order. There was no water at all and therefore we were unable to wash hands or brush teeth etch. Very poor. The overpowering smell of stagnant water was quiet unbearable least to say a health risk. I fail to see how if the room was cleaned before our arrival that this was not reported. We reported this to reception shortly after sign in, we were told that she would send maintenance to have a look which never happened. On check out the next morning the receptionist informed is that there was no maintenance present at weekends we did complain and I'm waiting for the duty manager to call me!! Very disappointed and completely spoiled a weekend .

    The restaurant was exceptional the grounds very pleasant. The facilities were very good.tge staff on booking in very friendly.shame about our room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.4
    Passable for £50/night; Laughable for £200/night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were numerous issues which left me feeling incredibly disappointed by my stay here. When you pay £200/night for a hotel, you expect the very best - and this was far from it. On check-in, I asked if we could book a table at the restaurant and I was told that 9pm was the only option left. This wasn't ideal but I agreed nonetheless. Imagine our surprise when we were one of just 3 couples in the large restaurant - clearly it wasn't as fully booked as had been communicated, so we could have eaten earlier! Our bedroom is in desperate need of a face-lift. It was ok, but slightly dated. Certainly not worth £200/night. The service in the restaurant was desperately poor which is a real shame given the outstanding quality of the food. We had to ask for water twice, we had to ask for bread twice, we had to ask for wine twice... You get the point! The red wine had been poorly stored and so was almost sparkling. I didn't complain at the time because we were so far through our meal that if I'd asked for a replacement (twice), it likely wouldn't have arrived before dessert! There is no Sky Sports in the hotel and so I had to go the Holiday Inn down the road to watch the rugby on the Saturday (thank you to Monica for organising this, she was very helpful). For £200/night, I'd expect not to have to go to a Holiday Inn for Sky Sports. We tried three times on the Saturday morning to call reception from our room and no-one picked up on any occasion. The breakfast on Sunday morning was an absolute embarrassment. We were told that breakfast was served until 10am and so on arrival at 9.40, we were surprised to have been told that there were no more croissants, no more juice, no more bananas and no more mushrooms. The bacon and sausages were really dreadful, there was no baked beans, and I challenge anyone to eat what they described as Scrambled Eggs. The grey liquid looked nothing like any Scrambled Egg I'd seen before.

    The hotel looks lovely from the outside and the reception area is very impressive. The staff at reception are welcoming, efficient and helpful. The hotel has a fitness centre and a pleasant spa area. The bathroom in the room was very nice. The quality of the food in the hotel restaurant at night was superb.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.7
    Overpriced great spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of the breakfast Also it was our anniversary and hotel did nothing special

    When I asked stuff They said they have No Vegetarian food Had to order a takeaway

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed my stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like

    Absolutely beautiful hotel, super clean with friendly, helpful and professional staff. Really comfy bed. Would highly recommend. The spa is amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    6.7
    OK but a scary experience....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above.

    Lovely looking hotel from the outside and equally well decorated and looks luxurious from the inside. Pleasant checking in experience. Hotel was very quiet as it was mid week. Despite the hotel being quite empty my room was probably about as far away from reception as you could get and up a few flights of stairs. My room was nice and the bed very comfy, however, the TV wasn't working and has no signal, I reported this to the receptionist whilst I had dinner (which was very very nice in the bar area). She told me they had replaced the cable. When I returned it was temporarily ok but failed again in the morning. The tap for the sink had a dismal flow...a trickle at best and I reported that in the morning. My most disturbing issue was that at about 1am someone tried to get in my room even though it was locked and closed properly. The chain was on luckily and I heard mens voices. I have no idea how someone could do this and reported this at checkout. The night porter (as I had to leave at about 6.45am for business was very apologetic and concerned and knocked off 15% off my bill which was a good gesture but didn't make up for what was a disappointing stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    5.8
    Stylish hotel but staff were rude, unfriendly and unprofessional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rudest and worst hotel reception staff we have ever, ever encountered in all our years of staying in hotels. My wife is 8 months pregnant and I called the hotel to see if we could arrive or check in early. We were told No and that we could not use the facilities before 3pm either by a very stern and rude person on the phone. Every other hotel we have ever stayed at (we travel a lot, both for business and pleasure) allow guests to come to the hotel beforehand to have food / sit in the grounds of the property). We then had a very rude phone call back to firmly tell us that under no circumstances could we arrive before 3pm...their call was to confirm with us that we would not arrive early as it was packed because of the Bank Holiday weekend!! My wife was very upset as it was a short break away for her before our baby arrived and literally the only reason we had booked this hotel was because it had an outdoor pool. Instead we spend 5 hours in Maidenhead town itself killing time (in the boiling heat) before 3pm. When we eventually arrived at the hotel (about 2:45pm) we had a quick look by the pool and the bar before we went to the reception area and they were both practically empty. Literally nobody internally in the hotel and 5 guests outside by the pool. Again this upset my wife as we were confused on why we could not have sat by the pool / bar for a few hours before our room was ready. When we got to reception both girls looked completely bored and not interested in any type of customer service. One of us eventually asks who we were and helded to check us in. The other girl then whispered to her colleague 'take the full amount off their card now' without even looking at us. The girl then turned to us and said 'I will just take a pre-authorisation from your card now' - but instead she took the full amount off without even telling us!

    Hotel itself was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    4.0
    Based on price paid, worst hotel I have ever stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just arrived home after being pushed from pillow to post in a substandard hotel which should be reported to Health and Safety group responsible for hotels. Arrived on Friday, unpacked and then found that the air con wasn't working. Reception said no problem, how would you like the bridal suite? Yes please, so we repackaged, moved and unpacked. Enjoying a drink on the terrace when everything started going pear shaped. The receptionist arrived to say that the suite was booked for the Saturday night so we would need to move. We started laughing, she was very apologetic, and we checked what time we had to leave the room. A bit cheesed off now but still smiling and a complimentary bottle of prosecco helped to cushion the inconvience of having to move rooms again. Next morning, we packed, had breakfast and went to check where we were being moved to. The Balmoral was our next port of call, which initially looked OK, so I said the swap was acceptable but then I remembered the air con and guess what - yep, it wasn't working. So back to reception to be told that the only remaining suite was the President Suite, which didn't have a balcony but was a bigger room and had working air con! So I checked the room and while I wasn't 100% happy with the swap, I said yes. How I wish I hadn't. We unpacked and we needed to iron our outfits for the evening, so Brian opened the "Guest Valet" cupboard, which we knew housed the trouser press and the iron. He opened the cupboard and crash, the unit fell out. Luckily he managed to catch it before it hit his legs. The unit was totally detached from the wall. So Brian went down to reception and asked for an ironing board and complained about the broken trouser press. Response to what could have been an accident was really lukewarm. What if a child had opened the door? Anyway, we waited in for 30 mins before an iron and board was brought to the room by the housekeeping supervisor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.1
    Nice leisure facilities, poor breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed with the breakfast. When staying before there was a hot breakfast buffet, this time a hot breakfast had to be ordered. I went for boiled eggs, grilled tomatoes and field mushrooms - a huge plate greeted me with two tiny eggs, half a pathetically small grilled tomato and half a greasy protabello mushroom. For bread that's from the 'continental' section - two options, white or pale brown. Also - for porridge, there was dry porridge in a jar, but no hot water or way to cook it / warm it up - the staff were confused when I asked for some hot water "to drink?!?" Also - fredericks have a bit of an identity crisis. Trying to be posh with patterned cutlery but then a paper napkin rather than a cotton serviette. A bit odd!

    Nice pool, sauna and steam room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    6.3
    The hotel was expensive for what you got.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was expensive for what you got. Our room had recently been refurbished, yet the TV didn't work properly (poor connection to the aerial). The public areas are dated and the spa limited both in terms of capacity and facilities. The hotel claimed to be full, yet had a "hollow" feel to it with not a lot of evidence of guests enjoying common areas such as restaurants or the pub. Despite the above which is intended more as observations than criticism we were comfortable and had an enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.9
    Good for a longer stay as lots of space
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We expected a patio or balcony but got the only junior suite without one ! The shower was rather dangerous as the water temperature was easily changed inadvertently, resulting in a deluge of freezing or more worryingly scalding water.

    Very friendly & helpful staff. Spacious room with a very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    3.8
    Definitely not returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water for a shower in one room. Another room smelt of smoke! Lamps not plugged in and light bulbs missing. Toaster at breakfast took SO long to toast the bread. The rooms really looked like they badly needed refurbishing. Only some bathrooms had been refurbished. Was very disappointed to find out that the Spa could only be used between check in and check out time. No where was this mentioned prior to booking. Very disappointing stay overall. Definitely not good value for money. Very dated property.

    The outdoor pool was lovely and warm. Bedrooms were of a reasonable size and the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.2
    Say no to room 14 until they sort out the noise coming from machine room.
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Original room I was put in was next to machine room, when I settled down to go to sleep there was a constant high pitched noise that stopped me sleeping. Rang reception they told me it would not be going off, they had to change my room. Changed room without any fuss, second room was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable, clean and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was limited and had to ask to several items that should have been out such as milk for tea/coffee, bread for toasting as it had run out, butter etc. Spa changing room toiletries had run out and limited seating.

    Good location and value.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value money for a relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are thin and we were disturbed by noise above us and next to us from early in the morning.

    My partner and I took a short break from London and stayed at the hotel for one night. The staff are professional and efficient, from a quick check in to dairy-free milk we'd requested in our room in five minutes from calling reception. The hotel decor is dated somewhat, but it is well kept and clean with everything in good working order. The spa is small yet we managed to have private use of sauna, steam room and outdoor pool at various points during our stay. Overall excellent value for money, and that's before the complimentary upgrade we received. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: