Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of House of Agnes 4 stars

71 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury, CT2 8BN, United Kingdom

#2 of 24 B&Bs and Inns in Canterbury

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 500 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    A perfectly located clean hotel efficiently run by friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. There is some road noise if at the front but it is not a problem. As the building is very old there is some creaking of the floorboards but again no problem.

    A slightly quirky but we'll run, perfectly located hotel. Staff were efficient, polite and knowledgeable. Woutdoor definitely visit again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    excellent and enjoyable stay would reccomend to everyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I,m disabled and in a wheelchair most times and it was diffulcult entering the hotel , other then that everything else was catered for.

    the grounds were beautifully laid out, for a bb the amenities were excellent,the staff were very friendly and catered for all our needs .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    Delightful character hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely ancient building but with modern bathrooms and very comfortable beds. I stayed in the Boston room which was very quiet. The staff were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble so thank you for the extra heater, lots of camomile tea bags and winter duvet. I was perfectly warm. The breakfast was delicious, excellent fresh fruit salad, greek yogurt and perfectly poached egg. No problem with getting my volvo in through the hotel gate but pulling in your wing mirrors and going slowly is essential! Would highly recommend this hotel when visiting the city - and just a few minutes to lovely walks along the Great Stour. Loved seeing chess, draughts and dominoes laid out in the public rooms - and the honesty bar is a nice idea.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.8
    House of Agnes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike. We had a slight issue with the heating not going off but it was soon sorted.

    Great location. Very nice stable room. You are quite close to the railway but it didn't bother us. Loved the honesty bar and the breakfast choice and quality was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Nice staff,nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was excellent.

    Nice hostess. Very clean, town 1 minute walk . Breakfasr nice good choice. Comfy bed. Free wi-fi. Free car park. I would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had mould on the wall which needed cleaning off.

    Liked the honesty bar and the seating area with board games. The garden was lovely for sitting in. Breakfast was very tasty expecially the sausages. Nice to have the car park although it's a narrow entrance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting at bathroom mirror could be improved.

    Amazing staff, so friendly and helpful. Very historic property but oozing ambience. Stayed in stable annex which was very cosy. Nice modern bathroom, comfortable bed, very quiet. A short walk puts you in the heart of Canterbury centre. We made a great choice when we selected House of Agnes.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Very relaxing few days to discover Canterbury in an exceptional bed and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Close proximity to the hub of Canterbury. Staff very helpful - comfy bed and lovely garden to relax in. Excellent breakfast freshly cooked to order.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful old character building, lovely comfortable room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accessibility could be an issue. Lots of steps in this beautiful old building but my 85 year old mum coped very well.

    Beautiful old character building, lovely comfortable room, lovely garden, an easy walk into the old city and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Perfect get away. Would book here again if we were to visit same area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t anything that wasn’t liked about the stay.

    The honesty bar was a great feature. Games corner was nice to have and the DVD borrowing idea was a nice touch (maybe a newer selection of films needed though) Staff were very friendly and inviting.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing and perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath/shower in the same room as bed, screened only by a gauzy see-through curtain. I like my privacy.

    Friendly, garden with deckchairs etc, Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    The owner and staff were amazing, making us feel very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner and staff were amazing, making us feel very welcome as soon as we arrived. The facilities were superb, especially the honesty bar, which was well stocked and a welcome addition. Great location, set in beautiful surroundings steeped in history.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    A small friendly well run hotel ideal for a short break or as a base to explore the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all.

    The welcome was excellent with a detailed tour of the facilities- a generous selection of beverages in the room & toiletries in the bathroom. A good breakfast was provided & a daily special added ( eg scrambled eggs & smoked salmon ) a nice touch. All the staff encountered were extremely friendly & helpful & the hotel has pleasant grounds to relax in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Extremely pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we had a room overlooking the main road which in itself was not a problem. The problem came at about 6.00 in the morning when the Sainsburys delivery lorry turned up to deliver to the Sainsburys Local on the opposite side of the road. Woke us every morning. Also we were woken late evening by guests using the room above and the very creaky floors. These would not prevent us from using this hotel again if we had rooms at the back.

    Parking, garden, location, breakfast, honesty bar and staff were helpful and polite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Picturesque
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noises from the adjacent train tracks, but at tolerable levels since we weren't light sleepers.

    Great staff, they helped drive our car through the narrow carpark entrance after we grazed the side on our way in. Beautiful property with nice ambience. We love that the room had adjustable heating. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower (Shanghai) was connected the wrong way around - hot was blue, cold was red.

    It was well placed by Canterbury west station and a short walk into the city centre. A huge garden with plenty of seats and an honesty bar so I could sit out in the sunshine at the end of a long day with a beer. The room was clean and comfortable, the tiny shower room was fine, pretty good for such an old property. Friendly efficient staff and about the best breakfast I have ever had in a small B&B, there were no shortcuts on ingredients, everything was the real thing (yes, I'm a Brit, orange juice from a container IS the real thing, freshly squeezed is for places with their own orange production). It had air con in the room - a bit over the top as although it was a hot evening the building was cool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous location .
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location . Beautiful setting . Loved the room really quaint . Friendly staff . Loved the honesty bar and the board games . Deckchairs in the beautiful garden lovely to chill out in . Top breakfast next day , would highly recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are really friendly. The hotel has bags of character and is just so beautiful as are the gardens. It was very easy to get to by car and a pratically right near the high street. We had an amazing stay and will definitely be going back. We can't rate this hotel high enough. Well done an thankyou to the owners and staff for making our stay so special

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic central place to stay. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything lacking.

    We stayed in the stable block which was beautifully decorated with everything you could need. Accessed through a lovely garden. Main house very quirky. Breakfast delicious. Lovely buffet and cooked breakfast piping hot. All staff very friendly, helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Very comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Very comfortable beds. The whole hotel felt like a private village. If you want to stay in Canterbury, this is the best place in the whole city!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.1
    In close proximity of the station and the centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decoration of the Venice room was rather tacky in my opinion

    In close proximity of the station and the centre of Canterbury, Comfotable bed, Lovely garden, Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Absolutely perfect in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked more opaque curtains to keep the early sunrise out.

    All the staff were, without exception, friendly and efficient. Location could not have been more perfect - within walking distance of station and main tourist attractions. Tea and coffee tray replenished daily. Honesty bar with drinks and snacks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    fabulous and made even better by the weather!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Breakfast was very good, very comfortable beds, soft towels and excellent tea and coffee making facilities. The honesty bar was excellent too - very well stocked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    A wonderful few days at an excellent B & B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not one thing

    Wonderful. Exceeded all expectations. So comfortable. Superb breakfasts. Beautiful gardens. Friendly and very helpful staff. We had a wonderful few days in Canterbury, thanks to The House of Agnes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Lots of character, great staff, and tasty breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As it's a very old building (which in itself is great!), the bathroom facilities in my room had to be squeezed into quite a small space. The sink was very small and difficult to use for washing my face. The hotel sits on a main road, but the noise wasn't too bad.

    The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The location is great as well - a two minute walk to Canterbury West train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    An excellent stay in a quality, friendly and characterful hotel - would be our first choice again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor downsides - our bathroom was tiny, though nice to have a shower that works really well and where nothing leaks (and all the rooms are very individual so bathrooms probably vary quite a bit). We like a very dark room for sleeping and although the curtains blacked out the bedroom window effectively, there was a small window above the toilet door that lets in a little light, but it probably won’t trouble most people. The full cooked breakfast was small but overall breakfast was good and the daily specials a nice touch, especially as we stayed for several nights.

    All the staff were welcoming and helpful and the location is great (short stroll from Canterbury West station, close to the river, the Westgate and lovely namesake park and moments from lots of cafe and pub options). We had a very large and comfortable bed in an attractive room with good storage. Great to have a properly openable window. The wi-fi was excellent and the garden, lounge and honesty bar were lovely features. The building’s age and history added a lot of character without compromising comfort at all - its adaptation to a quality B&B has been very well thought through to deliver the best of both worlds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent room in very convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not that good. Fruit salad quite dull. Full English ok but not the best quality we have had elsewhere for a cheaper rate.

    Very central location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    The House of Agnes is a good central hotel,convient,good breakfast and above all excellent staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    With my short stay I cannot think of anything that I didn't like about my stay.

    I stayed for 1 night in one of the stables. It was modern, clean and warm. The hotel was very central and made the weekend very convient as I needed to go and come from the hotel. The staff were excellent and made you feel welcome from checking in to checking out. It was also important to park my car at the hotel. Friends I met up with staying at other hotels spent time and lots of money finding somewhere to park their cars.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Live only 17 miles away but staying here made Theatre trip into a lovely weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room wàs a little to quiet.

    So nice to stay in a room with character. Hotels most of the time are pretty much same old design and layout.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have more information for travelling on buses and trains if some people want to explore outside Canterbury.

    Cleanliness, friendliness, location, amazing building

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work all the time

    Beautiful old main building, accommodation spaces beautifully re-done and staff was absolutely lovely! Breakfast was very versitile as well

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Really enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no negatives.

    Friendly comfortable and so near everything. Parking was a bonus being so near the town centre, literally 5 mins, lovely place to stay would recommend all day long.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic weekend break in the heart of Canterbury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a great place to stay as it is so close to everything Canterbury has to offer. The staff were helpful and welcoming. Excellent breakfast and everything you needed in the rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    We absolutely loved our stay and we would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was there on the breakfast side of things, continental and full Kentish breakfast, service was excellent, continental fab but we just felt that in terms of the breakfast an upgrade on the sausages and bacon would be good as they tasted a bit cheap and didn’t match the whole experience everywhere else. It would definitely not put us off staying again, purely a little feedback.

    Staff were super friendly and helpful. Loved the honesty bar. The whole feel of the place had lots of quirky charm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    House of Agnes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    The property was full of interesting history. The room clean and comfortable. Breakfast could not be faulted and the staff we super attentive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed in our room was a little hard, and the access for the parking is a bit tight!

    A really good and welcoming place to stay and so convenient for the city. Great food at breakfast, locally sourced. the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Lovely facilities throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    Another great stay at this hotel !
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Every excellent, however on last night the staff allowed an off the street customer to stay in the room directly next door to us and it turned out she was only there to meet her friends and party.All her friends were in her room at all hours ,which in turn meant we had a very bad nights sleep. This could have been avoided if she was put in another room , which was not next to another guest. Other rooms were available too! Apart from that , we had a lovely stay. Again !! I think the staff have learnt from this mistake!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.8
    We would come back, but would probably stay in the main building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not like staying in the stables only because we did not realise we would be right behind the train tracks. Very noisy if you want to sleep before the trains stop in the late evening, but we appreciated earplugs being provided in the room.

    Location is very convenient walk to everything. Loved the jacuzzi tub.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Great location right in city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave

    Great location right in city centre.....staff are so nice and friendly....great breakfasts I stayed in Stable room ....immaculate and warm Lovely Bar , which you “help yourself to” and put the details in the Honesty Book ....great idea and works Would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to family and friends

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Lovely relaxing base from which to explore Canterbury.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't fault anything.

    Very comfortable bed and quiet room in a lovely old building. Great breakfast and friendly, efficient staff. Ideal location for exploring the center of the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Can't wait to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful building, staff were lovely and helpful and made us feel right at home. We stayed in one of the stable buildings just before Christmas - room was clean, cosy and warm (the underfloor heating in the en suite was a particular favourite!). It's really close to the center and there were some really nice restaurants on the same road as the b&b. Will definitely be going back again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Excellent B&B in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great B&B. Staff excellent, breakfast delicious, comfortable room in beautiful old building. Just a few minutes walk from Cathedral and centre of town. Enjoyed our stay so much we booked again before leaving.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed here before which is exactly why I rebooked, lovely clean rooms, very comfortable beds, very friendly staff, great location, would definitely recommend

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only staying one night

    on arrival we were greeted with a great big smile and you felt at home,the staff were so helpful with all our requirements nothing was to much trouble for them even when we up graded to another beautiful room. If you need to stay in Canterbury the house of agnes is a must the best B & B my wife and I have stayed in.Thank you all see you again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.8
    5 min walk to station and less than an hour from London and 5 min walk to city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Train line is very near but you could only just hear them - except for one Goods Train during the weekend

    Anna greeted us. Showed us all the facilities before escorting us to our room, and carried our baggage

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Yet another lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside is road noise - but they have no control over that.

    House of Agnes always goes the extra mile - the room was superb and the breakfast is always outstanding. The location is unbeatable and in comparison with many other hotels and guest houses, there is nowhere like it, in our experience. We will be back!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.9
    Very friendly and smily staff who are willing to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking.The passage leading to car park is wide enough for horse and carriage. Extreme cautious a must. About 2 inches either side of the car.

    Friendly staffs. Loved the 'honesty bar'.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent from the check in to check out It was our anniversary and they made our stay special, even got us an anniversary card I could not recommend higher

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not manage to access the wifi.

    The bed was comfortable. The room was very well heated. There was ample parking. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The location is excellent. The bathroom was very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    One of the best b&b's I have ever stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    All the staff were super friendly (particular shout out to Cheryl at breakfast!) and helpful and could not do enough for us. Bloke and I are both vegans and I am also gluten intolerant but this did not phase them in the slightest and they served us as a wonderful and filling breakfast. The room was beautiful (we stayed in The Canterbury) and the shower hot and powerful, the towels big and fluffy. It was a little noisy but we expected that being right in the centre of Canterbury so will not complain about that. Touches like The Honesty Bar just only further added to the overall fabulous experience of this amazing b&b.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More herbal and green teas in the room Shower hat should be provided by B & B Because there was only a shower

    The style of the B & B The friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Cosy hotel with the friendliest staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow entrance to parking lot, but that was mentioned on the website.

    Excellent omelette for breakfast, very friendly staff, clean and comfortable room,great location and a cosy 'honesty' bar!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    An excellent location by the centre of town, with everything within easy walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They seemed to have thought of everything to make our stay perfect but a couple of little touches let them down just a shade ... why only a liquid hand wash and shower wash when one or two small bars of soap would have been appreciated - and have been much more practical. And what hotel doesn't provide a box of tissues?

    Delicious fresh food mainly from local independent suppliers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Great comfort in a fabulous historical old building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything. Oh the plastic chairs in the breakfast room just don't go, with the oldly worldly wonderful decor the place has. But just being picky. We would go back in a heartbeat

    Room fantastic and bed and duvet so comfortable. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    A very historic place to stay with lots of lovely old features. Warm, pleasant and inviting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have a larger car the entrance way is historic but a little daunting. The road is busy with parked cars (not the owners fault) so it can be tricky if your car is larger to get the right angle to make it through. I found it quite stressful after a long drive, although I had been pre warned and given advice by the staff👌. I went ahead and made it through (not liking the idea of leaving my car on the busy main road outside or in the Sainsbury’s car park which cant be seen from the accommodation. So it can be done! Even in a 2016 Range Rover Sport. Watch out for the low level obstructions right at the beginning of the entrance. They’re wooden and that’s where I became a bit unstuck as I didn’t see them in the dark. Once through, the parking bays are marked for each room, so that’s good! The other issue I had was the main train line running at the back of the property. I think they stopped around 12.30 and began around 6. They did have ear plugs in the bathroom jar but I didn’t find them until the morning.

    The room was modern and clean. Great shower (very new and powerful) + toiletries and super bedding & bed. Also, plenty of light, storage and mirrors. The staff went out of their way to be helpful too. Ensuring I could have a late check in.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Really enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee with breakfast could have been better, but that's just my opinion, many other people were having 2nd & 3rd cups!

    Great central location. Lovely venue and great facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in the Shanghai room and the desk was not easy to use since there was a low ceiling above it. Would have preferred more writing space.

    The staff were nice and helpful (the stairs were a challenge if you had big bulky luggage but they compensated for it by helping me carry my luggage up and down). Room was comfortable and clean in general. Location was great - a few mins walk to Canterbury West station, Westgate Towers and the fabulous Westgate Gardens.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    wonderful stay, great people, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One block from train station, just down the street from the medieval gate to the central old town. easy walk to the Cathedral. Wonderful shops, the ultra modern theater and some of the best restaurants anywhere. Staff were eager to help me plan what to see, where to eat and what to do.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Wish I could have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel with all facilities required to have a great stay. Very unique in its setting and decor. Breakfast very good. Parking secure. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Super B&B 2 mins walk from Canterbury town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location could not have been better. A real surprise when you drive into the car park, lovely big garden! We stayed in one of the garden rooms and even though the railway line was very near the bathroom, we heard very little noise (and I am a light sleeper). Very nice little 'Honesty bar'. We had a super meal across the road in the turkish restaurant!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly. Quirky but lovely accommodation. Very close to centre and easily within walking distance. Breakfast was delicious and a really good choice including gluten free toast and cereals.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.8
    Perfect for travellers, clean and very professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stables were on the train line, it didn't bother us but the sound might bother some people.

    Nice and close to Canterbury West station and the high street. We stayed in the 'stables' which were modern and serviceable. Breakfast was plentiful and decent. Staff were fantastic. Sainsbury's Local directly over the road.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    Exceptional would so recommend staying here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found a spider in the bathroom haha

    We just loved the way we were made to feel at home and complete trust , parked the car up for the three days and just enjoyed Canterbury x wonderful 100%

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Perfekt for a short stay in Canterbury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was extremly nice here. The location is very central but calm. Everybody was very nice and friendly. The room (Paris) was tiny and very clean. The breakfast was also fine. There was really nothing to complain about!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Already looking at dates for our next visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything that could be improved!

    Beautifully maintained with tonnes of character. I stayed in a Stable Room with my mother, lovely new built properties. Perfect location - 5 minute walk from Canterbury West station and 5 minutes walk in the other direction to the centre of town. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. We will be back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Fabulous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great breakfast as cooked on request rather than buffet style. Chefs Eggs Benedict were amazing. Really quirky hotel successfully mixing historical with modern .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    The bathroom is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we didn't realise the hotel is situated very close to train lines. So we could hear trains were going time to time. And also the wall to next room was thin so could hear noises and tv from it.

    The bathroom is very nice. Clean, big and jacuzzi is a bonus! Staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast was great but the chef needs to learn to cook the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Laneway width to off street parking was very tight - especially for a van or large car. No sky sports TV channel

    Breakfast was great but the chef needs to learn to cook the eggs how the customer wants it (ie not hard if one wants soft)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    House of Agnes is a well restored 600 year old beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    House of Agnes is a well restored 600 year old beautiful building. Each room was beautiful and had a different style which made it a lot of fun. The staff was fantastic and the breakfast was wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Canterbury is a lovely town and we went to the coast which was lovely so really enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For some reason we were given the Canterbury room which is very antique in furnishings not really our cup of tea as we have very modern furniture and like light open areas this was the opposite. It had a 4 poster bed which is a smallish double so didn't sleep well even though it was quite comfortable, but we are used to a king size, we had a tiny toilet and shower. The room next door was totally opposite, lovely light and airy and very modern with a large bed and modern bathroom with a bath, we would ask for a modern room if booking again direct with them.

    Lovely staff and management, beautiful garden, breakfast was lovely and lots of choice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Great place in Canterbury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Railway noise behind stable rooms but no trains run during the night. Entrance for cars is really narrow, push your door mirrors in and you'll be OK.

    Private parking, central location and quality room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    8.3
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was difficult and stressful at the end of a very busy and stressful day but understandable because of the type and location of Hotel so i should have paid more attention to the listing re parking accessibility

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.5
    A historic accommodation with an excellent location. Friendly, efficient staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room we were in ( Boston) , I was not comfortable with the king sized bed as I found it dipping in the centre of the mattress. We were quickly relocated to another room ( Tokyo) no problem this time.

    Excellent customer care. Very responsive to clients concerns and needs. Quick resolution of any problems. Friendly and very helpful staff. Wonderful service during breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    excellent for old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpfulness in altering our rooms to be ground floor and next to me each other. Lots of atmosphere in old part. Honesty bar and areas to sit inside and out were great. Nearness to sites of interest.Tasty breakfasts and local produce.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    A great place to stay when visiting Canterbury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was very near to the railway - both the bed and room vibrated when trains passed.

    Very central location, with parking. Good food, friendly staff, large bedroom and bathroom with plenty of space for things. Lots of nearby shops and placed to eat at night.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: