Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Galtres Lodge Hotel & Restaurant 3 stars

City Centre, 54 Low Petergate, York, YO1 7HZ , United Kingdom

#41 of 46 hotels in York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 895 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small for a family room but it is a character property so expected.

    Really helpful staff who went out of their way to make our stay more comfortable and easier as we were travelling with our daughter who is 1.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and facilities were quite small (not a massive problem, but as a big lad I felt a bit cramped), offsite parking can be tricky to get into or out of, and the need to hand in our room keys every time we left the hotel felt a bit awkward.

    Location is great - right in the centre of York, less than a minute walk from York Minster. Wonderful authentic architecture and lively shambles atmosphere just at the doorstep. All in all - great location and value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointed in the Bedroom size, advertised as King room and this relates to the bed size only, my wife and I kept bumping into each other, the room hadn't been dusted for a while, you could see the dust on top of the units as they are dark wood, I pulled an extra pillow out of the wardrobe which then left the shape of the pillow surrounded by dust, at £300 for 2 nights this is poor

    The bathroom was huge and made up for the disappointment of the room size, restaurant is excellent and the biggest plus is its location. Breakfast is fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very dark and the decor & fittings in the whole building are quite tired & dated. The beds are very low - lots of people would struggle. Would be nice to have ceramic basin in the bathroom rather than plastic & the white toilet seat was so worn in one patch it looked dirty. Location is good but very noisy at night.

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed spares were broken so need repaired or new beds Good location but due to heat we had to open the window so noisy in the wee small hours with people

    Location during the day

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic little place with good, helpful staff. Easy to find, and in the centre of the "action of York" Room was small, but very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise

    The property is perfectly situated for the Minster and most things around the city. The rooms are dated, but clean; however if you’re on the front you may experience noise from the revellers as they leave.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not so much didn't like but we had room 14 up in the attic a bit of an Alice in Wonderland experience. But we paid a last minute rate for one night so no problem. Full rate and a 3 day stay in this room probably not.

    Location great and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Difficult to sleep - music & voices outside until late then dustmen at 6am! Poor lighting in bedroom, noisy extractor fan in bathroom & only one small towel rail.

    Close to historic area of York. Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was so tiny I struggled getting in and out of shower and I'm not large. Staff dirted a dress in the room which was dry cleaned at no cost to me but I had to raise it and it was unnecessary stress.

    Staff were very helpful. Breakfast was tasty

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We don't like anything about our stay apart for York off which is a marvellous place the management took no notice of our complaint, we did book a superior room and at the time I did ask reception what it was superior to perhaps a cows shed.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The downside if you are in a car is that the parking is a good 10-minute walk if you have lots of luggage, though that's not a massive issue if you are even vaguely mobile (and you can apparently drop luggage off in front if you need to). We were in an upper room and the bathroom is pretty small under the sloping roof, which would certainly not put me off but made it a bit awkward for my pregnant girlfriend and if you are of a rounder figure might be more of an issue.

    The hotel is what you would expect from an old building in a city such as York. The stairs are many and narrow, the rooms small and oddly shaped (which I actually like), but it is also very comfortable and friendly with a good breakfast choice. It' a 2-minute walk from the Minster and Shambles and so in a fantastic spot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very clean with a lovely comfortable bed, lots of wardrobe space, a very large bathroom with a bath and shower, tea and coffe (and biscuits). There were extra blankets and pillows if needed as well as an air conditioner/heater. The location was perfect, next to the minster, dungeons, bars and places to eat, a tesco incase you run out of anything and the shambles too. The staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. You also get 15% discount off food and drink while you stay there. Breakfast the next morning was delicious, with juice, hot drinks and toast included on top of the full english. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked everything about this hotel - there is NOTHING that disappointed.

    Breakfast was amazing. Rooms were all different and quirky. If you are tall stay clear of the attic or be prepared to get into bed on your hands and knees. Don't be put off though its a little gem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is right in the middle of the old city very close to the Cathedral. It is nice and clean, has parking in about half a mile. It has a restaurant with good food. If you drive, ask the hotel how to approach them by car. They are on a closed for traffic street. It is not difficult.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unfortunately, although we had opted for a higher graded room to ensure we were only one floor up, the toilet and wash/shower room were very small.

    The location was perfect although taxis could not go directly to the hotel during the day. They could however drop and pick up at York Minster approx. 200 yards away. Might cause problems for some with disabilities especially since there was no lift.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the kitchen which you could hear day and evening from the most expensive room we booked. Could not fault anything else about the room or the description on the website but would not pay the extra again to have this room because of the noise.

    ALL the staff were very friendly and polite and nothing was too much trouble if you needed anything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was a bit sparse. No shelves for anything. Shower not too great. A suggestion would be to have a luggage frame for putting your suitcase on - as the floor was the only option really apart from on top of the chest of drawers. Otherwise ok.

    Perfect location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet very cramped with no washbasin and separate from small shower room with washbasin. Noise from kitchen fans. No air conditioning and could not have window open because of noise from kitchen fan.

    Breakfast good. Excellent location. Looked after our luggage after checkout.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    FOR THE LAST THREE TIMES I HAVE BOOKED THIS HOTEL I HAVE BEEN GIVEN THE ATTIC ROOM/S. THEY ARE VERY SMALL AND THE SLOPPING ROOF IS NO GOOD TO MY 6FT HUSBAND. THE BATHROOM IS SO TINY WE HAD TO HAVE THE SHOWER DOOR OPEN BECAUSE WHEN YOU TRIED TO SIT THE WC WAS SO CLOSE TO THE SHOWER YOU HEAD BUTTED THE SHOWER DOOR. THERE IS ONE WINDOW IN OUR ROOM WHICH OPEN DIRECT ONTO THE ROOF WHICH I COULD TOUCH AND MY FRIENDS ROOM HAD A VERY SMALL SKYLIGHT WINDOW. MY FRIENDS ARE A LITTLE LARGER THEN ME AND STRUGGLED TO EVEN GET IN THE SHOWER ROOM AS THE GAP BETWEEN THE EDGE OF THE WC AND THE SHOWER DOOR IS ABOUT 12 INCHES. THE FIRST TIME I GOT THIS ROOM MY HUSBAND SAID HE WOULD PUT UP WITH IT AS IT WAS ONLY TWO NIGHTS. THE NEXT TIME HE REFUSED AS THEY ARE SO UNCOMFORTABLE WE COULDN'T SLEEP. WHEN WE ARRIVED THIS TIME WE GOT THEM AGAIN! WE WOULDN'T MIND BUT ALMOST £400.00 FOR TWO TERRIBLE ROOMS FOR TWO NIGHTS IS A BIT MUCH. HALF THAT WOULD HAVE BEEN MORE LIKE IT. DON'T THINK WE WILL BOOK AGAIN AS THERE ARE OTHER HOTELS WITH BETTER ROOMS AT A MORE REASONABLE PRICE.

    THE LOCATION IS BRILLIANT

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not a hotel it’s a very old and run down B&B I booked a superior room but nothing like the pictures on the web not satisfactory at all and the was the second room we were offered the toilet was the in a cubbyhole the carpet was thread bare for the prices they charge you expect a decent room and a nights sleep we got neither on a good note the staff were very good so was the breakfast the location was wonderful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking did not have much time to see York...time wasted finding somewhere to park my car.....

    They need to take off parking on there web site as I wasted 4hours because they don't have there own parking spaces.....not happy at all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small. Bathroom so small had to stand side on to use sink & leave shower door open to allow knee space to use toilet. However, for a weekend break, when out exploring most of the time -room size was acceptable.

    Room was clean. Breakfast was excellent. Superb location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had the single room with shower. This was small and mattress was lumpy but staff dealt with my complaint and I slept well.

    The location was great - at the back is the Minster and at the front are the narrow streets with shops and restaurants. Staff were friendly and helpful. My brother and his wife loved their King room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Separate Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There used to be a main bathroom with a bath that all the guests could use but now it seems that only room 6 has the use of?

    The central location is perfect for sightseeing and shopping in York, the georgian building with an original fireplace in the restaurant is homely and cosy. The food at breakfast and evening dinner was excellent as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though the room was lovely. Its position in the attic was a bit of a let down as we were not made aware at time of booking, this was also true of breakfasts, they were not included in the price.

    Very friendly staff and easily accessible to most areas of York

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal location to visit the local attractions and night life

    Excellent staff and beautiful breakfast, but the room was very small with uncomfortable beds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit dusty; there was dust on the fan, and on the paintings on the wall. The water pressure of the shower wasn’t strong enough, it took me a while to have a shower. Water bottles should have been provided for guests who don’t like to drink tab water.

    The location is great. Clean towels, and comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We always love the food, the wine selection is great - Barbera was very nice, we had a bottle both nights - and the breakfasts are super. It was wonderful to have a room looking at the Minster this time. Super location. We would like to come again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was very old and tired, springs sticking in your body all night. Fire alarm activated 08:05 on Sunday morning for about 20secs, no explanation.

    Close to everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room tiny bang elbows and shines off all furnitsher .wind whistle in windows that you not able 2 open false double glazing.would stay in larger room but told booking.com sell theses rooms

    Close 2 all amenities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The photos of the hotel are not true to what we were given. Our room was small and dingy (room 10) and the beds were cheap and uncomfortable. What I really didn't like is that it says there is parking available, what it doesn't tell you is that the car park is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel in a pub car park which they charge you £5 per day to park. We had a few bags to carry and when you're walking to the hotel in the pouring rain its no fun let me tell you. I don't think the price reflects the hotel, the only reason they can charge what they do is because the hotel is so central to everything

    The location is in the heart of the city with lots of bars and restaurants nearby

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Separate Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As stated in other reviews the hotel itself is tired and needs some care. I did not realise that the toilet was separate to my room (this may be my own oversight) but actually the ladies was 2 floors away from my room! (Not ideal)

    The bed was comfy and the young ladies who served breakfast were really lovely. The location was exceptional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the top floor up a lot of stairs and was absolutely tiny. Not much room to manouver inside at all. We also had to duck to get through the door of our room and the noise when someone in the room either side had a shower or used the toilet sounded like a drill/building site.

    However, really good breakfast to a high standard. Room was very clean. Excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do think the bed in the room could be upgraded to king size. The bathroom was freezing! No heating, only a heated towel rail. The shower needs a total upgrade too. Could not fault the staff, they were very pleasant and helpful.

    Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like it was an open restaurant as you walk in to your room , having to leave key every time you leave is annoying , bathroom window was right on the high street and the curtain was only a shower curtain to cover up your modesty . The breakfast was ok a little small and options are limited , coffee was worse Ive ever had unfortunately . No parking near although we found the pub car park we were told to park on it was a good 5–8 min walk away and only. A small car park so not sure where you would park if that was full ? The staff in the pub when we paid for parking (additional £5) were very nice and said we could park all day the next day too how ever , I don’t think I’d stay there again although the location was good.

    Great location , nice staff , room was average , ok for one night stay .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small issue with the cleanliness- there were spider nets on the curtains and the ceiling. Very small room. These weren't significant issues at all and didn't affect our overall stay experience

    Perfect location, couldn't hope for better. Pretty vintage rooms, ours had a view to the Minster. Very friendly and helpful staff. Loved the breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very compact but in the heart of the old town probably to be expected. Window unopenable so did slightly affect the quality of my sleep.

    Most staff very friendly. Good breakfast, plenty of refills. Great location and very quiet during the night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave room key everytime you went out incase fire alarm went off. You ask for your room key when u come back in and as many staff whom work different hours anyone could ask for your room key and enter your room when out. Dirty cotton bud on floor near skirting board under mirror which was there for the two days of our stay so cleaner not very good

    Location is in the heart of york Breakfast was great apart from only one cup of coffee instead of pot

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a shame that after requesting towels I was sent one with a hole in it.

    The location of this hotel is superb. You only have to step out to be in the heart of York. I stopped in the single room with ensuite. It was very well equipped with TV, hairdryer, ample Tea & Coffee, bathroom toiletries. I had a lovely evening meal in the restaurant and had a choice of Vegetarian dishes. I wasn't the only single diner and felt quite comfortable on a table for one. In the morning the breakfast was freshly cooked and vegetarians are well catered for.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car parking was 1 mile away by car, and an 8 minute walk back. The bedroom was not big enough to swing a cat. The bathroom was miniscule, and needed much cleaning on the sealant. Breakfast was served by waitresses, but you had to ask for more coffee after 1 cup. Why not provide a coffee pot?

    The location was good; and the breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a king room but found the room was quite small, the bathroom was very large but freezing cold.

    The breakfast was very good and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on top floor (no lift) very pokey and bed was very low. Can't imagine what it would be like in the summer, very hot I expect

    friendly staff and location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being on the top floor, but then I’ve booked it last minute. So, all good.

    Team members were extremely caring and friendly, especially Erica and Steve.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds, hardly any sleep, springs in the mattress sticking up, so uncomfortable, please replace. Would be better with bath sheets, not bath towels, they would not go round me or my husband, if you are a size 10 , you would be ok

    Location is excellent, staff are friendly and very helpful. The food in the restaurant is fantastic, we regularly go here for lunch on day trips to York.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing was loud when you flushed the toilet. It didn’t necessarily bother us, not sure about our neighbours.

    Friendly staff. It was clean and well presented. Location is the best!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Separate Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small room but I knew that in advance, acceptable if all one wanted was a bed, shower and breakfast which suited me.

    Helpful staff and a reasonable meal on the Saturday evening. Also very close to Minster where I was singing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small ensuite and poor shower, though it was nice and hot. Decor needs updating

    Great breakfast, very helpful and accomodating staff. Fantastic location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    booked this for my daughter and her partner who had never been to York before. They were totally thrilled with the location the room the staff and breakfast. Overall 10/10

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses were in a terrible state and not fit to sleep on. One of them had a large dip in the centre and the springs dug into your body. The room was warm enough with an additional heater on, but the bathroom was freezing as it had no heater.

    Staff were friendly and efficient and the food was very tasty.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom had no heater so had to always have door open

    Location was great. breakfast lovely and got a latte instead of coffee. The extras like cotton wool balls and pads. we booked a superior room and was pleased with the size and facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There seemed to be a hole in the floor underneath the carpet which meant I rolled my ankle slightly a couple of times whilst walked through the room.

    The staff were all really friendly, the room was cosy and quiet and always clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception is actually a bar, Apart from a very cramped room about three meters square there was nowhere to sit and relax, our room was No2, it was supposed to be a superior room, they had for some reason taken some of the room off to create a new bathroom with a seperate toilet, and that was the problem! The toilet was so small that we couldn't pull our clothes back up without leaving it and stepping outside of it, there was no extractor fan anywhere either, bith my wife and myself are only small so it really would be a problem for bigger guests, we are not moaners or gripers but thought these points were very valid.

    The food was well priced and very good, staff were very helpful, position of hotel was excellent. They accomodated us on the first floor which was what we requested so all in all we had a good stay but because of penny pinching it was spoiled for us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As stated bathroom small, can't be altered due to age of building.

    The bedding, towels and bathroom were very clean. The room and bathroom (12) were tiny. Bigger people would not be able to cope with sloping ceilings and small spaces between shower,toilet and sink. Staff on site were great,breakfast very good value and the location superb. It was a good stay but needs a deep clean and a freshen up.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was at a sister pub. it would have helped a lot to have been given this information before we travelled. The streets of York are very narrow

    location location location The night porter went above and beyond his role offering us water and biscuits after our night out on new years eve

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking is available at a nearby pub, and you may have to lug your cases 10mins through the street as the area is closed off to traffic for most of the day. But once you see the area the hotel’s in you’ll understand why. Also, the bed wasn’t the most comfortable I’ve slept in.

    We stayed here for two nights and absolutely loved York. Wr found The Galtres perfect for our needs. You couldn’t get a better location in York, right in centre of town and very close to the Minster. The rooms are basic, but comfortable, the ensuite is tiny but it’s in a very old building so that’s to be expected. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely disappointed with the camp style beds in the single rooms, very uncomfortable and the rooms were cold.

    Location is good and breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room, tired paint work on walls and furniture. Ripped carpet, very small bathroom, wasn’t cleaned properly on first day but was much cleaner on the second day. Room was nothing like any of the photos. I tried to raise my concerns with a staff member and was told booking.com are happy so I should be

    Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    as above disgusting & should of had all my money back not an insult of only 25% it is wrong advertisement on the net the rooms look so nice how fooled we was

    The room was atrocious to say the least I was even going to come home we have never experience anything like it and we have stayed in loads of hotels I took photos& showed them all they offered us was 25% 0ff which I think we shouldn't of paid anything and might go to trip adviser the kettle was disgusting brown gel dirt at bottle couldn't even have a hot drink cobwebs with spider both corners that would of not happened over a week its months we and our friends never even showered the furniture was awful&worn they seem to look after the people coming in from outside as downstairs is ok & food lovely this should definitely 1 star noway 3 star no wonder trivago rate it 2star

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom room 11 ceiling was hanging in cobwebs. From the bathroom I could see something under the bed, it was an old sock and a sweet paper. The room was very cold as the electric heating had not been switch on, Initially the window was stuck open only the secondary glazing being closed, After two days of the heater being on full the bedroom was just getting warm. The bedroom decoration was what I would have expected in the 1960’s and very cramped. The room should have been refurbished years ago. Only the public areas of the hotel appeared to be kept reasonably decorated.

    Location only.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    had to leave

    The food is very good and as you get 15% off your bill as well. the hotel is very clean. the staff are friendly this is the second time we have stayed and will go back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Separate Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My single room was very cramped and I had to go through two doors and down stairs to go to the toilet (I had known beforehand it was not fully en suite though)

    Very friendly staff, good breakfast, packed me a huge good value sandwich when I had to leave early. Fantastic location 30 seconds from Minster

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we were in an attic bedroom, we had no view. There were only 3 tiny windows, only 1 of which opened slightly. Didn’t bother us too much though. The room was clean enough although a bit dusty and we had been given half used bottles of conditioner.

    I liked that my room had lots of pillows, cushions, extra blankets to make it cosy. I also liked that there were fans available as me and my husband like to have one on at night to keep us cool and drown out any noise from outside and in the hotel. The location of the hotel is really good, right in the centre!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very dusty. Sheets were marked, cobwebs were everywhere. Both bedside lampshades were broken, furniture was old and worn. The room was cold but had a small wall heater but no heating in bathroom! We closed the bathroom door to try and warm up the room but then the bathroom was freezing. Staff apologised and gave us a part refund. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location was excellent so hopefully these issues will be resolved. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no private parking, had to park in a pub car park 10 minutes away. En Suite facilities poor must have been the smallest in the UK

    Excellent location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not put the light on in the bathroom as there were no blinds at the window.

    Good welcome, clean room and helpful staff. The hotel is in a really good place easy to get around to all the attractions that are in walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little dated and scruffy. Bathroom small. Parking not on site. I booked this but then decided to park at the railway station instead, glad I did, more convenient and not too costly.

    Excellent location. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms we were given were very small bathroom was like a cupboard although very clean, we were up on top floor and the rooms didn’t look like what we had seen in photos when we booked, the hotel need revamping all very tired looking and paintwork dirty,we received 20% back from the owner , who didn’t quibble , just refunded us.

    The staff were all great, breakfast very good , hotel in great location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room,wardrobe way too small for adults . Painting and decorating needs updating.

    We had a 20% refund from owner as we were very disappointed with rooms , they were very small up on the third floor ,toilet and shower very small needs updating wardrobe like children’s all clothes to long for wardrobe ,these room were not shown when we booked Galtres lodge ,but the good points were , beds were very comfy and clean staff were all friendly and great .breakfast very good , the owner was very good and offered us 20% refund straight away , the hotel is in a great position , with a little updating it would be great , but after all my moaning I would go back but I would like to stay in one of the rooms advertised.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I honestly can't think of 1 negative ..except they need their incredible vegetable soup on every night!

    The welcome from the first minute I stepped into the foyer was honest not forced.. it takes a special brand of people to give that to a hotel/ resturant ..I even enjoyed being in the room above the kitchen !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no lock on the window as it looked out onto a flat roof security of our room could have been better. bathroom and toilet needs to be as one toilet far far to small you can only just get in. having said this we enjoyed our stay - staff and food great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yes parking was available at a fee off site. One needs to know you can't drive to the door so need to travel light !!! The loo in our room was smaller than an aircraft toilet, but at least we were ensuite

    Where else could one stay so close to York Minster AND in the midst of The "Shambles" area Huge choice of pubs and places to eat close by

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    cannot think of anything that we did not like.

    There was a good selection of food available and therefore makeing a chose was difficult. Our party was made up of 5 people who all chose different items from the grapefruit to the full english breakfast we could not have asked for better.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not much not to like. My room overlooked the street so a tad noisy on Saturday night - but I expected it.

    Loved the location - right in the centre of the old town, and within easy reach of all the best sights - literally in the next street down from the Minster. Also loved the food - good value and served with a smile.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a basic hotel in an historic part of York with limited facilities. More of a boarding house than a hotel. 4 Floors and no lifts. Very small bedroom. We would probably not stay there again if we could find an alternative.

    The staff were pleasant and it was clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: