Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Garden Hotel 2 stars

16 High Street West, Uppingham, LE15 9QD, United Kingdom

#3 of 8 hotels in Uppingham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 227 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The open steep emergency staircase immediately outside my bedroom door (#5). Probably as I don't like heights! If you feel the same looking down a steep opening jut ask for any room but #5. This is a personal comment and does not affect the room comfort in anyway.

    The beautiful quintessential English garden was a joy to sit in. Full of flowers , trees and song birds. The owner also provided a coffee machine in a guest lounge which was wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One minor niggle... the bathroom door had no lock on it and wouldn't stay closed (not so great when you're on the toilet!).

    The hotel is lovely and set in a beautiful garden (which smelled divine). The owner could not have been more pleasant and helpful. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet and in a great location to explore Uppingham and Rutland.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!!

    Very cosy, everything we needed was there. Breakfast was very good, freshly cooked which is not what most places offer. Usually breakfast is cooked and kept warm by hot plates etc! It was what we expected and Christine the owner was very hospitable and could answer any questions we had about the town. We will return. It is very much a bed and breakfast facility which we prefer. Car park at the rear was a bonus 👍

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our double room (3) was rather small and the furniture and bathroom were outdated. I feel that this should have been reflected in the price which we thought was a little high.

    the hotel owner Christine was very friendly and helpful and was happy for us to check in early just before 12.30pm to attend a family gathering. The breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious, served in a lovely breakfast room. The location was excellent just a short walk from Uppingham village centre The hotel interior was very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could do with an update, but was very clean.

    The hospitality was wonderful. The coffee lounge was a big hit. Bedroom was comfortable. Breakfast beautiful. Thank you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't think it could have been any better.

    The Garden Hotel is very peaceful and quiet in the beautiful little town of Uppingham, Rutland. Extremely clean and comfortable.The owner Tom couldn't have been more helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too small and would have liked a bath as well as the shower. My husband had the cooked breakfast, they offered more toast, but the cooked breakfast was not enough - i.e. one egg - one rash of bacon and one sausage with toast. They did not offer us any porridge. The room did not have enough varieties of tea - i.e. camomile tea. Their car park is shared with the bank next door, the ground of the car park was very muddy. Location not very good as busy road.

    The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the second floor. I might need a lift in the future! but this is an old building. The owner though did offer to carry my luggage upstairs for me. So really no complaint.

    Lovely breakfast. Friendly owner.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely old building but decor a little dated though very fresh. Poor shower.

    Comfy beds, deliciouus breakfast. Lovely garden must be fantastic to eat out in summer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we stayed in had the bathroom external to the room so it was effectively in the hallway which other guests could access despite the 'private' sign on the door. The bathroom itself - the door didn't shut at all nor did it lock which then meant it was difficult to use as anyone could come in at any time. Breakfast was small. Also charged twice due to staff stating we hadn't paid when we already had online with yourselves. Now I need to wait up to 15 days to get my money back.

    the hotel is quaint and nice garden.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could not have been better.

    I liked everything! The room was a good sized single and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was really good and plenty of choice. The owner and staff were extremely pleasant. This is a small hotel and is quintessentially English with its lovely furnishings and decor.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite expensive

    Excellent central location for the town. Beautiful garden. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Hotel very clean. Good breakfast which was cooked to order.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom needed redecorating badly, especially the bathroom which is in desperate need of an update. Must be over 25 years old and needs refurbishing. Hallway very outdated and tired looking. Not as clean as other places I've stayed at.

    Pretty garden and comfortable bed. Nice lounge room. Good breakfast. Helpful and accommodating host.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was very slow and I ended up putting in the plug and having a semi bath and shower.

    Everyone was very friendly.the breakfast was excellent and it was well placed in the middle of the High Street. I would stay there again. the garden was lovely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Local parking restrictions. Fortunately, after 4pm on Saturday, they don't apply again until Monday morning.

    A very pleasant hotel in every sense & excellent value for money. I visit Rutland frequently & having stayed in other local hotels, find this one to be the best.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely friendly welcome and when the lady realised I had my elderly parents with me she moved rooms around so that there were not so many stairs for them.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired decor and furnishings and generally poor fittings e.g. Hole in ceiling around light fitting, no independent way of controlling heating in room so it was not on and bathroom cold. Club room also cold. Bedroom door unable to be locked from inside, used the doorstop provided but this does not feel satisfactory. Stale cornflakes at breakfast. Felt very poor value for money.

    Convenient location and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    it was like coming home. Christine was so nice and nothing was too much trouble for her this is the 3rd time I have stayed here and I recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very warm welcome .Christine accommodated dietary requirements easily and location and transport links were excellent . Very happy to to recommend this little gem .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only issue I have with the Garden Hotel is the poor wifi. It is because of this that the last time I stayed in the area, it was somewhere else. If they could successfully deal with this issue I would happily return.

    I've stayed here many times before and love the location, the friendliness, the comfort and the excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst bed and pillows I have ever known - really bad night's sleep

    Nice soft furnishings and dining room. Excellent breakfast, friendly staff, great location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quite small for two people but it was nice and clean. It would be nice to have a mixed faucet fixture which we find very uncommon in England.

    The staff was very nice and accommodating. We were very late arriving due to air travel problems but our daughter called and the staff was very nice and just had her call to inform the staff when we were going to arrive.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Uncomfortable bed, small room, needs a new shower, and a hairdryer, and later breakfast please.

    The welcome and the staff at The Garden Hotel really deserve 5 stars as they were so very friendly. Great location too!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower over the bath was a bit fiddly but there was plenty of hot water

    I arrived late and it turned out I was the only resident that night but I was greeted warmly. Breakfast was lovely and in a very pretty room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful staff but not too obtrusive, peaceful room, tasty breakfast, a quirky warren of a building - all in all a pleasantly old-fashioned experience.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower dreadful (over the bath affair that kept reverting back to the taps) Location, very noisy at night, single glazed Windows so was kept awake until very late (I had to be up at 4.30)

    Comfy bed Very accommodating (only) member of staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff were so friendly (offering helpful advice on where nearby was good to eat and socialise); rooms were clean and welcoming and breakfast was excellent! whole stay could not be faulted in any way!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pretty bedroom and the private lounge was outstanding. Very friendly staff and beautiful garden. Breakfast was just as it should be. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No answer when I arrived to check in at 4.30pm. Decor a little dated but very clean.

    Great breakfast. Lovely berries and yoghurt. Good cooked breakfast, even scrambled egg was perfectly cooked. Comfortable room, very clean. Beautiful garden.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot, perhaps a fan would be a useful addition.

    Friendly welcome. The walled garden was beautiful. Nice hot shower and plentiful toiletries. The breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was on street but was ok as it was Friday evening when we arrived. My wife is vegetarian and there were only mushrooms at breakfast, a few beans might have been welcome. My full breakfast was superb!

    Quiet and clean, excellent staff. Good en suite and shower

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dated bathroom probably 60's or 70's Bedroom very small Bed not terribly comfortable

    Very nice welcome and very friendly staff. Pretty garden and perfect location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot day...,hot room but not normally an issue in the UK!

    Staff were very welcoming - position of the hotel was great to visit Uppingham. Gardens were beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really apart from not able to buy a drink in the day but then again there is quite a bit of choice within a couple of mins walk from the hotel.

    We loved the pretty gardens and the beautifully decorated rooms. We had the family room which was like a little private flat. The staff were all very friendly and the breakfast was lovely (especially the bacon)!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi password didn't work, but as I didn't need it anyway I didn't follow up on it.

    Lovely little hotel located exactly where I needed to be. Breakfast was delicious. I needed to park my car all day in Uppingham and the hotel was happy for me to use their car park.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made to feel very welcome in this charming little hotel - beautifully decorated, comfortable bed, good breakfast, attention to detail. We stayed on the Club Room and had access to a large private sitting room. There a number of good restaurants close by in this friendly village, and lots of places to visit in surrounding countryside.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that I got charged even more after arriving only to find out the double room we thought we reserved was in fact a single. Considering we couldn't get anything else that day we settled for it; having one of us sleep on the floor. We didn't have breakfast and yet our charge was increased as we were told there was 2 of us. £85 for a single bed even with no breakfast o believe is steep

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was a good.

    Friendly relaxing.lovely clean soft comfortable beds really nice breakfast. Lots of advice about local events in the town. Lovely relaxing drawing rooms yes a lovely lovely time.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location very friendly staff and clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing perfect

    owner was amazing and told us where to eat very quiet and nice place breakfast was awesome a must stay in that area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to blame, the place is fantastic

    Absolutely everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Warm, friendly and helpful on arrival.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price. It may have been seasonally adjusted, but the price seemed high

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave!

    Beautifully decorated cosy rooms and lovely friendly landlady!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking could be a problem if unable to park in road outside. We were luck to park right outside

    Just right in all aspects

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please clean bathroom floor better.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our hotel stay was perfect in it's location, having friendly staff and we enjoyed our quiet room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doublle room we had was a bit small . Double bed very small.

    Friendly and comfortable and good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner was very helpful and extremely friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room quite cold Bathroom basic No staff at night

    Friendly welcome English breakfast oldy worldy surroundings

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything!

    Gorgeous home from home comfortable beds and homely .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    suited us

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely, attentive and genuine staff, beautiful hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and quite friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely welcome, comfortable room and delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing pp

    Welcome and quality.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly welcome, helpful staff, comfortable room and splendid choice at breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Ok no

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable, really welcoming and in an excellent location. Excellent value for money. The breakfast was particularly good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could have had a little more power but a lovely room

    The breakfast was lovely, excellent choice nicely presented and served.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    absolutely nothing

    the place feels like home and the staff could not do enough for me if you wish to feel pampered go to the Garden Hotel Uppingham

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - met my needs

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Landlady is very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An individual type hotel with excellent personal service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly owner. Homely feeling. Perfect location for Uppingham School visit

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a little updating

    Great staff good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing that we did not like.

    It was everything we wanted and expected, we were made very welcome and looked after the way that could not be faulted.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    easy to book. Easy to find.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious room. Excellent hospitality.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very nice location and setting. The garden was an added bonus. Would certainly stay again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom was rather dated

    Location, lovely garden, friendly welcome, comfy room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very convenient for the town centre, Great value for money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to run around under shower to get wet otherwise excellent. Very friendly owner

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the centre , lovely court yard and lounge to sit in.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: