Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Garth Hotel 3 stars

69 Gower Street, Camden, London, WC1E 6HJ, United Kingdom

#241 of 356 B&Bs and Inns in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 430 hotel reviews

6.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    5.8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    5.5

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    6

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.2
    An experience I wish I would not pass by again!
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    All in all, this hotel is not a place to stay in. It has very small rooms, staff who do not speak English fairly. The reception is not easy to communicate with. The internet is low. The food is not that good.

    The location as it is near University of London

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.8
    Grubby crampt two star guest house
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room no bigger than 3m x 3m Constant smell of breakfast right through hotel. Shower only a trickle. Overall hotel needs a deep clean, modernisation and redecorating throughout

    Bed was comfy, breakfast was adequate, location was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Good place and Reasonable price to stay in London
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room En suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In the bathroom, the water slowly releases a bit.

    Nice location Staffs are really friendly Room is clean The breakfast is traditional English style and it is delicious

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.3
    Adequate and fairly cheap for a 1 night stay in central London.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very small, clearly old, and in need of TLC, - bathroom was a bit smelly, - Room was very warm - windows don't open but they did provide a fan. Room was on the way to reception, noisy every time the bell rang with people going by.

    Reasonable breakfast, bed was comfortable if a little short, - provided a fan. - Adequate for 1 night's stay in central London, - somewhere hold up, sleep and take a shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for overnight stays in London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and price. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast good and served piping hot. The room and shower room were clean and sufficient for our needs. Would use this hotel again for overnight stay in London.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Hotel was adaquate for my needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with updating.paintwork needs a lick of paint and windows didnt open.water pressure was poor in bathroom

    Location was perfect for sightseeing. Breakfast was very good. Owners were very helpful and polite

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Great location for tubes to get to the theatre we went to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room En suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    VERY squishy bed. Hot room as it was top floor so very thankful for the fan.

    Great location for tubes to get to the theatre we went to. Great breakfast. Thank heaven for the fan that was left in the room as it was hot - thank you for this!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    Needs renovated,no locks on toilet doors.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs renovated,no locks on toilet doors.poor maintenence work.most likely done by owners to save money.in the long run its much better to pay professionals to do the work. As a builder myself i can see the workmanship through out. I am a carpenter by trade and also do decorating. So if you want a good job done you can give me a call.regards james clarke. 07938422608

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    Wouldn't recommend.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room En suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't get any sleep at all because it was single glazed and facing a busy street. People should really be made aware of this, or ear plugs provided or something.

    The bed was comfy and it was a nice enough room. Great location for what I was wanting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.5
    I like the fact that it is located within central London and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    However, the room was very small making relaxing in it a real challenge.

    I like the fact that it is located within central London and from where it is you can access so many shopping outlets, various fascinating sites in London, eateries and several means of communication such as underground train to any part of the U.K. Clean bedding and comfortable bed. Excellent functioning WiFi

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    5.8
    Avoid
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating in room did not work so was very cold. And there seemed to be an issue with the plumbing as there was a regular foul smell coming from the bathroom, upon complaint of this I was told "sorry, nothing I can do about it" so had to put up with it or leave at my own expense.

    Great location, and although room very small it did have everything needed for a very basic night

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    A very convenient place to lay you head.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building was old and tired, in need of full renovation. Our twin room was very small and you couldn’t actually open the shower door without opening the bedroom door. A bit embarrassing! Also while we ate breakfast someone walked through to the kitchen and out with the rubbish - while we were eating! There was no lift of course, but what would you expect for such a price. After breakfast we went back to our room and there was a man on scaffolding outside the window! He was very polite, but again, it was a bit embarrassing. Overall it was a real budget hotel so you wouldn’t expect bells or whistles, and as expected, you won’t get them.

    The staff were lovely, in fact, they were the saving grace of the hotel. We left our bags on the day we were leaving so we could do some shopping. When we went to pick them up the owner carried them up the stairs for us. He was lovely. The lady who made our cooked breakfast was very nice too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Kind staff, easy to get around and comfortable beds! I'd gladly come back.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very kind staff who stayed till our arrival for check in, thank you! Also very kind staff during the breakfast and cleaning. Really close to the British Museum and quite close to the central station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    4.2
    Avoid!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cold and cramped. The toilet stank of sewage. There was scaffolding and much noise outside the building. The back door (this was clearly a converted utility room) was barely locked. The curtains did not fit. The television signal was intermittent. Everything was satisficing, at best. Only one night, never again!

    It had a bed. It is in London. The breakfast did not kill me.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    Did not meet our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above Also only orange juice as breakfast juice option.

    Although I booked a twin room it did not work for us due to no lock on bathroom door and unable to go in shower without opening bedroom door due to lack of space. This meant my son had to go down and start breakfast while i showered. Poor for a twin room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    3.3
    horrible. just horrible. never again!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do i begin!!! Double charged on arrival. Rude and aggressive staff when asking for refund of double payment also lied and tried to justify lie when caught. Room not tidied or cleaned to any standard! Breakfast was poor quality of food,very cheap bacon,sausages,cold toast. Unclean bed sheets, broken bed side table. Peeling wallpaper.

    Location to oxford street.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    4.2
    TERRIBLE!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was too small even though it was a twin, the engineers that stayed struggled to comfortably use the facilities. the room was on the top floor and they originally struggled getting all their equipment up there with no life. one our guys is now covered in bed bugs bites all over his legs. will certainily not be coming back

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.9
    location next to Britisch museum and near oxford street was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room En suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Showers were not satisfactory. Almost no water came out of the showerhead. Definitely unable to wash your hair. First room had no cold water, so we had to shower in burning temperature or no shower at all. Hotel was kind to give us another room. However now we had the choice of having a cold or way to hot shower.

    location next to Britisch museum and near oxford street was perfect! We were also able to walk home from West End after a musical. Makes up for the showers.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room En suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    only downfall is nobody informed us of breakfast at all and we missed it, and when i mentioned it to the older man in charge he shrugged us off and didnt seem to care at all. bit rude.

    kind young man upgraded our room free of charge as the room hadn't been booked that night, was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    5.4
    Adequate - just.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast down in the Basement and we were on second floor but no lift. Lots of cables on floorbr bedroom. Could do with a refurbished as carpets and paint looked very tired.

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    Value for money hotel, great as a bed-and-breakfast option.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I understand that this is a very old building and renovation would be out of the question. The first glance is rather disappointing, but once you get used to it, it's not that dramatic.

    Great location and very helpful staff. Also very warm rooms, which was kind of handy :-) Given the location, extreme value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    5.4
    Accessible with good security
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The Hotel needs serious renovation. the Toilet was stinking it needs renovation.

    Accessible with good security and nice bed and linen with a wonderful Asian accounts Manager.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    3.8
    Would not come back or recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room for 1 is tiny, stuffy 2*2m where a bed, a desk, a tiny ancient wardrobe, my two suitcases and a radiator, plus two doors opening inside (entrance+bathroom) did not leave any chance for me to move around. Not very clean - dry soap on the soap holder, hair on the floor in the bathroom not cleaned for days, splashes of something on the bathroom door, kettle's inside black and stained, dirty windowsill covered in dirt and concealed behind curtains... Staff is OK, but for breakfast I would go to Pret a Manger around the corner ,where for 5 pounds you cane get a delicious egg and bacon sandwich and a coffee and won't bother with something undefined. Shame, since I travel to London a lot for business and was looking for a hotel I'd love to come back to... not this one!

    Location is fantastic

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    3.5
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room En suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was awful. The plug socket blew up. No running water in the tap. The shower burnt my husband. The bed was on a slope. Breakfast was microwaved.

    Nothing it was a health and safety hazard.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    6.3
    Location is good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    "a bit" tired as a place.... would really need a renovation. Reservation was messed up (but they managed to sort it) and we were charged twice (now fixed)

    Location is good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.1
    Good sleep in shabby hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower pressure wasn't good,nothing in the bathroom was properly attached and the shelves weren't flat so things fell onto the floor.

    Beds and duvets really comfortable, made up for the room being a bit tired and shabby. Great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.1
    Simple and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For me the hotel was over heated but this seems very common in London and not limited to this hotel. Water in shower very hot and thermostat tricky to adjust to get water any cooler.

    Simple and comfortable. Nice breakfast. Good sleep, in comfy bed. Very small single. Don't roll over too quickly or will kick tv.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.1
    Location was great !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not possible to close windows in our room because it was broken (but good heater so it was sufficiant). Very crowded at breakfast time.

    Location was great ! Good price for the room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    5.8
    Momo
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were so small and very inconvenient. The 'reception was located far away from the entrance and the staff were not easily accesible. I ended up having 3 keys to enable me have access to the hotel, my room and the restaurant.

    The staff were friendly. The breakfast was very good, though guests were always save with one choice of meat.(pork meat). The rooms were neat.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Staff were friendly. Room was comfortable. Did the job perfectly. Wish I could have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That it gets cold a bit in the room but to be honest a heater is provided and it does get warm quickly when the normal heating comes on. So not really a drastic problem. Personally would still go there again in future.

    Bed was comfy. breakfast was lovely. Wifi was great. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.1
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room....but kept clean with fresh towels daily. The TV reception was quite poor.

    Bed was comfortable and staff polite and acccomodating. Very close proximity to Euston train station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.1
    Acceptable - would come again but could be a lot better for not much investment.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tatty and old. Needed repair/replacement/redecorating. My room on the stairs - very noisy until about 10.30 at night with ?staff laughing and talking.

    Friendly staff. No fuss. Comfortable bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    I'd definitely stay here again!
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I was in was right next to the front door so I could hear the front door bell being rung every time! Staff answered the door from the office very quick, so it wasn't an issue!

    It had everything I needed for a short 1 night stay in London.............a comfy clean bed in a clean room; a clean en-suite; a tv, desk & wardrobe! It was perfect for 1 person! And breakfast was included, although I didn't have it as I was out early!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.5
    Was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room En suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brakfast to small and need air conditioner smell after brakfest walk aroud

    Location very good, room small but very clean, bed was fine and pillow were good, but brakfest disapoint me. Was ok but portion were wery small and no chance to choose anything. I was disapointed becouse i took this hotel becouse are close to center and brakfast inclosed but they were poor :(

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable, calm and a good area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very comfortable and the shower was great. The view of the garden was so peaceful. The TVs channels were very good too. Good sized wardrobe. Fan in good working order. It was quiet in the night and day as well. Unfortunately, we didn't manage to have breakfast there, otherwise I would state. The staff were also very polite too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    4.2
    Wouldnt stay here again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms where scruffy looking, my bed was on a slant so i had to use two of the pillows underneath the mattress to try and level it out. Also the toilet and sink stunk of sewage.

    Situated a short 5 minute walk from the tube station and local to a lot of places

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    5.0
    Convenient location but overall disappointing. Could not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't like the fact that the double bed had a old marble fireplace with a protruding marble mantlepiece directly placed over the pillows of the double bed. This was potentially very dangerous if you were to sit up in bed as it would crack one's head open. Had to slide further down towards the foot of the bed to avoid an accident. Also did not like the fact that plugs for the kettle and telly were hanging off the wall.

    Good breakfast and comfortable beds Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    2.9
    Not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    29/07 I've just booked the hotel, already I've received a rude email telling me my details are wrong and I need to update them. Which I did and it all went through. I, then, requested an earlier check in and check out date (1pm and 7am), to which they replied I had to check in before 11pm and our before 12pm... Just, what? They then told me they were going to "check my credit card" and withdrew £108 from my account claiming they were "testing my credit card". The money went back in 4 days later. 19/09 Barely been here 24 hours, I've had more money go out my account despite asking to pay in cash, after complaining I was given an immediate cash refund. The shower doesn't drain properly, no plunger accessible, there's no one around to help and no one is answering the phone downstairs. And there was dirt in one of the beds! 20/09 Poor quality breakfast. No allergen queries made. Turn down service not done properly, although the beds were remade, the sheets were not changed and the "free tea and coffee" facilities were not restocked. Poor wifi connection. 21/09 No querie as to how are stay was when keys were handed in.

    Breakfast included

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.8
    Hot girl, room smelt bad, fan didn't work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom smelt like a sewer. Ultimately leaving the girl I was with to think I smelt like a drowned rat but the spooning won it back.

    I liked Jamel and his mango. They added a pleasant experience to the stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.4
    Quiet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny box room for a single and the shower was difficult to adjust (set on boiling!) No croissant and I can't have milk so breakfast was a non event. Poor value for money @ £88! Nice staff.

    Quiet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.5
    Great for the job
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room En suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel did look in need of a spruce up, but I couldn't complain with the price

    Friendly people with comfortable room. Nice shower and a good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.0
    Dirty, old, cramped. Nasty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was small. Room was small. It was like student acomadation, have to go downstairs to an office which doubles as the make shift reception. Very poor.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    4.2
    Over priced for a hotel that drastically needs updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room En suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean. The sheets had flames of skin in it. The window frame was mouldy and would not shut. The bin had not been emptied from the previous guests. The lamp would not plug in because the bed was pushed against the socket. There was no TV remote in the room. Dirt under the bed. Not good and certainly not good value for money.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and convenient for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to add here - only comments above.

    We had read some poor reviews and were expecting the worst but the rooms were clean and well maintained although one of them was a little small for 3 people but we would certainly stay again. The breakfasts were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.5
    Location close to the city and the theatres, very fiendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too many steps to the room and no lift. The window didn' shut (as we stayed in August, we ddidn't care). Very small bathroom, the door didn't shut properly, very low water in the shower, water temperature changed between ice-cold and cooking but never something between (we decided to stay dirty for 3 days). The house urgently needs a renovation.

    Location close to the city and the theatres, very fiendly staff, nice price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    3.5
    Never again, I would avoid
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was extremely small and crammed. Only had a very small cupboard with two hangers. My bath room had an unpleasant gutter like smell. I will not return.

    Breakfast was freshly cooked to order. But no butter only flora and only skimmed milk available. Very little choice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    Due to the low cost I had low expectations, however I was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to the low cost I had low expectations, however I was beyond pleasantly surprised, the place was great! It's not fancy, but it's very clean and accommodating, with character and in a good location. I felt completely safe and at home there. The staff are very down to earth good folks. They took the time to answer my questions about the area and provide detailed transportation (bus/train info) so far as to offer to print things out and also to get other properties on the phone for me. Exceptional service. I would stay there again no question.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.8
    Good location, friendly staff, but very basic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room En suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was sloping, no toilet roll in bathroom on arrival, expensive, room a bit smelly (almost smokey although there was a no smoking policy)

    Staff were really helpful and friendly. Breakfast was great and free wifi was a bonus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.1
    great value for central London location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Is an old building and therefore has uneven floors etc so bedroom on a slant. TV small , basic but fine for overnight stay

    great value for central London location. Breakfast good and reasonable size. Beds very comfy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    4.2
    Eww
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room En suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room sloped and smelled of damp, in desperate need of decoration, carpets looked like they were filthy overall more like a homeless hostel very poor

    Basic

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.9
    Good Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room En suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some of the towels in the bathroom had holes in them, I notified the staff and these were replaced. There were only three coat hangers provided in the wardrobe, again I asked the staff and they managed to find another three for me (Still couldn't hang everything up !)

    Good Location. Bed was freshly made everyday. Nice selection of food for Breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small twin room and over stewed coffee.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Good value for money in a convenient location. Freshly cooked breakfast ...no hot plate! Clean comfortable beds and good shower.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    3.8
    Nightmare! Stay away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an awful place, dirty, smelling bad, without services, breakfast is ridiculous as they offer only sone bread and cereals. The guy at the reception doesn't even look at you while you're checking it. Stay away!

    Nothing. The worst hotel I have ever experienced

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    3.8
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was claustrophobic.Bathroom stunk like bleach.Windows painted shut.The tv remote didn't work therefore the TV didn't work. I was due to checkout at 12pm but when I arrived back at room at 11am, the cleaner had made up my room. All my belongings on the bed had been shoved into my bag! Disgusted at the invasion of privacy!

    I have nothing good to say. I feel ripped off paying £99 to stay in this dump

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    5.0
    Well located but noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Possibly the most noisy hotel room that I have ever experienced. Lack of internal ventilation meant the window needed to stay open (it was a very hot summer's evening) but the traffic noise made it impossible to sleep without closing it. Also, there was soap / shaving cream residue from previous guest on the taps in the shower.

    The bed was comfortable and the price was very competitive for London. Location is also good - close to (Goodge Street) tube station etc.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.5
    Staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would stay again but the room was small. The shower was not draining well. There was nowhere to hang the towel. I had the single room (and understand the rates follow this) and when checked the rate, the staff listened and responded for which I am grateful.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. It was clean. Breakfast fine. Very good location and I hope to return!! Bed comfy. Table very small with laptop, Wifi sound!! Early breakfast. Thanks Garth hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    4.6
    Good location but for the same price can find better accommodation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Run down hotel, run down rooms and shower, very expensive for the money paid. No A/c no fan provided; Rooms noisy from outside and inside: beds and also floor above room creaking and loud.

    Breakfast was good and staff were friendly. Sheets were clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    3.3
    Big problems both in service and technical stuff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room En suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were really big problems in check in: the reception was closed because emergency and the we guests waited more than 3 hours outside to get in... Of course this is just a special situation. The ventilator in toilet didn't work and the street is noisy so I couldn't keep the window open during the night. My room was on the uppermost floor so the water didn't flow well in tap or in the shower. Washing hair was possible only sitting in the shower. I think the quality and price are not in balance...

    The traditional English breakfast is a real meal even if there are no fresh fruit etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    6.3
    Decent for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on the smaller side, difficult to move around with luggage. Walls were really thin - could hear the neighbors.

    Property was in a convenient area. Bed was fairly comfy. Good value for the money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    7.9
    Good location ,comfy but very small room ,friendly staff ,basic breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really small room but comfy bed ,no real space to unpack and Stow a suitcase. The smell of bacon and sausages bieng fried in the morning from the kitchen in the basement was coming into my room perhaps they need to shut the kitchen door rather than let the smell of grease travel up to the rooms as this is a 4 storey town house converted into a hotel.

    Good location friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    6.3
    Close to the British Museum
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room eighteen is a small single room located at the front of the building. There was a lot of traffic and pedestrian noise throughout the night. The inside of the building is noticeably old.

    The staff - especially the checking in and out assistance - were amazing! Comfortable bed, clean room and bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    3.8
    Disappointed not up to Booking.coms standard and photograph of rooms available.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. On arrival into room (No1) the carpet was sticky with aparently glue in several places. Went to reception who attended and put pillowcases on the floor to avoid shoes sticking to the carpet. 2. Room in the basement was very small just fitting in two single beds. There was a table which had the teas made and TV on it. It was quite difficult to walk around the room due to the small gap between bed and table. 3. TV faulty. Would not work properly had to keep retuning and eventually stayed on BBC 1 only. 4. Unable to fill kettle with water from the sink. Electric kettle too big and could only be filled from the shower head. Also only 2 tea bags and 4 coffee satches. 5. Unsteady bed lamp when touched. 6. Bathroom very clean but it lacked container glass or plastic to rinse mouth after using touth brush. 7. Shower base not clearing the water after two showers. Basin almost overflowed. 8. Curtain across window was not till the morning we opened it that we found the window had been slightly open all night and we were looking out on a dirty yard with iron stairs leading up to ground level. 9. Reception in basement and not at all proferssional. When complaint was made on leaving not a lot of response.

    The bed and bedding was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.3
    Good location.
    • Group
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We couldn´t close the windows. No lift.

    Great location. Only a few minutes to walk to British museum and close to bus and trains. There is enough place to open the suitcases. Staff are helpful and friendly. We could leave our suitcases at the reception on the the day we checked out and collect our baggage later in the day. English breakfast was good and enough.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    6.7
    If you need a good bed, and breakfast but not so much more - this is the place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was either is-cold or super hot, and the waterpressure was lame.

    Straff was nice and helpful when we interacted with them. Beds were fresch. The morning coffee was exellent!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    6.3
    It was nice to have your own toilet and shower.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cold in the night , so I pulled the portable radiator out of the cupboard, this had a faulty switch ,so I put it back and wore a t-shirt...

    It was nice to have your own toilet and shower.it was close to bars, and fast food and resturants.was'nt far from the train station.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    5.0
    Do not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first they tried to cancel the booking a few days before arrival. They didn't apologise nor tried to compensate in any way. After a lot of hassle from us, they finally got us another hotel for our last night. That hotel was far away, and the room didn't have the same facilities. We are very disappointed. I will not recommend Garth hotel to anyone in the future.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    6.3
    Staff is very agreable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    3 floors without lift are sometimes tough (4 if we consider the basement for breakfast reception) room cleaness is not sufficient

    Staff is very agreable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    5.8
    Pleasant staff but room not up to scratch
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not clean enough, the shower blocked, the tiles had not been cleaned properly, the cups in the bedroom needed rewashing, dusty.

    Comfy beds, friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    5.8
    Small and overpriced for what you get
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room En suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was minimal, the tv very small and tv signal terrible. The wifi was slow and intermittent. There were no facilities other than breakfast which, although well cooked , was very small also. I paid £90+ per night and stayed three nights. Rooms 17 and two others were all in a tiny hallway about 4ft wide, so every door opening and closing ( slamming) was very disturbing. There is no bar or communal area to sit and read or relax , or maybe interact with other guests, and although it was the lowest price I could find for a double room at that time, I wish I had stayed a bit further out from the university I was visiting so I had more comfort. It is definitely overpriced.

    The bed was comfy, the shower cubicle was large and very clean. But the bathroom was tiny, the shower door couldn't open fully as the toilet was inside the doorway, the hand basin had no plug and you had to stand to the side of it with your back touching the shower door because if the lack of space.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    5.4
    Ok but just ok...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed comfortable - room too hot and no way of adjusting it. Breakfast service let the Hotel down. Servers had poor attitude and it felt like you were inconveniencing them by coming for a breakfast you had paid for.

    Good location but noisy as it's on a busy street.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    5.4
    The full English Breakfast came out quick every morning.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    You can hear the entrance buzzer go off (occasionally past midnight) in the single room right next to the entrance.

    The full English Breakfast came out quick every morning. The single bed was very comfortable, with a fluffy comforter.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    8.3
    Single night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a twin room ended up with a double. Check in at 2pm Check out at 12 which was very useful plus Breakfast open till 10.

    Clean room with friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    8.3
    Great location, great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    a shower room is a bit small, but can't complain with this price.

    Staffs were very kind. Location is very good, convinient to go to the center of the city by bus or train.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    2.9
    I ordered breakfast but discover the breakfast didn't...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ordered breakfast but discover the breakfast didn't start until 7.30 I had to be at work before 8 so didn't get breakfast I was in a ground floor room but mayaswell have been sleeping on the street. No sleep all week due to noise

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    6.7
    Good value for money, but small rooms and poor decor.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is poorly decorated and the rooms are very small. Sadly it also smells of bacon throughout. I had scrambled eggs for breakfast which were rubbery and tasteless.

    The hotel is very basic, but clean and in a good location.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Garth Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: