Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Garth Hotel 3 stars

Castle Road, Grantown on Spey, PH26 3HN, United Kingdom

#19 of 24 hotels in Grantown on Spey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 461 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Relaxed stay with good food and pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Traditional small Scottish hotel with lovely staff providing a relaxed atmosphere. Great outside area for drinks etc when weather good. Small comfy lounge when weather not so good. Enjoyed tasty breakfast and dinner in restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.4
    We'll be looking for somewhere else to stay on our next excursion to the Highlands.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Milk was sour at breakfast, no one bothered to taste it prior to making everyone feel slightly sick after pouring on cereals and in tea/coffee, almost as sour the bar staff who appeared to have taken a vow of silence other than between themselves where they could be found giggling and whispering to each other down the corridor behind the bar rather than being in the bar hosting and interacting with customers. This lack of communication or courtesy to hotel guests was further demonstrated when the hotel staff left promptly at 11.00pm walking past us without so much as good evening or wave, customer service with a smile has bypassed this establishment. No draft beer, why not, its peak season and the hotel wasn't particularly busy so it hadn't been drunk dry by a coachload of hikers, maybe they couldn't be bothered, no sensible answer form the "attentive" staff! Rooms were extremely hot with poor ventilation and without aircon.

    Rooms were adequate if slightly pricey for the overall standard.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    4.6
    very disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Grantown is not the prettiest of places. Lacks anything of interest. Hotel needs a lick of paint both in and out. Small and tired room (No3) with overpowering smell. 3 x Staff admitted same but unable to identify it or refresh. Opening lower floor window to alleviate let in road noise a metre away. Uncooperative Management.

    Great restaurant food and good breakfast. But slow and inattentive service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.7
    No real complaints.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise in corridor woke me up. This is an old building so sound proofing does not exist. Perhaps a 'quiet please' sign here or there would be useful and some of the staff could perhaps learn to set the example by speaking quietly ? Knowledge of whisky from bar staff was very vague, which is not good given the large list.

    Great position in centre of town. Staff very friendly. Dinner was delicious ( we ordered a la carte, but discovered there was a fixed menu after we ate ). Room was fine for 3 star hotel and we even had a piper outside who plays around 6pm every night. The young woman who served us at dinner and breakfast was delightful ( sorry I did not catch her name for this review )

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    Comfy stay , great breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TVs was very small for the size of the room

    The room was spacious and comfortable, the bathroom was lovely and clean...... The towels were soft and fluffy and the bed very comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.4
    Was not as good as we thought it would be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t cleaned properly and bathroom not at all over 4 days. Even hand towels were not replaced and we had to ask for toilet rolls

    The food generally was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Good choice for Grantown on Spey
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service in the dining room did not correspond to the surroundings: The ordered drink was still not delivered when the soup arrived, simply forgotten. The table stayed laid for any dishes. The superfluous cutlery was not taken away according to my ordered food. Am I fussy? Not if you would pay tribute to the beautiful decorated dining room.

    The location on the main road at the end of the town was convenient for me, but maybe not for everybody. The restaurant has not lost the well looked after ambience since I was there in the nineties.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff, good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast lacked adequate supply of fresh fruit and natural yoghurt, also short staffed so slow service. Coffee tasted like dishwater, eggs over cooked. 2nd night I was kep awake by noisy guests in room above - lack of sound insulation.

    Friendly staff, good location. Dinner standard good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.4
    Food was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed, unbearably hot room with no air condition or even a fan. Also no fridge in room so couldn't even keep water cool.

    Food was lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Good restaurant, Double check your booking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mix up over bedroom allocation. Requested ground floor double. We were allocated second floor twin room!! There are no lifts at this hotel!! No ground floor rooms available, seemed to be a mix up in information .Room very quickly converted to double by pushing beds together and remaking it. Bathroom a little tired

    Staff cheerful , friendly and efficient. Particularly receptionist and breakfast waiting staff! Breakfast lady was wonderful! Full of good humour and cheerfulness! And the food (both meals) was very very good indeed. The staff make the stay worthwhile. Will go back, just for our breakfast waitress alone!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Exactly what I needed in a break for a few days away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfortable and welcoming, the staff are always very happy to see you and will make one feel comfortable. The food is some of the best I have had recently. Brilliant menu, good selection of wines and spirits.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant stay all round
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms warm - facing main road making it noisy for open window

    Evening meal choice limited but enjoyable. Attentive/helpful staff Good facilities. great cooked breakfast with nice coffee. Good location/parking available

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    Basic/ standard stay for £118/ night not the best value
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double room we booked was actually two single beds pushed together, the room was generally very tired and outdated and on the small side generally. Breakfast was cooked to order and there was a good choice which came out quickly and hot, however i always rate a place on the standard of the sausages and they weren't great.

    The staff were nice and accommodating

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing was my bed had a creaky old mattress. No show-stopper tho.

    Nice folks and the room was very cozy and pleasant. Great dinner and good breakfast plus a huge selection of malt whiskies in the bar with informative tasting notes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely location, friendly, accommodating staff. Good food. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was average. Lots to choose from, but the cooked breakfast had a few issues. The porridge was too thick and salty. The omelette had little to no cheese. The bed was lumpy. I think the mattress needs an upgrade.

    Dinner was amazingly good. Everything seemed to be home made, including the sweets. The shower in the room was powerful. The room was clean and big.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location. Friendly accommodating staff. Lovely food and comfortable clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out didn't go smoothly. Charged again for accommodation after paying in advance via booking.com. Additional charges had been put under the wrong codes on final bill which caused more confusion.

    Clean room, comfortable bed, my favourite Walkers short cake replaced daily in room. Good service and tasty food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed our stay very much and would like to stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The porridge was too thick and lumpy for my taste!

    The homely, traditional atmosphere of the hotel. The location was ideal, near the shops, museum and near some lovely walks in the woods and along the beautiful river Spey.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.5
    Overnight business stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no draft beer on only chilled cans. Apparently there is no draft beer over the winter period. However this visit was first week in April

    Food good quality and reasonably priced

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel , highly recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was a wee bit dear but as I mentioned earlier, it was of a very high standard.

    Very good hotel. On arrival the receptionist ( Mandy ) was very welcoming even accompanying me to my room. The room itself was very nice with a full size bathroom in which I had a good soak. The restuarant was lovely and the food while a little expensive was delicious and very good quality. I had a starter that featured venison salami ( beautiful) and roast supreme of chicken for my main and it was melt in the mouth. Breakfast was excellent too and all staff from the receptionist on first arrival to the waiters etc were all so nice. I was there.on business but I plan to return with my wife sometime in the future.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    excellent small hotel and wonderful chef
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent friendly staff and a superb chef . Best small hotel meal ever. Great that we could take our old dog who does not settle in kennels. Very warm welcome and cheery goodbye. Will stay again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    From our shot stay experience everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Coudn’t fault anything at all, even arriving late for evening meal, we still receive an excellent meal which was perfectly done and presented.

    Excellent selections of Scottish Whisky, that was a surprise. Food was outstanding and reasonable cost for the fine dining you receive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.5
    March in Grantown
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel says WiFi is only available in the Bar, and while my phone and laptop could both see the hotel WiFi Network, neither could connect. :( As I was staying for business it would be good if WiFi was offered throughout the hotel.

    Warm welcome when I arrived. Quickly checked in and shown to my Room. The room was lovely and warm, just what you need on a cold evening in March! The bed was comfy, if a little short for my 6" frame. There was also a small TV and Tea/Coffee making facilities in the room. Breakfast is available from 07:30 and consists of cereal, yoghurt etc from the buffet and a cooked breakfast from the kitchen. The full cooked breakfast was very good, especially the black pudding!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Overall this was a great, value for money stay and I’d definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - seemed to be understaffed.

    Very friendly and comfortable. Lovely location for exploring the area. Dinner was absolutely excellent. Food , first class and service excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    I couldn't have been made more welcome.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rear car park was totally iced up so I had to park at the front.

    The staff were very welcoming to both me and my dog. The room was spacious and well appointed. The restaurant meals were delicious. The pan fried sea bass out of this world! I was travelling on my own but the staff always found a nice seat for me by the window for breakfast. My visit was exceptional value for money!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.7
    Special effort made to ensure room was warm during very cold...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit mean - only one rather of bacon, tired grilled tomato. However, the worst feature of the stay was the total absence of any form of draught beer in the bar.

    Special effort made to ensure room was warm during very cold weather.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Absolutely brilliant in every way. Have already booked to celebrate my birthday next year.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything. No criticisms at all.

    Heating was adjustable and window opened to let in fresh air if needed. Bonus was bath in en suite and oodles of hot water. Food was marvellous and staff exemplary.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent will definatley be back!!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    We had an excellent relaxing stay, staff friendly and helpful with good knowledge of the local area. We travelled there with our dog and she was also very welcome and we could have our meals in the bar together. Good choice of food and portion size, a hearty breakfast to start the with good quick service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    The food was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was too hard for my wife but this is always a challenge as she suffers from Parkinsons and a softer bed is required but rarely available

    The food was excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed our visit.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was not cleaned, though we were only there two nights. Apparently there had been a mistake made.

    Excellent location for exploring Grantown and nearby woods. Pet friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Most suitable for overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't park in the car park because it looked vulnerable and also it was dark when I returned in the evening. There was no iron, although ironing board - however I did not need.

    V nice staff, plenty of hot water, comfy bed, perfect breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    Would happily recommend as a comfortable, homely and central base for your highland holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bed was two singles pushed together and a tad uncomfortable

    Excellent Speyside hospitality, food excellent, amazing selection of of malt whisky for the connoisseur and novice. Ideal central location/base for our Highland holiday.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    Had a very comfortable weekend and the Hotel was very central for our planned visits
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't an easy access from the car park to the hotel. No lift and no porter although the staff were very helpful when available .

    The friendliness of the staff and the cosy atmosphere. Lovely meals and good choice of menu

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice bar lounge. Exterior was neat and tidy. Age of facility tends to add ambience but also a few creaky floors. Rooms were overly hot at night and not able adjust easily. Meals and staff were excellent. Perhaps a lot more food than necessary. Linens in dining and rooms was very good. Overall a Very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    A pretty country style hotel in a small picturesque town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a very large and bushy yew tree right outside my window which obscured anty view or sunshine. The river was a mile away

    This is a charming country hotel type of property on the main street of pretty Grantown on Spey. Large car park at the rear of the property. coop within a short walk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Another very pleasant stay at the Garth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing in particular.

    One of my favourite hotels.Quiet,comfortable room.Very good food.Pleasant,efficient ,hardworking staff.Could do with more staff..Will be back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.8
    A nice find in the area as had stayed in a couple of other venues which did not meet a very good sta
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed could have been a little more comfy

    Very welcoming & helpful front desk lady, evening meal & breakfast were very good. Added bonus a good pint at the bar as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.3
    Adequate for my needs on that occasion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite dated hotel, room was tiny and bed just ok. Staff variable from the lovely to the surly. Whole place felt tired, but was ok for one quick sleep over but I would not have enjoyed a longer stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    4.2
    Good location poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attitude of some staff not being bothered. bed was poor no pillowcases by 930 so had to wait to go to bed and when complained was told abruptly not a lot could do as been let down by linnen cleaners.room was noisy some staff don't look happy would not stop here again

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    Great location, food and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much not to like . Have stayed there before and will again.

    Good location in the middle of the town so easy to find. Great food and good service. Even had a piper walking up and down outside. Lovely town as a base to explore the Grampians.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.5
    Hotel has a good location and is very pretty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff slow to serve in restaurant at dinner and breakfast. Lots of dirty tables left at breakfast.

    Hotel has a good location and is very pretty. Room was nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Room excellent but dinner and breakfast was painfully slow. Problem with staff morale.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Restaurant service was terrible with us having to wait over an hour for a table because they had forgotten our booking. Food was excellent but the service was painfully slow. Breakfast again was lovely but a long wait (the chef was on a go slow).

    Location, gardens, decor with bay windows over the garden and Granton on Spey a lovely Scottish town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    A place that will certainly be on my list to stay if I rerturn to Grantown again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great room, complete with four poster bed and balcony overlooking the gardens. Bagpipes played in the evening. Not far from all shops and facilities plus a nice walk through the forest and alongside the river in the evening.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely friendly hotel in an excellent location serving good food. Would definitely stay there aga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was fine but I'm afraid housekeeping wasn't great. Bed made but sometimes cups not washed and toilet rolls, shampoo, shower gel, tea bags and milk not replenished.

    Excellent food - we booked bed and breakfast but dined there in the evening three times in our five night stay as the food was so good. Lots of choices of starters and main courses all well cooked with fresh seasonal vegetables. Very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.1
    Great breakfast and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single bed in my room had a funny smell.The TV was old square screen..watching football you'd keep thinking the ball had gone out only to see it sliding back in from the side.

    The staff at breakfast were brilliant. My room overlooked the car park: I heard some bagpipes in the car park outside I looked out to see a man in full regalia facing a high wall 2 feet in front of him giving it large. I think he was practising.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is run done carpets thread bare and rooms poor. The Window frame was metal and rather black and we asked for a quiet room what we got was a very small double room over the back of the busy noisy car park and above what was either the kitchen or laundry room. Not a pleasant experience

    The breakfast was very good and the shower powerful but over a bath

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    Although only an overnight stay it was relaxing, food was tasty and service excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was nice to be able to sit outside with a drink and relax. The staff were friendly and breakfast service was superb. The restaurant meals were lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt sorry for the staff, who were working so hard because of a colleague's absence.

    Super staff phoned around for us to find someone to repair a motorcycle. Gorgeous room. Lovely atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    6.7
    Reception desk was indifferent to our arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception desk was indifferent to our arrival. Smallish room. Dinner average. Breakfast good. Overall bed and breakfast was on expensive side but OK for one night. Would not like it for a longer stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Great one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doing a Mrs Brown in room 10 bathroom,!Mattress abit old.

    Great old hotel ,very well refurbished.and comfortable good launching pad for whiskey trail.Very good restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    We always stay at the Garth when in Grantown-on-Spey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kingsize bed, large bedroom, good shower. Tea, coffee and hot chocolate in the bedroom, along with Walker's Shortbread. Very good restaurant, food well presented.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    The food was excellent and the staff were very very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little tired regarding the pelmet above the curtains and the telly was a bit small if I was over critical but to be honest it really didn't matter.

    The food was excellent and the staff were very very friendly. Stunning location, very quiet and tranquil. Easy access to the mountains and even the bus route goes straight past the hotel ! Lovely power shower and comfy bed and the breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet very cramped, almost claustrophobic. Difficult to carry luggage up stairs but that is to be expected in a small hotel.

    Great location. Very good food. Friendly, positive atmosphere. Good value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Must stay hotel. Value, service, food and atmosphere cant be faulted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you had to be super critical the bath a bit thin.

    The choice of cooked breakfast the best we have ever had. The staff always had a smile and we're very friendly and helpful. You felt at home there. Spacious room. Town charming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    The hotel was able to find us a room despite Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I changed the date of arrival which you confirmed to me but didn't tell the hotel

    The hotel was able to find us a room despite Booking.com giving the hotel the wrong dates.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.5
    Good free breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a bit bumpy. The decor could do with refreshing. One of the bar staff was a bit pushy but nothing terrible.

    Good free breakfast. Within walking distance of bars and restaurants. Nice selection of whisky at the bar.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    AS good as it gets on any budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was only available in the reception area

    Staff were superb. Hotel very comfortable. Food was very good value and quality. Location was great plenty of off road parking

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Excellent short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double room we had was small, but cosy nonetheless. Not much space for luggage except in the cupboard/wardrobe which was quite large, but it did ensure tidiness as there wasn't much room on the floor around the bed for our cases, so they had to go in the space provided.

    It was all first class. Friendly, helpful staff, and a lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were all very friendly. Generous breakfast included and the evening meals were good as well. Excellent shower in my room, and shortbread and coffee were replaced in the morning! Plenty of parking available.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.3
    Nice stay at the Garth Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too small and too soft for our liking. We are big people.

    The staff at the hotel was very helpful and friendly. I liked the vestibule with chairs in our room. The view was very nice. The breakfast was excellent .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked wifi in room.

    The property was set in a lovely position. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and cooked perfectly. Excellent location for visiting various places round about.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Lovely comfortable accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could not find fault with anything

    The staff were all very helpful and mannerly. Nothing was too much bother for any of them. The location of the hotel was superb and our room (6) was very spacious and comfortable. Food was very good and the bar was well stocked to suit all tastes. I would certainly recommend this hotel and will be back again when we are in the area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.9
    Another enjoyable stay at The Garth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really

    Ideal location with just a few minutes walk into town/village centre Location was quiet and room very comfortable Ideal location for visits to Culloden, Cawdor Castle and of course the Whisky trail We stayed as part of a larger Motorcycle tour of the Highlands and the run down from Nairn to The Garth was fantastic

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.3
    weekend away
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    black out blinds in the bedroom needed to be a few inches longer to stop street lights shining in the bedroom.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, very dog friendly, we were given a room near an exit downstairs to make it easy with the dog and they had dog biscuits behind reception. Smoked Haddock and poached eggs for breakfast, a great choice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    8.8
    Beds were comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fine for just now but no lifts to bedroom. Possibly have ground floor bedrooms but did not enquire

    Beds were comfy. Staff very friendly and food good and plentiful Very dog friendly and near to good walks.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Comfortable accommodation, good food and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    I am on a low fat diet and the staff were extremely helpful with breakfasts and evening meal. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.6
    A big fluffy bath towel that went round the waistline.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tartan carpeting at steps gave rise to trip hazard in corridors. Friend actually was caught out on one occasion

    A big fluffy bath towel that went round the waistline. Spacious rooms. Power shower

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a four poster bed, but it actually would've been better if it was just an ordinary bed

    Staff were lovely, food and service very good, nice sized room which was bright and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.3
    Bit mixed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast took ages - just to be acknowledged and our order taken took 25 minutes. It made for an unfriendly atmosphere. Also they make it very clear that they don't want you in the bar after about 10pm which again isn't very welcoming.

    Great location & atmospheric building - very Highland. Scrupulously clean and bedrooms nicely appointed - more tv channels than the last time.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.1
    hotel looks rather tired inside, bar looks like a public bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast, fruit salad meagre, no natural or greek yoghurt, two poached eggs on plate no toast shortage of staff at reception and bar

    young woman at reception very helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    9.6
    Can't think of anything negative to say - it was all excellent value for money and look forward to s
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotel's fault but couldn't get any service from my provider o2

    Staff were extra kind helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfasts were first class. The tea/coffee making facilities in the room was excellent. Wonderful value for money. Manageress was really lovely and approachzble

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    8.3
    Friendly, comfortable, small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some areas could probably do with a bit of tlc but that did not detract from our stay.

    This was our second stay. The hotel is small and comfortable - not impersonal and modern. It was warm, the shower was good and the bed comfy. The staff were friendly and very helpful, particularly regarding requests for downstairs rooms. It was easy to walk up the street and it would be handy for the whisky trail or exploring the area. It suited our needs well and we would return.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay with your pet , the staff couldn't do more to help and accommodate all of us
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garth needs double glazing but everything else was top class

    Staff were brilliant , meals were excellent and location was brilliant for exploring the area

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    9.2
    The Garth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were far too soft in the bed .

    The Garth was cosy and welcoming , the staff at reception were so helpful , and the chef and Michael at breakfast were excellent .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Fantastic Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    absolutely nothing

    was a typically Raw winter day when we arrived and was lovely to enter into a warm and friendly reception. Hotel was very nicely decorated with a lovely "cosy" lounge area where a great fire was going. Staff and locals alike were all friendly and we had a really great stay - we are already re booked for May

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    5.0
    Sadly not a good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Totally spoiled by a really disgusting shower curtain that wouldn't look out of place in a student flat.... When I informed the staff I was told that they were working their way around the hotel getting things smart. The room had already undergone an update & although small was neat but for the lack of a spend of £10 we left with a nasty taste in our mouths...

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Garth Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: