Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of George at Easingwold 4 stars

Market Place, Easingwold, YO61 3AD, United Kingdom

#2 of 4 hotels in Easingwold

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 272 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant but not for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks lovely from the outside but very tired inside needs a bit of modernising creaky floors and creaky bed when you turn over!! Seemed overpriced for a nights stay.

    The breakfast was lovely!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Well up to my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The latest of a number of visits, so I knew how friendly all the staff are. The room was absolutely fine as was the menu which had plenty variety. Owners Kay and Michael always on hand.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    Thoroughly enjoyable flying visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in could've been better. The person working behind the bar could see we were waiting but didn't attend to us, had to wait for someone to walk by and ask them for assistance. We have stayed before so weren't too perturbed but it wouldn't be a great first impression for someone visiting for the first time.

    A lovely hotel, friendly atmosphere, great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Super if you want to explore york
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow stairs to room 5 make luggage-transport not easy for elderly people. Ask for suitable room if necessary.

    Nice and cozy pub in Easingwold with very traditional rooms, excellent food - not only breakfast! Right opposite of the hotel is the central busstation with lots of connections into York (approximately 40 to 65 min journeytime).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor sound insulation between rooms...we could hear normal conversation from next door, this was not in main building.

    Breakfast was good. Our room as changed immediately at our request....into main building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Did the job but would not rush back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot of atmosphere to say an old coaching in. No residents lounge to speak of. Glass tumblers and cups in room not clean.

    Bed very comfy. Breakfast very good and hot

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On a very hot day/evening the room(10) was uncomfortably hot until well into the late evening. Areas of the hotel are in need of updating but is obviously well cared for. The best thing we thought was that it was very individual and comfortable with itself. No cooperate touches here thank . A real English country hotel.

    Staff were welcoming on arrival. Real ale was well looked after. Food was good quality and well cooked/presented. We'd happily return and probably will.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    A brilliant weekend away in a super friendly atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing

    Excellent location for touring the wolds. Off the main road so nice and peaceful. The food was very good. Very handy for pensioners to use the bus foe Thirsk and York

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    We were only staying one night and could find no faults with the George. Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good sized room and bed. Two chairs in the room, usually only get one even though there’s two people in the room. Bath and separate shower, usually have shower over the bath which can be hazardous climbing in and out of bath to shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    Ideal for a couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet had stains and could do with some bleach otherwise room was spotless. Towels not changed despite being left on floor. Bedding and towels could do with being replaced but overall great value for money

    Staff were all very friendly and accommodating, bed was very comfy, lots of choice at breakfast. Perfect location and hotel restaurant food was delicious and reasonably priced. Lots of free car parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Smashing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in room. Bed a little soft and although quiet through the night, I could hear the guests in the room next door in the morning

    Large spacious room with pleasant decor, very friendly staff and superb location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Great place to stay and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi not great for me anyway.

    Great friendly place to stay, very accommodating, great quality breakfast freshly cooked and dinner also. Quite clean comfortable rooms, parking, a great place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Really enjoyed my three days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall I was very pleased and will almost certainly return, but there's always scope for improvement. E.g. a residents' lounge with comfortable armchairs; brighter room lighting when wanted, e.g. for reading more comfortably.

    Friendliness.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.9
    Good Yorkshire welcome and fare but we were unlucky with the other guests on the first night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being outside in the annex although the room itself was fine.

    The beer was excellent and the food of a good standard. First nights stay was spoilt by a wedding party making plenty of noise into the small hours.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was cold and duvet cover was creased and marked suggesting it was not newly changed.

    Breakfast excellent, staff friendly and courteous, evening meal very good with careful attention to food allergies and location good for York, Ripon, Knaresborough and Whitby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.8
    'Very pleasant' pub/hotel with 'very pleasant' staff, as well!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No real complaints, maybe the bed was rather soft!

    Warm welcome on arrival. Friendly staff. Value for money. Ideal for a one night 'stop-over', Has good car parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Good food, good beer and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    This is the 4th time we have stayed at the George and the welcome is always friendly and the pub is always warm and welcoming with a good selection of real ales and good food. The rooms adjacent to the car park are warm and well equipped which was needed at this time of year.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    Brilliant place to go..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...

    Bed was comfortable and huge. Room clean and well heated. Staff amazing. Breakfast outstanding .credit to the owners for a wonderful stay...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.6
    This was a return visit as we like the situation of the hotel & access to the surrounding area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our rooms were in the annexe extension which gave us direct access to our rooms rather than through the hotel which we preferred. Breakfast was lovely with good menu options.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    A comfortable place to stay but the cooking was the star of the show.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room although comfortable was rather dark and uninspiring. The bathroom was rather strange in shape but boasted an excellent shower. There was a rather tricky step down from the bathroom to the bedroom though

    The quality of food available was excellent for all meals. Very inventive items on the evening menu. The management and staff were delightful - helpful and friendly and eager to help, especially regarding access to York

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Did exactly what it said on the tin and then some!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personally , I think the breakfast was not that tasty and quite a small helping,with both bacon and sausage falling below what I would term as excellent. However, in fairness, six of us travelled together and the other five really enjoyed theirs ( two Salmon & scrambled eggs and three full English). So it is always has to be a very subjective view. It seems churlish to complain but perhaps a little look at the quantity and quality of the full English breakfast may be expedient

    Very nearly everything was perfect, so as a seasoned traveller both here and on the continent it would be difficult to fault this hotel. It represented excellent value for money and the general cleanliness and ambience was surpassed only by the quality of staff and service. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double charged for stay when using Booking.com. Some confusion between George booking and online booking.

    Easy access and parking. Friendly atmosphere and good food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    Good base for our 3 night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some traffic noise from our room (3). Semi-double glazed but we had to keep windows closed to avoid disturbance. Shower flowed hot and cold without adjustment.

    Exellent evening meals and breakfasts. Friendly and welcoming staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.1
    the food made the stay very good but disapointed in the room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are looking tired but very clean There supposed to have been wi fi in the room but when tried to connect it said no internet connection .Asked at reception was told not good in the rooms but ok in public areas.

    I had an exceptional meal in the bar on the evening staff were very good. Black Sheep beer a firm favourite

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    5.4
    Won't stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small double bed and very small room looking onto another part of the building. The whole place is very dated and tired. No wifi in the rooms.

    Location was good for us. Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    A wonderful welcome awaits you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The customer service is outstanding, nothing is too much trouble for the professional and experienced owners. The dinner and breakfast were delicious. The rooms were large and spacious with big bathrooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    apart from main meal other aspects very good .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast very good , dinner not so good . main course included gnocchi which should be light and fluffy , these were dense and sticky and appeared not to be handmade .not bad enough to be sent back but disappointing

    room was excellent large and well equipped .central location also very useful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel in a lovely town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, the staff especially were superb - warm, friendly & welcoming. Our room was lovely, the food delicious & the hotel served an excellent pint of real ale! Great atmosphere too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.3
    Hanging baskets displays were magnificent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hanging baskets displays were magnificent! Beer good, food very good. Our 2nd visit, 1st visit had a little disappointment, pleased that we gave the house a 2nd chance, very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, comfy room , lovely breakfast and staff really pleasant and helpful. Stayed for three nights , good base , buses on the doorstep. Nice short break.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Would definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking in the car park at back of hotel where our room was, was limited and quite 'tight' for larger cars.

    Staff very accommodating with any request. Breakfast brilliant! Food in restaurant was good value and plenty of it! Even half portions huge!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Outstanding hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Outstanding hotel. It is rare to find a hotel that provides non-slip mats in the shower along with a a firm grab rail, features that are essential for the slightly infirm. Superb breakfast included, excellent evening meal, helpful advice for trips etc. Basically, our 3-day stay could not be faulted

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable accommodation and excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely helpful staff. We were a group of 11 runners - we had run from Helmsley (17 miles) and were continuing to York (17 miles) and each of us had specific nutritional preferences so the great range of food on offer and excellent service for breakfast made for a 1st class start to the day!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Georgian Splendour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only slight problem was with WiFi connection - but for us that was indeed a trivial thing.

    Position of property, quality and comfort and cleanliness of room, excellent food and very friendly and efficient staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Excellent accommodation in beautiful area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Material draped over top of 4 poster was detached in one corner.

    Excellent breakfast and friendly, efficient service. Spacious en-suite room with 4 poster bed, which was a lovely surprise. Great, relaxed atmosphere in the evening (we met with family for drinks). Bargain price via Booking.com.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.9
    Great food nice people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi Fi reception poor. Non existent in room. Great if you want peace, so leave your phone alone!

    Food was excellent. Staff friendly and attentive. Good location for touring.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Good location outside York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Good communication from hotel informing us in advance about road closures due to brass band competition. Stall all very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.3
    Not as enjoyable as our previous visits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was so uncomfortable that it was impossible to sleep, the mattress certainly needs replacing! (room 19) Having dinner in the back room and not in the dining room ( we have always dined in the dining room when we have stayed before) It was dark and noisy in the back room and every 2 mins. someone was passing by our table making it hard to chat and enjoy our meal. could not understand why some people had dinner in the dining room and others had to be seated in the back room. therefore we only booked dinner once and ate out on the following evenings!!!!!

    Breakfast was very good apart from the staff clearing away before 9.30 so if you wanted extra orange juice etc. it had been removed!!! The bathroom was well equipped and plenty of tea and coffee available in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    5.8
    Good with lumps
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE BED! It could do with an update as you could feel the springs plus the whole thing shook when you moved. Not the best nights sleep either of us have ever had.

    Staff were friendly and location was ideal. Plus breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Lovely friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception girl,when we arrived,was really nice and she took us to our room and asked if there was anything we required. At breakfast the owner came to each table and had a chat to every guest. Really friendly hotel, good food with a nice choice of menu.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    3.3
    Stay here instead of in York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all

    Genuine pub atmosphere in a quiet country town close to all of North Yorkshire. A good alternative to staying in York, where hotel prices have doubled in 5 years with no improvement in service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    Stayed at The George with a group of friends returning from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed at The George with a group of friends returning from a tour of Scotland. Just the ticket for us. Our rooms were in the small anex to the rear with the car/bike parking outside, motel-style. They were clean, comfortable and had all the standard amenities. Perhaps not a plush, and a touch more expensive than some on our trip, but still proving reasonable value for sharing a twin room. We drank beer outside, watching the world of lovely Easingwold go by, we ate a bunch of good meals in the bar and had an excellent breakfast in the restaurant area. The staff were friendly and engaging throughout our stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay in a lovely village near to York at a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I was being really contentious Wi Fi in our room would have been handy but was readily available in the hotel in itself

    Food tasted like it was made from fresh ingredients and not a microwaved prepared bar meal that you get in a lot of establishments.Handy parking outside our comfortable ,clean ,quite spacious accomodation.Friendly welcoming staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    8.8
    Welcoming and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 5 at the back of the hotel was small and gloomy. Asked to move and were moved to 4 at the front, no problem.

    All the staff were friendly and helpful. All areas very clean. Convenient location, bus to York from right outside the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    A lovely old inn with excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel being privately owned always means more care is taken with service. The position of the hotel in the village is excellent and being able to park right outside a bonus. The hotel is very attractive, the restaurant offers very good food and the staff were very pleasant. Would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    7.9
    My wife had a bad fall before arrival and could barely walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My wife had a bad fall before arrival and could barely walk. Staff went out of their way to accommodate us in this predicament. It was simply wonderful and ever so supportive how they took care of us.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    8.3
    Lovely house, traditional, as expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was quite horrific, although there wasa buffet for cereals etc, the cooked brekky not good, well overfried eggs, armour plated tomato, I felt quite (very) disappointed , ruined the stay for me, although my partners brekky was quite ok.

    Lovely house, traditional, as expected. Comfy room, bed. Good evening meal selection, food was good. Nice draught ales selection. Staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    9.6
    A great little coaching inn in the heart of Herriot country
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    Extremely friendly abd helpful staff who go out of their way to makecyou feel at home. Excellent freshly cooked breakfasts which are well-presented and quickly served

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    10
    Lovely place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi didn't seem to work in the room. Fine everywhere else. Didn't actually cause me any problems so its a minor point.

    Spotless! Rooms were freshly painted. Bed was great. Quiet location. Staff were great.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    10
    Wonderful setting great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, though we arrived to late for food, they made us a cheeseboard. Great breakfast and great service - we left a pillow of my daughters there and they sent it on to us, which was much appreciated! X

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.6
    Friendly staff and excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast, friendly attentive staff. Great location in a lovely market village. The decor was modern yet classic, not dated like many places we have stayed previously.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    4.6
    If you like it old style then this is for you but do your research first! 🤔
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First thing we noticed was the bedroom odour,very poor lighting poor shower, bathroom dated was basically old fashioned but it did go with the theme of the Hotel I suppose, drinks expensive, breakfast was ok no offer of more toast! My mum Would love it! More for the oldies no offence!

    Liked the fact the place had a certain character to it it was warm and cosy

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    7.1
    Great location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The George Hotel is an old building, but our room was in an annexe. The bathroom floor was badly marked and the bed was a little lumpy. I wouldn't pay full price, but the reduced rate was more in keeping.

    Friendly staff and very accommodating attitude. Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    7.5
    Enjoyable stay at the George
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was advertised with free wifi but we couldn't get it in our room as we were in the outside rooms.

    For an old property it was very nicely decorated and very clean. The breakfast was very good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    8.3
    Staff were friendly but not 'pushy".
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly but not 'pushy". Hotel was always comfortably warm. Requests/concerns were addressed immediately. Bus service to York was across the road.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    8.3
    Comfortable and convenient
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although I'd ticked the filter box for "dog friendly" accommodation and got my husband to double check before we booked, it turned out that The George is not,normally, dog friendly. The member of staff welcoming us kindly checked with the owner and he agreed that Sam could stay in our room. We appreciated that. On checking The George website it did say that dogs weren't allowed, so the filter/inputting was incorrect on Booking.com and I'm not sure whose responsibility that was..... not ours as we used the correct filter. Good and helpful outcome though.

    This is a very old coaching inn and, although it is being upgraded, there is something missing...atmosphere? still slightly tired and 1950's ish? BUT most importantly ....staff were very helpful, breakfast was freshly cooked and good choice menu. Bed was comfy, room temperature was perfect, had both bath and shower, and was excellent value.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    10
    Excellent Friendly service at The George
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed The George 4 or 5 times now ,,,, Managment and staff can not do enough for you ,,, Anytime im in that part of Yorkshire I will stay there and highly recommend it to anyone 😆

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    7.5
    OK, but don't expect anything other than polite service in a clean establishment.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is what it is, stuck in a bit of a low budget, friendly timewarp, I guess it will continue to do good business but not very good at anything, nor is it bad at anything, just a bit old fashioned, like needing a pass code if you want to stay out after 11:30 or be out before 07:30,quaint but not the real world

    everything was ok, family run place, bit old fashioned, but nothing to complain about.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    5.8
    The lady behind the bar was really helpful and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was dated and shabby.. no WiFi in the rooms. Decor again shabby and dated, stained carpet. Not worth £75.

    The lady behind the bar was really helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    8.3
    Lovely break in Easingwold
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi not available in room, only in public areas, but not a real problem.

    Staff and owner friendly and helpful. Room good size with 2 armchairs and coffee table. Food excellent, both breakfast and evening meal. Bed very comfortable. Lovely location in centre of town with easy access to surrounding attractions

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.6
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a bit fiddly to use and didnt really explain how to use it. Figured it out in the end though

    Bed was pretty confortable. Everything was neat and clean

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.2
    Friendly hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perhaps the roast beef could have been a little more tender.

    Very friendly staff and a comfortable room. A good selection of breakfast including kippers.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    7.9
    Rooms were comfortable and well appointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were comfortable and well appointed. Both dinner and breakfast were excellent and were a credit to the chef. The staff were polite and attentive.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    We love it all,this is our second holiday & will...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy cars & youths shouting around square late into evening,we had a front bedroom.Sadly theres probably little you can do about it !!

    We love it all,this is our second holiday & will hopefully come back.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    8.3
    An agreeable and overall pleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar was very pricey compared to the other three pubs in the vicinity. Décor of room was a tad tired

    Location of inn was excellent in a very picturesque town. Breakfast was most excellent and appetising. Very quiet and restful nights sleep

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    7.1
    Lovely area, lovely pub, very basic.
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An old pub but needs updating as there are some areas that are poor.

    Love Easingwold, and the surrounding area. Great staff at the George, very helpful. Rooms very clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    9.6
    A great little coaching inn in the heart of Herriot country
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All fine; no dislikes

    Staff are very friendly and helpful at all times. Service at breakfast is great! Good food well presented and very swift, friendly service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    6.3
    Disappointing second visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food. Menu sparce and over priced.We ate in the restaurant. One of the meals was cold even though some of the food had been reheated and was burnt. One meal was replaced which meant we ate alone. It spoilt our evening. They did not charge us for the cheapest meal.

    Location,room,price.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    7.5
    Lovely hotel in picturesque village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The kippers for breakfast were a little bit tough - I don't know whether they were overcooked? Rest of the breakfast was delicious though.

    Location right in the heart of the village.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    5.8
    The rooms were basic but good enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The full English was overcooked and sausage and bacon inedible. Sam for kippers. Scrambled eggs and salmon was delicious.

    The rooms were basic but good enough.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    10
    Great food in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Food was excellent quality and well presented. I had advised the hotel that my wife was gluten-free and they didn't need reminding and advised her what was available without her having to ask.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.2
    As Arnold said "I'll be back"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very friendly and welcoming, the food was excellent and the bar was cosy with a good atmosphere.The location could note be bettered in a lovely quiet Market Town

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    Such a lovely stay at The George
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the second time we had stayed at The George and once again we had a lovely time. The staff are so welcoming and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The food is lovely and the rooms are extremely comfortable. Will definately book again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.7
    Lovely location and staff very pleasant.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bedding looked a little shabby and for the price I was a little disappointed

    Lovely location and staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Very central, very friendly, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    There was no fitness centre

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: