Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of George Hotel

14 Church Street, Hayfield, SK22 2JE, United Kingdom

#2 of 5 hotels in Hayfield

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 406 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    Excellent breakfast and a great location for walkers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double (Room 4)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water wasn't hot enough for a bath, even after I'd been down to ask about it and the manager had put the boiler on again. Tepid at best. The shower worked off a different system and was fine, but we'd specifically booked a room with a bath, so not to be able to use it was a shame.

    Comfy bed. Excellent cooked breakfast. Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Escape to peaks
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin (Room 2)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast, good choice of beers,a good selection on menu at a fair price, served by helpful and pleasant staff. I gladly recommend the George as a great place to stay in a brilliant location.

    All good, no problems.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    it was in a lovely spot in hayfield , we arrived monday night to a nice greeting and everything was really nice and friendly . We are trying to find an excuse to go again we loved it so much. so give it a go.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    It was as we expected to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant closes by 9 PM. This was not convenient on the day of our arrival. There was a step right outside the bedroom door which could be rather dangerous.

    Steak cooked perfectly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed our stay good value needs a few tweaks here and there but would recommend.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin (Room 5)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like first twin room. Dark and dingy. . Not laid out very well. Needs attention. Moved to another room and this was acceptable. Did not like the chairs in the restaurant as some very low for eating at table.

    Restaurant menu good choices and food. Breakfast was great service and cooked very well. Good location. Room acceptable with good bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    really good time in a beautiful village love to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin (Room 5)
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good apart from not being told to book a table for food.

    we went for one night on the motorbike, hotel was great, lovely area however if you want food book a table on arrival, we were not told that most nights its booked out so there was only one other option the new Italian restaurant around the corner and it was FAB....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Very happy place for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double (Room 4)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fish and chippy up the road closes at 7PM -- small town hours.

    If you're in the Derby Peak District, this is a welcome little village and friendly historic pub hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    Would not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double (room 7)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Steep staircase to reach room. Because of the steep staircases, we had to leave suitcases in the car and I was very concerned that the car park was not secure.

    Staff were helpful. Breakfast and dinner were typical pub grub.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    We were very please with the George and will definitely be staying again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double (Room 4)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom could do with a little maintenance by the win do and round the bath

    It was in a great location, with a large car park. The room very large with plenty of storage space. The food was excellent both the evening meal and the breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.1
    quite enjoyable apart from the bed which kept me awake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double (Room 8)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bed in room 8 was not comfortable, and indeed I found myself laying on the edge of it more than once, and wakeing up with a start, feeling I was about to fall out....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    Served its purpose but over priced
    • Couple
    • Double (Room 4)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel it was over priced. The room was clean but needs updating especially in the bathroom.(room 4) The bath panel was broken as was the tiling and the air extraction was filthy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Very clean rooms in a quaint pub!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the window was the car park which wasn't great and the car park was full meaning I had to leave my car on the road outside.

    When we arrived the service was quick despite the staff member having to serve on the bar as well as get us our keys and up to our room! The room was immaculate, not a speck of dust anywhere! The breakfast was great, with a good choice of cooked breakfasts as well as toast and jam.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Exactly the right choice for the area. Great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed two nights for a family party in the area. A really great pub in a beautiful village. the room was very nice (room 8). Amazing breakfast, Very helpful staff. Would recommend!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    We felt well looked after.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Family (Room 9)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their was nothing not to like about the hotel.

    We felt well looked after.Vslue for money and high standards. Superb location in the centre of the village plus secure parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice little room with good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked to have been shown a menu at breakfast but was just asked what I wanted. It put me on the spot and chose what I thought they would have rather than what I wanted.

    The food at the pub was very good. The bed was comfy and the bathroom clean. The room was small but that was fine for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Just the job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double (Room 4)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    zero

    Everything! We stayed here last April whilst visiting relations, and this year we booked right away when we knew that we were coming down again: We hope to come down again later this year. -- but of course, we know the hotel and what is on offer..............

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Our favourite getaway in the Peak District
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double (room 7)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't anything we dislike. We would come regularly but we have a little dog and although dogs are welcome in the pub, they aren't in the rooms :-(

    We enjoy everything at the George. Rooms are clean,comfortable and have all necessary facilities. Breakfast is freshly cooked as are the meals on the pub. The food here is fantastic, fresh and great value for money. Staff are friendly and efficient

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.5
    Cute, cosy, clean hotel but not in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was okay but wasn't brilliant, the bacon didn't have much taste and the scrambled eggs were more milk than egg.

    The room was small but cosy, very clean and all staff were more than happy to help with anything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double (Room 4)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff need personality transplant or better still a course on customer services Housekeeping was very poor Dust on window blinds Dust on top of wardrobe Dust on television Didn’t replenish toilet roll Did not provide hand towels No hot water Bath panel broken On booking in it would have been nice to have been told to book restaurant for evening meal consequently we had to find somewhere else to eat

    Comfortable bed Cooked breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Loved it, will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double (room 7)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast was excellent. Cereal, juice, porridge, toast and the full works. Very welcoming staff, lovely room, recently refurbished, with new bathroom. We ate at the pub in the evening, reasonably priced and red hot. Just book it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    Lovely room and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double (Room 6)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was freezing cold and radiator only switched on upon our arrival. A large room to heat, this took several hours. There was mildew in the kettle and cups, probably down to a lack of heating.

    The decor and standard of renovation was to a high standard and well thought out. There was plenty of tea and coffee supplies. Breakfast was good. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.1
    OK, but fell short of expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double (room 7)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too small. Expect at least king size in a double room. Duvet way too small: spent most of the night trying to keep myself covered, as did my wife!

    Staff pleasant, room clean, room decent size. Tv good, kettle in room . Food OK, not outstanding.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    A welcome break in the Peaks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The George has long been a favourite but is undergoing major refurbishment so the rooms and en suite bathrooms are even better appointed. The food and drink are as good as ever and need no improvement!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    short break in hayfield. will be back again in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing. no faults on this trip.

    excellent location. always friendly staff. food was excellent. beer was good. weather could have been warmer, butt it was November. will be returning in 2018.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    4.2
    Bedspread in need of washing or replacement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin (Room 5)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedspread in need of washing or replacement. They looked stained and dirty. Only one towel each. Asked for hand towels and was left extra bath mats. Asked questions about local Sett Valley Trail. The staff k we nothing about it. Would not stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    A really lovely setting, comfortable and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double (Room 4)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we got to the hotel the hotel gave us a free room upgrade which had just been redecorated and the room although smallish it was very comfortable we also ate at hotel and the food was very good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double (Room 4)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be made a little bit longer as 10am after a party wasn't great.

    Excellent!!! The staff were really friendly the breakfast was excellent and I had a request for an old towel which was waiting in my room for me as I had just died my hair and didn't want to ruin a towel as I forgot mine. Excellent service. Excellent rates

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.6
    Comfy bed, large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double (Room 4)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    Comfy bed, large room. Welcoming and helpful staff. Very good breakfast and food in the restaurant. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Great weekend break in the Peaks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a lovely old inn. We visited with another couple and we had rooms 7 and 8 which were sold as superior doubles and looked newly refurbished. These were lovely comfortable rooms, with modern en suites. Very quiet. Breakfast was great, staff lovely and friendly and historic bar downstairs was just the ticket.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.7
    Adequate hotel but room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hand towels in room. The bed wasn’t re-made for us after the first night, thought it was an oversight but neither were the beds of 3 other guests that day.

    lovely old inn and a good cooked breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.5
    A lovely country pub with great food and drinks - would be perfect if the rooms were updated!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double (Room 1)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were pretty pricey for their standards - ours was pretty dingy really and was long over due a spruce up - from the photographs and reports from other hotel-stayers some of the other rooms were much better than ours, so perhaps we were just unlucky. The lighting in the room was poor too - I'd have expected to pay less. Friends were staying over the road in accommodation for the same price and it was much brighter and cleaner. Breakfast ended pretty early too for a Sunday - we missed it!

    I really like the pub that the rooms were based at. This made the stay for us. The food was great and the bottle of wine for ten pounds on the Friday night couldn't have been missed!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.8
    A picturesque and convenient place to base yourself in the Peak District. Clean and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin (Room 2)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no wifi. Narrow stairs to lug cases up.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The George Hotel is very old and the requirements for modern comfort have been carefully added. It is a very convenient location and the evening dining is extremely good. Breakfast is traditional and tasty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    6.7
    the location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Family (Room 9)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was mediocre, and room access was difficult, very steep uneven stairs, awkward with suitcases. The weekend was salvaged by meeting some nice people.

    the location was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.0
    Could do with an update but good none the less
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small double was small (although adequate)- the rooms and bathroom would benefit from an update but they were still ok for the price we paid and the fact that it was only an overnight stop.

    Good breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.0
    Unless the manager changes his attitude towards his clients I will not be recommending this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The mattress on my son's bed collapsed on the Monday. As I had done the entire booking, they did'n't like to complain until 2 days later, It was then promised to be changed immediately .but was'n't changed until Thursday. The manager was sitting at the bar while my son was trying to sort it out, no apology from him was made, no reassurance, complete indifference.

    The staff,apart from the manager were generally polite and cordial, especially the service at breakfast time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    A lovely relaxing stay in an atmospheric old inn with excellent food and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double (Room 4)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The George is an historic inn in the beautiful village of Hayfield, nestling under Kinder Scout. It is ideal walking country with the whole area criss-crossed by foorpaths and right on the Sett Valley trail. The rooms are comfy, the food topnotch and very plentiful(!) and the staff friendly and welcomimg.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.0
    Good location for mini bus pick up to the wedding we were...
    • Couple
    • Double (Room 1)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small,old mismatched furniture just placed randomly in room ,due to lack of space. Curtains falling off rail,coffee and tea tray a long with kettle on window ledge.bathroom also small,in need of modernisation.When booking there were 65 pictures to look at ,not one of them was of this room,very disapointed as even picture on our booking confirmation was of a much better room.

    Good location for mini bus pick up to the wedding we were attending.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.1
    Great location for a stopover or couple of days walking in the peaks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our son's room on the middle floor was tired and dated but i assume that floor will be renovated too at some point. The breakfast could have had more variety, yoghurt, fruit etc. I felt it was a little overpriced and a child price would have helped.

    Our room on the newly renovated top floor was lovely. The pub downstairs was friendly and had a good menu. The cooked breakfast was good, and had a vegetarian option.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    really good. would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double (Room 8)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    as I and my husband are still in fairly reasonable health we didnt mind the stairs. However, it could prove problematic for anyone less mobile. As with it being an old building it has no lift.

    my husband enjoyed the real ale selection, and only needed the small meals from the menu...as sometimes the standard meals are too large for him. The staff were really good about everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.3
    felt a certain lack of enthusiasm from staff. No one really in charge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double (Room 6)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dated and in dire need of upgrading. The bathroom was quite old and looked shabby. We were rather concerned as to an exit from the room should there have been a fire! Breakfast was very tasty but only 1 staff member to serve a full dining room!

    The setting was absolutely amazing and the staff reasonable. The property does not fit into any of the above categories.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    Perfect for our stopover to attend a wedding - would be happy to stay again to explore the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Soft pillows as an option would have been nice. No operating instructions for shower (once the power source was spotted, it was easy though). No note in room about breakfast time or advertising bar times/evening meals (which seemed a shame if breakfast was anything to go by). Only one bedside light - it didn't work - quite sure it would have been sorted immediately but we didn't need it.

    Breakfast was good and plentiful. Staff had room ready early which was essential to our plans. Good to find a lovely cafe almost opposite. Lovely countryside around the village. Parking was easy. Room was small, clean - shower was new and efficient. Tea and coffee plentiful. Dining room was clean and fresh - nicely decorated and warm.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    Good value B&B near Kinder
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin (Room 2)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not accessible despite being given the password

    Good position, right in the centre of the town. Good car park, residents' own entrance. Not too noisy, despite being by the main road and church clock.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Very comfortable room, excellent menu, good beers and a perfect base for Kinder.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double (Room 8)
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Our room in the hotel had recently been refurbished and was pristine. The menu was extensive, and what we ate was excellent quality. Very inviting pub, popular with locals. Tremendous value for money. Has a good selection of well kept ales, features in the 2017 Good Beer Guide.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Gorgeous George?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The George on a Friday night might be a victim of its own success. Staff struggled to cope with demand in the restaurant and although the food was as great as ever it did take over an hour before it arrived!

    Food and drink in friendly bar were excellent quality and location is perfect for the Peaks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Slight detour to make an overnight stay in the Peak District.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin (Room 5)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only the weather.

    The village was beautiful, good for walkers. The hotel was quiet, it was a good size room and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was good and so was the evening meal. I would definitely go back again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable and relaxing B&B near airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin (Room 2)
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI was a bit iffy. Otherwise very nice.

    We had to leave early for the airport (Manchester) so the staff brought us our breakfast early and quickly. Lots of space in the rear parking lot. Good evening meal. Handy for Manchester Airport (1/2 hr, even in rush hour).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.3
    Pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin (Room 2)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were uncomfortable. The room was tired and needs updating. Behind the beds and bedside tables had not been dusted or hovered in a long time.

    The friendly staff, and the food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Perfect short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double (Room 8)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This pub is tastefully decorated, the staff are warm and welcoming and the room was pristine and comfortable. It is also in an idyllic location in the Peak District. The breakfast ingredients were high quality and perfectly prepared.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Bed was comfy and room adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked hand towels as well as bath towels but bath towels good size !!! More sugar free cereals

    Bed was comfy and room adequate. Food very nice and freshly cooked ...good choice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    6.7
    Room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed too small. Bedroom service policy not known but, bed not made up properly, coffee stains not wiped from tray Thorough check of bedroom not made prior to our arrival as pair of ladies briefs found between chair and radiator so don't know how long they had been there.

    Ambience, food, choice of beers

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    Would definitely stay again but bed a bit small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double (room 7)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed too small for a couple. It looked like a three quarter instead of a double (in a superior double room). So seemed a bit expensive, especially also having to check out at 11am after a late night celebration (purpose of visit). No info about wifi.

    It was a really comfortable and clean room. The shower was extra large and everything seemed new. We had to return late at night and there was access through a side door with a special key, which was really helpful. It was in a great location and easy to find. Staff were lovely and breakfast was huge, with vegetarian option.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.5
    Great location - will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some WiFi would have been nice.

    Friendly staff, comfy bed in quiet room, good breakfasts and superb evening meals in the pub are available. Great location for walking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    Perfect location in the centre of the village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Family (Room 9)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast in the pub - shame the coffee machine didn't get switched on until lunchtime! So no cappuccino :(

    Nice sized room (we had a family room - as the only one left), modern and clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful place to stay, value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin (Room 2)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location for exploring the district. The history of the place is fascinating and it is quirky, old and that makes it interesting. Food is good, good bar, great staff, warm and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.3
    Great break very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double (room 7)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like being asked to pay for the room at booking in before we'd even seen it and having to count out cash when all you want is to get to your room especially as they would have had my card details.If you're a light sleeper the chiming and ringing church clock might disturb you apart from that we had a great time

    We had I imagine a recently refurbished room the bed was very comfortable and the tea coffee making facilities were great . The room was spacious with a superb bathroom . The staff were superb and very friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.3
    Old Inn with character in a lovely village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double (Room 4)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been more comfortable.

    Hayfield is a lovely village in the Peak District, and this was a good place to stay. Good food and an old Inn with lots of character.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.2
    Clean rooms well maintained nice staff well done
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Family (Room 9)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the umbrella for smokers area let down the appearance a little looks very tired a purpose built shelter would give it a lift. I am a non smoker but you can access the pub via this entrance from the car park. First impressions etc

    Room 9 has views across towards lantern pike so nice to sit in chairs by window and watch the world go by. Rooms can be accessed without going through the pub if wanted. food was very well cooked steak was perfect evening meal. Nice restaurant area away from bar. Breakfast was very well cooked and lots of choice. Real ales and good choice of drinks nice atmosphere in pub as well would stay again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.6
    A cosy retreat in the Peaks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because of the age of the pub some of the ceilings are low and my husband cracked his head on a lintel in the en-suite bathroom but anyone shorter (or who hadn't consumed quite so much of the local ale?) would be fine!

    The George is an ancient inn, built of the local stone and nestling at the heart of the Peaks. The food is excellent and plentiful; we had both an evening meal and breakfast and both were wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    4.6
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2of our rooms were poor quality in big need of a refurb. The shower was very unattractive. Especially for the price.

    The location. 1 of our rooms was modernised and fine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Lovely pub/guesthouse in peaks
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny grumble, the beer garden backs onto the car park and main road.. But this is a tiny grumble just to put something in this Box!

    Lovely friendly bar, decent pint and great meal in the restaurant. Friendly staff and locals!! A proper pub. Rooms comfy and after a days walking our room had the added bonus of a spa bath!?

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.5
    Disappointing start but got better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park was untidy and full of litter. Didn't give a good first impression. We arrived at 11:45 a little earlier than their opening time so we asked for a coffee only to be told they didn't open til 12 but there is cafe our he road. This was a bit disappointing. Needs updating as a little tired but clean and comfortable

    The breakfast was excellent and the staff were friendly The room was comfortable Good location Very good food and value for money..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    Wonderful relaxing holiday in the Peak District.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double (Room 8)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, when the windows were open at night there was relentless traffic noise from the main road behind the hotel and an extractor fan. I would have liked to have been offered more toast at breakfast.

    I loved the cooked -to-order breakfast and the extra coffee if you wanted it. I also loved the beautiful views of the mountains.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Excellent friendly staff - brilliant comfy room - very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double (Room 6)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent friendly staff - brilliant comfy room - very quiet- really tasty food and beer - great place to walk from - lots of facilities in the village

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    9.6
    A cosy retreat in the Peaks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a small double and it was very compact but had everything we needed and was brilliant value so no complaints at all,,,have just re-booked!

    The George is an ancient inn built of the local stone and nestled in the heart of the Peaks close to many walks in beautiful moorland, The food is fantastic and plentiful, there's a welcoming bar with roaring fire and the staff are very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    7.9
    A nice stay, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double (Room 6)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pub decor felt a bit tired, poor choice of larger.

    Lovely quaint room with 4 poster bed. Pretty village to walk around with chocolatier across the road.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    10
    Well worth staying here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double (Room 4)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ive stayed here a few times first time i ate there i had steak and ale pie it was amazingliy delicious a must try staff are polite friendly rooms are clean also liked the spa bathroom

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    6.7
    Old world pub with lots of character + really nice staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms decor was tired. The TV was awful - too small & really bad audio. Room was cold when I arrived & didn't heat up properly until it was time for bed!

    Old world pub with lots of character + really nice staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double (Room 4)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing I can think of is the slightly dated decor, but that wasn't a problem.

    Lovely room, clean, super friendly staff. Excellent location. Great pub food, lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    7.9
    Lovely comfortable stay with excellent choice of evening meal and quality food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived the young ladies who were behind the bar continued to chat and laugh and converse as though we were invisible. We felt it was quite rude of them. We also felt we were intruding on the local people sitting around the bar who didn't move for us when we tried to pass them with our cases, so we had to push our way through and felt very embarrassed.

    The evening menu was exceptional with so much choice and very good food. Our room was delightful with a four-poster bed and great character.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    10
    Tastefully decorated room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double (room 7)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay as soon as we got through the door. Would have preferred to be shown straight to room so we could have left luggage there and then popped back down to bar to pay. Only a minor point.

    Tastefully decorated room. Comfortable bed and great facilities. All was spotlessly clean. Excellent cooked breakfast and evening meals were good value too.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.2
    Has been refurbished, so clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double (Room 8)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Has been refurbished, so clean and comfortable. Room was quiet. Good pub atmosphere downstairs. Liked the decor and level of lighting. Would go back.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.6
    Great for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double (Room 1)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe bathroom could have been a bit warmer

    It was very convenient and offered exactly what we were looking for in January - bed, breakfast and evening meal all in one place !

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    8.8
    Nice inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double (Room 6)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely full English breakfast, comfy four poster bed in a homely room above the pub and good food/ale in the pub itself. Good location for hiking.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    7.9
    Quirky hotel, lovely area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double (Room 6)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel the check in and out times werent the best. We couldn't check in until 3pm and latest check out was 11am. We didn't get 24 hours in the room.

    The bed was so comfortable we stayed in Room 6, and the breakfast kept us fuelled for the day!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    9.6
    Perfect winter break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin (Room 2)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location means extra care needed when approaching by car but then it was built in 1575 so it was there first.

    Perfect bed. Excellent food. Nice real fire and very attentive staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse George Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: