Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Georgian House & Mews 4 stars

City Centre, 35 Bootham, York, YO30 7BT, United Kingdom

#58 of 84 B&Bs and Inns in York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1146 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small Even though there is a sign on the window outside for a bar, the bar is no longer in use.

    Great location. Walking distance to most attractions. Excellent English breakfast for an additional 7 GBP.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nice, and clean, with a very comfortable bed. It is in a wonderful location, close to the city centre. The staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the lack of photos for ‘basic double room’ we had no idea what to expect. But it was perfect and homely! Definitely staying again and the location is superb! Really friendly staff, thank you!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were lovely, friendly, fun and helpful. The room was comfy and clean and we only had three stairs to negotiate. The property was close to everything in the old York city and we walked a lot to many historical sights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    cleaning could be better, fluff on top of wardrobe not clean for years , found on suitcase we stored on there. Car got hit in car park out back (not hotels fault)

    location and comfort

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Entrance really grubby looking. Had to wait 50 minutes for a cooked breakfast on day 2. only 2 0ther couples in the breakfast room? Toilet seat was disconnected from pan and drifted off when stood up.

    Location was excellent. Easy access any time of day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing Perhaps bar closing at 10pm

    Friendly staff Good room size Good level of cleanliness Breakfast lovely Small welcome gifts in room were a nice touch

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    steep stairs to climb but don't put me off staying here the hotel has a bar but no lounge area only the breakfast room

    good breakfast, friendly helpful staff comfortable room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Curtains were falling down. As an American, we just could not get accustomed to the dual hot and cold taps. So difficult to use...boiling hot or freezing cold water at the sink. We found this all over the UK except London.

    Location was phenomenal. Parking was available for a fairly modest fee. Appreciated the opportunity to stay in a building of this age. Can't get that in the US :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking and breakfast cost extra. Bed not very comfortable.

    Perfect location — steps away from everything you would want to see in the city. Not too noisy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom next to backdoor to property. Became noisy early doors with other residents coming and going from their rooms at rear of property.

    Fantastic Location, nothing was too much trouble for staff, very friendly and helpful. Very modern B&B great facilities all you need for a short break. Will certainly be returning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The employee there said he turned the heater, but it did not work at all. I have requested many times but it has not been accepted. The staff even screamed that it would take a long time to heat up. I waited a very long time but eventually we had to fall into the cold. It was a horrible and terrible night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was so central, so clean and tidy, breakfast was so good, we have stayed in lots of places in york, but this was the best value for money, would recommend this.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was clean and comfortable i would highly recommend to anyone. So close to the city centre and train station. Also what i also liked is outside your room is quite private and been a smoker myself i felt good going outside knowing i was safe. As i say i would highly reccommend to anyone

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is a bit of a walk, understand it’s a hard problem to fix, would be good is the Discount parking was available at the parking lot just around the corner rather than one down the road a bit.

    Excellent location to be based. Room a decent size for a B & B and very nicely furnished with all you need in them. All the staff very friendly and helpful. Treat yourself and add on breakfast, it’s well worth it and a very hearty way to start the day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dusty room, mould on shower head, broken toilet seat, cobwebs on ceiling, dirty kettle, had to pay for breakfast when I thought I had already paid for it!

    Comfy bed, breakfast very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Booked the Georgian for my family to attend a family wedding. They said staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were spotless and they loved the location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tiny room

    It was inexpensive, comfortable and very close to old city and walking distance to train. They offered to let me store my luggage for the day

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy at times. The staff didn't act on my report of a damaged lamp switch that forced me to unplug the lamp (it was intermittently cutting out and crackling)

    Great location, nice cozy room. Parking was reasonable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had I known this was going to be a modern annexe at the back of the hotel, with no windows other than Velux (and an uncalled for mural) I wouldn't have booked here

    The staff were nice and the hotel was central.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not answering the phone on arrival in order to get directions to car park Then, entrance door closed while owner was dealing with me for the outdoor car park. My colleagues were waiting outside to get in. Frustrating for them as it was a rainy/cold day and we had been driving from London/Manchester/Leeds that very day our bedrooms were not located in the main house meaning you had to walk outside (under the rain) to reach them.

    full English breakfast delicious, staff friendly and helpful, amenities in the bathroom excellent, excellent bed, free car park and owner very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Asked for early check in but room not available until 2.00 pm but allowed to drop our bags so no problem. Like many double rooms in hotels and b and bs there was only one chair in the room.

    The location is excellent. Only a few minutes walk to the walls and York Minster. Standard room with all usual amenities although room is a bit compact en suite and shower cubicle ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the Wi-Fi in our room (16) wasn't very good at all and i couldnt even use it to send whatsapp messages. I was unable to get 4g there so i was cut off from the world which isnt a problem as i was away but its nice to have the choice to contact the rest of the world.

    The location for sight seeing in york is perfect. The room was nice and comfortable. If it got a bit chilly the heater soon warmed the room up to be very toastie. The staff were really friendly and the parking was close by and good value (£6).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have done with some shower gel in the bathroom!

    Lovely cosy single room in a modern extension at the back of the property so it was nice and quiet despite the building being on busy Bootham. Ideal for an overnight stay after a concert in York.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was at the front of the house so the traffic was extremely noisy and the curtains were not hung properly in the room

    Great location to the centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No where is perfect but to find fault would be petty and the Georgian house fully met our requiments

    The large shower was easy to use . Better than average biscuits on the tea tray. And the willingness to adopt the breakfast on request(any type of egg etc)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we loved our cozy attic room, there was a little bit of street noise at night

    Loved staying in a historical building in such a historical city! A great location, too. The breakfast was a classic English breakfast, without any extra frills. Self-serve espresso at breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms had a lot of cobwebs on the beams and a fair bit of dust. Needs a deep clean. Apart from that they are nice rooms.

    Good location, comfy beds, good breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower/bath controls were not working well. It was ok for a bath but hard to control water temperature as the fitting jammed in shower mode. It worked with some fiddling but needed attention. I wouldn’t take that as a normal state of affairs though. The downside of a central location is that some rooms (mine was one) face the road which gets noisy during the day. Nighttime was quiet though on a midweek stay. Clean & tidy.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Very professional. Location was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bed small room

    good breakfast, great location, booked ground floor room, not as expected bed small and very uncomfortable no mattress protecter on bed valance sheet on bed dirty, for price we paid expected more

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Georgian House is in a perfect location, only a few minutes walk from York Minster. There's a local shop a few doors down and a selection of pubs and restaurants on the same road. Our room was clean and tidy and all staff were very friendly making our check-in and check-out very quick and easy. Great value for money and will definitely be going again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is not that we didn't like it was more of an unfortunate thing that they never done evening meals no worries as we where very well located to all other Pub's and restaurants

    I don't do reviews as I never know what to say it was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not have high expectation for this value. The worst room ever. Very compact room, bathroom is only one step away from your bed literally. Poor ventilation from the bathroom. The bathroom is damp after shower and wasn’t dry even the next day evening. This made the whole room smells and wet. Cracks in the bathroom celling. Surfaces are dusty. And I bet the remote control hasn’t been cleaned for agesssss. It’s covered with thick dust and sticky at the back. Hair and yellow stain found on pillowcase. Nice and friend staff thou 👉🏻Cracks on the bathroom ceiling 👉🏻nice and friendly staff thou

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One car park close by...,good. However other car park situated 200yds away. So in bad weather a bit inconvenient.

    Location and comfortable & friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed mattress uncomfortable room was really small for the price. Think the budget room should be cheaper for what it is.

    Bathroom was modern and clean came with nice toiletries. Large shower, close to city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location, clean and tidy hotel. Clean fluffy towels and hairdryer provided, plenty of room for clothes and dressing table . Good size room, excellent shower

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect apart from the sausage on the breakfast i realise this is petty but if this is all i can complain about it shows your doing a fantastuc job

    Location is perfect in the city but not to close to be woken up at night . The staff are lovely and helpfully the rooms are cosy and warm altogether an excellent stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a specific room. That room wasn’t available but I was told at the time of booking that I would be given a similar room in a quiet area. The room I was given wasnt at all quiet in fact it was extremely noisy. It was situated near the entrance door so all you could hear was the doors closing, the bell ringing and the staff door closing. It spoilt my time away and I would not consider returning as a result of this.

    Location and staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi wasn't great but that wasn't what we were there for and it didn't largely affect our stay.

    The location was fantastic;right next to the minster. The room was cosy and clean, perfect for two. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To fill a tea pot in the breakfast room meant two pushes of water from the machine which then overflowed the tea pot. Cups were either espresso size or huge with nothing in between.

    Our room in the annex was well presented, had a selection of toiletries, a hairdryer and access to an iron/ironing board. The English breakfast was well cooked with a good selection of items. Checking in and out was easy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room up a nearly spiral staircase ,only 3/4of a step outside the door ,my wife nearly fell every time we left the room. Very firm mattress on the bed and a drafty window. No extractor fan in the bathroom.

    Having said that, it was fine for an overnight stay, the room is well organised,the bathroom was ok ,the staff were great and the breakfast was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly cannot fault it in the slightest

    Genuinely interested staff who know the city well, fab service, great facilities, very comfortable and a fab decor

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent Location - 5 mins walk to York Minster Parking space (payable but there and cheaper than public ones!) Spacious clean room Large bathroom with double shower Friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A later check-out would have been nice!!...we had someone knocking on our door just after 10.00am,but not their fault!!!....they did allow us a few more minutes though!!...the Management should be aware of this and it would encourage more people to stayotherwise very nice place indeed!x

    Great location,nice cosy room,very clean,very friendly staff!....the location next to the City walls really made it special....and next to a Sainsbury's too!!!....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The good news is that on mentioning that our bed in room 17 had little padding We we moved to room 19 with no hassle and that bed was spot on. for future guests it would be an idea to review all beds as another guest had the same problem.

    Location is excellent with the Minster around 1/2 mile away. Very quiet in the back muse rooms. Very good showers. Breakfast was pretty good .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing from our experience could of been made better.

    The room, although small, was absolutely lovely, clean and had everything we needed. Location was amazing, and made our short stay very easy. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and kept us going into mid afternoon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one chair in a twin room, but that seems to be the norm in the majority of hotels even if there is room for two. On the last day we had a slight problem locking and unlocking our room, due to there being some play and not having lined up the door and the lock area. We had not had trouble the rest of our stay. We did mention this on checkout and the staff apologised

    Good sized room with comfortable beds and large bathroom. No outside noise. Close to railway station and town centre. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar didn’t seem to be open and my room was in the annexe at the back of the hotel. Little natural light or view and constant drain smell. I guess I could have complained and moved room but I didn’t so don’t wish to be too negative, just offering an opinion.

    Location was perfect, breakfast very nice and excellent value. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and have all necessary amenities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very soft mattress, but mattress preference is a very personal thing so wouldn't mark this place down on that at all.

    Location, location, location. Room in rear building was modern, clean and quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just general information to note. Being an older building the room was two stories up, only via stairs.

    Room was large and confortable. Staff friendly. A nice stay. Location just outside the old town, great for driving into the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely helpful, gave us information on the local tourist spots. The location was amazing, very easy to get around.. everything was within walking distance. If we had to pop back to the room for any reason, it didn't interrupt our day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no breakfast included, parking was extra as well. The room hadn't been vacuumed at all, there were clumps of hair, spaghetti, a contact lense and bits of paper on the floor as well as sweetcorn in the toilet. Really disappointed in the service as this was for my partners birthday. Accommodation didn't even offer a concession.

    We chose this accommodation as the location was good for what we wanted to do whilst in York. It was very central with a local Sainsbury's close by. It was easy walking distance from anything we wanted to do.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One bed sheet had a hole in it. Breakfast service disorganised one morning.

    No croissants offered but full English offered at no extra cost. Subsidised nearby parking was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet had dog hairs and skirting dusty. Bathroom spotless. A tad noisy and close to next to back door, didn’t feel 100% safe being a single female traveller.

    Bathroom spotless. Receptionist lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were near windows and it was hard to sleep because of cold air draft from the windows. And the blankets were too small, like for little children.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking £6 extra per day breakfast £7 extra feel for the price this should be included! And if you have trouble with stairs or are disabled main house not for you, must book for new rooms at back. Very noisey if you stay at front of house due to main rd.

    great location clean rooms comfy bed friendly staff good breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike a perfect break been here twice now. Just perfect all round the rooms are spacious and very clean the hotel is a must to stay at.

    Friendly staff nice welcome on arrival

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to be careful on the stairs. This however did not cause a problem to us

    Excellent property in a fantastic location. Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn’t work - 4 poster bed was so uncomfortable - there were blood stains on the bed - maid service included taking away rubbish and not making the bed or replacing towels. Expected a little more for £188 for two nights stay without breakfast.

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think the heating could be better, the Shower taps are inconveniently trapped behind the shower door, the tile floor was freezing. The breakfast was below standard with dried up scrambled egg, and completely tasteless sausage and slow service.

    The location is fantastic with easy access to the city centre

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom would get a bit flooded after a shower.

    The breakfast was excellent, and the rooms were very clean. The location was ideally placed close to the centre, with excellent local pubs and a Sainsbury’s on the corner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Struggled to lock our room door from inside and impossible to lock from outside. Room smelt a bit musty on arrival - think due to bathroom having no proper ventilation. Ceiling in bathroom had peeling paint. Room and bed linen were clean

    Good location. Whilst parking was available at £6 it was quite a walk away with luggage to carry

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no problems...but we were staying with a group and their room was in the original building and their room was on the top floor.. 4 flights of stairs and no lifts.

    Excellent location. We stopped in room 17 ( mews) was a nice size room with a comfy bed and excellent powerful double shower. Good heating and blackout curtains. Tea/coffee facilities with biscuits ( once we found them) hairdryer, iron & ironing board too. We didn't use the hotel to eat at, but breakfast is available at an extra cost.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Georgian is a modern, clean, comfortable, and good value-for-money hotel. The room in which I stayed was excellent: it was quiet, private, modern, and with great room and bathroom facilities. The Georgian's staff were friendly and polite at all times, The hotel's location in York could not be more convenient for the city centre, train station, and various other amenities and attractions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the towels were stained. Towels were not changed daily. When I placed dirty towels on the floor to be replaced, they were not picked up nor replaced. However, I was able to get a clean towel after asking at the desk.

    The location was perfect - near all the main sites. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable. The made-to-order breakfasts (with gourmet coffee) were absolutely wonderful! We truly enjoyed our stay and hope to return one day!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs could have been a problem for someone less mobile, but there are downstairs rooms.

    The location was perfect, about 100yards to the gate at the minster side. The rooms were good and the bathroom was good. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was rooms could have been cleaned better . Lots of dusty skirting boards , chair legs tops of wardrobes etc in all of our groups rooms . Also bottoms of shower doors needs good bleaching

    Room very well equipped with really good fixtures and fittings. Very helpful staff, chilled champagne for us and allowed us to leave luggage for day

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid to upgrade both rooms to the same size, but one room was half the size. There were no towels in that room, and only one set in ours not 2 sets.

    very nice hotel, great communication, comfy bed, and very close to all the main tourist attractions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a lone female quest I did not like were my room was situated. I was not in the main building, I was out the back in a separate room. There was a long passageway that appeared to leave the property, that was a little unnerving.

    Excellent value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't book breakfast as £7 per head for continental and £9 per head for a cooked English breakfast was far too expensive. 2 establishments within 50 yards offering a cooked breakfast for £5.99! Only a minor thing, but the push down plug in the bathroom sink didn't work so you couldn't run a bowl of water for shaving etc. and the only heating in the bathroom was the towel rail which wasn't sufficient and the room was quite cold at times.

    Pleasant rooms, just a 10 minute walk to York Minster, 20 minute walk to the station. The hotel was very nice and we would book again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Everything... Polite and helpful staff. Lovely clean and comfortable room. Pristine bathroom. Brilliant location lovely breakfast.. All in all A1

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    The Georgian house and news are within yards of York centre. Everything I required was within walking distance. The have a few parking spaces just around the corner which is £6 per day, which is fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean and comfortable in a quirky but charming old building. Not too far from the train station and close to all the main tourist destinations (i.e., cathedral, town walls, the Shambles, river walk). Plenty of good pubs in the vicinity. Good access to a running trail along the Ouse.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold and damp, the heater was restricted by furniture and therefore limited heat was projected from this plus we had to ask how to operate the heating though were fully aware of which was the round key and which was the square key!! Although the young girl on reception was very helpful when we said about the room being cold and which room we were in her response was not one of surprise. The room had three external walls so had no other source of heat to support the small heater. The bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in and gave us both an aching back. The accommodation was full no alternative rooms available or conversation with management offered. Very disappointed

    Location to York city centre

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drain didn't work properly in our shower but I don't think that's the hotels fault more the design of the shower.

    Staff were very welcoming and let us check in early (very kind as it was snowing!). Just as we expected, comfy bed, good breakfast selection and in an excellent location. You can walk to everywhere but it's just on the edge of the main streets so it's not noisy at night. Plenty of takeaways just outside, shop nearby and restaurants a couple of minutes walk away.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Georgian House & Mews traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: