Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Glebe Hotel 3 stars

Barford, Warwick, Warwick, CV35 8BS, United Kingdom

#10 of 13 hotels in Warwick

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 422 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful village location. Room was adequate. Bar was disappointing. Breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar was open late but the lighting was light the floodlighting at a football stadium, far too bright. The beer selection was terrible and the lager tasted suspiciously like cider.

    Breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    6.3
    Ok but no more than that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The A La Carte menu was very limited and didn't change, so ate out. Hotel was under restoration and don't remember being told this when booking.

    Location was good for Warwick and Stratford Upon Avon.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    4.2
    What a shame
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist did her best but was obviously new and had very little training, first room French doors were wide open and wouldn’t close after waiting 30 mins allocated a very nice room except the radiator was stuck on high with no way of turning it down, 2 calls for the maintenance guy fixed it but attitude of manager was a couldn’t care less and despite staying and previously being impressed by this hotel I will not be choosing it again.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    A lovely weekend stay .
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were welcoming and friendly. The hotel accommodated our dog ,we had a very comfortable room and an excellent breakfast . We have stayed here before on three other occasions and will definitely do so again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    Comfy rooms in nice hotel with character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed in the same quality room for a cheaper price. The restaurant menu was not too inspiring so we did want to eat in the bar, which had a nice menu, but the sofas and low tables were not suitable for eating off - would have been very uncomfy. We ended up going down the road to the pub instead where we had a nice relaxed meal. I had booked the hotel presuming we could do that there so it was lucky there was a pub nearby. It was also cold in the bar!

    Vey comfy bed - nice clean room. Very friendly helpful staff. Good location in a nice village. Hotel looks lovely and grand - nice entrance and features.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced and old fashioned
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very basic, old fashioned and extremely hot! We had to sleep with the fan on all night (even with the window open) which was obviously noisy. Overpriced for what it is!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was reasonable except on first morning there was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We preferred the bar food to the restaurant, seemed better value and more atmosphere. However, the food in the restaurant was good quality.

    Breakfast was reasonable except on first morning there was no butter but reasonable choice of cooked food. Personally I would have liked a few more healthy options - granola or alternative yogurt/fruit but thats just being picky!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    We were disappointed with this hotel which we feel is geared towards one night business travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole hotel is a little tired and dated. Unfortunately we were in a room where there was a constant noise from below coming from a generator or fan or something similar from the spa area. Consequently we did not get a good night's sleep. We reported this to the hotel and were offered an inferior room for our second night. However, the sash window did not shut properly and the toilet did not flush so we chose to leave.

    The bed was comfortable. The staff were excellent. The gym and spa facilities were very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.4
    photos looked nice but didn't live up to expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They were refurbishing the restaurant when we booked the hotel but not told this. Hotel looking very tired and needs money spent on it. Breakfast in the morning was very poor, staff didn't seem to know what they were doing and lacked food / drinks available, choice was very poor

    bedroom was ok but in the roof and could hear next door when they were in the bathroom

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful Hotel in a quaint village
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made to feel welcome as soon as we checked in, facilities were fantastic. Hotel is situated in a small village that was just beautiful with plenty of walks.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.3
    Ideal local needs upgrading
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom needed upgrading and pets of the hotel were in need of modernisation noted upgrade work was going on in some areas

    En suite bathroom was very modern Food was good Staff very friendly and access was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant stay,excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast provision not consistent and looked tired in presentation. Needed a menu really. Quality OK. Staff v good tho.

    Staff v friendly and would help quickly with any help required. Cleaning to high standard. Nice surroundings. Non chain real positive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.8
    Nice hotel and location but needs a general spruce up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    General decor looking tired. Bathroom shower curtain smelled musty. Had to wait ages for fried eggs at breakfast and there were no additional vegetarian options.

    Location was perfect for visiting freinds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.3
    Good breakfast choices staff where very accomadating and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel looked like it needed some up dating Stains on carpet and nets Big pieces of wood holding the ceiling up by main staircase

    Good breakfast choices staff where very accomadating and happy to help with requests

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.7
    This place needs work but we had a comfy stay, my son loved the pool and my husband enjoyed the gym
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the room only was scolding or cold. The broken remote needed batteries changed (you can buy new remotes that would be much improved at pound land), The common areas, particularly the pool and changing room, windows everywhere, especially conservatory we're all dirty. Carpets dirty. Needs a huge cash injection and a lot of elbow grease but it could be as beautiful as it looks externally and make a killing, especially for weddings and functions, if you can sort the that area out. The feel of the hotel did not make us want to have dinner there.

    This hotel could be lovely. Its setting and basics are good. The fact it has small but decent leisure facilities is good. The room arrangement with a young child was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.9
    Overall this is a great hotel, set in a lovely little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed at the hotel during the recent heat wave, and the room was unbearably hot. We checked in late afternoon, and the room of course had been shut up all day, which made the problem worse. You can't really blame the hotel for this, and the staff were super helpful, and managed to find us a large fan which did help. If I was going to be super critical, we paid £130 per night for our room, so you would expect a certain standard for that sort of rate. There were a few stains on the carpets, the wallpaper was peeling off, there was bird lime on the net curtains and the tea and coffee didn't get replenished on one of the days. I would add that is not a complaint about the place, just an observation.

    Overall this is a great hotel, set in a lovely little village. We used it as a base to visit the area, and it was a stones throw from the major roads, so perfect for traveling. We also liked the fact it was set in the village, as it was nice and quiet at night. Facilities were very good, the pool being one of the best features, and also had a well equipped gym. Breakfasts were excellent, a self service style which is always good. The staff were all very friendly, and attentive, and the food in the bar was also first class. There was a big car park at the front so plenty of room for car parking. Also had a nice garden to sit out in. We would certainly stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.3
    Fair
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of our room

    The breakfast was great.We were given rooms just above the kitchen and so the rooms felt nothing short of a cauldron in the heat.But we were a last minute accommodated guests on account of our earlier booking hosts who never bothered to give a clean place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    All eight of us had a most enjoyable weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Shower took a while to heat up initially and was overly complicated. Little ventilation in some areas of the hotel made it quite uncomfortable during the heatwave. Hot breakfast food ran out and took rather longer than expected to be prepared.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Lovely comfortable room with facilities to make tea and coffee. Good TV and a very welcome electric fan, as we were having a heat wave!! Delicious and plentiful breakfasts. A choice of 3 reception rooms to sit in with our extended family. Fabulous setting. Plenty of parking spaces.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Better than expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Selection of bar menu food was very limited and the restaurant choice wasn't overly wide either. We ate in the bar but struggled to find seating that wasn't covered in crumbs from previous diners and which didn't have crumbs under the tables. This was the downside of an otherwise lovely hotel

    The hotel is a real gem set in a beautiful village. The staff were friendly and accommodating, the rooms are spacious as are the bathrooms. The gardens and front are very well kept, but so is the entire village

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    4.6
    Not Coeliac Friendly, not a £100+ a night hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being a local I know the Glebe Hotel well, sadly it has obviously changed ownership and the wonderful quality has been lost. The hotel is tired and in need of a paint job. The pool area was dirty and the room was certainly not a £100+ a night room with a shower that barely trickled out. My biggest complaint was the lack of understanding or alternatives for breakfast, being a Coeliac I have to eat gluten free food and the buffet style breakfast is rife for cross contamination. When I spoke to the member of staff and explained this no alternative were offered, normally hotels offer to cook something that I can eat. Overall very disappointing, the owners have taken this once prestigious hotel and turned it into a budget stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    4.2
    Good location and parking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and very very hot. Upon arrival I opened the window and closed the curtains which didn’t make much difference at all, no air con. Decor very dated. Low water pressure in bathroom

    Good location and parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice quiet location, nothing nearby but a short car drive away from Stratford.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not that great and service was lacklustre. Hotel is evidently in need of some renovation inside.

    A good location but some travel required to get to Stratford which is the nearest place of interest. Staff generally friendly. Good leisure facility.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    Ok for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a sandwich from the bar menu which was not very nice. The outdoor furniture was not the best ( a large glass table top was missing). & the place in general could do with updating.

    The location was perfectly situated between Leamington spa & Stratford upon Avon. The bed was comfy & the facilities were good. The breakfast was as expected with a good variety of breads , fruit , cereals & bacon eggs etc. The staff were pleasant & helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    The swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating was on and the temperature of the weather outside was 30 degrees!!!! When we said this to the receptionist we were just told ‘tell me about it!’ Not entirely helpful...

    The swimming pool. Our room turned out to be a suite :-)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    Has seen better days, but excellent rooms and highly recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very dated and could do with a full floor to ceiling spruce up. Paint peeling, marks on walls, very old fashioned decoration. The restaurant staff weren't particularly attentive, however to give benefit of the doubt I came towards the end of breakfast service so perhaps they weren't expecting more patrons.

    The room itself was excellent. It had just been renovated by the looks of it - new bed, new bathroom, new carpets, and all very comfortable. The locations is quiet so a good night's sleep can be had easily, but still very easy to get to. Plenty of parking is available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel with fabulous staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely nothing not to like for us.

    Fabulous hotel for any kind of stay or function. The staff are just brilliant, from the moment we walked into the reception until the minute we left they truly made us feel welcome and looked after, nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much else in the town.

    Room was comfortable. Location was ideal for both Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick. Little town with a pub that is also an Indian restaurant. Gym and sauna good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Excellent, welcoming and beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sauna wasn’t working, apart from this I can’t fault this place

    The facilities were outstanding for the price we paid. Lovely indoor pool, jacuzzi and steam room. Beautiful outdoor garden and conservatory area where we ate breakfast the next morning. We upgraded from standard double to deluxe only for an extra ten pounds and it was so worth it. The bedroom was spacious with a balcony grass area and the bed itself was a super king size and was so comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.3
    Staff was very welcoming, friendly and really tried to make...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating was totally wrong - radiators were scolding hot and they cannot be adjusted in most rooms. Hot water in one of the rooms we used was scolding hot too - could not use it. However, staff was trying to sort it out. Breakfast was not special either - scrambled eggs too watery and everything else too oily.

    Staff was very welcoming, friendly and really tried to make our stay comfortable. Location is excellent- just few minutes away from M40 but far enough not to hear the traffic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    A pleasant hotel let down badly by poor and expensive evening restaurant food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food in the restaurant in the evening was extremely disappointing as well as being expensive

    The room was nicely furnished and very comfortable. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Great stay. Booked the hotel as we were visiting the NEC, which was only a short drive away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meal was slightly disappointing but staff were extremely helpful.

    Bedrooms were clean and spacious, with comfy beds. Pool was great for the whole family. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Very comfortable night in a good rural English characture hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    Really enjoyed nights stay. Gym well equipped, pool and spa good. Food and service great. The room was really comfprtable, Staff very welcoming. Great location for many of Warwickshire best attractions. What a conservatory!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel - poor food/staff knowledge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel did not cater for vegans at all, staff were clueless when asked at breakfast and I was told there were no vegan/dairy free options. On checking the buffet, there were options for vegans but had to use my own milk for cereal. Staff should have some knowledge of different dietary requirements in the hospitality industry!

    Swimming pool didn't have restricted times for my son to use

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    5.8
    Wifi non existent, breakfast poor, scambled egg looked revolting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work, was being fixed whilst we were there. Breakfast well below what Premier Inn offer at half the price. Swimming pool area nice but was closed for private class 9am-10am.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    6.7
    The staff were very friendly but the hotel was a little...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very friendly but the hotel was a little 'tired' and in need of some basic attention -curtains coming off the rails, carpet stains, etc. It is a lovely building but just needs an uplift.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel unfortunately kitchens were closed for refurbishment.
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Housekeeping didn't notice missing batteries in TV remote and didn't leave any pillows in the room. The staff rectified these oversights immediately but I shouldn't have needed to ask.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    3.8
    Definately dont recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liesure facilities poor cold and dirty. Evening meal in restaraunt un edible (should have read warning signs-no one else there!) Meal sent back un eaten ordered pizza instead was o.k but over priced as restraunt meal so bad expected pizza at discount but charged full price. Breakfast ok but not brìlliant where served was dirty with abandoned broken kitchen wear right outside window carpets tired and dirty throughout

    Massage very good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.1
    For people who could eat a full breakfast there was...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For people who could eat a full breakfast there was excellent choice. The bathroom was brand new. l Had problems with the staff initially when I rang from Kenilworth where I stopped off to see a relative for directions and they did not know where Kenilworth was!!! Sorted in the end.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Nice location, room was nice and clean and bathroom was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Called Reception as I required something and had to wait quite a while, so went down in the end and asked at the desk myself

    Nice location, room was nice and clean and bathroom was clean and bright

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.2
    All in all a nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room where my mum and kids slept was an adjoining room and you could hear every movement and conversation from the room next door.

    Friendly hotel, nice pool and gym.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Friendly and efficient reception.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    NA

    Friendly and efficient reception. Excellent facilities, restaurant, bar, pool and massage . Beautiful breakfast, great choice and cooked perfectly. Plenty of parking available, lovely aspect next to church.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.7
    It was ok, some staff great some average. The hotel is a bit tired and needs a lick of paint.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked the hotel based on the price for hotel with gym. It was £65 After going through all the booking process to finally reserve the room Booking.com added the £12.50 VAT. I use BOOKING.COM a lot and have never had the comparison price on the beach page without VAT. I didn't even notice as I was in a rush to set of on the morning of the booking and drive the 142 miles.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    we really enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the decor was a bit dated especially in restaurant for b fast

    Reception on arrival was excellent we ate in the bar on the evening and it was very good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    Hotel was nice and quiet, parking was plentiful and easy,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was quite cramped, they had to remove the skirting board to fit the bed side tables!

    Hotel was nice and quiet, parking was plentiful and easy, breakfast was good but get there early as limited seats and restocking can be a little slow

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location for Barford.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small and the radiator belted out so much heat in the small room and did not seem to have an off dial.

    Super friendly service at this large old house on the edge of Barford, a quaint Warwickshire village on the river Avon.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    5.4
    Great location and staff , overall can do much better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    first night in room 220 was a bad experience. The room 220 is in a corner and bad ventilation. If we keep the window open, there was the noise of freezer or some equipment running. After complaining, hotel changed my room for 2nd night to a better room. Wifi is not great as it kept dropping.

    Staff members are helpful and considerate. Some rooms, atleast #220 is not worth paying so much money. Hotel should not charge if they are allocating rooms such as 220.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money, just needs a bit of tweaking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was slightly cold as under heat lamps. The bar area needs to be more welcoming, soft music, lower lighting.

    The staff were great. A few issues with the first rooms offered but a third room was found. Pool and sauna were great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.8
    Not very good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All a bit tired, curtain pelmets drooping, conservatory curtains all crumpled and decor a bit sad in there. Small bedroom, uncomfortable bed, clean bathroom but hopeless pressure in the shower. Expensive for what it offered.

    Lovely building, pretty area, good location. Food was good, as was service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining room was in need if told. Curtains needing repairing, roof was leaking. Just more attention to detail. The bar area the bar had wallpaper on the underneath of the bar which had come away just needed gluing. Just silly little things. We had a lunch sandwich which was more pickle than cheese not very nice. However Sunday evening food was very good and breakfast was good.

    The hotel is in need of refurbishment. However the staff very pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    Nice hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were next to the gym and at gone11the tv from the gym was still blaring out as the gym doors were still open and very loud we had to go to the gym and turn the tv off ourselves.At 7 the next morning it was turned on again very loud.

    Good quiet location just outside Warwick.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    relaxing, enjoyable!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing that our engineers didn't like

    I didn't have any complaints from our engineers, which is very rare, They enjoyed the gym and pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.7
    Enjoyed our stay but could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although a nice Full English breakfast it was barely warm and it didn't get any better when put on cold plates. Lack of toiletries in the room and only a shower over the bath.

    Helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Great for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No music in bar/eating areas. Limited menu for vegetarian diet.

    Nice old building in pretty village, and plenty of room to park. Close to National Trust property, with good directions to both. Helpful and friendly staff. Reasonable range of breakfast foodstuffs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.5
    Accomodation was fine but i dont enjoy the eating experience. Staff very friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food I had in the restaurant Greenery with my pate was wilted and past its best The duck breast I had as main course were over cooked and dry and chewy although the parsnips were excellent. this put me off having a sweet and probably breakfast too. Problem may be that I was only person eating so if volumes are low there is slow stock turnover shower pressure was low.

    Staff very friendly Bath rooms had been refurbished since my last visit Quiet location like the idea of a new 'bar' menu although I didn't try it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyable friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bar staff were a bit slow with drink orders

    pleasant friendly staff, quiet and peaceful. Good breakfast. Bar meals were very tasty and reasonably priced

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Lovely building, very helpful staff, cleanliness could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The housekeeping in our room was lacking. The room had an accessible bathroom - one of those baths with a door for easier access. When we opened this door, there was black gunk along the bottom of the door and in the bath - it was easy enough for me to clean off with a damp tissue, but it wasn't pleasant. Also, when I went to open the room window, it didn't open and there were dead insects and cobwebs on both the window and the sill, suggesting the net curtain hadn't been moved for a while. The rest of the room was well cleaned though. (We were in room 101).

    The staff were really friendly and helpful. My partner is disabled and the guy on reception was very helpful in moving us to a suitable room. The receptionist when we arrived was very friendly, as were the staff at dinner and at breakfast. The young man in the breakfast room was particularly helpful - making sure my partner was well settled, and the young lady offered to bring breakfast over to our table to make things easier. Breakfast was very nice, with a good selection of food. Good coffee as well. (Note to Booking.com - if someone searches for an accessible room, it would help if you actually booked an accessible room, rather than a random room that the customer then has to phone the hotel to change, or rely on the hotel to read my own note at the very bottom of the booking form).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel, great staff, superb breakfast and wonderful...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel, great staff, superb breakfast and wonderful that pets are welcome. Loved our overnight stay here and will book again for future journeys when we travel North.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Very relaxing and easy
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was on the ground floor and was a little dark. I prefer lighter rooms, but I had a small dog so understand why I was there

    Great homely atmosphere. Next to park for pets. Great pub/restaurant in village Staff very friendly and helpful Parking easy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.7
    Great location in a quiet village close to tourist towns. Shame the hotel was a little run down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel decor and room condition (apart from bathroom) was very tired.

    Great hotel location in a quiet village. Room had a newly refurbished en-suite bathroom. Staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Stay for the room and breakfast - give dinner a miss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant menu and value for money needs some improvement, we arrived close to "last orders" however we didn't feel that the food produced was up to the cost charged. Go to the local pub about 700 yards away which produces lavish meals at half the price.... We did nort managede to get to the leisure centre but it looked fantastic... So, stay for the room and breakfast - give dinner a miss

    Breakfast was really good, staff very attentive and happy to service individual dining requests Cleaners very happy and accommodated long lie ins without a murmur.....

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    A good place to stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little warm, even though we had the window open.

    Bed was comfy and room very clean. Was very quiet so had a good sleep. The gardens looked lovely, but unfortunately, it was raining so didn't get chance to sit outside. Receptionist very helpful and when I asked for a hairdryer, they provided me with one. Breakfast was very nice and lots to choose from.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.3
    The staff were very helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower didn't work - either powerful and scalding hot or cold with no power! Had to have the fan on to keep the room cool. We did stay again overnight a fortnight later and it seemed to have been fixed then. It felt like an old fashioned traditional hotel that looked a bit "tired"

    The staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor irritating details - sash cord on window broken so they have fitted a bolt and cut notches in window frame for bolt to slide into when window opened. Hotel information book was a useful wedge! Shower screen prevents those with short arms reaching the bath taps. Toilet splashes over when flushed. Bar staff often manning reception so there is a long wait at one or the other. Had dinner first night in hotel - Dining Room is old fashioned conservatory which gets hot although there are two air conditioning units that would not be amiss on Star Wars! Waited 45 mins for main courses, duck and chicken on mashed potatoes overcooked and dried out. Summer seasonal veg with chicken was onion and red/orange peppers stir fried! Waited 30 mins for desserts one hot and one cold - hot dessert cold in middle (microwaved from frozen?) Changed very quick though. Only one pillow each in room asked for two more following morning then asked again in the evening as they hadn't been supplied. Receptionist on arrival very helpful and was same receptionist on following evening. Some of the staff have poor understanding of English language. Icing on the cake was that only barbecue sauce was available to accompany cooked breakfast on second day! No Continental breakfast either day - just a few Danish pastries of not good quality. Its not as great and luxurious as price and website suggest!

    Located between Warwick and Stratford upon Avon so easy to get to both. Location of hotel was good in quiet village. Rooms were clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Lovely hotel in pretty village location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a ridiculously small bed for two people and like a rock

    Nice pool /sauna/ steam room but pool too heavily chlorinated.Restaurant was lovely and food of good standard

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant good value hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tonic water.

    Nice comfortable room, good food. Only criticism, my G and T was supplied with low calorie, saccharine loaded tonic. Please get some real Schweppes.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Loved the luxury!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Standard of breakfast inconsistent; outstanding then average. With my varifocals, I kept jolting my back by forgetting the step down from the bathroom into the room. I wrote to the manager regarding burning my hand on the big self-service toaster, which needs signage, also regarding signage needed on changing room doors (currently just a man/ woman silhouette, which we took to be toilets, so carried on looking for changing rooms.

    Suspended 4 poster bed amazing! 2 huge windows, beautifully dressed. Comfy seats. Big, open space. Wooden balustrade on impressive staircase. Large, open dining area in conservatory, lots of natural light. Option to sit outside. All staff helpful, friendly, polite. Gym had lots of variety, well thought out. Pool with water jets and jacuzzi. Disabled parking and ramp gave good access. Well-lit car-park. Well-kept gardens. Restaurant meals outstanding.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.4
    Wouldn't go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is all slightly jaded and the breakfast is average. other guest complained of cold food at dinner.

    Nice looking building with ample parking. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.1
    Embarrassing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I booked the Hotel through booking.com I was given the opportunity to pay in full, which I did. After my stay, which was good, some business associates came to meet me and were parked next to me and the lady on reception came rushing out and said you have not paid. I explained that I had paid through Booking.com and making me feel like a criminal she said "Oh no you havn't You cannot pay through them so I paid her again. I have now PAID TWICE and been severely embarrassed. I suggest that the hotel trains it's staff in customer service and the booking and payment procedures. The hotel is not expensive but if you pay twice as I did it is not worth the money.

    Made to feel like a criminal and paid twice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.5
    Location and friendliness of staff
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temperature in room (219) was too hot, too excessive in fact. Even though heating was off, there was significant heat coming into the room from floors below, incl kitchen. Had to leave window fully open at all times, posing s security risk, which made us feel uncomfortable. An electric fan was provided, but this was noisy and caused us to not to be able to get to sleep -,all in all a thoroughly bad room

    Location and friendliness of staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    6.7
    Average Stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not the standard we expected; a greater variety and far better quality should have been available considering the price we paid. I was also unimpressed by the fact that a hot chocolate at breakfast incurred an extra charge - I have never had this happen to me at any other hotel and it seemed excessive given the cost of the room/breakfast. Our room had an adjoining room with other guests and unfortunately we heard every cough and conversation which meant our stay was not as peaceful as we hoped. My boyfriend and I had planned to stay longer and use the leisure facilities however the pool is very small and while this is great for children, it did not suit us and we therefore left earlier than planned.

    The room was very comfortable and we were warmly welcomed by friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel - will definitely go back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park was very full when we arrived, but still found a space tucked away Shower wasn't very powerful but still did it's job

    Staff were incredibly friendly and couldn't do enough to help Food was outstanding, prices seemed overpriced until the food arrived! Definitely worth the money Rooms were impeccably clean Great value for money Rooms were exceptionally quiet (at the back of the hotel)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Do not think the urn holding the orange juice at breakfast had been properly cleaned as "black bits" visible in the juice - did not drink.

    Excellent full english breakfast. Well thought out comfortable room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    my only negative feedback would be that the decor is quite dated and could do with updating but this didn't affect our stay.

    Staff were extremely attentive and couldn't do enough for us. Food was also really good quality and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.2
    Brilliant stay - loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The neighbouring room made a lot of noise and we had to ask them to keep quiet. The issue was resolved quickly by the staff on duty. We were very happy with the response time and resolution.

    The croissants were freshly baked on the day. Full English breakfast was delicious. The staff were friendly and service was very good. We liked everything about the stay. Perfect break for myself and my little family.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.8
    Friendly and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower didn't work. Had no shower for 2 days. then cut my foot using a shower in a room being renovated. They then moved me to an available room - that was great!

    Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: