Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Lerwick B&B and inn reviews
  4. Reviews of Glen Orchy House

Reviews of Glen Orchy House

20 Knab Road, Lerwick, ZE1 0AX, United Kingdom

#6 of 6 B&Bs and Inns in Lerwick

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 39 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 24

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2019

    7.5
    Overall an enjoyable and easy stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were too soft and simply crumpled if you tried to sit upright against them ie watching TV on the bed. The person serving the breakfast seemed disorganised. On several occasions, she served people who had arrived after people who were waiting for a while. She also seemed to favour men either individuals, groups or part of a couple. Anyone else didn’t really matter it appeared. She was never rude but completely disinterested and it is not what I would expect.

    Decent sized room. Good TV and comfortable bed. The breakfast was also good and the location was good for getting into town, especially by car. Parking availability was fairly good and there always seemed to be a place when needed. The room was cleaned every day and maintained very well.overall

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2019

    5.0
    It was fine but a few issues and expensive for what we got.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Put in a room initially only to find someone else in that room! Moved to another room overlooking a graveyard. There was litter in our room when we arrived.

    Good location and good parking.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2019

    5.4
    The breakfasts were good, although the ordering of smoked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The base of the double bed, together with a very thin mattress, was extremely uncomfortable. So much so we had to turn the bed around in order to get more comfortable.

    The breakfasts were good, although the ordering of smoked haddock or kipper was very hit and miss.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2019

    9.6
    convenient,pleasant & very good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV was tricky to operate & instructions should be printed & left in room. Having said that I was very tired & slow to get to grips with everything! Early check in was good as I could spend the whole day of my arrival exploring & booking trips. I wish more hotels did this.

    Location excellent as close to main areas of Lerwick,only 5-10 minute walk. Very quiet ,excellent choice of breakfast for my vegetarian taste,early start of 6:30 good as I am an early riser.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2019

    8.3
    An excelent base for exploring Lerwick and the Shetlands
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Difficulty in getting cases up the flights of stairs. Slow start to the stay because the ferry arrived early and there was no-one at the desk when we arrived

    Breakfast was excellent and provided a good start to each day. June was particularly helpful in the dining room. Location was convenient to the town and the accommodation itself was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2019

    10
    It was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    A double bed, rather than two singles would be the only improvement I would have liked.

    The food was excellent and the Staff were extremely helpful without being intrusive.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2019

    5.4
    We have stayed at lower priced hotels and guest houses which have been better value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom size was very small for a double room, only one side had a bedside cabinet and there weren't any bedside lights or a chair or anywhere to put suitcases.

    The breakfast was reasonable, although the waitress was very helpful our order was very mixed up.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    8.8
    A good hotel in a good location offering great value-for-money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Heating wasn't always on at the times it was needed. Pressure of shower wasn't great.

    Very good value-for-money in a quiet location only 5 minutes away from the centre of Lerwick. Good view across the bay. Great breakfasts served in a comfortable and spacious dining room. Very comfortable bed and good under-floor heating.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    8.3
    Clean friendly guest house with a great breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windy Shetland weather as that could be heard in the room, not the fault of the guest house. Very hard to list anything I didn't like as only there for one night.

    Friendly staff offering good advice on where to eat in Lerwick and what to see and a great breakfast in the morning. Due to a woollen festival being on finding accommodation at last minute was not easy and price reflected the lack of accommodation being available. Next time I will plan things better and make sure I book well in advance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    Attractive property with friendly staff in good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tall people might find ceiling over one side of bed lowish. Didn"t worry us.

    Easy check in and out. Good hot breakfast served by friendly owner. Short walk to main street. Great views fro. m windows in room and stairs. Was able to leave luggage until flight. Lovely friendly owner.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2019

    9.2
    Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower

    Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2019

    8.3
    Convenient adequate transition guesthouse .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dated.

    Breakfast was above expectations. Staff friendly .Early checkin off the boat brilliant (Thanks)

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2019

    5.5
    Very friendly staff eager to help
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the fact they used a valence instead of a sheet so did not fit the mattress .

    Very friendly staff eager to help

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2019

    8.8
    Wonderful Lerwick The gateway to Shetland and this hotel is well positioned for a visit. Nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs to a small attic room.

    Great location. Friendly staff. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2019

    7.5
    Good overall stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of evening meals.

    Was convenient to area we were visiting.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2019

    10
    Everything was cool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Everything was cool. Very good hotel.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2019

    7.1
    Breakfast was very good and the lady serving us was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was to small and level with car park.

    Breakfast was very good and the lady serving us was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2019

    8.3
    Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great staff Wonderful breakfasts

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2019

    8.3
    Two night stay in Lerwick with time to explore to the town and Scalloway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift to our floor (second).

    Excellent cooked breakfast. Short walk down into town. Spacious room. View to Bressay from window.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2019

    9.2
    Friendly place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is up a hill!!

    Large tasty breakfasts, plenty of parking and the views.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2019

    8.3
    A comfortable and friendly break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The extremely cold weather - but the hotel was warm.

    Excellent breakfast and venue

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2019

    10
    Fandabidosi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing could have been better.

    Everything.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2019

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn't very comfortable

    Great location Early check in hours! Quiet

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.4
    Adequate.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cool welcome, lacking personal touch. Tiny bath. Much further from ferry terminal than claimed in ad.

    It was clean and warm. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 24

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!