Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Glenavon House Hotel 3 stars

52 Drum Road, Cookstown, BT80 8JQ, United Kingdom

#5 of 7 hotels in Cookstown

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 85 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent accommodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with Air Conditioning in room however staff supplied a fan during hot weather.

    Excellent attentive staff, good size room and bathroom although a bit tired. Excellent choice at dinner and breakfast both high quality. Plenty parking. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    Short overnight stay.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its in a good location and is an impressive hotel wish we had stayed longer to see what else it had to offer.

    The hotel looks very nice and is clean. The room was a little warm but very quiet so able to keep the windows open if you need to cool down.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    A quiet, relaxing and enjoyable overnight stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't dislike anything. I've seen wider choices of breakfast items in other hotels but there was a reasonable choice here (including halal) and everything was well cooked and well presented.

    The room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a generous size, the shower was powerful enough and there was plenty of warm water. All the staff I encountered were friendly and welcoming. The conference room we used was well equipped, warm and comfortable and the catering was of a very good standard.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.7
    Parking was easy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed wasn't comfortable. When checking in I was not given information on the leisure facilities.

    Parking was easy. Restaurant staff were really nice. Dinner was very tasty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.5
    Credit card scam??
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lady at the reception asked me for my credit card and then she started writing down its numbers on a piece of paper. I asked what she's doing. She said they do it this way as customers weren't happy with pre-authorisation process. It was a piece of paper with my billing address on it and also my signature she asked me for a second before. This is so unprofessional and illigal I had no words! I asked her to do proper pre-authorisation. She was surprised with my reaction. Also there was trousers press in my room but no iron. Weird.

    Restaurant was bit chaotic and run in a quite oldfashion way however food was really nice. I liked staff on a gym. Super friendly and I got a bottle of water for my training. Nice!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    First time stay in Glenavon Hotel, Cookstown, Co. Tyrone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps more clarity as to how showers ( one narrow head , one wide ) operate.

    We were made to feel most welcome upon arrival. Room and bathroom spacious and clean. Bed comfortable. Breakfast tasty....and plenty of it !!. Overall experience excellent. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    5.4
    Room was ok but looked on to trees no other view, the...
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was ok but looked on to trees no other view, the breakfast buffet was all like warm, staff were very unfriendly, went to make toast it was like warm bread not toast!!! When returning to my table my cereal and juice was removed and had not finished it. Very disappointed with good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    10
    Very warm welcome.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was more than helpful as I had arrived late from the airport after a four hour delay and the food in the hotel had finished I asked if there was any chance of a sandwich there was no hesitation and one was brought to my room with a bowl of chips to. I asked if I could put It on my room bill to which they replied that there was no charge. That meant a great deal after the long day of travel . I would stay again with no hesitation. Breakfast was great to.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Staff were extremely helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service slow in bar for sandwiches

    Staff were extremely helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    Perfect overnight stopover
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Pleasant room, clean and spacious.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleasant room, clean and spacious. Staff very helpful and friendly. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice stay, nice staff, nice hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful staff both at reception and in the restaurant/bar. Good sized room. Free wifi. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    stunning hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was excellent lovely really enjoyed my stay there will be booking again in the future,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    THE GYM CAN BE IMPROVED
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE GYM CAN BE IMPROVED

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    No yoghurt to go with cereal.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No yoghurt to go with cereal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Lovely impressive hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel very pretty and impressive lovely bog rooms very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    glenavon house hotel an the nice central situated Cookstown
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They used to have more variety in nutrition in the past;

    A hotel with a lot of facilities, such as a swimming pool and fitness center.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.8
    Clean nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed that the heating is turned off at midnight till 6am in the winter

    Clean nice staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Comfortable stay with great facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa facilities and generous sized rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.5
    was oke.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    was oke.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Overall vary good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Overall vary good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    Friendly, cheerful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly, cheerful staff. Excellent Food and accommodation exceptionally clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    Good stay in Cookstown
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was dark and in basement

    Friendly staff Nice pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    only stayed 1 night for a friends wedding would love to go for longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    friendly staff great room would highly recommend staying at Glenavon Hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault it.

    Everything!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel worth the stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Lovely hotel beautiful location, room very good, nice bathroom, breakfast excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    4.6
    Nice restaurant and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive. Quite costly

    Nice restaurant and breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    7.5
    Slow broadband
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slow broadband

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    7.5
    decent breakfast nice location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hike to get to the room

    decent breakfast nice location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    10
    Spacious room, very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Complaints

    Spacious room, very comfortable. Good Wifi

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    7.1
    Cold room.... Friendly Staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cold room.

    Clean, tidy & staff nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early arrival was very accommodating

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    9.2
    Cookstown stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room being next to the lift

    Leisure facilities clean and very good. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Absolutely fab!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Such welcoming staff, massive rooms and food is great. spa facilities, perfect sized pool to de-stress in after a day at work!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    10
    Visit Cookstown and enjoy the peaceful Glenavon Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was well done.

    Front fest staff were very accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    10
    Food, room the whole package
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food, room the whole package

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    8.3
    Nice place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have a little bit more choice.

    Home like decor. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    9.2
    will definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    exceptionally friendly/helpful staff very nice breakfast very clean throughout spacious room and bath

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    6.3
    Large spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift smells bad. Breakfast not great.

    Large spacious rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    8.3
    Size of my room, very spacious and comfy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The restaurant food was really average, my colleague had fish which looked like something Birdseye would supply and the chips......don't get me started. Such a shame that the food doesn't match the rest of the hotel for quality.

    Size of my room, very spacious and comfy.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    7.9
    Room was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This hotel is like a maze. Layout was not easy to pick up. For my room, I had to climb 2 flights of stairs with my suitcase and find my room myself as no assistance was offered.

    Room was wonderful. Staff friendly

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    9.6
    Decor very tasteful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Jacuzzi was not in use Food was good quality hotel but not i would not recommend the hotel as a destination for a meal out No black or white pudding available with breakfast

    Decor very tasteful Spa area bright and inviting Nice trip down memory lane (we had visitied a few times before when my boys were younger)

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    9.6
    Everything you could want from a hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The lift is a bit slow - but if that's you biggest problem . . . .

    Everything you could want from a hotel. Great friendly service, pool, leisure centre and a restaurant with a wide choice of cuisine. Location is lovely and it has a huge, free car park.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    7.1
    Rooms where spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No decaf coffee in the room. Heating Only on for certain hours. Breakfast was seriously disappointing. Restaurant food bland.

    Rooms where spacious. Pool facilities clean and good. Staff where very attentive. Bottles of water in the room.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    9.2
    Friendly staff, good food and facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    They have recently stopped accepting American Express, something that is crucial to me as a business traveler.

    Friendly staff, good food and facilities.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    5.0
    Hotel staff were very friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was very noisy from people drunk outside in the streets Went to have shower no hot water then no water pressure Room cold at night

    Hotel staff were very friendly

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    7.1
    The staff were lovely and very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For £115/night the room wasn't spectacular, we have stayed in hotels in major cities where much cheaper and better quality.

    The staff were lovely and very welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    9.2
    The staff were very pleasant and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The price of the room could have been more competitive.

    The staff were very pleasant and helpful

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    10
    The room was very comfortable, the breakfast was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lots of noise any activity from the night club

    The room was very comfortable, the breakfast was excellent

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    8.8
    Bedroom was brilliant.
    • Couple

    Breakfast finished a bit too early.

    Bedroom was brilliant. Very comfortable and facilities were good.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    9.6
    Great room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I liked everything about the hotel.

    Great room. Brilliant service. Very good food.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    8.8
    Enjoyed our stay
    • Business trip
    • Group

    No problems

    Enjoyed our stay

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    10
    Quiet location, amazing restaurant, friendly attentive staff...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quiet location, amazing restaurant, friendly attentive staff, diverse spa. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    10
    The swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    5.0
    House keeper knocked on our door at 12 noon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    House keeper knocked on our door at 12 noon. I was with my sister who has limited mobility. Tray outside my door left from the night before.

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    10
    The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly -the food was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly -the food was very good and the cost was low

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    10
    Friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Friendly staff. Large rooms. Lovely Food

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    10
    Third visit, very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Third visit, very enjoyable.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    8.8
    Welcoming staff who were responsive to my request (herbal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Welcoming staff who were responsive to my request (herbal tea).

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    9.6
    Staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff friendly and helpful. Restaurant staff and food very good. Leisure facilities excellent.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    10
    staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2015

    10
    Leisure facilities, rooms and staff were very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Leisure facilities, rooms and staff were very good

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    10
    For a lady travelling alone, they make you feel very welcome...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing not to like!

    For a lady travelling alone, they make you feel very welcome and nothings any trouble

There are also 39 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Guests also reviewed these properties: