Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Glenavon Homestay

Quarry Road, Oban, PA34 4DP, United Kingdom

Review score

Based on 75 hotel reviews

5.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    5.1

  • Location

    6

  • Facilities

    4.6

  • Staff

    5.2

  • Value for money

    4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No on suite, no breakfast, futile bedside lights that didn't work, unkept garden , wet bathroom floor due to multi use , and if you use the towels provided it was £7.50 to hire. No rubbish to be left in rooms, hence no bins, notice to take rubbish to re-cycling centre at Tesco. The Palace hotel are using this accommodation as an overspill , two spaces on drive way or street parking . Over flowing rain gutters due to rough cast in process of being repaired. 20 minutes walk to the town. For a bed only Overpriced!! We initially took as we thought it was a private B&B and then found out you couldn't cancel! We wouldn't return!!

    Free wifi which we don't use Large tv Clean bathroom with bath and shower which you would expect in a bungalow of that age

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single / Small Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was basic which can be tolerated but we were made to feel unwelcome by the tone of all instructions furthermore. Being charged to use towels, severe penalties for having any form of food on the premises and having to take all refuse off the premises. It felt like the hotel didn't want us there and they were doing us a favour by letting us stay. We wouldn't recommend this room for anyone who isn't willing to camp.

    Oban is a fantastic place, the town is a short walk from the property.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was not working because the drain was broken.The TV had picture but No Sound. A very dated property. The lawns and gardens very over grown. I would suggest the owners spend some of their earnings from the property to get the drains fixed and bring it up to date.

    There was not alot to like about Glenavon. The room was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here at the start of Scottish bank holiday so pickings were meagre and at a premium for accommodation. We booked 2x rooms, one of which was a very small double. It was barely a double. This was explained but still, it was a bit of a shock. Nobody from management or owners engaged us during our stay. Beds were not comfortable. We felt it was overpriced and we felt it was the worst value property we stayed in during our trip. Now TV with 3 x remote controlls no instructions, no normal channels. There were towells in the room but I think they charged extra to use them?! Didn't risk it. Brought our own.

    Friendly staff at the Palace hotel where you pick up the keys. As bikers we could park on site which was appreciated. Decent bathroom. One good sized double. Short walk (maybe 5mins) to the town centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single / Small Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What I really disliked was the reviews which I read after having booked. I was really apprehensive, but the place is just fine, and I was worrying for nothing. Perhaps they've recently renovated? Good value for Oban, quiet and clean (if small).

    Comfortable bed and an extremely quiet neighbourhood. Easy parking in the street. Although the room (#3) was very small, everything was new and clean. The shared bathroom was impeccable and the shower really good.The value for money is good, given the exorbitant prices going in Oban. You can walk into town in less than 10 minutes. You do have to remember to pick the keys up at the Palace Hotel on the waterfront, but you can leave them at Glenavon when you leave.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor customer service. Awkward policy and handling around out of hours check in. I was informed check in was restricted to limited hours (awkward but fair enough) I asked about arrangements for checking in out of hours and received no useful response (Not helpful). An out of hours key collection arrangement was referenced on the website but this was not offered when I inquired. I then tried to cancel and was told I was liable for the full amount. I challenged this - mentioned small claims and the lack of response to my questions - and only at that stage did the owner become helpful on the topic. Rooms themselves were dated but clean and comfortable. No issue from our perspective as we were just doing a stopover before the ferry. I afterward noted a long list of complaints on booking.com in similar vein. Lots of defensive answers from the owners.. I look forward to their rancorous reply to my feedback. In short.. This many customer complaints are indicative of consistent issues and the check-in problem and poor communication were badly handled in my view. Could not recommend.

    Proximity to Oban ferry

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No landlady/landlord present. One bathroom with toilet inside - so no separate toilet for 4 rooms No tea making facilities Towels only supplied on Request Expensive

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only one towel for three people. We asked for more but were told the facility does not provide them so we bought some but had to leave them behind because there was no room in our luggage.

    The location was good and we were able to get a room at the last minute

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    In short, I have never stayed at a more unpleasant stingy institution. The room and bed were fine if dated. However, for the pleasure of £87, there were i) no towels provided; for that privilege, I would have had to pay an extra £7.50; ii) no breakfast although I could have paid £10 for a continental breakfast if ordered well in advance (I had a cuppa tea and bacon butty on the sea front for £4-); iii) no working internet despite a clear signal - they had left the wrong/unintelligible code; iv) no bin (to ensure no eating or drinking in room); v) no permission to plug in any electrical equipment except for a mobile phone; vi) no bedlights that you could read with; and worst of all vii) no mug or cup to sip from when in bed. I even went to the bathroom to see if I could find one to use - but of course to no avail. In short, I would rather have slept in my car. And perhaps I should add I have never left a booking.com review before.

    It was the cheapest accommodation left in a very busy Oban - but at £87 for a double, it was hardly a bargain and as the negatives reveal, not worth it at any price.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Single / Small Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything! Skip this place and stay elsewhere.

    Nothing. Notice on door said go to Main street to pick up keys to house. People living there but no contact. No facilities. No breakfast. Felt very unsafe.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THAT BATHROOM AND TOILET WERE SHARED, OLD FASHIONED ROOM OVERALL WAY TOO EXPENSIVE

    THE LOCATION, EASY PARKING, CLEANLINESS, NEW SHARED BATHROOM AND TOILET

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single / Small Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place is an absolute rip-off with a room just bigger than the bed inside of it. Did not match, or come close to, any of the pictures in the advertisement. The walls are made of paper, and you are butted up next to neighbors and other outside traffic. You had to pay for towels and wi-fi if you wanted any benefits typically provided by hotels at its cost. I would absolutely not recommend this place! You will have a much better experience at the Elderslie B&B, less than a mile a way, for 5 pounds less, internet, and breakfast to order... oh yeah, and a private bathroom, and space to move around!

    There was nothing to like about this place other than you are not sleeping out in the street.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totally over priced!!! After readin all the the remarks there's a common thing!! Same complaints and yet after all this time nothing resolved about them only excuses!! If your in the hospitality business??? It's in the title?!!!! All I can make out of it was, as its the peak season lets milk the best of it!! £114 for one night!! For one room!! Doesn't cut it for me!! We won't be stayin there again!! I'd certainly recommend booking.com to remove this premises from their site!! Highly disappointed!! No doubt like the other comments made.... I await their excuses!??? Every comment made in other remarks are true to the letter! In reference to the keys, room, wifi, towels and even parking!!! The persons who own this so called family home are just taking the piss!!!!! Rant over!!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single / Small Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was somewhat difficult to find initially, as the hotel itself is a different building from the place you check in and receive keys.

    It was close to everything we were doing: boat tour, food, church.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to pick our keys up at another place between 3-6 pm or they would charge us wages for the staff. There was no heat. The price for internet and/or the use of a phone was atrocious at 5 pounds an hour and they charged for towels (even a bath mat). They say it is a family home but there is not a family living there (besides the lady who lives in an attached room who does not speak English). The owners keep an eye on you through cameras in the hallway. You could not have food or drinks in your room or they charge another night's stay. The one room was so small that the door hit the bed when you open it. There is also an attached garage that is full of garbage and debris. The small bedroom smelled moldy. This made all of our other bed and breakfast experiences seem wonderful! We've attached photos so that they cannot say that we've left the place in a mess, as they have to other customers.

    It was clean. The one room was spacious, which was good as we all (4 people) had to put our suitcases in there because the other room wasn't big enough for suitcases.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not read the description carefully so we were surprised by the fact that towels cost 7 gbp and toilet/shower is not ensuite. However, from the price one knows that it cannot be a top notch facility. So no hard feelings.

    Tenant was helpful and addressed all our questions, even though he was busy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single / Small Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door hit bed room was that small. Had to walk a mile back into town to pick up key from hotel who own house.Tea making facilities=camomile tea or nothing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast included,no facilities for making tea nor coffee. No rubbish bins available in the rooms. Management/staff nowhere to be found (don't answer e-mails,don't answer the phone...) you rely on other guests to explain to you what to do and where to get the keys from.

    The pictures in Booking do not make justice to the place. It is much nicer,cleaner and comfortable than expected.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold, no kettle, towels should be free provided, no bath mat in the toilet, not a presentable room, poor parking, bed was too firm, overprice with a very poor service! This guesthouse should not be in hospitality service at all!

    Nothing to like! This guesthouse should not be in hospitality service at all!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic accommodation & location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single / Small Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was fine for what we needed.

    Was very close to amenities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you are paying premium $ for one night it should always have breakfast included.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking, one bathroom for all rooms

    Easy walking distance city center and shops.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not ensuite. No breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single / Small Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price a toilet in my room

    Nothing not worthy of the price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building​ seems to require a bit more maintenance

    Location, quiet

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single / Small Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't bring external food/drinks into the room.

    Comfortable bed, big TV, own sink in room, great location (close to city centre).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    EVERYTHING !!!!

    Absolutely NOTHING!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms don't have separate bathrooms.

    It was very clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    sharing bathroom, 1 towel between three of us, no tea making facilities - £103 per room per night - no food served - rip off!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet promised wouldn't oomnect

    Room big & beds comfy

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a shared bathroom, no towels and no breakfast. We had a kettle in the room, not enough tea bags and the milk was bad.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds and without breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    no towels or teamaking provided

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Massively overpriced at 83.30 for a night...shockingly bad for what you get

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single / Small Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about the Glenavon.

    When it was time to leave.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Front door needs minor repair. Limited on-street parking. Limited check-in times.

    Good sleep, comfortable, no air conditioning noise. Shared bathroom very clean.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    You have to go to another hotel which is at 15 min walk to get the room key. The people from the hotel are never here and not really friendly. They don't make any effort (we never got any code for the wifi, we never got any breakfast...)

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    this is a house without staff where you organize your own breakfast. the fridge was stuffed but we had to call for bread (stale). we also had to order towels. no breakfast room - beds everywhere. get breakfast in town.

    near city cwntre

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Towels extra, breakfast very expensive so we didn't have it. No coffee or tea unless you pay. I thought it was expensive for the facilities. Garden in terrible state. Wifi was also very expensive at 5 pounds an hour

    It was clean and shower was fine. Room was looked after etc.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had to collect key from another hotel despite there being a narrow 3 hour check in window. Had to pay extra for towels!! Otherwise all there was, was one hand towel in toilet between the rooms. The room would vibrate every time someone in another room opened it shut their door. A wardrobe in the room was locked and not for use. There was a pair of jeans hanging in the other wardrobe which didn't belong to me !! The bed was clean but there was a lot of dust on the light fixture which hasn't been cleaned for weeks and the carpet was very dirty too. Had a sink in my bedroom but no glass supplied to drink water with

    Excellent location. Nice new clean bathroom Plenty of toiletries in bathroom

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No heating in the rooms, expensive WIFI £5 an hour, would not have their breakfast again as it was over priced £9.95 could get a better breakfast at the restaurant for £2.99 at the ferry terminal, and that was so much nicer

    The accommodation was nice, found tesco to be handy.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rental for towels, no heat, no tv,shared washroom

    Location fair

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    place was desolate. looked like an empty building

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to go back into town to pick up keys after arrival.

    Walking distance to city. Bed was comfortable. Large rooms.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: