Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Glenburn Hotel

New Road, Windermere, LA23 2EE, United Kingdom

#11 of 15 hotels in Windermere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 591 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.8
    The rate on bookings is overrated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is small. There is a strange smell in the room. The beddings are not clean. The staffs are impatient and sometimes even rude. Check out time is super early (10.30am). Unpleasant experience.

    The location is great, convenient for our trip.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.5
    Relaxed and very enjoyable two nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower water pressure appeared very low.

    Rooms really comfortable and spotless breakfast and evening meal excellent. Staff were polite and very helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    my stay in Glenburn hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Evethough I had booked a superior room, I felt room size is small

    Hotel is located not far from the main city centre as well as railway station. Staffs were very nice and friendly. Breakfast was good. Highly recommended

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Enjoyed every minute can't wait to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't stay longer

    Staff were friendly. The hotelvwas close to both windermere town (5min walk) and the Lakeside (10 mins walk) .breakfast was plentiful and cooked to perfection with plenty to choose from like cereals and fruit they even accommodated for my vegan partner and to top it off the place was immaculate .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Brill we will be back
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We was in room for I didnt like how the toilet was situated up a step and that there was a sheer curtain over the fire exit the morning light woke us up early much rather have room 3

    What can I say it’s so friendly the staff cannot do enough for you the food is gorg nothing is any trouble

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Great little hotel, only 10 minutes walk from train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great little hotel, only 10 minutes walk from train station. Room was lovely, very clean and well presented. Staff were friendly. Ate in the hotel one evening and the food was wonderful. Can’t wait to go back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found the room very claustrophobic, also heard every squeak of floorboards above, plus even flush of the toilets and everybody else's spa bath going,

    Lovely breakfast and staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    Shower was slightly larger than average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room (for 3)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the top of the house, thus somewhat stuffy. We were encouraged to open the fire door (?!? Not alarmed!) for air, but also opened the window for cross-ventilation... which happened to be directly above where the staff would go out to smoke. Both my niece & nephew & I are HIGHLY allergic to cigarette smoke, and the awning window neatly captured ALL that nasty, foul, nauseating pollution and funneled it neatly into our room. NOT happy about that, and that's enough to put me off staying there again.

    Shower was slightly larger than average.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is in a good position and staff and management...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is in a good position and staff and management were cheerful and helpful. A few too many steep stairs to be easy for an elderly couple to manage well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.7
    Good and not so good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out time 10.30..Hotels seem to be making check in times later and check out times earlier. Room very noisy from creeking floorboardd from floor above and people walking in room was very noisy in our room.

    Clean room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Perfect break
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Family Room (for 3)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff were friendly, the rooms were good sizes, beds were comfortable and breakfast was lovely. The lounge bar was also nice and relaxed. We would definitely return to this hotel when we’re back in the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    3.8
    Worst one! This hotel has vacancies still the mid term break that it self says a lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff behaviour and manner not acceptable, need to learn how to talk, watress not smiling at all, the manager is rude to talk irrespective of circumstances, toilet/ shower is too congested as per the price paid for family room, internet connection was very poor, used mine, the TV is too small for the room size, no bath tub, small shower cubicle with very low pressure water. No air conditioning, no extra fan, you can’t spend time in mid day if it’s good summer, no gas heating or central control, just night storage heaters - one! So obviously you need extra heating in winter and fan in summer. The breakfast was delayed for an hour !! I thought they were very busy hence did not followed up but frankly it’s a very small setup , they are not professional for hotel industries. Avoid at any cost!

    Near by property and road.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of a walk into Bowness with little ones. Mattress a bit lumpy in our room

    Lovely friendly staff Breakfast was really good and plentiful Good family room with kids bunk beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    A much needed rest for a busy writer and her equally busy editor and publisher (me)!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have been nice to have a garden there, but free, off-road parking was a bonus.

    we were given a 1st floor room, the honeymoon suite in fact! Not bad as we're both in our 70's... Very friendly atmosphere about the hotel. Welcoming, good food and the hotel is situated midway between Bowness and Windermere, which meant we enjoyed visiting both places as well as some awesome drives around the Lake District.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought breakfast was included like everyone of my bookings that I had done on bookings .com but to my surprise Breakfast was not included in this stay

    Staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing for the price. If booking due to spa just pay more and stay at the spa hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not comfy and was an old spring mattress that needs replacing. Rainfall shower was covered in limescale and let a mist like trickle out. Jacuzzi bath was just a super basic bathtub like you would find in a travel lodge. Water pressure was terrible. Took ages for water to get to temperature to the point where we just had a cold shower thinking it was broken. Room smelt damp due to windowless ensuite. Ensuite small. Door lock needed replacing and took a while to lock and unlock which was annoying. The "hearty full English breakfast" is one egg, one piece of bacon, one sausage ect ect, one of everything. Who does an English breakfast with one egg?! This really annoyed me as just felt unbelievably stingy and not at all big enough when you have a mountain to tackle. Luckily after enough asking they did double up everything for me one day, but refused the second day saying I had to pay. Also the fresh coffee was just Nescafé original instant in a pot... which was just weird and disappointing. So overall breakfast was misleading and dissapointing. The bathroom was disappointing massively. The bed felt like it was from the 80s and for the price we paid we expected a lot more. O and no mini fridge. Overall just felt very basic and lacked character on all fronts. Also hotel bar only serves carling as their larger, each to their own but I wouldn't even call that beer personally.

    I liked the access to ther burnside hotel which is a far nicer hotel. The burnside was classy, stylish, had good food, good beer and great facilities. Wish I had paid more and booked there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant hotel for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    White wine wasn't chilled.

    Hotel very clean. Room recently redecorated, the bed was very comfortable. Full English breakfast was delicious. When we realized we had left our house keys behind they very promptly posted them to us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Excellent, great value, would recommend and would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very good. Bed very comfortable.Room was a standard, compact but fine for a short stay. Staff very helpful and friendly. We had an evening meal at the hotel with friends and all of the meals were delicious and service excellent. Great value for money all round.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff,we were made to feel very welcome. The hotel was spotless clean and up to date rooms. Food was excellent, one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Cant wait to go back!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    very short.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet was not good and it was impossible to get a signal. I sent some washing down and unfortunately a number of items were not returned

    Lovely and small

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    Both the management and staff were very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we found was being old was the stairs.

    Both the management and staff were very helpful and courteous. We had no plans when we arrived.they organised a wonderful tour for us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Lovely, cosy, clean, hotel that I would highly reccomnend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendly Staff, the excellent food, the cosy hotel, plus the location. The location was brilliant for the lake, the shops, restaurants not to mention the fantastic walks...

    Staff very very friendly and accomodating. Food excellent, so much so we ate on the hotel both nights as the food was lovely and beautifully presented.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff, very comfortable, well situated for shops,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car parking can be a bit awkward! The kitchen closing at eight can be awkward at times.

    Friendly staff, very comfortable, well situated for shops, lake cruises etc. Evening meal especially was delicious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    What a great find!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • River Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small car park, was ok as it was quiet. I wouldn’t want to maneuver when it is full.

    Perfect little cottage for the 6 of us. Clean and well equipped. Shame we weren’t staying longer! Location was perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Great value and perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ensuite a little small for a family room. But still very good facilities for the money and would stay again.

    Perfect location. Friendly staff. Great breakfast. Off street parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    Hotel is lovely clean and breakfast gorgeous - but expensive sorry for what we got!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room but quirky so ok - hot water and rubbish shower due to pressure - as on top floor so I get it!

    Very quirky and a brilliant location - breakfast was fantastic

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel very clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a lovely stay , hotel was really clean and comfortable , great location . The breakfast in the morning was beautiful and plenty too choose from .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    A lovely hotel, highly recommended 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have preferred to have paid at the hotel, not five days before over the phone

    I would recommend this hotel, it is ideally situated, friendly staff and modern comfortable room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Welcoming, looked after us well and went extra mile
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room (for 3)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing of note

    Great breakfast Great service went extra mile as we arrived early and could also leave car on day of departure while we went out again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.9
    I enjoyed my stay at the glenburn hotel, although the breakfast let them down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was disappointing and needs improving. The price was too high for what you got.

    Was in a perfect location, the room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    Good staff and location but room was not what we was expecting so was over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It states on website there was a Spr bath and hot tub in room only had spa bath and me or my wife could not fit in . Would of bin great for my 5 year old son .

    Location was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable made better by comfy beds and nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Evening meal not very substantial but enjoyable. Heated towel rail didnt work so bathroom cold but didnt mention it as could cope for 2 nights.

    The bed was extra comfy. Good 2 nights sleep. Fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.9
    The staff are warm and inviting, the rooms lounge and restaurant warm and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road at the back of the hotel is very tight to get to the parking area.

    The room was very comfy, although we had to pay extra as I have recently damaged my knee and back and found it difficult to walk up to the 2nd floor. We were given a room on the 1st floor but because it had a spa bath had to pay extra, even though I couldn’t get into it!!!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    shower - water pressure wasn’t great on the 2nd floor. Blackout curtains would be good in roadside rooms.

    Warm welcome on arrival. Comfy bed, clean hotel with attention to detail in room with a hearty breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • River Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wished I could have stayed a few more days

    We stayed in the river cottage. I loved waking up to see the view of the river, church and trees and sleeping to the sound of the river. The accomodation is comfortable and has everything you need. The location is v. Close to Windermere and a perfect base to explore surroundings.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Fab stay, great reception staff, overall a great value and quality experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • River Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really, could do with a bit of an update but overall excellent

    Stopped in the River Cottage, fabulous, a little dated but still wonderful. Great value for money, plenty of space and everything you could need. Reception staff brilliant. Thanks for a wonderful stay. :-)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    We loved it all. Not too far too walk to centre. Far enough away to be quite. Great spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plug near mirror for my wife to dry her hair. Small point but significant

    The food was excellent. Well presented looked and tasted excellent. Staff brilliant. Was pleased with all.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Glenburn is a warm friendly hotel with wonderful staff and excellent food. I would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    More parking space.

    Yes the food was really lovely, well presented and plenty choice. The staff were very friendly, warm and professional. Could not do enough to make us feel 'part of the family.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    4.6
    Would not go back to that hotel to expensive grubby just not nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower room had a water leak in roof every time you went to the toilet water would drop on you. shower room just not big enough could not move in it . Room was not very clean things under bed muc dust and items from other people...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    The hotel was fine but as we were not well when we arrived its difficult to be fair when you feel ba
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the top of the two flights of stairs whilst it was comfortable it was not too easy for two 70 yr olds carrying our luggage .

    Good choice for continental but quite small portions for cooked.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Evening meal and Breakfasts were excellent, staff very friendly rooms were very clean as was the rest of the property.There was plenty of onsite parking and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    Lovely Hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had noisy neighbours above us which kept us awake at night. The car park was small and difficult to park in.

    Breakfast and room were excellent. Service was very good. Staff were friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Would definitely stay again when visiting Windermere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stairs.

    Dinner at The Glenburn Hotel was excellent - every time, didn't bother to try anywhere else. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Easy walking distance to Windermere shops, and to the lake at Bowness-on-Windermere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    Apart from no sleep on 2nd night stay good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel excellent until being disturbed by other nosy residents from midnight , with shouting, banging on the floor,continued until 3.30am when we heard banging on the doors and futher shouting finally going quiet around 3.45am presumably after having been spoken to!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous, I would love to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazingly and sadly the liquor coffee's were topped with squirty cream - this was in total contrast to the standard of food.

    The friendliness of the staff and we all agreed the food was of a really high standard. We could not fault the chef.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.7
    Excellent food accommodation average and overpriced!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compared to other properties in the area the Genburn is a bit over priced. The restaurants chef is excellent. The decor is dated but this appears to be an on going project to bring the hotel back up to the three stars it currently has. A tad more detail to house keeping is also needed but this is not a criticism to the staff because they work hard but the effort needs to be spread to cover all the chores as the room we were in was dusty with some cobwebs. Overall did I get the wow factor....no! But i doubt the Management are worried about this after all the place was full! As I say we have stayed here before and I could not see any differences other than the price!

    Very comfy bed, great food short walk to centre. Good parking on site.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Everything about our stay was great staff more than helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about our stay was great staff more than helpful place spotless had a really good stay breakfast first class anything you wanted you could get. Really enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    A very enjoyable stay would return and certainly recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not anything

    The hotel was very clean and the rooms very comfortable.The staff were friendly and very obliging.The food was excellent all freshly cooked to order

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.5
    Good location and friendly staff. Very comfortable room and entirely adequate for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room at breakfast was a bit cramped. Only 1 hour available. Breakfast itself though was very good.

    10 min easy uphill walk to Windermere & 20 min downhill walk to Bowness. Great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    3.8
    Very expensive for what we got
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa bath so small!! Would fit a child!! Wen they refilled the condiments got no water!! Gave us wrong room to start with very noisy we stayed i the deluxe room! So dread to think what the normal rooms are luke

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent place with hospitable, caring staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room (for 3)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would probably not recommend the place for business travelers (poor wifi quality, limited cell coverage in the area) or families with very young children (staircases not well equipped for toddlers). However, nothing to dislike when traveling with teens!

    Everything was just great. Staff was helpful beyond any expectation, food was wonderful, the Place was very peaceful yet easily accessible.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    Polite professional service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed as the spa bath did not work, I had booked this property mainly for this. The 'deluxe' room was in my opinion not deluxe.

    The staff were very polite. A very private place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.3
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed were to soft, although comfortable for our liking.

    Breakfast excellent selection at breakfast of hot or cold. Evening meals were 5 star beautifully cooked to order and staff were brill.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    6.7
    Never Again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small, The Bed was small and this was supposed to be a Premier Room !! There is a Limited time for breakfast 8-30 till 9-30 there are more guests than seats in the restaurant. We went down at 9 am and the place was full. No seating,No Breakfast. The car park is very small and difficult to park when hotel is full The TV in the room has a very restricted number of channels Certainly not worth £139 for 1 nights B&B

    Not a lot really

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    4.6
    Wasn't offered value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small. Could hear people above walking and snoring. Didn't start breakfast until 8.30 and when we ask for an earlier breakfast we were told no. We left at 8.00 am with reception locked up.

    Not much.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.1
    OK place. Not great. Would look for a nicer place next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • River Cottage
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The river side cottage is located on the property's main parking lot. That's not mentioned anywhere. That was extremely disappointing. Parking is extremely tight when the parking lot is full.

    Nice location in the Lake District and very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed what Windermere and the surrounding areas had to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of a single room was£100.00 per night with breakfast not included? The room I was given was at the top of the hotel was facing the main road which at various times of the evening could be quite noisy.Not ideal when you are looking for a quiet time to read a book in peace.This room did not justify a charge of £300 for what was provided.

    Comfortable tv lounge with a bar adjoining. Location of property,ideal for walking to Bowness or Windermere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.4
    A pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room appears to be very dark and gloomy .

    In walking distance to the main areas . The room was clean and tidy but on the very small side .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location with family room to accommodate all of us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast took a very long time to arrive from ordering. On the second morning we had to wait half an hour for a table as there are more rooms than tables in the restaurant. No lift!

    Excellent location with family room to accommodate all of us. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.9
    Lovely Stay & value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of power in the shower. Music coming from premises next door but it did go off at around 11pm.

    Location was great. Staff friendly & welcoming, & gave a map of the area. Rooms were clean & comfortable. Breakfast & dinner were lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Lovely comfortable Hotel with a nice bar area for drinks and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely comfortable Hotel with a nice bar area for drinks and just a short walk up the road to the main shops, cafes and restaurants in Windermere. Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Staff was so friendly and we enjoyed talking with them.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bugs Occasionally .

    Staff was so friendly and we enjoyed talking with them. They were very helpful in pointing out restaurants and things to do in town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    It's really a nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room (for 3)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's really a nice place. The traditional breakfast is so delicious. The room is very clean and it's quiet at night. The hotel has a ten-minutes walk from the windermere station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    Great Place to enjoy the Lake District
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Family Room (for 3)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would like to have had the option of enjoy a bottle of wine and pizza in the room after a long day hiking.

    The location, parking, and appearance of the room was lovely. The breakfast was made to order and thus fresh.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    4.2
    Location OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff there is very unfriendly and unhelpful to say the least. We stayed there for two nights. When my firends had breakfast in the morning, the staff didn't take the order and they were led to believe that breakfast had not been included. When they checked out, they had to stay there to wait for us while we were renting the car. The gentleman there was extremely rude to them. I will NOT recommend this hotel to anybody. Actually I shall tell everyone, who I know, to AVOID it.

    Location OK. Room clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    A good place to stay in Windermere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Quite minor but get the poached egg, not the scrambled egg.

    Comfortable room, full breakfast, good location, friendly staff. You could walk to both Windermere and Bowness.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic weekend
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about the hotel it was lovely the location was perfect for what we did walking we also done a boat trip and went sight seeing

    The hotel and staff were fantastic lovely hotel we both loved the location . Breakfast was awesome thanks to the chef and lovely staff . If we return to the area we would definitely book the Glenburn Hotel again .Only thing I could say was our window did not open and it was hot but that's not a complaint it's a preference. Thank you all so much for a fantastic stay Mr&Mrs Bernard

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.3
    Great owner, fantastic service, thanks for picking me up...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great owner, fantastic service, thanks for picking me up from the train station at 11pm! if there are more choices for breakfast that would be even better.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.5
    Lake District Hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was the standard size of any European bed and breakfast and the bathroom was tiny, but still fine.

    The breakfast offered a wide range of choices, including a full English breakfast. The Glenburn is within walking distance of the central part of Windermere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Room did become quite chilly, and the heater looked old and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room (for 3)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking could be better, space a bit tight to get in and out, other guests seemed to struggle too.

    Room did become quite chilly, and the heater looked old and we were not sure if it worked as when we switched on there was no indication to say was on. Breakfast order on first morning was a little mixed up,but we didn't complain as service fantastic and we all make a little mistake from time to time. Will definitely book again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.3
    The bedroom was lovely, the atmosphere was fantasticb Lovely...
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear people in other rooms, not to great when they are jumping on the floor in the bedroom above you!

    The bedroom was lovely, the atmosphere was fantasticb Lovely staff, happy to help. Breakfast was really nice, would definitely be going back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    9.6
    Recommended stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom could have been warmer, possible problem with radiator but l didn't mention it to staff.

    Very nice, modern room, decorated very well. Breakfast good with plenty of choices and very helpful, friendly staff. Check in was straight forward and very helpful owners. Plenty of parking with no major problems.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.1
    Nice relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needed a bit of tlc and the shower had a mind of its own lol.

    Had new spongy carpets in room 12 lol. Breakfast had lots of variety. Friendly staff who ordered taxis for us. The Burnside Spa was so so romantic.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    8.8
    Away day to windermere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed felt a tad small and on the low side,(we have a king sized at home ).en suite,if youre a big person,i think youd find it a bit small.we were in room 12,other rooms en suite may be larger.

    Location was good .food and staff were also good .nice atmosphere , although hotel was far from full .We will go again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    10
    Very very nice in such a fantastic location and good value...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say at all

    Very very nice in such a fantastic location and good value for money with A++ service, staff are fantastic and the food is out of this world, rooms are lovely and spotless had a great nights sleep definitely going back would highly recommend!, easy to find

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: