Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Glendevon Hotel 2 stars

85-89 West Hill Road, Bournemouth, BH2 5PQ, United Kingdom

#44 of 46 B&Bs and Inns in Bournemouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 808 hotel reviews

6.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6

  • Comfort

    5.8

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    5.4

  • Staff

    6.5

  • Value for money

    6.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets were not clean, too small, didn’t get hot water in shower in one of our rooms, water pressure was too low in the shower

    Location, breakfast, luggage storing facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water when needed Rooms not cleaned Cups not cleaned Beds unmade Had to request supplies several days

    Breakfast Clean linen every day Little noise

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Visible marks especially on wall more by the stairs. cold shower, broken hangers and no iron. One of the matresses had a wet'patch

    Nice breakfast, proximity to the beach and value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Kettle too large to fill from sink tap. 2. Nowhere in shower to put soap or shower gel. 3. No shelf by bed to put spectacles, book, TV remote control etc. 4. No alternative at breakfast for vergetarian preference. 5. Bags of laundry? stacked at bottom of stairs.

    Although basic, room clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt like the parking situations you have to look for spot on street. Sink in the bathroom was cracked and shower door didnt close fully so water was going all over the floor.one of windows was broken so we could not lock it. Breakfast was fair. I would like to have coffe from the beans but there was only nescafe pouches and hot water.

    Location is great close to beach and town.staff was friendly beds was verry comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were was not good. We were 3 guest but with only one chair!! Internet connection was poor.. Beds were saggy and uncomfortable. Not worth going again. Worst place stayed.

    The breakfast staff were good and friendly..others especially when we checked in were not friendly..they should smile more and be more customer service based.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great time, apart from the fact that we could feel and hear the floor moving every time someone pass through on the corridor. Also disappointed that the mushrooms were always finished by 8:30 it was like first come first served so we only had them in the first day and it was disappointing as they are my husband's favorite.

    The property was very well located close to the beach. It was clean and looked after during our stay and the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast lacked organisation - we arrived 40 minutes before the end of serving time and there were no clean tables and no hot food. We only saw 1 member of staff clearing tables and we sat on a used table and just piled the used crockery to one side. However, fresh hot food was quickly brought out so that was resolved really quickly with minimal fuss - it was a very busy breakfast so wasn’t worth a fuss. Maybe introducing a station where people can leave their dirty crockery and self-service clean cutlery/napkins would help alleviate the pressure on the staff? The food was really tasty!!

    The beds were very comfy, and the room was spotlessly clean. Check-in and out were both simple and pleasant, loved being able to leave our luggage behind whilst we went out for the 2nd day. The location of the hotel was perfect - a short walk from the city centre in one direction, and the beachfront in another. We were also close to a bus stop for a bus back to the station after 2 action-packed days!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is very limited car parking space near hotel!! Very hard to find where to leave your car! Hotel by itself very tired- expect 2 stars and no more..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a little noisy for children,

    The staff were lovely,good location for city,breakfast was good and plentiful.turn left and walk 3 mins to savoy hotel for bus stops,good for getting back to train station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the worst night sleep I’ve ever had at a hotel. Apart from the fact our room was so close to reception we heard everyone come and go during the night, the staff weren’t very quiet either. At one point we heard quite loudly a couple of staff members having a cigarette outside our window, this was very early in the morning. The fan for the bathroom was so loud and there was no way of switching it off, it went on for so long that when I went to the bathroom during the night I used the torch on my phone as I didn’t want to set the fan off again! The worst part of the whole night was the squeaking floor boards above our room. I first thought maybe it was a room above but in the morning I saw it was a corridor, the floor boards were so creaky and people were walking over it all night I never really got to sleep. Never again will I be staying there again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    i booked into the Glendevon hotel and was made to stay in the maemar next door adjoining hotel, there was no catch on the bathroom door, the seat in the room was stained, the mattress was too big for the base and the headboard wasnt attatched just leant against the wall, not suitable for someone who is on business for the week!

    the staff were helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff rude. Room VERY small. Couldn't see tv from bed . Bathroom inaccessible unless u are a stick insect. Booking in process too long.

    Breakfast ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was cold water,Tap water stunk of sewerage and disgusting to have a hot drink it stained the kettle,had to change kettle in room on arrival it had been burnt inside and the hotel most of them foreigners.The bar closed all week,I don't recommend Glendevon Hotel to anyone.

    The bed was okay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too crowded at breakfast. We booked online into Glendevon hotel but when arrived there they gave us keys for Maemar hotel. I complained but Staff said same hotel. But rooms and bathrooms were not the same at all. Kids could not watch TV as signal really bad. Had to have room curtains closed the whole time as construction going on outside our window.

    Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are grubby ie unwashed and stained walls, furnished with shabby furniture that looked like they were bought from charity shops, dodgy shower head that was permamantly at a weird angle, scary lift that looks as though it should be condemned - don't try using it if you are over six feet tall! Tip - try different rooms before committing yourself as some rooms are much worse than others.

    The breakfast was very good, lots to choose from - toast and cereal, cold meat/cheese, full fry up.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast/dining room far to small with long queue for cooked food, not enough seating and tables for the number of guests and those that did manage to find seating had to suffer those of us queuing bumping into them while they tried to eat and we moved up the queue. The food itself was plentiful and delicious. Wifi didn't work.

    Bed very comfy with plenty of pillows. breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Altho stated it had a tv in the room, it did have a tv but it didn't work. The strong smell of weed from perminant residents

    Idea location, property was clean and polite staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the cleanliness, the room was dirty, very shabby décor and the beds were awful. They either were broken or simply a nasty mattress on a solid wooden frame, no sprung divan bases.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our main door wouldn’t close, spoke to reception who said will send maintenance but nothing during the whole stay. The tub cover was coming off Springy mattresses not comfortable at all. Needs massive investment to keep it running. The only reason someone would book this hotel would be for the location Breakfast was ok.

    Location, for the price we paid it was OK.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking, had to pay £10 in local car park. Breakfast good, however one song played on a loop the whole time we were in the restaurant, nearly drove us nuts!

    Convenient and reasonable price. Room was small but clean and comfortable .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ONE toilet roll. Tea stains down drawers. Bug in tea cup. Bulb out. Stag type parties all over. TINY room. Chipped plates at breakfast. Very run down. No hand towels in ladies loo (or any other way of drying). Strange mixture of older guests, students and stag party types. Doesn't gel well.

    Friendly Staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is very dated and in desperate need of redecorating. Breakfast was also not very good but at least it came included in the price.

    Hotel is very cheap and comes with en-suite rooms of a decent size, plus tea and coffee, tv and ironing facilities upon request. The hotel had everything you need in a good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The reviews were mainly poor but it was very clean and very friendly. Very outdated but for one night it was comfy and for the money good value. Excellent breakfast too. Great location close to centre , and great team

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The complimentary coffee was not to my taste therefore only tried the once Good size room but a bit tired looking - needs to be refurbished

    The towels and bed linen were white The breakfast was very good The location was ideal for the town centre and the beach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very basic, but to be expected for the price. The lack of parking was a bit of an issue as I had to pay £10 for over night parking in a local car park.

    It was good value for money as breakfast was included.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom water couldn’t dispense hot water. It was frustrating bathing with cold water. No positive response when reported.

    Nice and comfortable bedding

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water in the shower was cold day 1 and day 2

    The Staff were excellent, However they did not prepare for busy breakfast time on day 1 but improved by day 2.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in my room was old and dirty. The hot water was not enough for people that came most especially on Friday morning.

    The staff ability to cope despite being few in numbers during my 2 night stay. The excellent breakfast that was sufficient for the large number of people during my stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place seems like more of a student hostel. It's noisy, we had no hot water, there are insufficient power points in the room, and worst of all you're not actually staying in the Glendevon Hotel at all. You're directed next door to another hotel. We couldn't wait to leave.

    The room was clean. I can't offer much more credit than that.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to use the hotel next door to gain access. Scruffy sign on the hotels entrance door telling ‘non students please use door next door’. No mention of breakfast times or where to go. Hotel charged me twice for the room booking. No one in uniform which made our visit promiscuous.

    Hash browns at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The rooms were excellent, recently refurbished by the looks of things. Breakfast eggs cooked perfect, excellent quality meat for breakfast. Friendly staff. Loved this hotel, would be back to stay again. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floorboards are horrendous, walls paper thin, can hear a pin drop, bed basically broken, other was hard (Twin room was two single beds) Worst nights sleep. Also seemed you go next door for room and not in Glevendon section.

    Breakfast acceptable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room nothing like pictures,room very cramped. Smell of weed .front of hotel dirty.Hotel very dated and lack of staff

    The breakfast was good.near to beach and town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything could be better

    Total disaster !!! My complaint is with my solicitor now . Rude personal !!! Below zero everything !!! They moved our stuff from our room in another one without telling us at all !!! Filthy hotel !!! Breakfast hours are beeing changed constantly !!! Horror hotel !!! Rooms with women tampons on the beds !!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1 Mattress in room 3 was like a marshmallow and could do with replacing. Light bulbs were very dim, so Room 2 quite dark.

    The hotel was very cheap so we weren't expecting luxury. Staff very helpful. Everything was clean and working, but furniture was a little dated & tired. Tea & Coffee facilities in room. Breakfast was good. Plenty of choice. Location was excellent, just a 15 minute walk to the pier. Free wi-fi was strong. No parking but we were lucky enough to get a space on the street outside. We were literally only there to sleep and were out all day, so would definitely recommend as value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Electric outlets at floor level so had to boil kettle on the floor. Tea in room wasn't nice but I don't know if that was the brand or the water from the bathroom.

    Room nice and warm. Plenty of space.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely dated. Felt like I’d gone back 30 years. They took a £50 pre authorised payment from my bank card in case of any damages which was pending for a week and taken from my balance which was frustrating. They also took a photocopy of my driving license apparently in case of any problems with the room which they keep for 1 month in case they need to involve the police. I made them give it back to me when I checked out as they had my name and address which I consider enough information for the police to find me if need be! The shower fitting was on upside down (see picture) so only useful to midgets, children aged 8 or under and people who only wanted to clean the lower half of their body. Had to turn it to cold to get hot water. Awful mattresses-felt like the budget version of a budget mattress! Needless to say I had hardly any sleep. I found it most interesting how they managed to turn a double plug socket into a triple socket (see photo) by wiring the hairdryer directly into the socket (dangerous and illegal I’m sure). So there was a tv, kettle and hairdryer running off a double socket. The woman on reception assured me this was not in fact illegal and she had stayed in lots of hotels that were like that.......hhhmmm Breakfast was bizarre to say the least. The sausages and bacon were in soup tourine type containers rather than on a tray under the food lamp, the eggs were like rubber. They were playing a Carpenters cd at high volume. Odd just plain odd.

    Only positive about this place is that I managed to park outside

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived, 3 men sitting near the entrace area outside & the smell of weed in the lobby, made us think, oh dear what sort of place is this! The out of hours staff are a number of different men, that sit in a chair near reception & dont look very professional at all. We were in a room on the ground floor, near reception, and the noise during the night was totally unacceptable. Mainly we could hear mean talking & laughing in the reception area, throughout the early hrs of the morning! I'd had enought at 4am & went out to reception area & the guy manning the reception was on his personal mobile chatting loudly for a long time, with no thought about disturbing guests. We did not feel that safe & bolted the 2 bolts on our door. It may be value for money....you get what you pay for......but.... apart from the guy that checked us in.....a nice lady called Petra & the nice helpful breakfast ladies....we wouldn't stay there again. The guests just throw their cigarette butts all around the entrance of the hotel area, it looks awful. 😕

    Thankfully the beds were very clean & tea/coffee in room. Petar & breakfast ladies very nice & helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were moody and unwelcoming. And very unaccomodating. If you cannot smile and make the guests feel at home, DONT WORK IN CUSTOMER CARE.

    Some staff were really polite happy & friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Great value for money. The bed was clean. The room was nice and warm. TV, en-suite. Well worth the money considering a breakfast was included in the very reasonable price. Would book again if I was visiting Bournemouth.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast acceptable, if a little haphazard, with limited choice. Guy in charge kitchen on that day, perfectly polite, if a little dour and reticent ;o) A minor matter in the grand scheme of things!

    Room and facilities excellent. All staff, especially those on reception, helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very rude. Not even a good morning from the English gentleman working in the dining room. Appalling breakfast - help yourself to toast; if you were lucky enough to get to the one & only toaster that worked properly & cereal at other end of room. No hot breakfast although it was advertised around the hotel & outside the dining room, only place I have stayed where there is no fruit or yogurt. Bar & lounge advertised but nothing there!! Hundreds of bags of washing blocking narrow hallways making it very difficult for less abled people to get by. Not a good place!!!

    Although the room was small it was clean. This was a short break for my Mum & I, thankfully we were only using this as a place to sleep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A Wee bit tired inside , but friendly staff make up for that and at the prices charged we were happy enough to stay .

    Its what we expected from a budget hotel , car parking (pay) short walking distance , very close to shops, town centre and walk - able to beach if fit enough ,lift to all floors , not suitable for disabled people unless they can make it up and down the front steps , Breakfast was hot and plentiful with food refills coming out very quickly , all self service which is best as you choose what you want and have a much as you like .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was cold, but they did offer another room to use but that was cold too. Also our window was broke.

    After reading reviews was a little apprehensive about staying here but it was clean and comfortable!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room in really bad condition, bathroom ok. Brekfast:toast, cheese, bolied egg and butter. Friday night was really bad extremely loud so mamy drunk people coming to the hotel at different times.

    Nice bed, car park 4mim awsy from the hotel. £10 per 24h

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could’ve had better customer service on arrival, lift was very small to fit myself, a pushchair and my daughter and the building itself was a bit run down and needs a modern revamp.

    Good value for money and a short distance to shops and the beach. The room was a good size with coffee and tea making facilities and a tv, loved the shower and beds were comfy. Checking in wasn’t great, waited five to ten minutes while the receptionist went off without saying a word about why he was going, no ramp for wheelchairs or pushchairs but was helped by the lady receptionist as we left but was a struggle for the other days. Great for a cheap budget break. Myself and my daughter enjoyed it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The radiator was off when I arrived at 9.30pm, it took until past 9am in the morning to heat up (needs bleeding), nearly froze to death in the night, no blanket, no phone to call down, the shower was either freezing cold or scalding hot and unusable, the toilet wouldn't flush, the main light stayed semi on all night and the wifi kept kicking me off. I expected a hot breakfast, none provided. This is booking.coms fault - it says breakfast provided but is not clear that this does not include a full english so be aware of the small print, continental only weekdays

    Checked in late, the man at the desk was very helpful, the room was very nice and a very comfortable bed indeed. Of all the hotels I have stayed in this bed was the most comfortable I have experiened.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor communication through staff, fire alarm kept going off all night! Very noisy. Bar area very messy.first room we was given you could just push the door open when it was ment to looked, very disappointed! Nightmare for parking!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was clean but could be a little more modern and needs a little bit updating.

    It was easy to find. It was only a 10 minute walk to beach and restruants. Check out was at 11 but my partner went to reception and asked for an extra hour which they allowed free of charge. Defiantly worth the money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    “Excellent value for money - nice clean rooms and comfy beds! LCD TV,tea and coffee making facilities,en-suit bathroom,clean towels. Really reasonably priced bar too! It was a very cold weekend and the rooms were very warm. The staff were very helpful. Lovely English breakfast served. Over all it was a good trip, in a great location if you want access to the city centre or if you want a trip to the beach.”

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel is very tired. bits missing (no bedside cabinets) just partial fixings. split and dirty markings on wallpaper. paintwork tired and flaky. need a lot of money to bring it up to modern day standards, which would be advantageous. it could be a very nice hotel, in saying that for the price we paid it was value.

    bed and warmth vg. breakfast vg. car park just around corner vg. closeness to town vg.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived to the hotel, nobody was in reception. The guy saw us coming and still continued to do whatever he was doing. After 20 min, we got the keys. The lift to the room was shocking, not even sure if it is legal to run anymore. The room, nothing like the photos. A tiny thing. To open the bathroom door you have to move the bed basically. The shower door was agaisnt the loo and the water FREEZING COLD!!!!!. Breakfast free but disgusting as well... not worth it at all! Carpet old, dirty and smelly. Don't stay here.

    Absolutely nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water dripping from the ceiling all over the breakfast juice station. Breakfast cold. I chose not to eat my breakfast due to fear of food poisoning due to contamination from the leaking ceiling water.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On website when booking was given the impression that there was a full English breakfast each day, but that's only at weekends.

    Room was clean and comfortable,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking area was outside main door which did smell inside, not strong but could put people off

    I liked the atmosphere,. Breakfast was also nice. It was warm and cosy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived we were shown to an un-made bedroom. We were then immediately given another made-up room. The room was small, the floor was sloping so the beds were angled down towards the head end. There were only 3 pillows for 4 beds so I had an uncomfortable night. Not enough power sockets. The hairdryer was hard-wired into the mains electrics behind a plug socket, excellent for security but lethal without a fuse!

    The wifi was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy. Some rooms occupied by full time occupants, working nights and leaving tv,s on all night. No bar. Pull switch in bedroom not working. Just one bulb of four in ceiling light working. Windows not shutting very well,drafts.

    English breakfast very good. Room cleaned daily plus clean towels.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating in my room so I was moved, the next room had no hot water so I had to have a cold shower. In the morning the shower door fell off. No ice available for drinks at the bar so I had a warm drink. Staff offered no compensation and had already taken payment before I had arrived. Old mattresses on the bed so had a bad nights sleep.

    Leaving it

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was a lot of noise at night and that there were no lamps or small lighting, other than the big overhead light...had to keep getting out of bed for light

    That it was close to the town centre...that it was easy to find... From centre and the reception staff were friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift broke whilst my mum was in it for afew minutes! Needs updating looks really old curtains don’t even fit the windows staff were miserable tv had a black spots on it good price but wouldn’t come again and I’m not a natural moaner

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No high chair available. Carpets were dirty throughout. Chairs dirty. 3 Dead spiders in one of the the rooms. We also had a single room where no heating was available. Very cold room. Breakfast was extra £6 per person. Sausages were not nice. Very cheap quality food.

    Value for money. In house bar. Bathroom looked clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldnt have breakfast first morning as it was too late on first and most important day. Windows did not keep out excessive outside noise from road and street, decor was dated, shower was poor and hard to control...PRICE...it was very expensive for a poor quality hotel.

    It was fairly clean and breakfast was ok

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at the Maemar hotel instead of Glendevon. The two appear to be joined together, but that was strange. The photos on booking.com did not match the reality, and although the room was clean and warm, and the window was overlooking the sea, I found the photos misleading. We got the room at the top floor (4th), and the lift was not working. The breakfast was inconsistent because on the weekends it was plentiful, but when there were fewer guests staying, I found the food choices poor, and while I'm vegetarian, I rarely complain about food... Also, the staff weren't as warm as I've experienced on other trips I've made to Bournemouth. overall, the hotel is okay, and you get what you pay for, but it is not one of those places I will be going back to :)

    The hotel was very close to the seafront, and fairly close to the town center as well. The sheets were clean, the shower was clean as well. The breakfast was very good on the weekend when there were more people, but it wasn't as great on the rest of the days we were there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Told on the phone parking available on check in had to pay £10 in local car park for 24hrs. On check in had to pay £20 key deposit which we had no idea about until arrival. Put us on the top floor with a group of rowdy boys. Room was basic, tea coffee etc all value range. Only one pillow on one of the beds. Small black fruit flies on the white bed sheets was a nice touch. Floor tiles in the bathroom weren't fixed and kept coming up and moving. Wifi didn't reach the bedroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst hotel ever. We booked there to be told we would stay in the Maemar hotel next door because apparently it was the same property but that was very poor. The staff didn't offer any apologies. The first room had a broken window. The next one had a broken mirror in the bathroom and the side of the radiator fell off through the night. Some of the guests were very noisy through the night. Breakfast was cold and very poor. This is not a hotel suited for families at all. There were empty bottles of beer on the stairs outside when we left the next morning.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located across the road from a refugee residence which has around 12-15 young middle males shouting and screaming from around 10pm-2am each night I was there. The water pressure in the shower and sink is atrocious the water takes 20 mins of running before it heats up. The beds are excruciating to sleep in I still have a bad back 2 days after being there. The room also smelt terrible, possibly mould but who knows, also as a little bonus the lift has no door on it so your shot up past each floor and able to touch the external door as you go. It makes fawlty towers look like the ritz.

    There was very little to like. It was a short walk from restaurants... that's all I can think of.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar wasn't open but we went straight out on both days and nights so didn't bother us. Window in room 10 didn't shut properly and top handle came off.

    Value for money. Bed, basin, wardrobe, toilet, shower, TV, hairdryer, towel. That's all we needed and that's what we got. Didn't eat or drink there so can't comment. 10 min walk down hill to BIC, beach and theatre. 15 min in to town. Perfect for those looking for a cheap base to stay within walking distance from everything.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The young lad on reception was playing on his mobile, I said hello & my name etc; he didn't make eye contact, just said "fill this in" & pushed a pad & pen towards me....I didn't want to stay...I couldn't find any where else...finally after a bit of time deciding whether to stay or not I spoke to an older man behind the desk and he was more helpful... When I checked out there was a young lady on reception who was really nice and helpful :)

    It was quiet where my room was situated. The breakfast was nice, hot, plenty of food though there was only cheap white bread :( room was fine for one night, nice big fluffy towel but there was a strange smell in the bedroom?

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No muesli or yogurt at breakfast and no vegetarian options. Radio playing in dining room.

    Excellent bathroom and large bedroom. The lift was very useful!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took ages checking in when I arrived. The "Breakfast and Dining Room" is spelt as DINNING Room outside that room. That gives a slight Fawlty Towers impression.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed at "Glendevon Hotel" on the 7th of October in room 8, and my experience was pretty awful to say the least. Where shall I start?.. For a hotel to charge £88 for a shambles of a hotel is an absolute joke. here is why. The TV did not work, the signal was that bad every single channel just cut out when trying to watch anything. a basic service every hotel should ensure works. The WiFi did not work, nothing loaded, why advertise "free WiFi" that doesn't work, what a waste of my time trying to use it. The shower temperature was either boiling hot or freezing cold, just switched in between without touching anything so for this reason I could not even give my 6 year old daughter a shower, which is an absolute disgrace. not only this the bathroom was just moldy and old. The sink in the bathroom seemed to be permanently boiling hot, so once again we could not wash our hands after using the toilet, once again absolutely disgusting. The mattresses in our room felt like they were around 20-30 years old and had a baby elephant sleeping on them as there was such a massive dip in the middle, which caused such an awful night sleep for us all. Even the basics of things we couldn't use, the kettle was located above a "desk" which was so high up and close to the electric socket the plug could not be plugged in, so to make a tea we begrudgingly took the kettle to the door to make a cup of tea, but surprise surprise the plug didn't work, so we couldn't even make ourselves a cup of tea. You need to get some sound proofing installed as well, as hearing the above rooms vomiting all was not the most settling thing I've ever tried to sleep through, luckily for you my daughter was asleep by then and didn't hear it.

    Absolutely nothing, please read "what didn't you like" section. do not waste your money here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proprietor rude. Cold shower both evening and morning. Tv didn't work. Crack in sink. Plug didn't hold water in sink. Walls needed cleaning. Valances on beds tired and dated. Awful value for money!

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely lack of parking for 2 days it costed £20. It was very noisy didn't have good sleep. I would have paid more for room at another placefor safe parking.disappointed.

    Very good=breakfast bed/bedroom

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was ok although not very organised by the kitchen. The hotel is very dated but clean and it's location was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: