Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Glendorgal Hotel

Lusty Glaze Road, Porth, Newquay, TR7 3AD, United Kingdom

#18 of 36 hotels in Newquay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 378 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful location and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was located in a ground floor room with sliding door instead of a window which meant the first night was too hot and I had to throw caution to the wind for the second night and sleep with the door open...

    The staff are amazing and the rooms are big and comfy. It has fabulous views fiom the brasserie and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.3
    Lovely location, clean room, great size and nice bathroom.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed I couldn’t eat at the restaurant the night I stayed as you had to place your order that morning although I couldn’t check in till 2pm. They had a coach tour staying and they were clearly the priority which was disappointing considering the price paid.

    Lovely location, clean room, great size and nice bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    3.3
    Waste of money and I won’t be coming back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not ok, we were moved to another room which had better views but the bed was unacceptable, we had to single beds pushed together but with different heights and a huge crevice down the middle, we had no sleep what so ever, and for the price we had one coffee each, a noisy fan outside the window as well.

    The wedding food was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.4
    Overrated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room wasn’t very clean, the floors were very squeaky and could hear everymoment of people in neighboring room. Beds were uncomfortable. Expensive for what you pay for.

    The location of the hotel was great, the look of the building is very nice and staff were polite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.3
    Coud have been better with a dinner option!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no restaurant facilities for dinner in the evening. During half term week it was very difficult to get a reservation anywhere else.

    The view from the room was stunning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Didn’t disappoint.....
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gardens need a bit of tending to but the bones of good plants are there... outside needs painting but inside harmonises with the views with lots of glass and light airy decor..

    If you like something a little different this is spot on... away from the crowds ... nestling into the cliffs with stunning views.., If you don’t like steps and remoter locations you won’t like it.....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Lovely place. Newly refurbished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls. Could hear the people next door snoring and talking. Kept us awake. Didn’t give us clean towels/milk/coffee etc, and no housekeeping (stayed for two night)

    Big rooms. Big bathroom and shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    View, but that's it.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a damp smell, the shower tap hot and cold was the wrong way round so scalding was an issue. When the room was cleaned, it didn't look like it had been with the exception of the bed being made. No top up of tea, coffee and milk, no clean cups. The rooms are hot. TV was tiny. Beds OK but not particularly comfy. No staff in bar to serve drinks during the afternoon.

    The sea view was very good. But tiny balcony and small window. Great location. Powerful shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Absolutely Stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like. Except no evening restaurant but we were allowed takeaway to eat in dining room if we wanted. And the bar was open . If u want sea view ask for it. We didn't realise but could have had it. And it would have been worth it!

    Stunning location! The back bar, the view the private beach all big plus for me! And dog friendly! Win win. Oh and breakfast was so good!! Nothing too much trouble!. Very pleasant staff . I'd love to go again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    4.6
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very helpful, bed uncomfortable, expensive breakfast and not great standard. Also no view of sea or countryside just a white wall

    Great location, can walk down to the beach in 5 mins

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful view from the bar and outside,inside well presented but please sort out your sound proofin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floors in the hotel are all very creepy in the roomsun, there was constant creaking and the stud walls between the rooms are very thin so overall not a very quiet experience... the floorboards need screwing down and sound proof board on the walls

    The view was stunning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommended. Great location and a clean tidy place. Relaxed furnishings like a surfer hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the room included breakfast but had to pay £10 extra per person

    View from room and proximity to beach Bed comfy Breakfast great Staff kindly searched our bed sheets and found my earring when they could’ve just not bothered

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Putting aside minor cleanliness issues, the hotel, room and staff were lovely and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room general cleanliness was okay, however both lamps above the bed were full of dust and cobwebs! It looked like they have been completely overlooked for a few weeks if not months. Bathroom was nicely set up however, shower tiles and floor could have been given a good clean/ scrub with some bleach as some black or mouldy stains could be seen... this is why I always pack my flip flop to wear in the shower... had a shampoo and handwash bottle in the shower, must have ran out of conditioner.... the handwash bottle holder near the sink was too high and when you squeeze it it shoots out and ends on the floor instead of your hand. There was no rubbish bag/liner in the only rubbish bin in the room which was in the bathroom. TV was really small and the bag containing the pillows was dirty with mud or coffe/tea stains on the outside... Before we got our room and after a long drive, we needed the bathroom and a lady gave us direction to the closest bathroom which was unisex...

    The location and general hotel set up. Staff was really nice, from the receptionist who was really nice and got us in our room earlier, to the cleaning staff who was polite and friendly. There was a fan and another 2 pillows available in the little wardrobe. The heated towel rail in the bathroom. The window which we could open in full and was not restricted for health or safety reasons and enabling us to let fresh air in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt this site was somewhat misrespresented. In my opinion, this hotel was overpriced for what it was, I think if I had gone for a cheaper hotel I would not have been any worse off.

    The bathroom was a good size and had a bath as well as a shower. The bedding was clean, however the carpet and furniture were a bit tired.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    What a little gem!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately all the sea view rooms were booked so we didn't have a sea view but the breakfast room and bar did which was fine for our one night stay.

    The location was amazing with wonderful sea views over Porth beach. So peaceful yet just around the corner from busy Newquay. The swimming pool was a bonus!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    A comfortable hotel in a stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only issue - and it wasn’t that bad - was that our room was beside a heavy fire door - so we heard other guests walking through.

    The location, on a cliff top, gave us stunning views and easy access to the cliff top walks north of Newquay. The restaurant was not open for dinners - they will be in the Summer season - but their breakfasts were wonderful. We were able to stroll in to town to find a number of good places to eat and our hosts were happy to supply suggestions. We did not use the gym or pool, but chatted to other guests who were happy with these facilities. The room was comfy and the bathroom was modern. The staff were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.1
    fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it takes ages to answer the phone the twin bed when vuewed not cleaned yer no heating and were not informed full breakfast portion small for ten pounds

    view us excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    stayed here both for business and leisure, very good value indeed and the staff are very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    radiators with rust on them - do detract, however, perform the function for which they exist

    good value in terms of accommodation and what you pay; naturally the best asset of the hotel is its location. did not use the pool, however, it looked great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Worth £60 a night, we would like to come again please
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom sink smelly, creaky floor boards in above room, not enough milk coffee etc in room, chilly overnight, bed hard, tv, internet no signal.

    Lovely spacious room, big, hot shower, sofa to sit on, clean kettle, stunning views with private sitting area, friendly staff, nice choice of breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely fantastic family friendly hotel with incredible staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely wonderful staff! Large comfortable and clean room, provided travel cot for our infant (which was totally unexpected) and great English breakfast. Free parking and the location is perfect with the beach on the doorstep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel with amazing views,clean spacious rooms and very polite and welcoming staff
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The English breakfast could have been bigger and more choice like fruit etc.Cobwebs were by the mirror in dining area

    Absolutely amazing views from balcony onto Porth beach and other bays,room itself was very comfortable and spacious,bathroom shower was fab and treating guests to Cole&Lewis wash set is a great big thumbs up from us FAB ,Room was very clean and bright

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Great view and good value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor is a bit basic but didn’t impact our stay.

    Great view from the room. Good location close to main beaches, local restaurants etc. Check in and out was speedy and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That the restaurant was not open so we did not get time to use pool as we had to get into town for a meal. The window in our room did not open and there was not temperature control to cool down the room and the fan did not work.

    Location overlooking the beach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    Lovely first holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't supply enough tea and coffee and milk in the room and bed was rather squeaky and slightly uncomfortable

    Had a pool on site and stunning views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A real shame perfect location , but sadly no money has clearly been spent on updating the property for a while , bathroom awful , smell of damp , curtains covered in stains. Wouldn't return.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.1
    Would visit again yes but I would stay away from the sofa bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't like the beds, they where pretty bad, especially the sofa bed. The bathroom had mould on the floor and had a bad mouldy smell which was transferring to the whole room. Bad sound proofing.

    Liked the area, the scenery around the hotel, the breakfast and the restaurant view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.4
    Wouldn’t bother again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lady on reception very pleasant but obviously rushed off her feet so had to wait for ages to check in. The window wouldn’t open so the room was like a sauna, bed linen had holes in it. And drawing pins found in bed. Fan supplied had a pin snapped off the plug therefore wouldn’t work. Lots of hairs found in draw with hairdrier. Restraunt closed because “out of season” yet hotel apparently fully booked for Easter. No one there to check us out.

    The location was brilliant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.8
    Pleased with our stay at Glendorgal Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The member of staff that was on reception when we checked-in, although pleasant enough, provided no information past vague directions on how to find our room. It might have been nicer to have been slightly better informed regarding breakfast, check-out, local info and such, as none of this information is provided in the room.

    Really perfect location. Rooms were clean and tidy. Staff at breakfast were lovely and friendly and cheerful (good breakfast served too). Comfy bed. Okay view. Really super value for money when we booked last minute.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.1
    Average. Somewhere to sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Booking website stated restaurant was open from 1st March, but when I checked in I was told the restaurant wouldn't be open until the end of April. Booked a double and was given a twin room. Two small pillows.

    Large carpark. Free Wifi. Decent shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Breath taking views and amazing staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff we’re so welcoming and helpful. The views looking out to watergate bay are breath taking, they exceed expectations. I would definitely stay here again, no doubt about it!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    location,and views are wonderful, staff are very helpful, only down side was the noise from above
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noise from the room above and you could heard noise from the corridor when people came back late and there was musty smell in entrance of our room

    location, pool and staffs when the extra mile to help you

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.3
    Been to this hotel about 5 times Not as good as it used to be Seem to be cutting corners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Side light by bed not working Socket for kettle not working No loo brush Meager tea bags etc Front door too hotel very hard to open late at night

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.5
    Decent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Put off going in pool after been told it's cold. No bath in room. £5 for a bottle of Rattler. We paid £60 room only. Rang hotel direct and was quoted £102.

    Check in very good. Lovely lady explained everything. Room basic but clean and spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed had broken springs, the swimming pool was in poor condition, tiles coming off, scale, etc. The shower didn't have a curtain or screen of any sort, flooding the whole bathroom, Sauna not working and has been shut for months Swimming pool water cold. towels not provided for the pool area, The TV in the room was the size of a laptop (Im not exaggerating) on check in they asked me to pay for the room, although I had paid already to booking.com on check out they tried to charge us for coffees we never had (we were not even in the hotel during the day)

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.3
    Lovely vicinity and views and close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a new sofa, the one there is old and peeling, there’s is a problem with some of the electrics, the wall lamps in the one bedroom keeps blowing the bulbs

    Loved the 2 bedroom house the style and decor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.4
    A bed for the night, but not worth this amount of money and disappointing as a holiday destination.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived alone carrying lots of 'stuff', as you do for a wedding. Staff were nowhere to be found on reception. When they arrived I was checked in slowly as they were training new staff member, fair enough. Neither staff member offered me any assistance carrying everything to the room and I struggled to manage everything upstairs and opening doors etc. The bed was stiff as a board, so much so that I had a dream about that witchcraft chant, "Light as a feather, stiff as a board". All of the room surfaces were clean, but there was a sort of musty smell. I think this was from the bathroom as the ventilation in there was poor. The shower was an odd set up and not particularly pleasant. I am not tall, but I did wonder how a 6 foot chap would have been able to shower in there - the way the shower was built into the wall anyone over that height would certainly have had to crouch!

    The hotel is ideally located for Lusty Glaze Beach, where we were attending a wedding. The views from the hotel of the coast are beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    5.4
    This property needs damp problem attending to. Horrible smell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The property was very damp with a strong musty smell throughout. We did not unpack our suitcases as the wardrobes had a very strong smell of damp. The shower was blocked and the water cascaded over the shower tray as was it was not sealed. However, the staff did seal it when I advised them. Must have been like it a long time as wood was rotten around door frame etc. The decking leading off lounge was uneven and had loose planks.

    The location is very good and staff very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    Not good value for money, apart from lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No meals available apart from breakfast. Were unaware of yhis until we arrived. Only 2 pillows on double bed. View over roof. No choice of rooms.

    The staff were wonderful. Beautiful location. Very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    4.6
    Fantastic Location. Tired hotel and rooms. Mainly catering for german tourist groups.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bed was extremely hard. Room very dusty. Bathroom floor tiles loose and grout missing. Shower cubicle tiny and no curtain so water sprayed everywhere. TV was tiny. Restaurant only serving fixed menu. This hotel has seen better days and only saving grace is the location.

    Great Location between Lusty Glaze Cove and Porth Beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.4
    Great location, catalogue of errors
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's such a wonderful location but unfortunately a catalogue of errors ensued. We booked early evening/same day and arrived at 1945 and the room was not ready. Apparently it should have been taken off by both the housekeeper and booking.com. While the room was serviced, we were offered a complimentary drink so chose sparkling water with lemon and no ice but received them with ice and no lemon. Got into the room about 830pm. The duvet cover was inside out and the loo could have been cleaner. The room was a little musty, there was no spare loo-roll. The coded key didn't work and after repeated visits by the DM we got a key that worked at 930pm. We were asked if we'd booked breakfast (we hadn't), to be told that it would be cheaper if we booked now as it would be more expensive in the morning (huh?). I work in hospitality - how can this be? I understand the initial problem but it could, and should, have been handled a bit more sweetly - complimentary breakfast for you? For the price of £138 the experience was a huge let-down. For a room cost in the order of £60-80 we would probably have laughed it off a bit more. To top it all off at check out we had to go and find someone to check us out and then insist on taking the only copy invoice they had (printer was broken, apparently).

    The location and the view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.7
    Great location, hotel a disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry as above

    The hotel location was amazing and 99%of the staff were very helpful but not once over four nights was our room cleaned properly, had the same dirty mugs for four days... the bed was exceptionally hard and uncomfortable and the room very basic. The location of the hotel helped but overal it was tired. We were also not told the restaurant wasn't open during our stay... but as a base it was good, we did have the basic room and not the more expensive sea view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    3.8
    Absolutely nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the very arrival I was quiet dissapointed with the quality of the rooms booked. I must say that the photos of the rooms did not quiet represent the actual quality. The rooms smelled of damp, you could not even think to put your clothes or other belongings in the wardrobe, chest of drawers provided , as the smell was terrible . Even the armchairs placed in the room were completely danked. This however was only the start to a very unpleasent stay at this hotel. The next morning, me and my partner discovered bite marks on our bodies along with the horrible itchines that came with them. Bed bugs !!!! End of the day no refund for horrible nights

    Absolutely nothing. Only the view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.1
    Great location. Hotel needed updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was looking tired. Found a receipt in the bedside table dated May 2017 from a previous hotel booking. Made us query the housekeeping? Only 2 bath towels & 2 teas & coffee sachets. Carpet was stained.

    Location was super. Sea view room was superb. Plenty of parking. Was not a problem to leave the car parked on the last day so we could spend time at the cove. We could also take a shower before we left - excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    5.4
    Great location and views disappointed with room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a double bed but ended up with a twin. No soap in bathroom. Only one set of towels even though it was booked as a double for two people.

    The location was perfect

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The property needed some attention to detail, furnishing needed updating. Dishwasher didn't work.

    Location was excellent, short walk to two lovely beaches, one mile walk into Newquay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.4
    Don't book single room in summer!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small with the smallest of windows. On a hot evening the room was uncomfortably stuffy and a real shame considering the rest of the hotel.

    Great location, views were amazing. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Best hotel with the best views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our neighbors dog because we couldn't open the balcony door otherwise the dog could come to our room

    Breakfast very good,the room was clean and spacious,nice staff,the best views!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    5.8
    Could do better
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked it showed they did room service, they don't. The menu in the evenings is for the coaches they have in so extremely limited choice. Overpriced what is actually available on site.

    You can't beat the views and location. The staff were really friendly and helpful. It has the potential to demand the room rates.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.7
    Lovely location, let down by the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the members of staff require more customer service training I think! Rick (think this was his name- wore a yellow fat willies t shirt) (he was serving drinks behind the bar and then sat round the other side drinking with customers) was making jokes which were not amusing and was actually quite rude. He was swearing when he was in conversation with the customers he was sat with- not what we wanted to hear whilst sat in the bar area- I am not even sure if he works there?! Then there was Hayley (I think that was her name) who seemed to be the main housekeeper who was moaning about not having a day off!! Once again, we don't want to hear it! She then got herself a drink from behind the bar and stood there drinking it saying she needed a drink! She Was then saying that she thought she had ran out of bedding and that she had another 15 rooms to do tomorrow! I know if this was my business I would not be happy with this! We all like to have a moan but do it out of customer earshot!!

    The location was good and we had a good nights sleep although it would have been better if the air con was working. We slept with the window open slightly but as we had a velux window and the seagulls were on the roofs nearby we could not have it fully open. The lady (I am not sure if her name) who was on reception on the Sunday afternoon at 2pm was lovely! Could not have been any more helpful if she tried.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.5
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dead seagull on roof outside our window/doors. Reported but not removed whilst we were there. Small double bed. Drains very smelly in bathroom. No evening meal available in hotel.

    Wonderful situation. Excellent, well cooked and presented breakfast, no fresh fruit, croissants or pastries.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    6.7
    lovely hotel in a great place but let down by service, some cleanliness and TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Swimming pool had scum on the walls on where the water level was. The showers in the changing area had no soap in the dispensers. There were no lockers in the shower rooms for your belongings. We were in room 5, there were two cups in the room that we used for tea but the next day they only cleaned one and the towels were put on the radiator in the bedroom to help dry however, these were not put back in the bathroom or replaced when we returned in the evening. The on-suite was very small and the shower door can easily hit the sink when opened giving little room to get through.

    The location close to the coast and near the town. Had a swimming pool indoor. Nice bed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Of a night time the rooms are very hot and had to have the window open due to no air conditioning asystem it was out of order.

    I like the rooms they are a good size and the view is amazing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely quiet location just outside Newquay, but near enough to walk in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked because of the swimming pool but I gather it was closed!

    Beautiful location. Near to the lovely Lusty Glaze Beach (and Beach Restaurant although that is not related to the hotel). Lovely walks from there along the coast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.3
    Just fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv and bed were small; the wifi was patchy; there were no lockers in the gents pool changing room.

    The view and surrounding beaches & countryside are lovely. The pool & gym are small but perfectly adequate.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    One of the best hotels I've stayed in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have nothing bad to say about this hotel.

    Beautiful location, friendly staff, clean spacious rooms. Breath taking views. I will be recommending this hotel to all my family and friends.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    5.0
    Clean, nice people but not good value
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    REception had no knowledge of our special requests. The bed was very uncomfortable. There was no means of using the TVs I.e no remote. Fortunately this did not matter as we were only there for the night and didn't need it. There was no radio. Same applies didn't need it but made sure that reception were aware, so that they didn't think we had taken these items away with us.

    Welcome and friendliness

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.3
    Well needed break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant wasnt very good, had to go out and buy food every day

    Hotel is in a fantastic location in terms of the views. Unfortunately we coukdnt see it from our room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.9
    Lovely hotel in Cornwall!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hadn't made up bed for children for 10pm arrival which was a pain, breakfast was basic, fruit and yoghurt and fresh crossants or pastries would be nice, no kids breakfast options like small breakfast or porridge, never made it to the pool but would have been nice if we'd been shown where facilities were.

    Big room with new decor, great for walking to beaches or Newquay , breakfast cooked to order, very amenable keeping kids milk in their fridge, happy to make arrangements for us.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.2
    Book a lovely stay in Porth
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The gym is aging and wasn't really worth a visit. The hotel may want to rethink whether it's worth keeping it up.

    The service is excellent, staff eager for us to have a good stay. Staff changed a double to a twin room on arrival so we could have adjacent rooms. Our rooms and the corridors throughout had just been redecorated and recarpeted - we were impressed with how they continue to maintain the hotel. We booked an evening meal with just an hours notice and had steak and fish all really fresh and well prepared. Full English was also great. The location is fantastic - a real gem with views across Porth and Porth Island. Plenty of parking, free WiFi, indoor pool, 3/4 full but still quiet and realxing during the Easter holidays. They also have family rooms that are allocated for families that wish to bring their dog. If someone came along and chucked a few hundred grand at this hotel it could become a really expensive, swanky hotel. Until then, book a lovely stay in this friendly hotel before it's priced out of most peoples pockets.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    6.3
    Small hotel on a cliff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small and uncomfortable double bed (too soft), very noisy inside the hotel (especially the hallway), tiny shower room (more of a closet than a bathroom), smelly furniture, dirty carpet, small parking lot, narrow road to the hotel, cold room (no heating), expensive for the very basic room

    View from the hotel complex (the hotel is located on a cliff), friendly receptionist

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    5.8
    Ok for one night but way over priced!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not made up when staying as a family we had to make up the sofa bed our selves which was absolutely filthy. The floors were dirty and clearly not hoovered, the drawers were all dirty and there were drink rings on the old battered furniture. There was nowhere to hang our coats. There was only a shower not a bath. Not what I expected when paying £95 with breakfast on top totalling nearly £120

    The views and location were stunning, and breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    7.9
    The location was beautiful, not too far to drive or walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are pretty basic but fine for value for money

    The location was beautiful, not too far to drive or walk to find some lovely beaches. The swimming pool was nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    2.9
    ABSOLUTELY MOST DISAPOINTING. AND WET PAINT ON BEDROOM DOOR .PAINTING SHOULD NOT BE DONE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    overall experience very poor.Inadequate room on second floor when specifically asked for ground or even first. Had to leave after one night because of two flights of stairs. Dangerous step up to shower not marked BEWARE OF STEP or CAUTION STEP. BREAKFAST VERY LIMITED- No fresh fruit juices or yoghurt -no cheeses or cooked meats or rolls or pastries very limited indeed And bedroom window so filthy you could hardly see out of it. Was glad to leave after only one night.

    DID NOT PROVIDE ANY

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    8.8
    Perfect Romantic Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the breakfast was quite extortionate for what you got, we were also told on arrival that the restaurant was closed that evening leaving us a couple of hours to find somewhere to eat.

    Staff were really welcoming and made us feel very comfortable. View from the room was amazing. Everything was straight forward and simple as we could keep a tab on everything we purchased.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    10
    A clean and comfortable hotel with stunning views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is in an amazing location. If you're interested in walking along Cornwall's gorgeous coast, this is a great launching place. Our room/bathroom had plenty of room and was very comfortable and clean. The dining area had a stunning view. We had a delicious full English breakfast each morning, as well as fruit and cereal options. Eleri took great care of us! I would love to make it back to this hotel someday.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    2.9
    My Birthday and it was awful, won't go again,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room not cleaned during the stay, no tea and coffee replenished, and overcharged on bill at checkout by £24.00 Bed like floor board. view awful.

    Food not bad at a price? drinks overcharged,

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    4.6
    Not as good as we'd hoped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very basic for the price and the swimming pool was very small and unlike the pictures advertised.

    The view from the car park (not the room).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.8
    Breath taking location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff seemed a little overwhelmed at busy times, in both the restaurant and reception but perhaps this is due to low staff numbers out off season.

    The staff were friendly and the hotel was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    10
    The staff were very nice and helpful even though I was a...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very nice and helpful even though I was a pest and had to make adjustments to my reservation and be moved because we ended up bringing our pet. It was a very lovely and relaxing trip. Would definitely visit again just maybe during the peak season! ;)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    10
    Excellence at it's best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find fault anywhere

    The hotel facilities were excellent, the staff were very friendly and helpfull , nothing was too much trouble , location was superb, with beautiful views of the beach and sea

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.2
    Lovely :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely friendly welcome, nothing was too much trouble. Nice comfy bed and big sized room. Pool was empty when we went, a little chilly but nice and relaxing. Very easy to find, well signposted and big car park with a lovely view.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Excellent discovery
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    That it was only an overnight stay..next time will be longer

    Excellent welcome, friendly staff throughout....Nothing was too much trouble and despite not dining at the restaurant when we returned back to the hotel the chef kindly produced a cheese board for us all !!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    8.8
    Great quiet location yet close to the main strip, dog friendly but creaky floorboards
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Creaky floorboards and noise from rooms above the family rooms. I brought earplugs with me this time so I slept okay but light sleepers without ear plugs could easily have a bad nights sleep.

    The hotel is set on a headland just away from the town so it's quiet and private (which is unusual for Newquay and definitely a bonus) but still not far at all from the main strip (short walk). You can walk straight out of the hotel on to beautiful grass headland with fantastic views and walk down on to two beaches if you want. It's very easy to bring a dog with you as you can get out on to the headland for walks/toilet very easily. I booked a double room and requested to bring a dog; it turned out that actually you can only have dogs in a family room, which wasn't on the Booking.com web page at the time I booked (they are going to fix this). However, the owner agreed over the phone to upgrade me to a family room at no extra cost which I thought was excellent service. I think this would have been difficult for them to pull off in high season though - my visit was in January. Bar serves several tap beers including Heineken at -2C. Dogs allowed in bar and they provide nice steel water bowls.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    7.5
    The view from our room was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Consideration for the little extras in the room, i.e limited tea/coffee, no biscuits, no welcome/information pack for guests who are unfamiliar with the area.

    The view from our room was superb. The hotel's location for the town and Porth beach is good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    6.7
    Spacious and dog friendly but a bad night's sleep.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room (15) on first floor suffered from a lot of noise from the room above and the stair case to the second floor. The plumbing to the room above caused a lot of screeching/whistling whenever the bathroom above was in use. Creaky floorboards and stair case made a lot of noise. Not possible to sleep once upstairs guests were moving about - very bad night's sleep. The floor sloped slightly toward the head end though this wasn't as bad as the noise. The room smelt slightly but I couldn't work out what the smell was. This was low season (late Jan) so may have been a bit musty. No fridge in room. Website lists it as a "land view" but from the first floor it's actually it's a view of a wall.

    Great view from bar restaurant, fantastic location on headland, Tesco nearby, short drive/walk into town. Nice not to be in the middle of Newquay but close enough by to access all the facilities. Big spacious room. Great to be able to bring dog. (£15 per night extra). Good prices. Nice cold beer.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: