Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Argyll and Bute hotel reviews
  4. Tobermory hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Glengorm Castle

Reviews of Glengorm Castle 4 stars

Glengorm Castle, Tobermory, Tobermory, PA75 6QE, United Kingdom

#1 of 10 hotels in Tobermory

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 372 B&B reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.8

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2019

    9.6
    I would love to spend a full week at Glengorm in order to absorb the beauty and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The property is unbelievable. Plan to stay multiple days to enjoy all of the benefits. The breakfast was wonderful and the views are outstanding from every window and seat.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2019

    8.8
    Really enjoyed it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No evening meals was a shame as it's quite a driven to the nearest town and it's such a great location it would be nicer to spend more time there. A honesty box for some bar drinks would be great as well.

    Rooms, common areas and breakfast was great

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2019

    9.6
    Absolutely fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is breathtaking! The living-room(s) and the very nice set of whiskys that a free of charge. the room we stayed in was excessively cosy and the bed was really comfy.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2019

    10
    Beautiful property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Just be prepared for the drive to it. It’s a few miles out of town!

    Beautiful property! Made for a dream come true to stay in a castle. It has been kept up wonderfully and I wish we could’ve stayed longer. Worth the price!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2019

    9.6
    Very relaxing in delightful castle in beautiful grounds, staff were very helpful too.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could not fault the place.

    The breakfast was to die for the bacon just melted in your mouth. Lovely whiskey library. Views were stunning and the position was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2019

    10
    It was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect! Meticulously clean, welcoming Staff, excellent breakfast. The highlight was the breathtaking view and the walk from the Castle down to the shore!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2019

    10
    Idyllic, welcoming, peaceful retreat in a stunning setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a peaceful, charming, romantic Scottish Castle in a stunning setting with outstanding views from all of the shared public rooms. We had a large, luxurious bedroom with an equally large en-suite bath and shower room and our own great views looking out to sea, the islands and the setting sun. We enjoyed a couple of glorious walks about the estate which includes fields, forest and rocky shores - all with their own varied and very interesting wildlife!! We stayed for 3 nights and the superb staff gave us a warm Highland welcome and made us feel like valued house-guests throughout - as did the choice of quality single malts available in the library and the extensive breakfast options which were a triumph of top-quality local produce. Our particular thanks to Hannah and Chloe. 10/10.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2019

    9.6
    Lovely remote castle location - perfect tranquility!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had whiskey available to try - would have been nice to have a few alternative drinks for the none whiskey drinkers

    Lovely remote castle location - perfect tranquility! Best view from a bathroom I’ve ever seen.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2019

    10
    It was an amazing place in a fabulous location with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing. be prepared to be challenged by the roads to the castle.

    It was an amazing place in a fabulous location with wonderful breakfasts. (evening meals not available)

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2019

    9.2
    Marvellous castle B&B in great surroundings wth rich wildlife and a very pleasant staff 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What could improve : A better map over estate with marked footpaths, viewpoints, where to spot wildlife. Information that farmhouse shop nearby closes kitchen for warm meal servings at 16.15 sharp. The possibility of a light evening meal would be great.

    Marvellous castle lodging on a wonderful estate with rich wildlife and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2019

    8.8
    Just what we had hoped for, we will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some updating of furniture, carpeting, etc was needed.

    Breakfast was excellent. Whisky in library to try was fun. The walks and views were absolutely amazing!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2019

    10
    So lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So lovely. We had a room with a view onto the ocean and the beautiful sunset. The hosts are absolute friendly, the breakfast tastes delicious and there is nothing I would wish to change on that great stay. Thanks a lot

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2019

    9.2
    Great experience staying in a beautiful estate home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very relaxed. Good thing of this is it is comfortable and you are on your own to experience the estate. Negative part of this is we could not check in as we could not get a response after ringing the bell several times so we wandered for an hour and returned.

    Wonderful breakfast in a spectacular setting.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2019

    10
    Great location, comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Glengorm Castle was the highlight of our trip. What a lovely experience, the Castle is well looked after offering a warm and inviting atmosphere encouraging you to enjoy the place as though it was your home. I wish we were able to stay longer I would highly recommend staying here and would love to go back again some day.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2019

    10
    The spectacular view from our castle tower blew our minds...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't fault Glengorm Castle in any major way. Some lights did not work, for example the bathroom.

    The spectacular view from our castle tower blew our minds and as we explored the grounds we were spellbound by the peaceful surroundings. Pam met us as soon as we arrived and made us feel welcome and free to use many additional rooms within the castle. The kids loved the pool table room and we loved being grown ups whilst having a whisky in the lounge. Water in the shower was hot and facilities terrific for a family.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2019

    10
    Breathtaking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...it’s a Scottish Castle over looking the ocean

    Everything about this hotel was amazing! The rooms are beautiful and done out to a very high standard. It’s a lovely warm cosy castle. I only wished I was there in winter to experience the huge fire places. The grounds, view and location of this hotel are fantastic. We were lucky and saw the most amazing sunset. The staff were so helpful and friendly. The breakfast was fantastic with locally sourced food. I couldn’t fault it one bit. I can’t wait to visit again.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2019

    10
    A gem in the heart of Scotland. Must see
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be harder for travellers addicted to internet as the WIFI is very poor. Bright side, they can take great selfies.

    Everything. We gad an amazing stay at the Glengorm castle and its beautiful surroundings. We've been greeted with a warm welcome and felt home straight away. We did find the right atmosphere to retreat from a busy life, and relax around a fireplace. Everything was meticulously thought about to ensure an unforgettable experience. From the family's photos if the castle owner and its interior design through to complimentary whiskey taster.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2019

    10
    It’s all very well to find a hotel fantastic when all goes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s all very well to find a hotel fantastic when all goes well but Glengorm passed with flying colours when We arrived and it appeared they were expecting us the night before ( obviously my fault!) Pam who received us was always charming and went out of her way to help us and as luck would have it someone cancelled at the last hour, but I know she would have accommodated us somehow, whatever! It’s the smartest Band B ever, in a glorious position. We went to the excellent Cafe Fish in Tobermory for supper. A great stay!

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2019

    7.1
    Lovely stay for a first time in a castle, super location, very peaceful, lovely walks available
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Kitchen could have been a little cleaner but minor point plus I would replace the bath taps and the rust patches in the bath as it spoilt the beautiful bathroom. Expensive and a little chilly as it is a castle but I knew that beforehand so to be expected.

    The Castle was beautiful to drive up to and had sea views and in a beautiful location. The hotel was very quiet which was good. We had loads of space and comfortable beds and lounge area. Kitchen well equipped. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2019

    10
    Absolutely Fantastic Castle, Location & Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a truly wonderful place in a magical position. The staff are superlative, so very friendly and helpful. The castle's exterior and interiors are spectacular, even in wild weather. The drifts of daffodils swaying in the wind added to the atmosphere. The breakfasts were superb with so much variety. I loved the castle whisky marmelade. We had a magical time here and would love to return.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2019

    10
    Great location and fabulous castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was spot on

    Great location and fabulous castle. The view from our room was amazing The whisky in the library with the real fires, the lovely fresh home cooked breakfast and the friendly helpful staff and owners Strayed here last year and loved glengorm so much we booked again this year and Will be booking again next year with our two dogs who love the walks arround the castle estate and the friendly labradoodlr who plays in the garden.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2019

    10
    Castle perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If this place had a restaurant, it would have been perfect.

    Excellent breakfast, friendly owners. Combination of the whisky library and all the open fireplaces is such a great invention. The piano and various boardgames will keep you busy even on rainy days. This place is a masterpiece with so many details perfectly tying up and building up hearth-warming atmosphere. It does not really get better than this.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2019

    10
    Warm, spacious beautiful home, authentic, charming, comfortable, delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Warm welcome, comfortable, spacious, charming, superb breakfast, perfect in every way for us. Lovely library and sitting areas with open log fires. Beautiful original parquet flooring and plasterwork to the ceilings. Bedroom and bathroom spacious with authentic bed, bath, furniture.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2019

    10
    Perfect situation. Great walks. Very large and comfortable rooms and comfortable lounges to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom towels were a little past their best. Floor of shower was dangerously slippery although the shower was really good and the bath and toiletries provided were excellent.

    Very large and varied menu and excellent food and service. Beautiful outlook fro dining room. Large comfortable lounges with log fires and superb range of free single malt whiskies. Perfect b&b for relaxing and wonderful service fro Marjorie. Would recommend very highly for a holiday at any time of year. The walks around the estate were also wonderful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2018

    10
    A dream came true!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything!

    One of the most beautiful castles you will see, set in a stunning location overlooking the sea, beautifully decorated, big fireplaces in every room and staff that are always there to help you! It an experience that everyone needs to live once in their lives!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2018

    10
    Glengrom castle is an excellent place to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glengrom castle is an excellent place to relax. It has remote location, that offers wonderful walks along the cost with an outstanding view at Atlantic Ocean. Our room was very comfortable and spacious. The castle has a unique atmosphere that makes us feel like at home and we keep getting back as there is nothing like Glengrom Castle.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2018

    10
    The house, the warmth, the bed, the shower and bathroom, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wall paper in bedroom - but everything else was so good it didn't matter.

    The house, the warmth, the bed, the shower and bathroom, the views, the walks, the very good breakfasts, the proximity to Tobermory, the library with a selection single malts to savor as you watch boats passing Ardnamurchan point, the games room when it got dark and most importantly the staff of this great place that work towards making it such a comfortable stay. Thank you.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2018

    10
    An absolute pleasure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious accommodation of an excellent quality. Delicious breakfast. All staff extremely helpful. A real joy to sit reading at the blazing log fire in such a genuine and beautiful environment.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2018

    10
    Fantastic and will recommend and definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic rooms, location and I was lucky with amazing blue skies over my three night stay. Breakfast had great choices and beautifully cooked. Bed super comfy and the massive bath was a joy to spend time in

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2018

    9.6
    Glengorm Castle and the grounds are absolutely beautiful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Glengorm Castle and the grounds are absolutely beautiful and we really enjoyed our stay. Our room was spacious and clean and breakfast was very good. I only wish we would have had more time there to explore more of the grounds.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2018

    10
    Absolutely stunning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Lovely location, great welcome. Comfortable rooms with lounges and complimentary whisky with amazing views. Breakfast was superb quite possibly the best we've ever had.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    10
    Staying at Glengorm was a wonderful experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying at Glengorm was a wonderful experience. We have 4 children and it was like being in a family home. The staff and owners were amazing. We would recommend Glengorm to anyone looking for a unique experience on Mull!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    9.2
    Interesting place to stay on Mull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a shame that an evening meal is not available Our room was a sufficient size but felt smaller due to their choice of bed

    Location Interesting building Lovely hosts / staff - all very helpful and very smiley Nice breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful setting, great beds and fantastic breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little pricey, but worth it.

    Beautiful setting, great beds and fantastic breakfast. It really was like waking up in the castle. Tower rooms were great for a family of 6. Beautiful private living room with fire and a great selection of complimentary whiskey to settle in for a nice time. Kids loved the games room in the evening and the walks on the grounds were astonishing.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    9.2
    Straight out of an Agatha Christie novel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    So the nearest restaurant is quite a drive away, over single-lane roads. We'd gotten there a bit late, and were not aware they did not have any dinner (or even snack) options on site. I suggest having something available for additional cost so travelers don't have to drive into town again shortly after arrival just to eat dinner. OR, make it a point to stop in town for dinner prior to arrival.

    One of the most beautiful places I've ever stayed, and well worth the price of admission. In fact, this is probably the best value in all of Scotland. But its remoteness and the adventure just getting there only adds to its mystique.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.6
    One of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived after a long drive from Glasgow. There was an accident on the A82 and we had an 85 mile diversion and in the dark, the hotel was very very hard to find. I asked if we could get something to eat and I was given a lot of cookies. I was not aware that the hotel did not have restaurant but I knew they served breakfast so I knew they had a kitchen. I asked for something simple like toast and jam and was told it was not avaiable. For $300./night, they could have given us some scrambled eggs and toast!! I would have made it. The scotch, however, was plentiful and free so we had a few but basically we went to bed hungry.

    One of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed!! The house was amazing, the grounds were amazing, theroom was amazing. The art in the house was amazing. It had as real "lived in" feel - more like a home than a hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Magical experience! Must stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Gorgeous property in an unbelievable setting. Kind and attentive staff. Delicious breakfast! Our only regret was that we could stay only one night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Warm, clean, opulent and a great get away from it all venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING!! The photographs don't do it justice - it was much better.

    The whole time was just amazing from the drive up to the castle to the library, breakfast, heating, view just everything exceeded what we were expecting. The staff were very helpful it was spotlessly clean and we would love to return for a longer visit and would recommend this property for anyone wanting to get away from it all.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather. But hey, this is the western islands of Scotland.

    Always wanted to stay in a castle. Glengorm fulfilled that dream. It looks like a castle and it feels like a castle, set in a beautiful landscape ,high on a cliff right by the sea. The ambience inside is warm and cozy with several large well appointed rooms available to the guest as if it were their castle. The icing on the cake was the well stocked complimentary, single malt bar in the drawing room. It could not make us feel more like it was our home. Audrey our host was warm and welcoming when we arrived and most helpful in every respect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Just Amazing!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very relaxed atmosphere. Absolutely stunning location. Warm and inviting. Very friendly and helpful staff. Bed was just dreamy to sleep in...incredibly comfortable with lots of feather pillows. So peaceful you almost felt like you were there by yourself.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Very peaceful and epically beautiful. Just what I imagined Scottland to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I didn’t spend more time there.

    Property exceeded photos and expectations. Wish we had stayed longer. It is remote but amazingly beautiful and we loved the town of rover Moey nearby. Had a great dinner in town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    Glengorm of the spectacular views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was very weak.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. The extensive property at Glengorm was particularly scenic and wonderful for taking walks on the hills and coast - we loved the view and the sheep!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful and comfortable room. Staff were lovely. The weather was wild and woolly which only added to the experience! Loved the big breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Magique !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything ! The suite was beautiful and comfy, there was everything needed for a coffee/tea time. The view on the sea was simply stunning !At the ground floor, you have areas where you can enjoy a glass of whiskey next to the chimney, read ... The breakfast is DELICIOUS with fresh products, with many choices. Outside you can have a very nice walk around the coast. Thank you very much for everything and hope we will be back !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Spectacular Castle accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything is top notch and spectacular!! Comfy room, amazing location, terrific host family and staff. Breakfast was divine. It was our favourite stay out of 17 places over 3 weeks. Wished we had booked for another night to fully avail ourselves of the gorgeous surroundings.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    A truly stunning location and perfect for a get-away-from-it-all break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing that diminished our pleasure at staying at Glengorm Castle. I had read the reviews about the difficult access road or no locks on the door etc. The drive up from Tobermory was fine (just the usual passing places that you find all across Mull) and the location and remoteness means you feel perfectly safe and at home here. A wonderful place to stay.

    A truly stunning romantic and stunning castle venue with the comforts of home. We only had one night here as part of our honeymoon tour of Scotland but could have happily stayed more. All the staff were friendly and welcoming. The views are stunning and we walked down to the Standing Stones to see the sunset over the Outer Hebridies. Magical experience. The whisky bar in the library was a very nice touch and allowed us to meet with some fellow residents. WiFi worked well in the main hall / library but our 4G was at full strength so no connectivity issues. A superb cooked to order breakfast was the best of our holiday by far.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Relaxing, cosy and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing!

    Loved the location of the castle. Lovely walks and views. The free whisky room was great and we met some lovely fellow travellers in there too. Breakfast was very good too and a great selection.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.8
    Go with lowered expectations for the room and you’ll be very happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit worn and shabby. Understaffed family home run as a castle hotel. The road to get there was very challenging as well.

    Comfy bed and great location The tea room had excellent food the views are outstanding and there is a fine walk to standing stones and to a rocky coastline.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    Historic castle stay on gorgeous property with great hiking and nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drinking water in the room. The bathroom was dedicated but down the hall. The handheld shower head leaked badly so washing your hair in the bathtub was a challenge.

    The historic traditional country castle. Beautiful grounds with great walking trails and view of the ocean. Unique, special experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful views in every direction from room, very spacious room and bathroom, fabulous breakfast, complimentary whisky’s from all around Scotland while in residence. Additional cost for guided walking tours with a naturalist was well worth it. We even saw bottle nosed dolphins.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    The Glengorm Castle Hotel is beautifully located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Glengorm Castle Hotel is beautifully located. The views are stunning! The staff so friendly! We loved every second and enjoyed the peace and quiet! We will come back and stay longer next time!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Our favorite place ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing stay in the Tower apartment. Our family of 4 - 2 parents and 2 adult children had wonderful time. The weather was perfect. The apartment was spacious and only one floor up the main staircase. I was worried about lots of stairs after reading other reviews. The entry level to the apartment has a master bedroom with a king bed and in one of the alcoves is the stacked washer and dryer. Another bedroom with a queen bed and also a large bathroom ( with an amazing view out to the ocean) that has a tub, 2 sinks and huge walk in shower , And a separate other small room that has a toilet and small sink make up the entrance floor. Then up a open curved staircase on the second floor is a small sitting room, a larger living room with sofas and a TV. And a separate kitchen room. Annoyingly these rooms all had heavy doors that needed to be propped open to get some cool air moving. Also on this floor is the entrance door to the narrow spiral stairs that take you up to the private roof top balcony with 360 views of the estate. Magnificent at sunset. Downstairs on the main floor of the castle are the common rooms- the dining room for breakfast, a living room , a library with a fine selection of whisky for tasting as you please, and a large game room with a pool table. Outside is expansive land that overlooks an amazing view of the ocean and outlying islands. Miles of hiking , Standing stones, sheep and Hairy Coos await discovery. This is truly a magical place. Not only did we have amazingly perfect weather but much of the single track road from Tobermory to the castle had just been resurfaced making for a much easier drive than predicted. If you stay in the Apartment you can fix your own breakfast from groceries purchased in town at the Coop or choose to eat in the dining room for an additional fee.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    An excellent and memorable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The opportunity to stay in a castle is very, very special. The location and views were spectacular. The staff was accommodating. I had the best omelet of my life. Having a dram of my choice at no additional charge made me feel like the duke of the manor. Great sunsets. Plumbing (slow shower drain) and upholstery needs recushioned. Too many tacky artwork and nicky nacks. These no doubt from a castle that was a home, and not one that has been renovated to look like a castle. Excellent experience and would enjoy coming again. OH - I nearly forgot the wonderful early morning hike we took with Kerry. She was delightful and knowlegeablel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Not so much a stay as a complete experience. We loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Whisky tasting as part of hospitality Sunset Grounds and walks Remembered bedding requirements and the fact that guest was coeliac. Even bought special bread and cereal Pure comfort

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    The general atmosphere, with a strong vision in extreme good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    From now on, I will make a point of, irrespectively of how good the place might be otherwise, not give a good review to stays in locations where, due to geography and time of the year, the sun rises at very early hours and the provided blinding of windows is ineffective. Proprietors/managers must understand that their primary business is to provide rest and, for humans to sleep, they need 1) Silence 2) Controlled temperature environment and 3) Absence of natural light in the provided accommodation. Failing to meet any of these 3 criteria is not providing the service they’ve been paid for and, as such, may even give cause, under EC consumer regulations, to a request for full reimbursements. It is simply not acceptable to be waked by sun light at 04:00 AM due to improper windows blinding (although, in this particular case, the room faced west, which helped a bit).

    The general atmosphere, with a strong vision in extreme good taste for the decoration. The view. The most friendly staff. The breakfast. The complimentary vast selection of whiskeys upon arrival.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    I can't speak highly enough of Glengorm Castle. It's a must!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. I can't fault it.

    Everything about it was beautiful. The position is stunning, the accommodation top class, the breakfast was excellent and the staff incredibly friendly. The whole experience was truly magnificent. Amazing value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    LOVED everything about Glengorm Castle, a magical place to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    LOVED everything about Glengorm Castle, a magical place to stay. Breakfast was exceptionally good. Lunch at Glengorm Castle Cafe was also very tasty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.7
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No flexibility in check out timings. Staff abruptly asked to vacate - though we mentioned that we will leave 1 hr late.

    Location was good. Good veiws though from the bath room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Glengorm Castle is an amazing place : beautiful and quiet,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glengorm Castle is an amazing place : beautiful and quiet, and the view from the rooms are just oustanding. We had a lovely and very confortable room and the breakfast was delicious. The hosts are great too, and make you feel like at home. A lot of thoughful attentions are awaiting you in your rooms or in the common places. We only wished we could have stayed longer there ! Thanks a lot for this great experience !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Location, warm welcome, breakfast, the bedroom, the whole...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all - for us it was the perfect location for a wonderful visit to Mull

    Location, warm welcome, breakfast, the bedroom, the whole atmosphere was so memorable - one of the best experiences ever!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful area and breakfast was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t get light on the bathroom so use light that was on mirror.

    Felt like we were at our own place, food was cooked just for us. Full breakfast with a big selection of jams.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    A Haven of Peace
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, I loved everything.

    I loved everything about this place ! Missing it a lot ! It takes a bit to get there: car + ferry but it is worth every mile !! Time stands still and after 2 days there I felt like I took 10 days off ! Walk around, it is beautiful, we can see seals, highland cows, and standing stones. You can also enjoy resting in the beautiful library with a glass of whisky ! The heat works very well !!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Amazing castle with great atmosphere and fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing castle for a night on Mull. Amazing location and fantastic atmosphere, with several nice living rooms and plenty to see. One of our favourite places in Scotland.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Quintessential Scottish get-away destination, sumptuous castle surrounded by epic scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to drive out for dinner, and heading in any direction from the hotel this is quite timely consideration as it is quite remote. The road conditions leading to the property are very bad.

    The grounds are amazing, with standing stones and stunning views out across the sea. Breakfast was really delicious. Complimentary whisky in the lounge was a nice touch!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    The castle is in one of those locations that is unbeatable.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice if you could offer an evening meal menu.

    The castle is in one of those locations that is unbeatable. The day we arrived the sun was shining and the sea was like a mill pond. We walked our dog and sat out outside and watched the sun set. The rooms are really lovely. The bed was simply epic room enough for two adults and a naughty hound. They castle welcomes dogs and made us feel really welcome with our hound. The breakfast menu is extensive but I fell in love with the smoked trout and scrambled eggs but my husband had the smoked haddock and patched egg and this was exceptional. A really special place!!!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    We loved the view, the tranquility, the friendliness of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the view, the tranquility, the friendliness of the team, the information they gave about the local area and the lift into Tobermoray. An overall exceptional stay. We would certainly recommend it to our friends and family

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Relaxing getaway to the most fantastic destination.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was perfect for us.

    The Castle itself is incredible. The grounds and surrounding areas are equally amazing. The breakfast each morning was delicious and enjoying a whisky each evening in the library was a lovely way to end the day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic location and beautiful, well maintained castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no option to eat dinner at Glengorm. Not really a negative point, but something you should know. We tried two restaurants in Tobermory, one of which was great, the other one not so much. Twice we brought dinner home, which we then ate in front of the fire.

    Fantastic location and beautiful, well maintained castle. We booked the ardmore room, which has a spectacular view towards the sea. The photos don't really do it justice. The bed is very comfortable and the victorian bathroom (which has the same seaside view as the bedroom) is beautiful. Brass was used everywhere and there is a nice bathtub with shower. Audrey was amazing, as was the breakfast :). Also for whiskey lovers, there is a great selection to try, which I enjoyed. In my opinion, book at least three nights at the place!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Absolutely perfect in every way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such an incredible place in every way! The setting is breathtaking, the whisky library an absolute treat, and the room was just so lovely. Breakfast was amazing too - best kippers I've ever had!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    It was simple decadence, brimming with respect, trust, extreme comfort and informality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It really is very hard to think of anything that didn’t work or could have been done differently.

    Croissant could have been a bit warmer, but on reflection i think it is better to eat the food that the local people know and cook well. Who wants croissant in the western isles of Scotland anyway!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Glengorm's an extraordinary place to stay and highly recommendable! The room, the breakfast, the whisky library, the view... everything was just great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Glengorm Castle is wonderful, highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit of a trek getting to Glengorm, but it is more than worth it! Glengorm has amazing views, wonderful staff, delicious breakfasts, comfortable beds... I cannot provide enough praise about our stay here! The town of Tobermory was warm and welcoming, I will definitely be back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    We rented the Maisonette and it was so nice to have a self...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We rented the Maisonette and it was so nice to have a self catering home for the evening. Had a washer and dryer too! Castle grounds were beautiful!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    Don't hesitate, visit this amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing to dislike about this lovely hotel

    What is there not to like about this amazing hotel? Historic, big open wood fires, views and walls over the heathland to the sea. Free whiskey bar... staff really friendly, like a home away from home.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    An enchanting stay in a graceful castle, befitting the wild majesty of its surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it was perfect.

    This is one of the best places we've stayed in for our holidays, in a very long time. It was perfect on every count. The friendly staff were there to give advice and information about the island and yet, we were left to enjoy the grace and beauty of the castle as we wished.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: