Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Glenisle Hotel 3 stars

Shore Road, Lamlash, KA27 8LY, United Kingdom

#4 of 9 hotels in Lamlash

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 307 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2018

    10
    such a relaxing short break in a stunning location within a beautiful traditional hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    older traditional building with a lovely welcoming ambience perfect to relax in set in a stunning location. the owners and staff went out of their way to ensure every guest was catered for and we enjoyed delicious meals planning a return short break

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2018

    8.3
    Excellent, cosy and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small.

    Excellent friendly staff. Very knowledgable about walks in area. Went out of their way to provide us with maps and books with information . Lovely log fires in bar area and lounge very cosy atmosphere in the evening lit with candles.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2018

    10
    The hotel is cosy and welcoming, with fabulous views.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is cosy and welcoming, with fabulous views. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent, which we’d had dinner in the restaurant, will do next time.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2018

    7.0
    Location was very central and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on the small side. Kippers took a while to appear from the kitchen.

    Location was very central and convenient. Bed comfortable. Staff very friendly, and helpful. Good selection of local dishes and interesting vegetarian meals.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2018

    9.6
    It is simply the most lovely hotel that we have ever stayed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We would prefer the option of either Bed and Breakfast or Bed and Evening Meal; it is too much to eat an evening meal and then a large breakfast a few hours later. A discount for staying three or more nights would be hugely appreciated and would definitely persuade us to return.

    It is simply the most lovely hotel that we have ever stayed in; location, staff, breakfast , decor and furniture all perfect.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2018

    10
    Lovely atmosphere, very cosy with fires in lounges, games n...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely atmosphere, very cosy with fires in lounges, games n books, good food and professional and friendly staff, relaxing. Right on the shore with beautiful views.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2018

    10
    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was so cosy and just what I needed after being out in the cold all day! I hope to stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2018

    6.3
    Location good, hotel comfortable but staff offhand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff could have been more interactive - could have engaged me in conversation at some point during my three night stay. Other than first evening I was never asked if I wanted to dine in the restaurant or indeed how my day had gone. Never addressed by name.

    Location was excellent and convenient as a starting point for touring.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful Lamlash
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small. The view out of window was over rubbish bins. For the price we paid it felt expensive/not good value for money. The photos of the hotel on line were misleading.

    The hotel was welcoming, clean, well decorated and offered good facilities to guests. The bed was very comfy and the room had everything needed and was quiet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.6
    A lovely, homely hotel with superb service and great sea views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A couple more vegetarian/vegan options on the dinner menu please.

    The staff were super lovely and helpful. They went out of their way to cater for my vegan dinner and breakfast. The vegan risotto was delicious as was the breakfast. The hotel is in a great location by the beach and within walking access to the pier from which the ferries cross over to the Holy Isle where I was headed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.6
    Despite the atrocious weather the Glenisle offered us a warm, safe and comfortable haven. Lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything!

    Helpful, cheerful attentive staff who went the extra mile for your welfare and comfort. The real fires and delicious food. The comfortable beds and thin duvets, views and quiet. A wonderful treat. Thank you.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    8.3
    Yes, it did the trick
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No early breakfast for those who were forced to travel early. The almost resentment when we arrived very late owing to ferry cancellations. I should think Arran personnel would be more aware of Caledonia MacBride”s service or perhaps that is non-service!

    Rebecca....she was Luvely and such a happy soul. Wear your KICKERS with pride girl!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel, great food, service not quite there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glenisle Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service was very strange, it seemed as though the staff were distracted. At breakfast it seemed hard to get anyone's attention and the service just seemed haphazard. It wasn't that the staff were rude or unhelpful, they just seemed to be "elsewhere" and guests were interrupting what they really wanted to be doing.

    The room was lovely with a fantastic view and the worlds most powerful shower ! We dined in the restaurant one evening and had a lovely meal, one of the nicest we have had. Overall the hotel was very clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Friendly and welcoming hotel, with a cosy atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of anything! Really enjoyed our stay.

    This hotel is small and quiet. The rooms are tastefully decorated, bathroom is spacious. Bed is comfy and room is beautifully clean. The dinner was delicious, with a good selection. There were a couple of guest lounges available to use. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    The atmosphere and lighting throughout hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi is dire at the top of hotel. Only 1 cobweb above bed. Apart from that nothing else

    The atmosphere and lighting throughout hotel. It was very homely and lovely decor. Staff were always to hand.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park is small but there is free parking on the street. Slightly disappointed by beers on draught at the bar with only one of Arran’s excellent local beers on tap which they were having problems with when we stayed but they do have them in bottles.

    Excellent location in Lamlash with great food and friendly staff. Room wasn’t huge but was clean and well equipped. Bed was large and comfortable and bathroom was very good with bath and powerful shower. Evening meals aren’t cheap but the food is excellent so worth it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Visiting elderly relatives, would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park was busy, if I was to stay longer I could have parked outside in the street.

    Clean room looked like it had recently been decorated, comfortable and quiet. Full Scottish breakfast with haggis, black pudding et all was excellent. The veggie version with their own chef made veggie sausages was even better. Fruit and home made yoghurt too. Full marks for breakfast. Good selection of whisky in the bar with specials was a nice touch.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    We had a most enjoyable weekend at the Glenisle Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed at the Glenisle for 2 nights and since we arrived on the Friday to leaving on Sunday there wasn't anything about it we didn't like. The staff were great - very helpful, nothing was a bother for them - very comfotable lounge where we could sit in the evening with a glass of wine or the games room to play one of the many games they have on offer - or to simply sit and read a book.

    The room was excellent - simply fantastic - had everything you would ever need - the ensuite facilities are the BEST - the beds were comfort it's self!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    A lovely cosy wee hotel with friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cosy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was a little bit flaky (it dropped the connection frequently), but that's a really minor thing.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were cute and cosy (we were in single rooms) and nicely furnished. The guest lounge was nicely decorated with a good selection of books.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    A little oasis in a lovely Island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location in small village opposite a shingle beach. Easy to travel to all parts of the island. Excellent Scallops and Langoustine on the menu. Very attentive staff .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.7
    Love Arran!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I now know what a cosy room is! 3rd floor attic. If you are 6ft tall you will not be able to stand straight on one side of the room. The bed was small so not much sleep. Breakfast was stressful. Help yourself to juice, fruit, cerial. Quite normal, 1 toaster with 4 slots for whole restaurant. So cooked breakfast cold when toast ready😩staff doing there best but not a relaxed start to the day.

    Food was good. Staff friendly . Good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    A first class stay in a first class hotel, well worth a visit, a beautiful area too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Absolutely excellent food in the restaurant, best outside a Michelin star I have seen. The room were fantastic and the facilities in them brilliant even got still and sparkling water everyday as well as a huge supply of teas/coffees/hot chocolate and biscuits. The breakfast was particularly nice with a huge selection of fresh fruit/cereals and all you would expect. The evening meal soups were spectacular!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Amazing little hotel and bistro in picturesque seaside village
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful, room was very comfortable and well equipped. Had dinner from the restaurant and it was amazing, so was the complementary breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    5.8
    The location was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a returning customer the food was not up to the standard we had previously experienced in 2016. The staff were not as friendly or helpful as we had experienced in our 2016 visit.

    The location was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Dinner at the restaurant was the highlight of our stay and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner at the restaurant was the highlight of our stay and we were very impressed by the courteous and attentive service we received. The staff were friendly and helpful and very welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    would definitely recommend & stay again, but on a different mattress :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I slept in room 10 under the eves and it was very warm. Also, mattress felt very worn out so unfortunately I didnt sleep much. I mentioned as much upon check out and contacted the hotel afterwards

    this is a wonderful little hotel right on the water, spectacular location and property is restored beautifully & tastefully with comfy rooms and beautiful restaurant. Food in restaurant is good and staff super friendly and very professional

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    Relaxed pleasant stay- great to have an Arran beer outside. Enjoyed it hugely .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slowish service some nights ? Staff shortage in the kitchen. Breakfast fruit lacking- bananas , prunes and raisins wouldn’t break the bank.

    Clean bedroom. Situation. Friendly staff. Great kippers!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Pretty boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The compact rooms are small but well done. Ours faced West which resulted in it becoming overheated and spoiled our sleeping experience.

    Hotel in good location on seafront and well maintained. Food was great and staff very attentive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing small room with smell of fries
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have taken a superior room which is extremely small, so I was surprised by that. Also, rooms on this side of the hotel are next to the kitchen fan so the smell of fries, oil and other stuff enters into rooms through entire day. That was rather disappointing. Also the fan is quite loud. I had a feeling this hotel is more dedicated to the restaurant they all work in rather than to their guests.

    e location is great, in a very beautiful village and the staff is very kind. There are some good meals on the menu for dinner, I would recommend mussels. The wifi is good and the hotel is nice with some interesting spaces for leisure. Also it is clean and nicely maintained.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing break which didn’t last long enough need to go back very soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal needed more choices

    Location stunning, views stunning, quiet village but plenty to do. Bed amazingly comfortable, lots of little extras in room, speciality teas and coffee Breakfast was all fresh produce and tasted amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    A fantastic and restful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very helpful and pleasant staff. Food was excellent and beautifully presented. Room was a delight to walk into, modern decor which was presented in a tasteful way! Would recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    A bit pricey, but excellent comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right on main road with front room, and with it warm and window open, traffic was noisy

    Excellent food, service, location. Views to holy isle. Cleanliness Room was excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    The view from room 1 is beautiful .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu for dinner was quite restricted.

    The view from room 1 is beautiful . The hotel is very stylish but not luxurious, the ambience is great. Breakfast was fabulous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.8
    Hotel was nice but there were small points that could have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was nice but there were small points that could have been better. E.g. drawer handle missing, a little flaking paint in bathroom, slight mould on tiles, but the overall room was really clean and smart so if these odd things had been fixed it would have made it an excellent hotel. It was still a decent hotel although a little over priced

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, great location, delicious food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room (5) "with a view" overlooked adjoining cottages not Lamlash Bay as might have been expected. Quite small though nicely furnished. Bulbs needed in overhead light fitting and shaving mirror, leak at base of wc pedestal, shower head no longer adjustable and sprayed in all directions.

    Beds were very comfortable. Breakfast, cooked to order. Great location. Pleasant staff. Nice hotel but would be great if minor issues were resolved.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay - certainly worth a visit to Arran.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed two nights but I’m sure this would be a lovely place to spend a week. Handy to all the sites offered on the beautiful Isle of Arran.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above.

    Great location. Food very tasty (albeit two tiny lamb chops somewhat miserly and it was expensive) but service in restaurant very amateur. Courses all hurried and very average Scottish Fayre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As a health-oriented vegetarian, it would be great to see more cheese-free protein options at the dinner, such as with beans, lentils, split peas or nuts.

    The most relaxing short break I have had in a while. Room was exceptionally comfortable and clean, and the staff were absolutely lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Helpful friendly staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful friendly staff; quiet location with an optional outside eating area overlooking the sea; comfortable clean bed and room; island bus stops very nearby; supermarket easy walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Another excellent visit at The Glenisle Hotel! Made to feel so welcome, food and staff are fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a small leak from the base of the toilet bowl and the shower curtain was a bit smelly. I reported both on our departure and feel confident these issues will now have been resolved.

    The staff were all so welcoming and friendly. The food was so good that for the three nights we stayed there we didn't eat anywhere else! The bedroom was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    The ambiance, decor & cleanliny of the hotel combined to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall experience was marred by the evening meal. The menu was unexpectedly unbalanced which was limiting and proved to be seriously overpriced when it was served. Quality was acceptable but small portions and £4.95 for ‘Mediterranean Vegetable’ soup which could be drunk though a straw was not good value.

    The ambiance, decor & cleanliny of the hotel combined to make it a great place to stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Arran. Will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst waiting staff at dinner were really friendly and helpful, they could be a little more precise! Early in the season I guess.

    This is an exceptional little hotel. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Dinner and especially breakfast were excellent. I even bought some art off the wall. Outstanding value for money on the sea shore!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    leaving

    Great breakfast, lovely seafront location. Very close to excellent local pub with great bar and live music. Their own food was excellent and well priced. Fab lady owner

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    A really positive experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good rapport with children. very good food both in the evening & at breakfast. Situation on the shore was very handy. They had put in an extra bed for children.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Hotel sympathetically restored. Cosy room small but clean and tastefully decorated and furnished. Staff friendly and helpful. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Stylish small hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Room clean and comfortable with great views and lots of extras provided to make you feel at home. Plenty choice of freshly cooked food for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel, superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked superior room, allocated ordinary, changed after complaint to the management.

    Stayed in the best room in the hotel with superb views over to the Holy Isle.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    It was excellent and I shall return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old world comfort without being dated. Great staff, warm, friendly atmosphere, breakfast was excellent and all requests were accommodated. Very handy for public transport too. I shall recommend it to anyone visiting Arran.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    Having stayed there previously we knew what to expect & were not disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lounge furniture was a bit tired but I'm sure that will be taken care of in due course as the new owners settle in. Bedroom floor was fairly squeaky - not good in the middle of the night!

    Bed was a bit on the soft side. I prefer a firmer mattress. Enjoyed the catering but perhaps some dishes were a bit pricey.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    All in all an excellent break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to change room on 2nd day as shower door broke,staff went out of way to rectify though. Still a nuisance

    The whole atmosphere comfort and excellent food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Good stay and great scrambled eggs .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    I liked the breakfast choice as I'm vegetarian. The food was hot.(I've stayed in alot of places the cooked breakfast is very seldom hot). The staff were friendly and helpful. There was a separate lounge for guests which was cosy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did have a superior room and it was lovely,however, what we paid was perhaps a little steep. Being honest, it probably wouldn't stop me staying here again or recommending the hotel to others.

    The staff are friendly & attentive but not intrusive. Our room looked right over the Holy Isle and breakfast is terrific. Little touches like the binoculars to use during out stay show the effort the hotel are making.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay. Would love to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was somewhat cramped (sloping ceiling). Poor selection of standard beer/lager. Bottled drinks were not cold enough.

    Food was great. Service was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Heaven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glenisle Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Location, room, facilities, food, staff, ambience all fantastic! Really hard to imagine a more lovely place to unwind. Book the suite - you won’t regret it!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    Great short stay, fab food , lovely staff and comfortable accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small and we would have liked a sea view

    The staff were welcoming and helpful The breakfast and dinner were great The atmosphere was excellent The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    Very good hotel in an excellent location with great sea views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire was only lit on one night which was a shame when it was cold and sometimes wet outdoors. Made it less cosy and we found ourselves drawn more to the hotel down the road where the fire was lit each night and felt much more cosy

    Great views from bedroom and restaurant . Bed very comfy and very good room size. Food was was very good and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.1
    I enjoyed my overnight stay and would return.
    • Couple
    • Cosy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet rim under the seat was not clean.

    Crossoints were extra flakey, the bed was comfy, the staff were friendly and polite, I did not have dinner in the resturant or sample the bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.3
    Overall we were pleased with our stay, but it should've been perhaps a little cheaper.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would've been nice if there was more life happening there in the restaurant with some live Scottish music so we wouldn't need to go to Brodick for the evening. While the location out our window was the beautiful bay and The Holy Isle, we didn't realize from your photos online that you were right by the main road through town. The pictures online gave more the impression that you were a bit more secluded. So that felt a little deceptive. And the parking situation was honestly pretty bad. We were welcomed by such a narrow entryway into the parking. It was very difficult to get a space where our small car could fit, and then there was the very huge, ugly dumpster overflowing with trash. These outside first impressions were disappointing. But everything inside the hotel redeemed the unfavorable outside realities.

    The bed felt very luxurious and was nicely presented with many pillows. The room was extra nice with special touches and the atmosphere of the restaurant and lounging areas felt very upper class.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Absolutely fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    Absolutely everything, staff were exceptionally friendly and went out of their way to help, food was delicious, especially breakfast and room was beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Great location...great food....great interior....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing....

    The breakfast was the best I've ever had... (and I've had a few) all fresh local produce. Who knew I was a big fan of haggis....a great place to stay great views....even the sun shone for us.....10 out of 10.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.6
    Cosy, comforting and very relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very cosy, the room exceptionally clean and the food was so delicious (recommend the restaurant for dinner). Staff were excellent and very friendly. Honestly wouldn't have changed a thing! Only wish I could have stayed another night :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and the room were very friendly and cosy on a cold winter night. Everything you might need was there, including dressing gowns. Food was very good too. Shame I couldn't stay longer.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Incredibly accommodating, lovely atmosphere, extremely relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The atmosphere was incredible - the hotel was furnished beautifully- really lovely feel to the place. All the staff were extremely friendly - nothing was too much trouble. The bed was ridiculously comfy, rooms were clean, temperature perfect. Cosy bar and snug - beautiful sea views from the conservatory. Location perfect for visiting the island and for relaxation. This was the best hotel I have stayed at for comfort & welcome - I just wish I could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    4.2
    Not good value for money, rooms too small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very small - not good value for money. When opening bathroom door the door hit the chair in the bedroom, room was also very warm. Had to sleep with the bathroom door open as it wouldn't close properly. We stayed 2 nights and at breakfast there was never any orange juice left. Had dinner one evening, the lights were so bright in the restaurant it felt like sitting in a canteen - no atmosphere.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Stunning location with great food and hospitality - wouldn't go anywhere else on Arran again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Stunning location, beautiful view from our room, excellent food, fine selection of Arran whisky and ale, hospitable hosts and excellent and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.8
    A sound, friendly and comfortable inn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More diverse vegetarian food options at the restaurant would be very welcome!

    Excellent staff who were professional, friendly and prepared to help with the little things like changing the pillows to suit our preferences. Good breakfast - able to tailor to suit dietary preferences. Cheerful breakfast staff who gave us a lovely start to the morning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    A most enjoyable break on Arran
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was that the room was quite small with only one comfortable chair and the bed was not very comfortable - very soft and lumpy!

    The location is excellent with exceptional views from most rooms/areas of the hotel. The food, both at breakfast and dinner was also very good in terms of quality and choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.9
    Good location with lovely views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My travelling partner is Vegan and despite this being forwarded to the hotel prior to our arrival the vegan choices were uninspiring and lacking in real flavour.Good Location with lovely vies

    Location and views were great. Rooms were nice and fresh.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.5
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast presentation poor, four of us and never once did they get the order correct. Even although it was written down.

    Location ideal,outside area good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Too short a stay on beautiful Arran
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a lot, I feel the hotel has got it pretty much right....

    The hotel sits on the waterfront with lovely views, it is a really friendly hotel with pleasant staff and added touches to rooms such as home made shortbread, binoculars for the views, bottles of water, Arran toiletries etc. The chef is to be commended, his excellent food is amazing, hence the dining room is full and you need to book, even if you are a resident, although they will find you a table if resident. Scallops to die for....beautiful fresh fish.... breakfasts cooked to order, everything was really enjoyable. There is a lovely beer garden to enjoy your pre dinner drinks and peruse the menu. The hotel is a credit to the people who run it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    Nice place shame about some of the staff's attitude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cosy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had lunch twice and both times it was delivered incomplete, the waitress when delivering the cheese on Sunday was surly and not at all apologetic. due to early start of triathlon I asked to have a continental breakfast in my room, which I had to collect myself the previous evening.

    Staff were mostly friendly and helpful, even allowing me to have a wash down in the disabled loo after I completed the Arranman Middle distance triathlon. The single room was well appointed, although the shower was small.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    A quick trip to Arran Island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm greetings on arrival from the staff .the room was excellent . Very clean and well presented. After a stroll to the beach it was easy to slip into the beer garden for a drink before having a yummy first class meal in the hotel .All staff very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Quality small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Glenisle Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Quality hotel well run and managed. Bedrooms were spotless, good welcome at reception all staff cheery and friendly. Quality of the food at evening dinner was excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    The perfect escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Albeit food and presentation were always excellent, sometimes what arrived at the table was not exactly as ordered. While it's always nice to have an element of surprise this can be a bit tricky for those with dietary constraints. That said, when brought to their attention waiting staff were quick to sort things out.

    Friendly relaxed boutique hotel with tasteful decor, memorable restaurant, the most comfy beds ever. Deservedly popular with all age groups this is such a lovely place to come and unwind. Excellent cuisine and wines and light comfortable public areas complement well appointed bedrooms. Lots of thoughtful little touches make this place very special.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.9
    Staff were Helpful & Friendly, Our room was clean, light...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking Limited space at rear of Hotel, option was to park on the main road, which I was not keen on. Room Facilities were somewhat lacking, - Television too small of a screen, volume limited, could not hear the television if the kettle was being used,- very noisy & basic.

    Staff were Helpful & Friendly, Our room was clean, light & airy with excellent views over Lamlash Bay.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: