Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Glenorleigh 4 stars

26, Cleveland Road,, Torquay, TQ2 5BE, United Kingdom

#41 of 119 B&Bs and Inns in Torquay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 269 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Kelly the owner was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    Kelly the owner was very friendly. the breakfast was brilliant and nothing was too much trouble. the hotel was not far from where we wanted to visit. The bedroom was decorated very tastefully and was very clean. We were greeted with a hot drink of our choice which we had outside overlooking the swimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable, great value for money. I will come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The service and the facilities. The location was very accessible to other areas. The owner was very warm, variety of fresh fruits and a lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Amazing, Kelly makes you feel so welcome and nothing is too much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner, Kelly and her staff were amazing, service was excellent and breakfast so fresh and hot, Kelly's fruit salad is a show stopper, out door pool clean and well maintained, bed very comfy, will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel for holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I

    The hotel was so much more than I was hoping for. Worth every penny. Very nice hostess and excellent food. Very clean and beautiful place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Absolutely perfect 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kelly was warm friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was perfect. Room was amazing and the pool bar and outside area were an added bonus we will definitely be back for a longer visit and will be bringing friends next time 😊

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    The property was clean and rooms that have been done well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was clean and rooms that have been done well thought out. Kelly has a clear plan and it will be superb when finish. Kelly made us feel more than welcome and we will definitely be going back again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.3
    Satisfactory
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a peculiar smell in the entrance and corridors (eggy smell) it was a sweat box , yes, it’s summer and a hot period of weather but the Lincoln or lindermann room is an absolute sweat box as it is so tiny , the floor is really crooked as well sloping towards the window and the fact that all the floor boards creaked in the room made me feel worried that I was disturbing the patron below. I would have been very upset to have paid full price for that room.

    It had a last minute room at half the price of the usual cost of a booking there. The tea facility was of a good standard.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    A fantastic gem in the heart of the English riviera
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A fantastic place to stay, decorated immaculately with good interior design. Kelly the owner went out of her way to make us feel welcome, breakfast was the best I have ever had and we have already booked our next stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    The Glenorleigh is being completely upgraded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Glenorleigh is being completely upgraded. The room I had was still a bit of an 80's throwback, but clean and comfy.The lounge,pool and most of the bedrooms have already been completed and are fab.This place was a real find.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing and very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything. The breakfast was lovely. The owner couldn’t do enough for you. Very friendly. You arrival as guests and leave as a friend. I’d recommend this b&b to everyone. Thanks Kelly for a lovely break x

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing negative to report.

    A nice surprise to see quality tea/coffee and bathroom products in bedroom, often associated with 4-star hotels. Excellent freshly cooked English breakfast cooked to order. Highly recommended for a property of this level.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely guest house, very friendly, great value!
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could have been more powerful but worked ok!

    Clean, comfortable, friendly.. the single room was tiny but had everything you need for a comfortable night, would definitely stay there again and remember to take swimwear to make use of the pool!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful experience. I felt so welcome all time we been staying. Family friendly and so helpful with everything. Tasty breakfast in the morning served by smiling staff. Superb👍👍 Swimming 🏊 pool made all experience off staying just perfect 100% we will be back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    An extremely comfortable and enjoyable stay with excellent value for money..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was warmly welcomed by Kelly, the owner, My room was spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was quite excellent, and the staff friendly and attentive. I thought it was excellent value for money and was only sorry that I could not stay longer. I hope very much to return!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Theres nothing that i didnt like about the property, this was a perfect example about some people who care for there hotel and care for the people who are staying there. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

    We stayed in the master suite right behind reception and it was amazing 4 poster bed, view of the heated pool outside, it was lovely, we went for a dip in the pool at half 9 and we were allowed by the owner kelly who happened to be such a lovely lady, we went for drink at the bar which were very affordable and 100% will be visiting there again, i never normally leave reviews for hotels but i just had to with this one because it just blew me away! 10/10 easily!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful place to get away from it all, totally relaxing place to spend your holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just perfect.

    Perfect location, excellent breakfast,very clean ,hotel, amazing pool,very friendly staff, nothing to much trouble ,will be booking again soon with family .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant weather, accommodation and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I have mobility problems a little more room in the bathroom would have been easier for me.

    Staff so friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble for the proprietor. The breakfast was marvellous, and a wide choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    The staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool stood out for us when we booked. Very disappointing that it was dirty, full of leaves and bugs and the pump was broken so freezing cold.

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Gorgeous family room, really beyond my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous family room, really beyond my expectations. Kelly was so lovely too, throughout the booking process and our stay. Very friendly and welcoming. We will definitely be staying at Glenorleigh next time we are in the area!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.3
    A very pleasant stay in a convenient and very quiet location; useful buses nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The ensuite toilet and wash-room were a little too cramped, for me anyway; I couldn't get really hot water from the rather feeble shower (but didn't ask if I was operating it right!)

    Excellent breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff. Nice bedroom, warm but well-ventilated with pleasant view, enough storage-space, two bedside cabinets. I was unfortunately ill for one day and they were happy for me to stay in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    6.3
    Lovely breakfast and everything needed in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking layout and staff availability.

    Lovely breakfast and everything needed in the room. No one at the property on arrival so had to wait 30 mins to get in our room, which is not good after a long journey. Car was blocked in by other cars as parking is awkward.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Brilliant, can't wait until next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing.

    Very welcoming, a real home from home feel. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was lovely, high ceiling with very ornate cornice's. More than ample double bed quite comfy. Massive bay windows with beautiful curtains. Large on-suite room with bath and shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Very comfortable.Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What's not to like, this place is superb

    Very friendly helpful owners made us feel most welcome. Probably the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in. Great bar downstairs with pool table, very tastfullty decorated throughout. We will definitely go back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    A excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower was a little weak

    The staff were great. Really helpful and informative about the local area. They really made us feel welcome and made all the difference

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    This is the perfect place to stay in Torquay. Everything you could want and more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was great.

    The hotel was lovely, easy walk into Torquay, facilities were brilliant, lovely pool. Breakfast was delicious, fresh fruit salad, yogurts,cereal, cooked breakfast. The hotel also has a bar which serves hot and cold drinks, alcohol and sandwiches and they also allow you to bring takeaway foods to eat in the dining room. Fantastic hosts, warm, welcoming and couldnt do enough for us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Went there for business and felt like a holiday
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing specific that they could change, I just have a preference for harder beds :-)

    Owners were fantastic and friendly, breakfast had many options and was perfect everyday. Far enough from town to not be too noisy and near enough to get out. Although busy, it was actually fairly quiet in the rooms as the exceptional lounge was at the basement level overlooking the swimming pool. Additionally they were very happy to order a takeaway and bring us plates and cutlery for it - appreciated that.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    More than a B&B absolutely perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The warm welcome from Kelly and John. The rooms were very comfortable and the property was bright clean and warm. I would recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Torquay. Esp families.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Friendly, welcoming, clean, wonderfully comfy beds, altogether fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can honestly say that there is absolutely nothing that could have improved our stay.

    Everything was made perfect by the wonderful hosts John and Kelly. They went out of their way to make sure that our stay was the best it could be. As my 11yr old daughter said, "Kelly even makes a simple jam sandwich look amazing!" I stayed with my two children and we spent the evenings at the B & B making use of the swimming pool and the television in the lounge area and were made incredibly welcome and it was just what we wanted for our stay. If you are just looking for a room and breakfast, then the rooms are beautifully clean and breakfast is delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay - very nice little family-led hotel, strongest recommendations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi worked perfectly for Android, had some trouble with iphones

    What a wonderful stay! The kindest hosts, loveley house, beautiful garden, very nice pool! We'd love to come back some day!!! Very good home-cooked English breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    A gem in the crown of Torquay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    John and Kelly were the most fantastic hosts. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. Cheery, polite, fun and professional, I cannot speak highly enough about their persona and business acumen, always wanting to provide the best. Our room was decorated impeccably with some really nice quality touches, even down to the quality morning biscuits and bathroom toiletries provided. Pricing was more than reasonable for the quality of rooms and service levels offered. I would not hesitate to return and would strongly recommend to anyone considering visiting the area. Just great !!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    friendly owners we had a new refurbished room which has been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    there was nothing that we didn't like

    friendly owners we had a new refurbished room which has been done to a high stan dard room a bit on the small side bed very comfy breakfast really good would stay again overall couldn't fault the place would stay again had lovely weather [lucky] so we made use of the outside pool which was really good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    Great value for money but a little out of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was old fashioned and needs a refurb.

    The owner went out of his way to look after us even taking us into Torquay by car and pointing out the better restaurants. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    A really lucky find!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing really

    generosity of the tea tray. Bathroom. Pool in Garden and the surroundings, flowers etc Breakfast with the fruit salad as well as the usual stuff. Friendliness of the owners. location quiet but with in walking distance of the front. I had looked on trip advisor before booking a slightly cheaper place and was really glad I took the advice to pay the extra and go elsewhere. I got really lucky with this place, it was wonderful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Warm welcome and found the proprietors extremely friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm welcome and found the proprietors extremely friendly and accommodating. They could not do enough to make our stay an enjoyable one. The room was a good size as was the bathroom and the bed comfortable. Hotel was within easy reach of the facilities. We would definitely go back again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Will stay again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic welcome, such lovely owners clearly putting a lot of time and effort into renovating the whole hotel. Lovely refreshing pool on a hot summer's day. Great breakfast and comfy spacious family room. Can't fault the place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    Great little guest house in a nice leafy street not far from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great little guest house in a nice leafy street not far from centre. The owners were extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome, rooms were clean and lovely comfortable beds, we all felt very much at home. The renovated areas of the guest house have been tastefully done and the pool area looks wonderful, we will be back and would opt for this guest house instead of staying in a larger hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.6
    Ideal stay for business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is difficult and having found one I decided it was best to walk anywhere.

    This is a good place to stay and I would book again, I did not have breakfast as I have an early start to my day at 6.30

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    *********WONDERFUL STAY*********
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTHING NEGATIVE TO SAY AT ALL.

    WHAT A FABULOUS PLACE TO STAY, KELLY AND JOHN ARE THE MOST WONDERFUL HOSTS I HAVE EVER MET, SO WELCOMING AND FRIENDLY, NOTHING WAS TO MUCH TROUBLE, AND WHAT AN ADDED BONUS JOHN EVEN WENT OUT OF HIS WAY TO FERRY US ABOUT, SO THANK YOU ONCE AGAIN. BREAKFAST SUPERB, CATERED FOR ALL TASTES. GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY. I WOULD NO HESITATE TO RECOMMEND THIS PROPERTY. VERY HARD WORKING COUPLE X

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.9
    Made to feel very welcome, excellent full English breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking limited can be blocked in.

    Made to feel very welcome, excellent full English breakfast and service, comfortable bed and would stay there again.drove me to the theatre in the evening no charge nothing to much trouble

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.5
    Good value, nice staff. hotel probably needs updating but has real character. Good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mirror Light didn't work in en suite. No hair dryer. Would have liked if the sash windows had a secure open setting. Never feel safe with windows open at night unless they are ultra secure. Would be nice if there was a better rate for double rooms for single person for that added comfort if staying for a few days.

    Quiet location. Good breakfast with lovely fresh fruit, yoghurt and juice options as well as a cooked breakfast included in room price. Lovely coffee. Great value for single room. Excellent free tea, herbal tea, coffee and hot chocolate options for rooms. Chocolate on bed a nice touch. Nice additional facilities - rec room downstairs away from rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Excellent experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent owners, really friendly. Enjoyed having chit chats with Kelly and John. They even drove me to my interview and back to the station. Have made new friends, I believe. Thank you very much guys for your kind attention.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    The place to be at
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to say goodbye.

    What did we not like? This place is amazing, they couldn't do enough for us, my partner cried on leaving as we got on so well, made my little girls birthday special, breakfast was divine, best sausages ever made!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    Panic over a 'gem' of a place has been found at your convenience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to write something in a box intended for negative comments when I have nothing negative to report.

    As a customer/consumer the wonderful difference experienced when served by a couple who genuinely care as opposed to just try and do(their best). And, without question, the best cooked English breakfast I have ever had (and I've had a few).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    A comfortable hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Friendly owners, made us feel very welcome in their hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. We were upgraded to a newly refurbished room which had been done tastefully & was very comfortable. Delicious breakfast, cooked to order.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    A warm wlecome and a lovely couple. What a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kelly and John were fabulous hosts; so friendly and made us feel very welcome. The food was lovely and the bed was comfortable... not a bad word to say! We will definitely be going back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Fantastic and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful owners who made up for a very long journey due to motorway closure with very warm welcome and complementary drink. Really nice atmosphere sitting with a drink in garden

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.6
    a home from home.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Arrived after a journy from hell, half hour later after being sat down with a cup of tea by the landlady I felt human again. And that sort of service continued so that it felt like home away from home.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    8.3
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could have been more powerful.

    Excellent location..many sights within walking distance. Lovely family run business... John was great with our little one. The breakfast was fab as was the deco downstairs.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    Warm welcome amazing stay at the Glenorleigh Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Really friendly welcome,new owners that are breathing new life into this hotel,fantastic transformation started in the downstairs bar and breakfast room,(I've stayed in hotel before),can't wait to to see it next year,best breakfast I've had in a B&B can't recommend it enough!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.2
    A place with plans for future including family friendliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we were in was not yet renovated and the logistics were just a little difficult. Bedside table only on one side of bed, though dressing table just about reachable from bed on other side. Nearest reading light was on dressing table. I know there are plans to modify this room shortly, it should then be an excellent place to stay. Everything was clean and tidy but it just couldn't be organised to make quick access to everything possible;

    Really had a feeling that the host wanted to make his guests stay as comfortable as possible. The owners took this place over about a year ago and are busy transforming it into a more modern and they say 'family friendly' place. They really do their best to make you feel at home. The swimming pool is lovely, just that despite my plans by this stage of our holiday and on an overnighter only I didn't have time to try it. Excellent access to seafront, and town on foot from hotel, but away from the noisier seafront areas. We wish you every success in your plans for future developments and very much enjoyed our one night stay. Good recommendation of restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    7.5
    It's all good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bathroom in the room we stayed in was very small but we managed okay.

    It's all good. Friendly and very accommodating hosts. Good size room with a nice comfy bed and excellent choice for breakfast. I would highly recommend Glenorleigh.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    Best hotel in torbay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little dated but the owners will be refurbishing all the rooms the downstairs is fantastic so for next season it will be ace!

    The whole set up could not be nicer I shall be returning there food was great

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    Torquay stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners are very pleasant and run a lovely clean hotel. Great location with a nice size swimming pool. My room was small but comfortable and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.8
    Satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from next room, seemed like the walls were a bit thin and their t.v. Was too loud, or the couple were deaf and had no consideration for anyone else, plus our room was lit up all night from the corridor light so it was hard to sleep at first.

    Location of the property, the friendly hosts!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.3
    A good little hotel and going to get better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking is tight and limited. Parts of the hotel are looking a bit tired. The owners know this and are renovating and the room we stayed in is on the to do list, so it would be unfair to make further comment. Booking.com showed the rate we paid as including breakfast, which it didn't. That said breakfast was very good and not at all expensive.

    The owners are very friendly and the downstairs has been renovated nicely. The owners haven't owned the hotel for that long and are aiming to renovate the hotel bit by bit, so when they've finished it should be great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    A great home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was comfortable but a little small. Main problem was shower head location high up on wall which made it difficult for my wife to use without getting hair soaked

    Hosts were great & facilities excellent.Excellent breakfast.particularly liked ongoing property upgrading which is well underway.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.6
    Excellent, made to feel at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Staff very friendly, owners went out of their way to help. Other Guests encouraged to become friends. Owners local knowledge excellent good advice on where to visit.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    A gem of a stay in Torquay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived in Torquay seveal hours before check in but decided to go to Glenorleigh to see if we could leave our bags there. After being greeted by Kelly we were told our rooms were already ready and we could check in immediately. We were delighted. Kelly then gave us a tour of the accommodation which definitely impressed us; heated swimming pool ( we were told to let them know if we wanted to swim and they'd provide extra towels), very reasonably priced bar and pool table. Later that evening we were heading out to the beachfront for something to eat, John offered to drive us there. It was all these little touches that have made us decide to definitely return next year. In the rooms we each had a chocolate on our pillow and a lovely selection of biscuits, tea, coffee and even hot chocolate...definitely a winner with the kids. The rooms were of a very high standard, clean and very comfortable. Kelly and John are in the process of renovating all the rooms...if what they've done so far is anything to go by then we will have a lovely suprise when we return next year. The breakfast the next morning was outstanding with lots of fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurt and of course a full English. John even dropped us to the station when we were leaving. I cannot recommend a stay in Glenorleigh highly enough.Thanks Kelly and John!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.6
    Cosy and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Building had no lift, it is fine with me as I have small bag,

    John and his wife are wonderful hosts, they made my stay so comfortable and relaxed, Thank you John for picking me up from the coach station when I arrived late.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.2
    Great getaway to clear the mind. Fantastic hosts in Kelly & John
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kelly and John were absolutely fantastic, nothing was to much trouble for them, and being on my own they thoroughly looked after me! The breakfast was fantastic, and the location was nice, as was a little off the front, so it was quite and peaceful, if you wanted to relax. I will definitely be returning. It was also very good value for money!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    A gem of a hotel tucked away in centre of Torquay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kelly & John said they were refurbishing the upstairs rooms early in 2017, and if they do as well as their choice in decor and style as the dining area, bar & lounge,then it will will be superb and to highest standards. Faultless.

    As a solo female I immediately felt welcomed by Kelly & John at Glenorleigh. The hotel was comfortable, my room exceptionally clean. Lovely fresh clean bedding, soft fresh smelling towels & linen. All little extras in room e.g. quality bath products, chocs, teas & coffee etc., and lovely little extra touches to comfort. A good night's sleep, sparkling clean en-suite facilities. I decided to spend evening in the bar and was kept company by Kelly, who offered to make me a last minute late snack. Ample choice of breakfast selections. And a free lift to the train station next morning by John. Excellent value and great hosts. Highly recommend. I will definitely be back.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    An excellent experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't think any improvement is needed.

    Very helpful staff, good clean room and utilities, no noise from other rooms, excellent breakfast. All in all a very pleasant experience and will certainly be back next year. Five stars,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.5
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was uncomfortable and as it was a hot night a sheet would have been useful rather than just the duvet on the bed .

    Friendly, helpful owners and staff Able to get in early on day of arrival Breakfast was hot Lounge for guests

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.6
    Excellent value for money with great facilities & friendly staff/owners!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is a bit of a walk to town..not for me but for my friend who is in her 60's.

    The room was well decorated with comfortable beds. The hotel has heated pool in a lovely garden setting, billiards table, lovely dining room. The owners are lovely people who are chatty and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    Last minute booking,lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints what so ever.

    we booked the day before so were limited what rooms were available,.I.our room was small but very comfortable,bed was lovely.The owners are very friendly and welcoming.Breakfast was very nice and served in a lovely dining room,I would stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    10
    perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have nothing negative to say

    Bed very confortable. Welcoming very friendly. I appreciate the tea offert on terrasse when i arrived. Breakfast was good furnished. I Will come back with friends. Beatrice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.6
    Homey, comfortable, safe B&B in Torquay that serves a delicious breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I could not stay an extra night or use the pool because of the weather

    Wonderful hosts; very accomodating- made you feel that you were home away from home

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    10
    I didn't get the opportunity to sample the breakfasts as...
    • Couple
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't get the opportunity to sample the breakfasts as I was mainly out early but everything you needed was right there without need to go out. The owners were on hand day and night to help with anything you needed and always offered to drop us to places if we wanted to. As well as this the owners were also a wealth of information about cheapest or best food and drinks in the area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    10
    Hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Based on the room rates, location and presentation I cannot find fault with this hotel.

    Very friendly and great value for money. Bar and Pool area excellent. Rooms well equipped and breakfast included. Overall a great place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    9.6
    Great Stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delicious breakfast and comfy beds according to CLCA staffs who was assigned to work in Torquay. John and Kelly, the owner are very helpful and easy to talk to.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    8.3
    Breakfast the best ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom needed to be upgraded but the new owners have this scheduled for the end of the season.

    Owners and staff extremely helpful. In the evening enjoyed sitting on the terrace that overlooked the pool.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    9.6
    Fabulous weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Kelly &john are fantastic people nothing was too much trouble.they have turned it into a lovely place in a such a short time breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    9.6
    Friendly, spacious and excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a little tight but not a great problem

    staff/owner was excellent - all really friendly, nothing was too much bother, rooms were large and spacious - excellent for a family, breakfast was great - all in all excellent stay and would recommend to all

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    10
    A guesthouse with the personal touch like no other...absolutely fabulous for all the family!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    The dedication given to guests at The Glenorleigh is absolutely priceless. We were made to feel comfortable relaxed throughout our stay, John and Kelly work tirelessly to provide the very best service possible. We arrived as guests and left as friends....we will definitely be returning! Wonderful thank you!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    7.1
    Lovely hosts, shame about the room named Dittisham.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very dated although clean enough. Bathroom extremely small. Toilet cistern very noisy. Would have liked to been offered a better room as one became available.

    John and Kelly were excellent hosts. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Glenorleigh traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: