Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Glenridding Hotel 3 stars

Glenridding, Glenridding, CA11 0PB, United Kingdom

#7 of 9 hotels in Glenridding

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 519 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.8
    Lovely location and clear rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast room was a bit disappointing. We were sat in the main larger room that has no character, Plus, if you want my advise, the cupboards in this room that had the step ladders in one, and spare cutlery etc in the other were left open for everyone to see the mess inside, and for the 30 minutes we were in breakfast no staff went in to cupboards. Not a problem to me, and it didn't effect my stay, but for very little extra effort please keep the cupboards closed, it will make it look allot more professional, attention to detail, small touches make a big difference

    Location and staff were great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    6.7
    Bitter start with ignorant or homophobic receptionist, otherwise a pleasant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist at check in was either deaf, ignorant or homophobic. My partner corrected her 3 time when she repeatedly called me his friend.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    3.8
    a depressing experience, much better hotels better value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King / Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    where do I start …. executive extra large bed states room size 183m squared on booking.com. That's massive compared to our Very small room … depressed décor …. seating area described for 2 comprised just one chair …. photos on booking.com totally misdescribing what you actually get. We were showed 2 alternative rooms, not any better then offered a slightly larger room with 2 bunk beds …. a lot of machinery noise and no bath. Breakfast staff totally miserable. Overall would never go again for the cost of £160 … much better places to visit for the price, so sorry I booked this hotel, very dated and depressed hotel. no atmosphere. Spoilt a weekend we were so much looking forward to. Even the wine in hotel bar was from a bottle opened for goodness knows how long. think you should change the 183m squared, totally inaccurate but once they take your money theres not a lot you can do.

    cant think of anything …. breakfast ok but miserable staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.6
    Really good. Would love to visit again and stay longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choice of continental breakfast a bit sparce. I didn't know about the pool so didn't bring my cozzy !!

    Staff very friendly. Room clean beds comfy. Lovely surroundings. Good choice of cooked breakfast. My niece was getting married at the hotel next door and I felt quite smug because our experience was better than my relatives who stayed at the apparently posher hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.2
    Well earned rest in a peaceful part of the lakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view wasnt as panoramic as shown on the web page. Limited view of lake in lake view room, mainly overlooking flat roof. Window sash wouldn't stay open to let fresh air in. Had to use the bin in the room to wedge open. Everything else ok with stay.

    Very welcoming environment. Nice reception. Friendly staff. Food was great. Beckside bar has great food and drinks at reasonable prices. Great place to stay if conquering Helvellyn with only a short walk to the steamer. Nice clean modern room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dinner that required reservations served the same food as the pub downstairs which was not explained to us as we had lunch there and thought we were eating at the hotel's restaurant only to have had the same menu presented to us.

    The breakfast was amazing! Great value for money!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Anniversary weekend
    • Couple
    • Executive King / Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pub area downstairs the food was good (pizza & chicken curry) but busy, noisy at times & chairs not comfortable. Paid extra for a mountain view room which overlooked the car park, disappointing (mountain was in the distance, if you could ignore the car park & the outside drinking/eating area)

    Breakfast was lovely, toast, yogurt, croissant, cereal, variety of cooked & plenty of it (fruit salad bowl a little disappointing-mainly apple/grape) Swimming pool was a good size & bar area near reception pleasant. Pub on lower level ordered fast food very nice. Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Great location, friendly and helpful staff, lovely rooms and great food - affordable excellence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, it was perfect.

    Room was very comfy, staff very friendly and helpful, food was great and the location was amazing, its so good I'm planning on going back for a long weekend in October/November.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    it was nice for just one nights stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom was poor it needed an upgrade .the restaurant was not available until a funeral had finished so we went to another one in pooley bridge.

    the hotel was lovely i was glad to see it up and running again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.0
    Fair to middling stay. Definitely not worth the money. Extremely poor customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to a power cut the hotel could not provide a full breakfast (which I had paid for). Whilst this was not the Hotels fault, the staff did nothing to compensate this and when I spoke to a Manager she was extremely rude and told me it was not her problem. So, I was forced to buy food elsewhere. The room had a number of thick cobwebs which could not have appeared overnight and the windowsill was covered in spider droppings. The windows were extremely dirty, which ruined the mountain views (which are meant to be a selling point).

    The swimming pool and sauna were lovely and we managed to enjoy the use of both on our own. The location is great, especially for access to Ullswater Steamers.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Very comfortable, great friendly service and excellent food. Take time to view photos in the lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable room and friendly staff provided excellent service. Excellent food and a very welcome "drying room" to deal with our clothing at the end of a day's walking on the Coast to Coast. Enjoyed the photos in the lobby of peaks in the Lakes District and the Donald Campbell Library.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.3
    Gorgeous lake view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved the view. Waking up to the gorgeous view of the lake surrounded by mountains was just priceless! Staff was very helpful and although we did not get to use the pool, restaurant and other facilities, we really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Excellent break for the family in a great location for walking and sailing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The vegetarian choices in the bar were poor. The tea pots at breakfast were too small. We got through about 6 each day. Larger pots would reduce the work of the waiters.

    Excellent service from the restaurant staff and great pizzas from the downstairs bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent! Didn’t want to leave
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was a tad pricey, and although breakfast runs till 11, if you arrive after 9:30ish a few of the nice food are gone

    Love how we were right next to a lake with boating hire and we could see the lake and mountains out our room window

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.2
    The only good thing during our residence was the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad experience . A very willing and funny man. For the rest: 1- horrible breakfast, low quality and poor variety 2- very bad room-service: the first day we found only 1 towel for 2 people, so we went to the reception to ask 1 towel more for the next day. The day after we went back in the hotel in the evening and before to have a shower we saw that there were no one shower gel. So, we went to the reception to ask the little bottle of shower gel (that normally every hotel must provide every day during a stay). 3-the first day we come, we ate a sandwich and a few crumbs fell on the carpet... after 3 days, when we left, it was still there!! Sum up for 150£ for night we would have expected so much better quality. Is not recommended

    The only good thing during our residence was the Receptionist.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed the stay and would probably return in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No phone signal Unreliable WIFI No late bar Breakfast OK but Premier Inn is betterEnjoyed

    Comfortable bed and room Plenty of areas to relax in Good outside space well maintained Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    2.5
    My family and I lost the holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King / Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - high prices based on this bad hotel - my family lost relaxation in the area because of this bad hotel - I trusted in booking.com but the hotel not same what mentioned

    - the rate of this hotel in booking .com not match the real - this hotel doesn’t diserve such a prices

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    I like everything in this hotel as the staff members were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no 4G signal and the wifi was relatively poor.

    I like everything in this hotel as the staff members were friendly, the room was well cleaned, the bed was comfortable, the place is amazing (3 m walk to the Ullswater lake).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was beautiful, clean rooms, excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beckside restaurant service was very poor, waited over an hour for our food, staff apart from the manager very rude, however when food did arrive it was very nice

    The hotel was beautiful, clean rooms, excellent food

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    As above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not book into room until 3.00pm, which was very awkward as we were attending a wedding at 2.00pm. so could not book in until the evening. Making it not such a good deal price wise.

    Bed was very comfortable, the rooms was also very quiet. excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    very cozy, nice food lovely staff. I would definately stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Due to the hot weather the room was so hot it was uncomfortable and the fan was so small it didn't help, but one was sourced for us

    Very friendly helpful staff, comfortable spacious room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay in an excellent area - I would recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King / Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The range on offer for breakfast could be slightly improved with a greater emphasis on the fresh fruit salad. A small fridge in each room would be useful, particularly in hot weather.

    The hotel serves a very well-cooked and presented English breakfast and has a very welcome pool, a nice reading room with snooker table and the staff are exemplary - always very pleasant, polite and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Really lovely two night stay very close to Ullswater.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Twin room rather small. Walls very thin - could hear neighbour's conversation!

    Excellent location. Pool good. All the facilities were pleasant and fresh. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Food in bar good, breakfasts good. Lots of options for eating and drinking - outdoors and in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    3.8
    Totally unexpectable and should be reported to the michalen stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King / Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As i am disabled the lift wasn't working to the floors. The lad in reception could only speak broken English which we couldn't understand. There was nobody to carry our bags or show us to our room. At breakfast we were asked 5 time's for our room number and then our surname before we were served food. The evening meal in bar below could not be eaten as the place was covered in fly's. I would like reimbursing for the money we spent and i feel this should be made public. Would like a answer.!! Thanks cliff and Yvonne Norton

    The view was incredible from our window

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful place, very relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King / Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fish on the breakfast menu was disappointing.

    Lovely staff. Very welcoming and although very busy the weekend we were there they always had time to attend to us

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful view in a stunning part of the world.
    • Group
    • Executive King / Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful view in a stunning part of the world. Close to Coast to Coast Trail and other beautiful trails. Runners and walkers will love it here. Also super close to Ullster Steamers which can ferry you around the lake.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Overall we enjoyed our stay and plan to return at a future date.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King / Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The major criticism was the lack of better sound-proofing between the rooms, with the building being an older structure and the one other thing was the slightly old fashioned furniture.

    The hotel was very good and the staff all very helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable and large but, I felt, could do with a little modernisation and extra sound-proofing - other than that I had no complaints. The breakfast was very good, well cooked and nicely presented and the hotel pool was great to use (not massive but adequate).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Lake Districts best hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King / Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing that we did not like

    We spent four nights at this hotel and found it to be one of the best hotels in the Lake District. Very helpful staff, willing to do anything for you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a bit limited.

    Beautiful location just by the lake with the surrounding fells. Helpful staff. Little stores nearby to get all you need. Swimming pool was just great. Hopefully we will be back one day for more hiking adventures.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.0
    Beautiful location shame about the accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very tired and needs updating Restaurant needs a separate menu choice other than the tatty piece of paper used as the bar menu Staff need further training on customer service and presentation Would not rate Glennriddings star grading I.e 3 star

    Excellent location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.4
    One of worst experiences in a hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -ignored on check in by member of staff on phone. -couldn’t make me a milky coffee in morning not even warm up some milk. -tried to call up prier to arrival phone didn’t get answered. -Room was very dated -Took over 45 mins for my breakfast to arrive one poached egg on one bit of toast. -All fruit drinks in morning were empty -No water after pregnant partner asked for it

    Liked how close it was to the venue.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    not good value for money- would not return. rather do bed and breakfast somewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room was very small. bathroom even smaller. basic standard on both. the nosiest hotel i have spent time in ever! staff on reception upon arrival were not friendly at all. odd that the coffee shop didn't open until 10.00??

    good outside space. good bar with pool table. good selection of drinks. good food. nice breakfast room and good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Great location and really good weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Been before always had a great stay, everything is great and looks very much better after the terrible floods. We stayed in executive room all good except I would have expected a few tissues in room. I know this sounds petty but it does add to it. But really fab place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.3
    Would not return
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uninspired decor and a large three pronged crack in the wash hand basin The confusing layout particularly having to walk through the hotel and back onto the street to gain access to reception

    The ensuite sitting room The food served in the bar

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    Great place place, bad service. Will not be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service at breakfast was dreadful. Food was not much better. I suspect the bacon was cooked the night before and kept warm all night. Dining room not particularly busy yet staff seemed unable to manage.

    Reception staff very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    Great views from our room, lovely breakfast with good choice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated furnishings in the room we were given, terrible service in the downstairs ‘bistro’ - waiting nearly 2 hours for pizza from ordering is not acceptable even on a busy bank holiday.

    Great views from our room, lovely breakfast with good choice, excellent swimming pool!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Ideal location beside Ullswater and with access to the Eastern and Far Eastern Fells.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King / Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel layout is quirky, and there are different levels even on the same floor in some cases. There is a lift which assists with access.

    Helpful friendly staff, especially Adrian, Alice, Emma and Steve (bar). The food was excellent. A great public bar showing sport on tv. This also has a pool table. There is in addition a residents bar. The swimming pool. The snooker table (half size) in the Campbell library. Conveniently located approximately 300 metres from the Ullswater Ferry Landing. Many walking routes direct from the hotel, which is on the Ullswater Way. Free wifi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    Perfect base to climb hellvelyn and lovely lake side walks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King / Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid extra for a king sized bed and got a two single beds pushed together- couldn't get comfy slept really badly. No bright light in bathroom for makeup and shaving. The pool looked bigger in photos one couple was in there and didn't feel big enough for any one else. Bedrooms and bathrooms were smaller and in genera hotel pricier than others we have stayed at in the lakes.

    Lovely breakfast veggie and soya milk options. Room style was nice and beautiful view of the lake. Staff were nice and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Location was beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con or fan and it was a really hot night. Our room wasn’t ready when we got there and would have been nice if breakfast was served earlier as earliest time was 7.45 and we had to leave at 7.15, which meant we had to leave without breakfast which we had paid for in the price of the room.

    Location was beautiful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was smaller than appeared in pictures, the double bed was small and the room was too hot.

    Fantastic location. Nicely decorated. Nice pub and outside seating area. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    All good, wouldn't hesitate to stay again - location is an excellent base for exploring the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better signage on the approach road - I overshot on first approach & had to turn round - but this is really nitpicking.

    All good, staff are friendly, food is good & nicely presented - pool is well maintained, warm & clean and along with the sauna is an added bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar with its huge TV and pool table, not a nice place to eat.

    the reception area lounges and the staff were lovely. We realised on the second night that we could eat in the other room although the main restaurant was closed!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    4.6
    Overall very disappointing. This ruined our weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King / Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very rude and inconsiderate. We were not made to feel welcome throughout our stay. Extremely overpriced.

    the bed was very comfortable but the room was very bog standard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Loved it, great birthday weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel but bed wasn't the most comfortable and noisy fan in bathroom

    Location is great for the mountains of ullswater, friendly staff and the bar and food were good, great atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant but very expensive for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King / Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not happy paying total up front before we arrived. Too many stairs. Never before been told loss of key card would incur a charge of £5. Not particularly happy with attitude of one member of staff. Training adequate?

    Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a little more choice for breakfast. I have coeliac which I informed the hotel about before arriving and it would have been nice to have some gf cereal. Anyone can eat Rice Krispies and Kellogg’s cornflakes which are gf. Apart from that the breakfast was lovely.

    The rooms were very comfy . Hotel staff were lovely and location excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice clean, small roomed hotel.Superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in room 45 which is a very small room and extremely warm. We opened the windows but as it is by the road it was very noisy with traffic and revelers. We also felt a little rushed at breakfast, we were asked for our order before we had chance to look at the menu. Minor niggles .

    The location is superb. The breakfast was very good. The pool although small and a little chilly is an extra bonus and I really enjoyed my swim. The hotel is spotlessly clean . The check in was excellent .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyed the break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived room wasnt ready asked recepionist what room we had been allocated so ww new were abouts we were . Door was open maid was in the room so popped in for a look which we were pleased with only to go back hours later to that room then been taking. Also found the resturant staff very lacks a daisy

    Bed was comfy lovely veiw

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn’t go back but the breakfast was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was fraught. We were at a wedding and my husband kept trying to check in and consequently missed being on the wedding photos. The reception was not at all understanding or helpful even though it was after 2pm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Had a great weekend with great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault anything

    Pillows and bed were extra comfy, bed linen lovely and fresh same with towels. Good choice at breakfast I.e. cereals cooked breakfast was brilliant, liked the little milk bottles and individual tea pots.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King / Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't find the breakfast menu on line. Handy when you have a hubby who is miffed at continental breakfasts or full English minus beans and the Smoked Haddock was a touch of luxury that you need to promote.

    The staff went above and beyond to help out

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.4
    Average hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Room was a very small double and not what you would expect from an executive double which we booked, Bathroom was tiny , bed linen was the wrong size for the bed . Breakfast wasn't great either !

    Location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Staff friendly and efficient, room clean and surprisingly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beckside bar could have been slightly improved, lose the big tv...but otherwise all good

    Staff friendly and efficient, room clean and surprisingly roomy, small separate sitting area with settee, food excellent ,location perfect, free snooker table for residents

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    Not too bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was nothing special. Coffee was just OK. Fish & Chips were pretty awful. Decor was a little tired.

    Staff very friendly. Location excellent. Amazing views.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous hotel....lovely swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want to get away you can’t get much further than here, it was absolutely amazing....the hotel was lovely, very clean, room was clean and a good size. The reception staff where very helpful had a kind and friendly manner. The hotel pool was amazing a very decent size and even an splash pool for children and a sauna...lockers where also free of charge which is also good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.3
    Lovely location and great facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King / Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered breakfast to our room and although we made the order in person it was basically all wrong. Both veggie instead of just one, but no veggie sausages. Couldn't get beans with my evening Neal despite them being available at breakfast.

    The view from our room was stunning of the mountain, and just a bit of the lake. Pool and snooker room were lovely and free of charge. Night staff were helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value, short weekend break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy bar needs some sound deadening furniture and wall coverings. Wifi with Apple devices kept logging itself out, not with Android equipment though.

    Very good overall, staff very helpful and pleasant. Large room and bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    A nice hotel at a very fair price in a superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Porridge at breakfast would have been a plus! The bar attached to the Hotel is called Beckside, it was very full with a good buzz but the pint I had was unmemorable, it was Jennings so no excuse there.

    It's in Glenridding, right on Ullswater, two minutes walk from the steamer pier. (On Sunday we walked up the East side of Ullswater, a really lovely walk. We had a great lunch at the Sun Inn in Pooley Bridge, and got the 2.45pm steamer back to Glenridding.) It's not far - 4 miles - from Aira Force which is a great walk in winter - not many people but loads of water going over the falls. There are several nice places in Glenridding for the evenings, we went to the Traveller's Rest on our first evening and the Ramblers' Bar in the Inn On The Lake on our second evening, both nice, food better at Ramblers' though. You wouldn't rave about the room in Glenridding Hotel but it was absolutely fine, clean, comfy and the bathroom worked. It's not a noisy hotel, so that's good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect place. Best hotel I’ve stayed in the lakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King / Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the best breakfast I’ve ever had, but still very good. Pool could have been warmer. Very small points and didn’t affect the stay

    Service. Room. Bar. Food. Location. Brilliant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Apart from the size of the room everything else was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was we booked an executive room and it was tiny I would hate to have booked a normal room Size matters

    This hotel is in a lovely location good for amenities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    A short stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary on Valentine's Day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant wasn't open. We had to go elsewhere for a Valentine's Day meal.

    The new bar area and bistro were very good with exceptional service from the staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing from start to finish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a twin room and the beds where almost together. You could not push them futher apart as the bed side tables where fixed. The room was small but the bathroom was tiny and dirty. Not as you see in the photographer. Breakfast was disappointing. The cooked breakfast was not cooked to order.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    Excellent stay to celebrate our birthdays and couldn’t have asked for more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. No negative comments

    Comfortable room. Staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Food was good wholesome food and very tasty. Pool and sauna were a great touch too. Well worth a visit. Done a great job of renovating the building too post storm Desmond floods

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Two day end of January 2018 winter break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surprised at the unadvertised and presently ongoing building works and scaffolding erected to the front facade. Initially could not see the name of the hotel! However this It did not in anyway spoil our break!!

    Breathtaking location and beautiful setting. Nice comfortable sitting and games rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel close to Ullswater
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location close to the shores of Ullswater. Comfortable room with nice views of the lake. Great food and facilities. Sticky toffee pudding to die for........

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Perfect in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Leaving on the Sunday ;)

    We stayed there while we climbed a number of the local peaks. The view from the bedroom was of Helvellyn, the staff were fantastic, great beer in the bar and perfect location to start the days hike.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King / Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast first 2 mornings had no butter no bowls fruit juices empty last morning better staff much improved. Menu first night had no prices on it in restaurant.

    Nice hotel pool fab clean room comfort bed nice . Food very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    An excellant two day stay at a very friendly Hotel, we wish you well in your future adventures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The new year meal was very nice, but a little expensive, but then, we are from Yorkshire, LOL.

    Very friendly staff, very good food, very comfortable accommodation, clean and cared for looking. Brian and Valerie Twigg.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.3
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath water just about warm, reported to reception, they apologised and turned the boiler temperature up, but was stil just warm. Chaos at breakfast as they attempted to serve breakfast rather than help yourself, was a complete disaster. The breakfast timing was reduced to 1 hour between 10am and 11am, this meant everyone was at breakfast at the same time, absolute chaos!!!

    Nice room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.8
    New Year in The Lakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic location of the hotel slightly overshadowed by the inexperienced staff with too much to do. The smallest of requests seemed too much to handle - from no toothpaste at reception to the reluctant facilitation of a 'window' table request at breakfast (dining room was barely half full ) The magnificent view of Ullswater is, of course, one of the hotel's most attractive features. The staff were pleasant and helpful where possible - it just seemed that management were stretched and junior staff under-equipped at what is no doubt, one of the busiest nights of the year. Both the hotel and room were clean and comfortable and the shower was hot. Would have been great to have a mini fridge in the room though. Great bonus to have the pool and sauna, which we had to ourselves on both visits - although don't expect Olympic length! With us paying such a premium price for the room over New Year, we would have expected the service and the facilities to be a little higher standard.

    Fantastic location of the hotel slightly overshadowed by the inexperienced staff with too much to do. The smallest of requests seemed too much to handle - from no toothpaste at reception to the reluctant facilitation of a 'window' table request at breakfast (dining room was barely half full ) The magnificent view of Ullswater is, of course, one of the hotel's most attractive features. The staff were pleasant and helpful where possible - it just seemed that management were stretched and junior staff under-equipped at what is no doubt, one of the busiest nights of the year. Both the hotel and room were clean and comfortable and the shower was hot. Would have been great to have a mini fridge in the room though. Great bonus to have the pool and sauna, which we had to ourselves on both visits - although don't expect Olympic length! With us paying such a premium price for the room over New Year, we would have expected the service and the facilities to be a little higher standard.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Another great break in Glenridding
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Very comfortable lounges to relax in. Bar area had a real fire which was welcoming. Bar food was excellent. Staff and service excellent. Good facilities with a pool and snooker table, plus games room and library etc. Lake view bedroom was very spacious. Great location with plenty of fell walking as soon as you leave the Hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    The best Best Western I have ever stayed at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The snooker room closes at 1130 which we wanted to play at 0100 but that’s fine.

    The staff were fantastic. the hotel Is at the base the helwelyn path so access is perfect. We had a river view for breakfast Fantastic breakfast Great bar and dinner food the best in town!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.3
    It was very relaxing hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was cold and the steam room was not working. It was disappointing as we chose this hotel because they had these facilities.

    It was very relaxing hotel in a good location. Xmas decorations were lovely. Fantastic views from our room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    1st time but not the last.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No easy access to the car park. Having to stumble in the dark with cases wasn't fun. Even just having lights along the way would help.

    Excellent location and very comfortable beds!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.5
    Fab winter weekend break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King / Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As above.

    Everything was as expected as stayed there before. Pool could've been a bit warmer this time of year but that's the only minor teeny weeny complaint lol.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: