Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Glenspean Lodge Hotel 4 stars

Roy Bridge, Roybridge, PH31 4AW, United Kingdom

Review score

Based on 297 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Initially not happy re check in ,but after that stay good ,and relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unable to sign in till 3.00pm .Informed of this by a rather terse note left on the locked entrance door.Note stated if you needed a drink or toilet facilities they could be found in the nearby village. I felt that this was a bit strange as the hotel info stated that the in house bar was open . There was no apparent way to get into the bar other than trough the locked front door.

    The beds were extra comfortable and the bedding appeared to be of high quality. Breakfast was made to order and was especially good. Setting of the hotel was good nice and quiet yet only a few miles from activities. Bar was well stocked and although we did not use bar menu ,it looked varied and good value for money. Spotlessly clean. Décor in keeping with property.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    We booked two rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked two rooms. Both were clean, comfortable, and well proportioned with good facilities. The restaurant served excellent meals and the lounge was good to relax it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Charming hosts in a spectaular natural location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was not very good. Poorly executed Eggs Benedict. The wifi was very weak and we only had much luck using it at off hours. Our room was at the top of some very steep stairs and there is no elevator so guests with mobility issues should be aware.

    Wonderful hosts made us feel right at home. The hotel's location was ideal for exploring the nearby region. Beautiful scenery and surroundings. Comfortable and very clean room. Lot's of Scottish charm.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous quite stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, if anything the only issue was intermittent WiFi but being in the mountains this can only be expected.

    Great stay, very friendly staff and owners. Accommodation very comfy and spotlessly clean, bar and restaurant were great, fabulous assortment of games in lounge to pass the evening if required, gym, games room all fabulous. It was wonderful to have heavy blackout curtains on the window to ensure a great nights sleep especially as still daylight at 11pm, this is a really important feature for travellers who are not used to such long daylight hours. Slightly out of town but the views and peace and quite certainly were worth the few extra miles.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Great stay & made to feel right at home
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    Ideally located for walking the East Highland Way & a really comfortable, luxurious stay along the route. The staff were great, beautiful hotel, gardens & rooms, along with good food & a well stocked bar!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Just Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was very clean and cared for. The internal decoration was clearly well looked after - it felt as if we were guests in someone’s home!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Very scenic and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’ve said it above

    The owner and his wife work as a fantastic team to keep this hotel running beautifully. We found that altho he worked very hard the husband made us feel rather rushed at times. His wife was charming and relaxed and couldn’t do enough to help. we loved our stay and hope to return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Lovely weekend break in the Scottish Highlands, would recommend the Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stop serving breakfast at 9.00am on Sunday.

    Lovely hotel, the staff were friendly and the facilities spotless. Good central location for visiting Ben Nevis, Fort William and Isle of Skye.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The serene & tranquil setting in a beautifully natural + landscaped property with sounds of waterfall. Great fish & chips, friendly owners & staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Bed was really comfy, room was clean and nicely decorated,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal was ok, not great. Odd to have to choose either veg or chips with the steak pie, not sure why it wasn't served with a small portion of veg as well as chips! Breakfast was good with plenty of choice.

    Bed was really comfy, room was clean and nicely decorated, views from the front of the hotel were fabulous.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    The 4 poster bed - very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The 4 poster bed - very comfy. The wallpaper - Live Laugh Love design is a nice touch. Bathroom - absolutely sparkling - especially the floor! Overall attendance to detail and personal service second to none.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely welcome in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is a challenge but may have something to do with those lovely mountains! Worth noting that dinner service finishes at 8.30pm.

    Lovely welcome. Great views from restaurant and excellent choice of whiskey! Room was a very decent size.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I will go again another time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit bigger room would have been great,other than that I couldn't find anything to fault

    The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable although a little on the small side,as I this was the only room available at the time we booked so there was not much to be done about it.The hotel its self was delightful as where the grounds,overall we had a most enjoyable stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    I wanted to give them a perfect score, but neither of us at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No WiFi access. I can understand slow Internet speeds once WiFi is accessed as that's the provider's capabilities, but we couldn't even connect with any device anywhere on site. Fortunately, we already had the next day's activities planned.

    I wanted to give them a perfect score, but neither of us at any time in our room or downstairs with any device was able to connect to WiFi at all. The room was pinkish and with a cutsie saying on the wall. Which I wouldn't have like at all had I been on business. Tolerable as I was with my wife. The staff was great. Food at dinner great and breakfast fine. So was service. I loved the bathroom!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.3
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would have liked the option to have dinner and breakfast a bit later.

    Very enjoyable stay. Staff were great and our room was really nice. Great location for being in the middle of the hills.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.8
    A nice stay in a beautiful part of the world
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and also the bed was small. The walk to the room was up several steep flights of stairs.

    The dinner at the bar was great, and also breakfast. The location was beautiful and quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable and would recommend it to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked a room with a bit more of a view. It was at the back and we had to climb a lot of stairs to get to it .

    Very comfortable room. Had everything we needed. Very clean and tastefully decorated. .Gardens were lovely. Staff very efficient. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi is notoriously slow in the Highlands so it was no surprise that even in public areas only limited internet access was possible. This is entirely down to the provider, not the owners. However, it can be a bit frustrating sometimes.

    Wonderful hotel in a beautiful location. The staff were very friendly, check in and check out were both pleasant and efficient. The room was very well appointed and spacious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    The games room was great - a pool table, dartboard and air...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Four Poster Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was our most expensive room during our trip.

    The games room was great - a pool table, dartboard and air hockey table. Our bedroom was beautiful, very quaint with a countryside feel. Lovely cooked breakast options.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    A Delightful Countryside Retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything.

    Suzanne is such a gracious hostess - very welcoming and kind. Very comfortable room, excellent amenities. Really enjoyed both the delicious dinner (try the haggis with whisky sauce!) and breakfast cooked to order. A lovely property - if it had been warmer we would have enjoyed relaxing on the beautiful grounds. Liked the game room too - a cozy, inviting space. Ask for the key to the ancient church down the road - a hike along the busy road, and up a steep hill, but well worth it - outstanding views from there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    5.4
    Went ,stayed, won't be back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single staff member we saw could have been welcoming. On turning up to check in there was a sign on the door telling us to come back later!! The worst most awful thing was the "plug-in" air fresheners in the reception and staircase. The thick cloying smell was overpowering and totally disgusting. I believe in opening windows if you want fresh air. Finally our bathroom was so narrow we had to develop a sideways shuffling gait in order for us both to fit in the room!!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This hotel manages to combine high end accommodation with informality and friendliness. The bedroom was particularly attractive in its decoration. The bar menu was very good value and the breakfast enjoyable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful location! Attentive staff! Breakfast cooked to order and variety of delicious options!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we did not like!

    We arrived late one evening and we were warmly welcomed by the staff. They allowed us access to the bar for a night cap and remained open as long as we wanted.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Would definitely stay again if in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meal was good but not great

    The owners were very welcoming, friendly and personable. Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Good selection of local beers and whiskies in the bar. It was the best breakfast I had had for a long time; good bacon & sausage and perfectly poached egg!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel with friendly and efficient owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi pretty bad, but this is limited by BT and is not the fault of the owners. Everything else was perfect.

    Very clean, comfortable, well furnished, excellent food and friendly staff and owners.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Excellent food, spotlessly clean & thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Hope to go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was really good. Could not find fault with any of it.

    We were made to feel very welcome. Food was excellent especially the smoothie in the morning. Great choice of drinks in the bar.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    Great rooms, excellent breakfast with lovely staff and owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The menu for the evening meal sold out quickly it would have been good to know to order earlier. Even if we were told before choosing the meal what had finished before ordering.

    Beautiful location, lovely and quiet with a very warm welcome from the owners. With an area to enjoy outside if the sun shines!! Early breakfast to help us with our early start. No complaints would stay again and recommend to friends.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed the experience of staying in a forest location. Lovely old interesting building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being on the top floor (Rm 18) . Too many stairs - exhausted us. Not suitable for disabled. Only one armchair provided. Wet coats had to be draped over it. No hooks provided for storage of coats.

    Quite location with friendly/helpfull owners. Good quality food. Good shower facilities. Well lit bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.5
    The location was very nice and the building itself had an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi didn't extend beyond the restaurant, so top floor meant you were disconnected (which can be a good thing, depending on your point of view).

    The location was very nice and the building itself had an old charm to it, a Fawlty Tower-esque sense of feel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.1
    Quiet place with nice outdoor area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was served to 9AM only even if it was Sunday and we came too late. We were informed when we arrived so it was actually our own fault, but I still think 9 is too early on a Sunday.

    Quiet place with nice outdoor area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    I'm not sure if this is a like or a dislike :-) This is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm not sure if this is a like or a dislike :-) This is a seriously quirky hotel, the decor is so kitsch, verging on the Jeff Koons, but then again while I detest most of Koons' art, some I love; 'Puppy' for example. The enormous 'Monarch of the Glen'-like picture going up the stairs, outlined in glitter, is one for the connoisseurs! As is the exhortation, complete with butterflies, painted on the walls of our very comfortable room to 'Live every moment. Laugh every day. Love beyond words'. But 10 out of 10 for a nevertheless very thoughtful eye to comfort, the fan in the room for example was greatly appreciated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.1
    The grounds were beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived a little early for the 3 pm check in hoping to drop off some luggage from our very crowded van. The man at the desk bordered on rude but did eventually let us leave some bags in the lobby.

    The grounds were beautiful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard pillows. Exhaust fan not working in bathroom.

    Very spacious and elegant accommodations. Excellent on site restaurant. Beautiful grounds. Friendly owners and staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful facility in a great location in the Highlands
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was only accessible in the reception area and bar.

    Absolutely beautiful facilities in all respects. Owners and staff were wonderful. Very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was made to order and great. Restaurant had a nice menu and food was excellent. Full bar with a nice selection.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice place friendly owners and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift and steep stairs for accessing second floor, which could be quite a challenge while carrying luggage. The hotel is located in a very nice surrounding, but if you have a walk outside neighboring properties have lot of signals asking you to do not enter, fair enough, but little bit claustrophobic. Bed wasn't very comfortable.

    Very nice location with huge parking available. Owners are very friendly and open in sharing recommendations, i.e. if you want to have dinner there they suggest to first go at the bar where you can check both the restaurant and bar menus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.5
    Views were outstanding but no lift and a 3rd floor room not so convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Brave Heart Suite (Double Room)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was mixed; one night in the restaurant it was not very good and another night in the bar it was excellent.

    The view from the hotel and our room were outstanding.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    First class Scottish hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't realise there was a well equipt gym, a sauna and hot tub until shortly before we departed

    Friendly helpful owners/ staff Excellent service Wonderful food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.1
    Glensspean Lodge is in a beautiful, if slightly isolated,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no one there when we arrived at 1.30, the door was locked which for an hotel seemed a bit odd. We went on into Forteilliam to look around and planned the rest of the day but when I phoned to ask if we could arrive late, we were told that we really needed to come now and check in which robbed us of sight-seeing time and meant more driving on top of a long days dtiving . When we came back at 10.30 hoping for a night cap, the bar was closed and the games room with snooker table locked. These are small irritations but overall there was a sense of defensiveness coming across as opposed to helpfulness?

    Glensspean Lodge is in a beautiful, if slightly isolated, location. It is immaculately kept and pride is taken over presentation. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    2.9
    Should have listened to a friend's advice not to stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked 3 months in advance but was given a tiny room, with small bed. Smallest in the hotel but no discount to standard rate - told I should have booked sooner and that they had other nicer rooms!! Tiny bathroom and toilet bowl unflushed - despite "sanitised for your protection" paper ribbon!! Poor quality breakfast. Wifi too slow to connect. Surly attitude by owner.

    Very little

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Great location/hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi/internet access was challenging since I had to do some businesss work while on vacation. It's completely understandable based on the remoteness.

    The views were amazing, the owners were extremely friendly and accommodating, restaurant food was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    A gem of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was all good!

    We were looking for a place close to Ben Nevis and unearthed this gem of a hotel. We booked the family room which was great, the staff were amazing, we loved the jacuzzi after our climb along with the games room. The breakfasts were fantastic and we ended up eating there each evening where there was plenty of variety- all of a excellent standard.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Two thumbs up
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and dinner end too early. Room a bit hot. Can't open windows at night cause of tiny bugs. Not the hotel's fault.

    Everything about the hotel was great, from the hardworking owners and staff, to the food. Best hotel we stayed in Scotland. It reminded me of a amazingly well run Fawlty Towers!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable, relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite far from nearest town so would not be any good for anyone without a car. You have to request the jacuzzi or sauna to be put on half an hour before use so need to plan ahead. Would be better if it was put on at least at the end of the day when guests are arriving or coming back from a busy day.

    Food excellent. Breakfasts cooked individually. Even had decaffinated tea! Staff gave good personal service. Rooms stylish and roomy. Good base for a lot of holidays - walking, sight-seeing etc. Has good facilities, a pretty, well-kept garden and was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Faultless. Can't wait to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Brave Heart Suite (Double Room)
    • Stayed 1 night

    My partner described the place as 'faultless' and I agree!

    Well, Suzanne and Ian (the proprietors) certainly know their stuff. It's been a good while since I've been just so impressed with a place - this is the epitome of a well run family hotel. Spotlessly clean, beautifully maintained, with interesting little nooks and crannies to explore both in the garden and in the hotel. There was an excellent selection of board games, a snooker room, a small gym and a Jacuzzi. Really the facilities were outstanding for a small hotel. Our room (the Braveheart Suite) was gorgeous, spacious and extremely comfortable. The restaurant had a great selection of food and my choice (the chilli moussaka) was delicious. The bar was equally well stocked with a large number of different whiskies and gins on offer. Will definitely be back!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.2
    A fabulous place of tranquillity
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything

    The location is beautiful even in rain. It is also a quiet place so if you want to enjoy city life in Fort William be prepared to use your car. It is an excellent place to reach Ben Nevis from if you have a car. Staff is friendly and welcoming, so thanks to Ian and Suzanne for enjoyable two days. PS the food is excellent and they have reasonable selection of wines. In weekends the pub can be crowded so it is lively there as well, so you can have the best of all world in this place, the garden is very nice in the evening sun. A place to come back to…

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful setting near Spean Bridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet.

    We felt very welcome. Breakfast was served in a beautiful setting over looking the hills. The room was immaculate and the beds were very comfortable with quality​ furnishings.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    First class in all respects
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely room, food in restaurant was excellent and served promptly, staff were polite, friendly and attentive. Loved the Scottish breakfast. A very well run hotel. A credit to the owners who are clearly very hands on.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Amazing scenery and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Views from hotel across the Nevis range are spectacular. The room was very comfortable and the staff made us feel at home. Food at dinner and breakfast were very good. A hotel I would definately stay again at.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    A Beautiful stop along the way between Inverness and Oban
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!

    The lodge was a perfect location for our touring. Ian and Suzanne are just lovely and welcoming. Pub was a great place to have a whisky and dinner after a long day. Food was exceptional. Facilities were comfortable and beautifully decorated. The surrounding gardens and views of the mountains -spectacular!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    A great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Arrived late at night and checked out early but wished had time to stay longer. Had a four-poster room really comfortable with nice ornaments giving a really personalised feel. Breakfast was superb. If ever come to Fort William again would definitely stay here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.6
    Great time in the middle of Highlands
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant is closing rather early. Room could be slightly larger, but it was so nice anyway

    Great hotel run by very friendly people with an excellent restaurant. Don’t' miss an opportunity to dine there. This is the place with its own character. The owners take care of all details.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.8
    Superb hotel with lovely owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Meant to tell owners that blue USB light on bedroom socket was very bright and i had to cover it up to get to sleep but apart from that i'd recommend this hotel to everyone. 5 star

    Lovely hotel in scenic location, lovely owners who were working their socks off , very efficient, quality fitments in the bedroom, evening meal and breakfast were fantastic. Cost a lot more than we'd stayed the rest of the week but worth every penny

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    10
    Fantastic staff went out of their way to make the whole stay perfect .Location brilliant we will b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast finished at 9 am . Missed it on three mornings due to bed so comfy slept late.!!!!

    Hotel food excellent , rooms clean and bed comfy. Extra bubble bath ,milk available all available with no fuss . Even got a loch ness monster in the bath !! (rubber duck type)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    10
    worth ever penny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Went for our anniversary and wasn't disappointed. It's in a beautiful location room was very nice the only thing is it could do with better tv connection.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Best place I have ever stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best place I have ever stayed. Everything was wonderful. Excellent rooms, decor, facilities, staff and as for breakfast - what can I say! A nice little luxury stay for us.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    9.2
    Lots of fresh air
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from kitchen whilst in guest sitting room

    After staying here for one night on the way home to Somerset we will now use it for our way north in future. The bedroom window opened fully which suits us to perfection for lots of Scottish fresh air.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    9.2
    Nice wee retreat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities were great. We just needed somewhere to stay for a night with a restaurant and bar to meet a friend. Great menu options and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.6
    Fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm and friendly welcome.Very comfortable room with beautiful views and a very good dinner menu which was available in the diningroom and the bar.I would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    10
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, evrything was perfect.

    The Glenspean Lodge Hotel is situated in beautiful surroundings near Roybridge. We had a great welcome from Ian and Suzanne, the proprietors. The room was delightful, well decorated and very comfortable, everything was perfect. The evening meal was well prepared and sumptuous, really enjoyed it. We will certainly be going back there. I would definitely recommend this Hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    10
    This hotel is superb - just lovely in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything

    We could not fault this place on anything- we weren't expecting it to be so lovely / the pictures seemed like the rooms were maybe a bit old fashioned but when we got there everything was stunning - the food for dinner and breakfast was amazing/ the bed was so comfy I didn't want to go home / the view of Ben Nevis was spectacular and the owner was so hospitable and helpful / I am so pleased we stayed a little bit out of Fort William and away from tourists - made it so much more romantic and restful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Brave Heart Suite (Double Room)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing,

    This hotel was great, staff were very friendly, food was excellent, a real nice place to stay, would highly recommend this hotel. The decor and the site is beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    9.2
    Glenspean is a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting with an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't like leaving, and we didn't like not knowing more about the Mackintosh connection.

    Glenspean is a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting with an interesting history. This was once a place, away from Moy, of entertainment and parties for the heads of Clan Mackintosh and their friends. Historically we enjoy the clan connection and today we appreciate the now expanded and refined hotel, Glenspean Lodge.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    10
    A great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a shame the lounge doesn't take advantage of the lovely views.

    The welcome and service was friendly and very efficient. Everywhere was immaculately clean and our room comfortable and well furnished. Dinner in the bar was very good and an excellent breakfast was served in the restaurant with lovely views.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    10
    Lovely views, great food, rooms and service with a red squirrel in the garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great, with views across the mountains through the beautiful gardens where there were many birds and a red squirrel to spot. The room was excellent as was the service and food. Roy Bridge is not far from Fort William and convenient for many sights, including walks up the peaceful Glen Roy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    8.8
    Beautful setting for our journey to Glencoe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Jacuzzi and sauna were a little disappointing. While not the most important aspect of our visit. A relaxing Jacuzzi at the end of a long day walking would of been appreciated.

    Beautiful setting. Welcoming, friendly atmosphere with great service from the staff. Great food using lovely, local produce.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    6.3
    Nice location, great restaurants. But room for improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old, overly soft beds in our room. Did not use the hot tub as it was very dirty. Only for these two reasons, regretfully not in line with the price paid.

    Very good location and restaurant, great breakfast and service.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    10
    Beautiful country setting near the ski and climbing areas!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Brave Heart Suite (Double Room)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints! We loved it!

    Just a beautiful room, The Braveheart Suite! We enjoyed all the beautiful flowers and all the antiques in the hotel. Just walking around the grounds was a treat. Nice game room and whirlpool, too!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    4.2
    Invaluable the money we stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More friendly and good service.

    Improve the quality of the food.The fish we order is smelly. Upmore

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a softer pillow.

    Friendly, very clean, quiet, excellent breakfast, confirtable beds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    A night away from the kids. Absolutely perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Lovely little quiet hotel, and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Staff !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flights of stairs to top floor.

    Staff ! Breakfast . Views .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    Food and service excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and service excellent. Location fabulous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable 2 night stay and would happily return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High quality hotel with friendly staff and a warm and inviting atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: