Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gliffaes Country House Hotel 4 stars

Crickhowell, Abergavenny, Crickhowell, NP8 1RH, United Kingdom

#6 of 12 hotels in Crickhowell

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 159 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything substantive. Coffee at breakfast could be a little more like coffee. Hint: don’t serve with the plunger dropped. Let it brew first.

    Friendly, engaged staff. Gliffaes makes you feel like they want you there and want you back. All members of staff were “informed” on all aspects of their “territory”.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was spacious, very elegant, with the best balcony,covered with wisteria in bloom, overlooking the magnificent green ,sheep filled pasture!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a little soft for my liking, but that's very much a personal preference rather than a particular failing.

    The location of the hotel is stunning, and the ambience perfectly captures its description of country house. The staff were amazing and made sure we celebrated our anniversary in style - this was our first visit since staying there the first night we got married many years ago. The restaurant combines local produce with an interesting menu which should offer something to the most picky diner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfasts were excellent but the dinner menu limited -- an ordinary chicken dish of some sort or a pasta dish would have brought us back to dinner for the final night

    the location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bedrooms are quite compact (but well furnished). TV had limited number of channels

    Great food and afternoon tea, lovely bar and drawing rooms, beautiful location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is pretty poor for what claims to be a luxury hotel. Staff try hard but seem pretty nervous and uncomfortable, which hurts the atmosphere a bit.

    Beautiful building and grounds in the middle of Brecon Beacons. In house restaurant and bar are nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Surprisingly the area to the side of the Bar was used for inappropriate storage and yet was offered as a seating area. Our choice of main course for dinner was disappointing and not good value for money - although we ate it. It was cool , a complaint also voiced by other diners, steak tough and we expected a real tomato and mushrooms . Felt menu was a little too clever with not much option for those with plain tastes, which is not necessarily us, but on this occassion we just wanted uncomplicated.

    The breakfast was very good with pleasant service. The room was comfortable and cosy on a snowy day . Other communal areas were fitting to its history with lovely log fires. Grounds and setting spectacular. .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely location and the grounds are great to explore and chill out in. Room was good and breakfast was lovely. A great base to explore the Beacons and its lovely small towns like Crickhowell. Would stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Attic room too far away from anything, also heating didn't work in this room.

    The Rooms were large, but no lift so make sure you know this as some rooms up flights of two-three stairs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and especially bathrooms need updating, flaking paint, no central heating and showers you can't stand up in are not expected in this price range. Breakfast and evening meal a little stuffy and in need of some fresh ideas

    Amazing location, traditional feel with log fires in the communal rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All the staff from the time we arrived until we departed were exceptional, nothing was to much trouble, will definitely recommend and revisit (If we return to Wales again) the afternoon tea in the afternoon was unexpected and excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel in evening had no atmosphere - down to guests I assume vs hotel but a shame.

    Staff were both helpful and friendly. Bedroom was exceedingly comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was very small, and smelled weird - possibly tobacco?

    The Gilffaes Hotel is located in a wonderful setting, one of the most beautiful we have ever seen. The food is excellent, the breakfast magnificent, the grounds gorgeous. We wish our room was bigger, as we had an extra bed installed in our room for our 8 year old daughter, so make sure you are asking for a larger room if travel with kids. Also, we found the hotel a bit expensive, but overall, an excellent hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Gliffaes has a very special style: beautiful building, decoration, gardens, excellent food and delivered with such friendliness in a relaxed environment. This is very hard for good hotels to get right and Gliffaes nailed it. We had an amazing time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only one thing was the pillows were too soft and did not offer as much support as we would have liked.

    Gorgeous house set in wonderful well care for grounds. Staff are extremely professional and very helpful. A very pleasant stay and will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room service was a little disappointing - no biscuits and no enough sugar for more than one tea! there is a lovely pond in the hotel grounds which would be a lot more interesting with some interesting and colourful fish.

    The staff and the service were excellent. A beautiful hotel location in a very scenic part of Wales,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Struggled a little bit with the menu We both had the foie-gras which was very dry and a bit unpalatable I then had the fillet of river trout with a poached egg on top which was lovely My partner had the fish pie which he later found to be extremly rich causing indigestion.

    The manager went the extra mile supplying my partner with a glass of milk at 4.00am for indigestion😀

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff seemed unhappy - no smiles! Cooked breakfast needs a complete change. First morning poached eggs were cold straight from the fridge. Second mirning was a slice of supermarket ham accompanied by the most pale and bland scrmabled egg ever eaten

    Beautiful location and grounds. Barman very helpful and professional. Late arrival sandwiches were welcome but too fussy for some with simpler tastes.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    waiting staff at breakfast could have been a little more friendly!

    Very relaxing. Beautiful surroundings. Lovely bedroom and bathroom with huge bed and lovely furnishings. Plenty of living areas to relax. Gorgeous gardens with interesting walks. Delicious breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What an incredible place to stay, a great bar with views to die for and a restaurant with similar views and fine dining made with locally sourced ingredients. Set in the most beautiful garden/arboreum you can set off on foot and walk as far as you want into the countryside,find the river Usk at the bottom of the garden. Its so peaceful with so many birds. Spent all our time outside even though the drawing room and conservatory looked lush!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wallpaper and décor in our room very tired. Clean however. Breakfast very average for a hotel at this price range, yet good service. Waitresses in really short mini dresses which is fine for clubbing but out of place in a country house hotel. I'm young and open minded but it seemed out of place.

    great location, gardens and rooms to relax in

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The price of the wine.

    The hotel is situated in a large estate, with many lovely trees and a river flowing through. The atmosphere in the hotel was of quiet efficiency and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nit picking but the glass of coke from the bar wasn't the best.

    The whole experience of staying with you was nothing short of excellent, and will be back to stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 1 was pokey situated above kitchen extractor fan which ran all day and late evening and woke us at 7am the bed was very small and the bathroom was difficult to access at. Ight. When we arrived told not busy so why put us in such a poor room

    Wonderful setting

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My wife and I have traveled a great deal, and when comparing Gliffaes with other country house hotels in which we have stayed, we both feel that more attention could be paid to the many nicks in the door and baseboard paint, and some of the furniture looked a bit tired. That said, all of this contributed to a more relaxed feeling about the place, signaling that one didn't have to stand on a lot of ceremony, so depending on your point of view, these nicks and dents might not be a negative.

    This is a rather imposing-looking country house hotel whose architecture suggests more an institution than a lodging, but once inside we found it to be very, very comfortable, with a choice of public rooms and lots of welcoming sofas and upholstered chairs. The solarium was especially inviting, and the 4 o'clock daily tea with pastries was a delicious option. The setting couldn't be more beautiful, with sheep grazing high up on the hillsides across the Usk River from the hotel. It was so peaceful there that there was no problem hearing the rushing of the river below us. The gardens were magnificent, with banks of rhododendron, azaleas and other flowering shrubs. Specimen trees--many very old--were easily accessible via a comfortable walk around the property, and Gliffaes provided a nice map detailing each of these. The staff were fabulous--friendly, competent and always there when you needed them.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hardly any reception on the phone

    Beautiful views. Educational Tree trail. Chest of drawers full of board games. Helpful staff. Delicious food. Great place to relax and breath pure fresh air.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of this hotel is incredible. Don't be fooled, this luxury hotel is not stuffy at all. Staff are friendly, wecolming and knowledgable. Just an incredible place to stay and so relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Feature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking spot was rather steep for ease of getting in/out of car.

    Location was perfect for the race from Talybont on Usk and meeting friends in Crug Hywel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was very disappointed to find guests,, that paid a considerable amount less than we paid for our one night booking, in future i shall try the hotel direct first.

    The staff were pleasant and polite . The rooms were very clean, and was also asked if we wanted the sheets turned down ready for bed time. Very nice place to relax in.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, position, ambience and hospitality all exceptional. Family run since 1947 and it shows in the attention to detail. Staff all seem very happy to be working there.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening menu not very kid friendly.

    Clean, friendly staff, period property & family-run (nicer than hotel- chain / impersonal accomodation). Lovely garden and beautiful valley

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For some mysterious reason the armchairs in our room disappeared! Not a problem, just odd! The staff must have taken them out for cleaning and didn't put them back. Very strange!

    The hotel is excellent, you feel like you're in Downton Abbey. The staff are very nice and attentive. The grounds of the hotel are incredible and absolutely worth exploring.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom size was rather small and cramped although the fittings including the linens were excellent. Breakfast was very good - it is nice to have freshly cooked food rather than the perennial buffet. But the dinner men was somewhat "precious" - even "pretentious" we felt and also a bit limited. Older persons such as ourselves tend to have sensitive stomachs and a few choices of plainer fare would have improved the enjoyment of stay.

    The location is excellent and the ability to find quite long strolls within the grounds of the hotel, and with wonderful views, is very unusual

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service was good old fashioned top quality service. I sent my parents as a gift for my Dads 70th birthday. On arrival and with no request from myself they sent a bottle of bubbly to my parents room as complements of the staff. My parents loved everything about this venue and will be returning and recommending to others. The afternoon tea was the best they have ever experienced to.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On this occasion dinner was a real disappointment. Small portions of "fussy" food combinations. Having stayed before numerous times the change of "style" of the restaurant was really disappointing.

    Have stayed many times before and love the ambiance of Glyffaes.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loved everything about the place.

    Breakfasts and dinners were excellent. Lovely walks in the grounds and along the river. Crickhowell is our favourite town. Webbs the hardware store is a must.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The TV channels were muddled up in our room and some weren't there at all. Only a minor niggle though - we were out most of the time!

    Lovely hotel in stunning grounds with a delicious breakfast every morning.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    What a wonderful place. It is nestled amongst the trees and hillside overlooking the river and the drive up to the Hotel does not disappoint. From start to finish we were looked after so well by every member of staff. Our room was spacious with views of the front of the hotel, the bar was a gathering place with plenty of good wines on offer. I chose a Perl Wen sandwich which was delicious. The evening meal was something to look forward to and didn't disappoint with quick service and wonderful food. After dinner we were taken into one of the lounges to relax over coffee, tia maria and chocolates (the white chocolate one with orange is such a surprise). Breakfast in the morning was freshly cooked to order and again was delicious. I would definitely recommend this hotel for the ambience, location, food and service. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The grounds of the Gliffaes are really beautiful and full of pheasants. It was unfortunate that we choose to go in winter so were unable to enjoy the magnificent trees at their best. Still it's a good reason to go back in spring.

    The staff were exceptional and made us feel like valued guests. They were always prepared to do that bit extra.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    This hotel is absolutely perfect and the staff are so helpful. Allowed us to move into our room early and check out late with no extra cost. Everybody was really friendly and made you feel at home. Would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely stay here again. Thank you

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owner of the hotel was not approachable and in fact did not even acknowledge our presence, presumably as we were not participating in country sports. He was however, very attentive to other guests/locals who seemed to be friends or regulars. This made us feel second rate but we were certainly not paying second rate prices and this effected our enjoyment of the stay. Our room was quite cold, the bathroom particularly had no heating other than the towel rail but because there were three external walls it was chilly. We are sturdy stock so not too much of a problem but would be for some. We did raise this on departure and the receptionist did say they were aware of the problem and looking for a solution. The furnishings were a little on the shabby side (for the price) although some might say this is character, however it was a little worrying that the next inspection date (PAT tests) on the electrical appliances were two years out of date! The breakfasts cooked to order were very nice but there were a lack of pastries on offer (in fact there were none on our last morning) even though this was shown on the menu. The windows all over the hotel could have done with a good clean!! When we arrived there was a packet of two biscuits with the normal tea/coffee selection. We wondered whether these actually belonged to the previous occupant as no further biscuits arrived on the following 2 days of our stay. Considering the price of room, this is not what we would have expected. Dinner in the restaurant was good but was a bit stuffy and menu did not change during our three night stay. Drove into Crickhowell one night and had a wonderful meal at the Dragon Inn.

    The hotel is set in beautiful gardens in a very peaceful and beautiful setting. The room was very spacious. The staff in general were very attentive. The Robert's digital radios in the rooms are a nice touch. As we were celebrating my husbands birthday there was a half bottle of bubby in the room when we arrived which was a nice welcome. The bed was very comfy. Lunch in the conservatory was very nice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very very good for a weekend break, good location, good food, nice facility,special mention is the fabulous surroundings, rare awesome trees in orange, river, mountains!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The small room was quite small but adequate for a couple of days.The bed was a bit on the soft side for me but perfectly comfortable.

    Friendly efficient staff. Good room. Food with adventure. Great location surrounded by woods.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room too small, unusable 4'6" high shower, rather condescending entries in guest "welcome" book, too many steps to our room.

    Location, trees, breakfast, help with luggage

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    .

    Invited friends for lunch during my stay and all agreed food was stunningl. Service at all times was exceptional. Beautiful location and the gardens of the hotel were wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the starter that i had for dinner was supposed to be just seafood but later found our there was meat in it. The waitress failed to inform me about it when i asked.

    we love our room which was facing the river Usk. The breakfast had very good selection. we love that the hotel has walk trails for us to do without going out far. The afternoon tea was also very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No S4C on TV, carpet in bathroom

    Very friendly staff, made to feel very welcome, outstanding views, relaxing and cosy atmosphere, good food - outstanding breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed has a winter duvet on it. The small snug bed was fine so long as you are not oven hot in the night! On making a complaint the reply was " there was a choice of sheets and blankets " this was not offered and retiring to bed after 11 pm it seemed unreasonable to ask for a change.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No separate shower.had to climb into bath which is difficult if you have limited movement.

    The beautiful location that was so very peaceful,you could only hear the birds.Staff very nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Compared to 3 star hotels we know in Europe the breakfast was well under expectations with orders not completed as requested, overcooked bacon and undercookd poached eggs.. Three types of melon at breakfast do not constitute a fruit salad. Typical English coffee!

    Location and building. Majority of staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives at all.

    Brilliant service, excellent food and location is stunning with beautiful views close to great towns and lovely walks. One of the best hotels we have stayed in. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Feature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were extra comfy ..the food was delicious, the service was fabulous...the owners were kind and welcoming...but in the end it was the house itself....an authentic country house without the frou frou of the country club set in an extraordinary location on the River Usk....I can't wait to go back... Thanks for the marvelous memories Gliffaes!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room far too small-bathroom dangerous to get to at night as steps up and down- bathroom very small too

    Fabulous setting- gardens lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff, excellent breakfast and very close to the river and fly fishing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location & Accomodation superb

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful, peaceful location; lovely gardens; relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Peace and quiet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Evening meals

    Breakfast was excellent. Evening meals were disappointing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Beautiful surroundings.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely relaxing bar area. Open fires. Views. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Attention to detail in the rooms was fantastic. A great place to relax.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it ticked every box

    It was beautifully decorated and set in perfect surroundings. Just what we were looking for.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have been a few more options on the dinner menu

    Friendly staff and good quality food

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    just a lovely setting

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff a bit clipped and officious Good but lacked warmth and smiles

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a little small, and prefer bacon crispy!

    Staff were excellent, very welcoming and understanding of our requirements.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were super comfortable. Staff extremely helpful and polite. Very relaxing stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely food - interesting and tasty! Very friendly bar man and helpful reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    Wounderful location and classic building

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Turn down service was a bit unnecessary and intrusive

    Complete quiet especially at night. Comfortable bed and perfect room temperature

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not allowing children to dine with adults

    Environment

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Getting to the hotel from the main road is down a VERY narrow lane.

    The food was superb!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and walks

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very hot day. Temperature in our bedroom was high all night,

    Beds extra comfy. Delicious food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The description standard room is misleading. It's unbelievably small.

    The staff were superb, nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: