Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Globe Inn 4 stars

Lower gungate, Tamworth, B79 7AT, United Kingdom

#8 of 10 hotels in Tamworth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 365 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Thank you
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower wasnt hot or strong enough. And there weren't enough toiletries. And a weird smell in the evening and morning

    The staff are great. The breakfast was tasty. The room size was good and the bed was comfy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit noisy - but it was the weekend of the World Cup final!

    Excellent breakfast, good service. Beds comfortable (if a bit on the hard side) and the room was clean and spacious. Nice ensuite, with good shower. The staff could not have been friendlier nor more helpful; when I arrived, one of the bar staff offered me and my friend a lift to the Council buildings, where our conference was being held, and gave us detailed and accurate advice on how to find what we needed in the town. The downside was a very noisy bar (but that was probably the result of the World Cup, and all the pubs and bars were equally noisy and crowded); also some of my friends found the noise from the neighbouring club very annoying at night, though I can't say it kept me awake. But that wasn't the Globe's fault, and applies to all the pubs/B&Bs in central Tamworth. If you want a convenient site, you have to put up with a bit of a row! I'd stay at the Globe again, very happily. A nice, old-fashioned, comfortable building, brought up to contemporary standards without sacrificing its atmosphere. And just opposite the wonderful 'King's Ditch'. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    4.6
    Don't fall for the so called FREE ONSITE PARKING
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was told there was free parking on site.Ended up with a parking ticket for £25 as free parking is only from 4.30pm to 9.30am,had I been told that on arrival I'd have put a ticket on the car.I am looking into the possibility of a claim of some sort as FREE PARKING is false advertising.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    Not again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was cold. Shower tray silicone was falling off. Bed was uncomfortable. Windows didn't keep any sound out. Rubbish had been left despite being cleaned.

    Very helpful friendly staff. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Friendly and efficient staff, very clean and good pub grub.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No issues whatsoever.

    Friendly efficient staff and speedy service. Good food, parking included. Looked after really well by Stacey. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.7
    The room was away from the bar and separate for coming back...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cold room and the breakfast was take it or leave it and not everyone wants a full English.

    The room was away from the bar and separate for coming back at night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.8
    nice tasty breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    view, little noisey...

    nice tasty breakfast..almost as soon as I sat down...room was a little small overlooking kitchens and sports bar nextdoor….noice not to bad but I left Friday morning....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.0
    Pleasant staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tired-looking place, bathroom very dated and not too pleasant (although clean). Main issue was the value for money which I felt was quite poor.

    Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.7
    It’s all right if you are not fussy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst shower ever, about 1 litre of water per minute. Also de fire alarm went off at 1am wakeing up everyone.

    Newly refurbished, to a budget, but it’s ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Friendly and clean hotel near Tamworth station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside street/people noise all night. Heat of the day meant the window had to be left open. Creaky floorboards and guests slamming doors. Didn't have great night's sleep but next time I'll bring earplugs, as the hotel itself was great. Please look at floorboards outside room 11 though!

    Friendly, clean, safe (great for a lone female), seemed quiet (even the bar downstairs was no problem, just outside noise which would have been difficult for hotel to do much about - see negatives). Bar served good food until 9pm. Could walk from station in 5 minutes/close to bus links to Birmingham. Good breakfast. Generally a lovely place and would recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel and good value for money. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took a while for water to heat up in the shower but was a good pressure once heated.

    Stayed in family room, was clean and comfortable. Good sized TV and plenty of space for 3 of us. Breakfast was a full English which was really nice, staff were friendly and helpful. Parking covered in car park from 1630 to 0930. Short walk to the centre of Tamworth with plenty of shops, pubs and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Absolutely perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    Everything it was so clean in the rooms the food was great the lady waited for me even though it was shut as 2 hours late couldn't ask for anything better it was perfect for us so pleased

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Value for money at The Globe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy at night but expected that as it's a pub and I stayed over a weekend.

    Excellent facilities and loved the food. Easy to find and parking next the the building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Great place and people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    People in the property are very helpful and flexible as well. They checked me in at midnight. I enjoned me stay in Globe Inn and highly recommend this place!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.4
    Basic and reasonably priced.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was some confusion over the parking arrangements based on a previous stay. This meant I got a £25 parking ticket. They need to be clearer on their parking arrangements. There was a bird trapped behind a blocked fireplace I informed them in the morning but it hadn't been dealt with when I returned in the evening? Not ideal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    No complaints. Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have no complaints.

    The hotel is clean and comfortable, although my room was very small. It is the closest hotel to Tamworth Railway Station as far as I can determine. Breakfast is included. Please note, they do not serve food after 9pm. I do not remember if I used the Wifi, as I was there for a very short time and had my own mobile data.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was expecting there to be a bath the pressure on the shower wasn't great

    Very quiet , staff were very helpful and polite. The bed was comfortable ,slept well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    The staff were absolutely brilliant, location was central to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were absolutely brilliant, location was central to what we wanted - the Snowdome, Drayton Manor and nightlife, and the food served was great! Brilliant experience!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Overall quite nice little hotel and pub
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only disadvantage - a carpark, however located just next to the hotel, is not free of charge as stated in the advert. Also the spaces are not guaranteed for a hotel guests - it’s a basic carpark located nearby. A satnav guidance wasn’t very precise as it guided us to the other end of the street, which is mainly pedestrian walk excluded from the wheeled transport, so had to abandon the car and walk around the town to find the hotel and then establish the best way to get there by car.

    Tiny but comfy room located just over the pub was quite enough even during the weekend evenings. Very good food cheaply served. Great location in close proximity to the town centre and the train station, many restaurants around, very good access from the main roads.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    the globe inn is a lovely hotel with friendly staff which is set in a beautiful location..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were friendly and very helpful, atmosphere was lovely. Very nicely furnished, modern, clean with everything we needed. Great location in a beautiful town, value for money.. couldn't ask for more... we would definitely recommend and stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.0
    Restaurant bar staff comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise level from streets and along corridors I requested a double room with a bath I received a shower only with mould hot water took some time to come through and then not very warm or powerful and for 65pound thought facilities should have been better plus a musky smell in the room

    Restaurant bar staff comfy bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    6.3
    Generally OK.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy Friday evening. Some people work in the weekend and have to get up early. The bed mattress wasn't comfy. The central heating was on and off, hot water as well.

    Location, in the middle of the town. Staff quite helpful. Room was clean. Tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    A great location, the staff were very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was on coasters and moved away from the wall a bit. Breakfast included was a great offering however I wasn't sure whether there were vegetarian options for sausages/bacon. Obviously I could have asked but would be useful if the options of alternatives or not was indicated on the menu.

    The single room was very spacious. TV with loads of channels including radio expected but still nice to acknowledge. There was a light switch by the bed and by the door great for convenience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    Staff are lovely and pleasant, great location, and cheapest place I found in Tamworth town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv went off a few times after midnight, with no signal on the screen. I had jet lag so was awake at unusual hours

    Parking was good as it was close - but you had to pay after 9.30 am until 4.30pm as it was a government run pcar Park

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Great location if you are visiting the town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was rather apathetic.

    I thought this was going to be noisy as it is a town centre pub - but the hotel is actually next to the pub and it was very quiet. The room was lovely and very comfy - bathroom was modern and everything was very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    Decent basic accommodation. Breakfast was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't like having to check in in the busy bar area. Also was not shown to the room; had to find my own way.

    Room was basic but clean. There were tea and coffee making facilities, and a decent TV. Breakfast was generous, and they were flexible if you didn't want the full English.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.8
    Great stay only due to my friends being there .....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy coolers outside the bedroom window. Radiator not working little electric fan heater provided. Towels old and harsh against skin Shower not working properly Wallpaper coming off of the walls Carpets dirty

    Food great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really, the only thing was the view from the room... which was simply across a lower roof and built up all the way round. Not very exciting! But no drama, this won't stop me from recommending it.

    Very friendly staff, good value for money, nice and tidy room with all the facilities needed. Public car park next door - fortunately free of charge after 6pm and all day on Sunday, which is good news! Had on Saturday evening an excellent steak in the restaurant, couple of beers from the bar... and in the morning a fantastic full English breakfast, included in the room rate. All very much enjoyed, I'm more than happy to recommend the Globe Inn and would love to come back!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.2
    Homely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could have been cleaner there was rubbish under the bed that my 3yr old pulled out. The bathrooms need too be modernised too.

    The breakfast was excellent, the room was comfortably made up and every staff was helpful, kind also interacted well with my son.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    6.3
    wouldn't go back due to noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy to both the road and to the bar downstairs. Alas noise in the morning meant didn't sleep well. Carpet was well used and needed cleaning.

    tv worked great. Bathroom was ok but nothing special.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    Very good quality-price ratio.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room carpet & walls, music until late without soundproof (insulation).

    Weather-wise, pleasantly warm inside, comfy bed and warm duvet, clean bathroom. Free Constant Wi-Fi (not just for 30 min.) - most important. The presence of the bar and occasional karaoke evenings make it more pitoresque.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    3.8
    We did not enjoy our stan and will not be back here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park was very busy, we had to wait for someone to leave to get a space to park. The hotel reception was in the very busy bar which had very loud drunk people shouting at each other. Evening meals are only served in the noisy bar area. The room was smelly and the decoration looked dirty. We could hear music from downstairs, traffic and people talking outside until early morning.

    It's location wasn't to far from our destination. Across the street from this hotel is a very good Chinese restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Traditional pub, comfy room, good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    night club up the road kicking out 4am

    great pub lots of atmosphere, compact comfortable single room, friendly helpful staff, good food breakfast & evening meal.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    5.0
    Apart from Internet, I would recommend the Globe.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    When booking acomodation price, value are inportant but Internet wireless is essential, I was very dissapointed that upon arriving on Saturday afternoon, I paid for a week in advance only to find out the password for the wifi was not available, but told it would be later that day. Sat evening no password, Sunday Morning No Password, Tuesday password was avialable but I could no longer access the conection, I was getting a message ""autherization accsess error"" No one was available to help and sort out the problem, so all week I had no internet accsess. Had I not paid in advance I would have changed my booking and moved hotels.

    Breakfast was good quality, Hot and portions good, staff were very friendly, attentive and hard working.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.7
    Dtaff wete griendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet was very dirtu in room 8. No telephone in room. Would like a teleohone when staying in my own.

    Dtaff wete griendly. Hotel was only a minutes walk from where i was visuting.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.8
    The location and staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing worth mentioning.

    The location and staff were excellent. Food and service only ok but waitress very friendly and obliging. Room nicely presented and quality fixtures and fittings. Overall perfectly fine.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    A lovely place to explore Tamworth ans surrounding area from.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not find anything to dislike.

    Great location and a very historical Victorian Inn. Very nice staff and comfortable rooms, the breakfast was excellent. Overall great service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.9
    Good choice for a reasonable price.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no elevator. Wi-Fi is under very old system that needs "not so convenient" way to log in

    nice and comfortable B&B in a traditional English small hotel with some restaurants and pubs near by.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    4.6
    It was pleasant in some ways
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor breakfast choice Towels were frayed Bathroom not that clean Shower was poor No food available when arrived at 9:30PM

    Veggie sausage at breakfast Bed comfortable Nice beer at pub

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.9
    I really liked the breakfast, staff were very kind and also...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I went there on a Friday night and there is a sort of night club in the pub downstairs. Therefore, you could hear loud music until 12:30 am. This didn't personally bother me that much, as I am not an early bird anyway. However, if you are an early bird or you need to sleep early, I would avoid going there on weekends.

    I really liked the breakfast, staff were very kind and also the hotel is in the very centre of the town, 5/10 minutes walk from the train station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.0
    Never stay at this public house.We will never return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud music and talking from the bar until 2 a.m. We could not sleep at all. At 12 p.m. the night club next door started up with very loud music though the outside wall to add to the loud music from the bar below. Breakfast was poor quality.

    Staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    Very well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleaners in the morning hoovering up in the breakfast room while having breakfast very annoying,

    Fantastic Location, Parking is only FREE on a SUNDAY but right next door to the hotel/pub, Very clean & Tidy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Good value great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the bar was very very loud until midnight. The key to my room didn't work properly

    The location was good. Breakfast was wonderful. Good flat screen Tv. Tea and coffee. Bed quite comfortable. Good parking if you arrive before 6pm

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.5
    OK, but beware of Sunday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed Sunday night pending day at Tamworth Snow Dome on the Monday. Sunday not the ideal night to stay, particularly with children. Sunday is Karaoke night in the pub below. No Restaurant Facilities on a Sunday, but if you like eating to loud music you will be okay in the restaurant next door. Add to that the commotion after closing time!! People talking car doors banging. Monday morning was road sweeping time in the Car Park below and dustbin lorries emptying bins! Distance from dome not as close as advertised. Car park next to hotel free till 9.30am £4.50 for rest of day. At Dome £1.50 all day.

    Rooms a bit dated but adequate for our needs. Good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some rooms may be updated. Room for a bit improvement on the breakfast (quantity and choice).

    Overall impression of the hotel was good. Comfort rooms. Dinner (to be payed separately) was very good! Although we had other options, we preferred dinner at the pub: nutritious food and decently filled plates. Ideal location: a short walk from the station and into town. Very nice staff. We would/will stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice people and bar but room was not pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls in the room had streaks running down them as if it was left over from some sort of leak or condensation. The room overall was very drab and the carpet needs replacing. There was no hot water but we did eventually get just very slightly warm water after leaving the tap running for 10 minutes. It wouldn't have taken much effort to get the room looking more welcoming and for £80 a night we expected a higher standard of cleanliness.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    5.8
    Visiting friends in Tamworth
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room on the front ..very noisy, very loud people coming out of a nightclub and the road sweeper came round at 7.15 am

    Close to where is was meeting friends

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.8
    perfect place for me to stay to catch up with family and friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was there on hottest day of the year so found room very warm,so with window open sound of traffic below.

    the evening meals are very good,and the breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    extremely comfortable and welcoming place to stay. very friendly and helpful staff. food excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows a little hard but that is just my personal preference.

    Room was Comfortable with everything one would need. A hairdryer was provided on request. The breakfast was exceptionally good and staff very friendly and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    Lovely breakfast - included in the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower wasn't great and the wifi doesn't reach the rooms but not the end of the world!

    Lovely breakfast - included in the price. Very accommodating staff, who were lovely! Very close to Station and local shops/high street.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Simply the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints - very pleased to stay there again. Thank you one and all at the Globe.

    The pleasant staff, food and accommodation. Discovered the Globe on the internet a few years ago - liked it and on the rare occasions that we stay in Tamworth overnight we try to book a room there first.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.9
    Satisfied & would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in a back room & for most of the night we had to put up with loud music coming from a venue next door we think. Help with luggage up the stairs would have been welcomed. Would stay again but ask for different room.

    Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.1
    Minor problem that spoilt the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get back into the building as the key didn't work and when I told the staff she just looked at be blankly and didn't say a word.

    Great value for money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    5.8
    Great location but you can't have a laugh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attitude by the landlord was poor , this was a stag weekend nothing out of hand happened but we were threatened to be removed after 30 minutes due to some mild horseplay. The bar staff were fine and friendly.

    Location was excellent. Facilities were superb

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in a great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the bed and pillows were like stone (but I suppose it each to their own) and music was blaring until 12am but no later. There was a section in the welcome pack that explained about the music as the have a function room maybe adding this on the website would help? Also it would be beneficial to guests to add something about the parking as the hotel offers passes for the pay and display car park next to the hotel.

    The hotel was fantastic the pictures on the web site didn't do it justice!!! Hotel bar was well stocked and reasonably priced, breakfast was great, the staff were lovely and the hotel was very clean we will defiantly be returning!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.6
    PUB TOUR BASE
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The duvet keeps coming off the bed when I turn in the night, causing me to wake up. I prefer a sheet that can be tucked in, otherwise needs to be a larger duvet.

    Beautiful breakfast & friendly waitresses

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drunken quest who set off the fire alarm when he locked himself out in the lobby. Couldn't sleep after the shock. Poor shower water flow. Noisy extractor just outside window.

    Location. Staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    8.8
    Ideal location in Tamworth with free overnight parking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Radiator in bathroom was not working (TRV not allowing hot water to feed), but working very well in the bedroom (reaching 55-60 degC at TRV max). so did not feel cold at the end.

    Overnight free parking next door from 16:30 until 09:30. Fast free wifi. Bar in same building.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel somewhat spoilt by council run car park.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking, although not the hotels responsibility does reflect on them poorly. Car park is pay and display and is only coin operated making the scramble for coins annoying. I saw no mention of there being parking fees when I booked as I specifically looked for properties with parking, the previous property I stayed at had on street parking, which made it a nightmare to get a space. Due to parking fees this hotel has a £5 daily extra cost, unless you go out from 9 till 5.

    Central to where I needed to be, and food was excellent. Room was large with good facilities and very clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Our stay in tamworth
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    It was close to the town centre etc it was clean tidy and very friendly staff esp the lady who welcomes us on arriving 😊and the breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.9
    Stay away on Thursday and Sunday nights unless you like karaoke
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arriving the toilet in my room didn't flush, they moved me temporarily into another room, which was over the bar area, and where there was a karaoke night going on, it was very noisy. They have karaoke on Thursdays and Sunday's, which is not mentioned anywhere in their advertisement. Had I known I would not have booked there. The toilet had not been fixed by the next day,but someone came st 4.30 to look at it, bad form really, a bit hap hazard. The rooms were very cold, the weather outside was very very cold, a little heating wouldn't have come amiss.

    The staff were very friendly. We had breakfast and evening meals there, the food was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.5
    The Globe ....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kettle didn't work without holding down the on switch uny boiled. Could not find the hairdryer, this was supplied after I went down to bar to discuss. Very brown in room which made it look old fashioned but did not interfere with sleep, which is what I was there for. Interesting food, main meal loosely linked to description on the menu. It was tasty but clunsy.

    Globe was just in right position for my journey. Room was okay, had a decent night's sleep.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    2.5
    Fraudulent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incorrect booking. They have given my details to a fraudulent Uber driver. Will never use these guys as an obvious mistake booking on a road trip in Australia. Will be contacting Booking.com

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    9.6
    Great value for money, friendly helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had a problem with the dishwasher and we struggled to find a clean bowl, a little more attention to detail, checking cutlery and crockery before it leaves the kitchen. Quickly sorted out though and explanation given.

    This is great value for money and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    5.4
    Location good as its central, but other factors spoiled this
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room far too hot & unable to turn radiator off. Too noisy as room faces road. Plug socket cracked right across,advised staff on check out. Average breakfast, had to wait about 15 mins for waitress to attend. Expensive for what it was

    Location good as its central, but other factors spoiled this

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    6.7
    The Globe Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property says there's parking but the carpark is tiny and pay and display we had to drive around to look for a bigger carpark and again had to pay and display until 6pm, The menu was a nice size but very disappointing as three quarters of it wasn't available due to a party in which case they should of brought in more incase there might be more food being consumed than booked by party

    The room was a nice size and ensuit was nice very clean no complaints

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    8.3
    Good value easy access to Birmingham accommodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower curtain was material/plasticky that clung to me a little as I got in and out of shower. Could have used a menu for the bar in the room.

    Room was very comfortable temperature and the single bed was also very comfortable. Heard hardly any noise in room from the downstairs bar. Food was fine in the bar and very good value and very easy to access from train station.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    10
    Spot on fr overnight stay on business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have no issues with this hotel. Excellent value for money.

    Friendly staff on arrival and departure; most helpful. Very comfortable night's sleep. The location was right in the town; it suited my purposes admirably. For what i needed in this instance (a comfortable room with bar and food facilities, plenty of other eating options nearby, central to my work, good price) I needed nothing more.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    9.2
    Decent stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Breakfast is a bit boring for two weeks, but ok if you like full english breakfast :)

    Nice staff, clean room, warm breakfast, and suprisingly not noisy room, even on caraokee nights on weekend.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    7.9
    Don't judge appearances
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hairdryer in the room but you could borrow one at reception if you needed to. Water was tepid when we got up in the morning for an early departure and just too cold for a shower - maybe the water heater was just kicking in? Couldn't connect to the wifi, either, but it was available if you had the patience to persevere - which, sadly, I didn't. Breakfast was lovely but had to be eaten with the cleaners working around us and the smell from their cleaning fluids was a little overwhelming with the food. To be fair, we stayed for just the 1 night and were on a really tight schedule so didn't have time to address any hot water issues etc. with the staff. I'm sure they'd have been more than willing to help if I'd had the time to bring it to their attention and I won't hesitate to stay here again.

    Was a little worried about staying here as we don't know the area, and I have to say, the photo of the outside of the building doesn't do it justice, at all. While it looked a little bit desolate and isolated in the picture, this is actually a fabulous, clean, big bar/hotel, right in the middle of the town and on one of the main streets, with plenty of shops and eating places around, including the bar's own restaurant. (also a beautiful Chinese/Cantonese restaurant directly opposite) Room was quiet, comfortable, warm and spacious, with wi-fi, TV and tea/coffee making facilities (but no hairdryer!) and we were pleasantly surprised that there was no over-spill of noise from the pub downstairs. Staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful and there is partial free parking on the public car-park to the side of the building till around 9 AM, after which, the parking meters kick in. Good breakfast. Will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    7.9
    Great location, friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cushions/quilts were a bit thin. Shower was tricky to regulate due to it being a bit old fashioned mixer tap style fuctionality. Hot water wasn't constant.

    Helpful staff, good food! Would stay again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    5.8
    Good location, but no hot water
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I went to take a shower early in the morning, there was no hot water. Since this is run as an inn, there was no one to help at the time.

    The pub is fairly nice, and it is within easy walking distance of both the train station and the town centre.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    7.5
    okay but get breakfast in town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast,over cooked egg ,no fried slice or black pudding and sausage was rank. Esp-ecially not 50 yards away is a butcher whose sausages are heaven, I brought some home with me. The duvet is too small every time I moved the duvet came off bed beer range not too bad.

    evening meal and other pubs close by

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    4.2
    Needs updating badly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was not great, bed was really uncomfortable, room was very small and dated wasn't helped by a baby in the room below screaming all night if I'm honest although that can't be helped really. Went to work more tired than before I went to bed

    Staff were really nice

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    7.5
    The loud music from the pub downstairs carries into the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The loud music from the pub downstairs carries into the bedrooms, however it did stop promptly at the time it was supposed to, after which all was peaceful. So do be aware that this is noisy pub until 23:00/00:00.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: