Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Goblin Ha'

Main Street, Gifford, EH41 4QH, United Kingdom

#3 of 3 hotels in Gifford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 204 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Was adequate for what we required but slightly disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tele in room didn't work and no Internet working plus repairs being carried out due to water damage that we were not adviced about

    Staff friendly and food good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    4.2
    Location was good, food ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shampoo, soap. No housekeeping service clean towels etc. No WiFi in room even though a code on back of door. Comedy signal for TV in rooms and bar, World Cup was on and I was assured it would be better for next day and England semi!

    Location was good, food ok

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    2.9
    Terrible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible room first with no wardrobe and we had wedding finery to deal with! then marginally better second offering. 2 twins put together with protruding springs! My wife is now suffering from a bad back as a…result!!! No chef at breakfast. Wine list limited and none of what we ordered! Mould in bathroom!

    Nothing ok meal in evening

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    3.8
    Shame, but never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place seemed to be run by keen amatuers; Food wasn't anything special when it eventually arrived; We had to move our car because of a Bike race next am effectively trapping untill noon.

    Staff were friendly but incompetant. Took over an hour for meal to arrive (and that was borrowed from someone elses order)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.0
    Total lack of hot water in room ruined stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 3 not a drop of hot water from sink or shower.After cold shower in morning complained on checking out to be told it would be sorted for me.Bit late as I was checking out!Room was fine apart from that but hot water is I think a necessity at a hotel.Was asked to pay in full on checking in can see why now!

    Nice setting large comfy bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    Don’t bother
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we were given a key for room 4 but when we opened the room it was full of furniture and a bed from another room that was getting painted they gave us another room and said we would be moved i into room 4 the next day the next morning there was no hot water .we went down for breakfast and they had no sausage and no bread so I was give a hard and cold fried egg with a few rashers of streaky cold bacon and half a tomato . The cost of the breakfast was added to the price of the room £8 .25 definitely not value for money it was not even edible. After breakfast I had to ask what was happening with the room they gave me the key and we moved our self i was with my husband who is very sick and we were left to it room 4was nice little room but the tv didn’t work a nice young man sorted the channels for us but we couldn’t watch it as it was getting no signal Would I stay here again absolutely not .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    The location was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the double beds weren't in the best condition and some people in our group didn't sleep that well. Wifi isn't available in rooms as advertised.

    The location was lovely. Gifford is a truly charming town. The WiFi is not good in guest rooms but fine down in the ground floor lounge or pub. The rooms vary in size. Our group had 5 rooms and some were spacious and others quite small. Beds are of varying condition. Bathrooms also vary greatly in size. The place was safe, clean and memorable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    potentially fabulous little hotel that fell short on some easy basic stuff, very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    tv in room had no remote, en suite tiny, no one cleared any food plates in the beer garden for the hour and half we had a drink there..a basic really

    staff very friendly , lovely beer garden food excellent, location in a lovely village fabulous

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing and uncomfortable.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor, comfort, facilities and cleanliness. Music noise from the bar and from the corridor kept us awake. Breakfast was unsatisfactory.

    Location and staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom floor was exceptionally slippy (room 6) No truffles just sherry (which is not my tipple) -how about small bottle of rose?

    Eggs benedict was yummy and everything else was good as well. We also ate in the restaurant at night and the food was really good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    Good staff - room needs a refurb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is trying very hard & the bar area is welcoming and friendly. The entrance for guests (quiet and not through the bar) is a complete jumble of furniture and not a welcoming space. I suppose it does provide a ‘guest lounge’ but I can’t imagine wanting to use it. The room itself (Room 1) wasn’t bad it was just very very tired. Embossed wallpaper which has been painted over. Sloppily repainted woodwork. Furnishings which seemed cheap at best, mean at worst. Sink in the room, which was fine apart from it took forever for the hot water to come through when I wanted to wash my face. (Morning & evening - so not time related. Shower was Electric so no issue there.) Loo and shower were a little musty and you could fairly strongly smell drains when you opened the door. Mold on the ceiling in the shower room. Just a slightly depressing space - not terrible - but disappointing when it could be great. Hotel is definitely doing itself up. Nice new wallpaper on the stairs up and have obviously recently removed an old carpet on the stairs too. Will be great when they get to refurbishing the rooms.

    Staff were all lovely and helpful. Gifford is a pretty little village and the hotel is well placed to appreciate that and the local countryside. Bed was comfortable enough. Bar area was welcoming and there was space to pop in for a drink even on a busy Sat eve.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable, the pillows were flat and the room cold, the central heating didn’t work and as the windows arent double glazed it was chilly

    The food was amazing!!...most of the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.0
    Would not come again, and would not reccommend
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mould in the corner of the shower unit Tile hanging off bathroom wall Disorganised tea tray - kettle had to be plugged in across the room Bedroom bin hidden in corner across the room from the tea-making paraphernalia Duvet tucked in too tight - when pulled out to go to bed the whole bottom sheet became loose and came off mattress Toilet roll holder required you to either be double-jointed or sit side saddle to use the toilet No truffles as advertised as accompanying sherry in arrival in room Not enough electric sockets Service slow Too many people (staff) hanging about

    Welcoming girl on arrival

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    GOOD, THE UPSTAIRS NEEDS A FACE LIFT.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    BEDROOM COULD DO WITH A BIT OF AN UPGRADE. BATHROOM TOO SMALL, PARTICULARLY THE SILLY LITTLE BASIN WITH A GLASS SHELF IMMEDIATELY ABOVE!! MADE WASHING VERY DIFFICULT!!

    STAFF VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL, ESPECIALLY AMY & DANIELLE. THEY COULDN'T DO ENOUGH TO HELP MAKE OUR STAY A PLEASURE.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    4.2
    We won’t be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t like shabby, dirty, unfinished rooms, mouldy shower cubicle and stained carpets in room 4. £65 ott for accommodation of this size and standard.

    Breakfast and bar area ok Gifford is a lovely little village.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    The staff very helpful and went out the way to help...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff very helpful and went out the way to help especially the young woman with glasses on very helpful and looked after us and brought food to our room as little boy wasn’t very well she couldn’t of been more helpful good worker and all ways smiling

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.1
    Good location, friendly staff but pity about the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blinds having to closed for privacy, poor lighting, mouldy shower cubicle, no extractor fan, no hairdryer in the room. Constant on and off of what sounded like a pump from somewhere out with our room. Central heating not working in the room but portable heater was okay.

    Friendly staff and great breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.1
    Could be a top venue, but needs investment.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower practically unusable. Very low cold water pressure leading to roasting hot water. No WiFi in room. Stairs and corridors very shabby.

    Staff welcoming and friendly. Bedroom and bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.8
    Great, friendly pub with fantastic food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could feel every spring through the mattress! ;-( Quite a lot of noise from people walking around (stairs creaky and no carpet) and from fans in other people's bathrooms.

    Very helpful and friendly staff, fantastic menu - great food and lovely quiet pub atmosphere - roaring fires, etc.! Rooms were lovely and nice touch with welcome drink and chocolates.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    All the people working at the Goblin Ha' were welcoming,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    All the people working at the Goblin Ha' were welcoming, helpful and friendly, more than willing to go the extra mile to make the stay comfortable. The property was easy to reach, the room cosy and the food delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    5.0
    First and last time I will be here, sorry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ‘en-suite’ consisted of a toilet and shower in a cupboard which left little room to manoeuvre at all. The sink was in the bedroom and the wardrobe consisted of a shelf behind a mirror. The room was unattractive and faced the street so you have the pleasure of hearing late revellers depart the pub adjacent.

    The girl who I dealt with on departure was very helpful and professional

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    A very comfortable stay with very helpful staff and a breakfast not to be missed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lack of a warm welcoming lounge for residents.

    Characterful old pub/hotel in centre of picturesque village. Excellent bar/restaurant, with wood burning stoves, with very good bar meals. Rooms provided comfortable beds, a welcoming phial of sherry plus usual hot drinks tray. Breakfast provided vast selection of quality cooked dishes to a high standard. All staff were both cheerful and very helpful throughout.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyable, inexpensive overnighter!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Found the floor quite slippery in the toilet/shower.

    Staff were extremely friendly & helpful. Tasty food downstairs in the bar/restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    Absolute delight. If I ever come to Gifford again I will make a point of staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a strong wind which knocked out the TV reception and Wifi. I do not suppose this happens every day.

    All staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Food in restaurant was well above pub standard.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.3
    Would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet in the room needed replacing and the toilet bowl was not very secure.

    Food and staff were fantastic. Superb little village. We were a little worried by the name of the Hotel. Unlike the Aberlady Inn, parking was easy and convenient. The sherry and chocolates were a nice touch.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    absolutely heartwarming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    warm enthousiastic welcome, scottish breakfast !, delicious (pub)dinner with very good meat and an unexpected and very good take away breakfast, as we had to dash early in the morning to Gulane no. 2 coffe/tea making with hot water in the room possible. sherry and truffels as a welcome present in the room were a token of the friendliness and hospitality of the staff The restaurant/pub (!) is in the same building which is most comfy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Really enjoyed my stay... Super helpful and friendly staff... And the locals were jolly and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything... Maybe real goblins in the hotel would have been nice to see? ;-)

    The staff were all super friendly. The manager went out of his way to organise taxis to a wedding I had to go to.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.1
    It was Ok for a short business trip but I would not stay for longer than a cuople of nights.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms dated and basic. Bathroom very basic with tiny shower cubicle and poor water pressure. No extractor fan. Window did not open.

    Nice friendly staff. Good food. Nice garden and conservatory.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Good overnight stay felt very welcome including dogs only 15 minutes from A1
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No carpet on the stairs so dogs having long legs found them very slippery but as we only stayed one night this was a minor problem.

    Friendly staff lovely evening meal unfortunately did not have time to sample breakfast comfortable room lovely area to walk dogs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Full of character, charming rurral village setting and staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not a modern purpose built motel, so plumbing was old fashioned and there's no lift.

    Full of character, charming rurral village setting and staff were constantly helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Roon no. 1 - is not well planed. the sink is outside the bathroom' near the bed. Breakfast was't that good.

    Great location. Nice food at thr restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    We were going to Edinburgh festival and the manager was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were going to Edinburgh festival and the manager was very helpful in recommending trains etc. We also didn't arrive back at the property till well after midnight and that wasn't a problem. Complimentary sherry and chocolates in the room was a nice touch too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.9
    Weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not so much a complaint as in the bathroom was really big and you couldn't help thinking it could have been smaller to make the room bigger and it looks like some work had been undertaken in the room as there was dust from plaster off the wall behind the bed

    Hotel is in a lovely little village so its very quiet at night the restaurant is very good the food was good quality and reasonably priced

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    6.0
    Nice restaurant but rooms not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was ok, however, there was a type of wardrobe attached to the wall and it fell off . It fell onto my 2 year old and had a glass front. Luckily nothing bad happened but it could have been a bad accident. Also, breakfast was extremely slow despite only 3 tables being filled.

    The service when we arrived was fantastic, I would say Guy , who met and served us was fantastic. He was friendly and great with the kids - showing us the toy cupboard and making us feel welcome.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.1
    Nice part of the world
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms and the hallways are a little tired and could do with a spruce up or a lick of paint. It was fine for a one night stay for us.

    Lovely and helpful staff, good location for us. Breakfast was lovely, cooked to order and plentiful. We also had an evening meal which was good. Nice bed linen and a comfy bed, and a generous supply of tea, coffee, biscuits and the bonus of a small bottle of complimentary sherry and chocolates.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    6.7
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness of the room - substandard. My partner and I didn't dare to have a shower due to the grim and black colour all round the shower head. The room was not clean, the carpets near to the bedside tables where we were going to plug in our phone chargers were grey with the amount of dust, obviously this room hadn't been hovered in a very long time, or if it had it was just the main standing areas. Not impressed.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Bar area and restaurant were nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.1
    Top scoring... if only!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff going outside all night for a smoke under my window.... yes, all night! Window open due to warm weather so invaded by chat and smoke until 4am. HOWEVER manager dealt with this very well in the morning

    Great location and good food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.8
    Friendly welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold water tap in room ran with warm water.

    The staff were lovely. Very friendly. Delicious breakfasts. The welcome sherry in the room was a very nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    6.7
    Okay but only just
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small. Bathroom was tiny with a weeny sink. It was almost impossible to wash your face without getting water everywhere. Not terribly clean.

    The staff are very friendly. The cider sold in the bar is excellent!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.6
    Most enjoyable and I would look forward to staying there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the late afternoon, as well as the early-morning there was quite a bit of disturbance through a door which kept banging fairly frequently. I mentioned this to the Hotel manager the following morning.

    The breakfast was outstandingly good, and the ambience in the bar in the evening was also excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    5.0
    Fix the small stuff now
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mattress protector on bed. This is a must as unhygienic. Sheet wasn't big enough for bed. Banging white door in hall. Creaking noisy stairs. These are easy fixes and must be done. Venetian blinds in restaurant dirty. Window frames in bedroom dirty. We slept well but wouldn't come back.

    Shower OK. Nice old coaching inn, no issues about that. Nice sherry and choccies in room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    8.3
    Goblin Ha'Gifford - a must for those who enjoy something a little more quaint and secluded!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not serviced on the morning of the second day which might disappoint some. However, you pay what you get for - and it was exceptionally good value; given that our stay was wholly unexpected then extended by another day (family bereavement) the staff went out of their way to make us feel very welcome at the same rates which was greatly appreciated. I know if we had asked it would have been seen to though, so we have no complaint.

    The room we booked was, as advertised, 'small'; however, having stayed at the hotel before we knew what to expect. This is a quaint hotel in an out of the place location that is so very much worth a visit and stop over; indeed, for those willing to deviate off the main road you will be less than 15 minutes from Haddington or Dunbar whilst Edinburgh, to the North, and the A1 South are so accessible if in a different time-zone!. The food is excellent and fantastic value for money; there's a decent pint on the tap too for any ale lovers! Indeed, if you can't stay (and I'm worried by letting this secret out in the open there won't be a room next time we want to stop by) take time to drop in to the restaurant where you won't be disappointed. The chocolates and sherry in the room to welcome guests was another smile maker for this very charming hotel. We can't be sure when our next visit will be - but this was our second and won't be out last. There is ongoing refurbishment taking place which will only add to the already good experience enjoyed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly small hotel with good food in lovely village setting
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in lovely village, hotel garden with seating, although didn't have dinner the food looked great. Complementary sherry & chocolates in room and very comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.2
    Ideal for a short stay with good restaurant on the premises.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cracked wash basin in the bathroom. Very little hanging space for our clothes. Wooden floor in the corridor outside our room meant footsteps were rather noisy.

    Evening meal served on the premises, food was excellent, staff were friendly and attentive. The room was ideal for our one night stay and our dog was readily accepted. Twin beds were comfy. Complimentary sherry and chocolates in our room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.5
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wooden stairs and hallway mean lot of noise when people moving around the hotel.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Picturesque, quiet village location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    5.4
    Average hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor heating in room. Bathroom door did not shut so cold from bathroom into bedroom. Shower is basic little power and noisy wooden floors in corridor. Go for good not for good warm sleep !!!

    Nice food and breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    7.1
    Great staff cold water
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water. Poor water pressure in cold shower, one meal was cold. No wifi actually available. Beds were not made and room was not cleaned during my stay.

    The staff were very good ans attentive.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    8.3
    Great wee stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing a didn't like was breakfast wasn't open till 8 so time it got cooked was 820 /30 not ideal if your working most people want to be on job at 8 idea would be open at 7 for breakfast don't get me wrong when it came it was lovely

    Very frendly staff got dinner food was good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    10
    Cosy surrounding's and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was above speaker in bar so there was some noise. Staff turned music down on request, so sorted satisfactorily.

    Cosy surrounding's and friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.8
    Great location for Edinburgh and Scottish Uplands
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel restaurant was good value with plenty of choice. The staff were very friendly and attentive giving plenty of advice on the area. This is a great central point for visiting Edinburgh and the surrounding seaside and country towns and villages. We would choose here again for a varied holiday stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant stay and will be better when improvements to rooms completed
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radiators/heating in room not working so cold No milk on tea/coffee tray Bathroom tiles very slippy

    Staff all very friendly/helpful Good sized room Nice restaurant/bar Staff provided fan heater in room and did explain they were in the middle of updating the rooms. Milk given to us with no fuss. Fabulous breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    8.8
    Staff at Goblin were great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that there were another set of quests in a different room (a floor up from us I think) that had music thumping through our celen

    Staff were extremely friendly, especially the main bar man (broad build) that was there when we arrived on the Saturday and was there when we had breakfast on the Sunday 12th, he deserves a medal very professional and friendly. A very warming man

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    3.8
    No one seemed to care
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water at all, Electric heater broken, replacement so noisy could not sleep, single bottom sheet on double bed could not tuck it in around the mattress shower door hanging off, was promised a call from the manager to explain problems no call received will not use again

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    7.9
    Full Scots/English breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom could have been a bit warmer, but it was very cold outside and only had single glazed sash windows.

    Full Scots/English breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    7.5
    Nice wee break
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I checked in they couldn't find my reservation but had a room. Later while having dinner they apologised for mix up, and there had been a room set aside for me. Hot water was luke warm and room could have been warmer. If I had been in the right room this might not have been a problem.

    Restruant dog friendly, good food, staff very obliging. Would go back.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.2
    Andy was a superb host and the little extra touches in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Andy was a superb host and the little extra touches in the room , sherry + truffles and bottled water made the journey to remote location less of a hassle and outweighed any premier inn stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    9.2
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not able to have a shower in the morning as there was no hot water. Did raise this with the staff. Apparently not the first guest to have complained.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was excellent. Room was comfy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.8
    A great welcome in a lovely place but hot water lets it down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's only downfall is the reliability of the hot water with tepid baths more frequent than hot, which marred it somewhat.

    Simon was a helpful host, and the welcoming touches of chocolate and sherry were lovely. The location is great in picturesque Gifford.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.6
    Really good find
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotels fault but no phone signal at all in village ! You are completely off radar, nice change

    Lovely place , very quiet village. Good selection of ales and a decent cider. Couldn't have breakfast away too early so they made me up a packed lunch with everything but the kitchen sink in it- brilliant. No faults at all

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    9.2
    Cosy country pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wifi reception in room (OK in bar). Other than that, no complaints. I had a lovely stay and really hard to fault them on anything.

    Really friendly staff. Clean, comfy room with a nice big bathroom. Great restaurant, best burger I've had in a long time! Lovely breakfast. Sherry and chocolates in the room were a great touch.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    We'd go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really anything worthy of mention

    Everything was better than we had expected compared to other hotels scored similarly. The staff were efficient and friendly, the food varied, of good quality and value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    5.8
    What a shame
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms out dated and below standard. Friends had no hot water for shower, dirty windows, previous occupents smoking from room and putting cigerate ends out of window ontop of the roof. Wooden stairs to room and I could here every person walking up and down them, bed was squeaky, soft and clearly needing mattress replaced, terrible sleep was had.

    The location was great, in the country and quaint village. Staff were lovely. Conservatory and garden seating area. Food was 1st class evening meal and breakfast, could not be faulted.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    wonderful , top class hotel , in lovely surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i found the hotel lovely, exceptional

    the meals were exceptional , plenty of choice . the room was comfy , well furnished . a special touch with sherry and chocolates staff were friendly .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    8.8
    At £55 for 2 b&b great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and service at breakfast could be improved. Disappointing. Very small en suite room 6 with smallest whb I've seen!

    Reception. Complimentary sherry and chocs in room. Lovely beer garden but unfortunately I didn't have time to partake😟 Nice area for a break

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    10
    Quiet village location with easy reach of Edinburgh,Musselburgh races and the coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent menu choice and good value for money Welcoming glass of sherry in room gave a nice touch. Staff were very friendly and helpful in true Scottish style.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.1
    A warm welcome but a room that needs attention .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 2 was in desperate need of a handyman to fix the curtains that are coming off and don't meet in the middle, to mend the light above the bed, to fix the towel rail and to mend the leaking shower head.

    It was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    8.3
    Goblin-ha : an excellent Giffoed hotle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the decor was quite shabby- the bathroom door in room 5 and lots of paint touch ups very visible in room 7. Also very creaky stairs were quite annoying late at night.

    Comfortable beds, nice en suite facilities and an excellent range of breakfasts, all within the price

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    6.7
    The beer garden was nice, although there,was,bird poo on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were slow and inattentive. Road outside was very busy and room was above kitchen , which was rather noisy .

    The beer garden was nice, although there,was,bird poo on the wicker chairs.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    8.8
    Really good quality for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really good quality for money. Only downside was the shower. Very little pressure and it took long time to get hot. Everything else great and good breakfast and food in general

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    10
    Brilliant place to stay in a beautiful little village
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no complaints at all.

    the sherry and chocolates were a really nice touch,and the manager ,Szyman,and his staff were so friendly.evening meal and breakfasts really good. would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    8.8
    The perfect place to stay after a long cycle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly. We got a warm welcome and the staff were attentive throughout our stay. The pub downstairs was nice and great value for money! We were pleasantly surprised by the whole experience and will definitely stay again

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    8.8
    Great stay at Goblin Ha'
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little tired with holes from previous pictures not filled. And a second bedside lamp would be helpful.

    The bar area and outside patio were lovely!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Good food, friendly staff and a nice pint of Deuchars. Weather too was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    During a hot weather spell, the window in bedroom was paint jammed and would not open.

    Ideal hotel in a perfect location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    The location and staff, Espically jess the manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 hour wait for dinner

    The location and staff, Espically jess the manager

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were pleased with everything

    Beds comfortable. Sunroom lovely to have meals in, looking out at lovely garden area. Good to be in a quiet village

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Goblin Ha' traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: