Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Goldsborough Hall 5 stars

Church Street, Knaresborough, Knaresborough, HG5 8NR, United Kingdom

#4 of 12 hotels in Knaresborough

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 285 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Absolutely wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything so perfect,lovely greeting,staff where wonderful.Room was lovely and bathroom super clean.The grounds where out of this world.Would highly recommend

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Great place but not quite as discribed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Presidential Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's described as 5 star but isn't. You also feel like you are gate-crashing someone else's party. The 8ft X 8ft bed is closer to 6ft X 6ft It has a hint of Faulty Towers about it

    The food was fantastic It has a hint of Faulty Towers about it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Faultless
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely genuinely friendly staff, spacious room with panoramic view of the pristine grounds, food in the restaurant must be amongst the best in the area and our party agreed the breakfast was the best we have ever had.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic hotel let down by the ‘never heard of before’ cot charge!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Emperor Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a suite with a sofa bed to accommodate our 2 year old son. They took it upon themselves to set up a cot instead which was fine but on reviewing the bill at home they had charged us £10 for the cot. I paid for an extra large room at cost and then they added an additional cost for the cot, which no hotel has ever done before! Not impressed one bit!

    Beautifully restored hotel, clean, fabulous room and jacuzzi bath! Fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely brilliant.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was nothing I did not like.

    The staff was absolutely brilliant. Very friendly thoughtful and very helpful. The staff did everything to make us welcome.The evening meal was very good and so was the breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Grand building and quiet ambiance
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is good if you own a car. Booking a cab is a nightmare in Knaresborough and we even experienced a cheeky driver who asked for £10 additional on top of our fare because apparently he came from Harrogate. We weren’t informed about that when we booked the cab and It destroyed my faith in Harrogate Cab taxi specifically BLUE LINE CABS.

    Grand and historical place. The building itself is a standout. The room I stayed in is nice and comfortable. The toilet and bath is in very good standards.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    A pleasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Emperor Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What an absolute gem! We picked this hotel purely based on its close location to the A1 to break up a journey from Scotland. Wow! Room was as my daughter put it “where princess sleep” and the room service was what one would expect from a very high end restaurant. A little problem with a over friendly cat was dealt with extremely professionally. Would go Out of our way In future to go back to this hotel. Can’t wait this highly enough

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    relaxing, chilling ,good food loved ,second time weve been
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Emperor Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    i would have liked to see breakfast included with the price of the room

    the bathroom was amazing didnt want to come out of room , the food was beautiful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is grand and has a real classy feel.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Emperor Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No late night food options... if checking-in in the early hours as we did... eat 1st

    The hotel is grand and has a real classy feel... big rooms and hot tubs in rooms... breakfast is of the highest organic quality

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    really enjoyable wish we had booked longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything was perfect

    really excellent all round, we did not dine at the hotel as we were visiting friends ,staff very efficient and friendly, beautiful building

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Incredible place to stay, stunning :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A most beautiful property set in lovely grounds. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Superb room and amazing breakfast. We had a magical time :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful experience luxury in Yorkshire at its best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful room even though it was the smallest room type. Attention to detail superb. Card from the owners to welcome us, Molton Brown toiletries, minibar, fresh milk in the fridge, cups and saucers, tea bag dish ..... Staff superb all very knowledgeable and engaging. Perfect!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    We felt like royalty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Emperor Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were wonderful - super friendly and attentive, and the rooms are absolutely beautiful! Very comfortable and very clean, we can’t wait to come back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    it's a classy place with excellent facilities and offers all year round. Great for food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV was too big for the room I had evening meal room service but had to juggle the furniture around to eat the room in general seemed too small for everything that was in it. whilst the bed was comfortable, the pillows were far to soft and offered no support

    Excellent location with stunning scenery and yet just a few minutes drive from the A1 Food was excellent, high quality produce beatifully prepared, breakfast was classy. The room was clean and had high quality furniture, fixtures and fittings car parking right beside the entrance was very handy shower was MIRA 360 with digital controls - instant right temperature, lovely. free wifi handy free use of phone in room for upto 2 minutes per call to either a landline or a mobile

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    We stayed for two nights and couldn’t have been happier, the room, the staff, the gardens all great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Emperor Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hall is an historic building sympathetically restored to an exceptionally high standard, it is set in fantastic gardens with a large covering of snowdrops that are really beautiful in February. We were given a short tour of the Hall on arrival and told some of the history of the property and gardens which was a nice personal touch.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Exceptional service, beautiful setting, wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service we received from the moment we arrived was exceptional, and the building, its rooms and grounds are beautiful. We chose to eat out for tea, but the breakfast we enjoyed the morning after was delicious. Overall, it was an amazing experience that offered great value for money. We have since recommended Goldsborough Hall to all of our friends and we will most certainly be returning in the future.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    The building, the food and the staff are all first class
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would be nice not to be charged for coffee after dinner or bottled water in the room

    Gainsborugh Hall it'self is a lovely country house with a wonderful atmosphere. The staff are exceptional and the food is stunning

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.5
    Great food the room was average at best wouldn't return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room low bed and bathroom was average liked the chefs biscuits didn't like the 10 per cent on the bill also slight sewer smell in bathroom total cost 330 pounds for the night would only return to eat

    Food was expensive but excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.3
    Will try somewhere else next.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress and pillow choice. Adjacent bathroom very noisy. Thin doors. Receptionist not responding to presence of customer directly in front in 2 out of 2 visits.

    Fantastic setting.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Completely charmed and delighted
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sections of the corridors are still rather utilitarian and reflect the time when the building was a nursing home.

    We loved the care and concern shown by the staff throughout our stay. We loved the orangery. The food was sensational. The surroundings picturesque and deeply peaceful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Exceptional combination of location, accommodation and client care
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good size room with the most comfortable bed - great night sleep guaranteed! Powerful modern shower in a good-size bathroom : you have the perfect combination of luxury and modern days comfort! Friendly owners and superbly trained stuff : I've never encountered such genuine client-orientated service! Will book again and again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    Far nicer than we expected and very reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast and dinner were well worth it. They were superb. The 400 year old (??) hall is just lovely, recently saved by the owners from redevelopment as apartments. The grounds are lovely. Definitely worth sitting outside and just relaxing with a beverage.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    An interesting and fascinating stay in an exquisite environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The food, service and staff were excellent. Friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The grounds were beautifully laid out and manicured. The owners were extremely welcoming and made a point of talking informally to the guests if they met them in the Hall or in the grounds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    A wonderful Hotel, truly wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Presidential Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything about this hotel. We stayed in the presidential room which was unbelievable, with a wonderful four poster bed, a luxury double ended bath in the room itself looking out over the gardens and uninterrupted views as far as the eye can see. combined with the history of the building and staying in the room which once was the nursery for Princess Mary's children made our stay one of the most romantic we have ever experienced. The staff were fantastic and genuinely concerned about our needs and requirements. Only a privately family run Hotel can offer such a service. I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially to those who are looking for an authentic experience of England from a bygone era. If you ever want to experience what it would be like to live like the aristocracy in the early 1900s this is the Hotel for you!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    A really enjoyable overnight stay in a superb historic building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hall and grounds and the room we stayed in was great, big bed, clean, with an excellent view from the window. The bathroom was immaculate with a spa bath and a push button controlled shower. The staff were courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a beautiful place to stay in lovely grounds. We enjoyed our walk around the wonderful gardens. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. We would not hesitate to book again. Ideal location to visit the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    peaceful and relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    you had the confidence and piece of mind to know you could relax and that everything was there that you needed. This is one place I shall keep in my memory box.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.3
    A beautiful old country house in a peaceful rural location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small. I could hear the occupants in the bathroom next door clearly.

    A beautiful old country house in pretty grounds. Friendly staff. My experience would have been better had I not been there on my own.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    The hotel, the room, the setting, the staff, the wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Emperor Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike

    The hotel, the room, the setting, the staff, the wonderful welcoming atmosphere, the outstanding food the chef is a genius, extremely comfortable bed, amazing bathroom, the grounds and again the staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Goldborough Hall is recommended.
    • Couple
    • Emperor Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had no air conditioning and was little stuffy. Otherwise perfect in every way.

    Luxurious room and wonderful surroundings. Friendly and helpfull staff. Would definitely use again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful, classical, luxury hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Presidential Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing that could have been better was the price!

    We stayed in the presidential suite...and it really was! A WOW view, beautiful classical room, huge bed, massive cinema screen. Pricey, but for a special weekend, worth it. Gardens were very picturesque lovely breakfast and staff who couldn't do enough for you. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening as we had other plans in Harrogate, which was also well worth the visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautifully restored stately home well located for visiting Knaresborough and Harrogate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully restored stately home with lovely grounds. Good location for visiting Knaresborough and Harrogate. The food and service was excellent. Great place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    The beauty of a period property with the comforts of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING

    The beauty of a period property with the comforts of the modern world Goldsborough hall was idyllic.It was also within easy reach of Knaresborogh,Harrogate and Ripon,all well worth a visit.The staff couldn't be better and all had lovely manners.This was booked as a surprise getaway for a fiftieth birthday and it lived up to all expectations .Top marks !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    The Goldsborough Hall experience ticked all the boxes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I just wish we had been there for much longer - one night is not long enough!

    The entire Goldsborough Hall experience! The ambience, the welcome, the attention to detail, the comfort, the food and the helpful, courteous and friendly staff. Goldsborough's receptionist, went the 'extra mile' to advise on choices, and ensured that our stay was all I wanted it to be for my husband's birthday.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Hotel in a stately home - it doesn't get (much if any) better than that!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything, from the excellent value for money to the sheer elegance and comfort of the hotel, which still has the feel of the stately home that it was in days and centuries gone by.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.1
    Location, lovely traditional features throughout, easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival at reception we were ignored for at least 5 Minutes receptionist (Karen) was completing a task on the computer! It was only when another member of staff appeared she acknowledged us - attempting to make amends with general chit chat etc and a tour of the hall! Bathroom (Lane Fox) could have been bigger, no need for 2 separate sinks, which also appeared to be on a slant! We felt overpriced and breakfast should have been included.

    Location, lovely traditional features throughout, easy access to other prime locations, ie York, Harrogate etc. Breakfast very enjoyable and service excellent. On our departure receptionist (unfortunately didn't get her name - we left 1st July - had a wonderful manner, polite and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Short, but fantastic stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only regret is that we were unable to stay longer, due to work and childcare this wasn't possible.

    Each member of staff we encountered were polite and friendly (one gentleman in particular, whose name I am embarrassed to say I cannot remember). When we arrived, we were greeted and then given a short tour of the Hall. My wife and I have a rather poor town car, which looked even worse alongside the Mercedes and BMWs in the car park, but there was no judgement from the members of staff. I mention this, to show that the staff are friendly and welcoming, not in anyway pompous. The Hall is spacious, with a beautiful dining room, reading room, lounge, bar (which also stocks cigars) and plenty of places to relax on the grounds. We didn't have the evening meal, but the breakfast was fantastic. It was well prepared and cooked, and there is the option to have it in your room. Which we did. The room (Harewood) has a beautiful and relaxing view, especially in the morning while sitting at the desk. Plus, the room's mini bar came in handy for a late night snack. Overall, I would highly recommend the Hall, one could easily spend the day relaxing in and around it without having to venture elsewhere. However, a great advantage of the location, Harrogate is only six miles away and York sixteen, so the option to spend a few hours in either or both is there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    A relaxing retreat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable accommodation with high specification bathroom. Staff were attentive and courteous. Food was first class. Overall a very relaxin experience away from the hustle and bustle.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    An Honour to have stayed in this Sanctuary of England.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This experience could not have been improved upon , perfect in every aspect.

    it is difficult to express the extent of our joy and pleasure in experiencing the perfect blend of luxury and kindness lavished upon us during our stay. An assault on the senses of beauty and perfection, in the architecture, furnishing, surroundings, food, service, peace and quiet, a wonderful chance encounter with the delightful lady of the house, and affection received from the stunning gentle deer hound and a charming black cat ambling around the garden of eden! The staff on reception were exemplary, and nothing was too much trouble in accommodating our every need and request. It was a privileged to stay in this elegant home, it is a time we shall treasure and relish with great fondness, a dream come true. Thank you for a beautiful memory.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic ... almost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have 2 x comfy chairs in the room. The two chairs we had we v hard but the only place to sit other than the bed. Advice is always check the alarm clock. It was set to go off at 5.50 am and I couldn't turn it off. Eventually yes, but I was wide awake by then. Do people really need alarm clocks these days? iPhones etc do the trick.

    Superb room , lovely building and public rooms, grounds and history. We opted for room service. Food was very good and service patient and appropriate. Just love the bed...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    A gorgeous and peaceful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was a little stuffy (we visited in early June), and the curtains unfortunately weren't blockout so the sun was streaming in at about 5am. Other than that, it was a lovely place to stay.

    Our one night stay at Goldsborough Hall was too short, we would have loved to have stayed a week if we could have afforded it! Staff were friendly and polite and the owner even helped us out with our bags. The room itself was incredibly comfortable and the bathroom well appointed (with Molton Brown complimentary toiletries). Close enough to Harrogate to go out for a meal. Went for a lovely early morning walk around the grounds and felt it was a peaceful getaway.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.5
    Poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast and no choice of continental which was virtually non existent ie cereals, bread, fruit , meatsjuices etc which we had to request be replenished. The reference to an AA award for cuisine excellence was entirely misplaced.

    The environment

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.9
    Great place, little more organisation needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When parking it's unclear how to access the hall as it brings you in at the back, plus when you finally find reception it is not manned. I had to wait 5 minutes for someone to come despite numerous staff passing by and pressing bell. When staff came they were very helpful

    Gorgeous location in beautifully maintained grounds

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.8
    Excellent peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked to have included an evening meal on both nights but it would have added a minimum of £180 to our stay . Our breakfasts, which were excellent, were charged at £15 per head per day. When I checked the Goldsborough Hall website it had deals which included both breakfast and evening meals at a inclusive rate. When I explained this to the young man on reception he explained we could not get this deal as it must be made in advance. Although this was a reasonable statement, we went to eat elsewhere and the hotel lost the custom.

    Excellent peaceful location. Able to completely relax during the day and also in the evening . Limited amount of guests, so plenty of comfortable areas to read ,talk or have a drink.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Truly wonderful family owned luxury hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Emperor Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    We had a wonderful night at Goldsborough Hall. It is a beautifully restored old house with Royal connections. With only 12 rooms, it offers a very personal touch. We walked around the grounds and enjoyed our luxurious suite. For dinner we started in the library where we chose our food before being asked into the dining room. Wonderful food and a great wine list. Breakfast was just as good with a terrific choice. Goldsborough also offers electric car charging. Fantastic building and superb service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.8
    Peace and tranquility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Day 1 breakfast was excellent but day 2 was not so well cooked and I was left waiting to be served after others who had arrived after me

    Peaceful atmosphere and staff were very helpful. Beds were very comfortable and roomy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.6
    English Country Hall living
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only minor complaint was that the overall finish of the en-suite bathroom was not really to the standard of everything else.

    The food was first class and the overall ambience of the place was wonderful. The service was such that you felt very at home, like you had suddenly become the owner of a stately country house. Outside the property the gardens and park land were a real treat. just a pity I did not have more time to enjoy them.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    8.3
    Excellent hotel - well on way to 5 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Emperor Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a few more staff - left waiting quite some time to order drinks in the bar; bed needs a mattress topper and spa bath wasn't working in room - apart from that the hotel is well on the way to 5 star status

    Beautiful house and food. Chef deserves a Michelen star - the food is First class and very good value for money

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sublime, superb. This venue and location are extra special. Exceptionally welcoming, warm (even on a cold February Yorkshire weekend) thoughtful and relaxing. The owners and staff clearly love this historic house and want you to love it too. Starting with the warm welcome from the receptionist when we arrived, open fires in the huge and comfortable guest reception rooms, fabulously furnished bedroom; peaceful and so comfortable, a delicious breakfast.. basically, if you are looking for somewhere extra special to stay in Yorkshire, stay here.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    10
    Gorgeous Goldsborough
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing too much trouble from the lovely staff. A grand hall but a welcoming home. Lots of little touches to make your stay special. Spotless and comfy. Views are spectacular.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.6
    Great bit of overnight luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Emperor Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We opted for the set meal at diner but then got hit with extras that were not explained, this put about £20 on bill for water, veg and coffee. I would rather of paid £55 and had these included. Just a little thing but for me then i do not feel like I have hidden charges :).

    Everything was first class, special mention for the quality of food.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    10
    Gem of a place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hall, beautiful room Peaceful, comfortable and great value Friendly Staff Couldn't believe the room for the price Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful setting, excellent service but disappointing room positionparticularly if there in the sum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View from bedroom very poor, fortunately we were only there for one night and dark by time we arrived. In morning overlooking the 'back yard' disappointing

    Excellent location with wonderful views in the morning. Food as good as anywhere and service both in evening and breakfast again good. Room spotless, good bed and lovely bathroom but see opposite

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a wonderful stay here and will definitely be returning, the building itself was beautiful and our room was fab, really clean and with a massive Jacuzzi bath and great views of the gardens. Strongly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    7.1
    Didn't quite meet up to our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Presidential Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole stay was compromised because of a reduced service due to a function on the Sunday. Breakfast finished an hour early and check out was an hour early. We would have like afternoon tea on arrival - a service which we didn't think was out of the question for such an establishment, but apparently had to be pre booked (sandwiches and cakes, really) None of this was explained at the time of booking and this is why we didn't feel it was value for money

    The staff were very attentive.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Amazing Hidden Gem....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well what's not to love about this fantastic building, everything was amazing from the moment we arrived. Such a privilege to be able to share this beautiful home, we will definitely return in the near future. Thank you Mark and Clare.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.6
    The Best Hotel in North Yorkshire.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing .

    Everything the whole experience from start to finish is first class, Coming from the hospitality industry we both understand how it should be done and The whole team do it perfect. The food is the best we have ever eaten , Presentation, Taste and Quality , The service is attentive and yet very professional and Friendly , The rooms have everything you could want, and the state rooms are very well finished and comfortable. I would say a must if your looking for quality then go here. You will not be disappointed with your stay we will be back soon.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    9.2
    Stunning Property and Comfortable Accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Such a beautiful property and the accommodation was lovely. All members of staff were friendly and helpful and we received a free upgrade which was a nice surprise.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful grounds, excellent staff, bedroom a disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was comfortable, bathroom small but well appointed. Disappointed wth the location of the bedroom , this was in an annexe. The view was the back of the annexe overlooking the kitchen car park.

    Staff excellent, food fantastic, location picturesque

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    8.3
    The room was lovely ,huge bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we opened the jar of biscuits only 3 biscuits between us think they could have stretched to 4

    The room was lovely ,huge bed.We loved the teapot,and milk jug in fridge good idea.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    10
    Amazing short getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! It was literally a perfect stay. Would 100% come again.

    We were given complimentary champagne on arrival as the Hall was celebrating it's birthday. A young man named Joel gave us a tour of the house including some info on the history. The two receptionists were fantastic and the gent who cared for us at breakfast did a great job. The service alone is enough to stay, that's without taking the beautiful rooms and grounds into account.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    9.2
    Short break at Goldsborough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Emperor Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been good for the package to include breakfast for the room price paid.

    Great room, comfy bed and really great bathroom. Good size TV. Very helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Luxurious!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What's not to like here? It's all good.

    Absolutely fantastic - beautiful location and facilities and staff very helpful. I've stayed before and hope to come back again soon. Faultless in my opinion.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.2
    Great place for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we had one evening meal, not cheap though what you would expect with a 5 star rating, but surprised that you had to pay for extras that should have been included in a 3 course meal!

    Room very nice, though little smaller than expected, hotel excellent throughout. Very friendly and helpful staff. good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    10
    Great location, well worth a stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really but a wider choice of type of evening meal would have been nice, i.e. lighter meals.

    Everything about this stay was good. The accommodation was very comfortable the staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was beautiful. The food was excellent especially the breakfast. Will definitely visit again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    8.3
    Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price of the room was reasonable, but the cost of dining in the restaurant was far too high for the food on offer. These were London prices in a rural Yorkshire setting! I would happily stay here again as the room & staff were excellent, but I would dine elsewhere.

    Beautiful location. Very polite & helpful staff. Very clean & fresh.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    8.8
    Does size matter ?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room (named Ampthill) was disappointingly small. We used to be in the accommodation business ourselves and would have been embarrassed to pass this room off as anything but a single....

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    7.1
    Ok but a little disappointed with the style and size of room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not clear on booking that it was room only. The room felt quite small and was a bit corporate. Could not have dinner in a dining room unless you chose the expensive taster menu

    Tea and coffee choices in room, welcome note and bowl of fruit bathroom and shower very nice and all very clean and bed very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    9.6
    Perfect hotel, wish we could have stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upgraded to a beautiful room, the bed was so comfortable! The bathroom was clean and had lovely molten Brown products. The staff were really friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    10
    A Taste of Quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although we had booked at a good rate in a quiet time of year, we were still upgraded to a fantastic room with wonderful quality furnishings. Lovely grounds as well. We chose to eat in the restaurant and the food was high quality.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    5.8
    Lovely place, shame about the staff and opaque pricing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff! The whole approach to guests seemed to be to hide the price of everything; no price on dinner menus, everything is an extra charge, not making it clear on booking.com that breakfast is NOT included then not offering you breakfast as an extra on check-in or telling you what price breakfast is. The staff are not very friendly; one is quite aggressive and sets the tone of the visit badly. The staff all seem to think what they do is right and don't really accept that they are doing guests a disservice. By the way, avoid the Ampthill room unless you want to be woken every morning at 7am by the staff talking loudly and shouting at each other.

    Beautiful old historic building with royal connection in beautiful grounds, comfortable lounge, friendly owner with great visions for delivering to guests and maintaining the heritage property

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    6.3
    Lovely hotel, but left unhappy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very unhappy to receive a call before our checkout time asking us to remove our car from the car park because they were setting up for a wedding, which made us feel very much that they wanted rid of us. Also very unhappy to receive an email after getting home saying they had forgotten to charge for breakfast, and were charging it to my card. It may be that I had not read the small print properly, but it is pretty poor breakfast not being included at £250 a night. It certainly wasn't clear that it wasn't, and with it not being a travelodge, one would normally think it part of the stay. When I responded politely saying I was under he impression it was included I didn't get the courtesy of a reply.

    The hotel was lovely. The room and gardens in particular.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    7.1
    A delightful country hotel but watch the prices for dining.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was expensive I believe, and therefore, as it happens so often with expensive hotel restaurants, there were only two other tables occupied thus it was very quiet with no atmosphere. 'Not sure if the food was worth the price but it was good. It seems most people go out to dine as breakfast was certainly more busy. If there was an alternative menu I'm sure more people would stay in the hotel as there weren't many alternatives in the town.Wine was poor for the price, if not corked (but I'm not expert). My main beef was the pricing arrangements. The price of dinner was not evident until the receptionist told you on check in. Also the clarity ref. breakfast booking was poor. I sort of knew that breakfast was not included in the deal but you are usually asked if you would like to book breakfast. All we were told was that breakfast was served in the dining room. So we went in for breakfast and were charged without option. I must admit it was worth the £15. However the perceived underhand way that extras were gained was poor for such an establishment. So for a £95 room the total bill for DB&B was £257!

    Breakfast very good. Building and grounds delightful. This is a luxury hotel for the discerning traveler but not cheap. I had a room on a deal that was about the same price as a busy premier inn. Thus room location was "round the back" The room was nevertheless very good. Staff were very friendly and efficient. Apart from the final bill, for what was a journey stop-over, it was a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    9.2
    You should stay here at least once in your life
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Emperor Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just exactly what you would expect from a 5* hotel staff were well trained and attentive, room was superb and lovely grounds to walk in certainly somewhere we would return.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    10
    special find close to Harrogate and York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing to dislike about this hotel.

    This is a fabulous find. You are welcomed like a personal friend of the family. Breakfast is great with plenty of choice and the rooms are stunning. Staff are really helpful and so lovely nothing is too much trouble. Wonderful gardens and grounds.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: