Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Goodwood Hotel 2 stars

38-40 Tavistock Place, Camden, London, WC1H 9RE, United Kingdom

#1006 of 1,030 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1459 hotel reviews

5.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    4.9

  • Comfort

    4.7

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    4.4

  • Staff

    6.2

  • Value for money

    5.1

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    2.9
    The rooms were dirty, and the showers were even worse, it...
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were dirty, and the showers were even worse, it looks as though they are never cleaned! We couldnt enter the building if there was no member of staff to open the door

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    5.4
    Convienient but disappointing. The broken bed was disguised I’d expect more for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small, the bed was broken, areas of the hotel didn’t look that clean and I haven’t been contacted about our complaint regarding the bed.

    The location was great for what we needed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    5.0
    Bad value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matress was poor and uncomfortable The light in the room did not work The curtain in the shower was missing The water pressure in the shower was poor

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    5.8
    Friendly staff but very disappointing service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet and no TV for the two day duration of my stay , which is akin to buying a car with no wheels hence my stay was neither relaxing nor enjoyable.

    Location. Close to London Underground, Piccadilly Line which is a direct line to Heathrow airport, and to Kings Cross mainline station

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    6.7
    Close to eveyrhing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuffy room. Couldn’t sleep well from how hot it was inside the room. Couldn’t open he window and it opened up to the common Space and the room door opens to the main shared area. The fan jus circulates the hot air. You get what you pay for in this place.

    Close to eveyrhing. Staff are great and the hostel is in an excellent location Room is standard , okay bed and shower. They also offer free bike for 2 hours. Which is cool.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    2.5
    Why in God’s name do Booking.com allow such a disgusting hotel on their site!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, hotel is rundown, dirty, building should be condemned, tiny rooms squashed into spaces, en-suite is a joke. The staff are only interested in charging for extras £10 deposit for room keys,£20 deposit for remote control- both refunded.£5 charge for each piece of luggage left......not refundable.

    Nothing, total waste of money

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    3.8
    Dirty, very dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would not class this as a hotel, more like a hostel! It was very dirty with marks on walls, curtains and bed sheets. Was not happy with our stay at all!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.4
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I expected shared and basic facilities but they were not clean. The lights did not work in one of the bathrooms and was missing tiles in a toilet. The room was pleasant but does need to be repainted. No heating in the room.

    Location was great. Nice quiet area and the bed was comfortable. Staff was friendly. Plenty of tea and coffee in the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    4.6
    Good location. Terrible room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos did not resemble the room. It was only a bedroom a very small size. The wallowing was coming off. Also we had to give the let back every time we left the room.

    The location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    3.3
    Highly not recommended for people looking for comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No bathroom in the room, no light in the bathroom, 20 pounds as deposit for TV remote control, dirty walls, moving panels in the floor, hole in the ceiling, very, very poor standard.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.5
    Ok if you're looking for a cheap location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not polite only two were. Also only one working shower which was shared.

    The location is excellent. Staff is ok. I asked staff if he could help me with my bags and stated there would be a fee.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    4.2
    The photos of the hotel looks way nicer than it actually is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos of the hotel looks way nicer than it actually is. The room was not up to standards and relatively dirty. The shared bathrooms were not great either.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    4.2
    Not great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Door to the room was not great and lock didn't seem very secure. Carpets and walls stained, no mattress protector on bed which wasn't very comfortable. Corridors very narrow and lots of banging doors through the night. Shower pod was tiny.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    5.8
    you get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed, bathroom

    Location was great and staff were cool. But bed and bathroom facilities not great. All room and passage doors have a shutter device that slams - hence constant slamming doors. BUT...i guess you get what you pay for (considering London prices)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.3
    Inexpensive and good location for my purposes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to pay a £10 deposit for the room key (which was returned when I checked out) and had to go back down to reception to get the remote control for the TV (but was not asked to pay the £20 deposit for this that was advertised on the sign).

    Inexpensive and good location for my purposes. It was very basic but that is what I expected. The room I had was quiet and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    2.9
    Horrible Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Honestly!!! is there someone from Booking.com who verify those facilities??? very disappointment

    How can Booking.com offer this discussing facility ???? , there was a hole on the floor covered with the carpet, horrible beds, dirty, this building need maintenance!! also bad Wi-Fi . Horrible experience

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    3.3
    Disgusting
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were 5 bathrooms for the whole hotel, 3 were out of order! Leaving only 2 bathroom for the whole hotel. There were centimetres of dust in the corners of the room.

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Three night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy: The walls are paper thin. Luckily we were off-peak season, so we rarely had any trouble. However we hear the shutting of doors as far as a floor above. I can only imagine what that is like when the hotel is full. Cleanliness: Well.. it wasn’t dirty but needless to say it wasn’t satisfactory either.

    Location : we visited all on foot. Making our trip insanely budget friendly Staff: As opposed to the comment we had a pleasant experience with the staff. They were helpful and provided information based on our questions. And even suggested some sights themselves

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not a ‘luxury’ budget hotel. It was dirty, the room smelt, door numbers were written on the doors in pen. You also have to give a security deposit even though you couldn’t possible damage the room more than they already are. Also the bed was not a normal size double, it was a lot smaller!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room. The noise through the walls, no housekeeping for 3 days. No room to move, filthy shower curtain. Steep stairs very difficult to climb. Dirty hall ways. Not acceptable

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Very Comfy Bed and Incredible Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    My window was a little cracked and couldn't totally close which was fine for the summer, but did make me nervous to leave anything too important in the room.

    The staff is really great here, super friendly, have some great recommendations, and honestly I just had a very nice chat with multiple people. Location is very close to UCL and SOAS, not too bad a walk from Kings Cross (though it might be tricky with a lot of luggage), very close Euston station. Room was fine and has a sink, bed was very comfortable. There is complimentary tea you can make. Bathroom was fine though I did wear shower shoes. I think this place is well worth the price and the staff will make your stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    4.6
    Dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny and dirty. Sheets on bed were clean but bed was very lumpy. Bad smell in the room coming from the carpet. Bathroom was a little cubby hole which i think must have been a cupboard at one point. Also had to pay a 10 pound deposit in cash upon arrival which wasnt mentioned. You have to give your key back every time you leave the room. Wifi is only good on the staircase. Reception is a guy in a small bedroom on the ground floor. Didnt stop here overnight and found somewhere else. Might be okay if youre just going for a stag do but wouldnt recommend for a couple

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty bedding. When I requested a clean blanket the staff didn’t know where to find one. The cleaner unlocked the door and walked in without knocking which made me feel really uncomfortable. Dirty bathrooms.

    Great location. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    3.3
    What the hell...
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't even know where to begin... The toilet did not flush well, if at all, the shower was small and connected to the rest of the bathroom, meaning there was no partition but a tiny shower curtain. The bed was HORRIBLE and sunk down in the middle, and the room was extremely small.

    I liked that I didn't have to wait too long...? The only thing they had was staff that buzzed you in...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    2.5
    Never again... goodness knows what I was thinking when I booked it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was awful! Holes in ceiling, filthy toilets, holes in walls, ripped carpets.

    Absolutely disgusting! Wouldn't leave an animal in there!! I WILL find a way to be refunded somehow!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    4.6
    Bad: Dont believe the photos.
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place was pretty dirty, the mattresses had stains on them, the loos were essentially porta potties and the room smelled terribly, on top of this i only stayed one of my 2 days and was not offered a refund or any compensation.

    Close to the station, thats it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    3.3
    London Horror Story
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was incredibly dirty !! The shower was beyond horrifying! It was a scary place , at my first night I found a little mouse running all over my room! If you are looking for a hotel, even a hostal with minimal standards to spend at least one night , I strongly recommend that don’t choose this place !

    It was a good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    4.2
    the bed was ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The have added a backboard to the bed and a cupboard and have declared the room superior. The shower was disgusting. The toilet is so close to the radiator that you cant actually use it properly. No towels. Not enough toilet paper. No remote for the tv. For the money I have stayed in a lot nicer places.

    the bed was ok

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property has a great location to the tube station. It has the essentials. Could do with a new coat of paint on the walls to freshen it up. Ideal if you only want a room to sleep in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.5
    Excellent staff, very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little shabby and the shower tiny.

    Excellent staff, very helpful and friendly. The location is also very good with tube, restaurants and grocery stores nearby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel if you want to stay in an excellent location cheaply and are okay with the costs.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the bed was a little questionable. There was a stain on the blanket so I decided just to not use them. Which doesnt bother me. Again if you are someone who needs the cleanest place not for you. I would never travel with Family or my Girlfriend here. But with my mates and trying to save a few quid: can’t be beat.

    Know what you are getting before you book this property. The Goodwood Hotel is not for everyone. If you need a place to spend more than 10 hours probably don’t book this. If you need a place with a safe private bed: this is an excellent stay. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I was heading home to the States after being in the UK for a few months and had lots of luggage. The Staff very graciously bumped me to a slightly larger room to accommodate that fact free of charge. The location is great being less than a 10 minute walk to King’s Cross. I was also only at this hotel for about 6 hours. If I had had to stay longer and wanted more than a place to lay down my head this would not have been it. Also if you want to stay in the city center before taking a flight from Heathrow the next day this is your hotel. It is a five minute walk away from Russel Squre Station where you can catch the Piccadilly line and ride straight into the airport for £6.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.4
    No breakfest butik food Places nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed Washington very small for 2 persons

    No breakfest butik food Places nearby. The pictures og the hotel is my h Better Thansen the Places is. So we where disapunted, luckely we only sleept there

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    3.3
    Disgusting hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very dirty and old building I had to share toilets and shower which were disgustingly dirty and full of hair. My bed sheets had stains on them

    The location was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    4.2
    Never again, booked due to step daughter in hospital away from home
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty, pictures were deceiving! Also have to pay a undisclosed £10 deposit for the room key. Felt so dirty i didn't even want to use the shower. Shared bathroom. Didn't stay for the second night, went and found alternative accommodation. Last min booking out of desperation but the pictures and reviews were deceiving, guess you get what you pay for here - very disappointing

    Open 24hrs

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    3.3
    Do not stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was tiny not like advertised , no WiFi like advertised , staff were very hostile, aggressive and rude. No toilet inside the room itself and no shower as advertised. When we arrived we were greeted by people checking out trying to get there money back as the room they were given was very unhygienic and had a hole in the floor. The room itself was dangerous as it had sockets hanging off the wall with live cables exposed and the majority of things were broken including the light. Wouldn't advise anyone to stay here i'm surprised the place is allowed to stay open with conditions. Do not stay here.

    Nothing at all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    3.3
    1 out of 10 .only the location was good
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilets and showers were very very horribly and disgustinly dirty and very filthy..the owner of this hotel should go to the 1 pound shop and get some cleaning products and clean even just a little bit ..the showers wers full of stains and hair and pubic hair ...am not a fussy person but i never seen such a filthy place very let down as the location is great but thats it ..i recomend this place only for prostitues and drug addicts they dont mind the filthyness .thank you

    The location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    3.3
    RECOMENDED JUST IN TOTAL ABSENCE OF ANY OTHER SOLUTIONS AND FOR ONE NIGHT ONLY, sorry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    With the help of booking.com the room was charged to me TWICE and it took me some time to get the second payment back. Money deposit 10Ł was demanden for the key of the room - and what a key (anybody could easily enter the room, oncluding booking.com representatives)!!! (I was given back the deposit at the end of stay) Instead of one bathroom for 2 beds (incorrect translation of booking.com into another language) it came out that the toilet AND the bathroom were both common for at least 4 rooms! No cleaning of the room at all. The trash was taken out only twice in 7 days, and twice I took it out by myself. Had to beg for the coffe/tea bags in the room. Noisy location. The walls have not been painted for years and the oil radiator was in the room since late spring (I visited hotel in July). The towels have been changed 1st after 6 days. Bathroom&toilet cleaning hardly ever noticed, flood in the toilet and shower common. Some of it also due to lousy guests, but the shower was blocked by all kind of hair that was never removed by anyone. Staff just sitting at te "reception office", no other staff at all.

    Close to the underground station and British Museum.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    3.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall, was a terrible experience. Pictures are very deceiving. Rooms where not clean after a day of stay, staff were very unfriendly and demanding (except for one English male staff)

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.8
    Look elsewhere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is very delpadated and the shared bathrooms were filthy and barely fit for use. Not very clean. Glad I only stayed one night.

    Location is great with loads of good places to eat.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    3.3
    It was really hot and the room got really hot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really hot and the room got really hot. Curtain didnt hold any of the light out. So was up very early and didnt sleep well at all. Smashed window in communal area, shower room was grimy and facilities out dated. I know this was cheap for London but it wasn't good value for your money. I would have rather spent more money to get somewhere more comfortable and relaxing, pictures were decieving as didn't look as bad as it was when booking it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    4.6
    Tiny rooms and lots of noises kept us from sleeping
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The level of noise was awful. All through the night we heard doors opening & closing, the guests next door chatting, toilets flushing, tube trains rumbling past beneath...we barely had any sleep thanks to the noises. The rooms are so tiny, like a box with a bed, wardrobe and sink. The bathrooms are shared between guests, and I wouldn't have wanted to use the showering facilities as they looked pretty grimy (fortunately it was only a one night stay!). The bedding was all clean and fresh, but the whole place was rather threadbare and in need of a lot of TLC. It should be classed as a hostel, not a hotel. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

    The guy manning the 'reception' area (which was basically another tiny bedroom made into a check-in desk area) was very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.3
    Expensive and Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 4 nights, the cleaning lady did not clean the room at all. We have to change bed sheets by ourselves.

    No breakfast, WiFi is pretty slow.The room is incredibly small. But considering it’s the center of London and the building may have a history of more than 150 years, then it’s tolerable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    A lovely little hotel in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and amazing value for money. About a 5-10 minute walk from Kings Cross, incredibly clean rooms/bathrooms and friendly staff. Can’t fault it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    2.5
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very dirty -in the announcement is said a 2-room bath - the basement was closed, the shower was not on the ground floor they askeid for 10 pound key deposit the dusty room the glass in the basement room in a courtyard covered with plastic, the room can not be ventilated

    nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    4.2
    Some of the room are slanted and some with holes on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the room are slanted and some with holes on the floor. Need to put deposit for key and tv remote. One of the staff is rude and attended to a customer after me.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Great place to use as a base camp!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms, bathrooms, corridors are a little run down & tired.

    Great location, close to Russell Square tube station. Pleasant cafes & shops nearby. Both a Waitrose & a Tesco located on walk to hotel. Was able to get a good night's sleep. Fulfilled our needs of being a place to dump our bags whilst we went to a concert & get back too late with no difficulty. It's what we expected for the price in London. In fact was better!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    3.8
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was absolutely appalling! Fare enough it wasn’t expensive and we only expected basics for that price when in London! But there is no excuse for that state! A room with a sink, shared dirty bathroom and toilets, damp on the ceiling! Just run down and not what we saw on the pictures!

    Location was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Good enough to sleep a few nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs only.

    For London it's relatively cheap, so don't expect the best, but it's clean and got even TV on my room. Location is good (quiet) and not so far from the tubes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.7
    For an overnight stay the price and location was right!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was next to one of the entrance doors to the accommodation consequently heard people coming in and out with luggage. Also early hours of the morning 3 people talking loudly from a night out! The shower was hot. To pay a 20 pound deposit for the room TV remote control - we did not use it!

    The price for the location in central London. Walking distance from Kings Cross station and restaurants/pubs. Close to the University of London SOAS where we were attending the Open Day the following day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    4.6
    Step up ur game guys if u want to compete
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was shocking and for 70£ a night wich for me in dollars is 120$ was expecting at least a nice bathroom.taps where broken ,couldnt use cold water conected to the room and power points that worked. Small room but bed was ok

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    4.2
    Horrible stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean at all hair on bed from female. The shower in room didn't work was cold and missing head. So I used one upstairs which was dirty. Toilet was full of mould and stunk of it. Definitely the worst place ever stayed. Way over priced.

    The location was really good close to train station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.3
    Cheap, clean sheets and decent location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets seem dirty and level of cleaning not very attentive to detail. Also ironing board broken (still broke from last visit 3 months ago!).

    Cheap, clean sheets and decent location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.8
    Good location, 24 hour reception but the room was not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small, and the room window was broken, I couldn't close it (there was a big gap), luckily I stayed there in the summertime. Old building that needs renovation.

    The location is great, close to St Pancras.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    4.6
    I've paid less and had more in other places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Door to my room is NOT a fire door (please see photo - large gap at bottom of door that would allow smoke to enter and kill). Broken windows in bathroom. Towel dispenser in bathroom was broken.

    Easy access to central London from Russel Square underground + Russel Square is on the night tube.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.4
    Great location but you definitely get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location but you definitely get what you pay for. The hotel asked us to turn in our key every time we left, wifi hardly worked, and the room was hardly big enough for the two of us. I'm not going to get into getting up the stairs with large suitcases. But again, location....! Plan on bringing your own shower supplies (soap, shampoo, etc.)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    Not the Ritz but a bargain if you want a central London crash pad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is dated, you have to pay a £10deposit for room key that you need to hand back into reception whenever you leave the building. Bathroom is shared.

    This is not a luxury stay by any means but the price is fair for what I got. Staying in central London with a friend for £35ea a night we were never expecting the Ritz. This is a hotel to get your head down for the night not one to relax in or spend a romantic week away in. Just expect to get what you pay for and you won't be disappointed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    2.5
    NOT A HAPPY STAY IN THIS HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole hotel was filthy and the staff not friendly, we had booked and paid £89 for one night no breakfast in a deluxe room so we thought, it was situated in the hotel in the basement with a blanked out window facing a wooden fence, the bedroom, toilet and shower was filthy, with not enough lights as the bulbs was broken, there were tiles missing in the toilet plus a broken toilet seat, mould on the shower ceiling rotten wood around the windows of both toilet and shower , dirt everywhere it had not been cleaned it seemed for months, I did take photos of the disgusting state of our room but cannot download on here. I STRONGLY ADVISE DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL.

    NOTHING about this hotel or staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    4.2
    If all you want is a roof over your head and have good ear plugs then perhaps choose this ‘hotel’
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs, absolutely no help from staff to help me get my two bags to the 3rd floor, PAPER thin walls (could hear AND feel the sex in the next room) , Toilet was blocked, shower was broken, basin plug was stuck.

    Location , location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    Fine. Nothing flashy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unexpected deposit for room key which had to be left at property. Big deposit required for tv remotes but can operate tv without it.

    Good location. Decent room size for cost. Very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Not bad. Met my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is just beside a road so it can get a little noisy at night.

    Value for money. Good location as it's located within 5min walk from Russell square tube station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.4
    It was okay just to have a bed for the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was missing a floorboard which was just covered by a carpet. My pregnant girlfriend nearly fell due to stepping onto this. Also a sheet which was on the bed was covered in stains. Also the bathroom in the room wasn't as clean as we would of liked. You could also hear all the other guests every movement when in the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    4.6
    Wont ever go back or recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double bed was very comfortable and to make it even worse when we pulled back the bedding to go to bed we found a large wet patch on the sheet that then went though to the mattress. The top blanket remained dry so was very strange. The man at the hotel was very good and offered to bring clean sheets but the only suggestion was to turn the mattress over (it was a memory foam) and sleep on the bottom. A really bad nights sleep and really not worth the money!!!

    It was a short walk to Eurostar train which was the reason we choose it. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    2.5
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not satisfied at all! Before my arrival I got an email saying that my credit card details were not the right one. I called the hotel and they said that it’s fine and we can deal with it once we do the check in. We arrived there and the place was a little hole. The deputy manager told me that my card has a problem and insisted to pay him cash (dodgy!!!). I have used my card that day and I have contacted my bank to see if there is any problem and they re-assured me that everything was fine with my card. Then he said that he wants cash and I refused since everything was ok with my card. He pretended that the card machine didn’t accept card that day (so weird) and then he said us to leave and he will try to charge us anyway later on. I used another card and after 1h the transaction was successful. Then we went to the room, which was in the basement!!!!!!!! It was relatively clean but it was a little hole! Noisy and we could even hear the underground. Bathroom was smaller than a bus toilet. They have asked £10 for key deposit and then asked not to take the keys with us - so what’s the point to pay deposit! That place was terrible, the deputy manager is unprofessional and rude, without manner calling me “woman” and sayin “listen woman” and he was laughing when I was angry about the payment arrangements. I paid £150 for a triple room for one night and I don’t think that this is value for money in a basement!!!! The place also stinks. Terrible. I am not recommending that place to anyone. I am sure you will get better accommodation on that price.

    The only positive thing about this hotel is the location which is next to Russell Square station (Piccadilly Line).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.6
    Deposit for key.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Deposit for key. Up 3 floors. Find no tv remote. Had to go back down. Deposit for remote. Could at least have said that when first got there. One look at reception which was also bedroom and kitchen. Not good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    6.7
    the location is great for those making pit stops for connection at St Pancras
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    note that there is no elevators in the building, so if you have heavy baggage, it may be tough having to hoist them up the narrow stairs

    the toilets are newly refurbished, clean and beds comfortable. There are convenient shops and markets just round the corner for food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.1
    Very close to restaurants and bars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a quadruple room and very small with minimal room for our luggage.

    Very close to restaurants and bars. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Quiet room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    3.3
    Small room, no sound proofing. Terrible nights sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos are not true to this hotel at all. It is more like a hostel than a hotel. I had to pay a deposit for my key and they wanted a 20 quid deposit for a tv remote! Ridiculous. The rooms carpet was in tatters and hadn't been vacuumed. I was staying overnight with an exam the next day and I got no sleep because the single glazed window had no sound proofing from the road and the walls are paper thin and my neighbours decided to come back at 3 am and have a loud argument. Apalled by this place. I would not recommend it at all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    3.8
    Awful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty carpet. Not been hovered for years,I guess. Shower on my floor not working. The one upstairs had faulty tap handles hence I couldn't regulate the water temperature. I literally bathed with very very scalding hot water. Dirty toilet. It's just NOT a hotel I will recommend.

    The fact that I had a room away from the main road

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    3.3
    I can’t think of one positive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start? Shared bathroom, shower was out of order. Toilet on top of the stairs was dirty and 1 toilet roll on the floor next to the toilet in a puddle of urine. It’s looked like it hadn’t been cleaned in years. Avoid this hotel at all cost. I would rather sleep in a doorway. Bedroom was smelly and dirty. It might seem cheap but honestly pay the extra £30-50 and stay in a proper hotel not this disgrace.

    I can’t think of one positive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    4.6
    Location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in the basement, only accessible through very narrow stairs. The shower and toilet were very old and the room had nothing to do with the pictures.

    Location is good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.3
    Ok for a brief stay and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    2 of the 3 toilets were out of order and there was an unexpected key deposit. Tired looking corridors and the room was quite stuffy, even with the window open.

    Good location and friendly staff. The bed was comfortable and there were tea/coffee making facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.4
    Reasonably priced and clean but if you’re looking for charm or hospitality look elsewhere.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying a deposit for my room key. Not being informed directly about also needing a cash deposit to access a TV remote though I did notice the next morning an A4 notice about it in the check in area (that also appeared to have a bed in the corner for staff use so that it felt like you were entering someone’s private bedroom rather than a hotel reception)

    The area was exactly where I needed to be, close to public transport. The room was basic but clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    3.8
    Very uncomfortable stay, felt someone was listening to what others do, expensive for bad service
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A property that shouldn't be rated with 2 stars. Very old doors which can't be locked from inside. Plastic box bathroom like on a caravan not a hotel room. Dirty cups which haven't been washed for ages, I had a drink in a coffee shop instead. I could get a better room for an extra £10, it was too expensive for such a miserable hotel. Completely un recommended

    Just good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.3
    Functional but not luxurious and close to underground station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You pay for what you get. Does it’s job but do not expect luxury. Served my needs.

    Good WiFi. Close to Kings Cross. Just needed a place to sleep overnight- got into St Pancreas late. Functional room with small but adequate en- suite. Clean. Suitable for me but not I I was travelling with my wife.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    3.8
    This place was not fit to accommodate paying guests.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t have internet even although this was advertised. The tv was pixilated so impossible to view. It wasn’t clean. There was no sink in the room. The shower room could be shared with up to 6 people. The walls were thin so I could hear my neighbours. It was noisey in the street below. The door didn’t feel secure. I could easily have pushed it open while locked. There were a lot of stairs to climb. It needed an overall thorough clean and it needed vast updating. I think it was vastly overpriced for very little comfort in return. I was asked to leave my key at reception when stepping out and a deposit was asked for it’s return.

    The staff really tried but it must have been difficult for them to staff such a run down establishment.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Goodwood Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: