Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grail Court Hotel

Station street, Burton upon Trent, DE14 1BN, United Kingdom

#7 of 7 hotels in Burton upon Trent

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 414 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    5.8
    Pleased that I'm home now!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This basic hotel did the basics and no more...it was a joyless experience, I'm afraid. It needs a shedload of money spending on it, which is unlikely to happen. My room was very cheaply furnished, although it was adequate. The heating wasn't on when I arrived, so I sat in my coat. Why oh why do the towels go on the bed? In this instance it was because there was little shelfroom in the ensuite shower room. Breakfast was adequate, but the only option I was offered was a full English (bacon, sausage, black pudding, eggs how you like, tinned tomatoes, mushrooms, beans and hash brown) with no fresh coffee or healthy cereals.

    The location is very convenient, right in the centre of town. The staff were lovely, cheerful and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    7.9
    nice short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room little tired , needed make over

    nice hotel , location good , staff friendly , helpful , polite Down stairs in bar / reception , fresh looking , clean , nice to have a drink there on the evening But our room looked bit dated , needed a bit of a make over , but it was clean , big , separate , on suite value for money

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    2.5
    Horrible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were dirty, our friends room (room 11) smelled like a sewer, very cold with no heating, facilities are a joke, awful hotel! Overall score shows as 2.5, even though I picked the lowest on the rating, wouldn't give it a 1! Dont stay here!

    Nothing!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    6.7
    It suited my needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    People were quite noisy coming back after late nights and getting up in the morning. you could hear everything.

    The room although dated was clean and usable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    5.0
    Breakfast was good, location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor was 'tired', wash basin in room which is unusual, en suite had slight smell as a macerator was being used to flush the waste.

    Breakfast was good, location was good. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    6.7
    Lovely entrance.... needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't spotless... shower had mould in it.. metal chair was dusty. As i was waiting for friends, i got face wipes out and cleaned it myself. The bed was slighty uncomfortable and duvet was thin, I was cold I was really concerned about parking down a small drive. So got up early and walked over and put a ticket on car. Perhaps need to speak to the council as get a pass?

    Close to town, surprising i didn't hear the traffic. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was lovely. The shower was hot and powerful enough.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    4.2
    Cleanliness.
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness.stale smoke in bathroom.very noisy unit in bathroom.Light not working above sink.She's barely covering bed.No teaspoons in room when we arrived.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.5
    Cheap and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating on a chilly night. Little noisy as I was on the main road so sleep was little.

    Room was clean and bed comfortable. Breakfast was prompt, just get some decent sausages and not minimum meat ones.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    6.3
    It’s convenient to the town center with its own car park
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room (With Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very tired and in need of updating but they were clean and fine for a couple of nights stay . For the price .

    It’s convenient to the town center with its own car park

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.3
    Staff and breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room (With Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Hotel is in need of significant investment to bring it up to a reasonable standard. Pictures do not reflect the experience. Carpets were dirty and worn; decor was poor; facilities need complete upgrade; electrics do not seem safe (damaged sockets, fuses blown or triggered, not enough sockets); Windows all need replacing. Shame with such a lovely team of staff.

    Staff and breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    I got a good breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wanted a vat receipt. The woman making breakfast left a message to reception to email me one as they had not yet started work. I had requested one during booking. I phoned up and asked for it at lunch, and received a confirmation booking for the next night! I phoned up and they said pick it up this evening when you check in. To cut a long and unpleasant story short it would have cost me another fifty quid save the booking.com call centre refunding me the money. I never got the receipt so don't stay here if a business is paying your expenses.

    I got a good breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    Very good value.
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom window was not double glazed which meant that we were disturbed by noise from the busy road traffic throughout the night.

    The staff were very pleasant especially the lady in charge of the bar. We arrived late in the evening and were well looked after.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.5
    Beats a box in a budget chain hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Information about breakfast, evening meals, and general facilities was sparce and the website very basic

    Beats a box in a budget chain hotel. Liked the individuality

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable, reasonable value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room (With Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a double room, ended up with two single beds and a bunk bed. Only one shower on the first floor (shared between about 6 rooms), so it was always occupied.

    Nice decoration in the restaurant and lobby area. Convenient location for the centre of town, with free car parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.3
    Good value, don't expect too much.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not like apart from the macerator toilet system that made a huge amount of noise. The shower was pretty weak and near impossible to set at a sensible temperature. Breakfast very average.

    Value for Money, you get what you pay for. The Grail was fine for what we needed. Comfortable twin room. Great location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.5
    Good location, just facing Sainsbury's and bus stop to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room (With Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can not reach the shower which it is located very high, but it is ok the price

    Good location, just facing Sainsbury's and bus stop to Turbery castle . Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    4.6
    not the best tbh plenty more hotels in the area so need to improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    almost everything bigger tv,s unblocked drainage system so can use the shower n toilet in the room n not pay for the en-suite when u can't use anything {pointless} waste of money bigger breakfast 1 bacon 1 sausage 1 egg 1 hash brown beans n toms is not an all day brekkie I was staving half hour l8r

    I could,nt have a shower cos the drainage system was blocked I could,nt flush the toilet cos that was blocked so it was pointless having an en-suite cos I could,nt use the facilities so the extra money paid for an en-suite was wasted the tv in the room was way to small and when in bed looked like a stamp on the wall and was at the far end of the room again it may well just of bin my room that had these problems but I don't think I will stay there again unless it was the only place available and had no other choice but others may not mind so if you do stay there my room 17 I would try and avoid due to these issues

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.7
    Staff were friendly
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms very stuffy and quite noisy (because the doors were flimsy). Shower wasn't great - hard to regulate the temperature & didn't drain properly

    Staff were friendly Cooked breakfast was very nicely made

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.4
    Breakfast good but had run out of eggs
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very poor - Shabby, Double bed had side panel missing; Dirty stained throws on beds, Bottle of Baby oil left in wardrobe from last guest!

    Breakfast good but had run out of eggs

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Atmospheric hotel. Great Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room (With Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seperate bathroom. Missed that in description of deal. But only across the hall. TV remote needed new batteries.

    Staff couldn't be more helpful. A freind turned up at breakfast and was given free coffee. Breakfast outside of normal hours, as we had to leave early. Clean room. Close to town centre

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    Good and cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A good bargain hotel. Excellent breakfast. Comfortable room. If you expect The Ritz for less than £50 you will be disappointed! If you want a decent cheap hotel this one fits the bill.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointed with levels of cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room (With Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the building and when I asked for toilet roll and the toilet to be cleaned on arrival. Nothing was done and the toilette and bathroom was in a horrible state. Will not stay again due to this

    God extensive breakfast and parking availability

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.8
    The room was clean, the bed was comfy, breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The drains smelt slightly in the bathroom, and the room could have done with another chair.

    The room was clean, the bed was comfy, breakfast was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    2.5
    I wouldn't wish a night here on my worst enemy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room dirty, mould in bathroom, toilets were missing seats and needed cleaning, toilet cystern in my room made a horrifically loud noise when someone in another room flushed theirs. There was no fan in the room, too hot to sleep without the window open but the noise from the busy road and the toilet cystern going in the night meant I didn't sleep a wink. Were told we had missed the breakfast time by 10 mins and staff wouldnt even give us a cup of tea without chargjng. When we spoke to the staff about a refund the receptionist admitted the hotel is not up to scratch and there were lots of complaints but they wouldn't give us any money back.

    Leaving

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    Overnight Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The road outside our window was very busy so quite noisy. Didn't really bother us but if you don't like road noise might be worth asking to overlook the car park side.

    Lovely staff...... very friendly and accommodating. Had a leak in one of the rooms, didn't really affect us but the owner was very apologetic the following morning. Good location as it is close to the centre of town and has large car park. Lovely full English breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.0
    Better at the travel lodge
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was full of fly,s . So I bought some fly spray used it and waited several hours before I attempted to go to bed the bathroom was vented directly into the room hence the flys. I would never use this hotel again.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    This is nor the Hilton but you are not paying the price of the Hilton.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a budget type hotel, it was good.

    This hotel is very basic and at least some of the rooms had sheared bathrooms and loos, which would not be acceptable for me. I think it should be made clearer when booking exactly what to expect. I was very happy with the room I received and their breakfast. It is also close to the railway station and other facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    Good sized room and comfortable bed, plenty of wardrobe...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no extra lighting apart from the main room light, so quite dark if the curtains were drawn, and no chair at vanity table. The sofa was too heavy to turn around, would have liked to have used the table to do some work.

    Good sized room and comfortable bed, plenty of wardrobe space. As well as the mirror at the vanity table, there was one above the sink and a full length mirror on the bathroom door. Convenient location near the train station and shops nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.7
    Property dated, but clean & welcoming, was upgraded...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room (With Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room at front of property was noisy

    Property dated, but clean & welcoming, was upgraded without asking,bed was comfortable, evening meal excellent, good selection & hearty breakfast., reasonably priced. Covered my needs for one night stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.7
    Very good basic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities were on the basic side and not all rooms had ensuite facilities but if you are happy to share bathroom and toilets with others it is a great place to stay for value for money.

    The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent This hotel offered good value for money and there were plenty of restaurants in the immediate vicinity. Very close to railway station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Good value hotel in great location . Definitely worth it for the money .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar shuts at 10pm !!! The mattress on our bed was very hard and a little uncomfortable .

    Hotel location spot on . Staff really helpful and friendly . The building layout was good . Great shower .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.7
    The price is reasonable for a town centre location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My husband was the traveller rather than me ... He missed breakfast by 10 minutes (but that included waiting for around 5 minutes while a member of staff, on her mobile phone, ignored him). He was told that he could have breakfast, but that he would have to pay for it again. This seemed a little harsh! He didn't bother.

    The price is reasonable for a town centre location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.7
    it was a pleasant except the cold water shower
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite well organised except the blanket appeared to be not properly cleaned with white woolly and dusty the hot water for shower was not well functioning with luke warm/ cold shower.

    almost everything was to a good standard

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    This should really be advertised as a hostel and not a hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room (With Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Where to start. I wasn't expecting much for the money but general cleanliness to match the photos online was expected. I like places that are a little 'quirky' so choose to stay here instead of a Premier Inn, which would have only cost about £10 more... regretable. It had no charm or comfort at all. The whole place smelt stale. No lifts so had to drag a heavy case up the stairs with no help. I went to my room which had 2 single beds and a bunk bed, one of the single beds was totally broken, massive dip in the middle. The bunk beds looked like they were past it too so I had to settle for the one usable bed, which wasn't actually that bad. The mirror on the door was smashed. There was a hole in the wall. The carpet looked like it hasn't seen a hoover in years. There were cobwebs so no dusting had been done. Things just looked run down and dirty. The room was too hot with the window shut, but being on a road, was too loud with it open as it is on a main junction with annoying beeping when people cross the road. The curtains were knackered. The room was really run down and needed a good painting. I chose a shared bathroom (by accident) which was 2 dingy toilets at the end of a dark corridor with limited signage meaning i didn't know which door to open with the keys. There was no sink or handwash to use after using the toilet. The shower did not warm up at all despite standing waiting for 15 minutes so I had to start the day with an ice cold shower. There was no shower mat which made the floor slippery and dangerous. This should really be advertised as a hostel and not a hotel. And I have stayed in much cleaner and nicer hostels. Not a good stay. Can't tell you about the breakfast as was so disappointed I didn't bother sticking around any longer than I needed to and got breakfast elsewhere.

    The staff were friendly. This is the only good thing about the stay,.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.0
    Wasn't expecting a lot for £50 a night, but was made welcome, and staff helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bar and restaurant infrequently open, strange as I was told that the hotel was full. Generally shabby and tired, but could have been much smarter with some cleaning and tidying up. Traffic noise (and pedestrian crossing noise) on the corner could not be avoided, as it was too warm to close the window for long. Car park needs clearing of rubbish, didn't seem very safe, and no CCTV?

    Friendliness of staff. Location (apart from the road junction noise). Value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.4
    Ok stay, but overpriced for what it was
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room (With Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi did not reach my room so I had no access, the light in my room didn't light the room properly, and the shared shower and bathrooms weren't great either. The breakfast was alright for a free breakfast but the ingredients weren't great quality

    The staff were very nice and were as helpful as they could have been.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    3.3
    I requested late check out, they sent me email about that-...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested late check out, they sent me email about that- and told my request is accepted... After few hours they told me it's not posibLe, so I need to checkout in morning... After that I was waiting 6 hours till next hotel.. So if you need a late checkout, choose different hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant hotel in the center of town with friendly staff at a very reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have hoped for a local key ale.

    The hotel appears to be relatively historic and the lobby and pub/restaurant area were nicely done in a style that would fit the best hotel in a small town at its hay day. I was very comfortable there and enjoyed my stay. My purpose in visiting Burton-on-Trent was to see were my fathers ancestors came to America from in 1839. The Trent river valley was the center of the British pottering industry and I believe my great-great-great grandfather had a large pottery manufacturing business there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Good value accomodation
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an old pub style accommodation, may not be to some people's liking.

    Easy to find, on site parking, friendly staff, comfortable rooms for money, good location, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.0
    Will not stay or recommend again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower room/toilet small, smelly and water logging during shower. Old shower curtain. Insufficient and Poor location of plug points.

    Breakfast and location. Lovely staff. Large sized room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    5.8
    price, breakfast & bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the ROOM - no-one appreciates the smell of the sewers & a shower that was either nuclear hot or arctic cold - nothing in between. When we asked for a 'cooling fan' - sorry no we don't have them. Instead we had to prop the heavy sash window open with our HARD travelcase (it would crush any soft case).

    price, breakfast & bar...& its own car park

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    3.0
    Would not stay there again
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable with flat lumpy pillows. No remote for the telly. No fresh fruit at breakfast. The room had a smell to it. No double glazing on the Windows so you can hear all the traffic. It's on a busy intersection so traffic is going on all night. The water pressure was poor and the shower was either very hot or freezing. I couldn't have decent shower. The towels were small. The restaurant smelled greasy. You could smell the grease as soon as you walked into the hotel. The Wi-Fi was very bad.

    It was close to town

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    Very clean rooms , exceptional value for money and brilliantly location 5 min walk to town centre
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn’t very comfy however I didn’t expect premier inn standards they offer cheap rooms and that’s why I expected

    Very good value for money. Quiet rooms and very clean. 5 min walk to train station 5 min walk to town centre. Can’t ask for much more, will stay here again 1000%

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.0
    Cheap with good breakfast but will not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattress was very poor as springs had squashed in the middle leaving a valley. Bathroom smelt of stagnant water. Toilet roll dispenser poorly positioned. Shower was a trickle and on a very high plinth, which made egress when wet interesting. Light switch by door so had to negotiate the room in the dark to get into bed. Room was very hot even with radiator off so had to sleep with the window open and it was thus quite noisy.

    Breakfast was good. Paid on arrival so check out was leave your keys on the breakfast table or bar. Extra pillows available. OK toiletries and plenty of tea and coffee. Mock suits of armour in lobby. Bar had a good rage of bottled beers but no draft bitter.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    5.0
    It served its purpose as a place to sleep and with a OK breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very old-fashion and quite torn down. The heating system is difficult to control, and there is a strong draft from the window.

    The staff is very nice and helpful. The parking is good and safe.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    5.0
    Convenient location for commuting however VERY poor facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room (With Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The light was broken in the first room that I was put in so I brought it to the attention of the front desk who then gave me a key to a spare room that they had, it was en-suite so an upgrade for free to their credit. The second room smelt of smoke, the bathroom light didn't work and the shower had very little water pressure and no hot water! I didn't bring these further problems to the staff's attention as I had just had a long journey and wanted to relax so made do with what I had.

    The cooked breakfast was brought it in a good time and was all hot and tasty.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    5.8
    I would avoid this hotel at all costs on another occasion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No-one in hotel overnight with knowledge to manage the fire alarm system. Everyone standing outside in the cold, even parents with babies. No regard for the paying guests at all. Later heard other guests complaining their heating had gone off ("we'll reset the boiler"). Low quality shower facilities.

    Comfy bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.3
    I missed breakfast so cant comment, stay was fine, this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I missed breakfast so cant comment, stay was fine, this hotel is excellently located for a night out in Burton. I left my jacket there by accident and had a call the following day to advise this. All cool!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    Grail Court, watch this space
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the hotel is soon to change, it's unreasonable to be too negative.

    The hotel is about to undergo a winter refurbishment. Looks unattractive from the outside but that should change soon.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    6.3
    comfortable clean room .
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room (With Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service was rubbish. All staff ourside smoking waited ages for them all to come in. Dirty dishes on tables no explanation of what was on offer. Sausages no available at breakfast. There is a supermarket opposite.

    Comfy clean room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    5.0
    location
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    my room toilet smelt very badly, at breakfast their wasnt enough tables, even a member of staff was eating breakfast in the PJ's, just very badly organised

    location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    4.2
    Staff was friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t clean, toilet not working and very noisy, room cold, heating too poor, no glazing so noise from the traffic. Toilets and bathrooms for other guest were at the end of corridor so everybody was passing my room, very noisy. Unable to lock the door from inside so didn’t feel safe as a female travelling alone. Won’t be booking this hotel again.

    Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Perfect for the town centre and train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is on a busy main street in town. Not the most sound proof of hotels.

    Perfect for the town centre and train station. Will return for another week end.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    4.2
    Due to taking more than double the amount out of my account, there is No chance of me recommending.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have taken More Money out of my Account. The issue has been reported awaiting answers. The place need updating or it will be shut down by Government Inspectors (Electric wiring need looking, rooms has nasty smell. Showers are of Poor quality. Hot water need looking into. Rooms need lot of repair work like Painting etc..

    The car parking is good. The staff were helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    4.6
    Thankful only one night would not recommend ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired fittings bad bed whole place needed time and money spent to upgrade it Rather scruffy all round

    The young staff were pleasant and helpful Breakfast freshly cooked

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    3.3
    I wouldn't stop here again, in a rush.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated hotel as a whole. Very small bathrooms, with used wash container in there. The general theme of the hotel was strange. Reception has a bell to use for customers, which is all well and good if the staff were about to answer it.

    The bed was comfortable, location was good for trainstation and town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    5.4
    Warm welcome but that was it never again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't expect to pay 65.00 for a twin room with ensuite to expect a 1970 vanity unit and basin to wash in the bedroom!!!!.... it's 2017...and every time you flush the toilet or go in shower.... sounds like QE2 is blowing it's horn...

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.9
    Clean, friendly, needs a little TLC, but perfect for a one night stay in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel could do with a little TLC. The room was a bit cold.

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely. The rooms although dated, were clean and tidy, tea and coffee in the room is always a bonus ! Nice overall stay for one night, would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.9
    Perfect location, clean and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room (With Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room without an en-suite via Booking.com, once we arrived at the property the proprietor told us we were in an en-suite room and this costs more...

    The location was excellent, added bonus with free parking also. Room 15 which we stayed in has a saniflow toilet which is very noisy. Period property with great original features.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.1
    Lovely staff, but tired appearance of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Twin Room (With Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs some TLC in places. The original room we had, the window didn't open, the headboard was broken on one of the beds. It was shabby. The paintwork and attention to detail could be improved. We had shared bathroom/shower. The light didn't work in shower. The water was hot though. I had a bath on for evening. It would have been good to have some cleaning product around to wash our bath first. Just seems tired in places. We were next to main road, so was noisy at times but wasn't overly bothered. I have paid for similar at other hotels and had en suite and better finish.

    Great location and near to restaurants and shops. After asking to move rooms, the second room was light and spacious. Basic but had everything I needed. TV and Wi-Fi was fine. Tea making facilities were there also. Breakfast was included in price and I had cooked breakfast and there was also a selection of cereals and toast, juice, tea and coffee. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. I particularly liked the style of the hotel on the ground floor. Almost medieval.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    3.3
    Won’t be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room (With Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were dirty and smelt damp and stale. I was put in a room with bunk beds and 2 single beds for me and my partner. The window wouldn’t stay open had to share a bathroom

    The bed was comfy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    4.6
    No reflection on the satff but I'd only stay there again if I had to
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room (With Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The overall cleanliness, the facilities, no en-suite facilities, ill-fitting and single-glazed windows letting a lot of traffic noise in, the tired and not well maintained decor and fixtures

    The staff were friendly, the breakfasts OK, the location good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    Decent enough hotel for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was first floor facing the road so I could hear some background traffic noise. It was not a problem for me, but if you're someone who needs complete silence to sleep, it may be worth bringing ear plugs. Decor was a little tired but no problems with cleanliness - everything in the room worked as it should.

    Perfectly fine one-night stay. Friendly staff, decent room for the price. About 5-10 min walk from Burton train station, and near supermarkets and other shops. Cooked breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was central to everything . It was easy to get around on foot . Grocery store was right across the street and restaurant in the building . Everyone was very friendly and made you feel welcome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    3.8
    Should be named the Grim Court
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was tiny and there was no hot water. When we arrived at breakfast there was no table set for us. Help yourself tea and coffee, there were no cups then no spoons and finally the burco was empty so no hot water. Made do with juice and a coffee back in our room.

    Good location for a visit to the National Brewery Museum

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.0
    This Hotel is situated in the middle of the Town, perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    While the Hotel is in the middle of the Town obviously the Hotel is of a very poor standard. The manager & staff are very polite & helpfull but unfortunately the wrong job for them. Dirty rooms, dirty bedding, dirty bathroom, dirty restaurant. Special surprise during the night with unexpected visitors in our room. The hotel is ideal for workmen who drink alot (staff included). We booked this Hotel for 4 nights & checked out after 1 night. This Hotel should not be classified as a Hotel.

    This Hotel is situated in the middle of the Town, perfect for shopping, restaurants, etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.3
    Basic, slightly unclean if you look closely but fair value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had an ensuite toilet & shower and when flushed the toilet made a noise similar to a train horn? (not very relaxing at night) and the shower was very weak. The whole bathroom smelt unaired. Off street parking was not signposted so I had already parked & paid in the retail park before I was told where it was.

    The bed was comfortable, the staff were friendly and my fry up in the morning was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    I remember this lovely hotel from 40 years ago. Sad to see the state that it is now in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room (With Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the twin beds had seen better days. Entire hotel needed cleaning/decorating. Some traffic noise but not bad for town center location.

    Staff were excellent. Breakfast perfect. Location and parking were convenient. Bathroom/toilet were clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    3.3
    Never again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed looked unmade. Throw had stains on. Very tired room. Pipes for plumbing extremely noisy on flushing loo. Towels left wet on floor instead changing. Socket didn't work by kettle. Glasses from bar left all week on too. Breakfast didn't bother after orange juice tasted old. Not much for drinks hot water milk. Those eating breakfast vastly undercooked. No lifts to 2nd floor. Told hotel used for homeless. Slept fully clothed top bed to start and itched thereafter.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Lovely staff and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather was unseasonably cold so heating wasn't on, just wrapped myself up though. The showers probably need a bit of maintenance. There is traffic noise on the lower floors facing the road, so possibly a room on a higher floor or facing the car park is better if you are a light sleeper. The windows are single glazed, not by choice obviously as there are listed building restrictions.

    A good example of a 200 year old listed building still with original features. The bar, restaurant and reception areas with the medieval theme was the best. If you are looking for somewhere to stay that has a history and doesn't look like a Travelodge, then this might be for you. The staff are lovely, helpful and easy to talk to, it made the stay even better. Full English breakfast was good and lots to choose from at lunch from the carvery. Rooms including towels and bedding, were clean and of a good standard. I found the bed really comfortable. Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    4.2
    unless you are a group of lads looking to dose down for the night and not bothered them don't bother
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room (With Shared Bathroom Facilities)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty, not been hovered properly for a long time looks like sick stains on carpet between the bed, dirty underwear behind the draws in room 26 been there a long time," didn't dare look any further" toilets not very clean and not ventilation so smelled a lot, still old tooth paste no the taps in the room. the beds not very comfortable wobble all over and nearly all the doors had a punch whole some thing wrong with then.

    Bedding was clean, breakfast OK staff friendly enough.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    5.8
    The bed was very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot tap in the bath fell off regularly, the hot tap in the sink ran with a trickle and was hard to turn off. The decor was dingy and in need of upgrading

    The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    2.5
    Stay anywhere but here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not clean, there were cobwebs on the ceiling and a spider in the corner. Bedding was dirty; there were small blood stains and a cigarette burn. Toilet was used upon arrival and not flushed. No water pressure in shower. Hot water tap did not work. Towels not clean, and no face cloths or hand towels provided. Mould in bathroom and bedroom. Saniflow attached to the bathroom plumbing kept us awake both nights we stayed. Bits of food and raisins on the floor. Dirty and dated decor; peeling wallpaper and a hole in our door. Room smelt of damp. One of the plug sockets (closest to the mirror) did not work. Inside drawers and wardrobe were filthy. Tv remote did not work. Cups and spoons in room were not clean. Food looked terrible - we refused our free breakfast and went elsewhere. Staff were rude and refused a refund, or partial refund. Overall hotel from hell

    It was easy to get to from the train station, approx a 5 minute walk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    4.6
    Bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Had a lot of trouble checking in with credit card had to get money refunded got someone else check out reciets was not told nonluft my parents struggled walk8ng would never ever go again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    Cheap but not so cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is a bit depressing - all brown but decent size room. Breakfast was ok.

    the bed was hard which is perfect for me. Good size room and easy to check in and out.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: