Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Gosforth Park 4 stars

High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE3 5HN, United Kingdom

#18 of 76 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1183 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.7
    Bit of confusion here n there as it was changing from...
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of confusion here n there as it was changing from Marriott to Britannia while we were there but overall th experience was good. The decor was a bit tired chairs in th room old n uncomfy but th bed was fab 😊😊

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    3.5
    The bar was not restocking any drinks because they were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was not restocking any drinks because they were being taken over imminently They had a very limited amount of drinks nd these were all top price drinks because the reasonably priced went first Most disappointing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.4
    Disapointing :-(
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No free wifi, and paid option did not work, Shrugged shoulders by staff when I questioned it No help or explanation offered 2hrs wait to be served food even though they were not very busy the next night I tried room service ordered cold drink warm food got warm drink and cold food !! blank faces when I questioned this again no explanation or apology. This was my first stay at a Marriot for a long time, this one just helped remind me why!

    Decent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Birthday Treat was relaxing and a very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed one night and used the pool etc which was very nice had it all to ourselves. Good breakfast, pleasant room. Plenty of Parking spaces easy to go into Newcastle by bus. We visited the hoppings in the afternoon so it was nice to relax afterwards with a swim.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    The bed was the most comfortable bed I’ve ever slept in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downfall was we ordered room service pizza & fries & they weren’t very nice at all apart from that it was lovely

    The bed was the most comfortable bed I’ve ever slept in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    Great staff , bar service dreadful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    G & T served in a wine glass, no gin glasses ! £7.50 for the “ pleasure” Terrible choice of draught, pint of Budweiser served in a becks viper glass ( as a bar owner I find this wholly unacceptable, especially at the high prices)

    Staff are amazing & local which makes a huge difference!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Necessary as we needed to be at the Freeman Hospital 0700 Thursday and we live 55 miles away.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Northumberland Plate Race Festival, facilities such as lounge bar full of people watching flipping football. I'd rather watch paint dry.

    Superbly helpful, kind and humorous staff, reception, dining room and housekeeping. Good food with a good choice of variety.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    It was ok
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please add even one vegan option on the menu so that I don't have to stand out as awkward just because I want to eat. No mini bar. Only one towel for two people.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Good quality hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi not great and having to pay up front for the use, that was later taken off my bill to be fair.

    Excellent gym and steam room. Clean room and comfy bed. Delicious evening meal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel with great staff and facilities
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain about all xlnt.

    XLNT value for money - the front desk staff were great. Nice king room well presented. Breakfast buffet was outstanding. Will use again in the future for sure.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.3
    Didn’t feel like good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning didn’t work and windows only opened very little, making the room too warm over night and particularly in the morning. Dinner in the bar was average.

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    A very pleasant stay, with hospitable staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here for the magic weekend. We were welcomed by some very pleasant staff. Check in was quick and easy and we were in our rooms in minutes. The grandchildren enjoyed the pool which they used before a very good and extensive breakfast. We arrived back late and the main restaurant was closed. However the bar menu is very good and we all ate well. A very enjoyable stay and will definitely book again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.1
    The breakfast was beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid 200 for our room and wasn't informed that their was a conference on until 2am in the morning! So hardly had any sleep due to drunk people right outside our room with the conference room being straight under it. Staff were informed and it was dealt with appropriately the next day so we were happy. The drinks are very overpriced to and we felt like it was a little dated.

    The breakfast was beautiful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.5
    Generally satisfied with my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The fire alarm went off at approx. 1a.m. due I believe to a pressurised pipe bursting in the boiler room. All hotel guests had to evacuate the premises and assemble in the car park. My sleep was interrupted for two hours sleep due to the inconvenience of being woken up & having to vacate the hotel.

    I have known this hotel for many years and would expect to use the hotel again in the future.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Ideal stay away from city centre but near enough to get to the city and surrounding coastal places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi only available if your a rewards member, have to pay not free for others.

    Always get good service at this hotel. Friendly, comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable hotel with excellent facilities only a few minutes drive from Newcastle city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool and spa facilities are great, although a little spoiled on this occasion by unsupervised children. This has never happened during past stays though, so I will not let it put me off. Double beds in the twin room are big enough to ensure a good night's sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    3.8
    I hated the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, they did not clean it well, the bathroom door knob fell off on our first use, the towels were smelly, my lotion fell under the bed I found it filthy down there never seen such dirt under a hotel bed there was a bottle and paper that was between the nightstand and the bed for 3whole days am never going back again

    The spa was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely public rooms good rooms great staff
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More staff at breakfast Sunday Landscape outside area more, the carp & pond needed better plants around them

    Great fresh bread Saturday breakfast, it had gone & not been replaced Sunday Nice eggs cooked in front of you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    We had a very pleasant short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel fabrics & furnishings are looking somewhat tired & dated.

    our room & bed were very comfortable & the bathroom was lovely. All the staff, in particular Josh, we met were very kind & helpful & we had excellent steaks in the bar on Sunday evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Great quiet location with all the facilities you could wish for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t fault the hotel and can honestly say one of the best we’ve stayed in so don’t feel we are able to comment

    Great public transport facility outside the hotel Beautiful setting next to golf course Really comfortable bed and so quiet Good food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable hotel but rooms ready for refurbishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedroom & bathroom fittings & decor are looking tired and ready for a refurbishment. Very disappointed to find that a charge was made for the internet in the bedrooms yet it is available in the public areas free of charge. You need to have booked directly with the hotel & be a member of the rewards programme in order to get free internet in the room. Otherwise it was £3 per hour, with daily charges also available.

    The beds were very comfortable and the bar area and food are god.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Great value stayjust neefs a few tweeks
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    12.50 for a large wine the smoke detectors in the room flashed brightly and found it hard to get to sleep

    Proximity to the race course good meal deals and facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Very convenient for the racecourse which was our destination.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating/air conditioning units in the central area outside the hotel was noisy all night

    Very convenient for the racecourse which was our destination.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Good location very quiet nights sleep very large bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay extra for internet in our room because the speed was far to slow in the public spaces. We had four different serving persons for diner and one didn’t know what was on the menu.

    Good location very quiet nights sleep very large bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.3
    The bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in in my life and the pillows OMG no support they weren’t even a pillow your head basically went right through to the mattress!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    5.8
    Go elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I took photos of the damage in room. Curtains ripped wood furniture damaged screws hanging our of door handles top of tap missing dirty glasses piled outside room in corridor. Also in restaurant dirry serviettes to prop up table leg. Reception staff rude.

    Property was dated and the items in teh rooms where dropping to bits. When we complained through booking.com who where amazing we where fobbed by the hotel who.said we should have complained at the time. Waste of money over priced. Go to the premier inn.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Due to the free room upgrade our stay felt special and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot breakfast buffet was only just warm enough it could have been hotter. Pool set up lots of stairs with wet feet. Having wet towel facility in pool area was unsightly. Jacuzzi stopped working for quite a long period for no apparent reason. A number of car parking spaces were very tight meaning cars were parked across 2 spaces. . Restaurant was shut on Easter Monday. We ate in the bar which was acceptable although my fillet steak was overlooked. Bar area was cold especially on Easter Saturday. We ended up sitting in the lounge area as it was warmer.

    Liked the free upgrade to the room together with the happy birthday brownie and card in the room. Complimentary bucks fizz. Room was quiet as requested. Staff very friendly and helpful Liked the grounds and the access path through to the racecourse. Booths in the bar with inbuilt tvs. High quality toileteries.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    A great hotel with brilliant staff, nothing was too much trouble.
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the paintwork was a little jaded but it did not detract from a lovely comfy room.

    The bed was so comfy and the bath was lovely and deep, just right for relaxing in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed with the room backing onto where the lift was so we had disturbed sleep due to lift banging during night & early morning

    Lovely breakfast room was nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location to stay near Gosforth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accessing WiFi was problematical and I was charged - fortunately your helpful staff were able to remove from bill - thx

    Good room, very friendly staff - swimming pool was a nice bonus

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed the stay, thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a fire sensor above the bed that had a flashing green LED light which blinked every thirty seconds...

    The bed was a great size and very comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room too warm even when thermostat turned down Reception staff not as attentive as I would have expected on our arrival!

    Good car parking. Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable and perfectly satisfactory, but let down by the dated ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The overall impression of the hotel is 'tired'. Opened in the 1960s, looks as if nothing has been done to update it in the meantime. While everything appeared in reasonable order, it just seemed very 'dated'. I was particularly struck on leaving the lift at 4th floor, by the dingy corridor. From my days growing up in the area, and seeing the GPH as 'THE' hotel, I was surprised by it's condition and presentation today.

    Breakfast was the only meal taken and overall was perfectly satisfactory, but not exceptional. The room was comfortable, and well provided with 'consumables' as you would expect from a quality hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.5
    will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Classy for the money. Excellent breakfast facilities. Ideal location for the racecourse. We did take the precaution of a torch for the walk back in the dark

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    Like hotel and have stayed here be in the last two years. I enjoyed the leisure facilitates as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit cold one night asked for an extra coverfrom desk but did not get it as requested -I think a spare cover ready in the wardrobe would have been avoid idea.

    Soft comfy bed and pillows

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.0
    Was ok would not book again
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty 2 single beds one tea bag in pot thing bath room was dirty food left out on hall way off room service dust of top head board not for me hardly any drink to pick from the bar

    Pool and stuff was ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic, friendly and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows in the room were awful, really couldn't sleep with them

    Excellent customer service from walking through the door until leaving! The price we paid for the stay was fantastic and well worth it!! The room was standard but everything we need, leisure facilities were great and we had a lovely relaxing afternoon, the brew bar lounge was great, prices reasonable and we tried the food and that was excellent! Staff really friendly in the bar and a complete relaxed atmosphere which was great!! Breakfast also really tasty and a good choice! We normally stay at the Hilton but will definitely be coming back to the Marriott.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was the staff that seemed unfriendly, rushed and not too have been trasined well. Room service knocked, then walked straight in three times even though we were a 12.00 check out. At reception she sympathised saying it had happened to her in another Marriot hotel-hardly endorsing her product!

    The hotel and facilities were good value for money. The leisure pool, jacuzzi and gym werer especially good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Near to race course, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed with the breakfast, I had the full English, but it was just warm not hot, even though we were one of the first couples to have breakfast.

    Large comfortable room. Friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.1
    very comfy bed , lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was a number of hairs in the bath/bathroom this has now been the case for the last two times we have stayed here

    very comfy bed , lovely breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Overall fantastic stay and well worth every penny.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exceptional service from staff from first arriving right up until we left. Room was lovely and spacious with large TV. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious with lots to choose from. Free parking. Staff assisted with booking a taxi for a trip into Newcastle. Arrived promptly. Staff went outside to greet taxi for us. Overall fantastic stay and well worth every penny.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.1
    A good hotel fit for the purpose of our stay but quite costly considering the broken toilet.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our toilet barely flushed. Upon leaving, the car park was like an ice rink and our car got stuck in its space then again driving out as the car park hadn’t been shovelled or gritted.

    Was able to book quickly and easily online during a stressful time looking for an emergency room. Staff were friendly and polite. Room was spacious with a large tv with a good selection of channels. Room service menu had a good choice was a fast service. Meal was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    2.5
    bitterly disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No flexibility with their T&C's - and although I understand they are in place for a reason- when exceptional circumstances are applied- common sense should be also. Given more than 24 hours notice that I couldn't make my trip but they refused to give me a voucher (I didn't even ask for a refund) for my stay that has been delayed a week. As a Marriott rewards account holder- this made it all the more disappointing- Will not be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Hotel canter for the races next door!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all so friendly at reception, dining room for dinner AND at breakfast time. Nothing was any bother for any of the staff team. They make a great team who clearly work well together.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    The double double room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The double double room . The way the receptionist accommodated us with another room because of a party in on the floor. And of course being in Newcastle.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Friendly, helpful staff, comfortable beds and very clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to climb into a bath to have a shower. I am disabled and this hotel has no rooms with walk in showers, so it does make showering somewhat difficult due to my mobility issues

    Friendly, helpful staff, comfortable beds and very clean rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The rooms had radiators which made it easy for us to control room temp. Also , A/C worked so we had a fabulously cool room. Room service excellent . Perfectly cooked stay. Sauna & steam room also excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    Girls weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was poor for this standard of hotel and I was disappointed there was no mini bar.

    Comfortable and clean room. Spacious and well equipped. Temperature easily controlled. Excellent breakfast. Friendly staff willing to help.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    bed was uncomfortable but spotlessly clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    radiator could have been switched on once room allocated very cold day view from window room 205

    bed was uncomfortable but spotlessly clean took me a while to work out heating not enough milk portions in room (4)for 2 people

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.5
    Dinner service could have been much better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner service could have been much better. I was left for what seemed like a long time waiting to order. Once ordered, the food arrived very quickly, but a starter portion was given to me instead of a main course. When challenged a main course was provided but it was missing two vital components. One of which never arrived and the other right at the end of the meal. A complimentary glass of wine was a positive gesture but did not make up for the mistakes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.6
    Marriott
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was fine although the bar food and especially the drinks were overpriced

    It was close go my family and in a central place for visiting places and shopping.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we don't drive it was a bit far out and you need a car to do anything really.

    Excellent breakfast. Room and bed bigger than expected. Staff very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    The hotel is always clean and the staff friendly &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the hotel could do with refurbishment of the bedrooms, especially the windows as you can hear the traffic on roads outside especially at night.

    The hotel is always clean and the staff friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    6.9
    Excellent room, very clean and well appointed with a very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast disappointing and not up to the standard I have experienced in several previous stays.

    Excellent room, very clean and well appointed with a very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.2
    Noisy central heating, couldn't sleep with it on.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy central heating, couldn't sleep with it on. Shower head was loose. Woke up with rash on my cheeks! However - staff were excellent, and stay, although short, was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    5.8
    I've stayed in better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hidden charges should be a thing of the past. A service charge was added to my bill for dinner at the bar. This should have been mentioned when I ordered or advertised better. £3 for 1 hrs internet in your room is a joke too. Basic internet should be free (just put up your room rate to cover it and while your at it do the same with your food and drink) . The bed was not particularly comfortable. Not recommended for anyone on business travel with strict expense guidelines.

    Air conditioning in the room, big TV.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Good stay with a horrible breakfast
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast.... I can’t begin to express my thoughts on frozen food microwaved and serving is not what I expected from a Marriott. Bacon and Sausages were hard like rocks so I couldn’t be bothered with the black pudding. Even the croissants were frozen I guess. None of us enjoyed breakfast Utterly disgusting.

    There were leisure activities which I couldn’t use due to the brief stay. Checking out at 12 was a bonus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel in pleasant location and with good road links.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the furnishings looked a little tired eg curtains and netting.

    Convenient location as near the A1. Overall the hotel is of a good standard for the price charged.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Great hotel, lovely room
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - wish we could of stayed longer.

    Xmas gift 🎁 and card delivered from the hotel to our room on Christmas morning. Delightful surprise. Nothing too much trouble for the staff. Made to order omelette best I have ever had. I am gluten intolerant and hot toast served from the kitchen to order.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.6
    The staff were all very helpful,the room was cleaned every...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff were all very helpful,the room was cleaned every day to a high standard and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. I would happily visit again and would recommend to friends and family.I stayed there last year at the same time.The Christmas day card and gifts were a nice touch.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.1
    With the exception of Christmas Day, very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on Christmas Day was extremely disappointing. Very chaotic, with dreadful service.

    Nice bar and restaurant area. Spa was lovely apart from disappointing opening hours over the Christmas period.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.1
    Our first stay at this hotel and we would stay there again purely for the leisure facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on last day was cold - cold plates and no lids on fried foods. Pillows were not of good quality also don't know when was last time underneath bed was cleaned.

    All staff friendly and efficient. Spa and leisure area very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.2
    A warm welcome and pleasurable stay - a great way to start the Xmas holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower caps included in the range toiletries. A few mistakes with the breakfast order but the smiley face on the lid made up for it!

    Staff were friendly and helpful. A very warm welcome. Good parking on site. Hair salon on site excellent! Ambience In the public areas very good. I asked at reception if they could book me a taxi to get into Newcastle. A very helpful and friendly member of staff organised it for me and the taxi arrived in less than 5 minutes - impressive! Breakfast order delivered on time through room service and the lid on the glass of fruit juice included the days forecast temperature and a smiley face - nice touch! Easy checkout.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    6.7
    Although the Property had a great location for an event I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the Property had a great location for an event I was attending at Newcastle Racecourse, I think the rooms require an uplift. The decor is old and worn and didn't fit with the initial image of the hotel I perceived when in the reception/bar area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    5.8
    Friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn’t work. Light from smoke alarm keeps flashing. Annoying when trying to sleep. If it was directly over bed then might not have been an issue

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food on the room service menu was very expensive. I would of liked a small fridge for cold drinks through the night .

    The facilities in the room, ie iron and hair dryer. The breakfast was delicious . Staff always available to help.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    3.8
    Poor worst ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rip of prices water flowing all the time through heating system in room couldn't sleep also paying £40 for breakfast on top of £240 for 2 nights stay unreal

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.0
    Facilities were OK, staff could do better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asked reception how to get to the racecourse on foot. They gave me poor directions and I ended up walking through pitch black woodland at night, then scrambling down a disused railway embankment to get to the road. In the morning at breakfast, on arrival at 10am nearly every table in the restaurant had used crockery and cutlery on it. The staff member struggled to find me a clear, freshly laid table. It seemed that nobody was clearing dirty plates etc. from the tables. Very unsightly and disappointing.

    Breakfast food was good. bed was comfortable, room was quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.4
    Some of the stuff were quite nice somewhere miserable, it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the stuff were quite nice somewhere miserable, it was too crowded nowhere to sit and I have back problems. the room was ok and the bed was so uncomfortable the pillows were a nightmare we tossed and turned all night. I could also see dust along skirting boards in dining room and corridors

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.3
    It was really good for a one night stay and met our needs ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that hot tub was out of order. Found it to be very noisy around 1am when people were returning to rooms. In particular there was a very distraught lady who was shouting in the corridor and several people banging doors. Also being charged for a jug of water with my meal, which I thought was rather cheeky.

    The staff were excellent with special mentions to Andrew on reception, Liz and her housekeeping team and Stewart our breakfast team member, who all gave us special service during our brief stay. Our evening meal was lovely and had really good portions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    5.4
    Disappointed to see a once good hotel being allowed to go to seed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was tired and dated, especially the bedrooms with worn soft furnishings and old single glazed windows which did little to reduce the outside noise. During my stay the restaurant was closed,(Sunday), but was offered the restaurant menu in the bar, this was a very basic menu and the meal was of mediocre quality, although the cheese board was good. I was looking forward to using the leisure facilities, especially the jacuzzi, but the jacuzzi was out of order. Had to change rooms due to noise, this was efficiently done with no quibble, the next room was quiet but again worn furnishings and it had a zip linked six foot double with a four foot six headboard, however the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was dreadful, buffet style full breakfast, the fried eggs had a hard skin on them, the sausages and black pudding were dried out, mushrooms were tinned and the whole meal was like warm, but on the upside the bacon was good and the staff were friendly, I know that I should have complained about the breakfast at the time, but by that stage I just wanted to leave. I remember this hotel from the late seventies when it was the best hotel in the area, unfortunately it has failed to keep up with the times and modern expectations.

    Hotel staff were friendly and efficient, the hotel was conveniently placed for the purposes of my trip but a little isolated for an extended stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel, friendly staff, comfy rooms, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jacuzzi wasn’t working which was dissapointing as the whole point of booking the hotel was to use the leisure facilities. Would have been good to have been informed before our stay or even when we checked in.

    The breakfast was really lovely. Lots to choose from and all the staff were so friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasurable way to end a family celebration to mark our Ruby Anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea never good at breakfast-too weak and not warm enough but had great soft omelette. Couldn't work how to control lights it was all or nothing so ended up using a torch to go to bathroom in night. Couldn't open window and windows seemed tatty.

    Great staff, could control room temperature Great location for us

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    5.0
    Dissapointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room right above conference room was noisy until early hours. Could hear men outside shouting. Lights of taxis turning up shining right into the room until late. Also disappointed the jacuzzi was closed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.5
    I would stay there and eat elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked the main restaurant for thE Saturday night as meeting an old friend I hadn’t seen for awhile. I wish I hadn’t the service was slow and poor, the food mediocre for what should be a £18 main course. Be warned go for the bar food

    The reception staff were fab and helpful couldn’t fault them

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: