Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Pier Guest House

11 Maderia Place, Kemptown, Brighton & Hove, BN2 1TN, United Kingdom

#27 of 67 B&Bs and Inns in Brighton & Hove

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 231 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay in a Guest House - Rick was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rick was most welcoming and he cooked a delicious breakfast. He also allowed me to leave my luggage in my room - leaving me with the key and so able to return and use the facilities until I was ready to leave, which was most kind of him

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Very Happy Thanks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot during our stay and although there was a good fan in the room, we had to sleep with the window open. Unfortunately, the local sea gulls like to stay up all night and make a dreadful racket which kept us awake. Not the fault of the hotel and, most likely a problem for all guests staying in hotels locally.

    The guest house was spotlessly clean, the staff very friendly and polite and the breakfast was absolutely first class. Centrally located in Kemptown and a short walk into the city centre with parking close by. All in all excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Good location. Wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view outside the room window. There is an ancient banana skin and the paintwork needs attention particularly as the dining room looks out onto the same area.

    The breakfast was excellent and freshly cooked to order

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing, really. No complaints.

    Everything! The location was fabulous. The owner went out of his way to do everything to make my stay comfortable. I wasn’t able to join the others for breakfast so he brought it to my room. He had coverage all day & evening (with a 4 month baby as well). I never saw that baby not smiling & laughing!! It was quiet, clean, perfect! 5 stars!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Great staff, lovely room, fantastic breakfast, would definitely stop again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could have done with better placed sockets, one was behind a chest of drawers and the others next to the bed so was awkward to plug an iron in as there wasn't enough room to iron beside the bed. TBH not the biggest problem in the world!!!

    The staff were so pleasant and very helpful. The best cooked breakfast we've had in a hotel. Rooms cleaned every day. The hotel is nice and central, 5 mins from the shops and pier.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    OK - Parking not at the B&B and costs extra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is not at this b&b - we were directed a few mins drive away to a public car park which I never in a million years would have parked my car. It definitely would have ended up with scratches and dents. We ended up driving back to the b&b to see what other car parks they could offer a short walking distance. They then proceeded to tell us there is a parking permit you can purchase for £10 for 24hours parking in Zone C (conveniently we hoovered in the street until someone left and we took their space). This could have been communicated much better

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    The perfect relaxing break with amazing hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy seagulls in the morning, cannot fault anything else at all!

    They were amazing hosts, they really couldn't be more helpful. The room and communal areas were spotlessly clean and I am very fussy! The breakfast was beautiful, the room was quite small but it didn't detract from the excellent service. Usually we stay in 4/5 star hotels, this was the first time we've stayed in a guest house but we were pleasantly surprised. We would not hesitate to book another stay and happily recommend to all groups, especially couples and families. Also great location, near the beach and short walk from the centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Good weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was expensive, and local area generally was very expensive.

    Central location, friendly staff, comfortable, good breakfast. Very close to all main attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Grand Pier so close to everything you expect in Brighton, and the staff were so pleasant and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of Grand Pier was perfect. From the front of the building you can see the new zip-line experience right on the seafront, and turn the corner and there's the famous Pier. Had great sleep each night, on one of the most comfortable mattresses I've slept on in years-in room 4. Will definitely be back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Weekend in Brighton
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bar and sitting room for all guests would have been nice, but not essential for our visit. Our room was a good size but only because we upgraded. I think all rooms should be shown on websites so you know what to expect & can see what a Standard Room will be like.

    Friendly & helpful staff. Went out of their way to accommodate our request for slightly later breakfast. Much appreciated. Breakfast was lovely. Comfortable room & good location to town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.7
    Ok but small and overpriced, wouldn't go again
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and cheaply furnished. Breakfast was underwhelming - I asked for continental breakfast and got 2 cold croissants and a large bowl of plain yogurt (plus the usual toast, jam and cereal). Seating in basement breakfast room was shabby and very worn. Flashing fairy lights just outside the room was a bit odd! Not asked if I wanted breakfast before my early start on Sunday morning so didn't get anything. At £90 a night it was overpriced imo.

    Clean quiet room on 3rd floor. Convenient for sea front and city centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    A really lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only would be that the breakfast room was small but that didnt matter to much anyway because the food was so good.

    The property was really lovely and cosy with modern decor so it wasn't dated at all. The staff were really nice and helpful. Over all we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.9
    Cosy guest house, good location happy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked more breakfast options or a larger english breakfast. Also would have liked more amenities but for the price you can’t complain!

    Very tidy hotel and close to the beach so entertainment was never too far.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    Great location for a Brighton break. Does what it says on the packet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room quite small, shower also small. No sockets next to bedhead. no bedside table my side! Lots of stairs if you are in high number rooms

    Clean and tidy. Very nice breakfast, extra toast if wanted, friendly staff. Excellent location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.9
    Good Guesthouse in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed in Room 2 located o ground floor at front of guest house. The upvc bi-fold door to the en-suite was falling to pieces so you could not shut the en suite off from the main bedroom. One of the bedside sockets did not work. There was no radiator valve control knob on the radiator in the bedroom. The rope operating the front sash window was broken. Rusty screws on bathroom shower metal rack inside shower cubicle. In the down stairs breakfast room the leatherette seating needed refurbishment. None of the above spoiled my stay at this guest house.

    Secure entry to the property. Friendliness of the owners. Comfy bed. Good shower cubicle with powerful mixer shower. Great freshly cooked to order breakfast. Great location for Brighton Pier, Brighton Pavilion & town centre. Good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Welcoming, comfy and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went for a weekend. Was greeted by the most friendliest staff. Very welcoming. Room was perfect and very clean. The whole place was clean and tidy. Breakfast was really lovely with a full english on offer as well as cereal and fruit. Was lucky to get parked in same street, have to buy permits at £10 for 24hours but much cheaper than parking elsewhere. Maybe hotel a little too pricey for this time of year. But really couldnt fault the place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Great little B and B perfect for a weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little on the small side but it was perfect for us as we spent all of our time out exploring Brighton.

    The staff were very polite and attentive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    Worth a stay - reasonably priced and great location , can't go wrong
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - the place was great

    Great choice of breakfast Kind staff. - Rick & Rosie Very safe and clean Good value Friendly and unpretentious place

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.9
    Very comfortable. Nice to stay somewhere with a little character, instead of the big chain hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one to contact out of hours eg.night. got split from partner on night out couldn't get into property as were only given one key between us, and he had it!

    Breakfast was lovely looking out on to the little court yard. Friendly staff.Good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    Great stay as ever! Love the Grand Pier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A bit of noise from Brighton nightlife, but soon got used to it and clearly worse at weekends. Apart from that nothing not to like.

    Stayed here many times, but this is the first with the new managers Ricky and Rosie who were very friendly and hospitable and willing to please. The location could not be better and the rooms were spotless.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.5
    The guest house is in a perfect for the town - shops, bus links and places to eat
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was made to feel welcome. Lovely comfy bed, clean cosy room, Good warm shower and a good breakfast to start the day. I was staying in Brighton for a course and this was a perfect location for transport links. I have already booked to return again in a few weeks time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    Very cosy and homely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Duvet quite hot and too cold to sleep on top. Need more layers of bedding so we have choice of temperature.

    Great location. Single room was very quiet. Cosy room. Friendly service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.5
    The manager was polite and efficient. He did a good job but the premises had a hostel-like feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the breakfast room - it was small, in the basement and had too many tables squashed in together. It had a back bench seat which was covered in black PVC that was cracked and peeling.

    The room was nicely appointed but small- and in the attic. It did have a view of the sea but only if you sat right in the window and craned your neck. I thought it was overpriced. The room was very hot - there was a fan but it wasn't very effective.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money - we would recommend and rebook Grand Pier Guest House
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing to find fault with

    Location is excellent - within less than 5 minutes walk of the pier / seafront Rooms are comfortable and clean. Breakfast is cooked freshly to order

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.5
    Albeit small, the room was very neat and tidy and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are much smaller than shown on the photos. Lots of stairs to climb - bit of an issue with a dodgy knee.

    Albeit small, the room was very neat and tidy and clean. The staff was very friendly and the Full English Breakfast very tasty!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are a lot of stairs to the upper rooms, staff did carry up our luggage, which was nice, but if you have mobility issues, this might be an issue.

    Everything was fantastic. Friendly staff, very clean and comfortable. The location is amazing, literally a 2-3 minute walk to the sea front. Breakfast was tasty and quick.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely and clean!! staff very friendly and a great location! !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small and hot.need blackout blinds!! And lighting in bathroom needs to be brighter!!

    The bed was very comfy breakfast was fab!! Very helpful staff.. cleaner was lovely!!😀

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.1
    The bed was really comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't great. And the communication wasn't great. As smokers the 3 flights of stairs was abit annoying.

    The bed was really comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    6.3
    Was ok, bit overpriced
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was right next to the front door so could hear pple coming and and leaving. Very noisy location on the weekend could hear all the noise from bars etc kept me awake. Breakfast finished too early would benefit from greater flexibility of breakfast time

    Friendly staff comfy bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Good clean place to stay, beware the seagull noise if it's a hot day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Slightly small bed for two people. It was too hot, even the open window wasn't enough sometimes as you have to open the curtain as well, then you lose privacy since there are windows right opposite, also the bloody seagulls don't stop screaming all night. It's not the hotel's fault I guess. Maybe there could be air conditioning? To emphasise, It was a very nice stay. We are not unhappy at all :)

    The location, the friendly staff, the cleanliness, tea and coffee in the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    The young man who worked there was an absolute star, nothing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no private parking for the hotel; you have to park on the street or at the nearby off street carpark. The hotel will sell you a on street parking permit £10 for 24 hours however, finding a space in Zone C was a bit of a challenge. There is an off street car park, within walking distance, £18.20 for 24 hours

    The young man who worked there was an absolute star, nothing was too much trouble. We had room 9 at the top of the house, lots of stairs so you need to have good mobility to climb up there. Very nice room, with a view of the sea when you are seated in the bay window. Breakfast was more than adequate and served in the basement again, more stairs to negotiate. The Brighton Pavilion was within walking distance. The sea is at the end of the road and there are lots of local shops and restaurants nearby

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Rooms were spotlessly clean, staff were helpful and polite,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Nothing there to dislike

    Rooms were spotlessly clean, staff were helpful and polite, breakfast was more than just adequate and the Guest House was just a short walk to the beach, transport and shops. Just a beaut place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Perfect stay for a weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only one thing that I would say, was that our room was quite hot. After being out for the day we went back to our room and the heat hit you as soon as you walked in. They did provide us with a large fan but it didn't really do too much. The rest of the house was perfect temperature though so might have just been our room.

    The room was perfect, we booked a larger room as you get a little seating area looking onto the sea, which was lovely. The beds were very comfortable, the room was spotlessly clean. I love that breakfast was also included as well. Staff were also very friendly. I stupidly left my leather jacket there when we checked out, but they phoned the exact same day to inform me and I collected it later that day. Definitely would recommend!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.2
    positive stay experienced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking in brighton adds a lot to the expense of the holiday. Didn't do permit parks no but getting a permit on arrival is probably tricky as guesthouse is on a narrow road

    Good breakfast. Close to where we wanted to walk

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.8
    Great, clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm. I understand it's a warm time of the year, and there was a fan supplied by the hotel. But I think air conditioning would have been more justified at the price of the room.

    The staff are very friendly and welcoming. And the breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    6.7
    Not worth the price for b&b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size and the amount of heat that was in the room wasn't very breathable I'm not claustrophobic but the images on the website were misleading, we had booked a superior room for £390 for 3 nights. But it wasn't superior at all, just a small double room there was only space to walk into the room and besides the bed, but when you came into the room your right next to the bathroom. Also being a hot weekend of 32c we had 3 Windows, only one that opened about quarter of the way and tricky to open any further. We also had a tower fan which didn't do anything , the room was warmer than outside and once you had a shower you were sweating again. Also the shower would Fluctate between cold and hot or hot and lukewarm ect depending on what you set the temperature at. The dining room wasn't what expected it was cramped but luckily there wasn't many people in there when we dined.

    The style of the room was lovely, it was resonable quiet at nights only after the nightlife which wasn't too bad, great location to food places, pier, sea life and beach, the landlord was helpful when needed and cleaning lady was delightful we had a nice chat with her . Food was lovely and was well kept with cleanliness.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    5.8
    Amazing staff but the room let it down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needed a lot of TLC! The plaster was coming off wall, there was no lock on the large window with a ledge underneath but we were responsible for theft, the tiles in the bathroom were loose, the shower door was broken and there was a very thick layer of lime scale on the inside handles - to the point were we didn't want to touch them! Hairs in the bed sheets. Plus we were kept up by a seagull nest outside our room and on the second night someone was sawing at 11pm???

    The breakfast was great, the bed was really comfy and the staff were really friendly/informative.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.8
    Good value for Brighton.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little small.

    Close to the town centre. Staff very friendly, good full English breakfast. Parking outside B&B with pay and display supplied for £10 per 24 hours

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just returned from the Grand pier. Stayed two nights. 4 couples. We had two different tyes of rooms standard double and superior. Superior rooms not much different tend to be at front of hotel and slightly bigger rooms with a sea view. To be honest I can't really fault it. The rooms were very clean. Nice fresh bedding. The manager was very friendly. If we had any questions he was there to help. The breakfast was fulll English. Or there were cereals and fruit. Plenty to eat. We normally stay alone sea front. But this location was fantastic only a short walk to the town. Plenty of bars and restaurant. We ate in the Italian a few doors up. It was very good. And there is a pub opposite that we also visited. You can get a residents parking ticket for £10 for 24 hours. And park anywhere in zone c. A lot better than the £25 for car parks. I came back On the Friday night, and the hotel had left me some flowers and a card for my birthday. Very thoughtful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.6
    Really enjoyed my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing of note. There was a minor, temporary interference with TV reception, but this may have been general to the area. In any event, TV was not that important to me on this visit. I liked the breakfast, but I have been elsewhere with a greater choice of cooked items

    Excellent location, not far from the Pier. The room was modern, well furnished and well suited for a single traveller. There were little touches that added to the experience, such complimentary shower gel, biscuits, small bottle of water, ironing facilities. Very good wi-fi. In the past, I stayed at another local b&b. This one is much better all round and better value for money. I will definitely now only wish to stay here in future visits to Brighton.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    10
    A great place to stay. I will certainly be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not fault anything. The room and shower were spotless and the bed very comfortable.Facilities great and a lovely breakfast. It was Christmas Eve and we were even given cards and presents. Fabulous !

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    9.6
    Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower went cold and then completely turned off when i was in it. When i complained i got told it's because it was a busy time to shower! No consolation when you are naked, wet and cold covered in suds with no water to rinse with!!!

    Clean, comfortable bed, great location, close to town and seafront, friendly staff, great full english breakfast. Would defo return.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    7.5
    Very convenient for one night stopover. Good, clean facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no parking. very small front bedroom with limited space facing onto road so blinds had to be kept down as pedestrians can look straight into room

    very clean well maintained room. good breakfast. friendly and polite owners/staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.6
    Rooms were so comfy and well equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radiator in room was constantly on, and unable to turn it off. Shower was cold, but we were on the top floor and showered at peak time, so that could've been the cause. Didn't effect the stay massively, but would've been better if these niggles didn't happen.

    Rooms were so comfy and well equipped. Breakfast was delicious. Owners were very friendly. Lovely stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    8.3
    Perfect choice if all you want is a bed, a wash and breakfast in spotless conditions!
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny double room with no table or chair. No guest lounge for a rainy day!

    perfect location, spotless linen and bathroom, very good breakfast, very helpful young couple running it. They are wizards at making good use of small space! We also liked the idea of staying in a private guest house.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay, and the perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As I said, room got slightly cold at night, but nothing dramatic. Once you got under the sheets it would be fine While the breakfast selection is quite good in the sense that there's cereals, apples, bananas, juice....I was slightly disappointed when there wasn't a bowl of chopped fruit for the continental option compared to my first stay.....the English breakfast and croissants were nice though so can't complain too much

    Overall, I really enjoyed my second stay here. I loved my street-side room as I'm used to all the little noises and the street lights shining in like it does in my bedroom at home. The bed was very comfy, though it did get slightly cold at night, but once you'd tuck yourself in, it'd be fine. The staff are very nice, and would gladly come back again when I'm in Brighton next

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.8
    clean and friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room very hot had the window open very noisy outside. Parking was a nightmare. breakfast was ok plates cold so food went cold very quick

    staff very helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    Excellent little guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was compact, but it didn't bother us, we only showered and slept there.

    Friendly, clean and everything you need for a weekend stay. Bathroom was great, shower very good, iron board and iron outside the room was a bonus. Breakfast cooked fresh, excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    4.6
    Doesn't live up to it's name.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had a lot of steps to my room. No lift. Too far from the Brighton Centre. Window overlooked busy street.

    Friendly Staff. Breakfast cooked ok. Bathroom was good. Bed only fair. TV and Tea/coffee provided

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.6
    Friendly clean guest house ... Recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a tad small quite sufficient for a 2 night stay for one, if I booked again for two or a longer stay I would prefer another room. That said en-suite was great.

    Made to feel very welcome by Rick and his partner, they couldn't do enough for me, comfortable spotlessly clean accommodation.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    10
    Would be my first choice if I visit Brighton again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful from first meeting. Great value which included a full English breakfast cooked to order. Rooms serviced. Owners always contactable if needed via mobile which I thought was a nice touch. However not needed on my visit. On street parking available too. In a great area for the beach and shops

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    6.7
    Perfect location, great view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was so hot! We did have a small fan but this was quite noisy at night. The bed was also very squeaky and every time my partner rolled over in the night it woke me up. Parking is quite expensive and make sure you don't make a mistake on the permit they give you as you will have to pay for a new one (£10).

    The location is perfect. Very close to the pier and also not a long way from the Lanes and shopping areas. The room itself was good, nice big bed, good TV and tea & coffee making facilities. We had a superior room and was definitely worth the extra as the room was a good size but wouldn't have wanted it to be any smaller. It was nice having a little table and chairs in the room with a view out to the sea. Breakfast was good, really nice sausages!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    9.6
    Excellent guest house. Brilliant value for money especially for Brighton! Would definitely book agai
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to say anything negative then the room wasn't huge but we managed. We were also on the top floor so had a few flights of stairs to deal with and it seemed very warm all the time. Also the dining room is a little cramped. But these are all minor details that definitely would not put me off booking again.

    Very clean and tidy room. Staff were super friendly and polite. Good location. Breakfast was tasty. Bed was comfy and bathroom was exceptionally clean.Excellent location and superb value for money! Even managed to park right outside and buy permits from manager!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    10
    A Great B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were hot due to the weather but you can't help that. They did supply a fan

    The rooms were very clean The staff were very very helpful very big breakfast in the morning very good Nice Italian restaurant at the top of the street is very near the beach

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    6.7
    Fairly Tolerable but not for what I paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On return found the bedsheets and pillows were spread out neatly but not changed and they left the same marked and dirty pillow cover unchanged. Changed one towel and left the other unchanged too. And that for me was a big put off.

    Staff was very well behaved and caring

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    9.6
    Very enjoyable and relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay to park everyday. No poached egg option at breakfast

    Great room & ensuite. Good breakfast - variety & quantity Excellent venue & proximity to the pier, beach & the lanes. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    10
    Everything was excellent 😀 Fab location lovely clean rooms and a very tasty breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Made very welcome and a lovely comfortable place to stay breakfast was very nice a full English beautiful little place to stay highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    9.2
    Great location very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cramped..not for the oversized

    Location is excellent.Hosts were polite and very helpful.Accommodation was very clean with lovely extras.Breakfast was tip top.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    5.0
    Short stay two days plenty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room to small no options at breakfast having to pay £10 a day to park on road Paid to much room for a very small room

    Location weather thing to do nice pier

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    8.8
    Good location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have done with a little storage or shelf and mirror outside of the bathroom

    Friendly staff, great location close enough to explore yet far enough away for quieter evenings.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    8.3
    Nice and friendly people, good breakfast, convenient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a problem....but that's Brighton...not just this guesthouse.

    Nice and friendly people, good breakfast, convenient location, clean and the right price.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    8.5
    Room was spotlessly clean and bed comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Seagulls' squawking in morning - but seaside! Only to be expected ......

    Room was spotlessly clean and bed comfortable. Room was small but as B&B (and not hotel) not expecting large relaxing area. Breakfast was good, choice of full English cooked, or fruit, cereal and yogurt. Staff were welcoming and friendly. Located minutes from Pier and seafront.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were great very helpful :-)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Breakfast lady was lovely and location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seagulls nesting above our room and sqwarking all night

    Breakfast lady was lovely and location was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money, lovely breakfast and staff very...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent value for money, lovely breakfast and staff very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dining area shabby and crammed.

    Breakfast really nice. Staff helpful at all times

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Small beds for large people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small beds for large people!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    The room could have been a little bigger
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room could have been a little bigger

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Excellent, apart from the point above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast finished too early

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Room was a bit to small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit to small

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Perfect Location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rick was an attentive and lovely host. Breakfast was perfect. Thank you. The location is close to get to the hospital, where we were working.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    I’ll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All round a lovely hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.5
    Was very pleasant bed was comfy and close to town centre and sea front
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didn’t work in room 10

    The room was clean and tidy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    Was very disappointed with Brighton in general
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was average.

    Staff very attentive and friendly and bed very comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location, clean and comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75